Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Q at The Empress - The Fairmont Empress Hotel

Q represents Queen and country, the revered figure for whom this hotel was named. A singular letter, for a very singular space. Located in the most storied room in Victoria, Q at the Empress is a must-visit culinary celebration that is second to none. This atmospheric space has a distinctly modern, contemporary feel, all the while staying true to the building’s unique iconic heritage with its dark cherry wood ceilings and spectacularly detailed moldings. Focusing on regional ingredients, the carefully curated menu features locally sourced seafood, meats and produce prepared surely and skillfully by Chef Morgan Wilson and his incredible team. Try one of over 850 bottles of wines from the temperature controlled visible wine wall featuring the best of the Pacific North West and select vintages from all over the globe. From romantic dinner to vibrant social event all you need to do is just sit back, relax and enjoy Q at the Empress, the place to be on Vancouver Island.

721 Government Street
Victoria, BC V8W 1W5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Belleville & Goverment Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 389-2727

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/empress

Parking Details:
Valet or self parking is available in the Fairmont Empress parkade

Executive Chef:
Morgan Wilson

Private Party Facilities:
The Royal Table is an added refinement to your fine dining experience. Providing guests with a heightened touch of elegance during their dining experience, this experience is truly memorable for a birthday, engagement or simply an evening together. From silver cloches and candelabras to customized wine selections from our Sommelier and a few special touches from the Chef, The Royal Table service provides a sophisticated refinement to an enchanted dining experience. The cost is a C$30 surcharge per person in addition to meal selection costs.

Private Party Contact:
Dining Reservations: (250) 389-2727

Additional:
Cocktails, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Q at The Empress - The Fairmont Empress Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
See All
Romantic (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Business Meals (10)
Live Music (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Historic (5)
Authentic (5)
Healthy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Casual (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Waterfront (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
154 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We were warmly greeted with happy birthday wishes for my husband (I had noted this on the reservation and asked for a nice table, which we had, with a view over the courtyard). Our server couldn't have been nicer. The meal was excellent and the birthday dessert (crème brûlée in a shallow dish with a chocolate tree branch, pistachio meringue leaves, and strawberry blossoms with a rectangle of white chocolate with Happy Birthday written on it was as close to artwork as food can get. Altogether a memorable experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

It was an amazing experience. The food was great and the service outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Me and my husband came here for dinner on our honeymoon and were disappointed with the menu selection. We ordered the seafood tower and all the seafood was over cooked and barely had flavor.

Tags: Live Music, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Server was very friendly, knowledgeable and professional. My wife's salmon was fine but not outstanding. My ribeye was flavorful and the temperature requested but the piece was not as tender as I felt it should have been. Overall it was a nice dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Once seated we never saw our server for about 8 minutes so got up and left. The menu was not very diverse and if we were going to spend $$$ on our dinner, we did not want to experience slow service too. The ambiance is not what it used to be so was not willing to pay $$$ on dinner. Not the special place it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Sat out on the street level patio. Great day. Class joint. Would definitely love to go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Very good but pricey locally sourced food. Modern ambiance in old school setting. We dressed up, but many didn't which is sad. Hostess very accommodating when we arrived quite early for our reservation, seated us right away

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Lovely late lunch date, with delicious food and cocktails. Will absolutely be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

When we went it was noisy, sat next to a family table with a kid wandering around and crawling under the table. Food was good, service was excellent. Was surprised to see that there was no bus service, waiters and host/hostess cleared dishes and reset tables. Could be a nice date place or celebrating anniversaries if there wasn't too many misbehaved children around.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, People Watching, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Very disorganized service, resulting in long delays and a disappointing experience. The food was competent but not anywhere near worth the prices charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Simply amazing in all aspect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Daughter's high school graduation- they made a special sign out of white chocolate. Lovely piano music, great views. One of the few times I enjoyed dressing up for a meal. Fair mint is always top shelf. Very pleased with service and you can sit as long as you want

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

DECOR WAS DISAPPOINTING. COULD HAVE BEEN A LOVELY ROOM WITH COMFORTABLE CHAIRS, WOOD TABLES ETC IN KEEPING WITH THE CHARACTER OF THE HOTEL. THE CEILING SETS THE TONE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Along with the remodeling of the Rooms of the Empress Hotel, we think a "sprucing up" of the Dining Room would be helpful.

Linen Table Cloths would be a great addition to match the ambience of the Wooden Architecture.

The live entertainment on the night of that 20th was the best. We enjoyed the music so much.

We hope to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great selection, well prepared in a classic renovated building.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Pre-dinner cocktails were superb. Our waiter was very jovial, knowledgeable and interested in us as diners in the Fairmont Empress hotel. I started with clam chowder - tasty and chunky. My wife ordered fish as a main course I ordered the lamb. My wife's fish was hot, my dinner was barely luke warm. I sent it back and the kitchen promptly cooked a fresh meal that arrived in about 15 minutes and was hot. Overall the food was tastey but not extraordinary. I hd a chocolate cake with ice-cream for desert. It was pretty good and probably the best part of the dining experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Lunch was good overall. Had the weekly price fix menu with three courses. The charcuterie table was one of the best I've seen. I chose the pasta as the main, but the pasta was a bit overcooked and seemed mushy although the sauce was very flavourful. Would pass on this next time. My sister had the salad with poached rhubarb and goat cheese and she really enjoyed it. Dessert was bourbon ice cream with sour cherry sauce and it was very good. Portion was quite large. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food and service were phenomenal. The executive chef stopped by to introduce himself and checked on us throughout dinner. Service was attentive but not intrusive. Overall, a great meal and definitely a place to return to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I had and incredible dinner! Our waiter, Todd, was friendly and offered great suggestions for cocktails and dinner. One of the BEST meals I've ever eaten.
I will return next time I'm in Victoria BC.

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Romantic, Live Music, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent inventive menu and attentive service. The live music was also very nice for dining.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The service was poor and very slow. The menu options were limited and very expensive. The meal was not the quality you would expect from a restaurant of this calibre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2017

For being in the Empress Hotel, I expected better service. Also, the portion sizes were too small and not a good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Excellent service.staff friendly and helpful. Had a time restraint and they accommodated our request. Food very good

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Excellent service, great food. Doesn't get much better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We were really anticipating a great evening, my wife, daughter and her husband from Vancouver. The room is sensational, the reason for going and while some people made an effort and looked nice, others could have been going to MacDonalds which was disappointing. It's not inexpensive and you want to feel that everyone appreciates that while still having a good time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was great. Service was okay but the serving staff needs to be a bit more attentive (ie. replace cutlery between course, top off the water). I think there was an issue with the kitchen because the food took a very long time to come out. My steak and my father's lamb was cooked perfectly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This restaurant lived up to its expectations beautifully. Gorgeous room, meticulous yet friendly service and great food. We came for lunch which turned out to be a great deal. For $28 Canadian (we are Americans so it came down to about $20) you get a 3 course lunch. The selections for the main were what I wanted anyway after perusing the menu. Everything was lovely: they even have their own brand of gin which is purple and it makes up beautifully in the glass. Sybella was our server and she was warm and funny but courteous as well. We almost went back for dinner but didn't have the time. Worth checking out for sure as it is a Victoria institution.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The service from Shindy, Vanessa and Natasha brings me back as does the inovative cuisine of chef Juan!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Visiting Victoria island for May long weekend we had an
Amazing experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food is good and the service is good. At their prices, I expect it to be outstanding. It was noisy and seemed a bit rushed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 10, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating an anniversary getaway so we wanted dinner at someplace special. The Q is located in the historic Empress Hotel and the restaurant has all the charm of the Hotel. Our server was friendly, attentive and very aknowledgable about the food and drinks. My wife ordered the sablefish and I ordered the pork chops. I also ordered a beet salad which was the best beet salad ever. Overall the atmosphere, service and food was excellent. Great restaurant and we will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The wait staff were outstanding at this restaurant. The food was excellent too. It is a little bit pricy, but the portions are large and combined with the ambiance, quality of food, and attentive wait staff, it is good value especially for a special occasion. I would definitely come back and try other items on the menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent service! Very much catered to our every need.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Q Restaurant is great! Such a nice change from the stuffy old Empress Dining Room. Food was great (lamb rack was so tender! and Salmon was perfectly cooked), incredible wine list, great pre-dinner cocktails at the bar. Not cheap, but for a special occasion, worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The west coast seafood corn chowder could have been an incredible chowder if not for the "gold fish". The lamb was cooked perfectly but lacked seasoning. Otherwise, the ambiance and service was great.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

It was very noisy. My meal was not cooked correctly, but was returned to the kitchen. It did arrive cooked better but by then my partner had finished his meal. We were given complimentary desserts which were very good. All in all our dining experience was the longest we've had, it was roughly 2 1/2 hrs which I feel is far too long. I noticed other diners that came after us that had there drinks/appies and mains before we got our main. I also had too wait a very long time for my first cocktail.
Probably won't be going again.

PS - please bring back the Bengal Lounge :-) Never had a bad experience there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great food and presentation

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 19, 2017

This is a beautiful place to take colleagues for lunch - quiet and the surroundings are new and fresh with a touch of the original classic dining room still in evidence.
Our service was impeccable, requests met and nothing was overlooked!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The ambience was wonderful. Our waiter was great but seemed that he was taking care of too many other tables which impeded our service. There were only 2 waiters working the floor. We had asked for salt and ground pepper after our entrees were presented but were not brought any and the steak which we asked to be prepared medium came on the rarer side of medium-rare.
Other than that we had a fantastic time and will likely be back. The live music was also great to hear.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 13, 2017

My son and I went for a small celebration meal. So disappointed with the flavours. The pasta with crab and arugula was monochromatic so to speak with no highlights or depth to the dish and I don't mean hot sauce. Very expensive for such a bland meal. We had the seafood tower, which was in a bowl, the poke was the high point, and the salmon needed more robust flavours.

Staff were efficient and helpful but I would not go back for a meal over 240.00 without alcohol.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.