Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi
  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi
  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi

About PRESS

PRESS is the perfect wine country dining experience. PRESS features prime dry-aged beef, whole roasted chicken, grass fed Sonoma lamb, and fresh fish prepared on a custom wood burning grill and rotisserie. The modern farmhouse style blends with the neighboring vineyards to create a truly modern steakhouse. An award winning largely Napa Valley wine list completes the PRESS experience.

587 St. Helena Hwy (Hwy 29)
St. Helena, CA 94574
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Service :

Wednesday – Monday

5:00 PM – 10:00 PM



Closed Tuesday



Bar Service :

Wednesday – Monday

5:00 PM – 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Inglewood

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 967-0550

Website:
http://www.pressnapavalley.com/

Parking Details:
Self Parking

Executive Chef:
Trevor Kunk

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For events at PRESS, we offer dishes featured on our seasonal, regular dinner menu and assistance with planning the necessary details of special events. We also offer specialty cocktails, passed appetizers, and fresh seafood platters for guests to enjoy as part of their dining experience. Lastly, we can assist in pre-selecting wines from our notable all Napa Valley wine list. Although PRESS is only open for dinner, we can arrange for private day time events at the restaurant. Please email our Events Manager, Megan Chin at Megan.Chin@pressnapavalley.com or call 707.967.0550 for more information.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

PRESS Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (56)
Special Occasion (56)
Fit for Foodies (52)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Good for a Date (52)
Romantic (35)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Local Ingredients (24)
Business Meals (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Bar Seating (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Cozy (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Fun (11)
Authentic (10)
People Watching (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Seasonal (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Casual (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Organic (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Scenic View (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1758 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was good! We had filets, ribeye and strip steaks with lobster Mac and cheese plus mushrooms. We will be back

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

We were disappointed in the food at Press after rave reviews from friends. Our filet mignon was extremely salty. At this price point, you expect better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 7 days ago

Steaks are really good. We all were satisfied with these food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Berg good experience. All the food was excellent though my ribeye had more fiber than acceptable at that price point- otherwise would have been excellent in food and overall categories.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Incredible food and stunning wine library options. The experience was phenomenal. My only regret is not having more money to spend on their historical wine library.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great experience all around - highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

It was absolutely amazing!! I can't say enough good things about this place....from the food to the incredible service and amazing decor. I can't wait to come back here again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Press was outstanding from the service to the food! We have been to several steak restaurants and, as my husband said, we have never had a steak so delicious as we had at Press. The servers were attentive but not intrusive. Our water and wine glasses were always filled; they checked in to be sure we were not in need of anything. Loved it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Great food and atmosphere at a high price. Service was attentive

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 12, 2017

This was our second visit to Press. I highly recommend for steak and wine lovers.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Excellent food and service but overpriced. Would definitely go again but be far more mindful of prices.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I have been to Press twice and on both occasions find the steak so tender and tasty. I have always had their Rib Eye and Filet Mignon and i can't impress upon the fact that this meat is soo tender and flavorful. The service is excellent and the wine list is so extensive that if you can't decide on a bottle the sommelier will be more than happy to recommend a bottle for you. Great food, service and wine.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great meal - they were very accommodating when we need to make a substitution or two. Highly recommend the NY Strip and mashed potato "loaf".

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Came from to Hawaii to have a special dinner with my father. Wonderful culinary experience really enjoyed the chefs collection and wine pairings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We had great service and an amazing meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

The host was very rude, the server was sweet and kind. I called the manger over to let him know of our great service but subpar greeting that was just rude enough to make our overall experience bad. The manager stared at me with a convoluted smile. I own a hospital, and bedside manner (guest interaction) is everything- especially from management level. This "manager" made me feel like the butt of a joke and practically laughed at me then continued over to the host stand and laughed with the host. If one of my employees has room to grow, I want/need to know to ensure the best experience for everyone involved. The short dark haired hostess gets her rudeness clearly from her boss. Both- need extreme attitude adjustments if they want to advance in any industry. I will not be going back to this restaurant anytime soon. I'd rather give my money and spend my time at one of the many other great restaurants in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2017

The steak I had was very good. Was it worth the high cost ? No
Everything is ala carte & pricey.
I had to try but will most likely not spend the high price again

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

My husband and I had dinner at Press as part of our 29th wedding anniversary weekend celebration in Napa! I found it through trip advisor and we could not have been more pleased. The ambiance was perfect--not to stuffy and not to casual and the noise level was comfortable. The food was excellent--the filet mignon was tender, tasty and appropriately cooked. The truffle mac and cheese is a must have! The mushroom side order was also very tasty. We will be going back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed a fantastic dinner. The "bacon five ways" appetizer was a hit. We enjoyed both the chopped salad and the heirloom tomato salad. The aged ribeye w/ chimichurri sauce was spot on, the steak was so delicious that it hardly needed an accompaniment.

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 3, 2017

What a lovely restaurant! The waiter was great and super thoughtful about my mother-in-law's nut allergy. The steaks are great, of course. But the chicken was delectable! And the mac and cheese with truffles truly amazing. Great place! And cool on a hot, hot evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Outstanding food and the service is equally as good! Best steak ever!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 31, 2017

It was the best time and excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Press was Outstanding as usual. The team there took great care of us.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 26, 2017

First time at Press and really enjoyed it! Great food and service. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 25, 2017

My wife and I decided on Press to celebrate our Anniversary. Couldn't have picked a better spot. The food was excellent and the service was impeccable. We're frequent visitors to Napa and this was the best experience we've had in a long time. The only thing we didn't care for was the long couch with tables. The spacing was reasonable and we were able to move to a corner which was much nicer for our evening together. We'll definitely be back and will not be waiting for an Anniversary.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2017

As usual, we requested a quiet table. However, the hostess seated us in the absolute worst table in the restaurant. When challenged, based on our request in OpenTable, she reluctantly moved us to another table. I asked to speak with the Manager (Spencer Weiss), who, after about 30 min. came by with an armful of excuses. When we rejected them he admitted they "just screwed" up.

I don't like lies or excuses when we know perfectly well that they attempt to rid themselves of the worst tables first. The condescending manager has ensured that we will never return.

Too many great places to eat in Napa Valley to accept this kind of treatment and service. Food was only ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Exceptional meal. Loved that most things where local sourced including Rudd Winery farm. The dry aged New York strip was among the best I've had. The local gin paired with house made tonic water was fabulous!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

The service was outstanding and the food was incredible. This may have been the best steak I have ever eaten. It was cooked and seasoned to perfection. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Caesar salad, the steak, the bacon sampler, and the cocktails were exceptional. Onion rings and waygu meatballs this night were quite underwhelming.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on August 22, 2017

ecxellent food and very good service in a modern and pleasant environment- The PorrterHouse was simply pefect. The only negative issu is that it is by far overpriced and the food you get does not justify at all the bill.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Press did not live up to all the hype for us. We thought it was a nice place, the food was good but due to a late reservation we felt very rushed by the wait staff to eat and leave. Don't know if we will give them another try.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent wine options - extensive Napa Valley wine collection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 20, 2017

PRESS was absolutely amazing.. I had the 14 oz Rib Eye.. to die for! I also ordered the hen of the woods mushroom side and "Some Like it Hot" cocktail.. highly recommended.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We did the tasting menu and wine pairing. The oyster was wonderful. One dish was disappointing: a basket of raw vegetables with three dipping sauces. A crab and lobster dish on lettuce was good, but the crab alone or the lobster alone might've been preferred. Steak tartar was fantastic. The halibut was the best I've had (very spicy sauces, which I like). The hanger steak was perfect. Dessert was deconstructed s'mores, wonderful, with a scoop of strawberry ice cream...too good not to eat. The wine pairings were great, and I couldn't imagine the tasting menu without it. It is a lot of food, so unless you have a huge appetite, pace yourself by not finishing them all (good luck!)

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 15, 2017

The food, service and ambiance were superb in all respects!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We went to Press with our son to celebrate his graduating college. It was a great meal including the hanging bacon appetizer (incredible), steak, chicken and chocolate soufflé for dessert! We really enjoyed the entire experience and the service was fantastic! the only negative would be that where we were seated the tables are a little too close and we happened to have not the greatest table neighbors... but other than that it was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Loretta was so so sweet, talkative and attentive. We ordered the summer corn soup which is one of my favorites at any restaurants I go to, however this was not one I finished or would need to order again although it wasn't bad.. just not phenomenal. I ordered a Wagyu steak with which I am very familiar with and is my absolute favorite type of beef but did not get the 'melt in the mouth' texture I was expecting and that our sever advertised. My boyfriend felt similar about his New York strip. (Was more intrigued by accompaniment options, truffle mac was wonderful). Overall, we had a very good time and maybe just had higher expectations for such a 'high end' steak house. Again, our service was wonderful and did a great job of telling what pace and vibe we wanted for our meal but the food was just short of spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great dinner with the best filet mignon ever! It was a recommandation from a winery we visited in the afternoon and it was just perfect!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Nothing special. Pretty average. Not sure about the hype.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

You have to try the Bacon Bar at the Bar! To find out what it is go the Bar and ask!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.