About Rappahannock

320 E. Grace St.
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Upscale, yet casual seafood restaurant nestled in the historic Grace St. corridor of downtown Richmond, serving up seasonal dishes, craft beers, diverse wine, signature cocktails, and an enormous raw bar focusing on our very own oyster farms (ie, Rappahannock Oyster Co.). Rappahannock has assembled incredible talent to revolutionize the concept of farm to table.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11:30 am - 10 pm
Fri: 11:30 am - 11 pm
Sat: 3 pm - 11 pm
Sun: 3 pm - 10 pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 545-0565

Website:
http://www.rroysters.com/

Catering:
Rappahannock is an arm of Rappahannock Oyster Co (www.rroysters.com), which provides mobile raw bars and seafood small plates for weddings, parties and other functions.

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking, Rappahannock has many nearby parking lots, such as 4th & Broad and 4th & Main.

Executive Chef:
Dylan Fultineer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether a seated dinner or a reception style event, Rappahannock and RappSession are the perfect spot for your group!

Rappahannock Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (38)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for a Date (32)
See All
Bar Seating (30)
Special Occasion (27)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Casual (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Open Kitchen (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Business Meals (15)
Great Beer (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Authentic (13)
Fun (12)
Seasonal (11)
Wood Oven (10)
Romantic (10)
People Watching (10)
Cozy (9)
Healthy (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Historic (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Organic (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1204 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was outstanding. The service n ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was outstanding. The service not so much. We sat there for at least 5 minutes after being server water for anyone to come to our table.

Dina

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

I had been considering trying Rappahanno ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

I had been considering trying Rappahannock and my wife and I decided that a late Valentine Dinner was a good excuse. I had the Rockfish and Oyster stew and my wife had the Virginia Fluke. Both were outstanding. We also had the baked oysters and pork and pickles for appetizers. The Pork and Pickles were noteworthy. We shared an Orange rum cake with grapefruit sorbet. The sorbet was a wonderful compliment to the cake. I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous oysters. Best around, no compet ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous oysters. Best around, no competition. We tried the Oysters and Pearls for the first time, and they fairly danced across the palate. Everything else was average to below. The dessert was particularly disappointing. The blackberries and raspberry coulis that decorated the plate were delicious, but the chocolate torte itself was dry and stale. Even the Gelati Celesti vanilla ice cream couldn't mask it. The service was mediocre, which is pretty usual for the Grace Street location. The server failed to notice that the second cocktail, whose ingredients she never got around to sharing, remained half-consumed, and so will not be able to convey to the bartender that it was a fail. This will be the last time I bother with this location. Merroir in Topping, VA, has never failed to exceed expectations, but the Grace Street location always has failed to even meet them. When I need an oyster fix in the future, I will go next door to their Oyster Saloon or drive to Topping and save myself any further disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Great food knowledge and recommendations ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food knowledge and recommendations of our waitress and the delicious fish dishes made this a great meal. Also outstanding plump oysters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I hosted out of town business visitors w ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

I hosted out of town business visitors who had never been to Rappahannock. They were unanimous in their praise and were still talking about how good it was the next day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I visited Rappahannock for the first tim ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 7 days ago

I visited Rappahannock for the first time the day after Valentines day with my husband. The menu was the typical dinner menu. We ordered bread and it was amazing! However, it was not complementary. We paid $5 for it. I also thoroughly enjoyed the Shirley temples we both ordered. The grenadine and tonic are locally made and it tasted superb. However, I was sorely disappointed regarding the entres.

I ordered wood-grilled scallops with oxtail. My husband ordered the white fin tuna. After one bite, we both turned towards each other and made faces. Both dishes were WAY too salty. My husband was so hungry that he powered through and finished his meal but I snacked on bread and waited for the waiter to come over and check on us. By the time he arrived, my husband was done with his meal. I told the waiter that the food was too salty and he returned it to the kitchen.

Thankfully, I was reimbursed for the meal. We then ordered chocolate torte. Although good, the portions were extremely conservative. While I'm thankful that Rappahannock reimbursed the scallops, I would not recommend this restaurant. The food was overpriced for its quality. If both dishes were over salted, I wouldn't want to spend the cash on risking other dishes.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We made an online reservation for 2:45 p ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We made an online reservation for 2:45 pm. Granted, we were the only people there, they acted like we were an imposition since they were closing the kitchen to change over from lunch to dinner at 3 pm. The 2:45 reservation was one of two available reservations, so though it's not what we wanted ideally, we took it anyway. The other time was 2:30 pm, so really not very different. Knowing the kitchen closes at 3 to change over, they should not have had such late reservations available for people to take. If this is a problem to have customers at such a time, then they should not have had it as an option to begin with. On top of this, the food was decent, but for the price coupled with the service, it was not worth it and is not worth going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Love the atmosphere - great food! Good ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Love the atmosphere - great food! Good for any occasion-

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All good. Nice evening with family. Grea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

All good. Nice evening with family. Great food,service and lots of fun.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Rappahannock as ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 8, 2017

My husband and I went to Rappahannock as part of an "away from the baby" overnight date to Richmond (we are from Baltimore). We chose Rappahannock because we rarely get to go out to nice restaurants and it had great reviews. We didn't have a bad experience but were also not blown away. Our waitress disappeared for about 25 minutes (she apologized for "abandoning" us without our bring it up, although she didn't really supply any explanation). During that period, we had to flag someone else down to the white wine we had ordered, which was waiting on the service bar, getting warm.

The food was good but...forgettable? Our favorite item was the tuna tartar which was perfectly umami. The oyster/rockfish soup (an entree) was OK. The escargot good. The pear salad was fine. Nothing felt very inspired! In combination with the gray walls and dark atmosphere in general (and I say this as a lover of the color gray) - the whole experience felt drab.

Overall, at this price point, I want to be impressed by both food and service more than we experienced here. Wasn't a bad experience, but wouldn't be on my list of "places we loved."

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Unique pairing but excellent results

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Unique pairing but excellent results

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my sister-in-law & brother-in-law ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 6, 2017

I took my sister-in-law & brother-in-law there for her birthday. They both enjoy seafood as I do. She had just visited the Northern Neck with friends & they had lunch in Topping, VA at the sister restaurant of the Rappahannock. They enjoyed their meal in Topping & I asked if they had ever been to the Rappahannock Restaurant here in Richmond. They had not & I had a nice lunch there months ago. My sister-in-law really enjoys oysters (cooked) & my brother-in-law feels the same about blue crab. The menu for the evening had the raw bar for oysters, one appetizer of 6 baked oysters & the entree had a fish & oyster stew. The featured fish was South American (noted to be similar to red snapper) & no crab dishes were shown. We each had the baked oysters (3 orders) & while somewhat unique, they were very small and not something I would order again. We may have been spoiled by her visit to Topping & my treating them to my brother-in-law's birthday at Shagbark Restaurant last month where we had one of the best oyster Rockefeller presentations ever. We ended up going to Perly's Restaurant for more apps & topping it off with a wonderful dessert of warm chocolate Babka with homemade coconut ice cream. So the evening was not a "bust"....but it will never be at the Rappahannock again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

I can always count on a delicious meal a ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I can always count on a delicious meal at Rappahannock, and Saturday's dining experience with friends did not disappoint. We began with a dozen briny oysters, and they tasted as if they had been harvested moments before. The rest of the meal was every bit as fresh tasting with sides that complemented the main dishes. My only complaint is with the lackluster service but it was a busy night and perhaps they were understaffed. This is still our go-to place for a drink at the bar.

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Was expecting more, but entrees did not ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Was expecting more, but entrees did not live up to the hype. Appetizer (escargot) was cold and for the price, very little size of the dishes. I don't believe I would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Really disappointing experience. This wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Really disappointing experience. This was our second trip to this spot and after two tries, we are just too frustrated with the service to try again. Oysters were great but it took us 30 minutes to get unapologetic service, drinks arrived after food, and our waitress seemed deeply offended by our presence. Young ladies at the front of house were very nice and apologetic but unfortunately that didn't help. Outside of oysters, food and drinks are underwhelming and overpriced. Lots of other great options on Grace St. these days and plenty of places to get oysters so I advise skipping this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Great place, food, and customer service!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great place, food, and customer service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our go-to restaurants. Th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This is one of our go-to restaurants. The service is consistent and the food is always great. This most recent visit was a bit noisier than usual, but we were still able to talk. We went for a pre-theatre dinner on a Sat. night. The bourride, was very good as usual, and the pan-seared fish that night was exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was excellent. Menu prices are mor ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was excellent. Menu prices are more on the high end, but well worth it. Fresh and creative menu.

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was ok, but nothing I would rave ab ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food was ok, but nothing I would rave about. Service was average. Honestly, I was expecting more.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

It was terrific. Due to a delayed fligh ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 24, 2017

It was terrific. Due to a delayed flight we missed our reservation time but that did no phase them at all (although the did not credit me the points). Tuna was outstanding!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

A friend and I came for dinner before a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

A friend and I came for dinner before a concert. Great location and we were able to park easily which was surprising. Noise level was just right; we were able to hold a normal conversation without shouting or, conversely, feeling too loud. Our waitress was informative and professional although she did disappear for quite a while a couple of times (and they weren't that busy). We enjoyed our food overall although we found the portions to be on the small side esp. for the price. We both ordered the monk fish and it was delicious. That said, we both got 2 tiny strips of fish laid across the top of our sides (which were also fairly small). For $28 we were anticipating a fillet or at least 1/2 of a fillet. I got the cobbler for dessert which was delicious and reasonably sized. My friend got the chocolate torte which was pitifully small and hard as a rock; basically inedible. The Happy Hour drinks were a good deal - decently priced and a good selection. Overall, an okay experience but this place is more about being in a cool place vs. having a good meal. I'd recommend it as a place for drinks.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Environment was energetic, but loud for ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Environment was energetic, but loud for normal conversations. Long waits between service. Food was plated well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great mix of flavors in the monk fish di ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great mix of flavors in the monk fish dish. Add fun experience, people watching from window seats and a no hurry experience. Really enjoyed!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great service and food. Nicely flavoured ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great service and food. Nicely flavoured main courses cooked well and seasoned just right. Cocktails are worth a taxi instead of driving and the short wine list has some inspiring options. One of our go-to places.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Long wait until server acknowledged tabl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Long wait until server acknowledged table. Long wait from time to order drinks compared to time drinks were finally served. Great food, poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Our meal was wonderful. We had a reserv ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our meal was wonderful. We had a reservation at 5:30 and needed to be at the Richmond Forum at 8:00. Our meal was great, and our waitress was very helpful, but the service was so slow that we were not able to order dessert as we had planned.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The Pan Seared Fish was excellent! Wonde ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The Pan Seared Fish was excellent! Wonderful mix of flavors. Great wine list too!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I requested my reservation at 8:15 got t ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I requested my reservation at 8:15 got there early but Was suppose to receive 1000 points for that time slot but only received 100. Please check that for me .

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to this establishment about 6 ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We've been to this establishment about 6-10 times and have always enjoyed it. Most visits I would give it a 4 - 4.5. On a recent visit I would have had to give it a 4.7. The sushi grade tuna was absolutely phenomenal. Since I can only give a 4 or 5, I have to be conservative but I highly recommend this restaurant.

In my opinion, one of the top ten in Richmond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dinner with business colleagues. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great dinner with business colleagues. Great oysters as always.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried Rappahanock based on its reputa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We tried Rappahanock based on its reputation even though we had mixed reviews going in. We were pleasantly surprised by our experience. The menu provided an excellent selection of entrees. We had the Sea Bass and Seafood Paella and felt both were excellent. The only downside was that we sat at a high top table which we would have preferred a regular table. We will be going back to sample more items from the menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very slow service and very hot.

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very slow service and very hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We include this great restaurant on our ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We include this great restaurant on our monthly list of places to go out to dinner. Always great oysters and seafood prepared well with a wonderful and knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very limited options for lunch. Over pri ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Very limited options for lunch.

Over priced especially considering portion size. 6 baked oysters were $16 I believe?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Oysters were great. Sauce was subtle wit ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Oysters were great. Sauce was subtle with Sherry and sugar and vinegar. The baked oysters were a little buried in lesss savory toppings and a little bit unmatched in flavor. Will try the smoked once next time. Great waitstaff and good vibes.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent oysters! Had three of the four ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent oysters! Had three of the four folks that had never been to this restaurant and all loved it. Great choice for New Years Eve dinner. I ordered the Blue Runner Jack which I had never even heard of. Came as a whole fish, served over greens and rice. Absolutely fantastic flavor no off flavors at all. Filling but not stuffed. The desserts we spot on as was the entire evening did not feel rushed and Elena did a great job with solid recommendations. Worth every penny.

Tags: Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The menu for the evening was a special m ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The menu for the evening was a special menu and it was a bad choice.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

One of our favorites!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

One of our favorites!

Tags: Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food was uneven. The Yellowfin tuna ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our food was uneven. The Yellowfin tuna was very, very good. It was a generous portion cooked just right. The flavor mix with the accompanying prosciutto and other ingredients made the dish. On the other hand, the very large bone-in pork chop was so salty as to be almost inedible. The scallops were cooked unevenly. One was exactly right and two were slightly undercooked. Overall, there were 6 of us. Three thought it was great and the other three thought their dishes were ill prepared. I would give it one more chance. At $533 all in with mandatory 20% tip for 6 people, it should be right the first time.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Our first time there . . . . Food was be ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our first time there . . . . Food was better than the service. After finally getting the attention of our waiter, we received a lame excuse for not serving bread.: "The bakery let us down and we don't have any."

It's one of our daughter's favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.