About Red, the Steakhouse Cleveland

417 Prospect Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

For patrons who value a premium culinary experience, RED The Steakhouse offers the best in high quality food by using the finest and freshest ingredients and creating an undeniably superb culinary experience. By transcending our guest’s expectations for superior service and food, Red The Steakhouse creates a consistent, exceptional and non-traditional dining experience. Enjoy the Wine Spectator award winning wine list as well as the Captain's List of specially featured wines. Reservations strongly recommended. Please be advised that reservations booked through OpenTable may be for the lounge area or the main dining room, if you have a preference please note that in your reservation or call us at (216) 664-0941. We will do our best to accommodate your request.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 2:30pm - 6:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday and Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
East 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 664-0941

Website:
http://www.redthesteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Bennett

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Red, The Steakhouse offers unique and versatile spaces able to accommodate various group sizes and setups. From formal business meetings to cocktail parties and rehearsal dinners, the chic, atypical steakhouse décor and savory fare provide the ultimate venue for private events.

Red, the Steakhouse Cleveland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (64)
Good for a Date (51)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
See All
Business Meals (44)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Notable Wine List (34)
Romantic (33)
Modern Decor (29)
Worth the Drive (27)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Authentic (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Fun (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Cozy (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
People Watching (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Great for Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Scenic View (4)
Private Room (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great Beer (3)
Live Sports (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
770 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great steaks. Both of us had the 12oz fi ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

Great steaks. Both of us had the 12oz fillet . Very good cuts and Perfectly cooked. But The sides were just ok. I Just Wish the last bite was of the tender steak and not the Pana cotta we had for dessert. It was good but not as good as the steaks...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our dining experience was great. We bot ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Our dining experience was great. We both orderedfijets and they were delicious! We ordered 3 sides which was WAY too much for the two of us but they were all good.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time there, was underwhelmed. Pro ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

First time there, was underwhelmed. Probably my fault should have not gotten restaurant week special. Service great though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Quality of the steaks, seafood and servi ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

Quality of the steaks, seafood and service were top notch. We were unfortunate to have a loud know-it-all in the next booth which diminished our experience but that is no fault of the restaurant. Perfect place for special occasion dining.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was very good. Had a medium-well ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was very good.

Had a medium-well CAB Prime NY strip, cooked perfectly, melt in my mouth.

Asparagus was alright but you don't go there for the asparagus.

Absolutely fantastic steakhouse, can't wait till my next visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and food were excellent. Atmosph ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Service and food were excellent. Atmosphere was great and it was a perfect place for a date night with my husband.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing does not even begin to describe ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing does not even begin to describe the experience at Red - from the wait staff to the food, it was a memorable night. Be sure you save room (good luck) for the doughnuts - they are insanely tasty. Hope to go back again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Fun, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was easily one of the best steaks I ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was easily one of the best steaks I've ever had, if not the best. Red lives up to its reputation. Our server Jim was a true professional. It was refreshing to have a server who abides by the formal practices even when in a modern setting. Excellent experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love and more love First time experienc ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love and more love

First time experience and was more than satisfied!

We were sat immediately upon entry thanks to OpenTable reservation. Waiter was excellent as well as the rest of the staff. Compliments to the chef for an excellent meal! The C.A.B. Ribeye Mid-Rare Perfection!! Astounded and dis belief! Folks, it does Not get better than this! WOW! 5 Stars *

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My reservation was for 6:45pm. When we w ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My reservation was for 6:45pm. When we were en route, we incurred a bit of traffic due to the Cavaliers game. Just before 6:30pm, I called once I realized the traffic would cause an issue to our arrival time. I spoke to Taylor and informed her we were running a few minutes late but we were on our way. She said, "no problem." I arrived at 6:56pm and once the gentleman at the host stand found my 6:45pm reservation, he said with a rude attitude, "we'll see what we can do." Apparently calling to notify the restaurant that I was indeed still coming was not courteous or good enough on my end. He once again said, "we'll see what we can do" as if I didn't hear him the first time. It took him only a few minutes to "see what he could do." For my entire dinner which lasted roughly 2 hours, the restaurant was around 80% full, including two tables immediately near me. I spent the entire evening annoyed that the host made it seem like he was doing me a favor by getting me a table still when there were plenty of available tables. The feeling of being unwelcome tainted the entire night. I planned this evening and had been looking forward to it since I made the reservation on January 4. I should have been shown the same courtesy when I was courteous in taking the time to notify of my late arrival due to the circumstances beyond my control.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Wasn't blown away for the price. Restaur ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wasn't blown away for the price. Restaurant has potential but doesn't live up to the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Amazing quality, excellent service, wort ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Amazing quality, excellent service, worth every penny.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, as always. Steak was top notch. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great, as always. Steak was top notch. Sides were great too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was my daughter's 29th birthday and t ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was my daughter's 29th birthday and there were four of us and we had an excellent time and excellent food including an appetizer to share delicious steaks great wine and a dessert for her birthday. Our server Jim was great, humorous, knew the menu extremely well!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great food in large portions! The ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Really great food in large portions! The service is exceptional!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The evening was outstanding for our gues ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The evening was outstanding for our guests. The food and service was outstanding! I believe it is one of the best restaurants in Cleveland. Thanks for a great night!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red never disappoints. It consistently s ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Red never disappoints. It consistently serves the best steaks, bar none. The service is impeccable. It is my "go to" restaurant for special occasions!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great. Our waiter was fr ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The service was great. Our waiter was friendly and knowledgeable. The manager came by to see how we were and was very friendly. The bread and dipping oil with seasoning was very tasty. For my main course, I ordered the salmon and while it was delicious, I was disappointed in the small portion for the price. The salmon filet was about half the size of the palm of my hand. It was tasty, but for $30 for the salmon alone I would have expected a larger piece. The sides all cost extra. My friend and I split the tater tots which were very good! The creamy tomato aioli was delicious for dipping.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Great food. Great Service and the wine w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food. Great Service and the wine was really reasonably priced, at least for certain bottles. Service was top notch.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Me and wife hit up all the nice places,a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Me and wife hit up all the nice places,around the city we finally found a spot thats par with blue point grille..reds was very great food ..calamari was perfect

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall a great experience to a place I ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Overall a great experience to a place I have heard a lot about. The only problem is our server must not have been having a good day because she did not seem happy to be working. Other than that a great time!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was excellent and our server was fr ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was excellent and our server was friendly and personal. Really enjoyed the whole experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always the highlight of my trip when in ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Always the highlight of my trip when in Cleveland. Great food, staff and ambiance. A must do when in town.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always thought the best steak in Ohio wa ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Always thought the best steak in Ohio was to be found at Jeff Ruby's "Precinct" in Cincinnati. Red has changed my mind.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak I have ever had. This place ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Best steak I have ever had. This place is fantastic ;). Dean Rizer who works there is great. We went for my sister's 40th birthday and let me tell you they did a wonderful job. From appetizers to food everything was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter went out of his way to sugges ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Our waiter went out of his way to suggest a superior appetizer over an entrée version on the menu. That made my guest's night! That's great personal service. And so another perfect steak and a superb wine. The most reliable to flight restaurant in Cleveland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never had a bad meal there. Steaks are ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Never had a bad meal there. Steaks are super tender and full of flavor.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks were fabulous. The stuffed hot pe ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Steaks were fabulous. The stuffed hot pepper appetizer was wonderful. Onion soup was wonderful but a large portion which made it a little heavy to have before a steak. Our waitress was very nice, knowledgeable about menu, but beverage service a bit slow.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was outstanding!! Will defiantly go ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was outstanding!! Will defiantly go back for the steak again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have always had decent steaks at Red, ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We have always had decent steaks at Red, but never up to par with the east side location. The bone-in-ribeye was one of the best steaks I've ever had. Perfectly prepared and an ultra high quality cut. Definitely will bring us back over the competition next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing but we encountered ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was amazing but we encountered a situation with one of the managers. We were running late for our reservation by about 15 minutes. I called the restaurant to let them know and they said okay no problem. About 17 minutes late they had given our table away. After letting them know we called the manager said we don't hold tables that long but they could get a table but we would have to be gone by 7:30. I have been to a lot of high end restaurants and this was a first. The first time I felt like they just wanted me to eat and go for the money instead of the experience and opportunity to have a couple bottle of wines at an unknown rate per bottle. Just really disappointed in that part of the experience. At least if you feel that way don't tell the customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Girlfriends birthday dinner. Fantastic w ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Girlfriends birthday dinner. Fantastic will for sure be back very often

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner.

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Food was amazing! I will definitely ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The Food was amazing! I will definitely be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Drinks were great b ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was great. Drinks were great but our waitress want the friendliest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was great. Service was excellen ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The food was great. Service was excellent. Arrived early and was seated immediately. Location is perfect for sports venues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Really good option for lunch with typic ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Really good option for lunch with typical downtown restaurant prices. Excellent and friendly service. Will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was great. We had ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food and service was great. We had a reservation ahead of time for 4 of us and the hostess sat us in the bar area which got progressively more crowded and louder. There was live sports playing on the tvs and that frankly was not the atmosphere we were looking for. That was the one big flaw of the night. Our prior experience with Red was the location in Beachwood, which was amazing. Had we been seated elsewhere, it might have been better as we could have heard each other and not had people standing around us while we were trying to enjoy our dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The filet was outstanding. Cooked how w ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The filet was outstanding. Cooked how we wanted it, and it was moist. The sides are enough for two. Nice wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the best dinners my husband and I ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

One of the best dinners my husband and I have ever had. Everything we had was fabulous and we can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.