About Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville

14459 Woodinville Redmond Road NE
Woodinville, WA 98072
View Larger Map

Purple Café and Wine Bar pairs a global wine selection with a menu that combines classic American styles with seasonal Northwest ingredients.

We feature an expansive menu ranging from artisan cheeses, starters, soups, salads, sandwiches and pizzas to pasta and seafood. We take a great deal of pride in utilizing the freshest, local ingredients that change with the seasons.

On the wine side of things our wine list features over 80 glass and 600 bottle selections. Over the years our wine program has been recognized with various accolades that include an "Award of Ultimate Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast Magazine and being named "Best Wine Bar" by Evening Magazine's Best of Western Washington Viewers Poll.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday, 11am to 9pm
Friday and Saturday, 11am to 10pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3pm to 6pm

Weekend Brunch: Saturday & Sunday, 11am to 2pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 483-7129

Website:
http://www.purplecafe.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of box lunches and a la carte platters; great for corporate events, parties, picnics and other get-togethers! Orders are available for pick up and we ask for 48 hours’ notice on all pick-up orders to ensure availability. Large orders may require additional lead time. We are available to place phone orders or answer any questions Monday-Friday 9am to 5pm. Please call 206.855.6118.

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in front of the restaurant in the Hollywood Vineyards shopping plaza lot.

Additional parking is available one block south, and turn west at the roundabout.

Executive Chef:
Brett Teegardin

Private Party Contact:
Private Events Team: (206) 838-3853

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (39)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for a Date (24)
See All
Special Occasion (23)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Cozy (17)
Casual (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Romantic (14)
Great for Brunch (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fun (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Fireplace (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Healthy (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Seasonal (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Business Meals (6)
Authentic (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vegan (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tapas (3)
Private Room (3)
People Watching (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
951 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had a couple friends come into town, b ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

I had a couple friends come into town, both wine drinkers, and a co-worker recommended Purple Cafe and Wine Bar. I had reservations for 5:30pm, but had to call, twice, and push it back to 6:30p and then 7:00p due to a delay on a ferry ride. The restaurant was so nice and accommodating. When we finally arrived, we were seated immediately, even with a few folks waiting. We were very impressed. The food, service and wine were all outstanding. I will definitely return.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was really good, and the servic ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was really good, and the service was outstanding. The only thing about our dinner date that was less than great was the noise level in the restaurant. Oh, and there is next to no room by the door if more than two people need to wait for a table. Still, my wife and I had an enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

We had wonderful food snd service! Flat ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had wonderful food snd service! Flatbread pizza was such a treat! YUM. Will have again!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Purple and this visit was outsta ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We love Purple and this visit was outstanding. The server was excellent. She made us feel excited to be there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Purple many times and have ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We've been to Purple many times and have always enjoyed the experience (overall)! Never been disappointed. This visit however was very different. The service was very slow, granted it was Valentine's Day but in general , the waitress was inattentive (I think she was the only server for the entire upstairs - 8-10 tables). The wine prices seem much higher than usual (they do not have a house white or red) and my dinner, in particular, was really disappointing. I've had their flat bread pizza before but this one seemed like the dough was previously frozen (more like a deep dish pizza than a flat bread pizza). Most disappointing was the $6 "house made sourdough bread". I figure if they are charging for bread it must be incredible! This is a new menu item since the last time we were there - when the bread was free. However, I wouldn't purchase it again, it was incredibly hard (more like french than sourdough). All in all we had 3 glasses of wine, the $6 bread, the brie appetizer, the flat bread and my husband's filet and we were out of there for a mere $150+tip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Tables are a bit high for wheelchair use ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Tables are a bit high for wheelchair users but everything else was accessible although I didn't use the restrooms so have no idea if they are ADA compliant.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Purple is perfect for any occasion - no ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Purple is perfect for any occasion - no matter how casual or special, you will leave feeling like you've really treated yourself. The food is prepared to perfection. On our most recent visit my husband and I both had the Wagyu steak and it was melt-in-your mouth good. I also highly recommend the Crème Brulee. Our server, Bryan, was the perfect mix of professional, warm and approachable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fun, , Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Healthy, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Purple is a nice place that doesn't try ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Purple is a nice place that doesn't try and over do it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

As always, Purple Woodinville never disa ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

As always, Purple Woodinville never disappoints. Great food, wonderful service. Thanks to the Purple staff for always knowing when to appear and when to let guests enjoy time time together.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, very good food and wine! It i ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

As always, very good food and wine! It is unfortunate with all the cement and glass that there isn't something to keep the noise down a little bit. It was nearly impossible to carry on a conversation. Granted, there was a big party in the back room… Maybe some doors to keep the noise in the back would be a good idea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

My husband and I went to Purple for a da ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My husband and I went to Purple for a date night. The atmosphere was romantic, with low lighting and walls of lit candles. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful, but we did have to wait a while because it was super busy. The wine selection is large, but it's not a full bar and no prosecco, only bubbly rose, so that was a little disappointing. Our appetizer was tasty, but small. The most disappointing part was the main dish that we ordered. We ordered pork belly, and it was overdone and super hard in some parts, and had way too much beans and no other ingredient to balance the dish. For $25, it definitely was not worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Food, wine, and service was amazing. Unf ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food, wine, and service was amazing. Unfortunately we happened to be seated next to a large, very loud group, made it very hard to hear each other at our table.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Purple is has consistent quality of food ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Purple is has consistent quality of food/menu. I've been to their multiple locations a number of times. This one is woodinville is particularly noisy. It was very difficult to carry on a conversation so it was a bad choice on my part to catch up with friends in from out of town. Food was good not over the top fabulous. Waitress was friendly but not very attentive. Our friend ordered a beer and it never came...when asked...she went to find out only to report they were out of that particular brew (which was a special on the menu). The restaurant should have comp'd him a beer....but they didn't.

Tags: Quick Bite, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Entrees were beautiful and delicious! Do ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Entrees were beautiful and delicious! Don't miss the flight of mimosas with your brunch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great locally sourced food. We visit Pur ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great locally sourced food. We visit Purple pretty regularly and the service can be hit or miss. Staff is always friendly but not always as attentive as we like.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Seated by door. Server was good. Table n ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Seated by door. Server was good. Table next to us was loud (screaming women).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great food and lots of wine options. Ba ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food and lots of wine options. Bacon wrapped meatloaf was awesome. Peanut butter bon bons with Port wine pairing were great.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the restaurant and be sure to ask f ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Love the restaurant and be sure to ask for Tony's table. He is over-the-top great!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Casual, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

People come here for the wine and the fo ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 16, 2017

People come here for the wine and the food. It's a moderately priced eatery with an extensive wine list.

Parking on a Sunday night was a problem. We had to park a long way from the restaurant, then walk in the dark, through some buildings to get back to the restaurant. Also, the noise level was at a pitch where the three of us had difficulties carrying on a conversation.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

First time for brunch. Exceeded expecta ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 14, 2017

First time for brunch. Exceeded expectations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent. Our Go To Lunch resta ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Always excellent.

Our Go To Lunch restaurant when in Woodinville.

Tags: Fireplace, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, , Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I really like Purple Café fo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 10, 2017

My wife and I really like Purple Café food, wine, and service. My kids like the "milk flight" and kids menu. Gluten free options available.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Love the food, wine and atmosphere. I wa ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Love the food, wine and atmosphere. I was very excited to see they have one of my favorite local wines in a flight.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here for a first date and the food ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Went here for a first date and the food was good and the decor was very pleasing. The server was helpful when it came to suggestions on food and was knowledgeable about the wine options. One downside to the restaurant was the noise level. Because of the open concept and open seating the place was rather loud and we both had to raise our voices to be heard. The only other negative was since the lights were low for ambiance...we both had a difficult time reading the menu and wine list. Overall though a nice place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Two things: order the spicy prawns (an ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Two things: order the spicy prawns (and ask for extra sauce!!) and ask to have Autumn for your server...she is a joyful presence, and really good at her job. I've been to Purple many times, and always find the menu a little challenging....everything sounds okay, nothing sounds amazing, so choosing is hard. The lobster mac and cheese is fantastic if you don't mind eating a gigantic bowl of mac and cheese for dinner....great wine list too!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

All good. One of our favorite restaura ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 7, 2017

All good. One of our favorite restaurants. Food is always excellent and we've had great waitstaff each time we've been there.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to the Purple for yea ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We have been going to the Purple for years. Always good food and good service. The menu has a good variety so I think everyone can find something to enjoy. A great spot for an afternoon snack and a glass of wine during the summer with their outdoor seating.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved Purple Cafe in Kirkland, and no ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We loved Purple Cafe in Kirkland, and now we love your Woodinville restaurant too! The food was fantastic and our waiter was handling a huge crowd, but he managed to get us our food and drinks quickly with such a friendly manner. We'll definitely be back :)

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Vegan, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful meal, great food and service.

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Wonderful meal, great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We never have a bad time here at Woodinv ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We never have a bad time here at Woodinville location. Server knew his wines and cheese, that was great. My wife and a son also enjoy dining here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time, although it is a bi ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a great time, although it is a bit loud for my taste. Food was great tho, and I appreciated the wine pairing suggestions. Made it fun! Service was good. Lots more to explore here - we'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Who doesn't love Purple?! I always get t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Who doesn't love Purple?! I always get the Mac and cheese, it's the best around you won't get better. They make recommendations of wine to pair well with your entree. Not just a place for a special occasion we frequent here at least 1x a month.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, great variety and the se ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent food, great variety and the service was fast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The Purple Cafe & Wine Bar is the perfec ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The Purple Cafe & Wine Bar is the perfect spot for that business lunch, lunch with friends or out-of-town guests. The menu selections are all excellent and everyone in your party will find

a good selection to pick from. If you are wine fans the list is excellent. You might even get a peek at a local winemaker enjoy lunch here with friends.

With a warm and comfortable setting to excellent service we always recommend the Purple Cafe when dining in Woodinville.

Cheers,

Michael

Tags: , Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic but what really s ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was fantastic but what really stood out was our server Briana. She was amazing, so enthusiastic, warm and knowledgeable. Also, the manager Leshon, came by the table and chatted with us. She too was wonderful. I apologize if I didn't get the spelling of the names correct.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my mother in law in for a post Chri ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Took my mother in law in for a post Christmas meal. Everything was delicious. We shared a bottle of Chablis which was the perfect light wine to go with our meal. We loved everything except the multiple screaming babies that were there. The meal was great the service was even better. Thank you for such a nice night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Typical date lunch for long standing cou ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Typical date lunch for long standing couples who just want to get away from grind of the work week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Purple Cafe never disappoints. Food sel ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Purple Cafe never disappoints. Food selections are original and tasty!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Purple Café delivers a consistent high q ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Purple Café delivers a consistent high quality service, food and wine. My wife and I have enjoyed this restaurant for many years and plan to continue to do so. When the weather is warm we enjoy eating outside with our dog, Gabriella.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did a team lunch on a Friday afternoo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We did a team lunch on a Friday afternoon and had a great time. Our team of 5 was sat right by the door which was a little inconvenient because it made it chilly with the door opening and closing often and people constantly walking by our table. The restaurant was packed. Our server was attentive, our food was yummy and overall we had a great experience. I like Purple and I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.