Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Rappahannock

Upscale, yet casual seafood restaurant nestled in the historic Grace St. corridor of downtown Richmond, serving up seasonal dishes, craft beers, diverse wine, signature cocktails, and an enormous raw bar focusing on our very own oyster farms (ie, Rappahannock Oyster Co.). Rappahannock has assembled incredible talent to revolutionize the concept of farm to table.

320 E. Grace St.
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch is served Monday-Friday 11:30am-3pm
Raw bar all day with Happy Hour starting at 4pm Sunday-Thursday
Dinner is served Monday-Friday starting at 5pm, Saturday and Sunday at 3pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 545-0565

Website:
http://www.rroysters.com/

Catering:
Rappahannock is an arm of Rappahannock Oyster Co (www.rroysters.com), which provides mobile raw bars and seafood small plates for weddings, parties and other functions.

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking, Rappahannock has many nearby parking lots, such as 4th & Broad and 4th & Main.

Executive Chef:
Dylan Fultineer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For large parties of 6 or more guests, please call the restaurant at (804)545-0565 or email us at reservations@rroysters.com to make a booking.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether a seated dinner or a reception style event, Rappahannock and RappSession are the perfect spot for your group!

Rappahannock Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (36)
Local Ingredients (35)
Creative Cuisine (34)
See All
Special Occasion (30)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Bar Seating (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Fun (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Casual (17)
Authentic (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Romantic (12)
Healthy (10)
Great Beer (9)
People Watching (8)
Seasonal (8)
Cozy (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Organic (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1341 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Had reservations on a busy concert Saturday night. Arrived ten min late but noted they called me to check and still held my table though i didnt see the call.
Waitress was very attentive on a busy night

Food was great. Though seafood is their thing, we had the braised oxtail and tuna dishes, and while both were great, the oxtail was amazing. Melt in your mouth tender and hearty on a mild fall night.

Cocktail and beer selection is good, not great. Wont leave you wanting but better cocktail bars in Richmond.

Seating is tight with center bar concept but not uncomfortable.

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 10, 2017

I’ve been here several times. My brother was in from New York City visiting. I took him here because this is a reliable place. The meal was all around really good but the pork was a little bit dry. I always recommend the whole fish or the scallops. Oysters are always great as are the cocktails.

Very consistently good and reliable

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Some of the best service and food I’ve had in recent memory. Thanks for an amazing dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Extremely expensive. Small portions. Had the paella-for $32, I had a portion of bland seafood on a bed of sticky, undercooked rice. No seasoning, no saffron, bland. Our bill was $280, and with both of my cousins being chefs with their own restaurant, we all walked away disappointed. We did mention our disappointment to our server, but we really don't think it was passed onto the kitchen.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We had a delightful meal, nicely served. My son & I like the opportunity to order oysters with different salinity. I grew up with sweet oysters from Church Creek where he likes the saltier varieties. The dozen enabled us to have both.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 6, 2017

First visit to Rappahannock. The menu was unique and was well-prepared with fresh ingredients. Everything we ordered was delicately balanced in flavor and perfectly portioned.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Great service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

The food was well prepared and thought out, flavors well developed and presented. The service (Amanda) was wonderful, she was enthusiastic and well informed and very pleasant. Overall a very good experience, would definitely return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Overall we loved the food, especially the Salt Oysters (Chincoteague, Yeay!) Would like to have seen a volume discount on the oysters. The main course was exquisite with an excellent imported pinot noir to accompany our choices. We had pan cotta and pumpkin/ginger gelato for dessert. Still don't know how they managed to put a pumpkin pie into the gelato. It was delicious. We both settled for drip coffee when we could not get a cappucino with a flavor shot (raspberry). Our reservations were for 6:30 but we arrived early and we were immediately seated, which was really nice. Our server was really very nice but the service was a little slow, especially as it got later in the evening. We would definitely recommend this restaurant, with the proviso that our four course meal with a bottle of wine was around $200 for two plus tip.

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We had an outstanding birthday meal at this restaurant. Our reservation was ready for us when we arrived, our table was tucked to the side so we had some privacy, and our server was awesome. Food really good!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We ate here on a business trip. The food was excellent, service very good, drinks wonderful. Get the "Pistols at Dawn".

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Third visit and a pleasure as always. Well trained attentive waitress. Tried two new entrees, yellow fin tuna with summer vegetables and braised oxtail with winter vegetables and grains. Tuna was medium rare and light and delicious (virtuous and indulgent at the same time). Oxtail was rich, indulgent and decadent. Dessert was buttermilk panna cotta with dark chocolate mousse. What a combination!

Tags: Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The main courses were excellent. The apple crisp dessert was mediocre. The decor was industrial but pleasant. The noise level was high.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 21, 2017

The food was excellent. We both had pan seared fish, perfectly done. Service very nice, although the noise level was a little high. The biggest concern was one of us being allergic to scallops. The menu features various items grilled, including scallops. The grill was described to us as limited in size, with no ability to segregate the scallops from any other grilled item. Essentially, this took well over half of the menu off our choice list. If we had known beforehand, we would have gone elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 14, 2017

The oysters were way overpriced & bread wasn't served at all-even with a fish soup entrée. When bread requested, waitress said we would have to pay extra for it. Oysters in Urbanna are $.60 ea-at Rappahanock were $2.25 ea.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Terrific dining experience! The roasted chicken with arugula (topped by awesome peach slices and mushrooms) was delicious, and the blueberry peach cobbler was epic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was good but not adequate amount for pan seared fish entree. The fish portion was adequate but there were only about 1/2 c of vegetables on the plate. (See photo attached). 4 very small pieces of carrot, 4 tiny pieces of kohlrabi and a couple of small peppers. This plate desperately needed more veggies or a starch. When I asked for bread to help fill out my meal - they brought 4 slices and when the check came we were charged $5 for the bread! (I had a salad of arugula and tomatoes for $11 as the appetizer. The paella was good and a reasonably sized portion with rice as the base of the dish.

This dish was not worth $30.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Very good food, outstanding service and a cool vibe. We really enjoyed our meal and will be back. The appetizers and the desert were exceptional, while the entrees were very good, but just missed. Kudos to the chef for a willingness to push the envelope. We will be back to see what new culinary adventures await.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

We loved dining there people were nice the food was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 20, 2017

I enjoyed the dinner although I think it was overpriced for what you got. Everything was fresh and well prepared. They used a combination of ingredients to bring out the flavors and that was yummy. The wait staff was awesome - very attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This is a very good seafood restaurant - great oysters, very nice octopus and a variety of fresh, wild-caught fish options. The wine list was good. Desserts were yummy.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Absolutely great service! Very good food with focus on seafood and oysters but something for everyone.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great food and great atmosphere. Oysters were phenomenal but so was everything else. Hard to pick my favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

The wood-grilled fish and octopus were delicious. The ceviche flavor was very inventive and the quality of fish, wonderful. Service was irratic and needs coordination. Good food overcomes and we will look forward to another visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Good food and fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 7, 2017

We hadn't seen each other for a while so we lingered and the staff was kind-hearted and supportive. The food was excellent and the place always looks great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent place for a dinner before a show at the Carpenter Center or Colliseum downtown. Wide open cocktail list and great selection of craft beer. Oysters are great. Portions are ample. Our server, Alice, was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and helped with selections for a great well paced meal. We will return for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Good food overpriced. Lots of hype about this place, 3 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We don't dine out often, so we like to get something really special when we do. Rappahanock's reputation and ratings from RVA Mag drew us out there. It's a cool looking place, but the acoustics are horrible. Couldn't hear a word of our own conversation over the general din.
We had the fresh tomato salads; they were awesome. Had we stopped there, this would be a positive review; it was definitely by far the culinary highlight.
I ordered the special pan grilled fish, a Caribbean type I'd not tried; it's 'type" was misdescribed by our waiter; it was overcooked, and I didn't care for the flavor...maybe some would. There were a whole lot of nice carrots with it.
My husband had the steak; he usually raves about it, but it wasn't great, again, overcooked, lots of some grain with it.
We had desert, again, just average. Our server said the ice cream was Gelati Celesti, but I suspect Haagen Daz, at best. No need to go back with so much to choose from in that district.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Every dish was done well ... octopus grilled superbly. A winner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We enjoyed our table by the window looking out on the busy downtown street. It's a bit noisy, but still a nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Farm to table restaurant where the chef really knows his stuff.

Tags: Organic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 29, 2017

It was a special night that we very much enjoyed, thanks

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Needed a place near our hotel while visiting our daughter and chose this place based on Open Table reviews. We were not disappointed. The food was really on point. Though oysters clearly "rule" here, we were very happy with our salads and our apps that branched into other food groups/categories. Highly recommend and will revisit when next in town for sure!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 28, 2017

All good but for paying $5 for cold bread with cold hard butter.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 27, 2017

I miss the pickles they use to offer on a sample plate with the scrapple. Oysters and clams delicious and pricy, service great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Best tuna ever had and love those oysters. My wife had baked oysters. Been there many times.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 26, 2017

My husband and I went for the first time for our 25th anniversary.. It turned out to be such a great night. Our server Ada was amazing, the food and drinks were both very good! Glad we decided to try it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Second visit here and was equally as great as the first! Brought my parents for mother's day, and came with a friend for my birthday. The happy hour is great - "draft prosecco" is my new favorite phrase. The local ingredients can't be beat - they are so fresh, and flavorful. The vibe is comfortable but not too casual, the big windows let in great natural light. Great place for a nice meal with a great glass of wine :)

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Food was outstanding and service was terrific! We went early to take advantage of happy hour. Our server, Jason, was very knowledgeable and didn't rush us through. His recommendations were spot on. We enjoyed oysters and clams, the pork scrappel, the wood grilled octopus and shared the seafood paella! Outstanding!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.