Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Red Pump Kitchen

We use locally sourced, seasonal ingredients to create Tuscan inspired dishes. Our dishes include pizzettes, antipasti, seafood and a selection of homemade pastas. Italian and Virginia wines make up the dynamic wine list. Our craft cocktails are made-to-order and use the freshest possible ingredients.

The bistro-setting features an open kitchen with a classic wood burning oven, a full service bar, and outdoor seating. Our Chef’s Table is available for group dining for parties of 8-10 guests and features 4-course prix-fixe menu with optional wine pairings. Sunday and Tuesday are our Featured Wine Nights.

Red Pump's Tuscan cuisine is a pleasing combination of the highest-quality ingredients and the caring preparation by our chefs who take pride in the dishes they present.

401 East Main Street
Charlottesville, VA 22902
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday, 11:00- 2:00 Lunch 5:00 pm - 10 pm Dinner
Saturday & Sunday, Brunch 11:00- 2:00 Brunch / 5:00 pm - 10 pm Dinner

Cross Street:
4th and Main Street on the Downtown Mall

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(434) 202-6040

Website:
http://redpumpkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Parking Validation for Market St Garage

Executive Chef:
Lee Hendrickson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact laurie@redpumpkitchen.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Red Pump Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (21)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for a Date (14)
See All
Special Occasion (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Bar Seating (9)
People Watching (8)
Fun (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Romantic (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Casual (5)
Business Meals (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Cozy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Authentic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
389 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent menu with creative fare. Fun atmosphere and positive vibe. Our waiter Matt was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Our waiter, Blake, was excellent and very attentive. Knowledgeable about the different items on the menu.
Delightful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

The Red Pump was a good choice. Friends had recommended it some time ago and we weren't disappointed. The staff was very friendly and the service was efficient. The specialty cocktails that we had were excellent and tasted wonderful. The entrees we chose were very good and tasted like homemade. The restaurant is a bit loud but not overwhelming so.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Delicious... can't wait to go again. Love the space.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our party of four had reservations here on a Friday night. Since the restaurant was running a bit behind since it was rainy outside and people were taking their time dining, we were offered glasses of sparkling wine at the bar. Our dinner here was very good...we shared two appetizers which was plenty. We all chose pastas for our entrees...the gnocchi, the tortellini, and the carbonara. All were well prepared, tasty, and a nice size portion. We shared two orders of the three ice creams...they were delicious. Our server and the staff here were friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 27, 2017

First time trying the food. Really quite good. Service was excellent. Manager very attentive and professional. Great brunch, great vibe on a beautiful Sunday on the Downtown Mall. Definitely recommend and will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

I was looking forward to dinner we had reservations and were seated promptly Our waitress was fairly knowledgeable and took our orders we received a cocktail and appetizer both were very good. It ends there she brought a second drink and we did not see her again customers were coming and going getting their orders After over an hour my husband asked a waiter to check on our dinner , the manager came over and said there was a mix up and our dinner would be out shortly Next someone brought food to our table but it was not ours! We paid for the drinks and left. I would not go back there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Overall good food, service and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I don't know that I've had better service in Charlottesville than that provided by our server Matt. He was absolutely on point about everything from attentiveness to timing to drink and food suggestions. We would go back to see him alone! The food and drinks were very good and the indoor open window table gave a nice vibe. Just a really nice overall experience for a first timer. We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Our first time there! Wonderful decor and lightingg creates a wonderful ambiance! Delicious scallop entree, ginger craft cocktails, pippen hill wine and a trio of tasty homemade gelatos-all tasty as can be. Excellent service..
Pricey... a great special occasion place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We were in town for a wedding. Wanted a restaurant on the walking mall which is a very cool place. Red Pump is a pretty cool place. We got there early and sat at the bar for a drink before we got a table. Nice casual bar, good brews on tap and decent wine list. The young barkeeps behind the stick were great. Dinner was good. Service was good. My wife's steak came a little rarer than she liked. It was mooing. They cooked her another steak. The could've chucked her steak back on the grill and brought it back. The steak she got back was a pretty fatty cut. The first one was better. but it was tasty none the less. I had the scallops, which were really good. A nice light meal. But not skimpy. Overall a nice place to have a casual meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Very excellent restaurant love the food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This was a very disappointing experience. We were barely finished with our starter when a waiter tried to serve our main courses. He stopped short of dropping them on top of the starter plates and another waiter came and whisked away our barely finshed food. Turned out the main courses he tried to deliver weren't even ours. After another 10 - 15 minute wait our food was served. I ordered pasta Carbonara. The egg on top was ice cold and the pasta was pretty gummy. I also noticed there was no pancetta in the dish. I pointed this out to the waiter who agreed and said he would ask the cook. He came back and said the cook told him he put it in the dish. I asked again if he could see it anywhere on the plate and he agreed it wasn't there and walked away. After our main course dishes were removed another waiter went to place more food on our table - again it was for someone else. We decided against dessert after the disappointing meal thus far. When we received the bill it was for the full amount, even though the largest component of the pasta carbonara dish had been missing. When we pointed this out the waiter said they were going to give us free ice cream to make up for that, but we didn't want dessert, so he brought the bill. After a tense few minutes he decided it was best to bring us a new bill with the carbonara removed. No apologies, terrible service, terrible attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Small portions. Very pricey. Combination of peppers and scallops not appealing

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

We had the loveliest dinner at Red Pump Kitchen this week! Our server was incredibly kind and knowledgeable. The food was outstanding. I had the lobster tortellini and it was one of the best dishes I have ever had. The burrata salad appetizer was excellent as well. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great atmosphere, fabulous food and a great waiter. Made for a wonderful celebration dinner. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Excellent service. Good range of food choices. Lovely setting for an outside summer meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We have enjoyed Red Pump before and it is one of our favorites. The staff was very courteous and accommodating. We enjoyed a glass of wine outside before dinner and the wines by the glass are superior.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Fantastic dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Amazing food, attentive and courteous waitstaff, and very quick service. We couldn't have asked for a better first dining experience here. We'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 6, 2017

My husband and I recently spent a weekend in Charlottesville where we stayed at the Omni downtown and enjoyed the convenience of the downtown mall. I noticed this restaurant on the first day, and, since we love anything Italian, I checked out the menu and other reviews online before making reservations for the following evening. The weather was absolutely perfect for dining al fresco, so we were happy to secure an outside table. We were so impressed by how friendly the staff was - from the hostess, to the bar tender, to the server, and to the manager who stopped by as well. The food was outstanding as well - we enjoyed the Kale Caesar Salad, the mussels, and the lobster tortellini. All beautifully presented and very delicious. This place is definitely on my list for a return visit the next time we're in the area. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great staff Great Food Great Venue..... new favorite. We'll be back

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Seasonal, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Had a BOGO coupon for Red Pump, so went there before a movie. Thursday evening, so not real busy at 6:00 pm. Super friendly host seated us right away at a window hi top table. We like to people watch on the mall. We each ordered a pizzette, which is a thin light pizza. Mine was very good, but my wife chose one she ended up not liking. She just ordered wrong. Our waiter offered to bring her a different one, since we were on schedule for the movie, she soldiered through. Our waiter Matt could not have been nicer. We will definitely return to Red Pump!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We had a wonderful time at Red Pump kitchen. It was my birthday and we decided to have the tasting menu. It did not disappoint! Every course was creative without being too "out-there" and our server Kendalyn was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Great service, nice atmosphere. One of our dishes (lobster pasta dish) was outstanding. Delicious Italian Chardonnay, one of the best I've ever had. Margherita pizza was very disappointing, didn't seem to match the culinary quality of rest of menu - it was more of a generic cheese pizza than a margherita pizza and crust was lacking doughiness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Wine and drinks were great. Portions were a bit small, and my salmon was a tad overcooked, but the food quality was great. It was also restaurant week and they apparently had changed the menu a few times to accommodate regular customers so the kitchen was a bit overwhelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I have given this place multiple opportunities and the service has been terrible every single time. The food is an incredibly tiny portion and lacking in the flavor department yet super overpriced. The coconut panna cotta was insanely good though. The cocktails are also delicious. So maybe this place would be good just for cocktails and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 14, 2017

First night of Restaurant week. We had Shrimp Cerviche and the Salmon. It was perfect. We are self professed foodies and we were very impressed. I called the next day but can't say enough good things. Congratulations!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Was Restaurant week and we unknowingly had made a reservation before dinner at The Paramount. They did phone us to tell us it was a set menu. It was delicious- home made mozzarella was to die for, as well as gnocchi!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This restaurant was a huge disappointment. After finding out that they were owned by the Pipin Hill Farm folks we had high hopes but this place fell short. To start, our party ordered mussels and the kale caesar, both were meh. The dressing on the kale was unpleasant, I actually appreciate anchovy in my caesar but this was funky, and not in a good way. Apparently they ran out of bread at 8:30 pm so all of the broth from the already small portion of mussels went to waste. I'm not sure how a restaurant that serves pizza runs out of bread...seems like a good kitchen could find a suitable substitute especially when the description of the mussels includes a featured bread.

Entrees were also equally disappointing. For the price the portions were quite small. One in our group ordered scallops which were great but there were no accompaniments and no additional sides available on the menu....this diner left hungry. The roasted chicken was fine, but again for the price, portions were small. The hanger steak was a huge disappointment. It was served medium rare as ordered but had so much char on the outside it just tasted burnt. The hanger was supposed to come with chimichurri but was served with nothing that even came close to resembling chimichurri, so there was nothing to hide the overly charred steak...should have sent it back. The pizza my 3 year old ordered was good but came out 10 minutes after the other entrees, this is something a good restaurant should be mindful of when serving young diners.

Overall, the service could use a lot of improvement. It was hard to track down our waiter on multiple occasions and the restaurant wasn't even busy. We opted to skip dessert. The only good thing we had was the bottle of Pippin Hill wine...but the entire experience was enough to deter us from our planned trip to Pipin Hilll Farm and Vineyard.

Maybe because it was Sunday?? Not sure, but for a place that is so highly reviewed and recommended I don't get it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Like the girl with the curl...when she is good, she is very very good but when she is not, you are disappointed. We eat here fairly often and sometimes it is really wonderful. Last night they didn't have it together. Service was very slow from the bar and kitchen and food was ok not great. Waiter was nice but he kept saying sorry to all his tables.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We had been to Red Pump one time before about three months ago and the first visit was thoroughly enjoyable. Not so this time. I had the lobster bisque which barely tasted of lobster at all. It I didn't know what it was supposed to be I probably would have had a hard time figuring it out. My roasted half chicken was just ordinary and the carrots that came with it were hard and crunchy. My husband had the house pulled mozzarella which was pleasant but the black lava salt was a little too salty. His rigatoni salsiccia was excessively salty such that he couldn't finish it. It was also hard to find any significant sausage in the sauce either. Our waitress was somewhat pleasant but not overly attentive. We ended up leaving her more of a tip than intended just because we didn't want to wait around for change. Overall, the second visit to Red Pump will likely be our last.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 29, 2017

My wife and I chose to dine at Red Pump to celebrate our 4th anniversary. It was a Thursday night, and the restaurant was not very crowded. It was unfortunate to find out the tasting menu is not offered all the time. This may have been listed somewhere (e.g. the Red Pump Kitchen website) and I just missed the detail. Either way, we had a good time. Servers were friendly - but drinks were slow to come out and our entree wines ended up coming out 5 minutes after the plates arrived - odd for a slow night. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to a friend, but it has not been added to my "must return" list for Charlottesville eateries - unless I'm convinced the chef's tasting menu is a must have. Thanks for a wonderful meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We were really excited to try out the menu as so many dishes sounded great, but we were left wishing each dish had a bit more wow factor. The staff was great as was the atmosphere, but sadly the food was just "okay". The cocktail list looked fun and I'd certainly go back to try that out, but I probably wouldn't for dinner.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Everything was outstanding. The pizza was so delicious. Had it as an appetizer. They had me at farm to table with a wood fired oven. Also had the steak, pasta and both delicious. The Pippin Hill Zero white wine was so delicious as well. Perfect with the pizza. I would go back again and again.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Our experience at Red Pump was fantastic. While waiting for our table to be ready, we enjoyed the Speziata cocktail (highly recommended if you're a tequila fan) and Pippin Hill wine (also owned by the owners of Red Pump). We were seated at a table by the front window, which was opened to the downtown mall on this vibrant Friday evening. The beet tartare appetizer was beautiful and tasty. For our entrees, my mom ordered a rigatoni with cream pesto and sausage. I chose the squid ink pasta dish with mussels and shrimp in a garlic/oil sauce. It was flavorful and very light, appropriate for a summer evening! Our server and every staff member we encountered were pleasant and accommodating. We cannot wait to go back soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 22, 2017

One of the best places to eat on the downtown mall. Fun and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went on a relatively quiet night. Service was good as evidenced by a waitress who stepped in to help out when she realized our waiter was busy (hope they share tpis.) Ambiance is good but nothing special. Would imagine it could get loud when full.
We shared the octopus which made me remember why I prefer calamari, not to mean it wasn't good octopus.
I had poached salmon, because they were out of scallops, with a carrot puree and pickled cabbage. The salmon came out at room temperature (was supposed to be hot) but was quickly replaced when I mentioned it. The fish was good, the puree not very exciting and it turns out I don't really like pickled cabbage, my problem not theirs.

My wife had a very good pizza whose ingredient s she doesn't remember (sorry) but it was unusual and very good.

Maybe it had more to with our tastes not meshing with their menu but it's hard to give them a really good rating. It wasn't bad either so you might want to give it a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Solid. I just wish they had more Virginia wines on the Wine List.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great Italian dishes. Service was attentive but not hovering. Tables were close together plus less than optimal acoustics made it noisy. We went for dinner; will try lunch next time!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.