About Portofino

3199 Paces Ferry Place
Atlanta, GA 30305
View Larger Map

Portofino is an unassuming neighborhood bistro located on a quiet side street in Buckhead. From the street, you can see the beautiful stone and brick patio that offers the most enjoyable outdoor seating in town. The patio spills into a delightful dining room with vaulted ceilings, hardwood floors, and bright, energetic artwork.

The cuisine at Portofino is American-Italian offering a selection of simple pastas, innovative bistro-style appetizers, and entrees. The menu and award-winning wine list are constantly changing and good times prevail.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:30am-2:00pm & 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Paces Ferry

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 231-1136

Website:
http://www.portofinoatl.com/index

Executive Chef:
Andre Brookins

Private Party Facilities:
Available Sun-Thur For parties up to 30.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Anderson: (404) 231-1136

Additional:
Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Portofino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (36)
Good for a Date (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
See All
Special Occasion (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Romantic (18)
Authentic (16)
Cozy (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Business Meals (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Casual (10)
Fun (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Private Room (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Seasonal (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1369 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The best Italian I have had in Atlanta. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

The best Italian I have had in Atlanta. First visit but definitely not the last. Service was amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usual outstanding food; somebody really ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

Usual outstanding food; somebody really knows how to cook and the food seems to get even better constantly. The service was friendly, prompt, and knowledgeable. The wine list is extensive, varied, and reasonably priced. We have enjoyed Portofino ever since it opened. It is our favorite restaurant and we highly recommend it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We used a $20 open table reward points t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We used a $20 open table reward points toward our dinner but got the impression the restaurant does not prefer to use those. We had a great experience up until that point when paying the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Service awful which is not the typical c ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Service awful which is not the typical case. Very disappointed as the server seemed annoyed about his night and very abrupt. We felt scolded. Food and ambiance always perfect. Shame about the server.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

My husband and I are very frequent dine ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My husband and I are very frequent diners at Portofino and love it!! We love the amazing food, the staff and the ambience of Portofino and will always be regulars thank you Portofino, we love you!!! 😘

Tags: Business Meals, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall experience was great. Our wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The overall experience was great. Our waiter Scott was extremely helpful in regards to all of the different wines offered as well as service extended. The restaurants atmosphere is very pleasant and the noise level was low, which was a pleasure. The short braised ribs were wonderful as was all of the other entree's our party ordered. Would definitely recommend this delightful restaurant to others.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice service and menu. Always a tre ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very nice service and menu. Always a treat and enjoyable evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service! Everything wa ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food, great service! Everything was delicious! Will deifnitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have always loved Portofino over the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We have always loved Portofino over the years, however this visit was not good at all. We took a very good friend from overseas to dinner for her last night in Atlanta and the meal was a disappointment: The Sausage & Rapini orrichete was actually a soup, not a pasta dish -- but we accepted it anyway. that was a mistake--it was so salty it was inedible. I love salt but could not eat this dish. The special pork pasta was mediocre at best -- it was not very hot and the outside was hard and difficult to cut (never had to cut a pasta before). An interesting dish but I could have done better at Olive Garden! I may give Portofino another try since we have been going there for years, but it will be a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Truly one of Atlanta's best restaurants. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Truly one of Atlanta's best restaurants.

Fabulous fresh food and fabulous wine list.

One of the best patios for dining in the city.

Mike runs a first class operation that is not only a neighborhood gem on a quiet street but a destination restaurant that's worth the drive.

I love Portofino!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Casual, People Watching, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seemed a little quieter than normal, but ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Seemed a little quieter than normal, but we enjoyed the pace, the wine assistance, the meal and pleasantly surprised by the Parsnip dessert. We had a lovely time, thank you!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful food and the patio was perfect ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Wonderful food and the patio was perfectly romantic for our anniversary dinner - oh and the valet was amazing, had our cars ready as soon as we got outside the restaurant!! Definitely will go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Scott was an awesome waiter. Great food ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Scott was an awesome waiter. Great food and was able to sit outside, in JANUARY!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usually, everything was great. What ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

As usually, everything was great. What else can I say...I always have a good experience here and will go back. As I did two days later.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, as always! Look forward to each ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great, as always! Look forward to each of our visits to Portofino. Great wine lists!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Portofino is and has been one of my abso ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Portofino is and has been one of my absolute go to spots for lunch with clients, date night and special celebrations. I love the staff's genuine care for insuring we have memorable time. The food is usually flavorful and so authentic.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Private Room
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good appetizers, excellent entrees, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very good appetizers, excellent entrees, and wonderful wait staff!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistent, food creative, fresh, ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always consistent, food creative, fresh, great presentation, and a nice ambiance

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, , Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly staff, quick service, awesome f ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Friendly staff, quick service, awesome food! We were attending JJ Grey concert at the Buckhead Theatre and it was close in proximity.

Great choice - definitely a place to revisit!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service. Great food. Wonderful res ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great service. Great food. Wonderful restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food, great service! Easily ac ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Fabulous food, great service! Easily accommodated splitting salads and entrees so we could share.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our whole family loves this restaurant. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our whole family loves this restaurant. Our children are 14 and 11 and always have great options. The drinks are creative and the food is impeccable, as is the service. Great spot for

an occasion or just a night out.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vegan, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always return to Portofinos when we a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We always return to Portofinos when we are in Atlanta. Warm comfortable and inviting atmosphere with great food and an exciting wine list. Have never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My niece and I came to Atlanta for the S ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My niece and I came to Atlanta for the SEC Championship game and had dinner following the awesome win for BAMA!!! Scott was our server and an outstanding one. Great help with recommendations. Our wine was a featured selection and beyond awesome...Nicolas, Amorone, '08 The roasted cauliflower starter was my favorite although everything was delicious. LOVED the atmosphere. Will certainly stop again when bak in Atlanta.

Tags: Spicy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food quality and preparation. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Very good food quality and preparation. We especially enjoyed the appetizers which were unique but "worked."

The service was excellent and the entrees very generously sized--more than I expected.

Only downer was a very "exuberant" crowd--quite noisy large parties throughout the place and the noise detracted from an otherwise excellent experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Having resided in Atlanta previously, I ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Having resided in Atlanta previously, I have eaten at Portofino numerous times and have always loved it. Was our go to place for a great meal and solid wine list at a reasonable price. Service always exceeded expectations. However, in the last month on trips to Atlanta, I have eaten there twice and both times the service was mediocre- the wait staff not able to explain the menu. More importantly the food was sub par. I will not return. Very disappointing, considering this was my overall favorite place for a nice, solid meal and comfort.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The overall experience was good but the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The overall experience was good but the pasta we ordered the one with broth was way too salty.

Service was excellent. Too bad on the pasta. Meatball app was excellent as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Went to Portofino for date night after I ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Went to Portofino for date night after I found out another restaurant wasn't open on Sundays. In short, I loved the experience. Very warm and friendly staff, and I look forward to dining outside during the evening when the weather warms up. While the wine and drink menu was extensive, it didn't seem like there was a wide food selection. Doesn't matter, the food was delicious! From the appetizers to the entrees. If you do seafood, try the seared scallops and enjoy everything that comes on the plate. Can't wait for my next trip to Portofino!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great meal at Portofino! Loved the wine ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great meal at Portofino! Loved the wine list and unique blends of flavors in the food. Will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always dependable service and dining exp ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Always dependable service and dining experience. Food specials are always interesting and delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Organic, Cozy, Comfort Food, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Business Meals, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service Cute place

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Excellent food and service

Cute place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Portofino is always an incredible experi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Portofino is always an incredible experience from the ambiance to the food, it is a restaurant that sticks out among Atlanta's increasingly vibrant dining scene. On a recent dinner, my family and I were lucky enough to grab a table on the patio and as usual, it did not disappoint. Our server Kelly was attentive and knowledgable. Overall, an excellent experience that I would recommend to anyone looking for delicious food and a can't-be-beat atmosphere!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Private Room, Fun, Cozy, , Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arguably one of the best Italian restaur ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Arguably one of the best Italian restaurants in Atlanta! Amazing service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 31st anniversary. and All ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was our 31st anniversary. and All there wish us a happy anniversary. The food is good. However from the plates my wife and I ordered you will experience a different set of taste due to the combination of foods on your plate. I ordered the seared scallops, this was served over a bed of purple cabbage and a cucumber root that almost like a cream. The combination of all this was very different taste but very good. My wife had the Bucatini this was a pasta and when it was brought out you can smell the obvious smoked seasoning. It to was very good. Again, good food but prepare your senses for different tastes.

Being our anniversary we search for fine dining on that weekend and we dress accordingly, we were over dressed for this place. We felt it would be more inline attire wise of a 4 to 5 star establishment, which it is not. I personally would rate this a Very High 3 to a low 4. Our waiter Anthony was excellent

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

The Monk fish special was awesome. The ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The Monk fish special was awesome. The overall meal was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, , Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always consistent in its qua ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The food is always consistent in its quality, and the special regional menu every month is always creative. Service always excellent and fast. The epitome of a Buckhead local.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and relaxing and quiet, very ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great food and relaxing and quiet, very friendly staff

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely late fall evening on the balcony ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Lovely late fall evening on the balcony outside. Really attentive service from waitress. Food tasty, with particular raves for the pasta special, angel hair done in pepper that was simply divine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

It was a beautiful evening and the patio ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2016

It was a beautiful evening and the patio dining at Portofino was perfect! Service was prompt, reliable and helpful. All in all, a relaxing evening with nice wine and entree.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Seth, our waiter, was awesome! He is so ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Seth, our waiter, was awesome! He is so nice and enthusiastic! I love the food and ambiance here!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.