About PRESS

587 St. Helena Hwy (Hwy 29)
St. Helena, CA 94574
View Larger Map

PRESS is the perfect wine country dining experience. PRESS features prime dry-aged beef, whole roasted chicken, grass fed Sonoma lamb, and fresh fish prepared on a custom wood burning grill and rotisserie. The modern farmhouse style blends with the neighboring vineyards to create a truly modern steakhouse. An award winning largely Napa Valley wine list completes the PRESS experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Service :

Wednesday – Monday

5:00 PM – 10:00 PM



Closed Tuesday



Bar Service :

Wednesday – Monday

5:00 PM – 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Inglewood

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 967-0550

Website:
http://www.pressnapavalley.com/

Parking Details:
Self Parking

Executive Chef:
Trevor Kunk

Private Party Facilities:
PRESS has 3 wonderful dining locations for private parties and events. The first is our Edge Hill room which accommodates 6 to 12 guests. This space is intimate and ideal for smaller parties. The second is our beautiful, outdoor patio. The patio is a perfect setting for a Napa Valley event with views of the sunset over the western hills and vineyards. The partially covered patio offers an outdoor fireplace, patio lounge with firepits and comfy couches, and optional heating. We would be happy to assist in arranging dinners for groups of 10 to 32 guests on our patio. Lastly, our Wine Cellar can be privately reserved for 10 to 20 guests. There is AV equipment available and a view of our collection of all Napa Valley Wines. Private party menus are custom, can include your favorite dishes from the regular menu, and dietary restrictions are easily accommodated. Please email or call Megan Chin for more information on our private spaces and assistance with creating your menu.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Chin: (707) 967-0550

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For events at PRESS, we offer dishes featured on our seasonal, regular dinner menu and assistance with planning the necessary details of special events. We also offer specialty cocktails, passed appetizers, and fresh seafood platters for guests to enjoy as part of their dining experience. Lastly, we can assist in pre-selecting wines from our notable all Napa Valley wine list. Although PRESS is only open for dinner, we can arrange for private day time events at the restaurant. Please email our Events Manager, Megan Chin at Megan.Chin@pressnapavalley.com or call 707.967.0550 for more information.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

PRESS Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (35)
Special Occasion (35)
Good for a Date (32)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Romantic (23)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Fireplace (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Fun (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Business Meals (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Authentic (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
People Watching (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Scenic View (6)
Seasonal (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Cozy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Casual (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (3)
Healthy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Private Room (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1581 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined a day ago

Amazing food and drinks - Tyler our waiter was awesome - explained the wines and the menu and was entertaining too - would always come back

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful meal, excellent service and great setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It was good but a little over priced. Loved the bacon sampler and seafood platter.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Worst part about this experience was the food and the price. The steak was a great cut of beef, cooked perfectly but way over salted. All the food was terribly over-salted. $320.00 is an expensive dinner for 2 when the food is hardly edible due to the excessive salt use.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Fabulous Meal, service and wine! What a great evening! Recommend highly !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We dine here every time we come to Napa. Food is consistently superior, well prepared and tasty. A "must" while in Napa.

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Overall, the food was great. We start

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was excellent .. fantastic experience all around.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Most amazing meal I've had in a long time. Great service, ambience. No detail left unturned!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and presentation. Superb service.

Gracie a tutti.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One of the great restaurants in Napa. Great food, great service. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went for our anniversary. Just an amazing meal in all levels. Strong for steak, sure, but strong for everything. One of the best meals we've had in the valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Seated promptly. Great table, couldn't have had a better server....Charles was awesome! Every dish was spot-on perfect!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We received an outstanding service and our waiter gave us excellent recomendations from the menu. We would definately go back! Press should have other locations!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Let me start by saying our server was amazing. Knowledgeable, curteous and a pleasure. Our food- both steaks were over done. For the price, I do expect perfection. I'll chalk it up to a one time issue. Based on the service, we would not hesitate to return.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great stop for a wine country weekend. Even though its a steak place try the chicken - amazing! Didn't like the $30 corkage for a Napa place but they do have a great wine list.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The best food in all of Napa. They know how to cook a steak to perfection. The Truffle Mac and Cheese is amazing, my herb chicken was the best I've ever had and the parmesan Broccoli wow. Also, the service is even better than the food if that is possible. Great seating. Cushioned bench all around restaurant with tables that move (very easy for the handicapped or larger person to sit and be comfortable). Also big tables with comfy chairs. Great decor, and the chocolate cake is to die for with french PRESS coffee. This is a 12 on a 1-10 scale. Love it! Pricey for sure ($200 for two and we did not order alcohol), but worth every penny.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

First time dining here. Was pricy but the ambience and service made up for it. The 14 ounce New York strip steak was great but had two ounces of gristle (><). The next door customer ordered a salad but half the plate was half filled (have to have more on the plate to command the prices stated). Went to Gott's burgers afterwards for a night cap.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was great. It is New Year's Eve and there is a set menu. All good. However, the staff circled the table like vultures. They could not wait for you to leave to turn the table. For a 125 per person I expect much better! Very disappointing. Shame on you Press

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

What a disappointment. The food was fantastic but our server was so busy talking to other employees that he took forever to take our order, bring our drinks, offer dessert and then finally to bring the check. An attentive bus boy was finally able to get our waiter to bring the check so we could leave which was much appreciated. We will not be back despite the fact that the chocolate soufflé is the absolute best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a fabulous dinner with friends. We have eaten in both the restaurant and the bar area....both are great....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our best evening in Napa. We booked Press, based on reviews and location. We ordered the tasting menu and the wine pairing and it was such a delight! We were able to adapt the tasting menu slightly (I do NOT eat oysters-ever!) and the waiter was very kind to notify the chef. The chef was also very aware and respectful of our allergies. We were chilling after a day at the spa, our waiter took note of that and notified the kitchen...there was no rush, everything was timed perfectly. The Sommilier was excellent and took a lot of time to explain the reason that she had chosen the wine parings. I would go to Press again, and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants an excellent meal. It is pricey, but well worth the money for the excellent food and excellent service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Goode was wonderful but the service was off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

As always, dining at PRESS is such a pleasurable experience. The truffle mac and cheese is a must, as well as the chocolate soufflé. On different occasions, we have tried the filet mignon, NY strip and rib-eye, and each time they were seasoned beautifully and cooked to perfection. On our most recent visit, we also tried the steak tartare appetizer which was excellent. Overall, we love this place. We always try different restaurants and this always remains a favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (México)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Todos los platillos estuvieron excelentes, especialmente la carne, espectacular!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We love this restaurant for everything about it is special.

The good and wine is absolutely the best in the valley!

We are lucky to have this quality near by

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Cannot say enough about the service and atmosphere. Very professional with a relaxed vibe. You can tell that the staff really enjoys working there and wants to go the extra mile for the patrons. Looking forward to returning!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Outstanding service and healthy paleo menu with grass-fed beef and pickled vegetables. This chef is a master at farm to table and crafting artisan meals. Service was stunning and knowledgeable.

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Another memorable evening at Press. Thanks to Charles for always treating us special and providing a wonderful mix of professional service with friendly interaction. Lovely 2008 Ramey Chardonnay started off our evening well with delicious seasonal squash soup and beet salad starters. Filet mignons were all cooked perfectly and complimented by a delicious assortment of side dishes. The homemade popcorn ice cream was an interesting and festive way to complete the meal. We would also like to thank Spencer, Ashley, and Scott for their warm welcome. Wishing Happy Holidays to everyone at Press. Thank you for all the amazing wine, food, and great service delivered in 2016!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Press was a great restaurant in always would love to go back

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We have had a lot of incredible dining experiences while visiting the Napa Valley but Press was absolutely superb. The service was delightful and friendly. From the moment we walked in the door to the moment we left, everyone at the restaurant treated us like well respected friends that they were so happy to see.

The food was so good I can't even explain it. I can tell you that we are totally ruined for life as no other steak can possibly match the flatiron we had. And the truffle Mac and cheese was the ultimate comfort food of royalty.

Their wines by the glass featured boutique wineries that we would not have had the chance to enjoy otherwise.

I honestly can't wait to come back here again and would make a trip from Santa Cruz to Napa Valley just to dine here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Always a great experience. Only place I know that can consistently deliver a piping hot medium rare steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We dined at PRESS on Sunday evening to celebrate our recent engagement. The restaurant was beautifully decorated with Christmas decor. Our reservation was at 5pm and we were seated in one of the couple booths, which allowed for us to sit next to each other and enjoy the ambiance. Our server was friendly, attentive, and made great recommendations. We had the chopped salad (shared between the two), a American Flat Iron Wagyu Steak cooked medium rare each, the Truffled Mac 'n Cheese to share, and finished it off with the delectable chocolate souffle. We left with full stomachs and an overall enjoyable experience at PRESS. We will be sure to come back for future celebrations!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great steaks and salads. Sides were pricey and just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Loved everything from the décor to the service. The price is reasonable, and the employees are nice. I would definitely come back and dine with some more friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had a great waiter but were disappointed in the corkage fee of $30. This restaurant is at the top range for a corkage fee anywhere in the world. They should cut that down or out and support our wine industry here in Napa Valley.

Prices for their food items are also at the top end for what you get. I will not go back, just too many great restaurants with too many great menus in Napa Valley to spend the kind of money for a limited steak house menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Bananas foster dessert was great! Staff was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

An outstanding meal with outstanding service. It is often difficult to exceed high expectations, but Press did just that last night. Both the Tuna and the Swordfish entrees were exceptional. Our server was first rate, making excellent recommendations. The wine list was exceptional and fairly priced. The ambience is elegant, beautiful and festive. If you had to pick on one thing, it would be the chocolate cake dessert. It was far too large and frankly not worth the calories. However, this was an A+ dining experience and I plan to frequently return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Incredible food - best steak I've ever had. Wine selection is on point and the service was impeccable. We will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent steaks although dessert disappointing - lemon curd mousse very heavy with cheesecake consistency when a lighter mousse would have been perfect. Biscuit base solid and impossible to break. Flavor great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

All around great experience! The staff, cuisine, cocktails.....

Tags: Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent food. Outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Pardon the pun but Im-PRESS-ive! From beginning to end, we had an incredible experience even on a quieter rainy night. Fiona was welcoming at the door, Charles gave us charming and unobtrusive service at our table and when we needed help to pair the wine perfectly to our meal, their Somm, Amanda, found an incredible local producer that was exactly what we wanted. Style with substance. Very solid choice in St Helena and surely worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 5, 2016

My wife and I went here for our anniversary and they went above and beyond with their service. The wait staff wanted to hear our story and the chef came out with various treats from the kitchen they had made for us. They gave us a quite booth and really took amazing care of us all night long. We both felt so welcomed and it made the already special evening so much more special. I would absolutely go back again and I highly recommend Press.

Tags: Seasonal, Organic, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My girlfriend had a wonderful experience at PRESS! We had a gift certificate for a tasting menu but had forgotten it at the hotel. After our initial panic the general manager came and talked to us to see if he could help. He was great he was able to look it up in the system and honor it after getting all of the relevant information. He went over the top to help us and we are so grateful!

Our chefs tasting menu was amazing, six savory courses followed by a wonderful dessert. Some highlights included a tasting of fresh vegetables from the garden presented beautifully with sauces; fried oysters (yum!); sausage cassoulet; and one of the best steaks I have had in a while. We didn't know what was coming course after course but it was such a fun surprise tasting everything.

We had eaten at a prestigious Michelin starred restaurant in SF earlier in the week and PRESS was much better! The service, food, and experience was amazing. We will definitely be returning our next trip up to Napa (hopefully soon)!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My husband and I made reservations for our anniversary. The ambiance, the service was really good. The food was overall deliciouse but both of our plates the meat had chuncks with a bit too much salt, which was not too pleasant. The sides are very big for two people so i would suggest to go with a minimum group of four.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Understated, relaxed, exquisite food; a perfect dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

First time to Napa Valley. I wanted to go someplace special for my girlfriend's birthday.

Press was outstanding. Great filet and a great pork chop.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wine corkage fee policy after 2nd bottle of wine should be taken out! We spend $478 and could not open our 3 rd bottle, so had to buy the less expensive wines in their list! We are locals so we have lots of memberships around and it is ridiculous that if I brought my Bosché 2004 and could not enjoy the celebration as I wished because of this policy. Our server Charles was amazing and he worked his awesome personality with us, just an asset to the restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Our 3rd visit to Press and found it to be just as wonderful as the previous times. Everything about the meal was superb. We will be there again!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.