Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Red Pump Kitchen

We use locally sourced, seasonal ingredients to create Tuscan inspired dishes. Our dishes include pizzettes, antipasti, seafood and a selection of homemade pastas. Italian and Virginia wines make up the dynamic wine list. Our craft cocktails are made-to-order and use the freshest possible ingredients.

The bistro-setting features an open kitchen with a classic wood burning oven, a full service bar, and outdoor seating. Our Chef’s Table is available for group dining for parties of 8-10 guests and features 4-course prix-fixe menu with optional wine pairings. Sunday and Tuesday are our Featured Wine Nights.

Red Pump's Tuscan cuisine is a pleasing combination of the highest-quality ingredients and the caring preparation by our chefs who take pride in the dishes they present.

401 East Main Street
Charlottesville, VA 22902
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday, 11:00- 2:00 Lunch 5:00 pm - 10 pm Dinner
Saturday & Sunday, Brunch 11:00- 2:00 Brunch / 5:00 pm - 10 pm Dinner

Cross Street:
4th and Main Street on the Downtown Mall

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(434) 202-6040

Website:
http://redpumpkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Parking Validation for Market St Garage

Executive Chef:
Lee Hendrickson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact laurie@redpumpkitchen.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Red Pump Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Good for a Date (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
See All
Creative Cuisine (15)
Romantic (14)
Local Ingredients (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Casual (9)
People Watching (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Cozy (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Business Meals (5)
Authentic (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Fun (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Healthy (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Organic (2)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
342 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service was outstanding and they were able to prepare both of our meals to order including special requests.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The staff were absolutely awesome. The hose recognized that I had my 3 month old daughter with us on Mother's Day and sat us at a table where we wouldn't be directly in the sun. The wait staff were so polite and professional, and our food and drinks were ordered and brought to us very quickly. Everything was delicious and I am so glad I chose to celebrate my wife's first Mother's say here!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a delicious Mother's Day brunch. We partaked of sausage and biscuits, frittata and the eggs Bendedict. Everything was very tasty and nicely presented. We also enjoyed a large carafe of peach mimosas. The room is light and sunny. I was disappointed they would not seat us at one of the tables of 4 by the open window because we were a party of 3. Those tables remained empty the entire time we were there. Perhaps those who are actually there with reservations should take precedence?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 9, 2017

My entree (squid-ink pasta with shrimp and mussels) was very good, but the entrees for the other four in my party were mediocre. Total cost, with 20% tip, came to $330, which seemed too high for what we ate and drank.

Service was excellent, however, and the server was able to talk the chef into making a small salad for me that wasn't on the menu. There are so many other great restaurants in town that returning here will be pretty far down on our list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Delicious real Tuscan food--this is a dependable spot.
Surprisingly busy on a Sunday night.
Very professional but warm waitstaff.
Excellent pizza crust.
Beet salad and hot shrimp ceviche were especially good.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My dining experience was good, but the only thing that ruined it for me was the temperature. Being seated next to the kitchen and with all the windows open, it was incredibly hot. I was very uncomfortable because I was sweating during my dinner. I ended up not finishing my meal and leaving early because I could not enjoy my food in the heat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Ambiance is wonderful, service was professional and efficient, food was wonderful. We went with another couple on a Sat night and it was difficult to hear the person sitting next to me. Will try again on a weekday night.

Tags: Cozy, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent food, service was adequate but not exceptional, nice atmosphere, we had a great evening

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Food and service were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

A charming restaurant with great ambience and terrific food. Our reservation was honored as soon as we arrived. The wait staff was prompt and we felt like valued customers. We also really enjoyed the decor and the indoor outdoor layout of the restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Not impressed. Food okay, but not much flavor. Service good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was really good although quite expensive for the size of the plates and comparable restaurants in the area. The atmosphere was really airport lounge meets old rich white people. Definitely not a hip scene or somewhere you want to hang around after your meal. I don't think I will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was very good, but the portions of the pasta dishes were a little on the small side (especially for the price). Overall great experience, and recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Dined for brunch with my husband for our anniversary on a rainy Saturday and it was absolutely fabulous! We moved from DC a little over a year ago (brunch capital of the world ;) and this was without a doubt 5 stars and the best brunch in C-ville so far! I was a restaurant GM for a multi-million dollar restaurant for several years and can say this experience was a refreshing change of pace from some of the other dining experiences we've had. The service was fantastic- our server was fun, energetic, knowledgeable and attentive. The really fantastic part was seeing the entire service staff work as a team and walk through the dining room with their eyes peeled for anyone that needed anything, scanning the dining room for empty plates to be bussed, waters to be filled, guests that needed attention... a restaurant manager's dream :)
Putting my FOH bias aside, the food was absolutely delicious and executed perfectly. Seeing the chef behind the line QAing every dish and sending out perfect plates was so fun to watch. I have celiac's disease and they were super accommodating and I felt like I was in good hands which in itself is worth it's weight in gold. The hollandaise on my Benedict was fresh, perfectly lemony and just the right consistency. The eggs were poached beautifully and they were hot- 1 million brunch points! The house pulled mozzarella was insanely delicious, the micro greens were fragrant and really elevated the dish rather than be a thoughtless garnish. The cocktails were so fun and I so appreciated how they fit into the rustic Italian charm. I could go on for pages because I know first hand how important it is to recognize the GREAT experiences just as often, if not more so than the not-so-great ones. Well done Red Pump- super impressed and cannot wait to bring friends and family for many more weekend brunches (and dinner too)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

My husband and I eat here often and always enjoy the experience. This was my first visit for lunch with a friend. Our server was great, and the food was very good. However, I ordered the grilled cheese sandwich with tomato soup and felt that the price point was too high. The flavors were great, but for an average size sandwich plus a bowl of soup, the price of $15 seemed excessive. Either lower the price or add another side--chips, small salad--to the plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We came at 7:00 for a anniversary dinner. Super nice wait staff and concierge. But waited 15 minutes (at least) for a mixed drink while my wife got wine immediately. Got an fried octopus appetizer that was actually not good - taste ok but way overcooked, especially smaller pieces. Told the waiter and they took it off the bill which was nice. Main courses (roasted chicken and Cioppino) were just ok. The rockfish in the Cioppino was actually cooked to crispy. We really wanted to like Red Pump, but at least on that night, it didn't measure up. We won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Way too noisy..very average food. Nothing special at ALL.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Absolutely delicious!!! Peach prosecco was nice at our Easter brunch. Great friendly service. We look forward to returning!!!! Next time for dinner. Supporting the farm to table ida is a bonus!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The brunch menu is absolutely amazing. Between the two of us we ordered quite a few different dishes and shared everything. The food came out on time and our server did a great job. It was also nice to see the head chef taking time to speak with guests! Perfect day to sit out on the patio for brunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a large group of 12 and we had to wait a long time for the table and then to order drinks. Once the manager noticed, she turned around our whole evening with complimentary appetizers. The food was delicious and the space is beautiful. Friendly staff. We will be back on our next visit to Charlottesville! What a great spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Lively evening during the TomTom Festival. Asparagus and citrus salad was awesome. We really enjoyed our entrees as well. Definitely going to come back. Lovely.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food was tasty but not as described on the menu. The couscous with inhouse smoked salmon was not smoked but poached. The chicken and waffles was supposed to be a fried chicken thigh. It was two over cooked chicken tenders. Definitely not a thigh. The waffle was dry and not enough reduction at all. Barely a drizzle. But our server was lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My husband had Chef five course prefixed menu. Everything was delicious and had a good amount portion. You can tell the chef was very talented and patient of what he does. It was one of our awesome Chef tasting experience.
The service was great also. Our waitress was good, the General Manager and Chef came to deliver each course and explain of how they made it and what ingredients they used.
We were so happy with everything from that restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Had a close friend and wife visiting so took them ( 3rd time to Red Pump) because previous meals were excellent and ambiance was very nice. Salmon was excellent, except that it arrived only slightly warm, suggesting it had set on the counter a bit before being taken to our table. That said flavors and appearance were excellent. Also liked the Kale salad!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We went for lunch on a Saturday. It was only a brunch menu available at that time. Though I wasn't necessarily in the mood for brunch, it was delicious. I had potato latkes with eggs and a side of bacon. Each bite was amazing. Would like to try their dinner menu.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in Charlottesville. Lobster tortellini is delicious. Interesting cocktails (love the sage gimlet). Great atmosphere. Get a table along their banquet if you can. Bar service was a bit slow the evening we were there otherwise a thoroughly enjoyable birthday dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Really great. The menu changes seasonally, so the roasted chicken I had did not include the sweet potato puree, which was initiatlly a bummer. But our server noticed it, brought fresh bread and garlic oil, and then gave us our desserts at no cost. This is a sign of a very well run restaurant. I would definitely recommend it. Took my wide there for her birthday, and they brought her dessert out with a candle! (And no cheesy singing by the staff, just gracious and fun.)

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

One of the best meals I have ever had. Worth every penny spent. The House pulled mozzarella was to die for. Wait staff was impeccable and always attentive, very friendly and made sure everything was just as it needed to be. Had trouble choosing what to eat because everything on the menu looked incredibly good. Great variety of options all with fresh ingrenidents. This place is a must when in Charlottesville if you're looking for a nice meal with a great atmosphere and great food.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We had to wait for a while (15+ min) after our appetizers before our main course came out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Waiter didn't have a clue about food or their menu...wasn't sure our salmon could be served medium and said he had never tasted rose wine. Wait for food was very long. Gnocchi was a small portion with lots of greens vs the entree size pasta we expected. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Excellent dining experience with fantastic service and great energy in the restaurant

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We were seated over 20 minutes after our reservation at a tiny 2 top with high slippery seats. Manager noted our distress and reseated us, which we appreciated. The waitress was friendly and generally attentive. The eggplant appetizer was very good but both main courses were very disappointing. Gnocchi was dry and tough, as was the lobster tortellini. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I was in Charlottesville for a girl's weekend to celebrate my birthday and came here for dinner at the recommendation of a colleague. While the food is fantastic, it's the service that is really noteworthy. One of my friend's meal wasn't all she'd expected so they very graciously brought her a second entree at no charge. My bellini took a little while to come out and they graciously comped that for me. I hadn't even thought to complain about the wait so that was really impressive. In addition, in celebration they brought us glasses of champagne and a dish of chocolate mousse to celebrate my birthday. Our server, a young UVA student, was a delight. He was so charming! It was one of the best dining experiences I've had in a while. I loved it and definitely recommend Red Pump.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The food is amazing. Great environment. Everyone there clearly loves what they do and are really really good at it. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The young woman bartender seemed more interested in chatting and laughing with her friends at the bar than mixing our drinks - took more than 15 minutes for them to show up even though there were only a dozen or so diners in the restaurant early Sunday evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The lobster and three cheese tortellini was very good. Dessert was excellent. The pear pizza was sort of plain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was fantastic! Must comment on attention from servers. Without being annoying or in our way, we had numerous servers making sure our water glasses were full, checking to make sure everything was in order, if we needed anything else.
We truly appreciated it. We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The chef's tasting menu was excellent!!! Must try it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Delightful place, great décor. The best brussel sprouts we've ever had!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food at Red Pump is delicious! We had a rockfish and shrimp entree and a kind of beef ravioli, then gelato and tres leche cake. We also had a bottle of local wine: all very good. It was crowded that night (Valentines Day) so maybe more packed than usual. Our waitress was friendly and helpful. I would give it 5 stars overall, but the portions are small, so it doesn't feel like a great value for the cost. I would recommend it, nevertheless, and we plan to go back to Red Pump.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.