Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Mon, 6/18
Time
9:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Prairie Star Restaurant & Winebar

4.2
1299 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Good for a Date
  • Quiet Conversation
Prairie Star Restaurant & Winebar at Santa Ana Golf Club offers an unforgettable dining experience. Housed in an old adobe mansion, the warmth and intimacy of Prairie Star is intoxicating. You may absorb the atmosphere of handmade adobe walls, kiva fireplaces and full vigas and latilla ceilings while enjoying awe-inspiring and sweeping views of the golf course and the Sandia Mountains.

Chef Chris Olsen masterfully creates stunning Contemporary New American cuisine with global influences and changes our menu seasonally to reflect the time and freshest ingredients at hand. Each dish is carefully crafted from the finest ingredients and constructed for unique flavor combinations and flair of presentation.

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Global, International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner
Tue–Thu 5:00 pm–8:30 pm
Fri, Sat 5:00 pm–9:00 pm
Sun 5:00 pm–8:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(505) 867-3327
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chris Olsen
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
In-house catering in our large banquet room or one of our dining rooms. Our banquet facility is acclaimed for hosting tasteful events from social parties, corporate retreats, to wedding ceremonies and receptions. The indoor facility can accommodate 170 guests and our outdoor location can entice up to 400 guests. The menu packages start at $29 per person. We can book events seven days a week, breakfast, lunch or dinner-- plated or buffet.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Highway 550 & 528
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free Parking
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Mid-April through mid-October, Prairie Star Restaurant & Winebar hosts Live Music on the Patio each Friday evening from 5:30 to 8:30. Enjoy the best of local bands and artists. Moved indoors to the Wine Bar when dictated by weather. No cover and no reservations needed.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Prairie Star Restaurant & Winebar's most popular promotion, ongoing since 2009, is "Wednesday Wine & Dine". It is a unique 3 course dinner for two, served with a bottle of wine, for only $60. Each week a different menu is emailed to our PStar eClub database. Sign up at: http://mynewmexicogolf.com/prairiestar_email/

Prairie Star Restaurant & Winebar hosts monthly Wine Pairing Dinners.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1299 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.4
service
4.5
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 5 days ago

The waiter seemed to be preoccupied, service was a little slow much more then usual. The pork loin was a disappointment lacking in flavor and color, the polenta was dry and over done, the asparagus had not been trimmed and was extremely woody in texture. Overall not a stellar meal. My wife’s apitizer was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I took a friend who hadn't been to Prairie Star before. The views were spectacular and the food was great. My chilean sea bass was melt in your mouth good. The pheasant was pleasant. My husband wasn't as enamored with his steak, but enjoyed it nevertheless. The service was excellent and as mentioned, the views make any meal special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Beautiful establishment with views of the Sandia’s if you sit by the windows or on the patio. The live music on the patio on weekend evenings was a bit on the loud side, so, I’m glad we were seated inside. Wonderful service and top notch cuisine. I can highly recommend the Wagyu beef! Our waiter, Daniel, was the perfect balance of attentive without being intrusive. Excellent experience and we will not be waiting a year for our next anniversary to return! Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 6, 2018

The bread was dry and tasteless. The lemon pound cake was a big disappointment. The summer squash was so so but the salad was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Everything is always delicious. Friday nights on the patio with the band are fun!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Went here for our anniversary dinner. Everything was fantastic and pleasantly affordable! Wish there were more options on the menu. But what we had was superb: Prime rib and a smaller plate of shrimp and french fries. We both had glasses of the house Merlot (very nice). Plus, they were NOT stingy with the bread. Topped dinner off with a shared 'chocolate decadence' (gooey and yummy). Can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Our group of four was the only seating in the inside dining room. So, the ambiance and noise level were perfect. Our young waiter helped us with the special and the other menu items. We had one hors'doeuvres and a couple of salads before the entrees. The pace of the delivery of the items was superb. We had plenty of time to finish each item, sip a little wine and the next course would arrive. We were never rushed, nor did we ever think the staff was on break. We took almost two and a half hours to eat and have desserts. It was a perfect evening. Only admonition: the hors'douevres duck confit sliders is enough for a main entree'. Even one of the three sliders would have you well on your way to being full. Great taste, just very generous. The view of Sandia Mountain in the background and the golf course at evening in the foreground, made the setting ideal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 28, 2018

When we first moved to Albuquerque 8 years ago this was the place for special events like anniversaries, weddings, and birthdays, so my wife and I were anxious to try this restaurant. Unfortunately the current state of the restaurant and the food is less than to be desirable. On the positive side the views are amazing, but the food was tasteless and uninspired. It was not worth the money in my opinion. Hoping for better from this fixture in our community.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Another excellent dinner! The asparagus/mushroom soup was the best soup I've ever had, and I love soups. The trout was cooked perfectly and still moist. The chocolate decadence was out of this world. This is - by far - the best restaurant in the county!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Food was presented beautifully but because we ate from the Wednesday special and I think they precook the main courses to accommodate expected crowds the food was over cooked and somewhat dry

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

One of our favorite spots. Very quiet early on a weekday evening, but always pleasant with good food and gracious service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Wonderful mother's day celebration, memorable, great atmosphere

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I prefer my meal to be hot (it was a little too cool for my taste, but my family liked theirs). The waiter was very cordial, but slow. The table next to us had more patrons, arrived later, and left sooner than us. I know that a comfortable meal is rare in this day and age, but it seemed we spent a little too much time waiting for something.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This was the worst meal and service I have had in over 40 years in Albuquerque. There was nothing redeeming about any part of the evening. The sever was uninterested and when given a 10% tip he literately threw the credit card holder on the table. The grilled lettuce was not grilled and cold , the airplane chicken (3 0f 5) was tough and luke warm as was the trout, tough and cold. It took 45 minutes from cold lettuce to get the entree which was served in haphazard manner. the server never greeted us, never returned to the table unless we asked another waiter to find our waiter. He returned obviously annoyed that he was called. The manager did call me and offered me a partial refund. The unfortunate aspect was we were celebrating Mother's Day as my daughter who traveled fro Chicago had to return Sunday and son/wife who traveled from Dubai. We chose Prairie Star as it has spectacular view. We have eaten there before and it was never great food but OK. I cannot ever tell any one to eat there STAY AWAY By the way on Friday we ate at Seasons 52 in ABQ. It was terrific in every way

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Six of us routinely dine together to get caught up on our lives. We thoroughly enjoy the quiet, refined ambience of thePrairie Star.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 3, 2018

The tenderloin was amazing but the yellowtail tuna was meh, a bit over cooked.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

We have eaten at Prairie Star almost every time we visit Albq. Great restaurant and great view of mountains and golf course.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

This is a lovely spot for sunset dining. Terrific service.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Very dissapointing. Last time I was here, 10 years ago it was fabulous. It was very ordinary food for such high prices. $137 for 3 people with no alcohol or dessert. Slow service where we found ourselves searching for the waiter. We won't return.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 18, 2018

The staff was very friendly and professional, but the food was very disappointing. I ordered the trout, and came out looked like salmon. This would have been totally fine for me, but the fish wasn’t even cooked well. I’m not sure what happened but my dish was pretty awful. I can usually finish a meal,even if it’s not theme I intended, but this fish was quite awful. The service was great, but I truly could not believe that the fish was served in the state that it was.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Great meal. Excellent service. Bison tenderloin was terrific.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Took a friend to dinner at Prairie Star. It was her first time to visit this place and it was a great treat for her. My date ordered the bison steak and I had the Jidori chicken. Both dishes were excellent and I recommend them. We couldn’t decide which dessert but we decided on the chocolate decadence, and our waiter surprised us with our other choice the Creme bruhle.

Our server was Daniel and he is an amazing server and has a good knowledge of wine. He recommended an amazing bottle of wine for our dinner. Daniel is an asset to prairie star.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We’re so glad to have the “old” Prairie Star back. Excellent food, wine and service. I even ate all my Brussels sprouts and I normally HATE Brussels sprouts!! After avoiding this restaurant for years following a few horrible experiences we’re so happy to have it on our list of favorites again after three excellent dinners.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

The Prairie Star was up to expectations. I live nearby and have been dining there for years. Never disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

wonderful food service ambience and view. This was Easter brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Beautiful setting with amazing views, very attentive service, and exceptional food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

We love the Wednesday special and enjoy the fact the menu’s variety is interesting and the wine selection is a learning experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

We always enjoy coming here for dinner, or a glass of wine. Beautiful surroundings. Everyone there is so friendly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 27, 2018

We visited on a Tuesday night. It was not very busy. Waiter was pleasant and attentive.
He waiter explained that they were out of a few things (This early? Really?).

For some reason, the kitchen was really slow. So slow that the embarrassed waiter offered a round of wine refills on the house. The starter (crab stuffed calamari) was excellent.

And we still waited. When the food finally arrived, it looked good - but tasted rather bland. Apparently, seasonings like table salt are a special request.

It wasn't a bad experience, but, for the price, should have been better. At least, the dining room was fairly quiet and conversations were easy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

We love the Wednesday special dining menu which include a bottle of wine. Great and friendly service. We highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Best place on this side of the river. Great food, beautiful scenery of the golf course and Sandias. Excellent staff as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Took my son and grandson for my son's birthday. We all enjoyed it greatly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Wonderful food service, wonderful tasteing food, beautiful views from all seats. Great attentive staff.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Service was slow and tuna was over cooked, have had better experiences in the past.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 1, 2018

I had the petite steak- while tasty it was full of fat and gristle

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 1, 2018

great taste. Fish was over-cooked. Beautiful setting and furnishings.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 25, 2018

We made a reservation
Was put in a small room with a table Of four very loud people.

Ordered margaritas they were horrible we didn’t even drink them.
Steaks came out asked for med rare and they were well done.

Meal came with steal bread pudding that was more like a burned muffin with too much herb.

The bread they brought out was hard.
Been going to this place for a couple years now and it use to be great.

No more! last three visits we have seen food go downhill.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Good visit for a evening dinner. Did the Wednesday Night Wine and Dine. Our server Daniel was very attentive and friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Everything was great, our window was hazy so our view was kind of annoying, and there was a few ladies behind us who were playing youtube videos the whole time, but of course we don't blame PS for that. A great experience, we'll be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2018

I had heard Prarie Star was under new management and decided to give it a try again. Our server was wonderful. Very attentive, but gave us time to visit. We were also seated in a smaller room without any other diners and this made it quiet and easy to visit.

My husband ordered a gin and tonic. The tonic water was flat and when the server brought him a new drink it was still flat.Our friends had the duck. They both thought it was very tough. It came with a type of blue mashed potato, but came out looking like a grey paste. The rest of us had the sirloin. It was flavorful, but very tough. I had a hard time cutting it in places with the steak knife.
The price was more reasonable than say Artichoke Cafe, but I would have rather paid another $10.00 a plate for superior food and atmosphere.

Sadly the restaurant looks like it hasn’t been renovated since the 90’s. It’s unfortunate because the restaurant has some wonderful views of the city lights.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
33

Tweets by Prairie Star Restaurant & Winebar