About Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle

1225 4th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Purple Café and Wine Bar pairs a global wine selection with a menu that combines classic American styles with seasonal Northwest ingredients.

We feature an expansive menu ranging from artisan cheeses, starters, soups, salads, sandwiches and pizzas to pasta and seafood. We take a great deal of pride in utilizing the most fresh and local ingredients.

On the wine side of things our wine list features over 80 glass and 600 bottle selections. Over the years our wine program has been recognized with various accolades that include an "Award of Ultimate Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast Magazine and being named "Best Wine Bar" by Evening Magazine's Best of Western Washington Viewers Poll.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday, 11am to 11pm
Friday, 11am to 12am
Saturday, 12pm to 12am
Sunday, 12pm to 11pm

Cross Street:
University Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 829-2280

Website:
http://www.purplecafe.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of box lunches and a la carte platters; great for corporate events, parties, picnics and other get-togethers! Orders are available for pick up and we ask for 48 hours’ notice on all pick-up orders to ensure availability. Large orders may require additional lead time. We are available to place phone orders or answer any questions Monday-Friday 9am to 5pm. Please call 206.855.6118.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the Financial Center Parking Garage located directly underneath our restaurant on the corner of 4th and University. Once on University Street heading East, the garage is on your right hand side just after 3rd Ave and before 4th Ave. Parking is available throughout the day; prices vary. After 4pm parking is $5 with validation from the front desk 7 days a week.

Executive Chef:
Harry Mills

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a semi-private room for up to 20 people seated or 35 for a stand-up cocktail style event. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Private Events Team: (206) 838-3853

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (86)
Good for a Date (79)
Special Occasion (62)
See All
Fit for Foodies (44)
Pre/post Theatre (43)
Romantic (41)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Modern Decor (39)
Bar Seating (33)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Business Meals (29)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Great for Lunch (26)
Fun (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Casual (24)
People Watching (21)
Happy Hour (19)
Cozy (19)
Hot Spot (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Authentic (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Scenic View (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Seasonal (6)
Tapas (6)
Healthy (6)
Vegan (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Fireplace (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (2)
Dancing (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
3214 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We told the hostess that it was my frien ...

 
 (New England)·Dined a day ago

We told the hostess that it was my friend's birthday and thought they would bring something out for her but they didn't, which was a little disappointing. Other than that it was great! The waiter was very knowledgeable about wine and made delicious suggestions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We had a reservation, but the host forgo ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined a day ago

We had a reservation, but the host forgot, so we were seated in the bar on the upper level rather than at a table on the main floor. The server was knowledgeable about the wine. The menu was disappointing. It is now more like a bar than a restaurant which it was the last time we were there. The food was fairly good, but we probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

This is a favorite pre-theater spot. Fo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

This is a favorite pre-theater spot. Food is always fresh, well-prepared and attractively served. Dessert and wine menus change regularly and are delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place... I love the ambiance ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

I love this place... I love the ambiance and the vibe!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. The salted caramels for desse ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Good food. The salted caramels for dessert were amazing!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This was my second time going here. The ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

This was my second time going here. There will be a third time ;)

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great Food quality is lower ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was great

Food quality is lower than my last visit in 2016

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

The evening was all positives. We arrive ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

The evening was all positives. We arrived before our reservation time but were seated immediately. We had an excellent wait staff (Mallory) who gave great ideas and options for wine and entrees. Drinks and appetizer arrived in 10 minutes and our main course 5 minutes after we finished the first course. The whole meal was well paced with plenty of time for conversation. It was a very memorable dining experience.

Thanks so much Purple!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The experience was good but my husbands ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The experience was good but my husbands pasta was too tart to eat. We complained and then they took it off the check. Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great time! Service was good, Drinks wer ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great time! Service was good, Drinks were good. Time was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing experience! Loved our waitress! ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing experience! Loved our waitress! She was super inviting and provided us with great food and drink suggestions. Delicious food and impressive wine selection. Will be returning soon. I def recommend this place!

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our second time coming to Purple ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is our second time coming to Purple Cafe and we were once again impressed! Last time was for our anniversary and this time for Valentines Day (weekend before). We had the Cassoulet and the New York, paired with a sparkling rose. It was absolutely amazing! I can never say enough good things about the quality of food and service. We will be returning again and again and again. The salted caramels we got to go were to die for! I will tell EVERYONE I know about Purple Cafe and hope they will enjoy it just as much!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak I had there was one of the bes ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The steak I had there was one of the best I have had in a long time. The atmosphere is not exactly conducive to private conversation.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I like the food there, but there was an ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I like the food there, but there was an accident , there is a stone in the pasta which hurt my teeth, but the server cancel the dishes from the bill. At least they solve the problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun, great drinks, my cassoulet was quit ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fun, great drinks, my cassoulet was quite dry, however.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was better than I expected and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was better than I expected and the service was very good. Parking was easy and I enjoyed the ambiance was great. A very minor suggestion would be reading the menu was a little hard had to use my iPhone but when visiting the lighting was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional meal, wine flight was great ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Exceptional meal, wine flight was great value and flavour. Our lactos free friend was accommodated with grace and efficiency. Our second trip to Seattle from Australia. We have dined at purple both times and will do each time in the future!!

Thankyou!!!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place! Outstanding layout and desi ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great Place! Outstanding layout and design. Food was awesome, wine selection was superb! And our waitress was nice, and very attentive. Very awesome for a Friday night in downtown Seattle.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect range of lunch options to suit a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Perfect range of lunch options to suit a business group!

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our server was very accommodating - we n ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our server was very accommodating - we needed to eat and leave in a certain amount of time and he made sure that we got our food quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Have been here many times pre-event, usu ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Have been here many times pre-event, usually at Benaroya. Food, drinks, service, and ambiance were all very good. The local, Friuliano-style white wine I had with my pasta was so-so, but that's not against the restaurant. When we checked in, they read the note the reservations agent took that we had an event that night so they made sure to get us out of there on time. Lastly, I checked in about 15 minutes early and there was no problem seating me until my friend arrived.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Recommended by a local seattlite. So di ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Recommended by a local seattlite. So dissapointed after expecting something special. Great wine list but food was midiocre at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Purple cafe's food (we had dinner) was m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Purple cafe's food (we had dinner) was mediocre at best, little flavor, and way over priced for the quality. Service was pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Appreciated being asked if we were going ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Appreciated being asked if we were going to a concert so they could track the time. Waiter was wonderful and took extra care to get the right wine pairing for dinner.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful evening! Our server w ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a wonderful evening!

Our server was superb (I believe his name is Ben).

It was our first time there and we will definitely be going back.

Everything was perfect :)

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Authentic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Healthy, Casual, , Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food choices were good and quality of fo ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food choices were good and quality of food good. Service was less than desirable. Waiter was impatient with our table and interrupted our conversations multiple time, seemingly clueless to our pace and evening. When food came, staff shoved food in front of us rather rudely. We were celebrating my wife's birthday with a couple of friends. Vibe of restaurant and bar was good. Would recommend happy hour. Hope you get better service than we did.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Our server Kim was super nice and gave m ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our server Kim was super nice and gave me a complimentary olive & nut place while I waited on my friend who was running late due to parking issues.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Vegan, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Purple in the downtown Sea ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2017

First time at Purple in the downtown Seattle location. The center circular floor to ceiling bar and wine storage is pretty cool to look at. We were early and they were able to seat us anyway. The food was very good and the service very prompt and attentive despite being a busy Saturday night.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This was not my first visit to Purple an ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was not my first visit to Purple and again was not disappointed. The food & wine were great and so was the service. Will definately be back again soon!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Purple has a great atmosphere. Love the ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Purple has a great atmosphere. Love the look of the place, with a great wine selection. I would say it's always cold in their and the purple chopped salad used to be better. It has downgraded. The house made sourdough bread is delicious. Typically the food is a delight.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Food was fine, but not memorable. Drink ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was fine, but not memorable. Drinks are over-priced. Manhattan with bar bourbon Evan Williams was $11.00 close to the price of a fifth of it. Wine was $12.50 a glass. And amazingly they had no Pinot Grigio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Tge lunch combo is great for lighter far ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Tge lunch combo is great for lighter fare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Best crab sandwich ever!

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Best crab sandwich ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Purple never disappoints. It was my firs ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Purple never disappoints. It was my first time dining on the second floor. Definitely will be heading up there next visit as well. Atmosphere, food and wine selection is the best!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was the best. He was so frien ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Our server was the best. He was so friendly, observant, attention to detail was spot on and he brightened our day. Thank you so much for such a pleasant experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service with great food. Great ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Wonderful service with great food. Great selection of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had high hopes for Purple Cafe and Win ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I had high hopes for Purple Cafe and Wine Bar but they were dashed as soon as we were seated at the second worst table in the restaurant. It was right next to the host desk, by the front door, and my lower back and my butt were frozen by the constant draught. Horrible. I couldn't enjoy the dinner at all as I was wearing my winter jacket the entire evening. No one on the staff asked if the table was okay. I guess I should have asked to change but there didn't seem to be any tables available and I didn't want to wait for a new one to open up. The next big minus was the lukewarm Riesling I received. When will restaurants learn that white wine should be served chilled? Such an easy mistake to fix and yet no one does it. Food was okay, nothing to write home about. We had the cassoulet and the veal bolognese. The cassoulet was far too oily and there were no carbohydrates except for the cannellini beans. Total meat overdose. The sourdough bread pudding was actually tasty! Overall, I wouldn't come back here. Plus points for the extensive wine list but if you cannot serve it at the right temperature, there is no point in offering it. There are plenty of other choices in downtown Seattle.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

This was a fun but slightly expensive ev ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 16, 2017

This was a fun but slightly expensive evening. Great wines and staff. Like the subdued ambiance. Just a bit pricey, that's all. =)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Took my two nieces for their birthday we ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Took my two nieces for their birthday weekend dinner. When I called to make reservations, I explained it was a joint birthday dinner and was assured my nieces birthday would be acknowledged with a birthday dessert. We were very excited as we heard great things about this restaurant. Our reservations were for 10PM. We arrived a little early and were seated right away. As we were seated the hostess says "I hear we have a couple of birthdays". Wasn't expecting them to announce that they knew it was a birthday, but non-the-less my nieces were happy know they knew it was their birthday. The restaurant was very modern and trendy. A few moments later the waitress came and took our drink order. When she returned with our drinks we placed our appetizer order of the baked brie. We enjoyed our cocktails and the brie was brought out a short time later. The brie was delicious. However we didn't see our server again for at least 30 minutes. We actually had to call her over so we could place our dinner order. I ordered the lobster macaroni and cheese and my nieces both ordered the Cassoulet and "smashed potatoes". The lobster mac and cheese was very dry and I would definitely not order it again. The Cassoulet was delicious and rich. The smashed potatoes were not smashed potatoes but 5 small potatoes in the skin either boiled or baked until soft. Not what we considered to be smashed potatoes. Once dinner was done, we were brought our bill. Never were we asked if we wanted dessert and to top it all off we were never served their birthday dessert, which even as adult is always nice. Was highly disappointed in the service and the food was mediocre at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Great time with friends on a Friday nigh ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great time with friends on a Friday night. Wait staff was awesome!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.