About Quartino

Quartino, an urban Italian restaurant and wine bar, is the creation of Hugo Ralli, Steve Lombardo (owners of Gibsons Bar & Steakhouse, Hugo’s Frog Bar & Fish House, LUXBAR) and Exec Chef / Partner John Coletta. Quartino combines the best of Italy’s osteria and enoteca to offer an authentic everyday Italian food and wine experience. “Where wine is cheaper than water” Throughout Europe, in bistro after osteria after enoteca, fresh local wines of high quality and unique characteristics are priced as a less expensive alternative to bottled water. Reservation requests for patio seating are not accepted. Patio seating is first come, first serve.

626 N. State Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 12:00am; Bar Daily: 3:00pm - 2:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 698-5000

Website:
http://www.quartinochicago.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available $14.

Executive Chef:
John Coletta

Private Party Facilities:
Quartino embraces the true essence and environment of an authentic Italian urban ristorante, pizzeria and wine bar in quintessential Gibsons Restaurant Group style. Quartino can accommodate private parties of 10-100 guests for luncheons, cocktail & antipasti parties, and dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Julie Jensen: (888) 641-3569

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Quartino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (160)
Good for Groups (150)
Fun (148)
See All
Good for a Date (121)
Authentic (118)
Special Occasion (108)
Great for Outdoor Dining (101)
Neighborhood Gem (99)
Good for Birthdays (98)
Tapas (98)
Comfort Food (85)
Fit for Foodies (84)
Notable Wine List (79)
Hot Spot (79)
People Watching (78)
Creative Cuisine (66)
Great for Lunch (64)
Tasting Menu (63)
Good for Anniversaries (62)
Romantic (61)
Pre/post Theatre (48)
Worth the Drive (48)
Cozy (47)
Vibrant Bar Scene (47)
Good Vegetarian Options (43)
Bar Seating (42)
Happy Hour (40)
Late-night Find (39)
Business Meals (37)
Quick Bite (33)
Sunday Lunch (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Gluten Free Options (23)
Scenic View (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Local Ingredients (13)
Seasonal (9)
Great Beer (8)
Organic (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Vegan (7)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Spicy (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Live Sports (3)
Live Music (2)
Sort By:
S
6705 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

If you are from out-of-town, go somewhere else. Service is below 1star. Excellent food though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The place was surprisingly busy for a Monday night! My friend and I arrived early and they were still able to accommodate us, which was nice. The place is SUPER loud, so sometimes hard to hear the conversation at your own table. Food was fresh, hot, and quick. They bring out food as it's ready, and was perfect for sharing. Prices were really reasonable, especially for downtown!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Went 3 days in a row. Took an out of town guest and he loved it so much wanted to go back 2 more times. Food consistently good and a lively place with pleasant servers. The busboys are excellent and helpful when wait staff is busy. Loved all three visits.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely loved the food service and atmosphere, it is just as good as if not better than my first visit some time ago. Would recommend it to anybody.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent dining experience as always. We try to come here everytime we are in Chicago and are never disappointed. The upstairs terrace is the perfect spot if weather permits.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fun, Tasting Menu, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

My daughter and I were visiting from out of town and this restaurant was recommended by a friend who lives in Chicago. Quartino is similar to a tapas restaurant except it is primarily Italian food. There are selections of appetizers, pastas, entrees, desserts that are smaller portions than a main meal dish but still large enough for 2 people to share. Standouts were the veal skirt steak, pasta bolognese and tiramasu.

Service was outstanding-friendly, upbeat

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Our hotel concierge recommended this restaurant. Good Italian food in smaller portions. This is perfect for trying several dishes on the moderate priced menu. Excellent wine list and service. Highly recommend it for first-time Chicago visitors.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Tapas, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was fantastic and the house made Limoncella is a must have!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding Italian food with an extensive menu including hard to find items.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and table service were great. Rude hostess delayed our reserved seating 30 minutes; manager worked to rectify with complimentary round of drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

My family dined at Quartino on Saturday night to celebrate my mom's birthday, and our experience was wonderful. We all chose to order small plates and were all quite pleased with our choices. Our server brought my mom a special birthday dessert- she loved it!

Being a Vegan, it can be difficult to eat at Italian restaurants, but at Quartino, I had plenty of options. I enjoyed olives, an Eggplant dish, and Broccoli Rabe. I'm still thinking of the unbelievably tasty Eggplant small plate dish.

If you have not been to Quatino yet, I highly recommend booking your reservations ASAP- it is a MUST-EAT in Chicago. I cannot wait to bring my friends!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Seasonal, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

I love this Retaurant- the menu and wine list
But Saturday night it was too loud!
Could not talk to my friends- felt like I was screaming the whole night. They need some acoustic work

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Rare mix of a deadbeat server, backed-up kitchen, and numerous large parties all gabbing since they had no food in front of them. So loud you had to shout across a 4 top to be heard.

Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Spicy, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a ton of family in town for a wedding and needed someplace to accommodate 20. No problem! (Did make a reservation). Food was really great. Place was mobbed, loud, well staffed and fun. Not for an intimate dinner but great for our group.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Tapas, Comfort Food, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Best tapas restaurant in the city! This is a favorite of ours!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Casual, Authentic, Comfort Food, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Quartinos never disappoints!! If you've never eaten here, be prepared for high energy (noise!) and fun. My only suggestion would be that they build lazy susan into the tables so the inevitable plate sharing is easier! Delicious food, terrific service, all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Quartinos is one of my favorite places in River North. Its small plate Italian so you get to try a lot of things on the menu and they have a great wine list that you can order by the glass, half bottle or bottle. Ask for the authentic Parmesan cheese with your oil and bread (you won't be disappointed) and make sure to get the bacon wrapped dates, the mushroom risotto, and the profiteroles for dessert.
It can get a little loud, but the best spot to sit is either upstairs outside or in the porch area downstairs with open windows - you feel like you are outside but not on the street.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Tapas, Good for a Date, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 7 days ago

This would be 5 star, but the starters took 45 mins to arrive, which included a salad that took an hour. That's just too long. Our server was fantastic and the food was great when it arrived. I think our order got lost along the way...

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Food is outstanding and fun to share at the table. It's very loud and busy, but it you're OK with that, you'll love it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2017

The excessive noise level in the ground floor dining room is distracting

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Excellent food and service. Very accommodating. Repeat customer for sure, thanks!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fun, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Delicious food. They offer half portions for pasta perfect for when you want to try a few different items on the menu.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Tapas, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Romantic, Casual, Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Large small plates menu, everything was delicious, waitstaff were wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Quartino is affordable and delicious. The atmosphere is narcotic! I loved it!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Excellent as always. Quartino is one of those options that you can trust to never disappoint you

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Recommended by a friend, but disappointing. Very loud (which we excused, due to it being a Saturday night). We were sat at the top of the stairs with heavy foot traffic by our table. Our waitress got caught up helping with a large group and seemed to have forgotten about our table. Asked for things several times and they were never brought. Food was not at all remarkable. Marinara sauce was extremely sweet, and Alfredo was quite bland. That being said, the manager was attentive and the wine list was great, and very affordable. I doubt we will go back.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Tapas, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I've been to Quartino a handful of times and have never had a bad experience or meal! The food is authentic Italian, and everything on the menu is recommended to be shared, so it's a great place to go for a casual dinner with friends. Great value as well!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, Tapas, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great for picky eaters (huge menu) and large groups!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Always a great time at Quartino. Whether it's a date with your special someone, a catch-up dinner with Mom, or the spot you've chosen to eat after a concert/show, Quartino will impress and satiate you without a doubt. The small plates ensure the you will get a taste of many things and it reinforces the friendly atmosphere and encouragement to share. There is a bit of heightened volume here, but that only livens the conversation and makes things feel like a true Italian family dinner.

The Pappardelle al Sugo di Manzo (ribbon pasta with a braised beef sauce) will blow you away; the shrimp is served scampi-style with plenty of butter and garlic, the olive assortment is delicious and cheese selections are paired with an amazing apricot puree. The wine list is extensive and global, served European-style (with quantities relative to a liter; a 1/4 liter is a bit more than a glass of wine).

If you're on the fence, GO. If you've been umpteen times and are debating whether to show someone new this place, GO AGAIN. I've never been let down here, and the friendly service is the icing on the cake... I mean the tiramisu...

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Casual, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

They we ready for us at our reservation time. The staff was great and had goo d personalities. Food was excellent and proportions appropriate. A manager stopped by and was sincere when he asked how our meal and the service was-great. I would highly recommend Quartino for a good time-whether two or ten people

Tags: Casual, Paleo Friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Ok. I've been here before & wasn't impressed this time. Waited 15 min for reservation. Service was slow. Forgot a round of drinks we ordered. Food was ok. Veal meatballs were tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Best food...fun server
Best in Chicago

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

It was within walking distance of our hotel. Was seated right away. Food was great, table was a little small. Ran into someone from my home town, Columbus GA. Waitress was very good and friendly. Manager even came over, welcomed us and discussed SEC football. UGA was playing ND. GOOOOOOOO DAWGS! We won!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 8, 2017

A fun, good meal but very very loud. Not for the faint hearted

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Awesome Italian food and great service. Meatballs are the bomb. Almost makes me wish I lived in Chicago.
It's loud and crowded, bit worth it for a great dinner.

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Some food items were great and others were good. Very noisy with tables very close making it difficult to have conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Our waiter was AMAZING! and our food was delicious. Great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Best eggplant I've ever had. Great ambiance. A little loud.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

This was a customer appreciation dinner and it went over very well. Everything was great. My dining companions were impressed with the whole set-up. We were seated promptly and the room was perfect for the fourteen diners. Appetizers were preordered and were ready at our table when we arrived. Food and service was excellent. I will definitely tell others of my great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Casual, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 6, 2017

We had a very nice table in the corner for our special occasion with out of town relatives. Service was excellent all around, Lanny was our main server. However, we didn't realize how unbelievably noisy it would get as the evening progressed. We could hardly even have a decent conversation. It's a lovely spot and very cozy, but if you can't talk with your dinner partners what's the point?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.