Red Salt Room by David Burke

4.3
293 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for Birthdays
A modern and masculine feeling redesign replete with rich herringbone wood flooring, solid walnut moldings accented by chic white linen inlays, whimsical Himalayan Sea Salt accents, contemporary framed art and fashionable milk glass chandeliers combining to create a sublimely relaxed elegance for Chef Burke’s first foray of his pioneering New American cuisine on Long Island. The menu will feature a composition of Chef Burke’s hallmark dishes such as crackling pork shank, “angry” lobster, salt brick dry aged prime steaks along with newly curated offerings such as dry aged Long Island duck, pretzel crusted crab cake, Nori crusted tuna and a plethora of playful seasonal creations.
RSR will open for dinner and has plans to offer lunch in the near future. Burke’s kitchen will custom design private dining menus for the two event spaces within.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Afternoon Tea
Fri, Sat 5:30 pm–10:30 pm
Sat 2:00 pm–4:30 pm
Dinner
Mon–Thu 5:30 pm–10:00 pm
Sun 6:00 pm–10:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(516) 877-9385
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
The Garden City Hotel offers special event, celebration and meeting catering throughout the 30,000 sq. ft of event space in the hotel, from the Grand Ballroom to the English Garden. Speak to our Catering Director at 516.663.7010
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Stewart Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Weeknights, self parking is available.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Red Salt Room is located across the street from the Garden City stop of the Long Island Railroad.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
We will entertain you Thurday through Saturday Evenings!
Accoustic Guitarist Thursday Night's from 8pm till 11
Pianist Ray Cohen entertains with the standards from 8pm till 11pm
Garden City Hotel's own Piano man Singer/Songwriter Michael Tedesco entains on Saturday Nights!
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Host your next celebration, meeting or private event in style at The Garden City Hotel. Gianna Costa, our Private Dining Specialist, will assist in executing every detail to perfection.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun - Thu 5:30PM - 10:00PM
Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

What 293 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Went to this restaurant on Monday< June 18, after it officially opened on the previous Friday. The food was outstanding. So many unique tastes. The lamb chops I ordered was a substantial meal for a hungry man. My wife's scallop dish was perfectly prepared and contained a number of interesting flavors. The waitstaff were very informative and excited about the new menu. Each one was very helpful. Staffing was a bit light, however, but that could be expected for a Monday night. The ambiance is nothing to write about. The room got louder as the night got later. A unique foodie experience for Long Island. It's about time.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 7 days ago

This restaurant only opened the week we were there. I think it would have been better for them to wait a few more weeks until all the glitches were fixed. The ambience was lacking, and we were told that they were expecting chairs and tables, but had not yet received them yet. It felt like a catering venue with the chairs from a wedding. Needless to say, we were very disappointed as we liked the red booths when it was the Polo Steakhouse. The menu was limited. There was no bottled flat waters and our steaks were no cooked to the temperature we had ordered. I would try the restaurant again, but once it is established. It was a disappointing Father's Day meal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 16, 2018

The prices do not match the dress attire , people were in flip flop shorts and sunglasses in the dining room where the average bottle of wine was $175

It has potential because of chefs name but falls short of our expectations completely

They hired an amazing staff of people but they will not appreciated for their execution

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Excellent food and service. Great ambiance. Steaks were cooked perfectly! Drinks were great too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

WOW! That’s how you’ll feel while you’re eating at Red Salt Room by David Burke!! You won’t be disappointed with the food, the service or the ambiance. Have the Candied Bacon, the Lamb Chops and leave room for dessert cause the Lemon Pavlova is off the hook!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 6, 2018

I only gave 3 stars because of the management. The food and service was clearly 4 stars +.
My management issue was that I made a reservation for Polo Steakhouse. This was confirmed by Opentable and then a telephone confirmation 2 days before by the restaurant. When I arrived, I was told the restaurant closed at the end of May !! This was June. It was a very special occasion that was ruined. We were told Red Salt would not be open for another few days. After a couple of drinks (paid for by management, thank you), management decided to do a "soft opening" of Red Salt. The steaks were excellent and the service incredible. They could not do enough. After a very rough start, the management made good and rescued our evening.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Low quality steak house. Not even close to other local steakhouses at that price point. Fatty ribeye with little flavor
and mac & cheese with a boxed consistency, Go down the road to Ruth Chris or Capital Grille.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Excellent service. Ceaser salad had too much dressing and cheese.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

great steaks and lamb chops perfectly cooked, attentive wait staff, great drinks.. foie gras and marrow bone, superb!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 29, 2018

First time we went here it was My partners birthday great food and most importantly great service we decided to go the second time for our anniversary food was great except the service really disapointed the server didn’t bring water until later on also the biscuits he bought to the table until we were talking about it he didn’t suggest no wines really disapointed with the service don’t think ill be returning for the “new” version of the steakhouse since i heard you guys were remodeling

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Another great meal @ Polo. Food and service always first rate. Our server, Lamar is THE BEST!!! Bittersweet that they are closing soon, but new things are good also!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Staff made My Mom's birthday special.. my mom she was so Elated .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Always on point!! Food and drinks are exceptional and so is the service!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The quality of the food is very good. Preparation and presentation very good as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Never fails to have excellent food, ambiance and an amazing staff that takes care of everything you want.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Love this place, great staff!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Our waitress Leah was very attentive, without being annoying, and surprise us with a birthday selection of desserts. I had mentioned that I was taking my friend to the Red Door Spa and for lunch for her birthday. Will definitely return!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Steak was not good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Eat at Polo Steakhouse and expect a grand experience! Their Sangria is delicious...bet cha can’t have just one, and their food is delectable!! Our Server, Dane, is OUTSTANDING!! We’ll ask for him over and over again. Get yourselves to Polo Steakhouse

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

We celebrated one our coworker baby-shower. All the waiters were very attentive and nice from the moment you valet your car
Food wise was OK, not worth the price per person
But overall was good, first time and was good to be able to see what the brunch is all about

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Absolutely fabulous and on par with the brunch at Peacock Alley at the Waldorf! The service staff was just great...friendly and attentive. They kept the champagne flowing and were unobtrusive in removing plates when we finished each course. The food was diverse from lobster to carved meat, sushi, pasta salad, shrimp...you name it was there. Some things we didn't get a chance to taste so we'll be back! Don't miss the frosted crueller...just yummie!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Great birthday spent at polo steakhouse!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Impeccable service. They greet you at the door by name and welcome you to the restaurant. The wait staff was great and the food matched in quality as well. Definitely will come back again!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Service was extremely slow. Took over 3 hours for dinner. Filet was over cooked.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

Thanks for s wonderful night!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Excellent choice for a special occasion. Attentive staff, wonderful food and drinks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

My best friend and I treat each other to brunch for our birthdays each year, and we both look forward to it so much! The food at Polo is always fresh and delicious, and the service is unrivaled. If you're staying at the Garden City Hotel, or just happen to be in the area, it's a must-try!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Amazing Afternoon Tea service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Great, good food delicious drinks

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

Always exceptional! Great food! Great drinks! Great service!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 5, 2018

Interestingly enough even though Open Table took my reservation, the Polo Lounge was closed for dinner. We ended up having our business dinner in the Pub at the Garden City hotel (one of the best burgers I've had in a long time)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

The Restaurant was fantastic. Food, ambience & service were impeccable. We were escorted to our table where there was a lovely birthday card (my husband's birthday) signed by the staff. Nice Touch! As far as value, although everything was terrific it is definitely a bit pricey. However, since it was a special occasion & not an everyday occurrence, it was doable. In general the noise level would have been perfect had it not been for some guests who where in the adjoining Polo Lounge with their Ill mannered, loud & obnoxious brewd! One would think that people would excercise the ability to think clearly & realize that you don't bring children that are uncontrollable & rude into this type of establishment. It would behoove them to hire a babysitter!!!! Common Sense!
Having said this, the overall experience was top notch & I would highly recommend it, particularly for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2018

always pleased when we dine here, service great as well as food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2018

As usual, my experience there was great!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 30, 2018

The food was very salty and unfortunately we never said anything to our server so we did not give them the opportunity to fix the issue and provide us with a meal we would have enjoyed more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Have been to Polo's several times before, but never for the Restaurant Week Menu. The dinner was SUPER delicious and so well prepared. Both food AND service were OUTSTANDING!!! Our server, Lamar was AMAZING!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 24, 2018

The service was wonderful. The steak we had was tough and fatty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2018

Going to the Polo Steakhouse is always a treat. The ambiance is lovely and quite calming
The service is impeccable without being overbearing
Naturally the food is wonderful and well presented
Also, a great place to stop by for a drink in the lovely bar

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 23, 2018

We visited Polo Grill during Restaurant Week (January 2018) to get together with friends. Their Restaurant Menu was not included on the Restaurant Week website. Knowing the reputation the Garden City Hotel, we thought it was a great opportunity to try it. While the restaurant is nicely appointed, the wait staff was attentive, the menu choice was minimal. We have had much better fare at other restaurants in the area participating in Restaurant Week. Morton's Steak House t had filet and a number of other choices vs. Polo's sliced sirloin, chicken and fish. The two desserts offered were good.
While we had a wonderful evening and a meal that was average I would choose another restaurant next time.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8