Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

About Portofino

Portofino is an unassuming neighborhood bistro located on a quiet side street in Buckhead. From the street, you can see the beautiful stone and brick patio that offers the most enjoyable outdoor seating in town. The patio spills into a delightful dining room with vaulted ceilings, hardwood floors, and bright, energetic artwork.

The cuisine at Portofino is American-Italian offering a selection of simple pastas, innovative bistro-style appetizers, and entrees. The menu and award-winning wine list are constantly changing and good times prevail.

3199 Paces Ferry Place
Atlanta, GA 30305
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday:5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Paces Ferry

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 231-1136

Website:
http://www.portofinoatl.com/index

Executive Chef:
Andre Brookins

Additional:
Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Portofino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.6

Noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Special Occasion (26)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
See All
Good for a Date (23)
Notable Wine List (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Authentic (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Romantic (17)
Casual (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Cozy (14)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Business Meals (8)
Fun (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Seasonal (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Spicy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Scenic View (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1480 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and wonderful ambience. Server was knowledgeable and friendly. Would go back in a heart beat.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Delightful and delicious!
Totally accommodating!
We will be back for sure ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Service and food were great!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 3, 2017

We were celebrating 3 Oct. birthdays with old friends. A lovely evening... company, food and weather!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Meet with old friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Muy contentos con la experiencia.
Quedamos gratamente sorprendidos.
Andrea nos atendió espectacularmente!!! Felicitaciones para ella!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Extensive and tasty selection of specials. Everything was very good and well presented. Waiter was attentive to our needs, suggested slight change to wine we chose in view of our dishes and I agree with the switch.

Will return as we have in the past.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Went to meet a friend for last minute dinner and was recommended this place by my sister. It is such a quaint little spot. It is a neighborhood gen. We got lucky and got a table out on the beautiful patio. The menu had plenty of choices for even the pickiest of foodies. The service was great as well.

i can't wait to come back to Atlanta and come to Portofino again!!!

You won't be disappointed here

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary and it couldn't have been better. Staff was so friendly and accommodating. Food was outstanding and service impeccable. Can't wait to revisit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 7, 2017

beautiful patio, warm, romantic ambiance, excellent food and wine

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Portofino never disappoints! We live in Smyrna so Portofino is not right-around-the -corner, but the quality of this restaurant makes the extra miles worth the time. We highly recommend Portofino!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

The menu offers a wide choice of Italian foods, and they have an excellent wine selection. The atmosphere and service were top notch. We had the salmon and the black grouper, and both were excellent. I highly recommend Portofino.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We enjoyed it a lot. Food was good and service was nice. Pricing is good and our friends who had never been to Portofino loved it. They live close to the restaurant and will be back!
Nice evening!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Very good italian style restaurant. Wonderfull evening.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Very good and staff was very attentive. Noise level was great but it was a slow night at the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Knowledgeable, attentive & professional wait staff, exceptional food & wine selections... we love going to Portofino's!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Healthy, Seasonal, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

One of our favorites places in the Buckhead area. Kelly is a great server, very friendly and attentive. Food is always wonderful and consistent. Wine list is good and very reasonably priced.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Outstanding! Have been several times since it's conception and it never disappoints. Friendly and helpful staff and patio is perfect. 5 stars!

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Wonderful menu that's varied and interesting. Also, they choose a different part of Italy to highlight with specials each month. Be sure to try the sausage and rapini pasta!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Wonderful night for outdoor dining at Portofino! Service was excellent and food delicious. Chef allowed us to mix up the Entrees to make them to our liking and they were scrumptious! Ravioli specials were truly a hit with everyone in group. Would definitely recommend Portofino to anyone interested in a night of good food and drinks. Management was walking thru restaurant to check on everyone, staff very attentive to each table and needs of all.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Portofino has never failed me! Have taken guests and friends there and we have always enjoyed ourselves. Food is outstanding and love the monthly change of regions. Servers are friendly and knowledgeable. It's on my go-to list!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great food, great service. Noise level high

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Food was great, service was amazing. We really enjoyed ourselves!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Awesome food , great atmosphere , excellent wine list at a great location in Buckhead. We loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

As usual we had a great visit to Portofino. The bar staff was great and our table server was also wonderful. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Another excellent dining experience. Never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Delightful! Eat here everytime I am in Atlanta. Plus, staff was wonderful to notice I left something behind and called me to let me know.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Good food! I like that Italian regions are highlighted. Seemed like there were some Southern local type dishes that didn't have a true Italian flavor. But, still very good. The strawberry rhubarb shortcake was dry with little fruit, that was the only negative. We'll be back though as we enjoy this hidden gem.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great evening even with rain making patio dining a challenge. Michael & Portofino team are always welcoming and make every dining experience special.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Have eaten there several times. Has never disappointed us. Great food, great service.
Can get a little noisy in some areas.
Sit out on the patio if you have the chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The overall experience was wonderful. It was a very intimate settings that had a great tasting Italian cuisine. We were celebrating an anniversary. Definitely, an intimate setting for a romantic date. A grown-up venue worth visiting.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Portofino is an excellent restaurant for celebrating special occasions and just relaxing after a long day. I would highly recommend Portofino.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Portofino is often our "go-to" restaurant when we want a good meal in a casual, but lovely setting. We have been going for years and will continue to keep it high on our list of neighborhood regulars!

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

All was good except the AC was not working very well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This is a real local favorite and many don't know it is on this quiet back street in middle of Buckhead. Their chef does a lot of unique dishes and they make most of their own pastas. Try it you are sure to add it to your list of regular places.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Late-night Find, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This was the first time to the restaurant. The food was amazing.; however, the service was sub-par. Our waiter (James) by accident spilled our $80 bottle of wine both on the table and on my dress - the customer service to recoup the situation was non-existent. We were disappointed with how the situation was handled. Overall, the food and atmosphere were enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The lamb bolognese was suburb. We also ordered the hanger steak and the Caesar salad. The food was great and service very good! Great, small, neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Portofino is consistently excellent in service, atmosphere, and creative cuisine. The patio is special and informal. Each month they feature a new section of Italy in food and wine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We sat on the patio on a nice evening. The appetizers, mussels, Brussels sprouts were good. The meatball appetizer was great. My pasta dish, the lamb bolognese, was quite good. Good friends, good wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Passing through Atlanta and could not consider this to be an Italian restaurant as I know it. Ordered caprese to start .hardly any tomato, not the best quality mozzarella, had no idea what was used as a salad dressing and hardly enough for one pErson to eat. Ordered wild salmon and thought $31 was terribly expensive for such a small portion. The lamb bolognese was tasty but more like an appetizer. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant to anyone. Cost $100 with tip and tax and hardly worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.