Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Purple Parrot Seafood and Steaks

Regional favorite since 1987, Purple Parrot Seafood & Steaks features contemporary seasonal cuisine. Highlights include fresh Gulf seafood including several varieties of fresh fish along with shrimp, crab and oysters, Certified Angus Beef, and locally grown artisanal foods. Wine Spectator award winning wine list features over 700 labels and 30 wines by-the-glass. Cocktail bar is a local hotspot featuring hand-crafted cocktails from fresh ingredients.

3810 Hardy Street
Hattiesburg, MS 39402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
38th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 264-0656

Website:
http://www.purpleparrotcafe.net/

Executive Chef:
Robert St. John

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Purple Parrot Seafood & Steaks hosts a yearly Wine Festival each spring.

Purple Parrot Seafood and Steaks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (11)
Romantic (10)
Special Occasion (9)
See All
Cozy (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Business Meals (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Authentic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fun (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
250 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We were told this is considered the best restaurant in Hattiesburg and we were not disappointed. The food was excellent, the staff very friendly, and we enjoyed it sufficiently that we went back for lunch the next day.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Wow, is all we can say. My wife and I wanted a special night out and after searching we found Purple Parrot and after reading the reviews, made reservations. Boy, this is by far one of the best places we've ever eaten. Upon arrival, we were immediately seated by the hostess. Our waiter, Jonathan, took our drink order. I asked if they could make a Sazerac and he said certainly. Not many bartenders know how to make this old cocktail. He returned shortly and we ordered their crabmeat beignets appetizer. Our drinks were wonderful and Jonathan returned shortly with the beignets. Oh my, what a treat - lightly breaded crab-filled puffs. These are a must. For dinner my wife ordered the catch-of-the-day - broiled grouper and I wanted to try their shrimp & grits.

We enjoyed our drinks and the beignets and soon, our entrees arrived. Goodness, what a wonderful combination of flavors. My shrimp & grits were different than any I've ever tried before - no cheese in the grits. At first I was skeptical, because I don't like plain grits. Wow, these were spectacular. The sauce from the shrimp, bacon, mushrooms, charred tomatoes, & shallots melded with the grits for an incredible flavor. My wife said her grouper was equally inspired. Both of us couldn't stop talking about how fabulous our food was, but we managed to quell our desires and at the halfway point to ask for boxes. No way were we going to leave any of this fabulous meal. And, as a surprise, Jonathan brought us a serving of their chocolate decadence cake to celebrate our anniversary. What a way to end a perfect evening. We will go out of our way in the future to schedule a return to Purple Parrot. Thanks for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed our first visit to Purple Parrot where we decided to go for the brunch menu. The meal was via a gift certificate we received in celebration of our marriage on June 5, 2017. The atmosphere, service, and meal all added to the festive feel of the occasion. Our waiter was attentive without being a stalker, our food was incredible - from the crab beignets to the creme brulee and coffee - and the entire experience felt like a celebration of "us."

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Good service, had a few issues with the food orders, but they took care of it right away. Great wine selection.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Do not eat lobster Mac and cheese

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 6, 2017

My friend suggested we try this restaurant as it was one of the best in town. Evening reservations were not available so we tried lunch. We thoroughly enjoyed our salads, entrees and homemade biscuits. I would recommend this restaurant again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Reserved for a special occasion and it was perfect! Great food selection, service and atmosphere that provides for an elegant occasion at a casual and affordable level.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I had scallops and risotto which tasted wonderful, though the risotto wasn't really a risotto. It was a wonderfully flavored rice dish with butter, a few peas and mushrooms and well seasoned. This restaurant knows how to season with pepper!

My wife's grouper was a very small portion I thought. Her greens were so salty she couldn't eat them. They were happily replaced with a different vegetable.

The staff was friendly, even though the service was a little slow. We would definitely return if in the area again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Good food...at a fair price.. good portions..a locally owned restaurant.. expensive but worth paying for every once
in a while.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Delicious food and wonderful service. Really enjoyed the Shrimp and Grits.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The service and atmosphere was great. Just when we thought it could not get any better, our food arrived. We had ribeye and stuffed grouper. It was really amazing and then we finished a great night with some wonderful creme brûlée. It was our first time at the Purple Parrot but will definitely not be our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 8, 2017

It's has low lighting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Food and service was wonderful. I had the broiled stuffed fish.I could choose between 3 fish and chose trout. My husband had fried jumbo shrimp. He loved this. Extra large shrimp,lightly breaded..wonderful. Homemade hot rolls were to die for. We topped the meal off splitting a piece of key lime. Wonderful meal all the way around from service to food. Will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Randy and I were delighted to discover the Purple Parrot on our recent trip to New Orleans via Hattiesburg. Our meal was perfectly prepared and beautifully presented, and the handcrafted cocktails were unique and fancifully garnished. I especially enjoyed the Televangelist....a surprisingly light and refreshing drink made with rum, lemon, pineapple, and toasted chestnut liqueur. For dinner, the two of us shared a scrumptious Fried Green Tomato appetizer topped with a ragout of heirloom tomatoes, shiitake mushrooms, and fresh crab meat. Randy ordered the catch of the day for his main course... perfectly pan seared triple tail served over a savory sweet potato hash. I chose to have a dozen briney fresh oysters with the best mignonette sauce I have ever tasted. Our server regularly replenished our basket of hot, homemade yeast rolls. We highly recommend the Purple Parrot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were seated immediately upon arrival and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. This was was our second time to try this restaurant and both times we have left promising to return again soon. Hattiesburg is about 5 hours from SHREVEPORT and halfway to the beaches we visit in Alabama and Florida, so this is a good place to break up the drive and enjoy a great meal and cocktails! The charbroiled oysters, sensation salad, speckled trout and crabmeat along with the scallops were a big hit. We enjoyed a wonderful Chablis and then we're able to share a white chocolate bread pudding along with a blueberry cheesecake that were sinfully delicious. Our waitress was very attentive and pleasant. We can't wait for our next trip to the beach and reason to stop by again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Have planned to eat there each time I have been in H'burg but things never worked out. Last weekend for my anniversary, decided it was time and all the hype I have heard for years was found to be true. Great food. Great service. Very helpful and friendly staff. We will be back....soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I don't expect to ever have a better omelet than this one! My husband's fish was superb! We drove in from Jackson, MS to Hattiesburg - a 1.5 hour drive. It was sooo worth the effort!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our meal was very good with attentive but not rushed service .
Steaks were cooked as ordered , sides were very good as well .
Crabmeat beignets were a hit with our whole table .

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was one of the few nicer dining options a that shows up for Hattiesburg. The ambiance and roomwas great, but the room design does not afford much privacy or buffer from the loud taking foursome sitting a few tables over. Food was fine, but server (while nice) did not have much to offer by way of recommendations other than reading options off the menu. Would definitely give them another chance.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Had the Filet and shrimp. Fantastic. The duck spring rolls as an appetizer were excellent as well. Service was wonderful. We had a great time and enjoyed the excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Group of 4 had an excellent meal. Great service an nice atmosphere.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, People Watching, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Very good food! And the service was outstanding! Wife and I will come back again!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

If this is not my favorite restaurant in the world, I can't recall any that I like better. The Parrot sits at the apical intersection of the gastronomical, ambiential, and value axes. That is to say, you can't find better cooking and better wines in such comfortable surroundings at a lower price anywhere in the Western world. Note that there are four separate restaurants under one roof here, with others specializing in imaginative mixed drinks, craft beers, comfort food, etc. This review is for Purple Parrot only. The others are all worth a visit depending on the mood and occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Not worth the money at all. Go somewhere else if you're looking to spend $$$ for a nice dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 14, 2017

On Feb. 14, my husband and I celebrated our 68th Valentine anniversary (63rd wedding anniversary will be in March) and this was the perfect lunch: good Margarita, rum & coke; house salads with really good blue cheese dressing; very well-seasoned special and catch of the day; and delicious creme brulee for dessert. The waiter was quick to offer suggestions about the food and changes that could be made to better suit us. We could not have chosen a better place to celebrate - definitely worth the drive from Picayune. Thanks

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 3, 2017

All Food was well prepared. Quantities were good for the price of the plates. Service was excellent. Being able to share the king cake bread pudding, which was available at the Crescent City Grill, completed the night. The pictures by my friend Wyatt Waters added greatly to the environment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent as always. Wide selection of dishes and wines. We return every time nearby.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was very difficult to get an online reservation. We were greeted and seated right away with smiles. The music has got to go. Weird and loud. Our waiter was a very nice and respectful young man. He gets an A+ for personality although inexperienced in fine dining. I ordered a wine pairing it took about 30 min or more for the wine to come out but once he got with the manager to pair it the Tally Chardonnay half bottle was light and crisp with a zing finish. It may have cost as much as the meal but worth it in my opinion as I enjoy wine tasting and pairing. This place could be so much more with the right music and vibe. We ordered fish that was lightly fried. We will try blackened next time. We are not a fan of grease. Very good food, great service and we will be back no doubt. Thank you for the wonderful meal and service. It was a lovely course.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This was our second visit to Purple Parrot. We were very pleased both times. Great food and service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Delicious cuisine, quiet and cozy atmosphere with excellent service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Crabmeat Biengnets were out of this world. Jessica was our server and did an outstanding job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was good. But, much was lost with the recent makeover. The subdued, white linen tablecloth setting with a unique selection of entrees was what made this the perfect special occasion restaurant. The old atmosphere and menu really screamed, "Special Occasion!" Now, it seems like just another boring steak and seafood place. The food was definitely great, and we will definitely be back. But, neither the menu nor the atmosphere has that unique character it had when we first visited a couple of years ago.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Smoked NY strip was excellent. Onion rings were as good as others I've had. Sweet potato hash was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Truffle fries are always a favorite. The crab boil potatoes were great as well. Purple Parrot's take on the seafood platter was a welcomed change to the usual mound of fried food that most seafood restaurants offer as a seafood platter. The white chocolate bread pudding was great, as usual. Next, I'll try the chilled seafood platter that caught my eye while browsing the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The entire menu was thrown in the trash and Robert St John started from the ground up to create simple, well-prepared, great tasting steaks , seafood and speciality dishes as well as nightly specials on a daily basis.
When I want to steak I want it hand cut and trimmed properly, perfectly seared and prepared. This is what you get at the Purple Parrot.
Thank you for listening.
Go ahead and treat yourself. The beer, wine and whiskey selections are top notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday and are so glad we choose Purple Parrot! The waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine. They even a sent complimentary appetizer and dessert to the table. We will definitely be back !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Waiter was green but tired hard. Food is good. Wine list fine. Good meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We met up with old friends and thoroughly enjoyed the new booths and the new menu. I really liked my stuffed red snapper with cream spinach . Still the best place in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 23, 2016

First time to see the new menu. We enjoyed the food, and once we were seated, the service was fine. Our only complaint was that we had to wait for several minutes before someone even asked if we had a reservation. However, I must admit that we have eaten at the Purple Parrot many times and this was the only time that we have felt let down. Maybe it was just a fluke.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.