Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Red, the Steakhouse Cleveland

For patrons who value a premium culinary experience, RED The Steakhouse offers the best in high quality food by using the finest and freshest ingredients and creating an undeniably superb culinary experience. By transcending our guest’s expectations for superior service and food, Red The Steakhouse creates a consistent, exceptional and non-traditional dining experience. Enjoy the Wine Spectator award winning wine list as well as the Captain's List of specially featured wines. Reservations strongly recommended. Please be advised that reservations booked through OpenTable may be for the lounge area or the main dining room, if you have a preference please note that in your reservation or call us at (216) 664-0941. We will do our best to accommodate your request.

417 Prospect Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 2:30pm - 6:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday and Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
East 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 664-0941

Website:
http://www.redthesteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Bennett

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Red, The Steakhouse offers unique and versatile spaces able to accommodate various group sizes and setups. From formal business meetings to cocktail parties and rehearsal dinners, the chic, atypical steakhouse décor and savory fare provide the ultimate venue for private events.

Red, the Steakhouse Cleveland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (61)
Good for Anniversaries (60)
Good for a Date (54)
See All
Business Meals (42)
Notable Wine List (40)
Romantic (40)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Hot Spot (30)
Modern Decor (29)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Worth the Drive (25)
Bar Seating (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Fun (15)
People Watching (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Cozy (11)
Authentic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Casual (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Scenic View (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Great Beer (4)
Private Room (4)
Seasonal (4)
Live Sports (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
865 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service. Ordered my steak medium, came out rare but was quickly fixed. Lobster was great and priced right.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome food. Great service. Best steakhouse in Cleveland

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

Best steak in the city hands down! Service and ambiance are always amazing

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

The wine and the starters we had were excellent. The steaks we ordered were excellent. I would recommend Red to everyone. The venue is also pretty quiet and the atmosphere is nice.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Wonderful restaurant. All food is cooked to order and they accommodated all of my food allergies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Steak special was bone in NY Strip and it was a bit salty and too spiced and not as tender as I expected for the price. My wife's chicken was quite good and creamed corn was good. Best part was dessert of frozen mango cream.

Our waiter was quite slow and disappeared for long periods as we didn't see him come by our table as much as waiters at other tables. Took a while to get our check and for him to take our order.

Tags: Live Sports, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Steak and cauliflower gratin were amazing. Waitress was a little lacking in her attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food and service was on par as always but it was extremely loud and often had a difficult time hearing the conversation and being heard without borderline yelling. Example was the waiter heard from my son veal chop and not veal Parmesan but the chop was delicious anyway.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food was exceptional, liquor and wine detection was amazing. I expected much better service. I only know my servers name because I read it in my check.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

One of the best steaks, mashed and creamed spinach I've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I ordered the best steak they had and while it was cooked and seasoned perfectly I was underwhelmed by the cut. I was expecting better, but maybe next time?

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food is good, atmosphere is loud , And a bit overpriced

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mouth-watering steaks and sides. A do not miss steakhouse!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Over all meal was not as good as normal. The restaurant was quite busy and our steaks came out over cooked and very charred. We have been here before when it's been just as busy and did not have any issues with the meal in the past.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent food, service, ambiance and drinks! Wonderful place for any type of occasion.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Appetizer was French Onion Soup. We ordered the CAB Prime Ribeye aged 40 days ,20 dry ,20 wet. Our sides were Truffle whipped potatoes and asparagus. We had a great bottle of wine. The meal was delicious. The experience was excellent. It was a fine dining evening. Our server was attentive and outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Steaks were extremely good, along with very good side dishes...especially the cauliflower. Service was also very good. We were celebrating a special birthday and they acknowledged it with a special dessert. Yes, pricey, but so worth it!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Went to celebrate a new job. Food was fantastic, server was very knowledgeable, and the ambience was perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We came to Red to treat our favorite Italian chef to a special meal and Red was the perfect choice. He and my husband shared the calamari/mussel appetizer and savored every bite. I had a vegan strozzapretti pasta which was one of the best dishes I've had. Many restaurants can only offer some type of salad as a vegan offering. Our server, David, was quietly and perfectly attentive and offered wine and meal selections. It's not often I leave the choice of wine to my server but I was confident David could suggest the perfect Italian red. We had heard how good Red is but were still surprised by the outstanding quality and flavor of every bite. We have been to Italy 6 times but have now found comparable flavors right in downtown Cleveland. Thank you for a memorable experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Authentic, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Amazing steaks! Dare I say, the best we ever had. Great ambiance & service as well. Bravo!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Absolutely LOVE this place! Amazing every time I go there. Great for all occasions and business as well.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Food amazing. Service too. One of the best in Cleveland for sure. Get the donuts for dessert. Steaks are absolutely perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great meal and great service. Red is one of my favorite places to take clients for lunch and dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 3, 2017

loved the whole evening, have been wanting to dine here, and it happened to be my wife's birthday, and she loved it. Our server was Alyson, can't wait to celebrate my birthday there! I was there twice before, both times were events, and it was AWESOME, but dinner is a must.

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Brought a good friend who was dining there for the first time and he was blown away by how great everything was. He'll be back. And of course so will I. Always perfect all the time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Our waiter Jim did an outstanding job! Their beet salad was amazing as well as their bread and cheese/olive oil dipping. The fish dishes were good, not great. Our prime steaks were good but definitely not the best we've ever had. Oysters were good but very pricey.
Overall, would not be my first choice for a steakhouse in Cleveland ...probably would try another next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The food was prepared to perfection as always. The cocktails were delicious. The service was phenomenal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Wow. What a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food excellent but even with reservation, it was clear that we would not be seated on time. After a wait, we got two seats at the bar, and decided to stay there. We enjoyed our meal and the bartender was great. It is very loud and I would not go again unless we were able to sit a bar. Most of the people at bar said that is the only way they eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We LOVED our dinner at RED! I just got engaged two hours before and we were greeted with complimentary champagne, amazing service and the food was to die for! After dinner our incredible waitress insisted on their most popular desert (again, her treat to us) and they wrote out "Congratulations" on the plate in chocolate syrup ! We couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more and we haven't stopped telling everyone about our special night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 26, 2017

First time experience with Red the Steakhouse.

Great service, fantastic steaks, and broad wine selection made for a most memorable evening.

The "Prime" steak selections are well worth the small price premium.

Highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Excellent steak, lived up to expectations! Sides dishes were awesome as well!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Dry aging is overrated, put some Dale's sauce on it and grill for better steak. Was good but I've made better.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Our third visit, this time a bit disappointed. When we were seated in our booth it was full of crumbs then the waiter never introduced himself. Meal was great as expected though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great Atmosphere, Food and service certainly did not live up to the hype :( Overall unimpressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Steak and sides were delicious. The restaurant certainly made our Anniversary special. The dessert doughnuts are the bomb.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

A great experience -- Judith, our server was wonderful!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I took my 12 year old son and my friend for his birthday. They both order a steak; which they ate in no time. The food was excellent. The service was on point. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Overall a great experience. The service was top notch, food was amazing, and the wine was great. Cannot go wrong if you're looking for a great meal and dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Was an excellent meal. Had four hungry nephews before a cavaliers game. Great attentive but not bothersome service. Great time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.