Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Q at The Empress - The Fairmont Empress Hotel

Q represents Queen and country, the revered figure for whom this hotel was named. A singular letter, for a very singular space. Located in the most storied room in Victoria, Q at the Empress is a must-visit culinary celebration that is second to none. This atmospheric space has a distinctly modern, contemporary feel, all the while staying true to the building’s unique iconic heritage with its dark cherry wood ceilings and spectacularly detailed moldings. Focusing on regional ingredients, the carefully curated menu features locally sourced seafood, meats and produce prepared surely and skillfully by Chef Morgan Wilson and his incredible team. Try one of over 850 bottles of wines from the temperature controlled visible wine wall featuring the best of the Pacific North West and select vintages from all over the globe. From romantic dinner to vibrant social event all you need to do is just sit back, relax and enjoy Q at the Empress, the place to be on Vancouver Island.

721 Government Street
Victoria, BC V8W 1W5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Belleville & Goverment Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 389-2727

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/empress

Parking Details:
Valet or self parking is available in the Fairmont Empress parkade

Executive Chef:
Morgan Wilson

Private Party Facilities:
The Royal Table is an added refinement to your fine dining experience. Providing guests with a heightened touch of elegance during their dining experience, this experience is truly memorable for a birthday, engagement or simply an evening together. From silver cloches and candelabras to customized wine selections from our Sommelier and a few special touches from the Chef, The Royal Table service provides a sophisticated refinement to an enchanted dining experience. The cost is a C$30 surcharge per person in addition to meal selection costs.

Private Party Contact:
Dining Reservations: (250) 389-2727

Additional:
Cocktails, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Q at The Empress - The Fairmont Empress Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Romantic (15)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Historic (11)
Business Meals (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Authentic (7)
Cozy (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Healthy (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Casual (4)
Live Music (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Scenic View (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Waterfront (2)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
131 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined a day ago

Excellent service, great food. Doesn't get much better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

We were really anticipating a great evening, my wife, daughter and her husband from Vancouver. The room is sensational, the reason for going and while some people made an effort and looked nice, others could have been going to MacDonalds which was disappointing. It's not inexpensive and you want to feel that everyone appreciates that while still having a good time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was great. Service was okay but the serving staff needs to be a bit more attentive (ie. replace cutlery between course, top off the water). I think there was an issue with the kitchen because the food took a very long time to come out. My steak and my father's lamb was cooked perfectly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant lived up to its expectations beautifully. Gorgeous room, meticulous yet friendly service and great food. We came for lunch which turned out to be a great deal. For $28 Canadian (we are Americans so it came down to about $20) you get a 3 course lunch. The selections for the main were what I wanted anyway after perusing the menu. Everything was lovely: they even have their own brand of gin which is purple and it makes up beautifully in the glass. Sybella was our server and she was warm and funny but courteous as well. We almost went back for dinner but didn't have the time. Worth checking out for sure as it is a Victoria institution.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

The service from Shindy, Vanessa and Natasha brings me back as does the inovative cuisine of chef Juan!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Visiting Victoria island for May long weekend we had an
Amazing experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food is good and the service is good. At their prices, I expect it to be outstanding. It was noisy and seemed a bit rushed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 11, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating an anniversary getaway so we wanted dinner at someplace special. The Q is located in the historic Empress Hotel and the restaurant has all the charm of the Hotel. Our server was friendly, attentive and very aknowledgable about the food and drinks. My wife ordered the sablefish and I ordered the pork chops. I also ordered a beet salad which was the best beet salad ever. Overall the atmosphere, service and food was excellent. Great restaurant and we will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The wait staff were outstanding at this restaurant. The food was excellent too. It is a little bit pricy, but the portions are large and combined with the ambiance, quality of food, and attentive wait staff, it is good value especially for a special occasion. I would definitely come back and try other items on the menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent service! Very much catered to our every need.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Q Restaurant is great! Such a nice change from the stuffy old Empress Dining Room. Food was great (lamb rack was so tender! and Salmon was perfectly cooked), incredible wine list, great pre-dinner cocktails at the bar. Not cheap, but for a special occasion, worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The west coast seafood corn chowder could have been an incredible chowder if not for the "gold fish". The lamb was cooked perfectly but lacked seasoning. Otherwise, the ambiance and service was great.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

It was very noisy. My meal was not cooked correctly, but was returned to the kitchen. It did arrive cooked better but by then my partner had finished his meal. We were given complimentary desserts which were very good. All in all our dining experience was the longest we've had, it was roughly 2 1/2 hrs which I feel is far too long. I noticed other diners that came after us that had there drinks/appies and mains before we got our main. I also had too wait a very long time for my first cocktail.
Probably won't be going again.

PS - please bring back the Bengal Lounge :-) Never had a bad experience there.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great food and presentation

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 19, 2017

This is a beautiful place to take colleagues for lunch - quiet and the surroundings are new and fresh with a touch of the original classic dining room still in evidence.
Our service was impeccable, requests met and nothing was overlooked!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The ambience was wonderful. Our waiter was great but seemed that he was taking care of too many other tables which impeded our service. There were only 2 waiters working the floor. We had asked for salt and ground pepper after our entrees were presented but were not brought any and the steak which we asked to be prepared medium came on the rarer side of medium-rare.
Other than that we had a fantastic time and will likely be back. The live music was also great to hear.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Historic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 13, 2017

My son and I went for a small celebration meal. So disappointed with the flavours. The pasta with crab and arugula was monochromatic so to speak with no highlights or depth to the dish and I don't mean hot sauce. Very expensive for such a bland meal. We had the seafood tower, which was in a bowl, the poke was the high point, and the salmon needed more robust flavours.

Staff were efficient and helpful but I would not go back for a meal over 240.00 without alcohol.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on April 1, 2017

Had a very enjoyable meal. Smoked clam chowder was a definite standout. Corkage fee steep at $35, but with expensive wine list..well worth paying.
Service staff very attentive and friendly. Will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We were treated with flair and elegance. Superb ambiance and setting. Not just a small experience but full of all the elegance that is so necessary for the an original afternoon British Tea experience. Reservation a must. Plan on lots of time to get to Victoria from Vancouver. 3 hours but a lovely ferry ride.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We had the dine-around menu and thoroughly enjoyed it. Everything was delicious and cooked excellently. We're thrilled we had the opportunity to visit the Q Restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Wonderful! Had been wanting to go since the renovation and had a delightful evening. The service is impeccable,friendly, warm and professional, not stuffy. I wish I could remember the name of the fantastic woman who was serving us. I would hope to get her again on future visits. The renovation is very well done, keeping the tradition and history and adding a modern sensibility. The food is creative and delicious, beautifully presented and amazing value for the setting. What a gem! Definitely look forward to future visits. Our new go to special place!

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Their new chef is beyond compare. The flavor profiles were outstanding and the service ... ah the service.

It's always been a solid dining experience (my wife and I have been there twice before) but the new chef is outstanding and the service had always been top-notch making this our new go-to for date nights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We both found the food to be very muddled. Too many flavours. Did not allow food to speak for itself. Over complicated dishes.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We were served a delicious dinner with island sourced ingredients. The service was very attentive. The wine pairings worked well with the food we chose.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

good food but long time for service, first drink after 45 minutes, food after an hour. dine around menu was great, good value for money.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Absolutely fabulous evening. Service, ambiance, food and value all exceptional.

The only negative is the lack of a coat check. The fact you are in a high end restaurant and you have to hang your coat on a coat rack which is not monitored is appalling.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Lovely service, excellent food and funky, happening room.
As locals we thought we would give the restaurant a try while "Dine Around" is on.
We were very impressed with the amazing menu that was well executed with local wine pairings.
The only thing is it is an open room, so is a little noisy. However this gives it a fun vibe.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was great but hard to digest (really too rich). (40$ menu for Dine around Fest)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

High end dinning we all loved , classy, excellent service, and food.
Did the dine around which made it affordable, and we will definitely return.
Would be fun to take visitors for lunch or dinner. Then we all enjoyed a evening walk
around the inner harbor .

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We went over for a belated Valentine's Day date. What a great place to take a date. Beautiful integration of the antique wood work and modern decor. Food was tremendous and the service was incredible. Really a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Loved the Q in 60 lunch..:it was fabulous!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It would be more popular if the price point came down a bit.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was my 7 year marriage anniversary, I did informed the team about the same and was expecting atleast a complimentary dessert or something but it did not happen.
Food was not that great too but expensive.
Surprised did not went the way I arranged prior to pur arrival.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We had a really enjoyable, tasty lunch with exceptional outstanding service. Appreciated having great table service instead of a waitress that only made good contact with you when presenting the bill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Delicious food, friendly and attentive wait staff, lovely atmosphere, just an all-around great place to dine!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Absolutely delicious food, beautiful and graceful dining environment, professional and warm services makes it perfect dinner. Thank you

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It's hard to say as there is a lot of change underway at the hotel, but this was certainly not at the level we've come to expect from The Empress. The food was amazing, but the rest of the package seemed a little underdeveloped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Our service was extremely slow and when I enquired about the wine that was on the daily sheet menu the server could not tell me anything about the wine other than it was white!! It took us over 30 minutes to get a glass of sparkling water. It took over 30 minutes for the server to take our order and it took over an hour to get our food. Far too long a time for a business/work lunch. We were a table of 8 and there were only four other people in the restaurant at this time. Not sure why everything took so long!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The food was amazing, and the room was pleasant. Our first time in the Q Restaurant. Interesting design concept.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Our experience was exceptional except for one thing. That was the noisy live music being played in the QLounge at the other end of the room. The physical division does not take away from the amazing acoustics that this wonderful heritage building is known for, so the sound carried way to well. Along with that, the music was much more suited to a Coffe House scene than even the new classy ambiance that the Q at the Empress and the Q Lounge have been designed to be. Please reconsider who you hire for entertainment in the Q Lounge as it will definitely affect the dinning experience of those who are expecting a more subdued and classy dining experience in Q at the Empress.

Sincerely,
Diane Yusko-Fielding

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.