About Posh at The Scranton Club

POSH At The Scranton Club is a full service restaurant and Event facility located in beautiful downtown Scranton in what was formerly a private club. Open to the public for the first time in the building's history, POSH offers classic American bistro cuisine in a refined yet casual setting, as well as the latest cocktails in the Fashion Lounge, and Oak Bar. Enjoy classic and affordable American cuisine in an elegant and historical setting. The City Hall Bar overlooks the impressive municipal building of the city of Scranton. Daily specials and farm to table offerings from our Chef de Cuisine Jourdan Azevedo and Sous Chef Damien Miseo are available. The elegant second floor event space can accommodate up to 300 guests for a sit down event. Menus are customized to the needs of the client by our on-site event planner.

404 N Washington Ave.
Scranton, PA 18510
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;

Monday and Tuesday - Private Events of 20 or more

Wednesday - Saturday - 11:30an - 5:00pm
Every WEDNESDAY all bottles of Wine are 1/2 off, Every THURSDAY 1/2 LB Lobster tail for $19.95

Dinner: Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, bar is open until midnight

Cross Street:
Mulberry Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 955-5890

Website:
http://poshatsc.com/

Entertainment:
Oak Bar and Fashion Lounge offer various entertainment Thursday, Friday and Saturday

Parking Details:
Parking lot behind POSH, Adams Parking Garage, or on street parking.

Executive Chef:
Chef De Cuisine Jourdan Azevedo and Sous Chef Damien Miseo

Private Party Facilities:
Our second Floor Event Space can accomodate up to 300 for a sit down function. Small Private events can also be booked in the Fashion Lounge.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
POSH Specializes in events like weddings, rehearsal dinners, showers or any type of business dinner or presentation. We are happy to customize a menu to meet the needs of our client.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Thu - Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Posh at The Scranton Club Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Special Occasion (29)
Good for Birthdays (25)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Romantic (17)
Historic (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Business Meals (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Healthy (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Cozy (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Fireplace (6)
Casual (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Private Room (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Authentic (5)
Fun (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Vegan (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Music (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
637 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined 4 days ago

The Sunday brunch featured so many delicious choices. I will certainly return. Our waiter was friendly and helpful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 5 days ago

great food, great drinks, great ambiance, great service -- what more can you ask for.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

First time visit. Seating was comfortable, service was great. Host and waiters very nice. We all enjoyed our meals and look forward to returning Bathroom was spotless. Beautiful old building.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

A first rate restaurant with delicious food and outstanding service. The dining area is elegant but not pretentious, the wine list a first rate, and the prices were appropriate for the quality of the meal. Overall the dining experience was excellent.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I took my mom here for Mother's Day. It was buffet style upstairs. Food was excellent. Variety was good. Live piano player was entertaining. We had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very disappointed with the Mother's Day brunch here, and having visited several times before with fantastic results. We were herded upstairs to a large banquet room with many 4-person round tables squeezed in. I had presumed we would be dining in the usual downstairs bar/lounge with ample room and an atmosphere.
The food stations at this last sitting (2:00PM) contained mostly dried-out leftover pieces of fish, pasta, and beef. I had truly expected more choices because of the exorbitant prize fixe of $49.99.
I had a fresh well-made omelette and a salad and my wife and her mother had basically a few vegetables, and looked forward to some desert choices with coffee. However, as the crowd thinned, and the meager desert choices were left, we decided to leave un satisfied and went elsewhere to eat. I remarked such to the manager and voiced my concern that my mother-in-law could not find a cannoli or two. I hoped they would be able to find extras. He was not interested in restocking, as I signed off for a wasted afternoon brunch.
The only consolations were cocktails. I will never again patronize a special-day menu like this at Posh, and will think twice before I return for a standard brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went to Posh for Mother's Day brunch with my wife, my mother, my daughters and their families. We had gone in other years and were always pleased. This year the food, service, and overall experience was the best yet. Great selection of food, not overly crowded or noisy--so a quite relaxing experience. I would highly recommend though the price might be a bit high for some. But, again it was all-inclusive, and of course it was a holiday.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Best Meal in the Valley was an actual comment at the table. Must try the Baked Goat Cheese as a starter! Our table had the Salmon, Crab Cakes, Grilled Pork Chops and Beef Tenderloin Medallions. Every dish was amazing with no complaints on any of them. Will definitely be back for dinner and can't wait to try their Brunch!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Posh is one of our favorite restaurants in Scranton PA, the owners, staff and atmosphere is fantastic. Their food is some of the best in the area. Check it out you won't be disappointed...

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The atmosphere was a bit loud but everyone around us seemed to be enjoying themselves. Guacamole was bland and had more peas than avocado. Excellent fish taco app. Tenderloin tips good. NY strip steak fatty. Scallops good. Loved the pretzels served in lieu of bread. Just didn't really add up to a great meal but overall would certainly try again and keep on the list

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I really enjoyed my visit to Posh! Our service was exceptional! I would of gave the food a better rating, but one of our friends ordered the New York Strip medium and he got it well done, we are not ones to complain so nothing was said to our server.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This is a great place for a special date night, or a special occasion. Great family treat for regular dinning also. Service and food are excellent and the atmosphere is great. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Pre theater....
Brunch is so much better than the limited menu we had today.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent dining experience! Beautiful environment, food was prepared exactly to our liking and was delicious. Service was exceptional. We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great place and an amazing and friendly staff, we went for the Easter buffet and will definitely be back next year!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was our first time at Posh. Great food... Great service... we heartily recommend this place. Definitely go to Posh. You will be impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 2, 2017

While visiting my son at the University of Scranton, we always dine at POSH. It was recommended by a local, and what a find it was. The service is amazing, with a friendly, courteous staff. The menu is varied, covering special diets and tastes. Food is always cooked to order with wonderful suggestions by servers. The dining area is historic and eclectic with comfortable and personal seating. When dining at POSH, I know I will receive the food and service I have come to expect. Always enjoyable. Thank you POSH!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Service was great and food was really good, too! We were a group of eight and service was excellent for a group this large. Food was served rather quickly, and it was all very good, piping hot! Drinks were great, too...would definitely go back!

Tags: Casual, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Beautiful place, great good, great cocktail, impeccable service, can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Poconos)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Excellent, service great, food very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Went for brunch with my family food was delectable and service was impeccable

Tags: Fireplace, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on March 25, 2017

My go to place in Scranton, PA. Love the food, staff and atmosphere!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Farewell lunch for a valued coworker. We enjoyed a delicious lunch in the quiet atmosphere. Food and service were great. Thank you for being there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Fabulous, if you haven't been here you're missing one great restaurant.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We chose POSH for our "Sister"s Day" luncheon. This time I got to choose the restaurant. Since my sisters all live out of town and I am local, I decided POSH would be a nice, relaxing place where we could chat and catch up and not be rushed. I was very pleased with my choice!
We were greeted in the foyer and taken to our table. The waiter was very courteous and friendly. We ordered the lunch specials, which were very delicious and left room for us to have dessert which was a decadent Lemon Cake. Oh so good! One thing we forgot, to have the waiter take our picture. Next time we will be sure to get our photo.

Tags: Healthy, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Delicious dinner. Wonderful service. Attentive to our special allergy needs

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great place! Excellent service. .. Have not had one food item or beverage we didn't love! And the charcuterie board? ?? To die for!!

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Called well ahead of time knowing that all of their side dishes are very starch/carb heavy (potatoes and root veg) Requested a low carb side dish option (type 2 diabetic)...was assured that steamed veg or something similar would be available. Got to restaurant, sit down with menus...explained that I had called earlier in the day with my request ect...and found that apparently my request had been ignored. Was offered Brussels sprouts in Apple cider sauce (sugar) or I could take Broccoli from their root veg mix (broccoli a root veg??) anyway...I choose the broccoli and half a wedge salad. 15-20 min goes by...we have appetizer and the salad...they start bringing dishes out of the kitchen and mine has a big mound of mashed potatoes on it and no broccoli..."they ran out" the waitress sees this and apologizes and has them take it back. I am offered sautéed zucchini which I reluctantly accept because we have a show to catch at 8pm. The food was good...I have no issue with that..and the waitress I belive was trying her best under a difficult situation that management put her in...because the phone call was placed in the afternoon with my request (which was aknowledged and assured there would be options at the time) and clearly the request was brushed off. (The waitress indicated that she was aware we were coming and was trying to think of some options for me) To me the value honestly was not all THAT great...$77 for 2 with 1 app 1 desert and no drinks...ehh??? Perhaps I would have felt differently if a simple request made 6 hours earlier would have been fulfilled as promised. Again...this was not the fault of the waitress...she was very good.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Posh is always excellent and Casey on the waitstaff is great. Incredibly friendly and attentive while giving us space. Thanks Casey.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Late-night Find, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Unbelievable restaurant with great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Had a wonderful date night with my husband. Started with a Martini and ended with nice glass of white wine that went great with my surf and turf.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I've never had an off meal here. The food has always been great every time I've been here for dinner, lunch, brunch, or special event.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Get the salmon! It may be the best cooked salmon you will have, perfectly crusted on the outside and so silky tender on the inside. Fried artichokes were delicious and very creative- not the usual fried pickle. Surf and turf was the fresh special for that night and it was so tasty as well. Also the fresh - chewy pretzel sticks were a nice surprise that came with the meal! Overall this place is fantastic- best in NEPA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Little disappointed. NY strip was not good.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Been here many times, always consistent, friendly, good food, great service. Gary and the owners are great people....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Casual, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Found myself in Scranton and looked for the best restaurants the city had to offer. Saw some reviews about Posh. Gave it a try. Was NOT disappointed. Every dish we had was cooked perfectly and was very tasty. The prices were very reasonable (coming from Philly, they were on the low end to what we were used to). We enjoyed everything about Posh except for the parking -- it is in the city of Scranton, and you have to find street parking. But if you find yourself in Scranton like we did, definitely give this place a try. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food and service were awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The meal was awesome. I was able to request a special table which Posh accommodated me on. To top it off they treated us with Champagne.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy, Fireplace, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The was Valentine's Day dinner. We had a special 'price fixed' four course menu. Every thing was outstanding. Started with complementary champagne, we had shrimp cocktail (6 large shrimp), one Posh salad (nice greens great dressing) really good, one wedge salad (large wedge with bacon & blue cheese) really great, one beef medallions (really great), one crab cakes (outstanding), dessert our choice was red velvet cake. Due to the size of the portions, we had to take the dessert home. Beautiful place, service was great also.

Tags: Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

A culinary delite , atmosphere is wonderful & exceptional staff. By far, Posh is the top dining experience in this area.. ..

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.