About Punk's Simple Southern Food

5212 Morningside
Houston, TX 77005
View Larger Map

Punk's is all about Southern hospitality married to a healthy dose of swagger and good manners. Southern native Chef Brandi Key channels her inner child at this rambunctious restaurant that almost feels as if you are on her back porch sipping somethin'. From Texas to Louisiana, Mississippi to Georgia and the Carolinas, these are recipes handed down by generations. Mix and match Grandpa Do's buttermilk biscuits - Ham & Jam, Chicken Fry, Crawdads and Gravy Train; Snack on Deviled Eggs with pickled relish, mustard & smoked paprika or Pickled Gulf Shrimp tossed in a medley of fresh vegetables and spiced vinegar. Fried Seafood Poboys, Redfish on the half shell, Braised Collard Greens and Mom's Cornbread share the spotlight with Grandma Pat's Crispy Buttermilk Fried Chicken.

Dining Style:
Home Style

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Soul food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Rice Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 524-7865

Website:
http://www.punkssimplesouthernfood.com/

Parking Details:
Ample street parking in Rice Village with full valet service offered as well.

Executive Chef:
Brandi Key

Private Party Facilities:
Comfort is key at Punk’s as guests dig into Deviled Eggs, Sweet Corn Hushpuppies and Buttermilk Fried Chicken. Punk's can accommodate parties up to 120 persons on our outdoor patios and up to 100 persons indoors, limited availability. You bring the guests we bring the Southern Food and hospitality.

Private Party Contact:
Punk's Simple Southern Food: (888) 501-7537

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Punk's Simple Southern Food Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (26)
Casual (18)
Kid-friendly (17)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Fun (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Family Style (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Cozy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Live Sports (4)
Business Meals (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Authentic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
People Watching (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
282 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

The service was great. Loved the ambiance. Food came out fast and tasted

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

An evening of southern food with superb service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The General manager GRANT rocks!!!! The atmosphere, service and food was amazing!

Tags: Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had lunch with my daughter for her birthday . Food and service was good. Try the mash potatoes w/ a hint of horseradish very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Was seated immediately and initially cared for, however once the order was taken we waited way to long for the meal. Three times, while we waited, waiters came to our table with other tables drinks and food. At the end of the meal we asked the waiter to box up our leftovers that never materialized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

marginal service. average (at best) food. Greens were grossly under seasoned. Waiter was too busy chatting with colleagues. wont be back; too many better places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Another fantastic meal! Thanks for the personal service and hospitality.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I went there on Sunday with my family (seven people) principally because they took reservations. When we got there they said there were no tables inside (where the reservation was for) and that the wait was at least 30 minutes. Very disappointing. Hard to make a change with seven people at noon on a Sunday, so we waited and were eventually seated outdoors next to a very very large loud group. Not the family dining experience I was looking for. Food was just ok, one bright spot was waitress was delightful and gave good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food!! Loved the pimento cheese appetizer. Chicken pot pie was very tasty. Good service, great ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Casual, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service was outstanding. Best I have had at Houston restaurants in some time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The wait staff is awesome! We have always had great service! We are so in love with the fried chicken we don't ever order anything else, but next time we are going to venture and try some of the yummy food that was around us.

It was loud, I'm sure there is going to be a big SuperBowl crowd cause the fried chicken is hands down the best in the city!!!

Welcome everyone!!! Head to Punks and order the fried chicken!!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent food and superb service! Our server, Jada, offered good suggestions and was attentive and friendly. The portions are generous, so sharing is not an issue. The service was well timed, and all our courses we ordered (3 on this trip) arrived at perfect intervals. I have read other reviews that complained about the children and noise level. It is a neighborhood gem that has many families as patrons, but we did not find the restaurant too noisy and were not annoyed by the kids. If these things are irritating to you, this might not be your sort of place. If you're looking for Southern comfort food in a down home place, you have to check this out!

Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Punk's was a pleasant surprise. I wasn't really sure what to expect just based off of the location versus the menu but I felt like they did a really good job of keeping the decor modern and fun while still nailing the down home cooking. I had an incredibly burger and the girls I was with tried the fried chicken and we all very much enjoyed our meals. The star of the show was definitely the Mac and Cheese though. I could've eaten that and the biscuits on it's own and been more than happy. We also tried the banana pudding and they were sweet enough to bring out a giant bowl of cotton candy to celebrate my friends birthday- both of which were on the house. (Unexpected since we went out of our way to order the Banana pudding.) The mixed drinks we ordered were excellent as well. Overall would highly recommend!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Everyone was amazing. The hostess was friendly, the waiter had a great sense of humor, and the manager double checked that we had a wonderful evening, as we always do at Punks!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Unremarkable food. Chicken & biscuit appetizer could have been sourced from the frozen food aisle. Austin-esque vibe was tragic. So kid-friendly that you feel like you're dining at Chuck E. Cheese..not that there's anything wrong w/that. Look elsewhere for a memorable evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good was good - not exceptional. Service was above and beyond. Cute neighborhood spot. Very loud.

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food and the service was amazing. Great staff and the servers are very attentive.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was wonderful and abundant and the drinks were delicious. The staff and manager were on task and attentive. Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

As always, Punk's exceeds expectation and is fabulous! A good times dining experience in a good times area! Love it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Attended on New Years Eve for Brunch with my significant other. We were one of the first groups to arrive. We had great service & the food was to our liking. Upon exiting, we waited almost 10 minutes for valet to bring our car up. This seemed like an extremely long amount of time considering there were 3 Valet Attendants standing around & they were not taking any new cars. When we were about to leave a Valet attendant knocked on our window & said we owed him $5 for Valet Parking. There was no sign alerting us to the $5 Valet fee, it wasn't mentioned upon arrival or while we were waiting for our vehicle. I do not mind paying or tipping for Valet services but I appreciate prior notification in case we did not have cash on us, as well as, receiving service that justifies the price for Valet. In this case, $5 seemed very high considering the lack of concern for retrieving our vehicle while we stood in the rain. Other than that, we enjoyed our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I always enjoy eating here. Parking without using the valet ($$$) is not easy, so be careful there. But the restaurant itself is always very tasty and service was good. I recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our family of 6 had a fantastic experience at Punk's! The food was delicious, and our server was friendly, helpful, and attentive. The manager visited with us at the end of our meal and brought us complimentary banana pudding (which was incredible!) We will definitely return to Punk's!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Love this place for our kiddos. It's our go-to. Sit outside and kids can play while you have a few drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This is a restaurant trying very hard to do "hipster". It was freezing in the restaurant only a few degrees warmer than outside ( no exaggeration). It was as if they had absolutely no climate control ability in the restaurant and they sat us with kids by the door. I would hate to see this place In the Houston summer. Lots of small children and tons of people Standing over you waiting for tables.. to be fair it was Sunday and it was the brunch crowd. The food was fine but really nothing special. Our server was very nice. Gooey Cake bites were fun. The cost and ambiance were not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Fried chicken and southern comfort food - what else do you need to read?! Great choice if you have kiddos - they can run around like crazy beasts in the neighboring courtyard as you watch with a beer in hand, devouring half a buttermilk fried chicken from the comfy outdoor seating area.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great place for dinner & drinks while the kids run around in the grassy area out back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I had the salmon salad and the salmon was outstanding. I was very surprised at how good it was since it was on a salad. The salmon on salad is often dry and not very flavorful. This was very juicy and had great flavor.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

So yummy and everyone was so nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The brunch was delicious. I took my girlfriend here for our 1 year anniversary, and she really enjoyed the Ham & Jam biscuit and the horseradish mashed potatoes.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

As always amazing. Sat out back and kids ran around in the yard while we enjoyed fried chicken, deviled eggs, tater tots, cheeseburgers and beer! Love it and love the location!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had been a couple times and wanted to bring a group of friends with us. Everyone enjoyed themselves and found something delicious to eat. The atmosphere was great and the staff very attentive and service minded. Highly recommend Punks.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Chicken was great, cant wait to do happy hour and Grant was the hostess with the mostest!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Happy Hour, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I go here for the fried chicken. I really don't look at the rest of the menu. However, I overheard the owner telling some other patrons about a special pork chop that sounded good. We didn't get the same spill. Maybe they were VIP diners. The food was great as usual, but it did take about 30 minutes to get it. I assume it's because the chicken is made fresh, at least I hope that's why. Since we had a reservation, our wait to get in was no time. I prefer garlic mashed potatoes over their horseradish recipe, but they were still fine. Again, I go for the chicken. My hubby and I (pregnant) finished all but 2 pieces of a whole bird. You have to be pretty hungry to do that. Order the whole bird if you want to make a second meal out of it. Order the half bird otherwise.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Casual, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Beautiful night so this satisfied the need for a patio - but the food was just ok. Overpriced and underwhelming. Service started out good, then tapered off. Wouldn't voluntarily go back, but wouldn't be opposed if was invited by someone else. A good option for kids to run around outside while parents wait for the food that comes out slowly. Overall, just meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Nice place and great for kids with a huge outdoor lawn away from traffic. Unfortunately our waiter was clueless and got 3 out of 4 orders wrong: wrong side for the kids' meals, wrong condiments on the burger, etc... He was also one of the slowest waiters I have ever encountered, and did not know the menu at all. Food is ok, nothing exceptional, but it is more than made up for by the outdoor environment. I would go back, but definitely with a different waiter.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Everything was great, especially the Fried Chicken. It was not overly busy during lunch on a Thursday. Parking is easy. I like their menu. It has many choices that are good. Portions are large.

My only complaints are the same ones I have with most restaurants. I told I wanted to be out of the way to be able to discuss business and they gave us a wonderful quiet outdoor table. Perfect! Five minutes later they brought out s group of eight with playful children and seated them next to us when their were dozens of available tables they could have put together for them. So we moved to a less desirable table to be able to talk.

The other item is also at almost every restaurant. The music was so loud with very few customers there that you could hardly think. I'm assuming as I usually do that the waitstaff prefers it at the volume. They should keep it quiet and adjust it higher as the space fills up to keep it the same level.

These two items are pretty nit picky, just be advised. It's a fun place with good good and service. Maybe not the best place to discuss work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

First visit was amazing.. Server was great, food was outstanding, and the price was spot on.. Valet parking was very cool as well.. Loved it will return for sure

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Had a great time table was ready when we got there. It was a great day to dine on the patio. Food was good as was the service. Will do it again in the near future

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Very nice establishment. Greeted and felt welcomed. Food was tasty as will

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Wanted fried chicken. Did not disappoint. Delicious.

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The food and service were great. I would recommend Punk's for lunch and dinner.

Tags: Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Food was terrible. Will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great food and service, but the place was full of families with young children running wild. There is an outdoor area where kids are free to roam, and the parents seem to encourage it, which results in a load, chaotic and rather unpleasant environment . It must have been 50% 2-6 year olds in there on a Friday at 6:30pm, many of them shouting or crying.

If you want someplace to chill and have a drink, this isn't it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere - Had the Meat Loaf with Mash Potatoes, wife had Grilled Chicken and Collard Greens. Love the place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Casual, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

My husband and I enjoy exploring new areas and restaurants in the city. I was drawn to the description of this restaurant on open table. Everything was as good as people described. The staff was really helpful since I was having physical difficulties and using a cane for the first time. I really appreciated their help and attention. The food was delicious and the portions were generous. Will definitely be returning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Casual, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

THE SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT. THERE WERE ALOT OF CHILDREN WHO KEPT NOISE LEVEL HIGH IN MAIN DINING AREA INSIDE. I WOULD LOVE TO SEE MORE MENU ITEMS.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Our waitress made phenomenal recommendations, and we had an amazing time. The only downside was that there wasn't a table ready at the time of our reservation, and we ended up waiting about 15 minutes before being seated. But from that point forward, it was a great experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Wanted to try a new place and this place didn't disappoint. Food was good and had an outside patio which was what we were looking for. Really casual but the inside is a bit small and crowded for a place that is very family friendly. Parking was pricey but for that area it was to be expected. Overall, had a good time and that's what counts most.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Great food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Service was excellent - took the time to offer suggestions & explanations - definitely southern

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.