Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle

Purple Café and Wine Bar pairs a global wine selection with a menu that combines classic American styles with seasonal Northwest ingredients.

We feature an expansive menu ranging from artisan cheeses, starters, soups, salads, sandwiches and pizzas to pasta and seafood. We take a great deal of pride in utilizing the most fresh and local ingredients.

On the wine side of things our wine list features over 80 glass and 600 bottle selections. Over the years our wine program has been recognized with various accolades that include an "Award of Ultimate Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast Magazine and being named "Best Wine Bar" by Evening Magazine's Best of Western Washington Viewers Poll.

1225 4th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday, 11am to 11pm
Friday, 11am to 12am
Saturday, 12pm to 12am
Sunday, 12pm to 11pm

Cross Street:
University Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 829-2280

Website:
http://www.purplecafe.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of box lunches and a la carte platters; great for corporate events, parties, picnics and other get-togethers! Orders are available for pick up and we ask for 48 hours’ notice on all pick-up orders to ensure availability. Large orders may require additional lead time. We are available to place phone orders or answer any questions Monday-Friday 9am to 5pm. Please call 206.855.6118.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the Financial Center Parking Garage located directly underneath our restaurant on the corner of 4th and University. Once on University Street heading East, the garage is on your right hand side just after 3rd Ave and before 4th Ave. Parking is available throughout the day; prices vary. After 4pm parking is $5 with validation from the front desk 7 days a week.

Executive Chef:
Harry Mills

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a semi-private room for up to 20 people seated or 35 for a stand-up cocktail style event. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Private Events Team: (206) 838-3853

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (115)
Good for a Date (106)
Special Occasion (79)
See All
Business Meals (62)
Pre/post Theatre (57)
Fit for Foodies (53)
Romantic (52)
Vibrant Bar Scene (51)
Modern Decor (50)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Fun (43)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Bar Seating (42)
Casual (41)
Good for Groups (39)
People Watching (38)
Hot Spot (35)
Happy Hour (34)
Great for Lunch (28)
Local Ingredients (27)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Tasting Menu (22)
Cozy (21)
Healthy (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Late-night Find (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Authentic (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Seasonal (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Tapas (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Scenic View (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Wood Oven (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Organic (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vegan (3)
Family Style (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Fireplace (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Waterfront (1)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
3366 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

Waiter was very friendly & quick with Service - Purple is a favorite for my group! Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful place with great atmosphere and wonderful food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

The service and the food was excellent. We went for lunch before the show at Benaroya.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

We had visited Purple Door for two reasons, great reviews on Open Table and discounted gift cards at Costco. We had NO Alcohol, just salads/Soup, and entree's. I must say we were disappointed, we had hair in one of our dishes, the wait after being seated to get our food took about 90 minutes, and the food was good, but to rack up bill of $200. There are many more restaurants in Seattle that you can drop that coin for 4 adults and walk away much happier than here. Overall, it was alright, for the price it was a little ridiculous.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

The wine tower and vibe were memorable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a lovely time celebrating our 1st wedding anniversary at Purple Cafe and Wine Bar. The staff offered us complementary champagne in honor of our celebration. We were also impressed that they had in stock wine from a vineyard we visited in Spain on our honeymoon. All of that and our meals were delicious. We would certainly visit again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

The spring toast special is awesome! The servers selection of wine was perfect. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I love going to Purple cafe with firends. It makes for a perfect place if you are planning on going to a concert or a movie afterwards. They are very accomodation with your schedule. Just make sure you have your reservations in advance. The food is delicious, the wine list is out this world and it has a great atmosfere. It might not be the greatest place for people with disability. The front door weighs a ton and it's hard to open. The space between tables is tight and the chairs are extremelly heavy, but it sure make it for a unique decorating style.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fun, People Watching, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Good food and service. Just a tad too noisy for my taste.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Delicious food! We went on a Tuesday evening before Sheryl Sandberg's event. We made a reservation for 6 and actually had 7, and they were happy to accommodate us. We did have a large group and the restaurant was packed, but service was a little slow. We arrived at 5:30 and didn't leave until 7:15. The food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I travel to Seattle 2-3 times per year and Purple is a must when I here.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The front desk kept my dining partner waiting for about ten minutes while they insisted we didn't have a reservation, even though they had already seated me. Then they delivered the wrong meals to us. We had both been there multiple times before and had good experiences so we don't know what happened this time

Tags: Open Kitchen, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Went for Mother's Day, six of us. It's not the best place for kids, but the staff was great and the food was very good, as usual. Nic, our server, was fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2017

As always, knocked it out of the park! Food was as always AMAZING..and our sommelier and waitress were the best.

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Seasonal, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This place was a real favorite of mine but since all the Purples have moved to the same menus (which makes me sad), the appeal of the food has come second to the ambiance. Of my lunch, the only things I enjoyed were my appetizer (brie) and my dessert (trifle).
As much as it pains me to say it, the crab cakes and hamburgers are the only really appealing lunch items. Then again, I am an extremely picky eater.
Our server was fantastic and the wine options extensive. I will go back but I will be keeping a close eye on the food offerings and quality.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have had good experiences until this last visit. Service was horrid. Had to ask multiple times for things as little as a coffee cup (ordered French Press and it was lukewarm by the time we got a cup), once seated it took 20 minutes to be acknowledged by the waiter after being sat and another 25 minutes before he even came back to take our order. And this was after flagging down other wait staff to ask for assistance. Good food, great drinks, horrid service., and it wasn't even busy. I wouldn't dare try it on a Friday or Saturday evening. :(

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mothers' Day Brunch as they opened at 10 AM and advertised special brunch items. The brunch menu had only one real breakfast-oriented item for adults, a veggie scramble, although kids could get French toast. We enjoyed our food but it wasn't what we'd hoped for in a brunch menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The place was happening, the atmosphere was inviting, and the food and wine pairings were on piont. My only complaint is that the roasted halibut didn't include a bigger portion because it was delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We went on a recommendation of a friend and as a closing for the Microsoft Build Conference. Me and my colleague both had the filet mignon and the crème Brule. They filet mignon was the best piece of meat by far I have ever eaten. The crème Brule was also the best I've ever eaten. Also, using open table was very easy to reserve and change our reservation.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Bar Seating, Romantic, People Watching, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Good food, nice ambiance, and excellent service in a lovely and interesting setting

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Cozy, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our server was excellent and they were very respectful of our time. We made our show on time and felt taken care of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I just really like this place so much. So very very very very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 8, 2017

This is a great restaurant and the lunch menu has enough to satisfy a myriad of food preferences. There is something here for everyone in the party.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food was quite good and our waitress was friendly. She gave us Prosecco on the house as it was our anniversary. My only complaint is that there was no Gorgonzola on the Gorgonzola pizza! But instead some milder non- blue cheese! The wine (especially the Port and Riesling tastings) was delicious!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was great but service was lacking. Sat for 20+ min with an empty wine glass and one of the items we ordered never showed. Place was busy however everyone seemed slow moving.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

It was wonderful, the cheese board was outstanding and my filet cooked perfectly.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food but really hifh uncomfortable chairs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had a great time. The service was great, we didn't have to wait too long for drinks or food, someone was always available to fill up your water/wine glass. And the food was amazing!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My mother and I went on the recommendation of a friend who is a chef and owns a restaurant. It was excellent service and food. We had a reservation for 4pm and don't recall any happy hour specials and found it pricy. Each beer cost $11. It is a great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Girls trip!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Not bad, not great. The reviews overpromise and the restaurant under delivers. The food was particularly underwhelming. The wine tower alone is not hip enough for patrons to overlook a cluttered, too open, unremarkably designed dining room; all seems dated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Service was good but the food was not fresh and not tasty. Very limited choices. I will not go there again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The menu has some nice and special food but overall it is just average - no big variety of seafood or fish but lots of burgers, pizza and pasta like elsewhere. I was expecting higher quality.
Prices are outstanding high regarding average choice.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 2, 2017

If you're a resident or are traveling to Seattle, this is a "must stop" restaurant. Great food & fabulous wine menu. The spiral wine cage is pretty cool, too.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 2, 2017

excellent service and food for a fair price. answered all my inquiries leading up to the evening. accommodated myself and my boyfriend smoothly when we asked to sit on the upper floor. personable waiter and checked on us regularly - not too little not too much. we weren't rushed in our ordering at all and took our time picking different things on the menu.

Tags: Family Style, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, People Watching, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Halibut special was perfectly paired with Pino Noir. I recommend keeping it on the menu.

My date was impressed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Enjoyed the ambiance, our waitress was excellent, food served promptly and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My favorite restaurant in downtown Seattle. We usually dine there before shows. Fine cuisine and attentive service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Ongoing problem that ALL Businesses face whether a medical clinic or a restaurant, the front desk or hostess station is where ALL BUSINESSES make their first impression and LEAVE A LASTING IMPRESSION. Staff must be FRIENDLY, Professional, and Courteous at all times. Our hostess lacked all these skills, very snobby to put it succinctly and our family has dined world-wide at 4-5 star restaurants. So disappointing. On the other hand, our server Nicholes at the Seattle site was Exceptional, which went a long way in saving our meal. Lastly, our age group was 16-51 year old and we all agreed the Music needs to be changed - painful club/pop music does not fit this venue or decor.. a little loud and annoying. Food exceptional and always happy to find wine flights and wine pairing suggestions per meal, delightful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 29, 2017

They had the floors professionally cleaned the night before so they had all of the doors open in the restaurant. It was FREEZING. I wore my coat the entire time. Very poor planning on Purple's part.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.