Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi

About PRIMA Ristorante

Guests from the Bay Area and the world over celebrate Italian sensibility in this stylish ristorante, with the comfort and sophistication reminiscent of Florence and Rome.
Dining at PRIMA is like taking a culinary journey throughout the regions of Italy. Executive Chef, Peter Chastain, changes the menu daily, using the freshest of nature's bounty - creating a dazzling mix of the finest ingredients, resulting in authentic Italian cuisine that is exquisitely pure and immaculately simple.
Of course, dining at PRIMA wouldn't be complete without a choice of over 1,600 wines from international "artisan" producers. With PRIMA VINI retail wine shop adjacent to the restaurant, guests may purchase their favorite vintage to take home, or special order wines through PRIMA VINI's wine clubs.
PRIMA is the perfect venue to celebrate a special occasion, linger over a sumptuous meal, or design a special dinner party (with customized menus and wines to match) Buon Appetito!

1522 North Main St.
Walnut Creek, CA 94596
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; BAR Service Available 2:30pm - 5:00pm Mon thru Saturday; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 935-7780

Website:
http://primawine.com/

Catering:
Prima can accommodate almost any catering needs.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $11.00 with validation.

Public Transit:
Prima is a few short minutes from the Walnut Creek Bart Station.

Executive Chef:
Peter Chastain

Private Party Facilities:
PRIMA offers both private and semi-private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Lori Johnston: (925) 935-7780 ext. 26

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit our website www.primawine.com/events.php to view a list of our up coming special events and Friday Night wine tastings. Note that BAR Service Available 2:30pm - 5:00pm Mon thru Saturday.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

PRIMA Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (46)
Notable Wine List (40)
Special Occasion (36)
See All
Good for a Date (34)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Romantic (29)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Business Meals (24)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Wood Oven (19)
Authentic (18)
Tasting Menu (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Cozy (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Casual (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Seasonal (10)
Fireplace (9)
People Watching (8)
Private Room (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Healthy (6)
Fun (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Organic (4)
Family Style (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Historic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1788 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 15 hours ago

Exceptional service. Fantastic food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food, professional staff and wonderful service! Thank you!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

For 40 years Prima has been an outstanding restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

You can not go wrong at this place. Food and service are outstanding. Never had a less then superb experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food was very good and nice selections. I wish they would have had a larger selection of wines by the glass. Unfortunately, there was a ioad group in the bar area oblivious to others have dinner. Once the restaurant fill up it was a non issue.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Always creative and dependable food.Best wine service thanks to Frank Rothstein . His flights of wine also provide an opportunity to taste great wines that are appropriately paired with the food

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Our annual anniversary dinner fell on a Wednesday night, so we expected a light crowd. A party of 5, a party of 4, and a group of 6+ celebrating a birthday were in the small back room we like, and the restaurant did not have enough servers initially, so we were neglected for about 10 minutes. Eventually more staff pitched in and we were able to get our drinks and place our order. The server did not included prices when reciting the specials, which I found irritating. The party of 4 was seated along the back wall, and two of the diners were on the padded bench seat, which extended to our table. Every time the heavier male moved I was jostled, and when he got up twice I was actually bounced each time he moved. Fortunately, they left before we got our salads or I might have been wearing part of my dinner. The food was excellent (as always): tasty, well seasoned, and creative. Prices are a bit on the high side, but we don't dine here daily, so we pay the tariff. The dessert menu needs WAY more chocolate options.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

it was not as I expected, the staff acts as if they were afraid of our party,
this was our 1st visit, while the food was good, the service was lacking.
We were trying to cheer up a dear friend that had recently lost her husband.
We said numerous times, this was our 1st visit. I guess no one cared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Excellent as always . Our "go to" restaurant in the East Bay.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had requested a quiet table through open table because my husband wears a hearing aid. On our way to the restaurant we received a call from Jordana asking which area of the restaurant we would like to be in. AMAZING #1!!!!. We agreed that we would see what was available when we arrived.

When we got there, Frank showed us 3 tables that might work for us and asked which we would prefer and then showed us to a bar table to await our friends. We were treated like royalty. AMAZING #2!!!

When we were seated at our table we had the most wonderful server - Andrea. AMAZING #3!!! She was attentive but also had a wonderful sense of humor which was just delightful. She even got me the name of the virgin olive oil that the chef uses.

The food was fabulous and we are looking forward to returning soon. Kudos to your wonderful staff!!!
Sandy and John Gaylord

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This is home away from home for us. In the past 30 years we have been a regular at Prima. We have seen many changes, and what remains the same is the friendly smile, generous service and a heartwarming welcome. Many of the members of Prima family remains to be the same people we have known over the years.

Food is only the excuse to break bread with friend and family and spend quality time, where Prima knows how to deliver this. But when the food, wine and people are exceptionally above all guidelines, then this becomes a rarity, and a jewel

Enjoy and do not be afraid to strike a conversation with Heather, Jordana, John, Frank, and Peter, and you will see the fun energy in return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had a fantastic meal with great wine suggestions from the sommelier Frank. One of the best meals we've had there, and it's a favorite spot.

Tags: Authentic, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

awesome as usual. the sea bass special was outstanding and the service is always first class

Tags: Wood Oven, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We chose a booth in the back of the bar which was both quiet, cozy and romantic. First we were attended by the woman that runs the bar and her great buss boy. The service through out the meal was exceptional. I had done some research on their website wine list which is truly exceptional and found a very nice Setti Ponti Crognolo - Super tuscan - the sommelier smiled and said the wine I requested was not only a great wine but a very good value. We shared the mista salad which was very good - especially the cheese - very high quality and truly set the tone for the flavors in the salad. My wife had the pork chop which was cooked perfectly - tender and very juicy with a great mustard sauce paired with fennel and an really nice preparation of carrots. I opted for the stuffed rabbit loin which was paired with very tasty english peas and herbs and greens which offset the dish perfectly. I haven't had rabbit like that since 2016 in Monte Falco - its very hard to find here and expecially prepared and cooked to perfection like this was. For desert we shared the duo chocolato - I only got a bare taste of the mocha shot due to my wife falling in love with it and devouring it with gusto - but I was very happy with the chocolate torte - dense and moist and offset with rasberrys which enhanced its chocolate flavor. Finally to cap it off I asked if the did Espresso corretto and was so happy when the lady of the bar said most definitely and so my espresso with sambucco made my meal perfect. I commented to our server that I loved the rabbit and she suggested I tell Peter who was sitting with a friend in the bar area. Well Peter was Peter Chastain the executive chief and co-owner of Prima. We had a fascinating discussion of food and wine and Italy - which holds a very dear spot in my heart after having lived in Naples. We will definitely go back - their hospitality makes you feel like family - of course that is the Italian way.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

New chef. Food was a lesser quality than previous visits. "Corkage Fee" was $25; more than necessary.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Hubs had Chef's meal w/out the wine pairing. Included pancceta-wrapped rabbit he ooohed & awed over every bite. (Thanks, Prima, now I have to learn how to make it.) Each course was really really flavorful. I always have my usual which is the grilled Romaine salad. Amazing flavors. Also the Tagliata de Manzo. Too much food for me but who doesn't love leftovers. You can never go wrong with anything prepared by Chef Peter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I returned after a couple years to find continued high quality of food and the service that evening was excellent. We were given great attention while still having time without interruption. A great place to come back to!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Unfortunately there was a large party in the room with us, they were very loud and had a couple people with loud laughs, that would stop other conversations in the room. A couple parties moved to another room. We also ordered the fish special and our waitress went back to the kitchen and reserved it for us. We then had an appetizer and salads with a great bottle of wine. As we were waiting for out dinner she told us that they had served the last fish to someone else. We had to order something else that could be prepared quickly as our other dish was ready to be served. With a tab over $500 I expect more from a restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Prima is a gem. Chef Peter is a genius. Frank is a sommelier par excellence. The staff knows what they are doing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Had a wonderful time celebrating multiple high points in ours and our friends' lives, two of our party were pretty late and no one made us feel bad about it, there were some dietary restrictions that were accommodated without any problems. Our server was so professional, and awesome, made suggestions for those with the restrictions without making them feel left out! This was yet another amazing visit, the food was delicious, wine was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious. The server was informative and attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Full bar and large selection of wines. Bit disappointed when I ordered martini with Titos, then told they ran out Tues. We were there Sat night. Then after dinner ordered lemonchello. Waiter returned to tell me out of that as well. This is high end Italian restuarant that should be well stocked at the bar. The meal was good but found service to be off as well. Appetizer came with 1 salad and other salad came 10 min later. Hopefully just an off night for Prima.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Always enjoy eating here! The Chef always offers an amazing array of specials! The pasta is definitely worth all the carbs! The tiramisu is the best we have had.

I really enjoy the staff who also keep me coming back! Thank you Jordana and Lori!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

First time at this restaurant.. the service was impeccable but the food was absolutely horrible.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Met best friends for lunch. Server was invisible and attentive (great combo!) Oh my gosh the Braised Beef Ravioli. YuMmerZ! A Duckhorn Savignon Blanc, Mista Salad -- and a personally requested Affogato coffee (not on menu - but NO Problem!) Thank you PRIMA for a delightfully relaxed and Delish meal. Of Course I'll be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Unfortunately, the food wasn't as I remembered it to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

the food was just ok---price for food and wine way over price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Good service. Good starters and sides. Pasta selections not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We always go to Rivoli for special occasions... Anniversary , birthday, wedding gift etc... Love their food and service. Always friendly and fun service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in the east bay. House made pastas are outstanding. So is the pork chop. The tasting menu is a real treat.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food and the service were both outstanding I felt the portions were small and overpriced

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

In general, I like the ambiance and service and food was tasty and well prepared. However, I thought the meals were overpriced for what we got. Was not the best value for my dining budget

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Some things actually don't change!
I went here so often in the 80's but not much at all in the last 11 years and I was delighted by the food, the drinks, but mostly the service from everyone, especially my Waiter Amanda.
The cookie plate was still amazing in retrospect the next day, same for the bread.

Wow, I'll be back !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Wonderful menu and specials. Wonderfully prepared food. Wonderful ambiance. Great service. Wonderful wine list... reasonably priced. Outstanding!!

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2017

I have been dining at Prima's for over 20 years. It is our favorite "special" restaurant in the area. It never disappoints.
Five of us dined at Prima's Sunday night - my husband and me, two close friends, and my out-of-town daughter, whom we see very seldom. I am gluten-free, my female friend is vegan, and my husband and daughter has no dietary restrictions.

My daughter had the "Chef's Recommended Menu" (different from the one posted on their website) which she just loved. She shared bites with the rest of us, and everything was excellent.

I don't recall the what the others ordered. I had the halibut, which was good, but not as good as the halibut my husband served us the night before. The meals were ample, and we all brought home left-overs, which quickly disappeared.

I recommend Prima's without reservations. Be careful that your reservation is actually for "Prima's Restaurant" and not for a different restaurant that begins with "Prima." That happened the last time we made a reservation for "Prima's".

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Lovely spot in downtown Walnut Creek. Wonderfully crafted Italian cuisine with the best ingredients. Chef and owner Peter was very welcoming. Attentive staff. Only downside, very expensive wine list. Few bottles less than $100. Corkage is $25, so makes sense to take a treasure from home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

It's always a pleasure to dine at Prima. Excellent Italian cuisine. The grilled calamari is sometimes not on the menu, but almost always available and really good. There are quiet private rooms which is a benefit if you really want to talk to your table mates.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Prima is always a delight from the moment you enter and are greeted by the delightful and professional hostesses, to the comfortable seating, fantastic food and excellent service. Chef Peter always has a special theme in addition to his other dining excellent choices.
The bar has some unique frrerings (try the Persephonie) and the wine shop provides an extensive list of wines from budget to extraordinary.
Prima has been our go to restaurant for years and will continue to be a favorite!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Private Room, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.