About Quartino

626 N. State Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Quartino, an urban Italian restaurant and wine bar, is the creation of Hugo Ralli, Steve Lombardo (owners of Gibsons Bar & Steakhouse, Hugo’s Frog Bar & Fish House, LUXBAR) and Exec Chef / Partner John Coletta. Quartino combines the best of Italy’s osteria and enoteca to offer an authentic everyday Italian food and wine experience. “Where wine is cheaper than water” Throughout Europe, in bistro after osteria after enoteca, fresh local wines of high quality and unique characteristics are priced as a less expensive alternative to bottled water. Reservation requests for patio seating are not accepted. Patio seating is first come, first serve.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 12:00am; Bar Daily: 3:00pm - 2:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 698-5000

Website:
http://www.quartinochicago.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available $14.

Executive Chef:
John Coletta

Private Party Facilities:
Quartino embraces the true essence and environment of an authentic Italian urban ristorante, pizzeria and wine bar in quintessential Gibsons Restaurant Group style. Quartino can accommodate private parties of 10-100 guests for luncheons, cocktail & antipasti parties, and dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Julie Jensen: (888) 641-3569

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Quartino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (139)
Fun (116)
Family Style (112)
See All
Authentic (103)
Good for a Date (102)
Special Occasion (95)
Casual (94)
Tapas (94)
Comfort Food (88)
Good for Birthdays (80)
Fit for Foodies (78)
Hot Spot (74)
Notable Wine List (67)
Tasting Menu (62)
Outstanding Value (62)
Neighborhood Gem (62)
Cozy (52)
Pre/post Theatre (51)
Creative Cuisine (51)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
People Watching (43)
Happy Hour (43)
Romantic (42)
Vibrant Bar Scene (42)
Good Vegetarian Options (37)
Worth the Drive (37)
Great for Lunch (36)
Bar Seating (35)
Late-night Find (33)
Kid-friendly (28)
Business Meals (26)
Open Kitchen (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Wood Oven (22)
Quick Bite (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Healthy (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Historic (12)
Private Room (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Seasonal (10)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great Beer (6)
Scenic View (5)
Fireplace (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Spicy (4)
Live Sports (4)
Vegan (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Live Music (1)
Waterfront (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
6105 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined a day ago

Food was more to be shared, "tapas" style...

And with the waiting time to get plates, that is the best option, otherwise you will have half of the table done with their plate and other half still waiting

Extremely loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and drink. Great atmosphere.....but loud as all hell.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Disappointing. I've had really much better experiences here. but this time: From the lackluster service and over salty food it wasn't a good dining experience. I had originally suggested this as a birthday event dinner. We were asked once by a bus boy "who's birthday is it?" and after we told him he said, "cool." and left. waiter was barely present in the sense of knowing we were in front of him and speaking to us like he was knowledgeable about the food. His recommendation was an over salty rigatoni that i could barely eat. Maybe it was a combination of all of this that made the noise level really annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and amazing service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Had lunch with a friend and they have a 3 course shareable meal with great variety of choices.

We had brussel sprout salad, asparagus rissotto, and sauteed shrimp, all delicious.

Nice wine choices and lovely desserts (we shared a lemon specialty of the chef)

All wait staff very helpful and gracious.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic little gem if you are looking for reasonable family style meal in a lively setting. Came here before a formal gala and we were a little on the fancy end for the crowd, but not totally out of place. Really awesome ambiance and cool architecture. Great alternative to a more generic/chain restaurant, but still in close proximity to the main restaurant area in this part of town. Easy access to other locations!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Hot Spot, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was authentic northern Italian so well prepared. Fun atmosphere great service. Wouldn't miss iron Chicago next time.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Went here for a ladies night. We had a blast. The place is bustling and there is a lot of noise. So just be prepared to talk loudly. The food is excellent. We ordered some apps and drank and talked, and ordered more food and drank and talked and we did that well into the night. Great place for friends wanting to catch up. Although this restaurant has small plates, if you'll be ordering pasta dishes, they are very filling. Friends and I ordered quite a bit of food and we were stuffed and couldn't order dessert.

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Too Crowded.

A fun and vibrant restaurants, that can do with taking away a few tables to make it more comfortable for dining. Tables are small, space between tables tight and lots of people, makes for a loud dining experience. Overall, food is good and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had the risoto, meatballs, and ravioli. All delicious! Vino goes from table to high end, not bad.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Noise level very high and very crowded, but was able to find a table which was nice. This is not a romantic place, but a great place to have a drink and great food. The gist is small plates so you can try many different flavors. Each dish is a bite or two for a group of four. Overall great place and fun and casual date night!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I frankly was disappointed. The service was impeccable but I found the food, although served hot and timely, bland and flavorless. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Nice alternative to deep dish pizza. Excellent service.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I never come to Chicago without having a meal at Quartino. This time, we had lunch on a gorgeous Saturday. The arugula salad, gnocchi, and tiramisu were all delicious. Can't wait for my next visit!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Pizza and salad both a bust. Food here was very bland. Just not much flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Had a wonderful time at this authentic Italian restaurant. The staff were very friendly and during the busy hour, still attended to our needs. Only down side was it was a bit loud, and the seating was a bit cramped. But the food was delicious and came in shareable portions. I will be coming back soon!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Best chicken soup ever.

Best pizza with arugula.

Fantastic bolognese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Phenomenal service! We asked the manager about an item that used to be on their menu years ago. To my surprise the manager had the kitchen make us the dish because I said it was a favorite of mine years ago! We'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I've always loved this place - great for booking groups as they have plenty of seating and bring dishes out that are meant to be shared. The house made Ricotta w honey and Short Ribs are a must. I've recently moved to a low carb diet and was pleased to find several options available even though this is an Italian place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The place was packed when we walked in and we had to wait about 10 minutes for our reservation to be called, but it was well worth the wait! The food was authentic and delicious. The service was wonderful...we could not have had a friendlier server and the management checked on us multiple times throughout the night. It was a bit noisy and quite cramped, but we got a decent table for the two of us. I would recommend removing those two tables by the door though...I felt terrible standing over them while we waited for our table.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Fun, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Overall, a very enjoyable evening. We ordered 4 plates to share between the two of us - the first two were just OK - the Brussel sprout salad was a little too raw/strong for our taste. The Polenta fries (as others have reported), were pretty bland, but a good carrier for the pepper sauce. However, the linguini with clams were outstanding - buttery clams - great pasta. The last dish was the porcini and truffle risotto - you need to like mushrooms if you get this dish-strong flavor-but it was outstanding. All of the above, paired with a half liter wine made for a very nice evening. The place is crowded-the waiter said they had 1,200 reservations that night. Its loud, its Italian....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our hotel recommended this restaurant. It was well worth the money. They bring out your food when it's ready which is unusual, but nice because fresh is always better than heat lamp. It had a casual feel but also upscale.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service was spot on. Extreamly attentive waiters and busboy, but not hovering or taking your plate before your done searing. Food was excellent, prices reasonable. Over all great experience. Guys or gals if your wanting a quite place to dinner, to be able to converse with the person(s) sitting with you. Go somewhere else. I'll be back, again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing food accompanied by good service. The prices are of great value. No complaints.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fantastic food reasonably priced is a rare find in Chicago. My favorite is the tortellini. The service has always been first rate, too. I've been there for a late lunch alone a few times, and the staff always makes me feel totally comfortable. If you're going on a weekend, make your reservation early.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 10, 2017

0 complaints, treated like royalty, loved every bit of it. Definitely going back - plus great value!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

FOOD AMAZING!!!! Staff courteous and knowledgeable!!!!! You get a lot of food and you're not breaking the bank in the process. A single meal can feed two. I loved how they brought out the food as it got ready. I would go again and again.

Tags: Casual, Historic, Family Style, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Private Room, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

There were four of us on a business trip, I had been to Quartino one other time and enjoyed the food. It was fantastic for the four of us. We enjoyed the restaurant week special which allowed us to try quite a few items. Great meal and wine.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great service and great food! I'll definitely be returning.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Cozy, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Casual, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Food was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Went here for restaurant week... after a very long day I was excited to have a nice meal with my boyfriend and talk about plans for the upcoming weekend. We were unable to hear each other due to how noisey the restaurant was. We were placed right by a door so we were crammed and there was barely enough room on the table for he entrees. By this door, people were going in and out and I constantly had someone's butt rubbing against my arm every 5 minutes. It was a very annoying experience. The manager (Alysha) was nice and offered to move us once we got our dessert... next time I will know to go to the bar area and not the dining room. Food was very good though!

Tags: Family Style, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

food was very good, great portions and very attentive staff..

Tags: People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Michael was an amazing waiter!! He was knowledgeable, attentive and very friendly. His concern about my food allergies, and his patience in helping us pick a red wine, were both exceptional.

We had Caprese salads, spaghetti Pomodoro, the four cheese pizza, eggplant parmigiana and veal skirt steak. Everything was delicious! 'Can't wait to return!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Amazing food and service every time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Quartino - Their slogan should just say "Never disappoints." Amazing food, wine, service, and prices. It feels like you walked into Italy and it tastes like it too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Authentic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Can't say enough about this place. Went in during restaurant week to find out that I had accidentally booked the wrong night. Instead of shooing me away during what may possibly be one of their busiest nights of the year, one of the hostesses found a table for us and sat us right away. We have gone twice now and have not had a mediocre dish yet. Be it flank steak, seafood, or zeppole (hot Italian donuts with dark chocolate dip), every course has been mouth watering. Our 4-course meal left us with full stomachs at a great price. The place is very energetic so don't go in with expectations of quiet conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food is always good. We like the choices & that you can get glasses and 1/4 carafts of wine so you can sample a couple of them.

Our only complaint is that the tables for 2 are way too small, very cramped the whole time, will have to remember next time to ask for bigger table.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Service was great. Food arrived on time and as we ordered. We just thought the food tasted average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a wonderful birthday dinner here with a reservation for a party of 7 on a Friday night. We LOVED that they gave us a round table so everyone could see & talk to each other. Food was great, the dishes were family-style for sharing (but also suitable as an entree for 1). Everything was very reasonably priced. The restaurant and food had a homey, rustic feel in the middle of bustling, downtown Chicago. I would love to return & would recommend it to others.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Extremely disappointed with this. Super excited to come due to all of the good reviews. We had a party of five on a Friday night and it was horrible. The only good plates were gluten free pasta and penne with vodka sauce. The spaghetti and meatballs were fine. Bland but what was expected. Truffle risotto was good but over cooked. The ravioli was horrible. Strong alcohol taste and weird texture. Plate did not look appetizing coming out to the table. Grilled octopus was super chewy. Very fishy. Ate one bite and sent it back. We walked out paying $90 for 5 people and had to go get another dinner afterwards.

Waiter handled everything every well - just needed some better kitchen help

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We always come to Quartino when we are downtown. The wine list is fantastic, and the family style Italian cuisine makes dinner a great event for families or couples. The Penne all Vodka and the Orecchiette are two of my personal faves, along with the charcuterie, fromage, and olive assortment.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Always a wonderful meal! Sangria was a little off this time. The mushroom and truffle risotto was really gritty and had a chemical taste. First time in the 12 years we've been going there that I haven't given them 5 stars. Hopefully it was just an isolated incident

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner during restaurant week. The place was packed, but our waiter was fantastic and very attentive. The fondue and tortellini were exceptional. We were too full to eat dessert, but the ones we saw being served to other tables all looked delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We had a lovely experience and enjoyed the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Aldo was amazing. His recommendations were spot on! We enjoyed every second and will be returning very soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Since a few years we were back in this restaurant. Even on this monday it is very busy. The staff was efficient and very friendly. The first drinks: a basil gimlet (very well prepared) and a simple gin&tonic good. The eggplant parmigiana and the burrata with red beets salad as starters also of good quality. The entrees: Osso Bucco and the beef short rib sufficient. Nothing special, but more then satisfying. The only complaint is the bread. Not very good. Here in Europe the Italian bread is better. Overall more then good for a nice evening. It remembered us at the last time when we at Quartino with a party of 12.

Tags: Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The quality and selection of different styles of contemporary Italian specialties made this a great experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great service ! Alicia was awesome the food was very tasty as usual !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Perfect restaurant for big groups. Food was on point and service excellent.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We sat down right away which was great and the food came out at a good pace. The seating is pretty close together but the staff works well. We didn't need the stack of plates and platter holder in the center of the table and it took up a lot of room on the small table. Manager asked about our experience and server was very knowledgeable! Would absolutely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.