Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi

About PRIMA Ristorante

Guests from the Bay Area and the world over celebrate Italian sensibility in this stylish ristorante, with the comfort and sophistication reminiscent of Florence and Rome.
Dining at PRIMA is like taking a culinary journey throughout the regions of Italy. Executive Chef, Peter Chastain, changes the menu daily, using the freshest of nature's bounty - creating a dazzling mix of the finest ingredients, resulting in authentic Italian cuisine that is exquisitely pure and immaculately simple.
Of course, dining at PRIMA wouldn't be complete without a choice of over 1,600 wines from international "artisan" producers. With PRIMA VINI retail wine shop adjacent to the restaurant, guests may purchase their favorite vintage to take home, or special order wines through PRIMA VINI's wine clubs.
PRIMA is the perfect venue to celebrate a special occasion, linger over a sumptuous meal, or design a special dinner party (with customized menus and wines to match) Buon Appetito!

1522 North Main St.
Walnut Creek, CA 94596
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; BAR Service Available 2:30pm - 5:00pm Mon thru Saturday; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 935-7780

Website:
http://primawine.com/

Catering:
Prima can accommodate almost any catering needs.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $11.00 with validation.

Public Transit:
Prima is a few short minutes from the Walnut Creek Bart Station.

Executive Chef:
Peter Chastain

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit our website www.primawine.com/events.php to view a list of our up coming special events and Friday Night wine tastings. Note that BAR Service Available 2:30pm - 5:00pm Mon thru Saturday.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

PRIMA Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (49)
Special Occasion (49)
Good for a Date (45)
See All
Notable Wine List (43)
Romantic (40)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Business Meals (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Worth the Drive (18)
Authentic (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Cozy (15)
Fun (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Healthy (11)
Local Ingredients (9)
People Watching (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Seasonal (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Organic (4)
Casual (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Live Music (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1880 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

Very pleasant, private feeling with a delicious meal!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Christopher our waiter was great, and did an excellent job.

Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Have gone to Prima for years & it
Never disappoints.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was impeccable as always and the food was delicious. We were entertaining foodies from Boston. I believe they were surprised to find such fine dining in Walnut Creek.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 7 days ago

We were celebrating our anniversary and were given a lovely table and complimentary champagne upon arrival. Lovely way to start our meal. The food was delicious!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Prima has been our first choice for special occasions for many years. We especially enjoyed attending the Beaujolais Parties in previous years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Always excellent. A bit pricy, but I knew that going into it and still went!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Our meal was fabulous. Service was excellent. Recommendations from both waiter and sommelier were spot on. Can’t say enough good things about our experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Spectacular food with warm, friendly, professional service. The entire experience was excellent. I was traveling on business with 3 other work associates and we were all in agreement that we will return again in the near future

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Prima is a real gem in Walnut Creek. The Italian cuisine, particularly the homemade pasta, is exceptional, the service is personal and knowledgeable, and the atmosphere is warm and class. This place is a home run.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Dinner was amazing and all the wait staff is very nice. We sat outside and it was lovely!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2017

One of our best dinners out in a while. The service was excellent and everything was delicious. We'll be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Service was great. Main selection of pasta are small as well as the wine by the glass seemed small to me.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Amazing dinner and service to celebrate a Birthday! Really enjoyed our table at the front of the restaurant. It is a great indoor / outdoor space. Perfect for summer or warm fall nights. Our meals were delicious. Best Italian meal I have had so far in the East Bay. We really enjoyed the seasonal ingredients. Great wine menu too! We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Probably the best restaurant in the area! The food is absolutely fabulous!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 18, 2017

The food was delicious. We had one vegetarian and the wait person didn't seem to connect the dots. The vegetarian salad had anchovies on top. We asked for vegetables with his spaghetti and no vegetables. The wait staff needed to consider who he was serving.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Prima is another restaurant that we hadn't visited in a while and craving Italian we thought we'd check it out on a busy Saturday night. We were seated in the rear dining room which was quieter than the main room but generally the whole restaurant is pretty quiet.

The service was initially attentive and the appetizers came out pretty quickly. The chef's selection of salumi was pretty good but was a huge portion. We asked for the $16 version and he brought us the $32 version so that explained the huge size.

Our main courses soon followed and both the tagliatelle and the pot roast were really good and we couldn't finish either after our salumi extravaganza. We sat there with finished plates for quite a while before our waiter stopped to check in and see if we were done, despite him passing us a few times. The back room was not exactly overflowing so not sure why the drop in service.

We finished up with the lemon curd dessert and that was really good.

Overall a nice experience with good food but I probably wouldn't want to go back for a few months to try anything else.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Service was poor. Server kept disappearing. Asked for wine and took forever. Said sorry very busy. Not our problem. Pork chop lukewarm and tough. air conditioning freezing over table and each time we asked to turn down , nothing happened. Literally blew our food cold. Restaurant needs updating. Bathroom was not kept up for evening and also needs upgrade. Been customers since late 80’s/90’s. We have a experienced Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 17, 2017

My fiance and I had a great night. The service, food and wine were all excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Wonderful cocktails. Great pasta and main courses and the service was very attentive and professional.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I have mixed feeling about this restaurant. We got there a few minutes before our reservation but it seemed that we were overlooked clearly by another party who came in after us. I think they were setting up for dinner service when we got there which was fine with us. We actually approached someone a few minutes later but then I noticed another party was seated before us. I know for a fact that dinner is at 5pm so there was not way someone had reservations sooner than we did. The service was good and food was fantastic. I thought it was a little pricey for the portion size but I did really enjoy the food. We had dessert and coffee afterwards. Loved the coffee the dessert was so so. I think for me the biggest concern was having someone being seated before us as I find that very rude. Service for the staff that waited on as after we were seated would be 5 stars but I am only giving 1 because we did not get seated promptly. I has also noted that we were celebrating something when I made the reservation but no one asked us or followed up on that even when I got the call to confirm the reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Excelent service, nice place and delicious food. My husband and I had a great time

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2017

had the branzini -- awesome preparation: thin, crispy banzini with a fabulous sun-dlried tomator sause (ask for extra !) -- best ever

Tags: Organic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great restaurant, delicious food, fabulous drinks and extensive wine list. This is a Gem!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Having dined at Prima before many times for dinner and lunch, it has never disappointed me or my quests. The food is outstanding and the wine list is superb. The wait staff and hostess is always very accommodating. This is our favorite restaurant in the east bay and I would highly recommend it. We were there yesterday.

Tags: Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We were able to sit in the front area where the doors were open, so it felt like we we part of the town while dining. Great food, great service

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Prima never fails to deliver a well done, interesting meal with good wine paring. We often go for special occasions, this time was a birthday. We shared a salad, pasta, main, and dessert. All were outstanding. Service was attentive but not overbearing. We will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our dishes were exceptionally good. Better than ever. I had Branzino -delicious. My guest had grilled Romaine and it was so flavorful. Then the calamari -excellent.

We have eaten here many times before but this was better than ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Service was a lacking on this trip to prima. Had to ask for bread and then for cracked pepper for the salads. Wife didn't get asked if she wanted wine with the sea bass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Good food, creative chef, poor value, mediocre service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Delicious food. Loved the burrata (mozzarella with grilled peaches and pancetta) as a starter to share. It was unusual with wonderful flavors. I had the Mediterranean Sea bass, very nicely done; I was surprised at the larger than usual portion. I would cal the menu a great combination of innovative and traditional - something for everyone. My new favorite restaurant in the East Bay. Also, the sommelier was super helpful in helping us to select a wine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Excellent restaurant, service (Jose), and atmosphere! Lunch was superb!! Always a local favorite!

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Prima has been our "go to" restaurant for about 30 years. The food is always great, the service impeccable, and the ambiance can't be beat. The enclosed patio is light and airy, while the inside feels a bit less casual. They have a fantastic selection of wines, and the waiters are great at recommending the appropriate wine for your meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Wonderful Italian food without all the gooey sauces. Great service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Service was excellent. The menu very overpriced. I ordered the Vegetariano which was just sauteed vegetables $24.00. It was nothing exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

The whole dining experience was really nice. The food was really delicious, wine was also great. The pour on the wine was really small, noted because the wine was delicious. A suggestion by the server. I can't wait to come back.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2017

I was having lunch with a friend visiting from Chicago and wanted a place with unquestioned food quality and excellent service. Prima fits the bill very well. Our waiter, José was outstanding. It is very quiet at lunch, most likely because of the parking difficulties in downtown Walnut Creek. Try the metered street parking along Civic (currently $1 per hour) and then walk about 2 blocks to the restaurant. If you have a very small car, you can sometimes squeeze into one of the tiny open spaces in the Locust Street garage, as the full-size spaces are unlikely to be open at noon. The WC City Council needs to get this parking problem fixed, or we will continue to lose more of our better downtown restaurants. They cannot survive with the lack of noontime patronage. The Council continues to approve more and more apartment buildings with inadequate parking facilities. Complaints to the Council fall on deaf ears.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Excellent food and service. Lovely environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Mothers birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We went for my wife's birthday dinner and the service was impeccable and the food was delicious! The second my glass of water was slightly less than half full someone magically appeared to fill it back up for me. Every time I took the last bite of my bread a hot new slice was on my plate before I finished chewing. We sat out on the partially enclosed patio, which got a bit chilly when the wind picked up. The doors were close seconds after a request was made and the chill disappeared. We will definitely return again soon!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.