Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Purple Parrot Seafood and Steaks

Regional favorite since 1987, Purple Parrot Seafood & Steaks features contemporary seasonal cuisine. Highlights include fresh Gulf seafood including several varieties of fresh fish along with shrimp, crab and oysters, Certified Angus Beef, and locally grown artisanal foods. Wine Spectator award winning wine list features over 700 labels and 30 wines by-the-glass. Cocktail bar is a local hotspot featuring hand-crafted cocktails from fresh ingredients.

3810 Hardy Street
Hattiesburg, MS 39402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
38th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 264-0656

Website:
http://www.purpleparrotcafe.net/

Executive Chef:
Robert St. John

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Purple Parrot Seafood & Steaks hosts a yearly Wine Festival each spring.

Purple Parrot Seafood and Steaks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Special Occasion (9)
See All
Romantic (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Cozy (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Casual (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
237 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Randy and I were delighted to discover the Purple Parrot on our recent trip to New Orleans via Hattiesburg. Our meal was perfectly prepared and beautifully presented, and the handcrafted cocktails were unique and fancifully garnished. I especially enjoyed the Televangelist....a surprisingly light and refreshing drink made with rum, lemon, pineapple, and toasted chestnut liqueur. For dinner, the two of us shared a scrumptious Fried Green Tomato appetizer topped with a ragout of heirloom tomatoes, shiitake mushrooms, and fresh crab meat. Randy ordered the catch of the day for his main course... perfectly pan seared triple tail served over a savory sweet potato hash. I chose to have a dozen briney fresh oysters with the best mignonette sauce I have ever tasted. Our server regularly replenished our basket of hot, homemade yeast rolls. We highly recommend the Purple Parrot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We were seated immediately upon arrival and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. This was was our second time to try this restaurant and both times we have left promising to return again soon. Hattiesburg is about 5 hours from SHREVEPORT and halfway to the beaches we visit in Alabama and Florida, so this is a good place to break up the drive and enjoy a great meal and cocktails! The charbroiled oysters, sensation salad, speckled trout and crabmeat along with the scallops were a big hit. We enjoyed a wonderful Chablis and then we're able to share a white chocolate bread pudding along with a blueberry cheesecake that were sinfully delicious. Our waitress was very attentive and pleasant. We can't wait for our next trip to the beach and reason to stop by again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Have planned to eat there each time I have been in H'burg but things never worked out. Last weekend for my anniversary, decided it was time and all the hype I have heard for years was found to be true. Great food. Great service. Very helpful and friendly staff. We will be back....soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I don't expect to ever have a better omelet than this one! My husband's fish was superb! We drove in from Jackson, MS to Hattiesburg - a 1.5 hour drive. It was sooo worth the effort!

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our meal was very good with attentive but not rushed service .
Steaks were cooked as ordered , sides were very good as well .
Crabmeat beignets were a hit with our whole table .

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was one of the few nicer dining options a that shows up for Hattiesburg. The ambiance and roomwas great, but the room design does not afford much privacy or buffer from the loud taking foursome sitting a few tables over. Food was fine, but server (while nice) did not have much to offer by way of recommendations other than reading options off the menu. Would definitely give them another chance.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Had the Filet and shrimp. Fantastic. The duck spring rolls as an appetizer were excellent as well. Service was wonderful. We had a great time and enjoyed the excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Group of 4 had an excellent meal. Great service an nice atmosphere.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, People Watching, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very good food! And the service was outstanding! Wife and I will come back again!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

If this is not my favorite restaurant in the world, I can't recall any that I like better. The Parrot sits at the apical intersection of the gastronomical, ambiential, and value axes. That is to say, you can't find better cooking and better wines in such comfortable surroundings at a lower price anywhere in the Western world. Note that there are four separate restaurants under one roof here, with others specializing in imaginative mixed drinks, craft beers, comfort food, etc. This review is for Purple Parrot only. The others are all worth a visit depending on the mood and occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Not worth the money at all. Go somewhere else if you're looking to spend $$$ for a nice dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 14, 2017

On Feb. 14, my husband and I celebrated our 68th Valentine anniversary (63rd wedding anniversary will be in March) and this was the perfect lunch: good Margarita, rum & coke; house salads with really good blue cheese dressing; very well-seasoned special and catch of the day; and delicious creme brulee for dessert. The waiter was quick to offer suggestions about the food and changes that could be made to better suit us. We could not have chosen a better place to celebrate - definitely worth the drive from Picayune. Thanks

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 4, 2017

All Food was well prepared. Quantities were good for the price of the plates. Service was excellent. Being able to share the king cake bread pudding, which was available at the Crescent City Grill, completed the night. The pictures by my friend Wyatt Waters added greatly to the environment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent as always. Wide selection of dishes and wines. We return every time nearby.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was very difficult to get an online reservation. We were greeted and seated right away with smiles. The music has got to go. Weird and loud. Our waiter was a very nice and respectful young man. He gets an A+ for personality although inexperienced in fine dining. I ordered a wine pairing it took about 30 min or more for the wine to come out but once he got with the manager to pair it the Tally Chardonnay half bottle was light and crisp with a zing finish. It may have cost as much as the meal but worth it in my opinion as I enjoy wine tasting and pairing. This place could be so much more with the right music and vibe. We ordered fish that was lightly fried. We will try blackened next time. We are not a fan of grease. Very good food, great service and we will be back no doubt. Thank you for the wonderful meal and service. It was a lovely course.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was our second visit to Purple Parrot. We were very pleased both times. Great food and service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Delicious cuisine, quiet and cozy atmosphere with excellent service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Crabmeat Biengnets were out of this world. Jessica was our server and did an outstanding job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was good. But, much was lost with the recent makeover. The subdued, white linen tablecloth setting with a unique selection of entrees was what made this the perfect special occasion restaurant. The old atmosphere and menu really screamed, "Special Occasion!" Now, it seems like just another boring steak and seafood place. The food was definitely great, and we will definitely be back. But, neither the menu nor the atmosphere has that unique character it had when we first visited a couple of years ago.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Smoked NY strip was excellent. Onion rings were as good as others I've had. Sweet potato hash was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Truffle fries are always a favorite. The crab boil potatoes were great as well. Purple Parrot's take on the seafood platter was a welcomed change to the usual mound of fried food that most seafood restaurants offer as a seafood platter. The white chocolate bread pudding was great, as usual. Next, I'll try the chilled seafood platter that caught my eye while browsing the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The entire menu was thrown in the trash and Robert St John started from the ground up to create simple, well-prepared, great tasting steaks , seafood and speciality dishes as well as nightly specials on a daily basis.
When I want to steak I want it hand cut and trimmed properly, perfectly seared and prepared. This is what you get at the Purple Parrot.
Thank you for listening.
Go ahead and treat yourself. The beer, wine and whiskey selections are top notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday and are so glad we choose Purple Parrot! The waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine. They even a sent complimentary appetizer and dessert to the table. We will definitely be back !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Waiter was green but tired hard. Food is good. Wine list fine. Good meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We met up with old friends and thoroughly enjoyed the new booths and the new menu. I really liked my stuffed red snapper with cream spinach . Still the best place in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 23, 2016

First time to see the new menu. We enjoyed the food, and once we were seated, the service was fine. Our only complaint was that we had to wait for several minutes before someone even asked if we had a reservation. However, I must admit that we have eaten at the Purple Parrot many times and this was the only time that we have felt let down. Maybe it was just a fluke.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 19, 2016

My wife (the date) have eaten at the Parrot on other visits, but the first since the changeover
to the new menu. It has been my favorite, for many years (probably 18-20), when we visit Hattiesburg. My wife had the filet, about which she raved! I had the Rack of Lamb, that was
great. Since I always enjoy lamb, I asked the waiter (Jonathan) for mint jelly on the side, and he said that they didn't have any. During the appetizer, this very nice gentleman came by the table
and inquired how everything was going so far. I told him how good the appetizers were, but was disappointed that there was no mint jelly for the lamb, to which he promptly said "Don't worry
I'll send someone to the store, and we'll get you some". Our visitor was, of course, was the owner, Robert St. John (my wife has been buying his cookbooks for years). All in all, it was
a great dining experience and the encounter with Robert, made it even more special.
FIVE STARS!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Everything we ordered was superb. The prices reasonable and a great atmosphere. Service was great, and they were friendly to people on diets such as Adkins. Great experience.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 8, 2016

After a chance experience at The Purple Parrot a fews months back while passing through Hattiesburg on a business trip I was determined to return-- and made a 165 mile trip specifically for cocktails and dinner. Everything was spot-on and even better the second time-- which doesn't happen often. The cocktails and food are perfectly woven together-- it's a great multi-sensory experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Very nice quiet place - waiter was excellent until he offered no adjustment to the bill when I told him that my grouper, of which I had eaten very little, was mushy.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 29, 2016

As always the food was very good. Do miss the chef's tasting menu and understand that the Parrot is going to a new menu and dining format. One of the last fine dining establishments in Hattiesburg.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 23, 2016

I can't believe this place isn't advertised!! It is a gem in the midst of average restaurants! We have been to Hattiesburg several times and just now discovered this place! Fabulous food, service and decor. Loved everything about it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Requested a quiet table in the corner that was conducive to visiting. We arrived at 11:20 AM for an 11:30 AM reservation and our table was waiting for our party of 3 upon arrival. Service was prompt and caring without being intrusive. Food was great. Our waiter let us linger for awhile once the bill was paid (there were other open tables).

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 16, 2016

If you like food and wine this is the place to dine! The meal is excellent and they can provide whatever you can think of to drink. Save room for the white chocolate bread pudding for desert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 14, 2016

The Purple Parrot always has good food and a wonderful wait staff. It's usually pretty quiet and we can hear each other and that's why we take clients there, its just this time there was a very loud baby a table away, but PP can't help that. We would have heard that baby scream from the next building over. ;)

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Every dish we ordered from the appertizers to dessert was delicious. The presentation was wonderful!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 26, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaraunts when traveling thru Hattiesburg and it did not disappoint this time! Food was delightful as always, wine well paired with the meal and great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fried green tomatoes were great! Egg Benedict terrible - other food so so. Very disappointed as I had been there 8 or 10 times and was very pleased. But, they have lost the perfection they have enjoyed over the years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food and service both exceeded expectations (and we expected it to be good). And the price paid for the quality of food served was very reasonable. We look forward to dining here again soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.