Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.99mi
  3. Distance: 2.56mi
  4. Distance: 2.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.99mi
  3. Distance: 2.56mi
  4. Distance: 2.63mi

About Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville

Purple Café and Wine Bar pairs a global wine selection with a menu that combines classic American styles with seasonal Northwest ingredients.

We feature an expansive menu ranging from artisan cheeses, starters, soups, salads, sandwiches and pizzas to pasta and seafood. We take a great deal of pride in utilizing the freshest, local ingredients that change with the seasons.

On the wine side of things our wine list features over 80 glass and 600 bottle selections. Over the years our wine program has been recognized with various accolades that include an "Award of Ultimate Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast Magazine and being named "Best Wine Bar" by Evening Magazine's Best of Western Washington Viewers Poll.

14459 Woodinville Redmond Road NE
Woodinville, WA 98072
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday, 11am to 9pm
Friday and Saturday, 11am to 10pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3pm to 6pm

Weekend Brunch: Saturday & Sunday, 11am to 2pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 483-7129

Website:
http://www.purplecafe.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of box lunches and a la carte platters; great for corporate events, parties, picnics and other get-togethers! Orders are available for pick up and we ask for 48 hours’ notice on all pick-up orders to ensure availability. Large orders may require additional lead time. We are available to place phone orders or answer any questions Monday-Friday 9am to 5pm. Please call 206.855.6118.

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in front of the restaurant in the Hollywood Vineyards shopping plaza lot.

Additional parking is available one block south, and turn west at the roundabout.

Executive Chef:
Andy Wagenbrenner

Private Party Contact:
Private Events Team: (206) 838-3853

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (45)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Special Occasion (29)
See All
Great for Lunch (27)
Good for a Date (27)
Casual (26)
Fun (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Romantic (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
People Watching (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Business Meals (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Healthy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Seasonal (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Cozy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Tapas (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Authentic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1109 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We have been to your restaurant twice before this visit for special occasions which were fabulous. This visit however did not begin well. I made reservations for a party of 6 at 9pm. My friend had also made reservations which I was not aware. Two in our group did not want to wait that long so I contacted your restaurant and said it would be a party of 4 instead. In learning that we had another reservation, I cancelled it and confirmed just my reservation. When we arrived, there was no reservation. I spoke with the hostess and she said she spoke with me and I cancelled both. She was not in the least friendly. She was very arrogant . Half the restaurant was empty at 8:40 and she looked around and acted as if it would be an inconvenience to seat us in one of the many empty tables downstairs . She was literally rolling her eyes and sent us upstairs to a near empty seating area. We were close to walking out. Our two guests, who are with the Tom Douglas group, informed us that in their restaurants, guests would have never been treated that way. This was embarrassing.

The risotto was excellent, the other dishes were good but not great. The meatloaf was very dry, burnt on the outer edges. The server was wonderful.

I can't say if we would return. My wife and guests were unhappy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

My husband and friend had the spaghetti which they said was very good. Purple has there own concoction with pesto and sun dried tomatoes. I had the cranberry apple salad which was also excellent.

This is a wine bar so there is a wine suggestion for every meal, appetizer, and dessert. The one wine I had after giving the server my preferences was excellent.

I had the cream Brûlée which was again very well prepared and delicious.

Everything was very pricey, though. I was the only one who had a glass of wine. The others had water. The bill for three of us was $108. We all three had desserts.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great time and location for an afternoon with out of town guests.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Made reservations for 1:15 for a grp of five. We were sat at 1:15, however, waited an hour to receive our order, which wasnt terribly difficult as no special orders or requests. Server took three tries at getting our bill correct. We had to quite awhile for our bill as well. Not happy at all with experience in an upscale area, with upscale prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The veggie and ancient grain bowl makes a fabulous lunch!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 5, 2017

We had a lovely dinner at Purple. I had left a note on my Open Table reservation that it was for our anniversary and when we showed up our server immediately came out with 2 complimentary glasses of champagne and said happy anniversary! I was really impressed!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Great....as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Always enjoy our dining experiences at Purple...and especially the one in Woodinville, the original! Love the food options and wine list choices, but they're becoming very expensive - especially knowing what retail prices run for WA wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great lunch spot when wine tasting in Woodinville! Great menu with a lot of options.

Tags: Organic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Waitress was nice but seemed busy. Didn't refill beverage until near end of lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Were there for lunch and it was very loud and service was slow. The food was good it just took long for the food to come out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Salmon appetizer was amazing!!! I also had the 1/2 BLTA and cup of mushroom soup, great flavor and perfect amount! Cheatue St Michele recommended this place, I'd suggest working with them and orginizing a picnic basket style lunch that you would take to the Cheatue. This would be perfect pairing !!!! Enjoy ;) the staff was knowledgeable there was a no rush take your time environment.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Good experience. Server was excellent. All in all - happy customer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 25, 2017

We usually love going to Purple but this time the service was lacking and it took 3 times to get my order right. They were accommodating and did write off the meal. Was so looking forward to going out for a nice evening. This was not one of them. I will go back, was just an off night this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great place! Perfect after wine tasting a few places. Great location and awesome good!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2017

As always, a great experience in a wonderful ambiance. Our server, Reilly, was excellent. Friendly and attentive at just the right time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Love the restaurant but parking is a challenge and it was very noisy on Sat evening. Our waiter was superb. Due to the noise level, not necessarily a great place for a date---

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2017

As usual it was a great time! The food was very good and the wine was fantastic. We loved our waitress. The place is loud but that added to the energy of the night!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 23, 2017

It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

We loved our server! Great sense of humor! Liked variety of food

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Always a treat to dine at Purple...food, menu, service and wine selection very enjoyable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2017

There's always something lovely to have here. They were great in getting us in and having a great dinner

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We were seated immediately, but had to wait at least 10-15 minutes before our server greeted us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We were seated right on time. Very nice waitperson who provided us outstanding service.

Tags: Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Pasta was a bit undercooked, but the food was otherwise good. A great location in Woodinville's wine district, but on the loud side.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Loved the fried chicken they serve on Wednesdays. Wish they would serve it on other days, but it's worth planning during the week.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We sat outside at the curbside tables. People around us had their dogs with us which was very nice. We chatted with other diners and got to pet their dogs as we waited for our food. Our service was only a bit above average as the restaurant was "slammed". Everyone was pleased with their entree. Great place for an every day, comfort food type of dinner. Good wine selection too.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 12, 2017

we had bought gift cards at an auction to the Purple and needed to use them. we are glad we did as the experience was great. the service and food were fantastic!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 11, 2017

My favorite resturant and the service at our visit this time was over the top. The food was amazing and the wine spectacular. Thank you for making our birthday celebration wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great service, good food reasonable but crazily noisy!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great service but the Kobe beef dip I ordered was not very good. The beef was not tasty. It tasted like it was cooked yesterday. The au jus did not taste like it had any meat juices in it at all. It was more of a BBQ worchestershire sauce combo. The calamari was delicious and the mushroom sherry soup was great. Was a little too noisy for me. Cement floors and metal chairs will do that to a restaurant I guess.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Delicious food and fun atmosphere. Casual Friday was in full swing

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Food and service horrible! I have eaten here before but for some reason everything was the worst. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Cranberry chicken salad one of the best I've ever had, even the half salad portion (nice option to have) was very filling. Greek and grains half salad portion also plenty filling for lunch. Flank steak nice addition. Very relaxing and enjoyable time.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Wait staff messed up our order but otherwise great!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Enjoyed the Ambiance. Recommended by the the local Hampton Inn.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Took way to long to get water and to be greeted by a server. Had to go to the hostess and ask.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We started with the fig flat bread and I just have to say it was just ok. Had we not added bacon per our servers recommendations, it would have been pretty bland. The wine is over the top expensive. A glass of CAVA for $12? I think that is too much. Our entrees were fine, but nothing special. I had the Basil Pesto pasta and it just did not taste fresh. Next time we will try some cheese and meats like we have before! Really fun place to go!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Wonderful service and the food was great. There was no corkage fee, which was a bonus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.