Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.99mi
  3. Distance: 2.56mi
  4. Distance: 2.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.99mi
  3. Distance: 2.56mi
  4. Distance: 2.63mi

About Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville

Purple Café and Wine Bar pairs a global wine selection with a menu that combines classic American styles with seasonal Northwest ingredients.

We feature an expansive menu ranging from artisan cheeses, starters, soups, salads, sandwiches and pizzas to pasta and seafood. We take a great deal of pride in utilizing the freshest, local ingredients that change with the seasons.

On the wine side of things our wine list features over 80 glass and 600 bottle selections. Over the years our wine program has been recognized with various accolades that include an "Award of Ultimate Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast Magazine and being named "Best Wine Bar" by Evening Magazine's Best of Western Washington Viewers Poll.

14459 Woodinville Redmond Road NE
Woodinville, WA 98072
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday, 11am to 9pm
Friday and Saturday, 11am to 10pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3pm to 6pm

Weekend Brunch: Saturday & Sunday, 11am to 2pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 483-7129

Website:
http://www.purplecafe.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of box lunches and a la carte platters; great for corporate events, parties, picnics and other get-togethers! Orders are available for pick up and we ask for 48 hours’ notice on all pick-up orders to ensure availability. Large orders may require additional lead time. We are available to place phone orders or answer any questions Monday-Friday 9am to 5pm. Please call 206.855.6118.

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in front of the restaurant in the Hollywood Vineyards shopping plaza lot.

Additional parking is available one block south, and turn west at the roundabout.

Executive Chef:
Brett Teegardin

Private Party Contact:
Private Events Team: (206) 838-3853

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (57)
Good for a Date (33)
Casual (32)
See All
Special Occasion (31)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Great for Lunch (27)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Romantic (22)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Great for Brunch (19)
Fun (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Tasting Menu (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Cozy (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Business Meals (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Fireplace (9)
Healthy (9)
People Watching (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Seasonal (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Tapas (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Private Room (3)
Authentic (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Family Style (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1013 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

The servers did a great job handling our large party. We had a couple special requests, and they adjusted quickly with no problem. Purple always does a nice job on the execution, and the atmosphere is always fun. We had a great time celebrating!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Wonderful food! We loved the Mothers Day specials

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We love Purple. It is a great spot for date night without the kids or on this occasion Mother's Day with the kids. Lovely beverages and brunch. Highly recommend the lobster mac-n-cheese!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service and food was great, we had a reservation and arrived early. They seated us before our reservation, although it was on a corner of a main walk way area which made for a lot of traffic that can be a bit distracting. While I love Purple I will never return to the Woodinville one for dinner, the noise/conversation say no where to travel which makes for an extremely loud atmosphere. My boyfriend barely made it through dinner, our conversation was limited as he didn't want to yell conversations between each other.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Larry & Tabatha's place has always been one of our favorite places going waaaay back to when they first opened. The wait staff is awesome

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Casual, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Everything was great, as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I took my elderly mom and my sister out for a birthday lunch! They loved it! My mom recently got terminal news from her doctor, but she asked me to take her to Purple Cafe again! She thought it was really special! We had a great lunch on your patio! Thanks for being a special kind of place!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Everything we ate was flavored to perfection! All employees were friendly, professional, relaxed and seemed to be happy working there.
The employees made you feel relaxed and important, and didn't rush us even though the place was packed. A little loud, but totally worth it. The vibes were awesome!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Dessert was cold from inside
Chicken was kind of undercooked in the sandwich

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Plain dry chicken. Service was just ok. It used to be a good place

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Got there just in time to order a bottle of wine on happy hour. Great bottle of Ste. Michelle Syrah. We had a nice table for the 4 of us - plenty of room - if the menus had been smaller, we would have had more room for our water and wine glasses. The menus are too big and heavy. We enjoyed our chopped salad with the flank steak - lots of good ingredients and the steak was cooked perfectly and very tender and tasty. My husband loved his crab salad sandwich - tasted like fresh crab he said! Our waitress was perfect - very friendly and helpful with the menu. She also checked in occasionally, but didn't bother us. We ended up staying quite a while when we realized new people weren't coming in to be seated. And she was right there for that second bottle of wine. We like the ambiance and can't wait to go back and sit outside on the patio. It's perfect with heaters and covered area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had a lovely dinner. Busy when we got there, but seated and served quickly. Food was great. We had baked Brie and cashew hummus for apps, split kale salad and meatloaf, then shared desserts at the table. Everyone enjoyed their food. Wine was good. Nice selection. Fancy, but reasonable and we felt relaxed and comfortable. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always a good time at Purple. Ended up sitting outside on a partially rainy evening, but not a problem with the outdoor heaters. A "go to " spot while in Woodinville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Service here lags their downtown location. Food was seasonal and well prepared. Server was almost non-existent and forgetful.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I was entertaining an out of town guest and was really looking forward to taking her to Purple in Woodinville for a nice lunch. We rented bikes and rode in from Seattle. After a long bike ride we were really looking forward to lunch before our meeting. We had a reservation but when we arrived it was very crowded & were asked to wait a bit. We decided to sit outside because it was so loud inside that we had to almost yell to hear eachother. We were seated and placed our order but after waiting over almost an hour we had not received our meal. We expressed concern that we had waited so long & we were told that our food was still not ready. They paid for our beverages but we had to leave for our meeting without our lunch. Very dissatisfied, please stop overbooking if you can not accommodate your guests! Thanks to Barking Frog near by we had a wonderful late lunch at a place that recognized quality over quantity!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We have frequented The Purple Café for many years, never have we been disappointed. The Purple has warm atmosphere,  flavorful menu,  and wonderful service.  Emily, the manager is an added bonus, she always greets us at our table and later checks on our dining experience in a congenial manner. 

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Just love this place for whatever reason. Actually -- the lobster mac & cheese is excellent. The Mrs. had the scallops which were also great. We had a couple orders of their "to die for" calamari to start, two tasty salads also before the main dishes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great starters and small plates. If you can't find a wine you like there... it doesn't exist! Reasonable prices. Salads offer local ingredients. Great happy hours!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 19, 2017

After waiting 20 mins, I had to ask for water. I was very disappointed in the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Enjoyed the food and casual, comfortable atmosphere. Our server was excellent and his recomendations were spot on. Thanks.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Purple is located in the growing Wine country of Woodinville. A lovely drive through burgeoning wineries for a weekend with family and friends. Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Purple in Woodinville has great ambiance and a very friendly and professional staff. Food is excellent with some unique items on the menu. Our first time visit was for brunch but we will definitely be back for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is one of my all time favorite places to go. Always great food and service.

Tags: Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a fantastic waitress on Easter Sunday and the food was great.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a great meal. Excellent service would recommend Purple to anyone

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great! Good service, food, and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I am a repeat customer and have been coming here for years. Food and service are great. Noise level is the only issue. It can be hard to hear conversations at times. Although it does not stop me from coming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Had client dinner and my boss in town from Texas and colleague from Utah- everyone enjoyed their meals 3 steaks- and assorted appies - only negative and its understandable was the noise level due to Open Table week...it was packed.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We visited for restaruant week lunch special on Monday when it was more quiet than usual. Things were good but not special. Porchetta sandwhich was quite good. The curry chicken bowl could have used a little more flavor and maybe less salt(?). Have had the fried brussels sprouts with bacon etc also on the regular menu. Knockout! Shrubs are good. Sea salt caramels were yummy. So I'd go back.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Came back for a second time because the food was delicious. Again not disappointed.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Always great service! Recommend sitting down stairs for a more vibrant experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was excellent. We had lunch at an intimate table against the brick wall. The wine wall is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had a great time at lunch. We've eaten dinner quite a few times but never lunch. Grilled cheese was fantastic. Service was very very slow. We will be back though.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fun, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 7, 2017

A wonderful meal and wine. Great way to celebrate a friends birthday.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 7, 2017

This visit was a lunch date with a friend. The downstairs room by the fireplace had a private party going, so we asked to be seated as far away as possible. We had a table for two by the brick wall which was comfortable for us. The food and service was excellent and we spent a long time eating and catching up. We both had the grain salad - my friend had hers with grilled chicken and mine had flank steak. The salad was delicious and my steak was cooked perfectly. I would have appreciated a sprinkle of salt, but there were no shakers in site. The server did grind some fresh pepper on it, though. I had a glass of old vine Zinfandel with was outstanding. We had the chocolate peanut butter truffles for dessert, which could be dangerous if eaten too often, they were yummy! Our server never rushed us as we chatted through our lunch, desert and for awhile after we were finished and the crowd had thinned. My only complaint was the noise level - the group in the left room was so loud that my ears were buzzing. We had to talk very loud to converse. Perhaps some acoustic changes would help. Overall I love this restaurant and will be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Yummy food but small portions during Seattle restaurant week. Service was good but my friend asked if she could get some salt and pepper and the waitress was hesitant as though this was the strangest request in the world! Did she have to sneak it out of the kitchen so your chef wouldn't be insulted that we thought our dishes needed a little more seasoning? The ambience could be just a bit brighter on the lighting - we've had such a long gloomy pacific northwest winter - we need more light in our lives, right?

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Great food.

Too loud- people at large tables can't hear each other when at opposite ends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Best corned beef hash we have ever had. And the service was awesome. It was our first time to woodinville and our server spent the time to help us determine where to go wine tasting. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Slow, slow, slow.......sat for a very long time before anyone came by to take our order. Then our appetizers arrived before our wine. Server was not friendly at all. Zero personality and inattentive. Appetizers were god but entrees were underwhelming.
No music? Very dull atmosphere.
Server offered to buy us a dessert because it was our anniversary......bill came out with the dessert on it. The entire level of service was amateur....I expected better.
Overall an expensive ticket for an average to poor experience.......would expect better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 1, 2017

A lovely night out as a couple. Lively atmosphere and good vibe. One of our faves!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.