Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

About Portofino

Portofino is an unassuming neighborhood bistro located on a quiet side street in Buckhead. From the street, you can see the beautiful stone and brick patio that offers the most enjoyable outdoor seating in town. The patio spills into a delightful dining room with vaulted ceilings, hardwood floors, and bright, energetic artwork.

The cuisine at Portofino is American-Italian offering a selection of simple pastas, innovative bistro-style appetizers, and entrees. The menu and award-winning wine list are constantly changing and good times prevail.

3199 Paces Ferry Place
Atlanta, GA 30305
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:30am-2:00pm & 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Paces Ferry

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 231-1136

Website:
http://www.portofinoatl.com/index

Executive Chef:
Andre Brookins

Private Party Facilities:
Available Sun-Thur For parties up to 30.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Anderson: (404) 231-1136

Additional:
Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Portofino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Special Occasion (36)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Romantic (23)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Notable Wine List (21)
Authentic (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Cozy (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Casual (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Business Meals (11)
Fun (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Outstanding Value (6)
Healthy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Scenic View (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Fireplace (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Family Style (3)
Private Room (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Vegan (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1424 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was fenominal, but above all, the waitress that served us was the best

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

They met our request to sit out on their beautiful patio and the service by Madison was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went here for Mothers Day Brunch. Food was great. Nice seating. Very cozy and quaint environment. I will be back for sure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for mother's day and my wife and daughter loved it. We were seated promptly. We sat outside and enjoyed our visit. We'll be back.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This restaurant is overrated . The food was average at best and there was very little "Italian influence " in the dishes or décor. Our waiter was adequate but nothing special. Next time going all the way downtown avoid this restaurant, it's just not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had a lovely time at Portofino, as always. Scott did a great job of describing the specials and keeping our meal moving at the perfect speed. My husband and I always get different things and share, and it was too close to call whose meal was better. Everything was delicious. And the parsnip cake was to die for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great atmosphere. Food was very good, although the veal was coated with a lot of batter. Everything was very tasty, and the service was good. We will return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We have been here before and really like it. However, this time, we requested to be seated on the (uncovered) terrace and it started to sprinkle rain when we were almost but not quite finished eating. Our server came and said they would reseat us on the covered terrace or inside, but they did not do so and left us, assuming we were finished and did not want another drink or dessert. I was unhappy with the situation and felt we were being ignored. Not sure when I would return.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Flawless from arrival to the check. Excellent service, made us feel welcomed, delicious food, great staff and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Yet another memorable evening at Portofino with friends. It is among the too-rare restaurants with both indoor and outdoor dining settings that allow for easy conversation. We were glad we chose to revisit. The menu is interesting and varied, food attractive and tasty, servers knowledgeable and pleasant, and even the valet is prompt and cheerful. And, the clear message is take your time, enjoy yourselves, don't rush. On the patio in perfect weather, what could have been better? (Kudos to Willie, Alvin & Welder)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Service, food and ambince were great. Celebrating a special occassion and would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Had to send mussels back. Not good! Caesar salad was tasteless and some of lettuce was brown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Very good dining experience. However wasn't wowed. The service was excellent and the food was good. The patio was very nice

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Sat outside which was lovely. The food was mediocre, special monkfish was tasty but small, served with a dab of potatoes and salad side instead of veggie..We had just finished a salad! Service was fine., very cordial. We had Alvin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Nice meal with very good service. Probably not one of our top 10.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 27, 2017

A favorite restaurant when I was living in Atlanta....has now become my FAVORITE when I'm in Atlanta on business. Wonderful food! Enjoyed outside dining in late April. I'll be back next time I'm in town.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The strawberry salad was a perfect intro to the meal. Outstanding special of flounder with ancient grains - yummy! Our waiter was very efficient, courteous, and helpful. We had an outstanding experience and superb meal. Nothing was just okay.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Healthy, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

First time there and it was a lovely experience. Everything was great and my friend loved it as well. We will definitely eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food and great service. The patio seating is very nice this time of year!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went to Portofino for Easter brunch and it was our first visit to the restaurant. We didn't know what we had been missing! Delicious food, reasonably priced. (try the goat cheese cheesecake - unbelievable) We sat on the patio on a beautiful Sunday. Really enjoyed it. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We are big fans of Portofino for lunch and dinner but, had never gone for brunch. It was delicious!! Everything was amazing. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We are big fans of Portofino - love the outdoor dining and have had outstanding dinners over the years. We chose Portofino for Easter brunch this year, and we were all disappointed. I think the menu tried to hard and did not have basic brunch fare. There were no omelets, no grits or potatoes. The french toast that my 9 year old ordered came with fruit compote, and the kitchen had no syrup to offer (despite having both french toast and pancakes on the menu). The spinach frittata was dry and not very flavorful. The duck benedict was average, as was the steak and eggs. The best bet was probably the side of eggs with the side of bacon. I still love this restaurant and will continue to recommend it for dinner, but brunch was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Always a good meal, and the outdoor covered patio is wonderful. Service and staff are friendly and attentive.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We usually sit with Alvin, but Ryan took care of our group of six. He did an excellent job. He was very attentive without being intrusive. Food, as usual was excellent!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Loved the patio and sitting outside in the beautiful weather. Best patio in town. Had appetizers and grazed while trying different wines. They really know Italian wines. Staff very friendly and willing to let us tasted several wines before ordering. It truly is a pleasant neighborhood, good food place to be. One of our favorites.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This was a great place for a Sunday Brunch!! Nice atmosphere, good food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening. The dinner was excellent. The service was superb. Will be back soon!! Thank you!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Flavorless Food
7 pm on a Saturday night you'd think Portofino would be busy, but the four of us sat alone in a side room near the bar for at least an hour. We ordered two items from the specials: octopus special (chewy and tough) and chilled pea soup (best thing on the table). Entrees were grouper and a pasta dish. Grouper had no salt -- totally blah. Pasta was OK but nothing I couldn't make at home. We hadn't been here in a few years and had good memories of the place. We were disappointed. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (London)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Lovely place, lovely food, friendly staff. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 2, 2017

awesome terrace. Beautiful food and wine! one of our favorites!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Mozzarella was pretty tasteless and "solid" despite being a house specialty and the fish was overly salty. We've eaten here several times but this meal was disappointing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was excellent, especially the mussels in a wine, garlic, and butter broth and the warm goat cheese. Patio was lovely. Service was friendly and accomodating.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We had a wonderful evening celebrating my husband's 40th birthday. We had our two small children with us-2 and 5-and our waiter was very accommodating. An enjoyable dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food was just mediocre on every level. The server was fantastic. He was knowledgeable, enthusiastic and friendly. If the food had lived up to his presentation I'd be going back instead of putting it on my "no fly zone".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent service and a wonderfully inventive
menu. The patio is the perfect place for dinner on an early spring evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had everything from apps to desserts. Nothing disappointed . Great server recommended the perfect wine to go with our meals. Definitely going to visit again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Been going to Portofino since it opened, Food is always good, service too.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Always good and different. Great place for any occasion. A bit breezy but less that a wonderful evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Server was extremely helpful. All dishes were wonderful. I would highly recommend and will be back next time
I am in buck head.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.