Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Rappahannock

Upscale, yet casual seafood restaurant nestled in the historic Grace St. corridor of downtown Richmond, serving up seasonal dishes, craft beers, diverse wine, signature cocktails, and an enormous raw bar focusing on our very own oyster farms (ie, Rappahannock Oyster Co.). Rappahannock has assembled incredible talent to revolutionize the concept of farm to table.

320 E. Grace St.
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch is served Monday-Friday 11:30am-3pm
Raw bar all day with Happy Hour starting at 4pm Sunday-Thursday
Dinner is served Monday-Friday starting at 5pm, Saturday and Sunday at 3pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 545-0565

Website:
http://www.rroysters.com/

Catering:
Rappahannock is an arm of Rappahannock Oyster Co (www.rroysters.com), which provides mobile raw bars and seafood small plates for weddings, parties and other functions.

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking, Rappahannock has many nearby parking lots, such as 4th & Broad and 4th & Main.

Executive Chef:
Dylan Fultineer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether a seated dinner or a reception style event, Rappahannock and RappSession are the perfect spot for your group!

Rappahannock Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (29)
Local Ingredients (27)
Good for a Date (24)
See All
Fit for Foodies (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Special Occasion (20)
Happy Hour (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Casual (10)
Business Meals (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Authentic (10)
Romantic (9)
Fun (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Seasonal (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Healthy (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
People Watching (4)
Great Beer (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Organic (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Cozy (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tapas (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Historic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1254 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent food and service. We tried the garlic soup, very tasty but decided it was not for us. We enjoyed the window seating with views of the street activities. Overall a pleasant experience and a little pricey.

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Best oysters in Virginia snd excellent cocktails in a lively atmosphere. Never disappoints though it can be a bit pricey.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We were visiting Richmond to attend a concert on Friday night; this place was listed on the concert venue website along with three other options. I did some research and ended up making a reservation at Rappahanock. I am glad I did. The oysters were perfect (awesome sauce) and the whole fish was excellent. We had great service, the place was very cute, and while it is not inexpensive, it was worth the price. I would go back the next time we are in Richmond.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The restaurant temperature was too warm. It always takes a long time for the wait staff to acknowledge you. The oyster shucker had a towel is his mouth at the bar while shucking oysters. That's gross!!! Our waiter offered to buy us dessert since it took so long. We were headed to a concert at the National so we declined but it was a nice offer when we had not complained about the length of the service. The food is amazing and worth dealing with the mediocre service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Food was fantastic, raw oysters were so delicious. Every thing we ordered was delicious. Great service also! Dessert menu was a little limited. But overall it was great dining experience, will definitely go back.

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great tasting selections of oysters and clams prepared how you want! Great bar, beer & wine selection.Fantastic paella dinner!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I love everything about this restaurant. The corner location, the fantastic food and cocktails, the restaurant layout, the customer service everything rolled up into one word WOWZERS!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Updated menu. Grilled octopus, asparagus salad and lemon pasta was excellent. And of course the oysters. Great meal and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We enjoyed our meals. The woodgrilled yellow fin tuna and the Rockfish & Barcat Oyster Bourride were delicious. Wine list is rather pricey but it was good. Will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Excellent food focused on locally farmed and caught ingredients. Portion sizes were perfect - will definitely come back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The good: I love eating here. Fresh oysters are a PLUS. Interesting drink selection. Food is always creative. However, the noise level is quite high so if you expect to have a conversation, probably not the best place to go (unless you want to converse at the bar). The staff is always very friendly. This is a popular place so a reservation is mandatory (in my opinion). The down side to it being so packed all the time is that the service leaves a little to be desired. They try very hard to be accommodating, but it's slow, so I wouldn't recommend this place if you have time constraints.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 9, 2017

One of my favorite Richmond restaurants. Seafood paella is unbelievable. Great seafood, interesting drinks - always good service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Wonderful dining experience! The cocktails were GREAT! Especially loved the "dealers choice" where you pick your poison and any preferences, and the bartender makes a special drink! Salmon special was delicious!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Healthy, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was delicious. The prices were expensive. I ordered the wood grilled scallops-four large scallops with some green stuff that was good. But, no other sides or bread was included. $32.00. The plate seemed too skimpy of $32.00.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Loved it. I did not think it would live up to the hype, but it did. We had the trout caviar, oysters, duck confit pasta, and octopus, all outstanding. Even the strawberry rhubarb cobbler was exceptional. Excellent service, from the warm welcome to the attentive waitstaff. This is most definitely place to which we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Amazingly delicious food!!! Best restaurant in Richmond, VA.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This was our first time dinning her and we had a great time. Service was quick and food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We were going to an event at the Altria Theater in Richmond, Virginia and our friend suggested we go to dinner. Our meals were absolutely amazing! We look forward to returning to the Rappahannock Restaurant at 4th and Grace in Richmond, Virginia (RVA).

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great food and service - pre-ballet dinner and the server was wonderful

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Good food and service. I mentioned it was my 50th birthday in the reservation, but nothing really came of it. No special seating or service. Actually a large table of very loud people was set next to us, so maybe that was my present. At least they could leave the duck off the pasta for my vegetarian wife. However, we were charged full price even though there was no duck. But, like I said, good food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Loved it! We can't get enough of the oysters. We keep coming back, and everyone we bring loves it too.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The pork chop was bordering on inedible and the service was extremely slow even though they weren't busy. First and last time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My brother raved about the oysters--best east coast oysters he's ever had. He eats a lot of oysters. All of the dishes were inventive, solid efforts. Good service. Creative bartenders made us a dealer's choice that showed off his stuff well. Well done all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Outstanding cuisine - oyster appetizer, both entrees, desserts. Courteous and attentive service without hovering. Prompt without feeling rushed.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We went for dinner before a show at the Carpenter Center. The waiter was very conscientious about getting us out on time. The raw oysters are always great and did not disappoint. The pork and pickels were amazing as an appetizer. I couldn't believe how much my 13yo enjoyed the lemon pasta with Duck confit. That being said, the lemon pasta is as clues to a kid friendly meal as you will find here at night. The lunch menu is much more promising if you want to bring an older child.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 26, 2017

I have been to Rappahannock several times and it never disappoints! The ingredients are always fresh, their menu varies, I love their seafood selection and the service is great!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on April 25, 2017

A first rate meal with efficient friendly service and stunning food
Just Brilliant
Thank you

Paul and Mary

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Novice waiter didn't know the menu very well and disappeared for long stretches of time. Medium rare steak came out rare. Oysters, however, were fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We found Rappahannock through online reviews, looking for something near our hotel for a pre-show meal which meant 4:30 pm-- an odd meal time. Happily, it was happy hour (even on Sunday) and we enjoyed a dozen excellent oysters with our wine before moving on to our entrees. My dining partner had the scallops-- perfectly cooked with a unique pea and pureed fennel sauce--- which was wonderful. My paella was good--plenty of shrimp, clams and mussels, lots of sausage. It was very good, but I felt it would have benefitted from some fresh tomatoes. The wine list is a bit pricey, but offers a good selection.

The service was friendly, warm and attentive; the ambiance was comfortable, and I would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Coming from west coast I was suspect of oysters from east coast and eating them this late in season. Rappahannock educated me. Excellent York and Old Saltys, true to their name. Pricing was so much saner than I'm used to seeing. Rest of dinner,a pasta dish, was average. I enjoyed the space and would go back happily for oysters.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 21, 2017

our server Jason was fantastic and we got free dessert because it was our first time there. The food was delicious! i had the scallops and my husband had the fish and oyster bourride

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Rappahannock Restaurant is a great place for a trendy night out with friend, if you can get a bar seat, by far the most appealing feature of the restaurant.
However, if you get to sit down at a table, expect to be poorly served. Food is outstanding, as usual. Drink are overpriced, as usual. Floor is understaffed, as usual. Noise level is elevated, as usual.
And to make the noise even worse, what is up with that music settings. All you could hear was the subwoofer going boom, boom ba-boom, but no background music to be heard whatsoever.
I will cut the restaurant some slack, for now. After all, they just reopened after six weeks. But the restaurant's owners should seriously consider hiring a new floor manager who knows what he or she is doing. On opening night there were three hostesses uselessly idling by their station, chatting away their lives, while TWO servers were running around and serving all the tables of an overcrowded restaurant. Drinks took forever to come, and I felt so bad for the young waiter who served us that I did not dare say anything negative to him, because it was not his fault.
Oh, and don't make it a $1 oyster night if you then run out of oysters by 8 pm. That was lame.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Friendly staff. Good service. Nothing on appetizer menue below $13.00.
Menue a little pricey for its setting decor.
Good oysters but would have been pricey except for grad reopening.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great night celebrating the reopening of Rappahannock. Super hectic, a little slow and crazy loud...but it was the reopening. AWESOME oyster deals and those briny oysters were unreal.

WELCOME BACK!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The food is wonderful! Try the seafood paella. The oysters are fabulous both raw and baked.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Arrived and a note in the door said "we had a fire and are closed until further notice." I should have been notified!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Dined with my wife on a Friday night after a concert at the Carpenter. Service throughout the evening (from seating, to drinks, to dessert) seemed slow considering the size of the crowd. Drinks, especially the wine, were of a good size and lasted until desert. The menu was diverse and presented for several good choices. Both entrees arrived properly cooked and at the right temperature. We enjoyed the evening except for the wait between courses.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is because there were several clams in our seafood paella that were unopened, so it was disappointing to be served seafood we could not eat. Other than that, fantastic experience! Our server was incredible, drinks were exceptional, and they oysters were perfection!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Most excellent, as usual.
Custom cocktails + world class oysters + perfectly grilled cephalopod mollusc + attentive, smart, EXCELLENT service = superior dining experience.
Just sayin'.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 27, 2017

This establishment is one of my favorites in Richmond. The oysters on the half shell are always phenomenal. The drinks are well prepared. The entrees are usually outstanding but this time I was disappointed. I had the noodles with the restaurant substituting clams for calamari. The clams were very chewy and almost inedible.
I trust it was just a one time mistake.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.