Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Q at The Empress - The Fairmont Empress Hotel

Q represents Queen and country, the revered figure for whom this hotel was named. A singular letter, for a very singular space. Located in the most storied room in Victoria, Q at the Empress is a must-visit culinary celebration that is second to none. This atmospheric space has a distinctly modern, contemporary feel, all the while staying true to the building’s unique iconic heritage with its dark cherry wood ceilings and spectacularly detailed moldings. Focusing on regional ingredients, the carefully curated menu features locally sourced seafood, meats and produce prepared surely and skillfully by Chef Morgan Wilson and his incredible team. Try one of over 850 bottles of wines from the temperature controlled visible wine wall featuring the best of the Pacific North West and select vintages from all over the globe. From romantic dinner to vibrant social event all you need to do is just sit back, relax and enjoy Q at the Empress, the place to be on Vancouver Island.

721 Government Street
Victoria, BC V8W 1W5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Belleville & Goverment Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 389-2727

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/empress

Parking Details:
Valet or self parking is available in the Fairmont Empress parkade

Executive Chef:
Morgan Wilson

Private Party Facilities:
The Royal Table is an added refinement to your fine dining experience. Providing guests with a heightened touch of elegance during their dining experience, this experience is truly memorable for a birthday, engagement or simply an evening together. From silver cloches and candelabras to customized wine selections from our Sommelier and a few special touches from the Chef, The Royal Table service provides a sophisticated refinement to an enchanted dining experience. The cost is a C$30 surcharge per person in addition to meal selection costs.

Private Party Contact:
Dining Reservations: (250) 389-2727

Additional:
Cocktails, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Q at The Empress - The Fairmont Empress Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
See All
Local Ingredients (10)
Romantic (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Live Music (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Seasonal (7)
Waterfront (7)
Scenic View (6)
Healthy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Bar Seating (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Authentic (2)
Cozy (2)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Casual (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
171 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Our first dinner on our honeymoon. Maddi was our server and she was delightful. Always making sure to call my new wife "Mrs." We had the scallops and prawns as an appetizer and they were cooked to perfection. We both had the duck for our main and again; an amazing cook. I have Celiac Disease and the chef knew to leave the salsify chips off my plate (likely fried in a fryer that also fries items with gluten.) The lingonberries were tart and went wonderfully with the beet and red wine purée. I would eat that meal again anytime. Wine is over priced, but find a restaurant where it isn't and I'll be there. The meal itself was priced according to what I would expect at a fine dining restaurant. The atmosphere was lovely and the live musician they had was perfect. Acoustic guitar with a smooth voice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 11, 2017

I celebrated my birthday with my Victoria friends. Everyone loved the food and service. They were very accommodating and friendly. It was a lovely evening. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Where are the table cloths? Focaccia was more like bread. Entres were good but not exceptional. View into the kitchen was a distracting experience. Chocolate used for dessert was not top quality. Coffee was fair, well below the quality of such an established restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

High Variance dishes. Overall, really good produce but poor execution on the dishes. Just small things like the tomatoes in the gazpacho weren't cut enough and that type of thing.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Beyond amazing! Every dish was impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Wait staff were exceptional, food amazing and views of the inner harbour on a warm day on the Verandah amazing !!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Outstanding steak (7 oz) cooked to perfection plus great service

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Fantastic on all fronts. Highly recommend to all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great service great food. Went for my father in laws 89th birthday. Staff were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Beautifully presented dinner and cocktails we had a perfect dining experience from cocktails to dinner and wine

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

We came here on a Sunday afternoon while visiting the city. The place itself is in the middle of a hallway where people come and go but the seating itself is very comfortable and nice. I highly recommend their seafood chowder, it's $12 but quite filling so if you're not a big eater it works as a shared plate. Overall service is fantastic as is it a nice hotel after all. Would recommend if you are looking for a more upscale restaurant!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food and service were Ok. The ambience was Ok too, but the noise level detracted from the ability to carry on a normal conversation. The prices were too high, especially on the wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We considered going to the Victoria for High Tea, but at $75/person for a party of 9, that was a little too much. We were right next door in the lovely Q, with a full lunch menu (great ahi poke!) and many choices, and were able to get out of there with an average $25/person. The service was impeccable, and the room was half-empty whereas the High Tea next door was packed. A great alternative to High Tea!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 6, 2017

What a fabulous meal and setting! We shared several items and they were all delicious. The live music and overall vibe was perfect. We wanted to stay longer but had to waddle back to the ship and sail back to Seattle. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I loved the ambiance created by the mix of contemporary design and tradition at Q. The seafood platter was fresh, local, and delicious. The flatiron steak was cooked to perfection and the salmon was delicious. Our server was great and very patient with the members of our table that didn't speak much English. I would recommend Q to anyone visting Victoria!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Our server, Maddie, was so enthusiastic and helpful, it really enhanced our dining experience. The food was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We had a lovely evening and a very nice meal. Our only criticism is that when we were asked if we would prefer sparkling or flat water, we chose flat thinking that would be tap water. We were shocked to discover later that we had been charged $9.00 for 'flat' water.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We were warmly greeted with happy birthday wishes for my husband (I had noted this on the reservation and asked for a nice table, which we had, with a view over the courtyard). Our server couldn't have been nicer. The meal was excellent and the birthday dessert (crème brûlée in a shallow dish with a chocolate tree branch, pistachio meringue leaves, and strawberry blossoms with a rectangle of white chocolate with Happy Birthday written on it was as close to artwork as food can get. Altogether a memorable experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

It was an amazing experience. The food was great and the service outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Me and my husband came here for dinner on our honeymoon and were disappointed with the menu selection. We ordered the seafood tower and all the seafood was over cooked and barely had flavor.

Tags: Live Music, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Server was very friendly, knowledgeable and professional. My wife's salmon was fine but not outstanding. My ribeye was flavorful and the temperature requested but the piece was not as tender as I felt it should have been. Overall it was a nice dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Once seated we never saw our server for about 8 minutes so got up and left. The menu was not very diverse and if we were going to spend $$$ on our dinner, we did not want to experience slow service too. The ambiance is not what it used to be so was not willing to pay $$$ on dinner. Not the special place it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Sat out on the street level patio. Great day. Class joint. Would definitely love to go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Very good but pricey locally sourced food. Modern ambiance in old school setting. We dressed up, but many didn't which is sad. Hostess very accommodating when we arrived quite early for our reservation, seated us right away

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Lovely late lunch date, with delicious food and cocktails. Will absolutely be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

When we went it was noisy, sat next to a family table with a kid wandering around and crawling under the table. Food was good, service was excellent. Was surprised to see that there was no bus service, waiters and host/hostess cleared dishes and reset tables. Could be a nice date place or celebrating anniversaries if there wasn't too many misbehaved children around.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, People Watching, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Very disorganized service, resulting in long delays and a disappointing experience. The food was competent but not anywhere near worth the prices charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Simply amazing in all aspect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Daughter's high school graduation- they made a special sign out of white chocolate. Lovely piano music, great views. One of the few times I enjoyed dressing up for a meal. Fair mint is always top shelf. Very pleased with service and you can sit as long as you want

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

DECOR WAS DISAPPOINTING. COULD HAVE BEEN A LOVELY ROOM WITH COMFORTABLE CHAIRS, WOOD TABLES ETC IN KEEPING WITH THE CHARACTER OF THE HOTEL. THE CEILING SETS THE TONE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Along with the remodeling of the Rooms of the Empress Hotel, we think a "sprucing up" of the Dining Room would be helpful.

Linen Table Cloths would be a great addition to match the ambience of the Wooden Architecture.

The live entertainment on the night of that 20th was the best. We enjoyed the music so much.

We hope to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great selection, well prepared in a classic renovated building.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Pre-dinner cocktails were superb. Our waiter was very jovial, knowledgeable and interested in us as diners in the Fairmont Empress hotel. I started with clam chowder - tasty and chunky. My wife ordered fish as a main course I ordered the lamb. My wife's fish was hot, my dinner was barely luke warm. I sent it back and the kitchen promptly cooked a fresh meal that arrived in about 15 minutes and was hot. Overall the food was tastey but not extraordinary. I hd a chocolate cake with ice-cream for desert. It was pretty good and probably the best part of the dining experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Lunch was good overall. Had the weekly price fix menu with three courses. The charcuterie table was one of the best I've seen. I chose the pasta as the main, but the pasta was a bit overcooked and seemed mushy although the sauce was very flavourful. Would pass on this next time. My sister had the salad with poached rhubarb and goat cheese and she really enjoyed it. Dessert was bourbon ice cream with sour cherry sauce and it was very good. Portion was quite large. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food and service were phenomenal. The executive chef stopped by to introduce himself and checked on us throughout dinner. Service was attentive but not intrusive. Overall, a great meal and definitely a place to return to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I had and incredible dinner! Our waiter, Todd, was friendly and offered great suggestions for cocktails and dinner. One of the BEST meals I've ever eaten.
I will return next time I'm in Victoria BC.

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Romantic, Live Music, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent inventive menu and attentive service. The live music was also very nice for dining.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The service was poor and very slow. The menu options were limited and very expensive. The meal was not the quality you would expect from a restaurant of this calibre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2017

For being in the Empress Hotel, I expected better service. Also, the portion sizes were too small and not a good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Excellent service.staff friendly and helpful. Had a time restraint and they accommodated our request. Food very good

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.