Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Rappahannock

Upscale, yet casual seafood restaurant nestled in the historic Grace St. corridor of downtown Richmond, serving up seasonal dishes, craft beers, diverse wine, signature cocktails, and an enormous raw bar focusing on our very own oyster farms (ie, Rappahannock Oyster Co.). Rappahannock has assembled incredible talent to revolutionize the concept of farm to table.

320 E. Grace St.
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch is served Monday-Friday 11:30am-3pm
Raw bar all day with Happy Hour starting at 4pm Sunday-Thursday
Dinner is served Monday-Friday starting at 5pm, Saturday and Sunday at 3pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 545-0565

Website:
http://www.rroysters.com/

Catering:
Rappahannock is an arm of Rappahannock Oyster Co (www.rroysters.com), which provides mobile raw bars and seafood small plates for weddings, parties and other functions.

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking, Rappahannock has many nearby parking lots, such as 4th & Broad and 4th & Main.

Executive Chef:
Dylan Fultineer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For large parties of 6 or more guests, please call the restaurant at (804)545-0565 or email us at reservations@rroysters.com to make a booking.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether a seated dinner or a reception style event, Rappahannock and RappSession are the perfect spot for your group!

Rappahannock Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (44)
Local Ingredients (40)
Special Occasion (33)
See All
Creative Cuisine (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Bar Seating (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Happy Hour (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Fun (22)
Casual (21)
Authentic (18)
Hot Spot (18)
Business Meals (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Romantic (12)
Great Beer (11)
Seasonal (8)
Cozy (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
People Watching (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Organic (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1326 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

The main courses were excellent. The apple crisp dessert was mediocre. The decor was industrial but pleasant. The noise level was high.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 14, 2017

The oysters were way overpriced & bread wasn't served at all-even with a fish soup entrée. When bread requested, waitress said we would have to pay extra for it. Oysters in Urbanna are $.60 ea-at Rappahanock were $2.25 ea.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Terrific dining experience! The roasted chicken with arugula (topped by awesome peach slices and mushrooms) was delicious, and the blueberry peach cobbler was epic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was good but not adequate amount for pan seared fish entree. The fish portion was adequate but there were only about 1/2 c of vegetables on the plate. (See photo attached). 4 very small pieces of carrot, 4 tiny pieces of kohlrabi and a couple of small peppers. This plate desperately needed more veggies or a starch. When I asked for bread to help fill out my meal - they brought 4 slices and when the check came we were charged $5 for the bread! (I had a salad of arugula and tomatoes for $11 as the appetizer. The paella was good and a reasonably sized portion with rice as the base of the dish.

This dish was not worth $30.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Very good food, outstanding service and a cool vibe. We really enjoyed our meal and will be back. The appetizers and the desert were exceptional, while the entrees were very good, but just missed. Kudos to the chef for a willingness to push the envelope. We will be back to see what new culinary adventures await.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

We loved dining there people were nice the food was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 20, 2017

I enjoyed the dinner although I think it was overpriced for what you got. Everything was fresh and well prepared. They used a combination of ingredients to bring out the flavors and that was yummy. The wait staff was awesome - very attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This is a very good seafood restaurant - great oysters, very nice octopus and a variety of fresh, wild-caught fish options. The wine list was good. Desserts were yummy.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Absolutely great service! Very good food with focus on seafood and oysters but something for everyone.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

The wood-grilled fish and octopus were delicious. The ceviche flavor was very inventive and the quality of fish, wonderful. Service was irratic and needs coordination. Good food overcomes and we will look forward to another visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Good food and fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 7, 2017

We hadn't seen each other for a while so we lingered and the staff was kind-hearted and supportive. The food was excellent and the place always looks great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent place for a dinner before a show at the Carpenter Center or Colliseum downtown. Wide open cocktail list and great selection of craft beer. Oysters are great. Portions are ample. Our server, Alice, was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and helped with selections for a great well paced meal. We will return for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Good food overpriced. Lots of hype about this place, 3 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We don't dine out often, so we like to get something really special when we do. Rappahanock's reputation and ratings from RVA Mag drew us out there. It's a cool looking place, but the acoustics are horrible. Couldn't hear a word of our own conversation over the general din.
We had the fresh tomato salads; they were awesome. Had we stopped there, this would be a positive review; it was definitely by far the culinary highlight.
I ordered the special pan grilled fish, a Caribbean type I'd not tried; it's 'type" was misdescribed by our waiter; it was overcooked, and I didn't care for the flavor...maybe some would. There were a whole lot of nice carrots with it.
My husband had the steak; he usually raves about it, but it wasn't great, again, overcooked, lots of some grain with it.
We had desert, again, just average. Our server said the ice cream was Gelati Celesti, but I suspect Haagen Daz, at best. No need to go back with so much to choose from in that district.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Every dish was done well ... octopus grilled superbly. A winner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We enjoyed our table by the window looking out on the busy downtown street. It's a bit noisy, but still a nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Farm to table restaurant where the chef really knows his stuff.

Tags: Organic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 29, 2017

It was a special night that we very much enjoyed, thanks

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Needed a place near our hotel while visiting our daughter and chose this place based on Open Table reviews. We were not disappointed. The food was really on point. Though oysters clearly "rule" here, we were very happy with our salads and our apps that branched into other food groups/categories. Highly recommend and will revisit when next in town for sure!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 28, 2017

All good but for paying $5 for cold bread with cold hard butter.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 27, 2017

I miss the pickles they use to offer on a sample plate with the scrapple. Oysters and clams delicious and pricy, service great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Best tuna ever had and love those oysters. My wife had baked oysters. Been there many times.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 26, 2017

My husband and I went for the first time for our 25th anniversary.. It turned out to be such a great night. Our server Ada was amazing, the food and drinks were both very good! Glad we decided to try it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Second visit here and was equally as great as the first! Brought my parents for mother's day, and came with a friend for my birthday. The happy hour is great - "draft prosecco" is my new favorite phrase. The local ingredients can't be beat - they are so fresh, and flavorful. The vibe is comfortable but not too casual, the big windows let in great natural light. Great place for a nice meal with a great glass of wine :)

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Food was outstanding and service was terrific! We went early to take advantage of happy hour. Our server, Jason, was very knowledgeable and didn't rush us through. His recommendations were spot on. We enjoyed oysters and clams, the pork scrappel, the wood grilled octopus and shared the seafood paella! Outstanding!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Dining at Rappahannock was a wonderful experience. My partner and I shared oysters, wood-grilled octopus, ceviche, and tuna tartar. All were delicious, though the oysters and octopus were our favorites. The service was impeccable and we were able to have an intimate dinner despite the lively conversations around us. I highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Really enjoyed it. Lovely presentation and service. Definitely going back. Not cheap but worth it!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Oysters and whole wood grilled fish were outstanding. Bar drinks were very well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great atmosphere and great food. I always enjoy a meal here. Had good cocktails as well. It's also fun to have the bartender surprise you with a create your own type cocktail based on flavors and liquor you like. My cousin did this, and although she didn't care for the first trial, they were more than happy to make a replacement for her.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 21, 2017

I usually go for the Branzini and they had substituted a Black Sea Bass or some other kind of whole fish and it was extremely bland. They usually put a nice compliment of side dishes on the plate but the fish was oily and made the rest of the dish oily. Bad night from the kitchen. Never have had a bad meal from there. There's always a first.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Repeat customer due to high quality of cooking and food sourcing as well as skill level of mixologists. Your visit quality level may vary according to server assignment. As in all things, there are variations, but the deviation from the A+ norm is usually nominal.
Overall, it is a consistently excellent experience which justifies the top shelf prices.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, People Watching, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had another fantastic evening at Rappahannock! The Wood-Grilled Octopus is SO GOOD. The texture and flavor are exceptional. The Trout caviar with egg salad and chips is also killer, the chips are more like crackers, which I actually preferred. Excellent wine selection, great cocktails, GREAT bartenders. For dinner, the Scallops and Seafood Paella stood out, although we were certainly all passing our plates around to taste the pork selection for the evening and the pan seared fish. Highly recommend. Great neighborhood gem!

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Food was excellent - fresh and locally sourced. Atmosphere was lively, but not so loud that you could not have a conversation. Service was friendly. I would highly recommend Rappahannock.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Rappahannock is one of our favorite restaurants, Excellent seafood & service.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Oysters were great!!! 1/2 price during Happy Hour. Scallops were excellent, but thought chef was being to cute with designer side dishes. Who likes grapes in perfectly good Carolina Gold Rice ???Not to my taste. Also, chair seats were really uncomfortable after a while. Need cushions. Paying that kind of money, I'd like to be able to enjoy my meal without switching around trying to get my butt to stop hurting!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Amazing food, baked oysters were seriously so good. A little pricey for the size of the portions. Would love to see the meals a little heartier, it's so good I always need a few extra bits and my plate is empty.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food was very good. The menu was somewhat limited not allowing something for everyone.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We now have a favorite seafood restaurant in Richmond! The food was on point; we had oysters and scrapple for the first time and we will be coming back for more of each! The drinks were some of the best we've had and we will definitely be back for plenty more of those!! Our waitress was so amazing! She was quick, friendly and she even suggested some places for us to check out in NYC while we go on vacation! We've already been bragging about Rappahannock and our friends who have been before agree that it's always awesome! Thanks!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 5, 2017

I've been trying to get back to Rhappahanock for over a year. Best oysters I've ever had (and I've lived all over the east coast)

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.