About Port Land Grille

1908 Eastwood Road
Suite 111
Wilmington, NC 28403
View Larger Map

Port Land Grille has progressive American regional cuisine masterfully executed by chef owner Shawn Wellersdick in a casually elegant coastal setting since November 2000.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm (or until)

Cross Street:
Military Cutoff Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 256-6056

Website:
http://www.portlandgrille.com/

Executive Chef:
Shawn Wellersdick

Private Party Facilities:
We have two private dining rooms perfect for your next business dinner meeting, rehearsal dinner or private party from 15 - 65 guests. Private dining (including total buyouts) available 7 days with certain food and beverage minimums applicable. Visit our website for menu ideas, pricing and other private dining information.

Private Party Contact:
Anne Steketee: (910) 256-6056

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Port Land Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
See All
Notable Wine List (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Romantic (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Cozy (11)
Business Meals (10)
Worth the Drive (7)
Authentic (6)
Private Room (6)
Casual (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Tapas (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fun (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
813 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

With 2 kids it's thought to get out and ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 2 days ago

With 2 kids it's thought to get out and do much just the 2 of us so this was a special night! E made our reservation and showed up and immediately seated. It was quiet in the dining room and very relaxing. Our server "Rocky"I think was his name was on point in every way! A+! Great experience all around! Food was absolutely delicious! Thanks again for the wonderful dining experience.

Alex Alexander

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Many times we have visited Port Land Gri ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined 6 days ago

Many times we have visited Port Land Grille and we have never been disappointed. Valentines Day this visit and all we had to eat was wonderful once again. This is not the cheapest place to eat but it is one of the best in Wilmington, North Carolina for sure. Drinks were perfect and the meals were excellent. Looking forward to returning soon.

Tags: Disabled Access, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Valentine's Day get-together with old fr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentine's Day get-together with old friends. Delightful, attentive service. Salads large enough to share, and appetizers large enough for a main course. Plus a chocolate dessert with four forks. A delicious experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I both ordered the tuna. ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband and I both ordered the tuna. The menu stated it is served rare and our waiter didn't ask us, so we thought rare tuna would be coming. Both of ours were medium at best. I had the blue crab preparation but could not see or taste any crab at all. Although the food was very good, it was not what we expected from such a highly recommended restaurant. The atmosphere was very nice and our waiter was very attentive. We skipped dessert since the dinner did not meet expectations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

50 th birthday (which wasn't acknowledg ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

50 th birthday (which wasn't acknowledged)

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great meal for a family celebration. Exc ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great meal for a family celebration. Excellent service and big portions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is a bit over-rated. Th ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This restaurant is a bit over-rated. The service was slow, the meal was ok, we took dessert home upon the recommendation of the server. It was a very over-priced piece of cake that we threw away. It did not seem fresh at all. We were very disappointed in the whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

This one of our favorite restaurants. W ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This one of our favorite restaurants. We have never had a bad meal and the service is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was very slow this time around. ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service was very slow this time around. Took 20 minutes to get water after we gave the waiter our drink order. And the martinis were not very cold. Usually service and drinks are spot on. Food was Delish as usual! The vegetable plate almost had too much on it!!! Fish choices were excellent. We will definitely be back. Everyone deserves an "off" night!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food is outstanding ! There are always ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food is outstanding ! There are always several fish options with many options for preparation. Waiter was very attentive! Wine list has a variety of price points and great selection. We will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First class dining experience all around ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 21, 2017

First class dining experience all around. Waitstaff was knowledgeable and helpful.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waiter Bob was very professional. O ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our waiter Bob was very professional. Our request for a quiet table certainly accommodated.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service, as usual. Up ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent food and service, as usual. Upscale dining with generous portions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely restaurant tucked into the back o ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Lovely restaurant tucked into the back of a shopping complex, our first visit, we our local to the area. We went to celebrate the new year, a little late, but my husband owns and chefs at another local restaurant so we never get to celebrate on NYE as he is working. We shared a basket of the sweet potato fries as an appetizer, they were very good! The portion was huge, enough for four easily. My husband enjoyed his steak, stated it was cooked perfectly and flavor from the wood grille was on spot. The potato and mushroom sides were adequate. I do not eat beef or pork so went with the crab cake over limas and the roasted beet with organic greens salad. The crab cake was mainly claw meat, a pitiful amount of lump meat could be found here and there throughout the cake. The crab flavor was overwhelmed by too much seasoning. The bed of lima beans were not edible, they had a sour, odd flavor and looked unappetizing as well. The beet salad was good though not remarkable. The dressing was light and pleasing, however, there were only four small slices of beet on the plate, hardly enough feature the word beet in the salad title. Also, for the cost of the salad there should have been more greens on the plate! If wine is your thing, and money no object, you'll love the huge wine list. I opted for a craft beer from Florida called Orange Blossom, it was Devine. Our waiter was perfect! The noise level perfect! Ambiance was lovely! We will return to try some more of the appetizers and 'small plates', and one of the many delicious desserts. Bon Appetite!

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Basically very good. Great service, alth ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Basically very good. Great service, although the request I made when making the reservation didn't seem to have been read.

My husband had the cowboy rib & it was very tough. He was quite dissatisfied. I had the filet & it was delicious.

My to go box did not have my asparagus. I was disappointed with that.

I'd give them another try, but my husband doesn't want to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to PLG for the Portuguese Clams ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We went to PLG for the Portuguese Clams which we had loved when we were there a few years ago. They were a bit sweeter and less garlicky than before but we still enjoyed them. The other dishes we had were good but not memorable. The waitress was very good, recommending a wine that was inexpensive and delicious, but water glasses did mot get refilled. A very enjoyable but not wonderful evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Great experience, great service, great f ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great experience, great service, great food! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual the food was excellent and that ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As usual the food was excellent and that is why we continually come back here and will continue to do so despite our server's in attention and forgetfulness and I'll leave it at that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great atmosphere and food. A group of us ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great atmosphere and food. A group of us went for New Year's Eve. The wait staff was outstanding, very attentive. The food was phenomenal. Took some home and it was just as good the next day.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tapas,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great for our first dinin ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything was great for our first dining experience here on New Year's Eve. Apps, salads, entrees as well as cocktails were fantastic!

The only complaint I would have, is that gratuity was auto added to our party of 5 and we were not told beforehand. I fully understand this practice, however, would have loved for our very nice waitress to have said something as she dropped our checks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our New Year's Eve dinner was a disappoi ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our New Year's Eve dinner was a disappointment. The steak tartare was coursely ground rather than the finely ground preparation it should have been; the 4 Red Neck Egg Rolls were very tangy and too much to eat before an entree. A serving of two would have been sufficient. The Coffee Rubbed ribeye was tough, quality which I would not have expected from PortLand. The wild caught grouper was overcooked. Sad to say, this experience was quite an unexpected let down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

It was New Years Eve and we waited too l ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was New Years Eve and we waited too long to make reservations. From the limited list of available restaurants, I chose Portland Grill because it had a good menu and liked that they had options for the healthy eaters among us (vegan/vegetarian). Food was good; portions were large. Service was fine, not outstanding. I liked that it was relatively quiet and we could carry on a conversation. Everyone enjoyed their meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was amazing, and our server was ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was amazing, and our server was super friendly and very knowledge about all the dishes!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a lovely experience at the Port L ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had a lovely experience at the Port Land Grill. The staff was so kind and responsive. The room where our table was a bit chilly and they offered a blanket. They also have reading glasses near the hostess desk to borrow if you need them. The food was superb. We had perfectfully grilled meat and fish finished in the wood fired oven. You are able to choose from a set of preparations according to your preference. The portions were so satisfying, we had no room for dessert, but the options were tempting. Highly recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was very good food with good service for ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Was very good food with good service for a crowed Christmas eve. Flounder was excellent and the bread pudding was the best I ever had.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Christmas Eve family dinner was great. E ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve family dinner was great. Everyone enjoyed their meals. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Going on Christmas Eve was probably not ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Going on Christmas Eve was probably not the best option as we have eaten at this restaurant several times and always have been completely satisfied. This was a night that seemed over booked and under staffed. We had a dinner reservation but still ended up waiting 35 minutes for our table. We sat at a high table in the bar area and no one asked us if we wanted anything while we sat there. Once we got our table the waiter never stopped by even though he walked past us several times serving others. It was busy but maybe he could have said that and that he would be with us as soon as he could. The owner finally came by with bread. We had brought our own wine, expensive bottle, but they do not have crystal wine glasses and she did reduce the corking fee but she did that not our waiter. Food was good as it always is but again the waiter never came by to see how things were or if we needed anything else. One of us had scallops an the other due and both dishes were delicious. After dinner we just got our check and left, didn't bother to see dessert or coffee as it was hard enough to get him to bring the check, we had to ask another server to get ours for us. So for a holiday dinner we were very disappointed. We would go there again in the future just probably not on a holiday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great place. Bob our waiter is a spectac ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great place. Bob our waiter is a spectacular server...been there 16 years. Food is fabulous. Be careful, portions are generous.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dinner at the Port Land Grille a ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We have dinner at the Port Land Grille at least four or five times a year. Excellent in every respect. Staff is courteous, food is delicious, wine list is good, and the location is convenient. Prices are about what most would expect in a restaurant of this quality.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable restaurant, but the menu is a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Enjoyable restaurant, but the menu is a tad bit confusing.

Excellent fried oyster salad, very good wine selection. Entree was good as was the presentation. Price to value is high, but typical in this area.

I recommend this restaurant. Enjoy

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We took our mom to Port Land Grille for ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We took our mom to Port Land Grille for her birthday. The atmosphere was relaxed and the ambience was incredible. Our server was very attentive and knowledgeable. The food was amazing! Our experience at Port Land Grille made Mom's birthday as special as she is.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Port Land Grille was a delicious dinner ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Port Land Grille was a delicious dinner and atmosphere for a birthday dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had tasty but tiny $3 oysters; we had ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I had tasty but tiny $3 oysters; we had two salads, hers was an arugula and beet concoction that she enjoyed very much; mine was a decent Cesar. Her main dish was a very fine grilled tuna; mine was an average strip steak (done exactly as I had asked, though)that was advertised as prime 45-day aged. Desert was an OK chocolate lava cake.

My biggest disappointment with this restaurant is that its pricing does not live up to its food or ambiance. We were treated very well, seated right away even though we arrived 5 minutes late, and were greeted by the owner very nicely. I just didn't think it measured up to other restaurants in other cities in the same price range. With our drinks and tip, this was pretty much a $200 meal (for 2) that should have blown me away, but left me full, but not bubbling over with the excitement of having eaten a truly memorable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Great spot in the Lumina Station area. H ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great spot in the Lumina Station area. Had the Redneck egg rolls. Too good.

Tags: Quick Bite, Tapas, Late-night Find, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I had dinner at Port Land Gr ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 14, 2016

My wife and I had dinner at Port Land Grille recently on a Wednesday evening, and it was outstanding.

We started with a crab cake appetizer and a pimento cheese appetizer. Both were excellent, but the crab cake was exceptionally good. Served over a delicious bed of butter beans, it was a large enough portion to easily be a main course. My wife brought half of it home.

For our main course we shared an 18 ounce bone-in NY strip steak. It came out nicely sliced and perfectly cooked. Our waiter Bob suggested that we order the steak medium rather than medium rare because he said the chef tends to undercook steaks slightly. Bob was right - the "medium" steak was what we would call "medium rare". Perfectly pink, juicy and tender. Excellent steak.

The sides were also excellent. I had shredded potato patties fried in duck fat, and mushrooms. The potatoes were delicious - not as rich as you might think, and the mushrooms were served in a light broth that was also delicious.

We were very full after this delicious dinner but couldn't resist bringing home a piece of the delicious coconut cake. It was great with coffee the next morning.

So, fabulous meal, excellent service by friendly but very professional waiter Bob, and lovely and fairly quiet ambience. We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rather eclectic menu! Suitable for foodi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Rather eclectic menu! Suitable for foodies. Very accommodating with many side choices to round out your main entree. In our table of four each dish was served to our preferences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent steaks and wine! Service is ju ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Excellent steaks and wine! Service is just right. Steaks are tender and cooked to perfection!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We try new restaurants every week. I wa ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We try new restaurants every week. I was very disappointed in the value/food. Cesar Salad had 1 olive and 3 pieces of parmesan cheese. I have a better ceasar at Wendy's. We were surprised that very few tables were taken, and after eating, we understood why as there are many other excellent choices in the Wilmington area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

This is a beautiful restaurant with exce ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant with excellent service. The food is only average for Wilmington restaurants in this price range. The combinations look great on the menu but leave us slightly disappointed. It's like they're afraid to spice it up. When we're paying this much for food, we want flavor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and outstanding food. ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent service and outstanding food. It wasn't the most colorful plate (could have just been the low lighting), but the taste was phenomenal. Also, the wine selection was very impressive! Overall it was a little pricy, but definitely worth it for an occasional night out with the wife! Take a date here; he/she will be impressed!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.