Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

About Punk's Simple Southern Food

Punk's is all about Southern hospitality married to a healthy dose of swagger and good manners. Southern native Chef Brandi Key channels her inner child at this rambunctious restaurant that almost feels as if you are on her back porch sipping somethin'. From Texas to Louisiana, Mississippi to Georgia and the Carolinas, these are recipes handed down by generations. Mix and match Grandpa Do's buttermilk biscuits - Ham & Jam, Chicken Fry, Crawdads and Gravy Train; Snack on Deviled Eggs with pickled relish, mustard & smoked paprika or Pickled Gulf Shrimp tossed in a medley of fresh vegetables and spiced vinegar. Fried Seafood Poboys, Redfish on the half shell, Braised Collard Greens and Mom's Cornbread share the spotlight with Grandma Pat's Crispy Buttermilk Fried Chicken.

5212 Morningside
Houston, TX 77005
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Home Style

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Soul food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Rice Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 524-7865

Website:
http://www.punkssimplesouthernfood.com/

Parking Details:
Ample street parking in Rice Village with full valet service offered as well.

Executive Chef:
Brandi Key

Private Party Facilities:
Comfort is key at Punk’s as guests dig into Deviled Eggs, Sweet Corn Hushpuppies and Buttermilk Fried Chicken. Punk's can accommodate parties up to 120 persons on our outdoor patios and up to 100 persons indoors, limited availability. You bring the guests we bring the Southern Food and hospitality.

Private Party Contact:
Punk's Simple Southern Food: (888) 501-7537

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Punk's Simple Southern Food Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Kid-friendly (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Comfort Food (29)
See All
Casual (27)
Fun (19)
Great for Brunch (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for a Date (9)
Family Style (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Cozy (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Modern Decor (5)
People Watching (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Authentic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Romantic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
318 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely outdoor patio. We went for Sunday Brunch and it was very nice. They have a full selection of breakfast items plus other entrees. I had chicken and biscuits....mmmm.
Paking in an adjoining garage.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Fried chicken...in the south...can't be all that different right? WRONG! This was the best chicken I've eaten in my entire life! The biscuits were divine. Sure, I gained 5lbs, but that's what SPANX are for. SO worth IT! MUST TRY

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was good.

That's about all the good I can say. Yes, it was noisy, but it's a hip new restaurant in Rice Village...being noisy is practically codified in law.

What destroyed an otherwise wonderful meal was their parking situation. When you book a reservation with a restaurant that has valet parking, there's an inherent understanding you will be able to utilize said valet parking.

But not today, my friends, no...not today. Today, the valet parking was shut down right as we got there. No signage to indicate this while we waited to find out what happened. Finally some valet guy comes up and tells us they're closed. When I ask why, his response is "I don't have time to argue with you dude, figure out your parking situation".

Wow, well f**k you too for just asking a simple question, DUDE.

When I gently alerted the restaurant to this situation, they basically were like "we don't control the parking". Well, you better EXERT some control, because myself and a number of other folks were quite put out that we had to park 6-10 blocks away and walk back in the Houston heat to join our families for Mother's Day brunches already in progress.

How about a nice tall glass of compassion? Guess that's in short order these days...

Might come back someday. Will be sure it's on a Tuesday at 2pm. Maybe the valet parking might even be open!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Punk's is absolutely worth the hype. From their creative drink and brunch menu, to the fantastic patio and service, they definitely lived up to their reputation. They offer a pretty great southern menu including staples like Fried Chicken (you simply MUST get it, the best in Texas), mac and cheese, black eyed peas, collard greens and many others. As an added bonus, they have a fantastic bar staff and their drinks are quite tasty. I recommend the baked apple sazerac. We came on Mother's Day and expected it to be packed. It certainly was. But don't let that scare you away. Their seating is plentiful and their staff is attentive and quick. I can't recommend them enough.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I love the biscuits and the homemade jam! Sit outside on the patio if its available!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Even though we had a reservation and the restaurant was not crowded they did not have our table ready when we got there. We had a reservation for 7 and they set the table for 6. When I tried to talk to the hostess she just looked at me with a blank stare like she couldn't understand my request. We had to set the table ourselves. The food was good and our waiter was good.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Definitely would not go back for the brunch. The biscuits were very heavy, the chicken wings over breaded and the waffles under cooked. Half of our party was served a good 10 minutes before the rest. Overall a real disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Worst experience ever , we went there with my mother who had a lung surgery 2 weeks ago, we chose the restaurant because is close to the medical center and because they have an open terrace ( my mom can not be in high air conditioning) Once we arrive with our reservation ready the place was practically empty 2 tables inside an 3 at the patio. The host ladies told us we can not be seated at the patio because they will have big parties coming later for dinner ( we arrive 3:30 pm) . So all the effort of going out from the hospital to have a nice lunch was a lost of time. Planning to call my lawyers on Monday.

I recommend Coppa Osteria next door!! Delicious food lost of nice people and with no reservation they seated us in a big table at their patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This turned out to be a great spot for a casual dinner with friends and kids. The food was awesome! Especially the deviled eggs and fried chicken. Great beer and specialty mixed drinks too. This is a perfect place for a casual dinner with kids without compromising on the food. They have a lawn area right off the patio where kids (and some adults) run and play. Great ambiance for the kids and great food and drinks for the adults! Only, complaint was the service was slow. Friendly, but pretty slow. Don't be in a hurry if you go but still worth the trip! Can't wait to take more of my friends and family.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I took a couple of people to Punk's for lunch, and it was their first experience there, and as I suspected they would, they loved it!

I have thoroughly enjoyed every visit I've made there!

It's fabulous!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on April 21, 2017

50th Birthday weekend continuos celebration.

1st visit and well worth the visit

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

If you are not familiar w/ Punk's, please know that for a weekend dinner, the outside seating is a kid place. What you are paying for is to be able to have an adult conversation with friends while all the kids play on the lawn. That being said, you will likely linger through a normal table turnover so please consider tipping your wait staff based on what your ordered and how much time you were there.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Lovely early evening on the outdoor patio. Food was good and served promptly. Lots of people strolling to watch.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had a great Sunday meet up with an old friend. Mimosas were great and a good price. I chose punks for the fried chicken. It was delicious, but I think I did a spicy rub in previous dine-ins with punks and this time it was not spicy at all. The server was great and helpful.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I like this place. Friendly and professional servers, great atmosphere and good food. It wqs my 1st time there but definitely not my last

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 11, 2017

This was first time I had the fried chicken- very good dish. All of their food is well prepared and very tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Sat outside for a late Sunday Brunch. Atmosphere was great, server was very pleasant, fun and attentitive. We ordered the pimento cheese for a starter which tasted really fresh. It was served with ritz crackers, celery and carrots-carrots were the only thing that didnt really seem to be a hit as it didn't pair well. Three of us ordered the simple egg plate with a few variations in eggs/sides which they were happy to accomodate. The other got the grit bowl which seemed to be the hit of the table. I think only one of us was able to clean our plates, they give you a ton of food that will leave you feeling extremely full! I suggest going with a full appetite!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent food and service! Very good place for people watching. Excellent for millennials, families, couples who want great casual dining. Nice outdoor, covered patio! I have already recommended to friends and family!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great comfort food, with welcoming and friendly servers. Went with a group of friends, and all of us were raving about this place. Wonderful and somehow hidden gem in Rice Village!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Excellent dining experience for 13 of us celebrating a coworkers' birthday. The food was delicious and the waitstaff was attentive, friendly and engaging. We all will be back...but not necessarily at the same time! After all, we need to give y'all a break!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great location with kids on an inside quasi enclosed patio area with (fake) grass and a fountain. The food is just ok, but perfect for the kids. The kids meals are very large, and include fruit and a cookie, which is fantastic. Service is very nice and pleasant, but waiters always seem to completely overwhelmed, which is a bit strange.
Overall, great atmosphere and location, but I would not go for the food alone.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The best compliment I can give this restaurant is that the food it is edible, but just barely. The hushpuppies arrived uncooked in the center. The fried chicken was so overdone it reminded me of Christmas dinner at the Griswald's house. The batter is overly dense and salty...My dog wouldn't eat the leftovers I cut off the bone for him and he will eat just about anything. To say the mashed potatoes tasted like powdered mashed potatoes would be an insult to powdered mashed potatoes...these were worse. The mac and cheese was essentially penne pasta with cheese sauce. Serving Kraft macaroni would have been a step up. We dined on a Friday night at 730p. The restaurant was almost empty when we arrived... this should have been the sign to run. This restaurant makes your local cafeteria food look like a Michelin starred restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Service was disorganized at first. Fried chicken was only ok.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great time sitting outside. All meals great. We love the loaded deviled eggs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Delicious chicken & fast service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Solid southern comfort food. Amazing horseradish mashed potatoes. Great service. Fun, lively atmosphere. Good for kids.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The sweet tea was weak. The lemonade tasted artificial. The biscuit in the chicken biscuit was soggy. My bun for my burger was soggy too. The chicken fried steak was subpar. The bacon was too peppery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very good service and good selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Everyone enjoyed the food. They were very good about splitting a meal. The chicken fried steak was different, but tasty. Not a place to go if you are counting carbs, but it was an enjoyable meal. Noise level was not unbearable.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

After the first 2 times I've dined at Punk's I've sworn I will never come back. The food is never above fair. I got the fried chicken and waffles. The waffles were tough (my 12 year old son didn't even like them). Even worse, the fried chicken was made from frozen chicken wings, not even full chicken parts. The waiter was less than good and not attentive at all. I swear the outside seating for those parents who have children is about the only thing keeping this establishment in business. The outdoor patio is fantastic to let your children play in.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Portion for 1//2 chichen was so small that it could have been a quail
More breading than chicken meat
Better value at Popeyes for less money.biscuit hard as rock..gravy out of a jar Sorry but this is an honest evaluation
Punks is a rip off

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Awesome food, awesome ambience. One of my favorite restaurants to eat in the Rice area. The waiters - e.g. David - are really courteous and friendly

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The service was great. Loved the ambiance. Food came out fast and tasted

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

An evening of southern food with superb service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The General manager GRANT rocks!!!! The atmosphere, service and food was amazing!

Tags: Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had lunch with my daughter for her birthday . Food and service was good. Try the mash potatoes w/ a hint of horseradish very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Was seated immediately and initially cared for, however once the order was taken we waited way to long for the meal. Three times, while we waited, waiters came to our table with other tables drinks and food. At the end of the meal we asked the waiter to box up our leftovers that never materialized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Really enjoyed brunch here. The service was great as were the food and drinks. Their farm stand margarita was made with carrot juice! Yum!

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

marginal service. average (at best) food. Greens were grossly under seasoned. Waiter was too busy chatting with colleagues. wont be back; too many better places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Get spot for lunch. Standard American food. However since southern , majority of food contains pork, so not good for someone who doesn't eat pork. But still plenty of options. Great Bloody Mary's

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.