About Q at The Empress - The Fairmont Empress Hotel

721 Government Street
Victoria, BC V8W 1W5
View Larger Map

Q represents Queen and country, the revered figure for whom this hotel was named. A singular letter, for a very singular space. Located in the most storied room in Victoria, Q at the Empress is a must-visit culinary celebration that is second to none. This atmospheric space has a distinctly modern, contemporary feel, all the while staying true to the building’s unique iconic heritage with its dark cherry wood ceilings and spectacularly detailed moldings. Focusing on regional ingredients, the carefully curated menu features locally sourced seafood, meats and produce prepared surely and skillfully by Chef Morgan Wilson and his incredible team. Try one of over 850 bottles of wines from the temperature controlled visible wine wall featuring the best of the Pacific North West and select vintages from all over the globe. From romantic dinner to vibrant social event all you need to do is just sit back, relax and enjoy Q at the Empress, the place to be on Vancouver Island.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Belleville & Goverment Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 389-2727

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/empress

Parking Details:
Valet or self parking is available in the Fairmont Empress parkade

Executive Chef:
Morgan Wilson

Private Party Facilities:
The Royal Table is an added refinement to your fine dining experience. Providing guests with a heightened touch of elegance during their dining experience, this experience is truly memorable for a birthday, engagement or simply an evening together. From silver cloches and candelabras to customized wine selections from our Sommelier and a few special touches from the Chef, The Royal Table service provides a sophisticated refinement to an enchanted dining experience. The cost is a C$30 surcharge per person in addition to meal selection costs.

Private Party Contact:
Dining Reservations: 2503892727x

Additional:
Cocktails, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Q at The Empress - The Fairmont Empress Hotel
Q at The Empress - The Fairmont Empress Hotel

Q at The Empress - The Fairmont Empress Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

4.1

ambience

3.6

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

62% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Victoria
Best Restaurants in Victoria ›

Special Occasion (20)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Romantic (12)
See All
Notable Wine List (8)
Scenic View (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
37 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We stayed at the Empress for five nights ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

We stayed at the Empress for five nights and felt we needed to have dinner at least once at Q. It has recently been renovated and was a very elegant space. Our waiter, Earl, was very charming. In my opinion, they need to up their anti on there cuisine. Mine was average--so so shrimp cocktail, a nice soup and salad. My husband had a halibut served on a bed of greens and peas without any kind of sauce. It was dry and very bland. Since we have had amazing shellfish and fish in BC and we were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Unremarkable .Service was excellent .Dec ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Unremarkable .Service was excellent .Decor is an odd mix of Victorian and contemporary .Food was average.Nothingsaverage.Nothing special. Twenty better restaurants in Seattle.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

I have worked in the hotel and restauran ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I have worked in the hotel and restaurant business and I have never experienced worse service in my life. We waited for over 1.5 hrs for our main course to arrive and even our French onion soup took at least 30 min to arrive. There were people who came to the restaurant after us had the drinks, apps, main and bill before we had our mains. Taking my glass of house red off the bill was not acceptable. Our email should have been complementery before we said we were not paying the bill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

The Q Restaurant is a complete renovatio ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The Q Restaurant is a complete renovation of the historic Empress Hotel Dining Room. Gone is the old world elegance as the restaurant is now without the traditional entrance and is opened to the hallway. Gone are the table cloths and traditional furniture and the room sports a much more contemporary look. This is not entirely a bad thing, as the dining room is now much more lively and active and still retains the beautiful coffered ceiling, carved dark wood posts and walls. We last had dinner there in 2014, and I believe the food has improved a bit. Two of us had the Tenderloin that was cooked perfectly, one had the Halibut the other the Ling Cod Our server, Maddy was excellent and very personable. Service from the kitchen was quite slow. Dinner for four with one cocktail each before the gratuity amounted to $307 CAD $238 US.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I wrote a review to Fairmont directly. ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I wrote a review to Fairmont directly. It is too long to repeat here, you may want to check with them for the review/feedback. It was a poor review compared to the Empress dining room experiences of the past. Service was great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Way overpriced for mediocre food. We ha ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Way overpriced for mediocre food. We had breakfast. There are way better restaurants in Victoria where for the same money there is more fresh and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Great to see that the old features of th ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great to see that the old features of the Hotel were saved but still modernized the space. Perhaps a little dark but certainly pleasant.

The wait staff were excellent, both curtious and professional. The food was superb.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For a "fine dining" restaurant, it was t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

For a "fine dining" restaurant, it was terribly noisy. There was loud live music coming from the lounge, competing with loud piped music in the restaurant. We almost decided to leave, and we should have left. At first they tried turning down the piped music (not turning it off, just down!) So the stereo sound from two different pieces of music was quieter on one side! While they eventually tried to accommodate us by moving us to a somewhat quieter table, the whole experience was not at all worth the cost. Our starters were all good, but took nearly an hour to come after ordering. The mains were decent but not stellar. They did try to do a good job recommending wine, and gave generous tasting portions. We did not bother with dessert, even though we had been looking forward to it from the time of seeing the menu before arriving. Shame on this restaurant for taking a lot of money from people and providing such a bad experience. Management needs to visit a truly good restaurant to see how things are done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Tasteless chowder that was overpriced. S ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Tasteless chowder that was overpriced. Service lackluster, mistake on order was made the server confused our order with another table. So half the order arrived and we to wait for the 2nd half at which time the first person served had finished their meal entirely. Never asked us if the meal was satisfactory and never offered anything to up for the mix up and the very wait for the 2nd half of our party of three to receive our very simple meal of chowder and salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Our server was not interested in our din ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Our server was not interested in our dining experience. We asked if the seafood tower was enough to feed two and she said that there would be more than enough. As a $70 entree, we expected it to be. It was more like an appy for two. Server didn't bother to come by to see how we were doing after taking our order. It was not busy at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The ambiance and wait staff were pleasan ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The ambiance and wait staff were pleasant, but the food was a huge disappointment. I ordered halibut and had to send it back because it was overcooked, dry, and flavorless. The backup meal, salmon, was also dry and over-salted. This was the worst meal I've ever had in the price range of ~$30 per entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Enjoying a delicious dinner on the veran ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Enjoying a delicious dinner on the veranda on a warm summer evening with great people watching was sublime.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We really enjoyed the service and the hi ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We really enjoyed the service and the high quality of food. Every effort was made to make us feel comfortable. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is great, but this is a typical ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food is great, but this is a typical hotel restaurant: no atmosphere and very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Service was slow, but not because of wai ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Service was slow, but not because of waitress. There were to many tables for her to wait on. The tables and seating are to close to each other. Great if you want to include them at your dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

I really wanted to like this reatuarant, ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I really wanted to like this reatuarant, and had zero expectation. I went in blind and open minded. It was my first anniversary and expected a nice end to the day. My day at the empress was nice but my skepticism of the restaurant started with the name. "Q?" Like the radio station? Is this going to be rock themed or billiards themed? Neither. I had a reservation and they tried to seat us in the dark corner. we asked for the window.

Noise level seemed high. Was hard to hear what waiter was saying. The sound system/speakers were of atrocious quality - the music sounded like it was coming from a toy radio playing in cavern.

Food was plain. No salt or pepper was offered and it was needed. Prices were a little inflated but expected. Though the food underperformed. For a loud environment, the Ambiance lacked culture and life - it was like being in a dull empty version of the cactus club. No colour. No life. No warmth - cold and bland. It hardly suited the hotel.

Not even a shadow of the restaurant ambiance that was once there previously.

It was like every pinch of color and culture and history and decoration was stripped and replaced with blank walls and meaningless shapes. The void now echoes and i doubt i will return. Not recommended.

im under the understanding that there was a lot of previous sucess at the old bengal room and there was public outcry and lamentation when it was told that it was to be replaced. I had been to the bangal room at least a few times over the years and it was always exciting for the ambiance and environment. Now its ... blahh.. A big echoing void named after a radiostation with bland tones, no colour, no warmth, no theme, and absolutlely no culture or history. Basically any other restaurant does something better.

The q is boring.

The rabbit pasta (tagliatelle) i had at merridale cidery entirely blew the q's out of the water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great fresh salmon with sun chokes and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great fresh salmon with sun chokes and mushrooms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This was a great restaurant. I did feel ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was a great restaurant. I did feel the menu was a bit small but the food was delicious. Definitely expensive but then again you're eating at the Empress.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Salmon and lamb were excellent. Service ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Salmon and lamb were excellent. Service outstanding. Pricey, but given the venue, worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I enjoyed my dinner. The prices for dinn ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I enjoyed my dinner. The prices for dinner was too much, for what I considered causal dinner atmosphere.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Phoned to confirm the Open Table reserva ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Phoned to confirm the Open Table reservation 30 minutes before arrival and they said that we did not have the reservation and that they were fully booked.

We went to another restaurant for our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

totally new face of the restaurant, nice ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

totally new face of the restaurant, nicely done. Still comfortable as before Empress room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful service. Accommodating to our ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Wonderful service. Accommodating to our vegan friend. Food was delightful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been loyal Empress patrons for m ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We have been loyal Empress patrons for many years and decided this is where we would have our 43rd Wedding Anniversary dinner, celebrating with my Mom who was treating us. We were asked if we were celebrating anything when we made our reservation and while our server Laurie asked us id we were celebrating anything she was not aware until we mentioned. I would have expected it to be noted on our reservation. We like the look of the renovations however our evening was very disappointing and we doubt we will return for dinner. We waited close to an hour for our food and when Laurie realized we still didn't have our dinner she offered complimentary bread and tapanade however it arrived after our dinner so we declined. Our food was mediocre..my Mom's mussels were tough, my husband's chicken was not cooked all the way through (and who decided on the serving dish???? Staub is expensive but a casserole dish???? too big!) and the coating on my fish (fish and chips) was too much and all of our french fries were undercooked. The Operations Manager (?) Doug Chant who was very visible al evening, stopped by to apologize for the delay in our food as it was being served. The staff who delivered our food (not our server) did not know what meals belonged to who (unforgiveable in a place like the Empress who wants to distinguish itself from the competition on service and quality) and I expressed this to Doug as unacceptable. My husband's and my meals arrived first, then after a few minutes my Mom's !! Doug offered us complimentary desserts which was a nice gesture. Laurie who is a long time employee of the Bengal is very nice but obviously not confident in the new setting. She took away dinner plates when not everyone was finished their meals! A faux pas and especially in an establishment like the Empress. We believer in a 2nd chance but are reluctant to go back to the Q and will try the Verandah this summer which has always been a favourite and hope we have a better experience there

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The new renovated décor doesn't match th ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The new renovated décor doesn't match the existing interior - lacks the charm and grace of the building.

The bar is fair - offering scenic views, but again the renovations clash with the existing structure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Thank you to the Q for making our birthd ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Thank you to the Q for making our birthday girls' get-together a memorable night! The food and wine were all delicious and impeccably presented, and the service was spot-on. We all work in the industry and truly appreciate the effort involved in executing a memorable dining experience. Our best compliments to the chef, and all the staff at the Q, for a job well done. Highly highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I'm very disappointed with the menu. The ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I'm very disappointed with the menu. The toasted avocado was just so so. I was expecting atleast a fabulous brunch. But I think the company only lives up to its name as The Empress. I'm very disappointed with the food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

was expecting something more traditional ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

was expecting something more traditional in the Empress Hotel so this was a very pleasant surprise - more updated decor & menu. thoroughly enjoyable. friendly good service too. thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server was amazing, and we enjoyed o ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our server was amazing, and we enjoyed our experience with him very much.

He made the special evening for us feel very special indeed.

The food was excellent and the recommendations spot on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very disappointed with the food quality ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very disappointed with the food quality and freshness. Would not recommend any of their appetizers. Main was okay and the dessert was not as exciting as before(the empress room). Services was good and friendly but not professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Service was great. Food was 4 out of 5 ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was great. Food was 4 out of 5 stars. Ambiance - Not so great. Music - Just plane wrong. It was like we were in a bar - loud and not the correct music for the venue. Should have left the old world charm in my opinion. I'd go back, but it would take some convincing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Excellent food served very slowly

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent food served very slowly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Very disappointing - a triumph of presen ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Very disappointing - a triumph of presentation over substance and pretentiously pricey. Much too noisy (due to music not patrons as the restaurant was very nearly empty) for an older clientele. Three staff members hovering but no re-fill of water glasses and undue delay in availability of credit card machine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We were celebrating a friend's 65th birt ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We were celebrating a friend's 65th birthday on Sunday 11 June 2016. The lunch was a special treat because it is definitely not something that she would have done on her own. The food was excellent. The service was superb. And you can't beat the surroundings. The Empress has helped us make this a memorable occasion for our guest. It helped that we were able to purchase a special card and a gift from the gift shop to help celebrate the occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our first time at the newly ren ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This was our first time at the newly renovated restaurant. The atmosphere is much more casual but still elegant. The food was excellent. We started with the smoked salmon appetizer with lemon chutney. I had lamb, which was done perfectly, with farro and heirloom tomatoes. My friend had halibut which she loved. We ended with the chocolate hazelnut pie and did refrain from licking the plate. The waiter made very good suggestions for wine pairing with our meals and the service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice restaurant.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Went to Q three times (breakfast, lunch and dinner ) Food was very good.

Cheese burger was a real hit! Great service as well! Sibylle was our waitress at breakfast... She was absolutely the best! Thank you!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was excellent.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Moderate noise, due to bar across. "Noise barriers" would be great. Just an FYI, real sorry to hear about the closing of the Safari, wow. See ya in a couple of years, long "drive" from Texas

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.