Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle

Purple Café and Wine Bar pairs a global wine selection with a menu that combines classic American styles with seasonal Northwest ingredients.

We feature an expansive menu ranging from artisan cheeses, starters, soups, salads, sandwiches and pizzas to pasta and seafood. We take a great deal of pride in utilizing the most fresh and local ingredients.

On the wine side of things our wine list features over 80 glass and 600 bottle selections. Over the years our wine program has been recognized with various accolades that include an "Award of Ultimate Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast Magazine and being named "Best Wine Bar" by Evening Magazine's Best of Western Washington Viewers Poll.

1225 4th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday, 11am to 11pm
Friday, 11am to 12am
Saturday, 12pm to 12am
Sunday, 12pm to 11pm

Cross Street:
University Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 829-2280

Website:
http://www.purplecafe.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of box lunches and a la carte platters; great for corporate events, parties, picnics and other get-togethers! Orders are available for pick up and we ask for 48 hours’ notice on all pick-up orders to ensure availability. Large orders may require additional lead time. We are available to place phone orders or answer any questions Monday-Friday 9am to 5pm. Please call 206.855.6118.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the Financial Center Parking Garage located directly underneath our restaurant on the corner of 4th and University. Once on University Street heading East, the garage is on your right hand side just after 3rd Ave and before 4th Ave. Parking is available throughout the day; prices vary. After 4pm parking is $5 with validation from the front desk 7 days a week.

Executive Chef:
Harry Mills

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a semi-private room for up to 20 people seated or 35 for a stand-up cocktail style event. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Private Events Team: (206) 838-3853

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (98)
Good for a Date (67)
Fit for Foodies (62)
See All
Special Occasion (60)
Pre/post Theatre (54)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Bar Seating (43)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Hot Spot (43)
Great for Lunch (43)
Business Meals (42)
Casual (40)
Good for Groups (36)
Fun (34)
Vibrant Bar Scene (34)
People Watching (32)
Happy Hour (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Romantic (22)
Local Ingredients (21)
Late-night Find (19)
Tasting Menu (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Authentic (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Scenic View (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Tapas (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Cozy (6)
Seasonal (6)
Organic (4)
Vegan (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
3573 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was good, but the service was impeccable! The entire staff in our area attentive to our needs. I dropped a fork and within seconds a new one was brought over. Little details like that really make a dining experience stand out!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Purple is a great place to meet for business or just catching up with a friend. The service is excellent and the food is well prepared. It is always hard to decide what to eat!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fun, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Waitress was great! Kind of loud but beautiful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful restaurant- you can tell from the street that this is going to be great. High ceilings, all glass walls and centerpiece "wine rack" that goes from floor to ceiling with a staircase wrapped around it. Food was delicious, wine menu was amazing (112 pages!) and the service was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Great for a business lunch where the emphasis is on the business but you don't want to skimp on the lunch either. The lunch 2 of 3 combination (soup or salad or 1/2 sandwich) was perfect. The right amount of delicious food at a great value price. And the meeting went well, too.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Great service- she was attentive and well informed about the menu. She gave us great wine and food recommendations.

The food - appetizers, entrees and the dessert was great. Delicate taste but hearty.

I had the halibut with a carrot purée- delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Very nice place, food was excellent and the price was fair

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Highly recommend going, everything was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Awesome! Recommend it to everyone looking for a fun night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Noise level so high 4 people couldn't hear each other. Seafood stew had very little broth and very little seafood. Wine pours small. And the bill was embarrassingly high. Our foursome left with a bad taste in our craw.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Awesome as always! The perfect start to our evening before heading up to the 5th Abenue.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Purple is my favorite for lunch. 1st try 4 dinner. Veggie burger was dry and crumbly. Cheese was not melted on it. Side salad was a bowl of lettuce.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Purple cafe has a unique design, great wine, and artistically designed cuisine.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We like this place but they can be annoying. 2 of 3 champagnes in flight were flight and waitress didn't seem to care. Food and setting are great. Service is very slow and inattentive.....maybe that is part of the vibe they are trying to keep. We'll be back though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Terrific dining experience. The ambiance was casual yet upscale. We sat at a table but the bar looked great. We enjoyed our wine flights where we had the chance to taste some local samplings. Our server (Nicole) was great. Very attentive and helpful with menu questions.
We would definitely return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Always an amazing experience at Purple, our server was amazing and the food was divine! Such a pleasant time, can not wait to go back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2017

This was our third time going to Purple. We visit Seattle from Long Island and can only wish there was a Purple in our town on the N Shore. The restaurant never has disappointed us. The food, the service, the ambiance all excellent. Will definitely go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Only negative- there was a hair in the appetizer. They took away everything and made it right. Food was very good. I was expecting them to pay for the appetizer, but I still had to pay.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Went out for my friends bachelorette & wanted to have a nice dinner before going out. Unfortunately the food took wayyyy too long to be served & was Luke warm by the time it hit our table. The meats weren't cooked the way we ordered as well.

The upside was the staff was accommodating & made up for the cold food & slow service with a bottle of champagne and a dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 10, 2017

HORRIBLE Experience. Wanted to have a special evening and dinner with my parents before a show. Food took so long for us to get that we only had 15 minutes to eat it. My husband asked to talk to manager who, so out of touch, offered to comp us desserts - while my mom and I even needed to box up our dinners since we had run out of time. Manager Wendy was rude and totally lacking in compassion and I think she should be Fired before she offends more customers and costs the company even more money. What a let down and disappointment and such a negative taint it cast on our whole evening which was suppose to be special for my father. I am disgusted with the lack of customer service. DISGUSTED.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Had a great time bringing friends here for the first time (we r repeat customers). The service and food quality/flavor never disappoint.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Meeting a friend I hadn't seen in a year as I live on the east coast now

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

I always appreciate the knowledgeable staff; I'm terrible at pairing wine.

Tags: Tapas, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Had a wonderful lunch at Purple Cafe. Food was incredible and love the variety on the menu from lamb burgers to lobster Mac and cheese. Well done!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Lovely ambiance. I had the crab cakes and they were cooked to perfection!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 8, 2017

The restaurant is vey loud. The brie and cauliflower appetizers were very good. The seafood stew and beef short ribs were terrible. Short ribs had way too much garlic and the stew had very little flavor.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Always a good choice for good food and good service. My out of town business guests liked the energetic ambiance, wine list and attentive service. The Seafood Stew was good and the burgers looked amazing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Had the meat and cheese selection, dates and sourdough with a couple wine samplers. Excellenr all around!

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Very good so we came back a second time in one week. This time we sat upstairs and think our server forgot about us as soon as the entrees were served. Other than that, food was excellent again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Mediocre run of the mill food, nothing exciting or bold in terms of flavors. Calamari was horrible... fishy, chewy and bland. Consider an alternate choice for a restaurant, one that specializes in either seafood or pizza rather than this joint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Very attentive service! We were well taken care of and had great meals.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

It had been a couple of years since I was last at Purple. I'm glad to see that it is still here. I was in town with family and suggested we eat at Purple and everyone found something that they all absolutely enjoyed. The service was top-notch as expected and our server had excellent alternate recommendations for pairings. Noise level was was a bit much, but not enough that our party could not converse at a normal level. There are many restaurant choice in the downtown area, but purple is truly exceptional and I will go back again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Good food and in a convenient location. Staff was friendly and helpful.
We would gladly return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Oh boy...nothing like a screaming baby trying to ruin your vacation date night. Despite the high pitched blood curdling screams that were never ending we persevered through our night and still had a wonderful time at the Purple Cafe and Wine Bar.

We wanted to begin with a bottle of Turley. Unfortunately, they were out of one of our favorite Paso Robles' zins, but our waiter called on the sommelier and he recommended a wonderful Syrah. We ran with a burrata appetizer which was made with peaches - something we have never had at any restaurant - it was spectacular! As for our main course, we had enough salmon & filets on our trip so we went with a couple hamburgers with regular & sweet potato fries. In total...perfect!

Overall...Purple Cafe is dynamic fun. Awesome wine list. Great service and food. Just...try and ask for the no babies section when they seat you. You'll thank us later.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Appetizers were the best part; entrees were over cooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Beautiful, comfortable atmosphere. Very good food - just shy of outstanding. Nice wine selection and display. I would go back without hesitation.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Its been 4 years since our last trip to Seattle and Purple was on our list of restaurants we HAD to go to again! Just as good as I remembered it. Outstanding wine list by the glass too.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Even with reservations I was seated at a table near the back the bar and service station so wait staff was going by every fast all through dinner. It was table # 36. Don’t take it if offered.

Our waiter forgot our appetizer so we were served the brie with our meal instead of before. He did comp it as an apology, which was very thoughtful. The food is consistently good to excellent. While visiting Seattle we had three meals here.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

We had an amazing dinner. The staff was attentive when needed and absent when not wanted. Never there for our intimate moments and there when we need anything.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 29, 2017

It's a pretty place with an impressive wine tower in the middle. The food was very good. Service a little slow. Very loud-a little hard to carry on a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.