Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Q at The Empress - The Fairmont Empress Hotel

Q represents Queen and country, the revered figure for whom this hotel was named. A singular letter, for a very singular space. Located in the most storied room in Victoria, Q at the Empress is a must-visit culinary celebration that is second to none. This atmospheric space has a distinctly modern, contemporary feel, all the while staying true to the building’s unique iconic heritage with its dark cherry wood ceilings and spectacularly detailed moldings. Focusing on regional ingredients, the carefully curated menu features locally sourced seafood, meats and produce prepared surely and skillfully by Chef Morgan Wilson and his incredible team. Try one of over 850 bottles of wines from the temperature controlled visible wine wall featuring the best of the Pacific North West and select vintages from all over the globe. From romantic dinner to vibrant social event all you need to do is just sit back, relax and enjoy Q at the Empress, the place to be on Vancouver Island.

721 Government Street
Victoria, BC V8W 1W5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Belleville & Goverment Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 389-2727

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/empress

Parking Details:
Valet or self parking is available in the Fairmont Empress parkade

Executive Chef:
Morgan Wilson

Private Party Facilities:
The Royal Table is an added refinement to your fine dining experience. Providing guests with a heightened touch of elegance during their dining experience, this experience is truly memorable for a birthday, engagement or simply an evening together. From silver cloches and candelabras to customized wine selections from our Sommelier and a few special touches from the Chef, The Royal Table service provides a sophisticated refinement to an enchanted dining experience. The cost is a C$30 surcharge per person in addition to meal selection costs.

Private Party Contact:
Dining Reservations: (250) 389-2727

Additional:
Cocktails, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Q at The Empress - The Fairmont Empress Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Business Meals (16)
See All
Historic (16)
Romantic (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for a Date (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Cozy (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Healthy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Seasonal (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Authentic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Fireplace (4)
Live Music (4)
Waterfront (4)
Fun (3)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great Beer (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Casual (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
113 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We were treated with flair and elegance. Superb ambiance and setting. Not just a small experience but full of all the elegance that is so necessary for the an original afternoon British Tea experience. Reservation a must. Plan on lots of time to get to Victoria from Vancouver. 3 hours but a lovely ferry ride.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We had the dine-around menu and thoroughly enjoyed it. Everything was delicious and cooked excellently. We're thrilled we had the opportunity to visit the Q Restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Wonderful! Had been wanting to go since the renovation and had a delightful evening. The service is impeccable,friendly, warm and professional, not stuffy. I wish I could remember the name of the fantastic woman who was serving us. I would hope to get her again on future visits. The renovation is very well done, keeping the tradition and history and adding a modern sensibility. The food is creative and delicious, beautifully presented and amazing value for the setting. What a gem! Definitely look forward to future visits. Our new go to special place!

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Their new chef is beyond compare. The flavor profiles were outstanding and the service ... ah the service.

It's always been a solid dining experience (my wife and I have been there twice before) but the new chef is outstanding and the service had always been top-notch making this our new go-to for date nights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We both found the food to be very muddled. Too many flavours. Did not allow food to speak for itself. Over complicated dishes.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We were served a delicious dinner with island sourced ingredients. The service was very attentive. The wine pairings worked well with the food we chose.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

good food but long time for service, first drink after 45 minutes, food after an hour. dine around menu was great, good value for money.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Absolutely fabulous evening. Service, ambiance, food and value all exceptional.

The only negative is the lack of a coat check. The fact you are in a high end restaurant and you have to hang your coat on a coat rack which is not monitored is appalling.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Lovely service, excellent food and funky, happening room.
As locals we thought we would give the restaurant a try while "Dine Around" is on.
We were very impressed with the amazing menu that was well executed with local wine pairings.
The only thing is it is an open room, so is a little noisy. However this gives it a fun vibe.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was great but hard to digest (really too rich). (40$ menu for Dine around Fest)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

High end dinning we all loved , classy, excellent service, and food.
Did the dine around which made it affordable, and we will definitely return.
Would be fun to take visitors for lunch or dinner. Then we all enjoyed a evening walk
around the inner harbor .

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We went over for a belated Valentine's Day date. What a great place to take a date. Beautiful integration of the antique wood work and modern decor. Food was tremendous and the service was incredible. Really a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Loved the Q in 60 lunch..:it was fabulous!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It would be more popular if the price point came down a bit.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was my 7 year marriage anniversary, I did informed the team about the same and was expecting atleast a complimentary dessert or something but it did not happen.
Food was not that great too but expensive.
Surprised did not went the way I arranged prior to pur arrival.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We had a really enjoyable, tasty lunch with exceptional outstanding service. Appreciated having great table service instead of a waitress that only made good contact with you when presenting the bill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Delicious food, friendly and attentive wait staff, lovely atmosphere, just an all-around great place to dine!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Absolutely delicious food, beautiful and graceful dining environment, professional and warm services makes it perfect dinner. Thank you

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It's hard to say as there is a lot of change underway at the hotel, but this was certainly not at the level we've come to expect from The Empress. The food was amazing, but the rest of the package seemed a little underdeveloped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Our service was extremely slow and when I enquired about the wine that was on the daily sheet menu the server could not tell me anything about the wine other than it was white!! It took us over 30 minutes to get a glass of sparkling water. It took over 30 minutes for the server to take our order and it took over an hour to get our food. Far too long a time for a business/work lunch. We were a table of 8 and there were only four other people in the restaurant at this time. Not sure why everything took so long!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The food was amazing, and the room was pleasant. Our first time in the Q Restaurant. Interesting design concept.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Our experience was exceptional except for one thing. That was the noisy live music being played in the QLounge at the other end of the room. The physical division does not take away from the amazing acoustics that this wonderful heritage building is known for, so the sound carried way to well. Along with that, the music was much more suited to a Coffe House scene than even the new classy ambiance that the Q at the Empress and the Q Lounge have been designed to be. Please reconsider who you hire for entertainment in the Q Lounge as it will definitely affect the dinning experience of those who are expecting a more subdued and classy dining experience in Q at the Empress.

Sincerely,
Diane Yusko-Fielding

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I took my boyfriend out for his birthday dinner and drinks, the staff were bubbly and friendly wishing him a happy birthday throughout the night. We were too full to order desert but the kitchen especially prepared a little surprise birthday treat on the house, which was irresistible and made the evening that much more personal and special. Thank "Q" for a lovely evening :D

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We enjoyed the food and night out. Impressed by the renovations at The Empress and its
more contemporary appeal

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This was my first experience at the Q restaurant. I booked through OpenTable and it was a breeze. The most notable point is the service. I was impressed with the staff from the moment we arrived until we left - they are polite, professional and attentive. The charcuterie lunch option looked incredible, although we opted for sandwiches. These were delicious but sloppy to eat. The "dill fries" were fries sprinkled with dehydrated dill, so not overly impressive but hot and crunchy. Portion size was good. The hefeweizen was very good and well priced. The overall lunch price was high, but expected for the venue. I would definitely recommend the Q and look forward to returning again - primarily for the great staff and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Loved the Seafood Tower! Our meal was outstanding, and the service was as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very poor services from welcoming guests to collecting payment, wrong dishes, noisy environment and very fake smile

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food at great value with great service in a beautiful setting,

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Excellent service , entree okay, decor nice, The appetizer was interesting with moist smoked salmon.

Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The staff was very well educated in wine pairings and seasonal dishes. Overall the experience was unique and rewarding. I would recommend for any special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The tenderloin was outstanding - the dessert (strudel) not so much (soggy). Salad also wimpy. House red (Spanish) wine was good. Service great!

Personally did not enjoy the very heavy ambiance of the room -- it felt like we were dining in an old, British gentleman's club, with all the dark wooden panels and heavy, carved, ornate wooden beams in the ceiling. It did not feel friendly or particularly comfortable.

Also, thought the choice for lighting that looked like giant, lighted puzzle pieces felt out of place and incongruous with the rest of the room. Chandeliers would have been more fitting.

It was the day before Christmas eve and we wanted to have dinner where there was beautiful decorations to get in the mood for the season - there were minimal Christmas decorations and it could have been any time of the year, as opposed to Christmas.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We couldn't have been happier with our romantic, pre-Christmas lunch for two. From the lovely appetizer buffet, to the comfort-food main dishes, and the authentically friendly service, and of course the wonderful Empress Hotel, this was a magical experience. Well worth the trip from Pender Island. Thank you.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Historic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I was at the Q three times since Sept. Every time it was a wonderful experience.
The service is exceptional . The food excellent. I plan on going there often.

Tags: Family Style, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We loved our evening at the Q. Our only request for next time is that the veggies accompanying the salmon were very sparse, but the food and service were very good.

Tags: Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food and surroundings were good. Service could have been a little better. However it was very overpriced for what we had. The food was good not great. The drinks especially were grossly overpriced. Probably would not go back again.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Celebrated our first wedding anniversary at Q for dinner; rushed and impersonal service. Had eaten there a couple months before at a birthday dinner. Would not return for a special occasion.

Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We always enjoy dining at the Q at the Empress. It has been our destination for special occasions for decades. The recent remodel was impressive while retaining the historic elements of the restaurant we've come to enjoy. The staff were friendly and attentive to our needs.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I treated my parents to a special Christmas dinner at the Q in the Empress. They enjoyed a perfect evening from the moment they arrived. The atmosphere, service, food and wine were all exceptional. A special thank you to the waiter...unfortunately I don't know his name, for making the entire dining experience so special. I have never heard my parents sound so thrilled! I can't wait to dine at the Q the next time I visit Victoria.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I chose Q for lunch over High Tea to celebrate my birthday with my mom, and what a great decision. We arrived early but were cheerfully accommodated. The three-course monthly special started with a tapas/salad bar of olives, breads, cheese, cold cuts, two salad types, and exotic salad additions. There was a choice of three different mains, and a seasonal dessert. Everything was of outstanding quality, making for a very memorable experience in a renovated space that successfully marries historic interior with contemporary updates.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I'm a local who knows the Empress property well and wasn't dismayed by the closing of the Bengal Lounge or the previous fine dining space. I had eaten in both.
I was hopeful that the new look and contemporary feel of The Q would be just what the property needed.
The Q as a venue is great... both the bar and the restaurant. But, there were a few stand outs that I believe Could prove 'counter productive' to real success. Please see beliow:
* having your website describe what a diner should wear is unnecessary
* telling a diner on the website how long they have to eat...to allow others in, is unnecessary- the food service alone should manage that
* the servers, though friendly, were not trained to the level of the restaurant
* wine knowledge was weak
* the style of the dishes used to serve the food did not have the level of 'sophistication' your website alluded to
* the food 'styling' on the plate was uninspired

We, as a group, were disappointed because we held great hope for the new space.
The restaurant was mostly empty and on a mid December evening that's a concern, I would think.

I do hope this review helps....I want the Q to be successful!

Regards,
Barbara Ellsworth

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.