Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi
  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi
  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi

About PRESS

PRESS is the perfect wine country dining experience. PRESS features prime dry-aged beef, whole roasted chicken, grass fed Sonoma lamb, and fresh fish prepared on a custom wood burning grill and rotisserie. The modern farmhouse style blends with the neighboring vineyards to create a truly modern steakhouse. An award winning largely Napa Valley wine list completes the PRESS experience.

587 St. Helena Hwy (Hwy 29)
St. Helena, CA 94574
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Service :

Wednesday – Monday

5:00 PM – 10:00 PM



Closed Tuesday



Bar Service :

Wednesday – Monday

5:00 PM – 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Inglewood

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 967-0550

Website:
http://www.pressnapavalley.com/

Parking Details:
Self Parking

Executive Chef:
Trevor Kunk

Private Party Facilities:
PRESS has 3 wonderful dining locations for private parties and events. The first is our Edge Hill room which accommodates 6 to 12 guests. This space is intimate and ideal for smaller parties. The second is our beautiful, outdoor patio. The patio is a perfect setting for a Napa Valley event with views of the sunset over the western hills and vineyards. The partially covered patio offers an outdoor fireplace, patio lounge with firepits and comfy couches, and optional heating. We would be happy to assist in arranging dinners for groups of 10 to 32 guests on our patio. Lastly, our Wine Cellar can be privately reserved for 10 to 20 guests. There is AV equipment available and a view of our collection of all Napa Valley Wines. Private party menus are custom, can include your favorite dishes from the regular menu, and dietary restrictions are easily accommodated. Please email or call Megan Chin for more information on our private spaces and assistance with creating your menu.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Chin: (707) 967-0550

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For events at PRESS, we offer dishes featured on our seasonal, regular dinner menu and assistance with planning the necessary details of special events. We also offer specialty cocktails, passed appetizers, and fresh seafood platters for guests to enjoy as part of their dining experience. Lastly, we can assist in pre-selecting wines from our notable all Napa Valley wine list. Although PRESS is only open for dinner, we can arrange for private day time events at the restaurant. Please email our Events Manager, Megan Chin at Megan.Chin@pressnapavalley.com or call 707.967.0550 for more information.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

PRESS Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Notable Wine List (47)
Fit for Foodies (44)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Good for a Date (37)
Romantic (37)
Worth the Drive (34)
Local Ingredients (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Fireplace (25)
Good for Groups (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Modern Decor (20)
Fun (19)
Hot Spot (19)
Cozy (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Business Meals (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
People Watching (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Authentic (9)
Casual (7)
Private Room (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Organic (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Seasonal (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Family Style (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Historic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1653 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

this was our first time eating at Press and loved it all. we were in the outdoor seating and
it was lovely and enjoyed the entire evening from great cocktails to prime beef and of course
dessert

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

First time we ate here we enjoyed it a lot. Second time, rancidity and feeling of neglect ruined experience. After exchanging emails with management, we decided to give it another chance, and, in general, were not disappointed. Though waiter recommended lobster bisque, I found it strong- and raw-tasting. Spouse's smoked trout pate (not made clear on menu) was delicious. Slightly pickled vegetables from the restaurant's organic garden were crunchy but not wine's best friend. Two evenings in a row I ordered lamb chops rare and got closer to "blue," which startled me. I can guess only that definitions are changing. The potato cake -- inedible last time -- was devoid of any off odors/flavors, but could do with a touch less salt and a touch more evo/butter and perhaps a pinch of mild garlic or cheddar. The "wild" rucola garnish was fresh and flavorful. Hanger steak -- though, alas, not grass fed -- was superb. Too full for dessert, we asked for just a ball of lime-mint sorbet, which was a perfect ending. The waiter was excellent.
We brought a '72 Spring Mountain Cab, which to our delight was still full of flavor and very enjoyable. As unlikely as it seems, our waiter's dad was wine maker at that very same winery.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The ambiance can't be beaten. The rib eye steak was excellent. We also had steak tartare for appetizer. They had doused it with chili oil which did not work well. Very knowledgeable SOM.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Best steak in the valley for sure with amazing organic sides! Bacon appetizer is by far some of the best bacon I've ever had! Ambiance is farm to table and just wonderful

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 1, 2017

What a fabulous evening at Press....we celebrated a birthday and we were a crowd of 8 and the restaurant could not have been more accommodating. I worked out a planned menu ahead of time and every dish served got raved reviews. The design at Press is sophisticated but not stuffy just loved it could not have picked a better spot for that evening!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Went for dinner with friends, requested an outdoor table and we were right in front of the outdoor fireplace. Really nice! We brought our own wine ($30 corkage), 3 out of 4 got the Ribeye steak and it was enjoyed by all. I got the brined and wood grilled pork chop, fabulous! Relaxed, no rush, very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Press is a beautiful restaurant with a relaxed, luxurious vibe. Very nice lighting (everyone looks good), airy decor, and top-of-the-line service. The servers were very attentive, sympathetic without being overly familiar, and most of all, THERE -- someone was always checking our bread, our drinks, and making sure we were taken care of. (I do wish, however, that there were more women servers in expensive restaurants like this. Women should have opportunities to earn big tips too.) After too many rich meals, we chose not to order red meat, which looks like it is the thing to do. If we went again, we would try the steaks.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

It was the first time my friends had been to Press. They were really pleased with dinner, as was I. We had the Trout and it was fabulous. It was cooked perfect and the skin was nice a crisp. The dessert was a perfect ending to our meal. My friends stated they would return to celebrate their daughters birthday. Our waiter was excellent. I'm looking forward to returning soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Bummer. Of all the GREAT restaurants to choose up and down Napa Valley, I chose the wrong one. DANG it !! The ambience was NOT as classy or cozy or upscale as I thought the photos showed. The menu was limited. Everything was a la carte. The prices were exorbitant. But I was willing to pay the price because for THAT price, that steak & side were going to be phenomenal, right? WRONG. The steak au poivre was 1/2" thick sitting in a barely warm cream sauce. The sides were so small it barely served up 4 tablespoons. The service was mediocre, luke warm, nothing special, and I was so disappointed that for my husband's 70th birthday we could have had a better dinner on our BBQ serving up a Costco steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Quality is worth the dinning . Special occasion dinner. Staff excellent . Chef and crew as expected to be top listed for fine dinning. Not children friendly. Ambiance is date night. Bar scene is for local wine owners who know where to get best meal .

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary with family and friends! From the specialty cocktails to the dessert, all fabulous and made for a memorable evening! Charles took care of us and renamed one in our group, "Blossom"! The drinks, the BACON, the dinner, AND Charles helped to make our evening very,very special! Hope to return the next time we are in the area!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Celebrated my birthday with my husband and 6 of our closest friends. Only 2 out of our party had been here before. We were all extremely impressed with our team of servers, the amazing wine list and the fantastic food. We all commented how we can't wait to return....and soon!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Waiter gave wrong description and information about the menu and how dishes were prepared. Would have ordered something else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Amazing food, ambiance and service. Given we were celebrating two milestone anniversaries, it would have been nice if the chocolate suffle was on the house

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Fantastic oysters. Extensive Napa only wine list. Steak was very good but not necessarily consistently cooked throughout - a bit more rare in the middle than you'd expect for medium rare but had very good crust. Attentive and friendly server. Great ambient lighting in this place.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Porterhouse for two was fantastic. Love the smoked flavour subtly added to the excellent cut of beef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My husband and I ate at Press and we were delighted by the entire experience. We ventured back less than a week later to indulge our son who concurred. As usual, we ordered generously for ourselves from appetizers, salads to entrees, and dessert. We feel it enabled us to experience the true essence of Press: Each and every mouthful was pure Excellence!
We are eagerly planning another date to go back.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We had been planning this trip for six months and press restaurant was our restaurant highlight- our $$$$ pick. Our food was very good. Service was much less attentive than expected. We started outside on the beautiful patio around a fire pit which was outstanding. Service started off attentive however we had to wait about 20 minutes to wrap up the bar bill which we wanted to do before dining. The main entrées were excellent. We had scallops, several steaks, lamb chops, and chicken. The salads were small and served only one as we were hoping to share. The sides were underwhelming (esp potato cake) according to most although my kale and chard was good. Our biggest issue was the service. Not nearly the level you would expect for a $$$$ restaurant. 20% gratuity was included automatically as we were a party of six. Maybe server was not motivated to impress? The wine list was priced for the rich and famous. Very few choices we regular folk could afford Cork fee was $30.

Tags: Fireplace, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Wonderful restaurant. The food was incredible as were the cocktails. Steak was perfectly cooked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Press is outstanding all around. A fantastic setting with excellent food and great cocktails. Steak was cooked perfectly. Sides were delicious - especially the mac and cheese. Extensive wine list but we went with cocktails. Gin drinks were so smooth and tasty - especially the basil beauty. We were celebrating our anniversary and Press treated us wonderfully.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We will be back! Excellent service, food and ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Press is our "must have' reservation when we go to Napa. The lamb, as well as the pork chop (Berkshire/boar hynrid) were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent service! Couldn't ask for a more amiable fun waiter. Enjoyed the dinner immensely.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great service and delicious food. Perfect for my birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Very nice dining experience. Our server was knowledgeable and very pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I thought it was a bit expensive for what you get. Other options better in the neighborhood imo.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 4, 2017

An email appeared in my inbox from OpenTable asking me "How was Press?". I would have to answer nothing short of amazing! Press came recommended to us from Marie, the tasting manager at Frog's Leap Vineyards and she couldn't have hit the nail on the head any harder. She recommended the $1 oysters served during happy hour as well as the Press gin and tonic cocktail. Luckily, we got a reservation time online on such extremely short notice. We ordered both Marie's recommendations at the bar upon our early arrival and were quite pleased with the start to our evening. My husband and I were celebrating our 19th wedding anniversary up in Napa and wanted a nice steak dinner after a day of wine tasting. Press did not disappoint whatsoever! The food was amazing, our service was impeccable and the ambiance was perfection. We hope to return in the future to celebrate another anniversary or any special occasion for that matter. Thank you so much for an incredible dining experience and memorable evening!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 3, 2017

This was our first time to Napa Valley and a friend highly recommend Press. She said it is her favorite restaurant ! We are adding it to our favorites as well! Service and food was awesome. Beautiful decor and grounds. Will come again and recommend ! Thank you

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 1, 2017

First time dinner. Life-long returner! Everything was impeccable!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Private Room, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

After a long drive from San Jose, we were treated to an amazing meal and top notch service from our waiter Charles. All of Charles's recommendations were spot on. We had the steak tare tare appetizer and the best salad, both were delicious, and beautifully presented. We each had a perfectly cooked ribeye steak, which were some of the best steaks we have ever eaten, and being a steak water and foodie is no small compliment. Don't miss the fries or the awesome carrots for side dishes, they couldn't have been more perfect. As a side note, not only do they have one of the best wine lists in Napa, they also have an incredible selection of single malt scotch to choose from. Bravo! We will definitely return on our next visit to the area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Wood Oven, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had a wonderful meal at Press, the steak was awesome as well as all the sides. The service was outstanding. Looking forward to returning.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food and service was fantastic! We had a great time and would definitely come back if we visited NAPA again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Sommelier, our "wine angel" spent extra time and paid special attention to be sure we were happy with wine choice.
Server was attentive. He assured us we were seated in perfect location in the restaurant to celebrate a romantic and memorable birthday. Bacon appetizer, steaks and mac and cheese side were outstanding.
Car service provided to and from Meadowood Resort was extremely convenient. We would certainly return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Went for a girls night out. Charles, the waiter , was very rude and unhelpful. Some of us are vegans, the others have dairy allergies. They offered no recommendations, descriptions or suggestions. The manager wasn't great, either, we left after we paid for the wine, which should've been complimentary. We went to goose and gander. They couldn't have been nicer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Very disappointing.
Expensive and food was not good
Service was average at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Absolutely amazing! Can't wait to return someday!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Great restaurant! We have been here 2 times while visiting the area. The service is outstanding and the food is fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Everything was amazing! Especially the service. Would definitely go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Press. The food was delicious from appetizers to dessert. The service was informative, attentive, friendly and just wonderful. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Delicious, incredible food. Outstanding service, notable wine list. Amazing all around.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.