Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

About Rangoon Ruby Burmese Cuisine - San Carlos

Rangoon Ruby Burmese Cuisine-San Carlos

680 Laurel Street
San Carlos, CA 94070
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Burmese

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: Monday-Thursday 5:00pm-9:30pm

Dinner: Friday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Lunch/Dinner: Saturday 11:30am-10:00pm
Lunch/Dinner: Sunday 11:30am-9:30pm

Cross Street:
Cherry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 592-1852

Website:
http://www.rangoonruby.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot across the street and to the side

Public Transit:
Caltrain and Caltrans

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rangoon Ruby Burmese Cuisine - San Carlos Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (13)
Casual (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Authentic (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for a Date (6)
Family Style (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Spicy (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Business Meals (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
People Watching (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Vegan (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (1)
Romantic (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
279 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Have been yo all your restaurants in Palo Alto, San Carlos and Belmont many times

Always order tea leaf salad and the waiter didn't put the fresh squeezed lemon juice on
It. I had to ask another waiter

We really should not of been charged for that item.
What is going on with your service😩

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great food . The Resturant is popular and the atmosphere vibrant. We love the Samosa salad and the basil chillie swai. We always enjoy coming here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Tea Leaf Salad was great as usual. The Fried Banana Desert was a bit lacking though and not good value--not much fried banana which were cut into little pieces & soggy batter.

Tags: Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Really enjoyed our meal. Our waiter was very helpful, making some good recommendations for us. Everything was quite tasty, would come back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Love this place! Terrific and reliable service once they get your order. Delicious and creative dishes! One of my favorite every day dining places.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great as always, the Tea Leaf Salad was wonderful! I will return again to try more dishes!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent as always! We love the Samosa Salad, coconut rice and the Basil - chillie swai.
I highly recommend this Resturant.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We really hope it was just that the kitchen had an "Off Night".
We have eaten in this restaurant (and other Rangoon Ruby's) more than a dozen times. We have always loved it! The green mango salad has always been just about the BEST salad We have ever had. Likewise the garlic noodles were always a "must order" item. But on this visit, the Mango salad was "good", it was not GREAT! The Garlic Noodles, another of our favorite "MUST HAVE" items, (we opted to add the shredded duck) had very little flavor and that flavor tasted "off". We even sent them back to have the kitchen try again. The second order was not any better. We had started with the calamari appetizer. We hadn't had that before and thought we'd give it a try. It was okay, just okay, and we knew we wouldn't be ordering it again as we knew (or thought we knew) that all the other food on the menu was far better.
What happened? Is there a new chef? Did the restaurant alter their recipes? Has the quality of their ingredients changed to save on cost?
What happened to this wonderful "Go To" restaurant ?
In hopes that it really was just an "Off Night" we will go back at least once more. And we will visit other locations, again, too - to make sure this is an isolated problem.
But the fact that the restaurant was much less crowed, than what we have otherwise experienced, makes us fear the worst.
PLEASE!!! RANGOON RUBY, GO BACK TO THE OLD WAYS!! Your food use to be GREAT!!! These new changes are NOT WORKING!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Delightful experience. Waiter exceptional. Almost perfect restaurant

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We always enjoy dining here. The food is excellent - especially the Samosa salad and the basil chillie swai ( fish). There are some other favorites also. The only time we have been a little disappointed is with the desserts.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Much better than average Asian food in a pleasant dining room -- though a bit crowded, which makes for too noisy a space (depends on what time you go, of course). Salt and Pepper calamari was average, but transformed to very good by the sauce it's served with. Garlic noodles should be much garlickier. If you like spicy, say so . . . "medium" spiciness of Shrimp Kebat was almost undetectable. Don't miss the Tea Leaf salad, an unusual and delightful combination of tastes and textures. Wines by the glass are very badly overpriced. All in all a good dinner, with room for improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We loved this restaurant. This was are first time here, we've been wanting to come here for a long
time. So we decide to try it on Valentine's Day. The ambience was nice as well as the service. we ended up choosing the special menu for that day. The food was delicious. We will definitely be returning to this place. There is so much more on the menu that we have to try.
Thanks for making our dining experience a good one.
We shall return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is our 8th visit to Rangoon Ruby's in the past 6 months. Obviously, we think this restaurant is awesome! The food is fantastic. So far, no matter which dish we try, it is excellent. The service is also outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food is always good and the flavors are consistent. The Tea leaf salad is a must! The only drawback is the space is cramped.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Tea Leaf Salad is always super and I always get it every time I go there even if I'm by myself. The Samosa Soup was another big hit with my friends who are vegetarians. It's a very hearty soup and great on a cold, wet day.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Really enjoyed the trip to Ruby Rangoon. Nice shopping near by and a short walk from the San Carlos Train Station. Everything was wonderful. Great spot for vegetarians, vegans and omnivores.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had the chicken in lettuce wraps, lemongrass chicken and chili beef, all were very good. Nice ambiance, family friends but also sophisticated enough for a date.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was served family style and all the options we chose were excellent. The server was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We had the mango chicken, one of the beef dishes, pork and pumpkin stew, garlic noodles and coconut rice. The rice was great and noodles were yummy (though definitely garlicky). The mango chicken was sweet but not overwhelmingly. The pork and pumpkin stew was good but not the best of the versions I've had at Burmese. Beef was really good. I also LOVE the palatas here from the appetizer menu- I order it to go for lunch!

Tags: Good for Groups, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Super good food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I love the food and the chain but the service was really lacking.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was a repeat and we always enjoy. As this was New Years Eve it was a bit busy. We wanted soup to come first but it arrived with the other. Items. Food was not hot. We will come again as we know they can do better. When we complained about the food not being hot, the complimentary us with two ice cream desserts.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Get the tea salad and Northern fried tofu appetizer (from someone who generally doesn't like tofu).

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We have eaten at Rangoon Ruby quite a few times, and each time we can't wait to go back. The tea leaf salad is a highlight, and we love the sesame beef and minted chicken. Can't say enough good things!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I am sorry to say, Rangoon Ruby has lost its way. We used to be frequent diners, but this may be the last time we will visit. The Tea leaf salad has lost its punch. It used to have so much flavor and now it is ho-hum. The pulata sauce has become incredibly runny and the chicken was filled with bones and cartilage. The sesame beef was chewy and frankly inedible. Must be using very poor quality meats for their food.

Such a shame as we have loved it for several years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great food. Was a bit busy though, so service was a little slow, but overall, we very much enjoyed our visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We heared About alot but when we went there on my Anniversary Dinnr I felt no so good. Food was ok ok type nothing special . As it was our anniversary dinner we regret going there.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2016

This place never disappoints. The samosa salad is one of their signature salads...very tasty and made table side. I also love the pumpkin tofu stew with brown rice. Excellent flavors all blended together. YUM!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Food and service for our lunch was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent as always! We enjoy coming to the San Carlos Rangoon Ruby. The food and service are always excellent. We have introduced this restaurant to many friends.
We love the samosa salad, the basil chillie swai ( fish), the eggplant and many other dishes. A chilled beer goes well with the food.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Never disappoints and constant high quality food and service

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Fermented tea leaf, Basil Chili Swai and a bottle of wine with a good friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 3, 2016

An excellent choice for a standout lunch or dinner. Really tasty and creative Burmese food served very quickly and spiced to your comfort level. In our case, we had one diner who wanted mild spiciness and another that preferred a spicier dish. Each dish was prepared to the appropriate level. Service was so fast that the drinks we had just ordered arrived before we could finish ordering the main meal! (Benefits of electronic ordering...) Very happy with this find - good food in a creative, upscale environment, served rapidly and at a reasonable price. What more can you ask for? We will be back with friends.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Our server at this restaurant was inattentive, curt and did not follow instructions. I have gone to other Rangoon Ruby's (like Burlingame) and had good experiences DO NOT go to this location!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The green tea leaf salad is an absolute must-get item. I've always been pleased with the dishes at Rangoon Ruby; I dine there at least once on almost every visit to San Carlos.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Tea leaf salad was unique and delicious. Great food.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Excellent experience. The food was very authentic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The food was delicious! We ordered the samosas, Pad Thai, and string beans. They have a Burmese Iced Tea, which is similar (not identical) to a Thai Iced Tea and less sweet. Relatively quick meal, which is good when you're having lunch during business hours.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great place for Burmese food, wait staff for the most part is good, I have been here several times and I think they are taught to be a bit curt. Kind of get the impression, that they are rushing you through.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Hot Spot, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent restaurant, I've been here three times now and will absolutely keep going back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.