Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Red, the Steakhouse Cleveland

For patrons who value a premium culinary experience, RED The Steakhouse offers the best in high quality food by using the finest and freshest ingredients and creating an undeniably superb culinary experience. By transcending our guest’s expectations for superior service and food, Red The Steakhouse creates a consistent, exceptional and non-traditional dining experience. Enjoy the Wine Spectator award winning wine list as well as the Captain's List of specially featured wines. Reservations strongly recommended. Please be advised that reservations booked through OpenTable may be for the lounge area or the main dining room, if you have a preference please note that in your reservation or call us at (216) 664-0941. We will do our best to accommodate your request.

417 Prospect Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 2:30pm - 6:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday and Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
East 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 664-0941

Website:
http://www.redthesteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Bennett

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Red, The Steakhouse offers unique and versatile spaces able to accommodate various group sizes and setups. From formal business meetings to cocktail parties and rehearsal dinners, the chic, atypical steakhouse décor and savory fare provide the ultimate venue for private events.

Red, the Steakhouse Cleveland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (61)
Good for a Date (46)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
See All
Romantic (34)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Notable Wine List (29)
Business Meals (25)
Hot Spot (24)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Bar Seating (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Cozy (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Authentic (8)
Fun (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
People Watching (8)
Casual (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Scenic View (5)
Seasonal (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great Beer (3)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Waterfront (3)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Sports (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1003 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Brisbane / QLD)·Dined a day ago

Well prepared quality cut of meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Reds was recommended by a colleague and was everything they said it was or more!

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Best food I have ever ate. Will be back again. It is not cheap but it is the best. They took care of my wife for her birthday!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic as always... Red never disappoints and the staff is second to none. Thanks for another great meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Expected more for price. I would give it a c-service started great but ended slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

The service was fine, the staff general helpful and friendly. We had been told that Red had the best steaks in town. But we found the filet excessively salty, and the fries average. Given the cost, we do not expect to return.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

Though have been to Red many times - this was best ever. Steak was perfect. No where can you get a better steak then here. Great service and great experience !!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We had a great time. Everything as you walked in the door was great!! We will definitely be coming back and letting other people know how our experience was!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Amazing steaks! Exceptional service! Can’t wait to go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 13, 2017

We made reservations to celebrate a 30th anniversary. We had planned to go to a Tribe playoff game, which unfortunately did not happen so had made early reservations and kept that time slot. The place was virtually empty and the hostess sat us in the bar area. We asked if there were other tables and she said no those were for reservations. The food was great and the waiter awesome but it was not the setting we expected at this price point. We were in a loud bar setting, with people in and out for happy hour. The most frustrating thing was upon leaving after appetizers, dinner and dessert, all tables in the regular area were still empty. There are other similar high end steak places in the area with just as good of food with much better ambiance. Perhaps the regular dining area had this as well but I'm not sure how you get the opportunity to sit there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Best strip steak in Cle! Truffle mashed potatoes were an amazing side to the delicious steak! Judith was an amazing server- awesome experience. Will definitely be back😊

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 10, 2017

I've had a lot of steak house steaks - and this prime filet was one of the better ones I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Excellent and friendly Service. The meat was superb, tender, tasty, juicy with a great blue cheese toppings. Mashed potatoes with truffle was wonderful and highky recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Delicious food
Great service
Strong value for the money
Wonderful for any occasion
We had all appys and side dishes plus the best dessert we’ve had in a long time (Donuts/dipping sauces)

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great dinner. Steak was prepared perfectly and very tasty. Waiter very friendly. Nice wine list with some unusual and hard to find wines

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Probably one of the best steaks I've ever had. Service was great, and it was during an Indians game, so with that they were still on top of their game. Food is definitely pricey, but ultimately worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Food and service was great! It was a little noisy, though...maybe not the place for a romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Absolutely love red, dinner is amazing and lunch is pretty damn great too. The seasoning on the streak is incredible, everyone should eat here

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We had an absolutely outstanding evening! We had an appetizer, wine, entrees, and deserts, so it definitely got a little pricy, but overall one of the best meals I’ve ever had. In my opinion the tables were a little close together, and it was a bit loud in the restaurant, but overall OUTSTANDING!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Perfectly cooked steaks!!! Highly recommend the truffle whipped potatoes and the gnocchis. A little on the pricy side but great for special occasions.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

We had a wonderful meal, the steaks are absolutely superb and my date and I were both blown away with the quality. The filet mignon was the best steak I've ever had. It's probably difficult to get out the door for less than $100/person after sides, appetizers, drinks, and gratuity but that's why it's the perfect place for a special occasion. It is definitely worth the money. Great American style sides (one side will serve 2+ people) and the service was wonderful, our waiter Jim even brought over complimentary beignets to celebrate our anniversary. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

My husband and I have both been here once prior to this occasion. We met at the downtown location for his birthday with both sets of our parents. The sides definitely serve 2-3 peoe, steaks were cooked perfectly. I really enjoyed having an option for a half bottle of wine. The donuts we had for dessert are an in-house delicious treat for his birthday. Table sat 6 comfortably, the ambience is very subtle and is great for a special occasion. I would have rated our experience higher if our server could take a joke. She didn't seem to be in the best mood and we enjoy engaging with the staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Service was great and so were the Steaks. One of the best steaks in the city. Restaurant was a bit bright for evening dining but overall a very nice experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Great service, and chef/servers very willing to cook to our special desires. Piece of salmon I had was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Wonderful night out! Everything was prepared and presented beautifully. Portions were very generous. Definitely recommend Red the Steakhouse for a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Use OpenTable app. We walked in requested a table. They said nothing available for 2 hours. I checked app and got a table through app . I wonder if we were profiled??? Why wouldn't we get a table from hostess but got through app? Very very shady!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 16, 2017

As always, the steaks were delicious! The only downside was our waiter wasn't very attentive, but I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 16, 2017

My parents 60th Aniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We went to Red to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We also were seeing Book of Mormon that evening so we had an earlier reservation than we normally would. The restaurant had called me earlier to confirm my reservation but when we showed up and gave our name the girl did not have us down. She was actually questioning if we indeed had a reservation until my husband had to get a little stern asking why did they call to confirm then? Only then did she look a little more and somehow did find our reservation and we were sat. Red is very small and can be loud. I'm glad they put us at a booth so it wasn't as crowded as they little row that we've sat at before. Our waitress was efficient but had no personality at all and barely spoke with us. Again she was efficient though. We always had drinks and water. We ordered the calamari to start and it was underwhelming. It smelled amazing but it wasn't as crispy as we would've liked. Our steaks were cooked to perfection, this is the main reason why we love coming to Red, it's one of the best steaks I've ever had. Our sides of macaroni and green beans were great as well. Left stuffed after we were given complimentary donuts that were warm and fluffy, the raspberry sauce I could eat by the spoonful. We left very full and satisfied for the most part. Didn't feel as special this time and normally I love to come here for my birthday but I think we will be going elsewhere this year. Too many new restaurants to try in Cleveland so it takes a lot to keep us coming back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Was expecting more; steak was good, not great. For the price, including the a la carte sides and drinks, I expected to be blown away. The bread was actually the most memorable part of the meal, which is not what you want to walk away from a $200+ meal saying. Waiter was average at best, seemed like we were intruding on his day by being there. Tables are very close together, could hear full conversations of people all around me, booths in the bar actually look like they would have been a better, more private option.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Excellent food and service. Our waiter Adam could not have been better!

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Food was wonderful......Best steak I've had in a long time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Customer event

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Wife's steak was perfect mine wasn't close. Asked for medium rare came out blue. They fixed it with same steak refire but when you order a $70 steak it should be perfect

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food was good, however, Restaurant was very very very noisy. I asked the server if it is always this noisy and she said unfortunately yes. The high noise level ruined the dining atmosphere. I expect more from such a high end restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

First time at Red after being aware of the restaurant since it opened. Overall, it was a nice experience. However, the food and wine experience did not match the price point. I've been to other restaurants around the United States where I enjoyed much better food quality and wine service for the same per plate cost. Two examples - The wine list at Red is a book. That's great if you have a sommelier or beverage manager who carefully manages the list and stock. The bottle we ordered was not available. It's hard to reset and find a new wine choice after carefully reviewing and picking from an extensive list. The whipped potatoes were...really whipped, almost soupy and lacking in flavor. Again, not major things, but when you're paying a la carte pricing with entrees in the $50 - $60 range, you expect better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Outstanding food and service . The best sea bass ever, filets cooked to perfection., an outstanding experience 👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great place for a business dinner! Service and food was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Our server Mark was fantastic. We were in this weekend for our wedding anniversary and he took amazing care of us. The food was out of this world.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Not sure how anyone who's dined anywhere else in the Cleveland area and NOT call Red the BEST restaurant for top notch food, warm atmosphere and extremely high end experience! We can't wait to go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.