About Rangoon Ruby Burmese Cuisine - San Carlos

Rangoon Ruby Burmese Cuisine-San Carlos

680 Laurel Street
San Carlos, CA 94070
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Burmese

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: Monday-Thursday 5:00pm-9:30pm

Dinner: Friday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Lunch/Dinner: Saturday 11:30am-10:00pm
Lunch/Dinner: Sunday 11:30am-9:30pm

Cross Street:
Cherry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 592-1852

Website:
http://www.rangoonruby.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot across the street and to the side

Public Transit:
Caltrain and Caltrans

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rangoon Ruby Burmese Cuisine - San Carlos Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Casual (9)
See All
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Authentic (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Spicy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Family Style (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Business Meals (3)
Fun (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Healthy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Cozy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Romantic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
266 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We loved this restaurant. This was are f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We loved this restaurant. This was are first time here, we've been wanting to come here for a long

time. So we decide to try it on Valentine's Day. The ambience was nice as well as the service. we ended up choosing the special menu for that day. The food was delicious. We will definitely be returning to this place. There is so much more on the menu that we have to try.

Thanks for making our dining experience a good one.

We shall return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is our 8th visit to Rangoon Ruby's ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is our 8th visit to Rangoon Ruby's in the past 6 months. Obviously, we think this restaurant is awesome! The food is fantastic. So far, no matter which dish we try, it is excellent. The service is also outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always good and the flavors ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food is always good and the flavors are consistent. The Tea leaf salad is a must! The only drawback is the space is cramped.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Tea Leaf Salad is always super and I alw ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Tea Leaf Salad is always super and I always get it every time I go there even if I'm by myself. The Samosa Soup was another big hit with my friends who are vegetarians. It's a very hearty soup and great on a cold, wet day.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Really enjoyed the trip to Ruby Rangoon. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Really enjoyed the trip to Ruby Rangoon. Nice shopping near by and a short walk from the San Carlos Train Station. Everything was wonderful. Great spot for vegetarians, vegans and omnivores.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had the chicken in lettuce wraps, lem ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had the chicken in lettuce wraps, lemongrass chicken and chili beef, all were very good. Nice ambiance, family friends but also sophisticated enough for a date.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was served family style and all the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was served family style and all the options we chose were excellent. The server was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the mango chicken, one of the bee ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We had the mango chicken, one of the beef dishes, pork and pumpkin stew, garlic noodles and coconut rice. The rice was great and noodles were yummy (though definitely garlicky). The mango chicken was sweet but not overwhelmingly. The pork and pumpkin stew was good but not the best of the versions I've had at Burmese. Beef was really good. I also LOVE the palatas here from the appetizer menu- I order it to go for lunch!

Tags: Good for Groups, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Super good food!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Super good food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love the food and the chain but the se ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I love the food and the chain but the service was really lacking.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

This was a repeat and we always enjoy. A ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was a repeat and we always enjoy. As this was New Years Eve it was a bit busy. We wanted soup to come first but it arrived with the other. Items. Food was not hot. We will come again as we know they can do better. When we complained about the food not being hot, the complimentary us with two ice cream desserts.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Get the tea salad and Northern fried tof ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Get the tea salad and Northern fried tofu appetizer (from someone who generally doesn't like tofu).

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We have eaten at Rangoon Ruby quite a fe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We have eaten at Rangoon Ruby quite a few times, and each time we can't wait to go back. The tea leaf salad is a highlight, and we love the sesame beef and minted chicken. Can't say enough good things!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am sorry to say, Rangoon Ruby has lost ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I am sorry to say, Rangoon Ruby has lost its way. We used to be frequent diners, but this may be the last time we will visit. The Tea leaf salad has lost its punch. It used to have so much flavor and now it is ho-hum. The pulata sauce has become incredibly runny and the chicken was filled with bones and cartilage. The sesame beef was chewy and frankly inedible. Must be using very poor quality meats for their food.

Such a shame as we have loved it for several years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food. Was a bit busy though, so se ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great food. Was a bit busy though, so service was a little slow, but overall, we very much enjoyed our visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We heared About alot but when we went th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We heared About alot but when we went there on my Anniversary Dinnr I felt no so good. Food was ok ok type nothing special . As it was our anniversary dinner we regret going there.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

This place never disappoints. The samos ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2016

This place never disappoints. The samosa salad is one of their signature salads...very tasty and made table side. I also love the pumpkin tofu stew with brown rice. Excellent flavors all blended together. YUM!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food and service for our lunch was excel ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Food and service for our lunch was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always! We enjoy coming to ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent as always! We enjoy coming to the San Carlos Rangoon Ruby. The food and service are always excellent. We have introduced this restaurant to many friends.

We love the samosa salad, the basil chillie swai ( fish), the eggplant and many other dishes. A chilled beer goes well with the food.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints and constant high qual ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Never disappoints and constant high quality food and service

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fermented tea leaf, Basil Chili Swai and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Fermented tea leaf, Basil Chili Swai and a bottle of wine with a good friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

An excellent choice for a standout lunch ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 3, 2016

An excellent choice for a standout lunch or dinner. Really tasty and creative Burmese food served very quickly and spiced to your comfort level. In our case, we had one diner who wanted mild spiciness and another that preferred a spicier dish. Each dish was prepared to the appropriate level. Service was so fast that the drinks we had just ordered arrived before we could finish ordering the main meal! (Benefits of electronic ordering...) Very happy with this find - good food in a creative, upscale environment, served rapidly and at a reasonable price. What more can you ask for? We will be back with friends.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server at this restaurant was inatte ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Our server at this restaurant was inattentive, curt and did not follow instructions. I have gone to other Rangoon Ruby's (like Burlingame) and had good experiences DO NOT go to this location!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The green tea leaf salad is an absolute ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The green tea leaf salad is an absolute must-get item. I've always been pleased with the dishes at Rangoon Ruby; I dine there at least once on almost every visit to San Carlos.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Tea leaf salad was unique and delicious. ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Tea leaf salad was unique and delicious. Great food.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience. The food was very ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Excellent experience. The food was very authentic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious! We ordered the s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The food was delicious! We ordered the samosas, Pad Thai, and string beans. They have a Burmese Iced Tea, which is similar (not identical) to a Thai Iced Tea and less sweet. Relatively quick meal, which is good when you're having lunch during business hours.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for Burmese food, wait staff ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great place for Burmese food, wait staff for the most part is good, I have been here several times and I think they are taught to be a bit curt. Kind of get the impression, that they are rushing you through.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Hot Spot, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent restaurant, I've been here thr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent restaurant, I've been here three times now and will absolutely keep going back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, , Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love coming to Rangoon Ruby in San Ca ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We love coming to Rangoon Ruby in San Carlos. It always has a lively atmosphere. The food is excellent and the service efficient and friendly. The samosa salad and basil chillie swai ( fish) are fabolous.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The calamari was awesome. Definitely rec ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The calamari was awesome. Definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Their tea-leaf salad is a must, as is th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Their tea-leaf salad is a must, as is their eggplant (in almost any form, but the curry is excellent). The management at this establishment is particularly good - they often do glass pours of wine not on the winelist, and will give you a sample! If you have non-drinkers, the whole coconut can't be beat. The noise level inside is high, but, in good weather, you can sit on the sidewalk. The capability for opening the windows on all sides makes it pleasant in almost all weather.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The salmon was not great and not worth t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2016

The salmon was not great and not worth the price. The eggplant was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent place to dine and try somethin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent place to dine and try something special; great staff who look well after the customer

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For a Tuesday evening, this place was ju ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2016

For a Tuesday evening, this place was jumping - and, consequently, noisy. Be prepared for that. The service was outstanding: our waiter knew his business, with good advice, keeping us informed, holding dishes until we were ready, and giving us tastings of wines by the glass. ! The food is reliably good in this chain. The tea-leaf salad is a classic, dressed at your table, just right for 3-4 people. The calamari appetizer is a sure winner. Mango dishes are made with green mango, so be prepared for al-dente. We also liked the egg plant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We really enjoy dining here. The food is ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We really enjoy dining here. The food is consistently excellent. Service is attentive. However, it is a bit noisy and sometimes difficult to carry on a conversation (understandable, since it is always packed).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a great meal. Love this location. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Always a great meal. Love this location. Max is the best server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a popular place but you can stil ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is a popular place but you can still grab a last minute seat much of the time. Food is fresh, tasty, and surprising. Service is top notch! And if you happen to be in a rush the kitchen can be really fast to get your food on the table as needed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food seems well prepared (I say "see ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food seems well prepared (I say "seems" only because I don't know much about Burmese food), and is tasty and nicely presented. There's a lot to choose from, including many vegetarian options. My only complaint is that the servers are a little overly attentive, making suggestions without being asked, possibly trying to upsell a bit. I do like the place, though, and will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

A far cry from the Burmese food I've had ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2016

A far cry from the Burmese food I've had in Myanmar over the last 3 years. So I dinged it for that. Even for pseudoburmese food it was so so.... I suspect they were playing to the clientele, so understand, but was disappointed nonetheless.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.