About Red Pump Kitchen

401 East Main Street
Charlottesville, VA 22902
View Larger Map

We use locally sourced, seasonal ingredients to create Tuscan inspired dishes. Our dishes include pizzettes, antipasti, seafood and a selection of homemade pastas. Italian and Virginia wines make up the dynamic wine list. Our craft cocktails are made-to-order and use the freshest possible ingredients.

The bistro-setting features an open kitchen with a classic wood burning oven, a full service bar, and outdoor seating. Our Chef’s Table is available for group dining for parties of 8-10 guests and features 4-course prix-fixe menu with optional wine pairings. Sunday and Tuesday are our Featured Wine Nights.

Red Pump's Tuscan cuisine is a pleasing combination of the highest-quality ingredients and the caring preparation by our chefs who take pride in the dishes they present.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday, 5:00 pm - 10 pm
Friday - Saturday, 5:00 pm - 11 pm
Sunday, 5:00 pm - 10 pm
Brunch & Lunch coming April 1st

Cross Street:
4th and Main Street on the Downtown Mall

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(434) 202-6040

Website:
http://redpumpkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Parking Validation for Market St Garage

Executive Chef:
Lee Hendrickson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact laurie@redpumpkitchen.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Red Pump Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (18)
Fit for Foodies (12)
See All
Good for Birthdays (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Romantic (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
People Watching (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Casual (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Authentic (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Cozy (6)
Fun (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Healthy (4)
Business Meals (4)
Seasonal (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tapas (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
306 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

The lobster and three cheese tortellini was very good. Dessert was excellent. The pear pizza was sort of plain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was fantastic! Must comment on attention from servers. Without being annoying or in our way, we had numerous servers making sure our water glasses were full, checking to make sure everything was in order, if we needed anything else.

We truly appreciated it. We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The chef's tasting menu was excellent!!! Must try it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Delightful place, great décor. The best brussel sprouts we've ever had!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food at Red Pump is delicious! We had a rockfish and shrimp entree and a kind of beef ravioli, then gelato and tres leche cake. We also had a bottle of local wine: all very good. It was crowded that night (Valentines Day) so maybe more packed than usual. Our waitress was friendly and helpful. I would give it 5 stars overall, but the portions are small, so it doesn't feel like a great value for the cost. I would recommend it, nevertheless, and we plan to go back to Red Pump.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Highly recommend, everything was delicious, the service was fantastic, the atmosphere was top notch!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

outstanding menu and exceptional service as always. The atmosphere is always exceptional and the staff is consistently attentive without being intrusive. The presentation is beautiful and the portions are filling without being excessive. The gelatto is the best in virginia.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

When we walked in, we were immediately greeted by a friendly hostess and we were 15 minutes late (childcare issues)! She was very understanding and seated us quickly. We bantered back and forth with the staff and they were very helpful with food selection and drink selection. It was full on the night we went (Valentine's Day) and they had a chef's tasting option (5 courses for $65) so it was pretty loud, but the room is big enough that the noise level was not too intrusive and my partner and I could still chat easily. Overall, a good experience and there are still a few items that I would love to come back and try!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our second Valentine's Day dinner. Food is creative and delicious.

Wonderful service. Very nice atmosphere but not "cozy". The tastings menu was amazing.

Highly recommended for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My boyfriend and I took a weekend trip to Charlottesville for Valentine's Day and decided to make a reservation at Red Pump Kitchen for dinner. The location was perfect, right on the Downtown Mall, and the interior was really beautiful with huge glass windows looking onto downtown. We were a little bit late but they were very accommodating. We both really enjoyed the cocktails and both of our entrees as well as dessert, with our favorite being the crispy octopus appetizer we shared. I would definitely suggest Red Pump Kitchen for a date night or special occasion!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Red Pump is one of the top Italian restaurants in Charlottesville from their great wine list to great selection of pasta dishes to fantastic personal pizzas. Always a great experience.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Made a reservation for 7:30 and had to wait about 10 minutes to be seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Good atmosphere- food was cold and arrived after a long wait. Not recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Good service and ambiance, however entrees are noticeably overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went for restaurant week but have been at other times too. Red Pump always delivers a fantastic meal with a great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We made a reservation about a week ahead on Open Table but weren't made aware that it was Restaurant Week. We chose the restaurant based off the menu but when we arrived we only had the restaurant week menu to choose from which was very limited and overpriced for what it was. I feel we paid twice as much as we should have. Drinks were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We came for Restaurant Week. Delicious and properly cooked salmon and lobster (not over-done). Great carmelized Brussels sprouts (look charred but they definitely are not charred). Very tasty creative cocktails. Tall tables and barstools a bit awkward for dining - especially for tall people with long legs. Regular tables a bit close together for my taste. Attentive but proper service. We will come back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Although the food was excellent my friends portion of salmon was miniscule. It's also very loud in there so you cant hear the conversation of your dinner partner. In addition the waitress and bartender weren't familiar with my cocktail request.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Excellent, imaginative dishes. Creative cocktails. Pleasant ambience with soft, warm lighting. Attractive wall-hangings at front of restaurant. Friendly, courteous, professional service. A thoroughly enjoyable evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 21, 2017

First time, loved it. Restaurant week, great menu, very delicious! Excellent pinot noir, service, ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Amazing as always Were there for restaurant week. Menu was fantastic

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Not good at all. Typical Restaurant Week gimmick. Fixed price: reduced portions served lukewarm; fitting 5 adults tightly at table for 4, elbow to elbow; thank God no one was unduly big. Drinks screwed up and watered down, although prices $3 more than next night at another restaurant not participating in R W. Noise level unbearable and food selection severely limited (no meat option and no alternative menu.)

Summary: Bad. Not worth it.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Both my dinner and my husband's were delicious--so was the dessert and the wine! Great vibe, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We came in for our anniversary dinner, and left happy and full! The wait staff were professional and friendly. The food was great. Very romantic spot!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I absolutely love the pear and Brussel sprout pizza. Pairs deliciously with the Pippin Hill zero white. It was a birthday dinner for me and as usual I had an amazing meal. Definitely my go to place!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent dinner on a busy New Years Eve. A few bumps on service, but the food was delicious, and we felt like it was a special evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

While visiting Charlottesville, had New Year's Eve dinner with my wife and daughter at Red Pump Kitchen and we were not disappointed. Red Pump had a set menu that still offered plenty of choices. Great service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything was outstanding on New Year's Eve - great service, food, ambiance, wine list. Definitely a real treat - 10!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Chef's table is the way to go. Great time and fantastic value. Thanks Lee!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our first time at Red Pump. Waiter fabulous. Food delicious. Wine delicious. Lovely decor. Noisy. Expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great pizza options! Love the atmosphere. The high top tables near the windows are great seats to have the view of the outside mall although the chairs aren't the most comfortable, felt like I was sliding off the seat. Wine from local wineries are available which I thought was a plus, a little pricey though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, People Watching, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This is my second visit to RP and we enjoyed another great dining experience. Blake our server was very attentive. This visit was with friends for my birthday. Love the atmosphere and delicious wood fired pizza. The four of us split a pizza for an appetizer. In this day of fake candles everywhere, the real candles on the tables and bar area, and the real oil lamps on the walls lend an authentic ambience to the room. Good job RP!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We drove from Richmond and ate at Red Pump Kitchen after a Pippin Hill Winery stop. Not our first vist and we always enjoy our meal there. We loved that ELizabeth Spencer wine is the house wine !! We loved how all the waitstaff work as a team.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I have been to Red Pump Kitchen on several occasions in the past and typically have enjoyed the experience and had good service. On Sunday night (12/18) I had a reservation for a party of three. While we were seated immediately, we did not see our server for almost six minutes. It was unclear who our server was throughout the meal, as it seemed people were rotating. The restaurant was busy but not full to capacity. Our appetizers (Brussels sprouts and beets) were good, but our entrée portions were smaller than I have previously received. Additionally, the entrees were lukewarm. By this time, we did not have time to return the dishes as we were in a time crunch due to delays. My entrée, the carbonara, had fewer tomatoes and almost no pancetta in it as compared to previous times I've dined. I am disappointed in our experience and would like to return, but it seemed like an off night for the kitchen and service staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 16, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in cville! Great food, drinks, and ambiance. Perfect spot for a special and memorable date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We hadn't been to Red Pump before so thought we would give it a try...before a show at the Paramount. Not a huge place by any means. Nice décor...very warm/inviting. We were seated promptly and then they quickly accommodated our request for a better table. Attentive service. The menu had a good selection, although not a great place if you are on a gluten-free diet. The beet appetizer was really interesting (involving coffee and chocolate). I had the pork cheeks on rigatoni with lemon ricotta. I'm not a huge pasta fan, but this was well-executed. The pork was really tender. Not a huge serving, which is a good thing. The cioppino was fine...they should serve with bread and/or a spoon. The salmon was very good...cooked to order. We ordered a bottle of wine, and the server was good about pouring throughout the meal. We had to run so didn't have time for dessert. Although it was a bit pricey (but competitive with certain other spots in and around the downtown mall), we were glad to have tried this.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and had a wonderful time. The waitress we had was outstanding and very personable. The food was good and I would highly recommend this venue to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 30, 2016

One of the worst meals in Charlottesville. My last time there. The service and ambiance are great but the food and wine were a shame. We interviewed a candidate and I was embarrassed. I felt bad to leave in the middle but I should have moved all of us to another place. This is such a great place with a fantastic interior and a great service... get rid of the chef and hire someone who can cook. This could be a jewel in the crown but right now it's a no-go place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food. Excellent service. Wonderful ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Everything was very nice and delicious. Not sure what all the comments about the noise were. We could here everything fine. And portion size is completely normal. Those comments must be from folks who prefer Cheesecake Factory servings.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Nice place; food and service were good. When I made our reservations on Open Table for 3, we had our pick of times, no problem. However, when we arrived, they seated us at a small table right by the door. We asked if there was another table out of the pathway and cold draft of the door , they replied everything was reserved. Maybe they only cater to larger groups? Not sure but we weren't pleased. We moved on though and had a nice dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were very impressed with the staff and their willingness to make our dining experience as comfortable as possible. The backless barstools were uncomfortable and hard to tolerate for some in our party, so when another table became available, we were reseated. The food was delicious; however, the entrees were not of equal proportion, i.e., pricier dishes were somewhat smaller than less expensive ones.

Overall, a warm and inviting dining experience for a special birthday occasion.

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We were a party of three out for a friends birthday. It was a chilly windy night and we were given a very small table near the front door. We were told that's all they had, so we couldn't move. The size of the actual table would have been better suited for a two person party. If you wanted to buy a bottle of wine, there were a lot of choices, if you wanted a glass of wine, the list was very limited. The entre was good, but on the small side. I'm not quite sure what the vegetable was that was paired with my salmon, but it looked like the ends that you cut off of a carrot and toss out.

They were nice enough to give us a free gelato for my friends birthday, but I won't be going back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Absolutely not worth the price. Food was very expensive, unimpressive, and the portion sizes were ridiculously small. We got the lobster pasta dish and only got 4 noodle shells. Will not be returning.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food, good service. Appreciated when server assisted chices with special diet

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Wood Oven, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We've eaten here several times. Great food, wine and fabulous service. Could not have had a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We've been twice now. Food consistently very good. One omission: no bread! Even if requested, they just don't have.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I brought my parents here and had a wonderful dining experience. We ordered a few things to share: the cheese board, the margherita pizza, the eggplant fritti, and the brussel sprouts. Everything was exquisite- delicious, perfectly seasoned, prepared with care. The brussel sprouts, however, were absolutely outstanding. I could have eaten a giant pile of them all by myself. The wine selection by the glass was concise yet had a great variety choices: Spanish, French and Italian. The ambience was lovely and the service was friendly, helpful and informative. I will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had a great meal here with husband and son. We all really enjoyed the octopus and kale salad appetizers. My son loved the lobster ravioli and I had a beef pasta dish that was great with an amazing mushroom ragu. It's a little loud and the tables are close together, but it's fun to watch kitchen prepare the food, if you get a chance to sit at that end of the dining room.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.