About PRIMA Ristorante

1522 North Main St.
Walnut Creek, CA 94596
View Larger Map

Guests from the Bay Area and the world over celebrate Italian sensibility in this stylish ristorante, with the comfort and sophistication reminiscent of Florence and Rome.
Dining at PRIMA is like taking a culinary journey throughout the regions of Italy. Executive Chef, Peter Chastain, changes the menu daily, using the freshest of nature's bounty - creating a dazzling mix of the finest ingredients, resulting in authentic Italian cuisine that is exquisitely pure and immaculately simple.
Of course, dining at PRIMA wouldn't be complete without a choice of over 1,600 wines from international "artisan" producers. With PRIMA VINI retail wine shop adjacent to the restaurant, guests may purchase their favorite vintage to take home, or special order wines through PRIMA VINI's wine clubs.
PRIMA is the perfect venue to celebrate a special occasion, linger over a sumptuous meal, or design a special dinner party (with customized menus and wines to match) Buon Appetito!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; BAR Service Available 2:30pm - 5:00pm Mon thru Saturday; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 935-7780

Website:
http://primawine.com/

Catering:
Prima can accommodate almost any catering needs.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $11.00 with validation.

Public Transit:
Prima is a few short minutes from the Walnut Creek Bart Station.

Executive Chef:
Peter Chastain

Private Party Facilities:
PRIMA offers both private and semi-private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Lori Johnston: (925) 935-7780 ext. 26

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit our website www.primawine.com/events.php to view a list of our up coming special events and Friday Night wine tastings. Note that BAR Service Available 2:30pm - 5:00pm Mon thru Saturday.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

PRIMA Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Notable Wine List (41)
Fit for Foodies (35)
See All
Good for Birthdays (34)
Good for a Date (31)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Romantic (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Business Meals (21)
Authentic (20)
Cozy (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Fireplace (13)
Private Room (11)
Wood Oven (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Fun (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Casual (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Seasonal (7)
Healthy (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Family Style (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Comfort Food (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Live Music (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1723 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A constant for us over many years that n ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

A constant for us over many years that never disappoints. The menu changes often, the food is always fabulous and the service is always good. Chef Peter Chastain is a master in putting things together that complement each other and so that one flavor doesn't overwhelm everything else. Also, the pasta is outstanding.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Prima's manager was unwilling to work wi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Prima's manager was unwilling to work with us even though we had a reservation through Open Table. He said he only had high tops at the bar and that his tables were reserved for his regular non-Open Table patrons. Can you imagine sitting your 90 year old mother on a wobbly stool? Seriously! The rest of the evening was just ruined from that point on. The five pasta plates listed included a risotto topped with wild boar ragu. You really had to search for the actual pasta on the menu. The veal was tough and fatty covered in a thick gooey sauce. Misspelled wines on the wine list was a challenge for the staff as well e.g. "Chery-Chambertin." I will not be a return patron.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Went for Valentine's Day dinner. The foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Went for Valentine's Day dinner. The food was good, not great. It was pricey $98.00 per person,

3 courses. My pork chop was slightly undercooked it was red at the bone and a bit dry at the outer edges. I would probably go back when the standard menu was available, just to compare.

Overall it was pleasant, but not "Special".

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This is such a special place. From the m ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

This is such a special place. From the moment you walk in and are warmly greeted to the marvelous wine and cocktail selection and inventive and superbly satisfying entrees, it is outstanding.

Thank you for making every time at Prima's a memorable and delightful experience!

BRAVO!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Lunch on Valentine at 1 PM. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

We went for Lunch on Valentine at 1 PM. Not all that crowded.

We had not been here in years but food is as good as always, pretty much on par with Il Fornio a couple of blocks away.

I think that the price is what keeps most people away, lunch was $100 for 2, with one glass of wine and dessert.

She had fish and I had Bolognese pasta, shared a beet salad. All delicious, portion sizes reasonable. We'll be back for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had lunch here on Valentine's Day with m ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Had lunch here on Valentine's Day with my husband. As always good food, good service and lovely ambiance. Surprised that the bill was over $100 for pasta, a shared salad and a glass of wine each, as I usually come here for dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

My partner and I went to Prima for our V ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My partner and I went to Prima for our Valentine's Day dinner (one day early) and had an amazing meal. The wine and food was delectable and worth every penny. The ambiance gave the air of a fine dining restaurant without the pretentiousness. The service was absolutely impeccable. We drove from Pt Reyes to eat at Prima and it was worth the journey. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. This was our first time h ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food was good. This was our first time here. There was a strange musk smell in the room we were sat. Hopefully the rest if the restaurant doesn't stink.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Attractive dining room, bar and side roo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Attractive dining room, bar and side room. Staff was very welcoming, even though we were early. Bartender was attentive, fun and informative and his martinis were excellent. But the food was only mediocre. We were each given two tiny (maybe two cubicinches) of bread when we sat down and there was no offer of more. There was way too much oil in the salad dressing and way to much dressing on the salad. Way, way, way too much. We had the daily catch as the main dish. The fish was very delicate and delicious, but the portions were minuscule and it was served on a bed of almost tasteless stewed vegetables overwhelmed by a red sauce that tasted like Ragu out of a bottle. With a couple of martinis and a bottle of a modest white, the bill was north of $250, which was in keeping with the setting and the service, but way out of proportion to the quality of the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Setting was not exactly intimate, but it ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Setting was not exactly intimate, but it still felt private. The food was closer to authentic Italian than most, but I was disappointed with the pork chop I ordered. Although I stressed to the waiter that I prefer pork medium-rare, it was way overdone. My companion's lamb was quite good, though; so I am willing to give Prima another try.

We. Fought our own wine, so I can't speak to the wine list. At $25, corkage is a bit steep, but worth it if you bring an expensive bottle.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

restaurant needs one potato option or at ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 12, 2017

restaurant needs one potato option or at least a potato side

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

This is a special occasion place with go ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is a special occasion place with good food and great service. Unfortunately it's got a lot of items on the menu that are very overpriced. $18 for 2 scallops, $16 for 2 halfs of an artichoke with nothing inside them- steamed, no seasoning or anything special. Entrees are more interesting but still priced high, even for the Bay Area. ($38 for a fish entree) We came away feeling that we'd had an adequate meal at a premium price.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The service was friendly and comfortable ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The service was friendly and comfortable. The menu was not overwhelming, but just the right number of selections. The food was delicious. I really liked the open pizza oven, the bar area, outdoor seating and attached wine cellar. I will come back again for lunch or dinner.

Tags: People Watching, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful dinner with family and i ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner with family and in laws last weekend. The wild boar raviolis and canollini's were excellent, service was good and noise level was high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Anniversary dinner. Hostess was very acc ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Anniversary dinner. Hostess was very accomodating with our table preference. Quiet fireplace dining room. Tableside service caliber was appropriate for the atmosphere. Beverages were slow to arrive at the table throughout the dining experience. Silverware placement not available per ordered course. For example no knife for main entree and no fork or spoon upon arrival of dessert. Pesce halibut special had nice complex flavor but slightly overcooked. The linguine with crabmeat should be put to rest; visually unappealing, it was reminiscent of grade school tuna casserole, with it's garnish of toasted breadcrumbs; dry with barely noticeable sauce; with half of the entree remaining, looked over to nearby table where the patron also had more than half her linguine remaining as their table was cleared. For $28, did not meet expectations. Server was knowledeable on wine list. Overall, did not live up to expectations at this price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and service were excellent! Thank ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food and service were excellent! Thank you for a great meal!

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Primas numerous time and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I have been to Primas numerous time and the food and the service never fails to disappoint. The food is spectacular (somewhat pricey) as is the ambiance (we dined in the fireplace room). In addition the service is very courteous and the waiters go to great lengths to accommodate your needs. Prima is one of the best restaurants in Walnut Creek and the eastbay!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb as always

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Superb as always

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall very excellent experience. Servi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Overall very excellent experience. Service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Well crafted food experience. Definitely ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Well crafted food experience. Definitely will come back when in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food but way overpriced. simple pie ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Good food but way overpriced. simple piece of fish for lunch at 36$!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Great experience, picked some nice wines ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great experience, picked some nice wines with the Somme and then had the waitress pair foods until we were blissfully gorged. The short rib ravioli, oh yea!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It's all about the chanterelles! Order e ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

It's all about the chanterelles! Order everything on the menu that contains them and you will leave delighted. My dining partner had the Chef's Recommendation prix fixe menu w/wine pairing, which was an excellent choice. Based on that, I would've given the food 5 stars. If only I had done the same. My dish--linguine w/crab --was over-salted, and the coffee for my affogato arrived tepid, hence four/five stars. The service was spot on with one minor quibble--after every course our server would tell us how perfect and delicious the food had been, as if we needed a cheerleader to drum up enthusiasm for the meal. We often celebrate special occasions at Prima and we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a great experience. Food was fan ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had a great experience. Food was fantastic and we every last bite. We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Though the food was quite good, the serv ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Though the food was quite good, the service was far from acceptable. Finished 2 bottles of $160 wine before any food arrived. It took 2 hrs and 15 min to eat, and a 20% gratuity was automatically added to our bill for 4 adults and a child. Not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Aside from not the best options for a ta ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Aside from not the best options for a table, everything was great from the owner to the food, best Italian in the bay!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Hot Spot, Fireplace, People Watching, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Dinner and service were both excellent. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Dinner and service were both excellent. Enjoyed purchasing a bottle of wine from the affiliated wine shop next door. Too bad about the additional corkage fee. It would be a nice incentive to waive the fee if the wine is purchased from Prima's shop. Nonetheless, outstanding meal.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Peter Chastain is an amazing chef bringi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Peter Chastain is an amazing chef bringing italian cuisine to life with the finest ingredients and preparation. Italy feels that much closer when eating at Prima! Great food, great ambience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was delicious especially the pasta an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was delicious especially the pasta and we are going to return again inMarch for an early dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Service and ambiance were really good. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service and ambiance were really good. The chicken and squash was also tasty with the skin crisp and squash meltingly sweet. The crab pasta however, was bland, lacking in any flavor. The wine list though extensive lacked a good selection of moderately priced wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Ambiance always nice...service always go ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Ambiance always nice...service always good...food quality and taste above average...but it is a bit pricey for comparable restaurants (Esin is better food and quality level is the same or better and price is much better than Prima)

But will be back again for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The best part of the restaurant is the f ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The best part of the restaurant is the food. The best Northern Italian food in North America -- and we lived in New York City !!!

Visited the restaurant two years ago and every detail was spot-on perfect. A few details and attention were missing this time.

Will go again however because the food is so amazing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, , Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This was the third time we've done the C ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was the third time we've done the Chef's menu with the wine accompaniment and it too was outstanding. We love the food ad the service is always on point, but it can get quite loud at times.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The appetizers and our 4 meals were amaz ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The appetizers and our 4 meals were amazing. Best lunch I've had in a long time. Can't go here all the time due to the price, but will definitely be back!!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Love this place. We've been there twice ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Love this place. We've been there twice and each time we tried different things and everything has been delicious. Can't wait to go again and try something different.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went out for lunch on a very cold day ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We went out for lunch on a very cold day and found this restaurant to be warm and cozy. There were very few people there, so it was quiet at our table by the fireplace. Service was exceptional, but food was just fair. Expected more Italian flavors and spices, both lunches lacked those. Seemed rather expensive for what is offered.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

My favorite restaurant in Walnut Creek. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Walnut Creek. Chef Peter Chastain always creates wonderful, flavorful dishes with the freshest seasonal ingredients. I've never had a bad meal there. It truly deserves a 5 star rating!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Private Room, Healthy, Wood Oven, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thought the food was good but very price ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Thought the food was good but very pricey. Thought the staff were cold and very unfriendly. Expensive, and the staff were not attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Linguine with fresh crab was incredible! ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Linguine with fresh crab was incredible! Service was excellent and the 2oz. Wine tasting trio was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our first experience dining at ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was our first experience dining at PRIMA and we were celebrating our 25th anniversary. The hostesses greeted us and also wished us for our anniversary. She made sure that we had a special table for the evening. Our waiter was really friendly and made every effort to make our experience a great one. He started off with 2 complimentary glasses of Prosecco and was very attentive to us through our entire meal. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.