About Quartino

Quartino, an urban Italian restaurant and wine bar, is the creation of Hugo Ralli, Steve Lombardo (owners of Gibsons Bar & Steakhouse, Hugo’s Frog Bar & Fish House, LUXBAR) and Exec Chef / Partner John Coletta. Quartino combines the best of Italy’s osteria and enoteca to offer an authentic everyday Italian food and wine experience. “Where wine is cheaper than water” Throughout Europe, in bistro after osteria after enoteca, fresh local wines of high quality and unique characteristics are priced as a less expensive alternative to bottled water. Reservation requests for patio seating are not accepted. Patio seating is first come, first serve.

626 N. State Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 12:00am; Bar Daily: 3:00pm - 2:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 698-5000

Website:
http://www.quartinochicago.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available $14.

Executive Chef:
John Coletta

Private Party Facilities:
Quartino embraces the true essence and environment of an authentic Italian urban ristorante, pizzeria and wine bar in quintessential Gibsons Restaurant Group style. Quartino can accommodate private parties of 10-100 guests for luncheons, cocktail & antipasti parties, and dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Julie Jensen: (888) 641-3569

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Quartino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (160)
Family Style (116)
Casual (115)
See All
Fun (114)
Good for a Date (111)
Special Occasion (101)
Authentic (100)
Tapas (97)
Good for Birthdays (96)
Comfort Food (87)
Neighborhood Gem (84)
Hot Spot (79)
Notable Wine List (78)
Fit for Foodies (75)
People Watching (66)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Creative Cuisine (50)
Bar Seating (49)
Great for Lunch (49)
Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
Pre/post Theatre (42)
Cozy (41)
Worth the Drive (39)
Romantic (39)
Kid-friendly (37)
Vibrant Bar Scene (35)
Business Meals (34)
Happy Hour (33)
Good Vegetarian Options (32)
Tasting Menu (31)
Outstanding Value (30)
Late-night Find (26)
Quick Bite (21)
Healthy (19)
Open Kitchen (19)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Wood Oven (15)
Private Room (15)
Historic (13)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Scenic View (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Spicy (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Seasonal (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great Beer (4)
Live Sports (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Fireplace (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
6350 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Gained 10 lbs cause we ordered so much ! But it was worth every ounce !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous place. Highly recommend. Only suggestion is that there are too many tables, thus when going to restroom I had to go through the kitchen line to get to and from the table.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Organic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Quartino is my usual GoTo for dining when a biz group or family are in town. I've never had a bad experience. Last night was an exception to that statement. Our server was wonderful. I ordered for the table and the first few items came out great. Then over an hour lag time for mains two of which we never received. The baby octopus was awful, fishy and chewy so much so that anyone who tried it spit it out. They were busy as they always are but the kitchen had a definite line or timing issue. My first time leaving disappointed in years and a stomach feeling a little wonky. I hope it was just an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

With a friend's recommendation, we decided to eat here for dinner this week and we were thrilled with the food and enjoyed experience. If you like sharing plates, this is a great way to sample a variety of dishes. Everything was delicious, with the Meatballs making the biggest impression. The restaurant is on the louder side, which made conversing a little difficult, but it would not stop us from returning. My friend wanted a variation on a drink that was on the menu, and the bartender made her a delicious concoction which they named The Lisa. Give it a try; it is a lovely summer drink. Enjoy!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Spicy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great time here! This is one of our favorite places to socialize and drink good Italian wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Love this place. On this occasion our group was put in the very back upstairs. There was no ambiance at all and we booked here because the ambiance downstairs is so great. Server had too many tables and made too many mistakes on this occasion but I would highly recommend this place normally.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food. Great hospitality and service. Food comes out timely and fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Yum. Great meal and huge success with our group! We shared our dishes and everyone in the group was satisfied. Desserts were delicious and the waitstaff attentive. Very very crowded on a Saturday night, but we had reservations and it went off flawlessly!

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent. Our server was very helpful in directing us through the menu and making food suggestions. Everything about the place and food had an authentic Italian feel.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

i love this place. My girlfriend and I's go to place when we're around Michigan Ave

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a great time. Good service . The bread gets me every time

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

Great Italian food in a vibrant setting in downtown Chicago. The crowd is energetic and enthusiastic. You will leave here feeling satisfied in every respect. The service is superb and the wine list is so vast that they will have your Italian favorite whatever it may be. Superb thin crust pizza. Be sure to reserve a table or chances are you won't be eating here.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Great pizza and salads, fresh pasta, friendly service. Big place but not noisy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Our first time at Quartinos. We learned about it from a friend. Had an early dinner after taking the Architectural Boat Cruise. Was a special occasion celebrating a family member from out of town birthday. Enjoyed the Quartino experience very much. Look forward to coming again and trying more dishes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great authentic food and service. Opens late which is a great choice.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We were seated immediately, and waited on in a reasonable amount of time. Once we ordered, the food was served really fast. I love the small plate options and there was enough on each for our table of 5 to share and have nice portion. The timing of service was fantastic; we'd be finishing one plate and the next would arrive; never a delay. Everything was delicious! My only criticism would be the noise level; it was a bit difficult to converse with our friends. I will ask for a quieter table location next time...and there will definitely be a next time!

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great food. Get the octopus! Dine al fresco if you can

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

As always, delicious!! The asparagus risotto is my favorite.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Celebrated our honeymoon here in Chicago was a fantastic authentic Italian restaurant

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Outstanding restaurant with unique Italian tapas approach to dining. I try to visit everytime I am in Chicago.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Our go to Chicago restaurant. Excellent food, great service, and value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Sat outside upstairs. Great view. Good service. Value for the price.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great meal. Never disappoints. Options for everyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I made a reservation through open table and the hostess sat us right away on the patio. And I was our server and she was fantastic. She had a great energy to her and overall made our experience at Quartinos. Food was amazing and I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The food was great..customer service was excellent

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very very busy for Mother's Day. The place is very loud and tables are on top of each other. Food is good, we didn't like everything we ordered but its a sharing plate size so no one was
stuck with something they didn't like. Enjoyed the dinner, but we love crowds.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Family Style, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The house made ricotta was a great appetizer. You have to try the espresso martini!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food. Plates big enough to share. Great experience. Friendly wait staff.

Tags: Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Small group of us went for Mother's Day lunch so it was quite busy, crowded and noisy. Enormous selection of shared plates, many vegetarian options to choose from. Food was really good, as was the dessert and coffee

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a table booked for 10, but the system only showed 8.

Also, we arrived 10 minutes before our reservation, but were seated 40 minutes after our reservation time.

Food was not great. Would not recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A few friends and I came to Chicago for the weekend and wanted a great meal, and Quartino did not disappoint! We loved every bite and have plans to return. My favorite dish was the dates on the appetizer menu! So delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Went for pre-theater dinner and enjoyed our experience very much. Service was great and waitress was very attentive. She explained the menu and made some recommendations.

Started with pizza and a few small plates. Food was quick and spaced out a little to allow us to pace ourselves. We waited on second course to decide what to do next. We had to see how full we were from first course.

We decided to share pasta for second course which was outstanding. Plenty of time allowed us to get to the theater while not feeling rushed through dinner.

Great food selection. Pizza was very good and authentic. Everyone enjoyed themselves and service was excellent.

Tags: Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Tapas, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was just ok, definitely go for the pizza since it's the best value. Best part of this restaurant was convenience and ambiance. The outdoor patio was perfect for a family dinner.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Quick Bite, People Watching, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Quartino's has become our go-to place for casual northern Italian cuisine in downtown Chicago. Features small plates evolving to full meals as well, and you and your comrades can sample a wide variety of dishes without running up a large bill. Wide ranging list of quality inexpensive Italian wines. Servings are satisfying without overwhelming with the massive portions seen at conventional American-Italian restaurants. Sidewalk dining can be deafening at busy intersection of State and Ontario, but is worth a try if that doesn't annoy you, otherwise dine inside. Be prepared to tip washroom attendants who will pamper you.

Tags: People Watching, Healthy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Restaurant forgot my meal and rest of family had already eaten by the time I was served but the staff was great, apologized twice, took my meal off bill and sent over free dessert. Food was great but service was better.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Met with a friend for a lunch date... get the sample platter of meats, cheeses, and olives. OMG it was DELICIOUS!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We dine a lot, in many different cities....yet, I have never experienced such a chaotic, loud, "Zoo" atmosphere. Many restaurants are loud and energetic....it is part of the charm. This one felt like out of control frenzy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We love Quartino's - it is a must dinner when we go to Chicago. Small dishes shared by all, everyone gets what they like and are even encouraged to try things they may otherwise skip. Don't skip dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our "go to" place for great food, wine and service.

Tags: Family Style, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Recommended by a friend who used to live in Chicago--definitely would come back! Food & atmosphere were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.