Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Prime 47 - Indianapolis

Prime 47…Indy’s Steakhouse is Indianapolis’s only locally owned & operated Prime Steakhouse. In addition to our wonderful steaks we offer a variety a fresh seafood and an extensive wine list. What really sets Prime 47 apart from other Indy steakhouses is our staff. Our servers work in teams of two to ensure that every guests has the Prime Experience.

Set in the Majestic Building, Prime 47…Indy’s Steakhouse is a site to behold. Built in 1895 for the Indiana Gas Company, this unique building has a lot to offer. From its original tile floors, marble columns and 18-foot windows to view Pennsylvania and Maryland Streets, the atmosphere starts from the ground up.

Prime 47 is one of the few downtown Indianapolis steakhouses that featuring live music nightly.

47 S Pennsylvania St
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: hours may vary

Cross Street:
Maryland Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 624-0720

Website:
http://prime47.com/

Entertainment:
Prime 47 has live music nightly beginning at 6pm. Our pianist plays a variety of music from the classical jazz to classic rock to current pop hits

Catering:
Prime 47 offers off-site catering arrangements. From boardroom meetings to corporate events, our team will provide you with a Prime Experience. For more information please call the restaurant directly.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available curb side on Pennsylvania Street for $10 per car

Executive Chef:
Patrick Stark

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for the Prime Time Sunday Brunch!!! For $34.95 you can enjoy an All You Can Eat Buffet, Bottomless Smirnoff Bloody Mary Bar & Bottomless Mimosas. Brunch is offered on Sundays before Colts Home Games.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

No matter what the occasion – a personal gathering or professional event we will take care of every detail to ensure the perfect experience. We hope that you will consider Prime 47 for all of your premier functions.

Prime 47 - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (60)
Special Occasion (57)
Romantic (54)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Business Meals (49)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Notable Wine List (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Live Music (22)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Fun (14)
Historic (12)
Hot Spot (12)
People Watching (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Casual (11)
Private Room (10)
Cozy (9)
Scenic View (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Authentic (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Great Beer (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Family Style (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Tapas (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Healthy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
409 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Shrimp cocktail was very good. Huge shrimp & great sauce(I liked it better than St. Elmo's sauce). My companion's Scallops were undercooked and risotto had no taste. My steak was a little dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Dined for husband's birthday and had excellent experience. Fantastic food (dry-aged KC strip / filet mignon), superior service, and lovely atmosphere and locale.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Recently took my teacher wife there for her birthday and when we were finished with our meals, the waiter was kind enough to bring out a large, freshly baked chocolate chip cookie with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top, complete with a birthday candle! My wife gives Prime 47 an A+.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We always enjoy the food and the service at Prime 47. They have become a standard for all of our special occasions as we KNOW everything will be amazing and memorable!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We had an early pre-concert meal and it was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I was sooo disappointed! I ordered a filet cooked medium, it was so tough that after chewing for a while I had to spit it out, I could not get it chewed up enough to swallow. What a waste, and we were celebrating my birthday. I will never go back and I will definitely tell my friends not to go there. Very sad to have to throw away a $40.00 filet. And they also asked if we were celebrating anything special and we told them my birthday, but they did nothing.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Prime 47 is a great place to go for an anniversary! The food was amazing and the service was excellent. Very polite and welcoming.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 8, 2017

booked this for a business celebration--all participants very pleased with the food, beverages, and service. made for a memorable evening for all. TKS!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This place was great! The food was very well prepared and delicious. The serving team of Chris and Sarah was OUTSTANDING!!!!! If you can request them to be your guides for your meal, DO IT!!! We would absolutely come back :)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent food and service. We dined there for our 14th wedding anniversary. Our experience was made extra special with a personalized "Happy 14th Anniversary" menu, complimentary framed photo, and desert. We will be back for many more anniversary dinners!!! Thank you!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Everything about our experience was great. Not a place for a quiet dinner, but outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The building and interior provided a great ambiance and the service
was very good. The filet, while seasoned well, was disappointing.
It was not the quality I would expect for an establishment that seems
to taute its steaks. The truffle mashed potatoes were great, with the
brussel sprouts lacking in flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was excellent, as described and served timely. Waiter was knowledgeable and fun to interact with.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 5, 2017

First time at the restaurant. Service, food and atmosphere were outstanding. I will definitely return and recommend to family members.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Everything about place screamed mediocrity. It wasn't bad just nothing memorable about the experience or food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Service was incredible. They made my moms birthday special and extraordinary! Food was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Service was excellent, food and cocktails were amazing! Would recommend and definitely will go back. SC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It wasn't beautiful scenery, my girlfriend and I went before prom and she enjoyed it and it's atmosphere, I had fun and the food was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Awesome venue and great live music. Our server was very personable. We will be back

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The food is absolutely amazing and they went out of their way to make my boyfriend's birthday special. We will definitely be visiting again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We celebrated a birthday at Prime 47, the food was superb, the service was excellant, I would highly recommend this restaurant and we will certainly be visiting again...

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We always enjoy dining at Prime 47 for special occasions and when we just need a treat! The food is always exceptional, but this time we tried the Japanese Wagyu... WOW... it is like butter! Our service is always outstanding there and they don't forget a face! I feel welcomed and appreciated every time we dine here! Thank you again for a great evening!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, People Watching, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

This was the second time I have been here and I will come back again. The whole atmosphere is inviting when you walk in. The steaks was absolutely delicious and cooked to perfection. Looking forward to FDIC 2018 to go eat again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I would like to start of with terrible service couldn't wait to take my order for our food and never stopped by to check on us also one of the entrees we order was prepared wrong so was nasty and all he said was worry it missed a few things and if he wanted anything else like my brother would have order anything else with the thought of y'all will mess up again no and. No manager stopped by to apologize for the inconvenience which was crazy but the bus boy was great and very helpful the only bright part of my dinner. I will never attend there again ✌🏽

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was my first visit to Prime 47. We were given the "royal" treatment. The manager was fantastic. Thank you for this a memorable experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Had a group of 9. Happy overall but service was mediocre. They weren't that busy but the waiter seemed overwhelmed and seldom came by. Usually better... Food was great. Steaks are their strong point. We still like them.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 12, 2017

This is the place to go before a pacer game. Right around the corner from the field house and they know it. Great steaks in and out in plenty of time for the game.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The service was awesome. Two servers did everything they could to make sure our experience was a great one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent food and service. The wine list was notable and extensive. Nathan was attentive and made good recommendations. The only comment I have is that what many restaurants do to a single diner; they put me in an out of the way table almost under the staircase.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I took my husband here for his birthday. The servers were very attentive and went over the menu. The food was great. We got calamari as an appetizer and it was amazing. Our entrees were cooked to perfection. We rounded off the night with a cookie topped with vanilla icecream and chocolate...it was to die for

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was good, but it was loud. Hard to even tak at the table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The steak literally feels like it is melting in your mouth! Phenomenal!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We love Prime 47. 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Awesome food, make sure to try the shrimp cocktail. Knowledgeable staff and peaceful atmosphere. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great service and many of the workers stopped by our table to tell us happy anniversary! Fabulous food and ambiance!!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We arrived early and the team service was fantastic. The food and drink selections are one of the best in the city. Where the service fell off was waiting for the check and then getting it taken care of. It would have been OK if we had a drink while we waited but it was 15 min before I was able to get someone's attention and another 15 min for him to see the check was ready. I know some people will say "just ask" but if I'm paying $300 for two people I shouldn't have to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was wonderful. the steak was excellent and really like the choice of toppings but the sides really made the meal. The asparagus, truffle mashed potatoes, and roasted brussel sprouts were all wonderful! We had a birthday so they brought out a warm cookie cake which was tasty and enough to share.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Best steak we've ever had, anywhere, and we travel a lot. Service was excellent as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The service was outstanding. Both Scott and Walter made sure that everything was perfect. The food was excellent as always.

Tags: Business Meals, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.