About Port Land Grille

Port Land Grille has progressive American regional cuisine masterfully executed by chef owner Shawn Wellersdick in a casually elegant coastal setting since November 2000.

1908 Eastwood Road
Suite 111
Wilmington, NC 28403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm (or until)

Cross Street:
Military Cutoff Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 256-6056

Website:
http://www.portlandgrille.com/

Executive Chef:
Shawn Wellersdick

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Port Land Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Romantic (25)
See All
Good for a Date (25)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Worth the Drive (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Business Meals (9)
Casual (9)
Cozy (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Scenic View (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Fun (6)
Seasonal (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Waterfront (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
People Watching (4)
Authentic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
915 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Best place in Wilmington!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding food, service, and ambiance. Portions remain a little too large for us and a moderate price wine is not on the menu. Regardless 5 stars

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Food and Service were outstanding! Everything was fresh and delicious we would go there again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 13, 2017

This was our second dinner at Port Land Grille and it did not disappoint. The food was very good, but a bit pricey...nice for a special occasion or date night. I like the way you can choose your fish or steak and then can choose the preparation and sides from several options. The service was attentive and Anne, the owner, was very friendly. They think of everything...they even have reading glasses at the hostess station to help with the small print on the menu. We were there on a Friday night and they were very busy but the tables are large so you don't feel crowded. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 12, 2017

My beef tenderloin was prepared perfectly and so were my wife's scallops. Service was great! Definitely will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 11, 2017

We hadn't been to the Grill in a long time. No particular reason so thought we'd try it again. Wasn't disappointed. Food (fresh fish), was excellent. Wednesday dinner is half price bottle of wine night. Had exceptional Red from France for $25. Outstanding. Great bread pudding with ice cream and whipped cream for desert. We waited to long to go back here. Will do better in the future.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Everything was great! The food quality was top notch. Our server did a great job as well.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Fantastic experience! We have dined there many times before and every experience has been excellent. Bob took care of us and assisted us with wine and menu choices. The Veal Chop was perfect and my wife was shocked at the size and assortment in the vegetable dinner. Price was in line with other local high end restaurants. Go, you wont be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Awesome food; loved the ambience & the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Our absolute favorite date night restaurant! Great food, amazing waitstaff and as always felt completely catered to!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Food was amazing. Portions huge. Cowboy Ribeye @ med. rare with the sauce and cheese baked potato was delicious. Service was very good (perhaps not 5 star, but Rocky was darn informative as well as very personal.)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Authentic, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 6, 2017

This place is the whole kit and caboodle. Friendly owner to greet you at the door? Check. Well informed waitstaff that is helpful but not hovering? Check. Relaxed but special ambiance? Check. A chef that knows what he is doing in the kitchen? CHECK CHECK CHECK. We had the pate and the quail to start, both delicious. (The pate could have used a thin layer of aspic or duck fat to seal the top.) The duck with purple rice was amazing. We loved our waitperson, Bob. So happy to have found Port Land Grille.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Always a pleasure to go out to the Portland Grille. Food is amazing and service is always outstanding!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2017

ALWAYS GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Celebrated two birthdays (mine and a friends). Service was above expectations, food was great and the coconut cake was/is just amazing. Love the restaurant-look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Always a great dining experience. Birthday celebration. Food was great and service was spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 19, 2017

This was our first experience at this lovely restaurant. Everything about our evening was perfect from start to finish. The food, the waiter, the ambiance, the wine list.... We were greeted warmly and the evening only got better from there. The food was creative and the combination of flavors were incredible and creative. The wine was surprisingly reasonably priced and paired perfectly with our meal. Our waiter was knowledgeable and made suggestions which turned out to be right on target with what I was wanting. If I lived anywhere near Wilmington, I would make this a regular dining spot. Thanks for such a wonderful evening!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

The food was wonderful and the service was excellent !

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food, service, and ambiance is fantastic. Experience was well worth the price. I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in Wilmington, great food, ambiance and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

My wife and I have been dining at Port Land Grille for 11.5 years now and we have NEVER been disappointed. Food and service is tremendous....always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Birthday and fist time dinner here. Great menu with lots of great, and different choices. I like being able to order a main course and have alternatives for sides. Great service with a knowledgeable server - a real plus. Top notch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 12, 2017

From the moment we walked in we loved this restaurant. The owner warmly greeted us and seated us, but the star of the show was our server Jodi who attentively and effortlessly conducted our meal experience, which was phenomenal. She refilled my drink twice the moment it was empty. Made excellent recommendations, wine included. The smoked salmon tartare, apple/fig/kale salad and all of the entrees were perfect. It was declared amoung the group as one of our Top 10 dining experiences. Thanks Port Land!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Port Land is an established, well-run, beautiful restaurant in a great location across from Landfall. Perfect for special occasions.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We have been here many times, this is first time service was slow. But we always go with reservations, and I can't remember ever being seated on time based on reservations. Food is always top notch however.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Our favorite place for special occasions ! The service is always wonderful and the food is amazing. We always go outside for dessert and coffee...the perfect setting to relax and finish off our evening.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We love dining outside at Port Land Grille. The food and service are always excellent. The owner, Ann is lovely and always so welcoming. Always a very relaxing meal.

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 25, 2017

My all time favorite restaurant in Wilmington. Service is top notch, food is always amazing and we feel special and catered to each and every visit!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 24, 2017

The best restaurant in Wrightsville Beach! Never disappointed in the quality, quantity, or service, whether it's beef, lamb, or seafood! Vegetables are delicious as well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 23, 2017

My first visit in a number of years. The enthusiasm of the wait staff added to the delicious meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 22, 2017

I had the trigger fish and it was awesome. Great cocktails, great everything. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 22, 2017

It is our favorite dining spot near Figure Eight, where we vacation every year, and we love our annual visit to see Anne and to experience the always-great cuisine at Port Land Grille.
Norm Rubenstein and his merry gang from DC

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Love it! The food excel, wine list superb and excellent attention!! Will come back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great experience, food was amazing. Will be back later this week. Must try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Port Land Grill offers a fine dining experience in Wilmington NC with a variety of generous portions. You can have main courses or share small plates and salads. The All American wine list (except for Champagne ) is broad enough to match with the tasty food. Our server Brooke was delightful and the food paced right for a great dinner. Not cheap but top quality rarely is. Go and taste for yourself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Had not been back to Port Land Grille in a couple of years and sorry I missed this excellent restaurant over the past years.
Well prepared lamb and trigger fish were our entries. Great flavors, and plated with tasty and creative accompaniments.
Unique to Port Land is that many dished can be ordered with the diners' choices of accompanyments. Wonderful choices and assistance from our server helped our meal.
Excellent service and a very nice environment rounded out our excellent dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The meals were very good. For our family and what we can afford to spend for a special evening, I felt it to be approximately 20% over-priced. I am guessing it was seasonal pricing. It is what I find in many beach town places. They are priced at a premium based on proximity to the water and hotels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We had a great server (Rocky) and all the staff were so nice and attentive. Food was terrific and Rocky had great knowledge and recommendations for both food & wine. Coconut Cake was amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary here this year. It was a great summers evening so we dined outside under the porch cover. The overhead fans helped keep us very comfortable. It was quiet out there with a very nice view. Everyone who helped us was awesome. Our server was friendly and helpful. The food was well prepared and very beautifully presented. Some of the menu changes from week to week, but on this evening we had a new Crab Dip appetizer, Grouper entree, and Beef Tenderloin entree, and the Blueberry Bread Pudding dessert. The Crap Dip was particularly delicious. Portland Grill is a favorite with us and highly recommended!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.