Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Prime 47 - Indianapolis

Prime 47…Indy’s Steakhouse is Indianapolis’s only locally owned & operated Prime Steakhouse. In addition to our wonderful steaks we offer a variety a fresh seafood and an extensive wine list. What really sets Prime 47 apart from other Indy steakhouses is our staff. Our servers work in teams of two to ensure that every guests has the Prime Experience.

Set in the Majestic Building, Prime 47…Indy’s Steakhouse is a site to behold. Built in 1895 for the Indiana Gas Company, this unique building has a lot to offer. From its original tile floors, marble columns and 18-foot windows to view Pennsylvania and Maryland Streets, the atmosphere starts from the ground up.

Prime 47 is one of the few downtown Indianapolis steakhouses that featuring live music nightly.

47 S Pennsylvania St
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: hours may vary

Cross Street:
Maryland Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 624-0720

Website:
http://prime47.com/

Entertainment:
Prime 47 has live music nightly beginning at 6pm. Our pianist plays a variety of music from the classical jazz to classic rock to current pop hits

Catering:
Prime 47 offers off-site catering arrangements. From boardroom meetings to corporate events, our team will provide you with a Prime Experience. For more information please call the restaurant directly.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available curb side on Pennsylvania Street for $10 per car

Executive Chef:
Patrick Stark

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for the Prime Time Sunday Brunch!!! For $34.95 you can enjoy an All You Can Eat Buffet, Bottomless Smirnoff Bloody Mary Bar & Bottomless Mimosas. Brunch is offered on Sundays before Colts Home Games.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 4:00PM - 6:15PM 8:45PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

No matter what the occasion – a personal gathering or professional event we will take care of every detail to ensure the perfect experience. We hope that you will consider Prime 47 for all of your premier functions.

Prime 47 - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Good for a Date (33)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
See All
Business Meals (21)
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Romantic (17)
Bar Seating (15)
Live Music (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Fun (11)
People Watching (9)
Scenic View (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Authentic (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Cozy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
493 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

Large portions so beware when you order. The truffle fries are fantastic! Expensive, but service is excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

Good food as always. Waiter all over us to order, once we ordered never saw him again. Had to get up to find someone to pay bill.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great place for Colts brunch on Sunday. But, please keep it a secret, haha!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Food was okay and the staff was very nice. I had the TJ’s Tomahawk that was waygu beef but wasn’t as good as several other USDA Prime steaks I’ve had. At the cost of $119 I expected it to be better, not worse. Started off rough with broken glass on the table but they swapped the cloth out promptly, no big deal. Then came new glasses and utensils but two of three glasses had little dead flies in them. Waiter apologized and brought new but a rough start to an expensive dinner. Very, very loud in there when we visited. Our sever duo had a few bigger tables from what I could tell and we were pretty neglected as a table of three as a result.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Really liked this place, but a bit too noisy for conversation with a table of 8 until the crowd thinned out. Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Loved our sever. Exceptional service. Beautiful window seat. The manager was charming and completely understood our late arrival before Garth concert. Beautiful night. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Your downtown location could learn quite a bit from your Carmel location. I have been to both. Downtown had large dirty windows that the early evening sun could barely shine through. We were rushed through our dinner and each course was squeezed onto the table while we were eating the prior course. Waiter was pouring more wine into our glasses when we had barely taken a sip of the first pour so needles to say our wine never got any air. In Carmel, the staff seemed to care much more, they were composed and not rushed, they were politely inquisitive with good suggestions and recommendations. When they asked how it was going, it was with sincere interest. I would not return to spend $300 on a rush job with dirty windows while trying to impress a key business partner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Very good food and atmosphere. The waiter and chef made our special request for an item not on the menu. Piano player was great. Highly recommend this restaurant and the filet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

I had the Waygu filet and it was a whole different experience. I would recommend this steak for anyone that loves a good filet. Great place, please try it if you have the chance.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Our guests had such a wonderful time and loved the food. Plan to go back in the near future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Disappointed with the pre game buffet. Limited selection. Virtually no pastry options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 23, 2017

No complaints, the food was incredible. It's definitely in my top three steakhouses now. I will be returning someday soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Amazing steaks, staff and management. Best steak house in Indianapolis by far!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great Colts brunch, the atmosphere is a lot of fun to be around.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Service was not great and food okay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Such a great experience! I had to wait on a friend for a while and the bartender Molly took great care of me on top of making me a fantastic dirty martini! The other bartender CK made a great recommendation on the Lamb Lollipop appetizer. I highly suggest taking the chance on them! Savory, tender, and delicious. Once my friend got there we decided to stay at the bar and finish our meal. Great decision on our part because the bar staff made us feel right at home and the lobster bisque and Dry Aged KC strip was to die for. Definitely going back for smiles, tasty food, and a good time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 10, 2017

A truly terrible experience - food, service and atmosphere. The restaurant was beyond noisy due to an overzealous pianist competing with the commotion of a large crowd headed to a concert. Service was inattentive to the point we considered leaving. Steaks ordered medium rare were served charred beyond well done. A requested glass of wine was never delivered to the table but made it onto our bill. It was as if someone was playing a practical joke on us. To say we were dsappointed is to understate our impression of what is supposed to be a fine restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I love eating here. It was a bit crowded the other night because of the U2 concert and louder and busier than usual, but still an excellent experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Can always count on a good meal at Prime 47 downtown. Don't mistake it for Prime 47 in Carmel. Not the same!! Downtown is SO MUCH better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Best dinner event ever the people who work there are the best staff

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Prime 47 Never disappoints always great food, service, ambience!!! Always a 5 star recommendation!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

I could not say enough about what a wonderful experience we had! Every part of our evening was top notch. The building is lovely and has wonderful ambiance. The food was some of the best we have ever had! My husband and I shared a Fillet Mignon and Scallops. They were both heavenly. The wait staff was fun, attentive and generous. Our waiter, Armondo, brought us a free desert since it was our wedding anniversary. Even the manager came over to introduce himself and visit for a few minutes. We will go back to the downtown Prime 47 every time we are in Indianapolis!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Groups, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

While the servers were friendly and knowledgeable, the dinner took nearly 2 hours for 2 people.

The appetizers and side dishes were delicious. We had shrimp cocktail and lump crab meat to start and the roasted potatoes and Brussel Sprouts side dishes. They were abundant and tasty.

However, the steaks themselves were both less than adequate. I got the KC strip ($68) and my wife got the 12oz fillet mignon ($51). Both were orders medium rare, as all good steaks should be.

The strip steak was both tough, dry and poorly cooked. It was the same temperature throughout with no crispiness to the outside or fatty parts. The fillet was slightly better than the strip, but still tougher than a good fillet should be. For $119 worth of meat, both my wife and I were sorely disappointed.

The atmosphere of the restaurant was pure upscale steakhouse and the setting is very elegant. The live piano playing adds a nice touch to a romantic evening.

It was overall a pleasurable experience, but the lack of quality of the steak was too much to overlook. We will not be returning during our next trip to Indianapolis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Fabulous ambiance, service, food & menu. Location is prime.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

I enjoyed my time at Prime 47. They provided excellent customer service and the food was great. Mr. Chris, Mr. Scott and Mr. Justin made our experience awesome and excellent. It was also so extrodinary to see pictures of so many famous people dining there on their Wall of Fame.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 1, 2017

They lost our reservation. Without apologies, they sat us in a dark corner next to a preparation station. Food was amazing but an apology and a nice table like we had requested for my birthday would have been nice.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Cozy, intimate and beautiful restaurant in an historic building. Food was exceptional and our server was prompt, knowledgeable and courteous. We'll be back for another occasion soon.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 28, 2017

My date and I sat at the bar before a concert at the Murat and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Not only were the beverages and food exceptional, Molly and Greg are top-shelf bartenders and make you feel like you really belong there. I couldn't recommend this spot more before a show at the Murat, as its only a 4 minute cab ride away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

The food, service atmosphere was fantastic. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food was great. Service was great. Loved the Kung pow Brussels sprouts. They are a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Prime 47 is our favorite place for steak in Indianapolis. We had great food and Tammy provided excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food was great, but service was not good. I was a bit disappointed. It was not busy at all.

We had been before and service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Quite possibly the best filet I've ever had. Everything was phenomenal from the crab cake appetizer, the jalepeno beer cheese soup, the filet, at gratin potatoes, and the cookie pie desert. Service was awesome as well. Can't remember the waiter' name but he had a pretty cool mustache. I would highly recommend this restaurant..!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Oh My Golly Gosh!!! Why didn't I come here sooner? I am an avid lover of Fillet and Prime 47 does it perfectly. As a matter of fact if there was a word to describe perfect I would use it. If you want a top notch steak Prime 47 will not disappoint!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Food was exceptional. Filet that you could almost cut with a fork. Tasty salad, very tasty au gratin potatoes, and delicious chocolate cake. Strong drinks. They took our picture and gave it to us in a frame, which was a very nice touch. Only complaint would be the sewer gas smell in the hostess stand area. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Great food even better service! Beautiful restaurant with great live piano playing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Live Music, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

The food was great the staff very nice. The reservations went very well even though one person didn't show up, they accommodate us well. We had a large party of 8 people and they pulled tables together. The table looked great but it was right up against the waiter's side bar where they keep the water and stuff to stock the tables. People on that side of the table keep getting bumped throughout the whole evening. We asked if we could move the tables out and were told no. We asked if we could switch tables and were also told no. Mind you they were not very busy and there were other empty tables. I did enjoy the place but would not recommend for large groups of people. They do not have the means to accommodate them. But if you only have like 4 people – shouldn’t be a problem.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This was one of the best dining experiences we have ever had! Everything about it was great! The meal, service, ambience......... (I could go on and on) was perfect. Our steaks had great flavor and cooked perfectly. Our server "the big guy" Scott was amazing except that he is an Indiana fan! haha He suggested a wine and it was delicious as well. And to finish the evening, our dessert was to die for, The half cooked chocolate chip cookie! After having a disappointing dinner and experience the night before at St. Elmos, Prime 47 was GREAT! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Our food was not hot, potatoes were crusted over (like they had been sitting under a warmer too long) and warm but not hot. Same for our steaks, they were cooked to proper doneness but not hot. Butter would not melt on top. Each of the sides were warm but not hot.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 15, 2017

This used to be one of my favorite restaurants for quality of the food, excellence of service and ambiance. Suffice to say, the ambiance. The rest...not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.