About Prime 93

4315 Manchester Road
Akron, OH 44319
View Larger Map

Our Certified Chefs will present you with delicious and innovative foods that will continue to satisfy and intrigue your palette. Our approach is to infuse contemporary methodology and ingredients while still honoring a classical approach to cuisine. Our menu is a wonderful blend of fine steaks, chops and fresh seafood. With a wide variety of interesting appetizers and creative daily specials, we are sure you will love our food. Unlike so many area restaurants, all our steaks are hand cut, in house to ensure the best quality. All the delectable desserts at Prime are made fresh daily by our very own pastry chef. Please come visit our newly redecorated dining room and lounge soon. The new Wine Room provides an intimate setting to enjoy a selection from our expanded wine list. We are here to make sure every visit to Prime, every special and corporate event, will be one to remember. Prime’s Bar, Lounge, and Wine Room has great live music weekly throughout the year.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 4 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Fridays & Saturdays 4 p.m. to 10 p.m.
Closed on Sundays



Cross Street:
St Rt 619

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(330) 644-2239

Website:
http://www.primeatanthes.com/

Entertainment:
Live music in the Lounge every Friday & Saturday night and Max on Piano every Wednesday night.
Prime also hosts several Murder Mystery Dinner shows each year, please visit our Web site for details on the next upcoming show.

Parking Details:
A full size parking lot is located on the left hand side of the builing as soon as customers pull in. Handicapped parking is towards the right hand side of the building where Prime's lounge in located.
Banquet parking is located in the back of the building.

Executive Chef:
John Bahas

Private Party Facilities:
Jimmy's room is our most intimate & festive room available for parties of 15-30 people. We can also often accomodate large private parties in our dining room, please call for reservations and details.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Warnick: 3306442230x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
"Crime and Pun-ishment"
Murder Mystery Dinner Show
Saturday, October 17th
5:30pm
$45 per person & includes appetizers, dinner, dessert and show!
Call for tickets!

Prime 93 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (7)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Groups (6)
See All
Good for Birthdays (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Seasonal (4)
Live Music (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Casual (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Historic (3)
Romantic (3)
Fun (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Fireplace (2)
Private Room (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Scenic View (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Cozy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Authentic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
194 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

What a wonderful experience! We have be ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

What a wonderful experience! We have been to France and you can be sure the food here is just as good! It's kind of pricey but well worth the money we spent! Fine dining, a great atmosphere,and our server was Amazing! Thank you Taylor😃👌

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Prime four times in the las ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I've been to Prime four times in the last year and the food has always been excellent. I am particularly fond of the 60-day aged filet along with the bean salad, sauerkraut balls and sour dough rolls!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

One of the best dining experiences ever ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

One of the best dining experiences ever in not only Ohio, but in comparison to other experiences in NY, Chicago, Austin and other spots more well known for fine dining. Far exceeded my expectations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner with my friend at The Prime was d ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Dinner with my friend at The Prime was delightful. The food was excellent. The atmosphere was warm & quiet. The service was good. We were not rushed or crowded. We will return soon.

Tags: Seasonal, Disabled Access, Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Food was very good. Service was slow. W ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food was very good. Service was slow. Was nice place for evening meal.

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

For the price of the meals I would expec ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 12, 2016

For the price of the meals I would expect impeccable service and upscale environment. To keep this short -The food was definitely good but not presented well. But the rest was below par .

Having people coming into dining area in jeans and t shirt and tennis shoes to sit at the bar . Is not an upscale environment/ atmosphere! Our server was average at best.

We had a couple questions about what comes with the meal and she didn't know and gave an excuse that the menu has been changed. Well for the price of this meal she should take the time to know the menu. But the worst of it was, after the meal was delivered the server never came back, I had finished my glass of wine a good 10 minutes before I had to ask another server to find our server. I hate that!

The food can be out of this world good , but if the rest of the dining experience is bad, the quality of the food can't make up for poor service.

There are MANY upscale restaurants in our area that charge less but have exquisite meals and have impeccable service year in and year out! Simply put I wouldn't recommend it because it is priced too high for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Crab and spinach dip appetizer had a fri ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Crab and spinach dip appetizer had a fried bread on the side and is a great combination. The dining room is comfortable. The staff are friendly and definitely made the evening enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Totally dissappointed again! Waited 10 ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Totally dissappointed again! Waited 10 minutes for the hostess to finish her cell and smoke break to be seated. Yes, reservations had been made. None of us were happy with the quality of the entrees. Francesca was our waitress and as usual was execellant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

First we were seated at a table in the b ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 30, 2016

First we were seated at a table in the bar area. The guitar player/singer was so loud we couldn't hear each other. We were moved to another room. Server was sort of disinterested, but ok. The food for the four of us was below average. Prime rib was poor....tough and no flavor. (Ordered rare). Chicken and pasta was awful...breading was doughy and pasta (mushroom and spinach sauce) was overwhelmed by lemon. Chicken parmesan was "ok" and walleye was not great. Wine offerings by the glass were minimal. The four of us will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

We have gone to this location for almost ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We have gone to this location for almost 30 years, from back when it was Anthe's. We always ask to be seated with Claudia, she is a phenomenal waitress, and remembers our likes even when we haven't been there for awhile. It was just the two of us this time and the meal was wonderful. This remains one of my favorite places to dine.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always great food in a great atmosphere. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Always great food in a great atmosphere. The staff is always friendly and helpful. I hate to share the best kept secret but the patio area is a hidden gem! I just want to make sure I can still get a table outside!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I usually enjoy going her ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 25, 2016

My husband and I usually enjoy going here but our last visit wasn't so great. We took a close friend here for her birthday. We had a long wait time on food, one appetizer was burnt. My husband steak was raw. There was also a weird smell coming from the lobby, I believe the carpets are in need of a good cleaning. They did remove the burnt appetizer from our bill but was a very disappointing evening indeed!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Tried and true restaurant. Attentive ch ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Tried and true restaurant. Attentive chef and great waitress and bar staff. They were busy with some large parties but they all huddle! Food is good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Place was not busy and service was extre ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Place was not busy and service was extremely slow, asked for extra bread and never received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

My husband and I rarely visit the same r ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 21, 2016

My husband and I rarely visit the same restaurant twice. We have been here several times, each entrée is better than the last. They start with fresh breads and a delicate, delicious bean salad. My husband ordered the meatball and ricotta appetizer, his dinner entrée was sirloin steak with cheddar and bacon mashed potatoes and grilled zucchini and summer squash, served with a salad. I ordered the brazed beef ribs with wild mushrooms, sweet peas and truffle oil served over pasta. What an amazing flavor combination. We had lots to take home since the portions are so generous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a great place for a nice intimate d ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 17, 2016

It's a great place for a nice intimate dinner. Try the outdoor seating too. It's an amazing little hideaway

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Three Cousins get together. Our server, ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Three Cousins get together. Our server, Taylor, was outstanding. She was knowledgable of the wine list and provided excellent recommendations.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Mother's day

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food just a bit too expensive. For their prices there are better places but I would try again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Forgot how bad service could be

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 7, 2016

From the moment we entered the restaurant, the service was dithering and not very nice and that never changed. Granted, we were 15 minutes late for our reservation, but the restaurant was not full, or even close. Our waitress gave us water glasses and salads swimming in dressing (so gross and not hard to see, those should not have been set on the table if the server was blind enough to fill them in the first place) after it took at least 30 minutes to take our order.

It took an hour at least to get our food. My husband ordered mushrooms and onions for an extra $4. for his steak, at about $1.25 a per morsel of the tiny amount.

He was afraid to mention it at that point since we did need to leave at some point and he wanted it to accompany warm food.

The chef (?) served our food and said that people filled up on bread and salad so often!

With service like that, I can see why.

This seems poorly managed to me and it is a shame.

The food was fine once we got it, but the overall experience was bad.

I

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Good service and setting but disappointing food

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Good wasn't bad, but not worth their price. Steaks were plain and over cooked. Waitress was friendly and prompt, we were just underwhelmed by the food

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

The Best in Stark or Summit County!

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 30, 2016

As always Anthe's 93 Prime was delicious. We called ahead to request that John Bahas make beef wellington! Delicious! My dinner companion's stuffed scrod was outstanding as well! Friendly and timely service. The duo singing was a value added!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lisa

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great evening out-Food was great-staff was friendly and attentive. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

So so a bit overpriced for the quality

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 1, 2016

So so a bit overpriced for the quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

My hubby and I went here for a nice Frid ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 1, 2016

My hubby and I went here for a nice Friday night date. The place looks fairly run down from the outside and the inside is pretty dated. All this is a ok if the food and drink are good. Our waitress was nice. We waited forever for her to take our order... I had nearly finished my first martini. We ordered calamari for an appetizer. It desperately needed salt... but was ok after that. .. I've had better but also had worse. Our order was finally taken. I ordered the champagne chicken and the hubs ordered veal parm. One word about the meun... the menu that is on this website is not the same menu that the serve in house.. probably 1/2 of what's in this website is actually on the menu. So with dinner I had a wedge salad and my man got the tossed salad. Both were ok.... the croutons were actually the nest I've ever had but my salad was LOADED with Blue cheese, I mean to the point that it was very off putting. Both our Entrées needed salt. We didn't order dessert. So the waitress brings the check and I pay. She comes back with my card and the receipt. .. what bothered me the most about the while experience. . After I signed the bill she came and got it.. then looked at it and took it to the hostess who was holding our check as we walked out. It was almost like they thought we were trying to skip on the check or something. ........ anyway, all in all, we won't be back. There are way better options in the area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

The atmosphere is very relaxing and calm ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 26, 2016

The atmosphere is very relaxing and calming, almost romantic. The food was ok. The Frutti De Mare was missing something but couldn't figure out what it was, the flavor just wasn't there. The prime rib on the other hand had a good flavor to it and was worth the price. It did take a long time for our entree's (over an hour from the time we sat down). Not sure if it's their custom to take an appetizer order first then take a food order after the app has come out but thought it was odd. All in all we will give it another chance. Server was attentive to our needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Valentine's Day at Anthe's

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Another special occasion at Anthe's! After 30 years, it still is a satisfying venue for our anniversaries and other special occasions. Particularly good choice vs. driving to Cleveland!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Valentine Day

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 13, 2016

It was loud and very busy. Slow getting food which gave me a chance to try the house Merlot which wasn't that good. Food was okay.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Just so-so - Save your money

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 23, 2016

My wife and I had heard about this place, so we thought we'd splurge a little for a fancy meal. We arrived early (5:30 pm) and were able to order off the Early Bird Menu.

The draft beer was cold but was put into a warm glass, so it turned warm quickly. We ordered the shrimp cocktail for an appetizer. While the shrimp were a good size, it was difficult seeing how they could charge $14 for 6 shrimp. Our waitress must have been new, because she didn't know much about the menu.

For dinner I ordered the broasted chicken with mashed potatoes, and my wife had the Scrod with fries. My chicken was very hot, and my potatoes were very cold. My wife's scrod was delicious, but her fries were cold and very greasy. They must have just dumped the bottom of the fryer basket on her plate as she had about 20 over-fried little balls of whatever on her plate.

While we were seated off to the side in a nice dining area, it was open to the bar area which was very loud. The noise from there made us feel as if we were in the bar and drew our attention away from our "quiet" dinner.

All in all, it was not worth the $60 price tag. We've had better meals at Bob Evans at less than half that price. I doubt very much we'll be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

A Good Christmas Dinner

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2015

It's one of the only Akron-area restaurants that are open on Christmas day. We had a nice meal in a beautiful atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

This is a great place for a nice night o ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 20, 2015

This is a great place for a nice night out. Beautiful bar area. The crowd seems a little older but a very nice place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Filet was absolutely delicious!

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 17, 2015

The Filet was absolutely delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Our meals were perfect as always. The s ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 15, 2015

Our meals were perfect as always. The staff is always amazing. Always friendly and always professional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Did not like sitting in the bar with a l ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 31, 2015

Did not like sitting in the bar with a lounge singer that was too loud and not that good. Would have preferred a quieter seat with my husband. Food was delicious and our server Taylor was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Booked reservation on YP app

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 24, 2015

We booked our reservation through the YP app via Open Table. Super easy to do and the service was great.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

We went to Prime for wife's birthday. T ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 21, 2015

We went to Prime for wife's birthday. The piano player was a delightful surprise. I had the ribeye, ordered it medium. The first few bites of the steak were medium and juicy, the other end was more on the well side and drier. Wife had the lamb, she enjoyed every bite. The atmosphere was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Not tonight

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 3, 2015

My boyfriend and I come in on Friday night just for the prime rib, it was about 8:20. We place our order. We received our salad, finished eating that and about 10 to 15 mins later our server come to the table to tell us that they were out of the prime rib and that they stated cooking the prime pork for us. My question is why would you not have known that you were out of the prime rib when we placed the order and why would you just start cooking something without first asking if we wanted that? I enjoy this restaurant, but was very upset with the service on that night.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Fantastic Anniversary dinner

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 2, 2015

We decided to celebrate our anniversary here because we had won a gift card at a local fundraiser and we loved the food, atmosphere and whole dining experience. The pretzel crusted grouper was amazing! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was ok. The atmosphere seemed a lit ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 26, 2015

Food was ok. The atmosphere seemed a little dated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Still the Best in Akron/Canton

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 18, 2015

My four friends and I returned to enjoy yet another fabulous dinner! This is by far our favorite restaurant in the Akron area. Several of us had the grouper with hash browns; the best fish dish I've had in decades. Others in our party enjoyed the perfectly done strip steak. John Bahas stopped by our table to chat for a while and inquire about our meals. The service was attentive and timely but not intrusive. If you can find better food at a more reasonable price anywhere in Akron, I love to hear about it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, and Service! One issue only ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 22, 2015

Great food, and Service! One issue only. When we arrived nobody was at the front greeting area. I had to go look for someone to seat us. Had reservations and requested to have an outside view. PERFECT,

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.