About Purple Parrot Seafood and Steaks

3810 Hardy Street
Hattiesburg, MS 39402
View Larger Map

Regional favorite since 1987, Purple Parrot Seafood & Steaks features contemporary seasonal cuisine. Highlights include fresh Gulf seafood including several varieties of fresh fish along with shrimp, crab and oysters, Certified Angus Beef, and locally grown artisanal foods. Wine Spectator award winning wine list features over 700 labels and 30 wines by-the-glass. Cocktail bar is a local hotspot featuring hand-crafted cocktails from fresh ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
38th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 264-0656

Website:
http://www.purpleparrotcafe.net/

Executive Chef:
Robert St. John

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Purple Parrot Seafood & Steaks hosts a yearly Wine Festival each spring.

Purple Parrot Seafood and Steaks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
See All
Business Meals (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Romantic (4)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Cozy (1)
Casual (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Private Room (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
226 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Not worth the money at all. Go somewhere ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined 4 days ago

Not worth the money at all. Go somewhere else if you're looking to spend $$$ for a nice dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

On Feb. 14, my husband and I celebrated ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 6 days ago

On Feb. 14, my husband and I celebrated our 68th Valentine anniversary (63rd wedding anniversary will be in March) and this was the perfect lunch: good Margarita, rum & coke; house salads with really good blue cheese dressing; very well-seasoned special and catch of the day; and delicious creme brulee for dessert. The waiter was quick to offer suggestions about the food and changes that could be made to better suit us. We could not have chosen a better place to celebrate - definitely worth the drive from Picayune. Thanks

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All Food was well prepared. Quantities ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 4, 2017

All Food was well prepared. Quantities were good for the price of the plates. Service was excellent. Being able to share the king cake bread pudding, which was available at the Crescent City Grill, completed the night. The pictures by my friend Wyatt Waters added greatly to the environment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always. Wide selection of d ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent as always. Wide selection of dishes and wines. We return every time nearby.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was very difficult to get an online r ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was very difficult to get an online reservation. We were greeted and seated right away with smiles. The music has got to go. Weird and loud. Our waiter was a very nice and respectful young man. He gets an A+ for personality although inexperienced in fine dining. I ordered a wine pairing it took about 30 min or more for the wine to come out but once he got with the manager to pair it the Tally Chardonnay half bottle was light and crisp with a zing finish. It may have cost as much as the meal but worth it in my opinion as I enjoy wine tasting and pairing. This place could be so much more with the right music and vibe. We ordered fish that was lightly fried. We will try blackened next time. We are not a fan of grease. Very good food, great service and we will be back no doubt. Thank you for the wonderful meal and service. It was a lovely course.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was our second visit to Purple Parr ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was our second visit to Purple Parrot. We were very pleased both times. Great food and service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious cuisine, quiet and cozy atmosp ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Delicious cuisine, quiet and cozy atmosphere with excellent service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crabmeat Biengnets were out of this worl ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Crabmeat Biengnets were out of this world. Jessica was our server and did an outstanding job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good. But, much was lost ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was good. But, much was lost with the recent makeover. The subdued, white linen tablecloth setting with a unique selection of entrees was what made this the perfect special occasion restaurant. The old atmosphere and menu really screamed, "Special Occasion!" Now, it seems like just another boring steak and seafood place. The food was definitely great, and we will definitely be back. But, neither the menu nor the atmosphere has that unique character it had when we first visited a couple of years ago.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Smoked NY strip was excellent. Onion rin ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Smoked NY strip was excellent. Onion rings were as good as others I've had. Sweet potato hash was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Truffle fries are always a favorite. Th ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Truffle fries are always a favorite. The crab boil potatoes were great as well. Purple Parrot's take on the seafood platter was a welcomed change to the usual mound of fried food that most seafood restaurants offer as a seafood platter. The white chocolate bread pudding was great, as usual. Next, I'll try the chilled seafood platter that caught my eye while browsing the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire menu has been reworked and th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The entire menu has been reworked and the selections have been simplified

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were celebrating a birthday and are s ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday and are so glad we choose Purple Parrot! The waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine. They even a sent complimentary appetizer and dessert to the table. We will definitely be back !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was green but tired hard. Food i ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Waiter was green but tired hard. Food is good. Wine list fine. Good meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We met up with old friends and thoroughl ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We met up with old friends and thoroughly enjoyed the new booths and the new menu. I really liked my stuffed red snapper with cream spinach . Still the best place in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to see the new menu. We enjo ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 23, 2016

First time to see the new menu. We enjoyed the food, and once we were seated, the service was fine. Our only complaint was that we had to wait for several minutes before someone even asked if we had a reservation. However, I must admit that we have eaten at the Purple Parrot many times and this was the only time that we have felt let down. Maybe it was just a fluke.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My wife (the date) have eaten at the Par ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 19, 2016

My wife (the date) have eaten at the Parrot on other visits, but the first since the changeover

to the new menu. It has been my favorite, for many years (probably 18-20), when we visit Hattiesburg. My wife had the filet, about which she raved! I had the Rack of Lamb, that was

great. Since I always enjoy lamb, I asked the waiter (Jonathan) for mint jelly on the side, and he said that they didn't have any. During the appetizer, this very nice gentleman came by the table

and inquired how everything was going so far. I told him how good the appetizers were, but was disappointed that there was no mint jelly for the lamb, to which he promptly said "Don't worry

I'll send someone to the store, and we'll get you some". Our visitor was, of course, was the owner, Robert St. John (my wife has been buying his cookbooks for years). All in all, it was

a great dining experience and the encounter with Robert, made it even more special.

FIVE STARS!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we ordered was superb. The p ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Everything we ordered was superb. The prices reasonable and a great atmosphere. Service was great, and they were friendly to people on diets such as Adkins. Great experience.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After a chance experience at The Purple ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 8, 2016

After a chance experience at The Purple Parrot a fews months back while passing through Hattiesburg on a business trip I was determined to return-- and made a 165 mile trip specifically for cocktails and dinner. Everything was spot-on and even better the second time-- which doesn't happen often. The cocktails and food are perfectly woven together-- it's a great multi-sensory experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice quiet place - waiter was excel ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Very nice quiet place - waiter was excellent until he offered no adjustment to the bill when I told him that my grouper, of which I had eaten very little, was mushy.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

As always the food was very good. Do mi ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 29, 2016

As always the food was very good. Do miss the chef's tasting menu and understand that the Parrot is going to a new menu and dining format. One of the last fine dining establishments in Hattiesburg.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I can't believe this place isn't adverti ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 23, 2016

I can't believe this place isn't advertised!! It is a gem in the midst of average restaurants! We have been to Hattiesburg several times and just now discovered this place! Fabulous food, service and decor. Loved everything about it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Requested a quiet table in the corner th ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Requested a quiet table in the corner that was conducive to visiting. We arrived at 11:20 AM for an 11:30 AM reservation and our table was waiting for our party of 3 upon arrival. Service was prompt and caring without being intrusive. Food was great. Our waiter let us linger for awhile once the bill was paid (there were other open tables).

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you like food and wine this is the pl ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 16, 2016

If you like food and wine this is the place to dine! The meal is excellent and they can provide whatever you can think of to drink. Save room for the white chocolate bread pudding for desert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The Purple Parrot always has good food a ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 14, 2016

The Purple Parrot always has good food and a wonderful wait staff. It's usually pretty quiet and we can hear each other and that's why we take clients there, its just this time there was a very loud baby a table away, but PP can't help that. We would have heard that baby scream from the next building over. ;)

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Every dish we ordered from the appertize ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Every dish we ordered from the appertizers to dessert was delicious. The presentation was wonderful!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite restaraunts ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 26, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaraunts when traveling thru Hattiesburg and it did not disappoint this time! Food was delightful as always, wine well paired with the meal and great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Fried green tomatoes were great! Egg Be ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fried green tomatoes were great! Egg Benedict terrible - other food so so. Very disappointed as I had been there 8 or 10 times and was very pleased. But, they have lost the perfection they have enjoyed over the years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and service both exceeded expectati ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food and service both exceeded expectations (and we expected it to be good). And the price paid for the quality of food served was very reasonable. We look forward to dining here again soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, quiet atmosph ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food, great service, quiet atmosphere. Always enjoy celebrating special days at Purple Parrot.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service excellent. Constant pro ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Food and service excellent. Constant problem with flies embarrassing and annoying...lunch and dinner. I don't experience this in any other restaurant, and certainly no fine dining restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Service was attentive without hovering. ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 13, 2016

Service was attentive without hovering. The menu has enough variety to make choosing a first and second course difficult. Both the meat and fish items were very well prepared. The wine list could use a bit more variety.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A Robert St. John restaurant, enough said.

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Great food prepared the RIGHT way. The sauces were excellent...from scratch of course.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Purple Parrot Birthday

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 21, 2016

The Purple Parrot is one of a very few restaurants in Hattiesburg with a menu that changes (somewhat) seasonally. As such, it can become the default choice for special occasions in the area. Thankfully, about a year ago (probably longer) they streamlined and revamped the menu as well as performed some much-needed interior updating.

To start, we had a tomato gazpacho, which was very good, along with the lobster gnocchi with a brown butter sauce. This pasta was delicious, though the sauce could have used some acid, perhaps lemon or white wine.

Next, we had scallops with ravioli in a cream sauce and a tenderloin with a mushroom bordelaise. These were both very good, but again, the seafood sauce needed some acid for balance.

To finish, we had the "Chocolate Decadence," described as a mousse. It was actually a dense, fudgy piece of almost flourless cake. It was very good, but much richer than expected. It would be nice if there were lighter dessert options.

All in all, this restaurant is worth a look, but I'd encourage folks to think about pairing their courses in terms of heavy/richness. Like most of the owner's restaurants, the dishes here tend to be heavy.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Incomparably wonderful

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2016

No need to dwell on the details. You will find no more compelling synthesis of foodstuffs, conception, execution, service, wine, ambiance and value anywhere in the United States of America than here. From this it necessarily follows that the Parrot must be #1, n'est-ce pas?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pompano

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 16, 2015

The blackened pompano was overcooked to the point the the edges and bottom were hard/burned. Had to use a knife to cut. Also had little taste. Perhaps you shouldn't offer it blackened.

We were very disappointed, as we have eaten at Purple Parrot before and loved it.

Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Never Again!!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 4, 2015

The Steaks were Ridiculously Expensive!!! The waiter Dumped water in my Lap the minute we sat down!! Definitely Not Worth The Money!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Unexpected brunch pleasure

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 29, 2015

We stopped here on a road trip and waited until the restaurant opened for Sunday Brunch. (They let us in a few minutes early.) On viewing the menu, the four of us agreed that absolutely everything looked wonderful, but we just weren't hungry enough to order it all! Starting with the char-grilled oysters was a must--YUM! The seafood gumbo did not disappoint! We always lean towards "specials" and the eggs benedict d'jour (no English muffin, but potato hash; no Canadian bacon, instead there were 2 petite filet mignon), the soft-shell crab, the crustless quiche, the Greek chicken, oh! and the warm ciabatta bread! And dessert! The service was top notch, friendly, timing perfect, water glasses were kept full. I would definitely recommend and wish it were closer to home. We have lots of great restaurants in Nashville, but this one would be an appreciated addition. Loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

jrs

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2015

Good food, probably the best in the area. Outstanding wine list of wines one would not expect to see like Penfold's Grange. Server Jessica is highly knowledgeable on the prep of each dish.

Maybe could use a little more variety on entree's but no real criticism. Good place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 15, 2015

Food and service were great. Always an exciting menu. Best restaurant in Hattiesburg!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.