About Port Land Grille

Port Land Grille has progressive American regional cuisine masterfully executed by chef owner Shawn Wellersdick in a casually elegant coastal setting since November 2000.

1908 Eastwood Road
Suite 111
Wilmington, NC 28403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm (or until)

Cross Street:
Military Cutoff Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 256-6056

Website:
http://www.portlandgrille.com/

Executive Chef:
Shawn Wellersdick

Private Party Facilities:
We have two private dining rooms perfect for your next business dinner meeting, rehearsal dinner or private party from 15 - 65 guests. Private dining (including total buyouts) available 7 days with certain food and beverage minimums applicable. Visit our website for menu ideas, pricing and other private dining information.

Private Party Contact:
Anne Steketee: (910) 256-6056

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Port Land Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (24)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
Special Occasion (16)
Romantic (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Business Meals (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Private Room (5)
Authentic (5)
Casual (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fun (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
846 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

Portland Grill is a special place for us. It is our destination for special occasions and this was no different. The pate appetizer was superb. I think they have the best steak in town and the did not disappoint. Aged beef cooked perfectly with whatever preparation you choose. Dessert of blueberry bread pudding and cheesecake were incredible. The desserts here are so good my wife and I have come later in the evening and done dessert and champagne.
Great service and wonderful surroundings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We have eaten here many times however this particular trip I was very disappointed in the quality of the food. My meat was way over cooked and the sides were salty and also overcooked. My wife's dish was better than mine however it was still not the Portland of old. Not sure when we will return however we will most certainly look at other options.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This place is usually very good, good wine list, friendly. Only issues we have ever had is when its busy your reservations normally don't mean much, table is usually not ready. Also I think that the "reserve wines" are not as good as once were and there are not as many.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 12, 2017

As has always been the case, the Port Land Grille exceeded our expectations. Adding to the wonderful food was the fact that the restaurant was not crowded and which provided for a time of quiet conversation between my wife and me. We enjoyed the evening immensely.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 9, 2017

It was my wife's birthday and the table was ready with confetti. The service was excellent and everybody's meal was great. The cocktails were perfect. This is one of our favorite places for celebration.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food and service were excellent. First visit and think it's the finest meal I've had in Wrightsville Beach. Love the fact that you can choose your main course and the presentation and sides. Can't say enough...

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent service as our waiter guided us through the menu options and helped select the perfect wine for our 37th anniversary. What a top pick in Wilmington!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Port Land Grille was the perfect choice to celebrate UNCW graduation! The menu is so unique, very southern with a surprising sophistication - and superbly delicious!
Beautiful setting, inside and out.
We loved every moment!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We have eaten here a few times and enjoyed, but we were slightly disappointed as a number of entree items were unavailable.
I ended up with the duck, which had more sausage than duck. It was more of a winter dish with the red cabbage.
My wife had the pork chop which was the better of the two entrees, but it also was served with red cabbage and a unappealing side of mashed potatoes which appeared dry and not fresh.
The coconut cake was enjoyable and the waiter kind, but the meal was a disappointment on this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Wilmington. Great menu, service, food, ambiance. In 15 yrs we have NEVER had a bad anything in this restaurant! The wait staff is always pleasant, attentive, well informed and helpful. Choosing the food and wine is difficult because it is all so good -- the servers are very helpful with this dilemma, though.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This restaurant rarely disappoints. Their steaks are the best in WB and their seafood options are plenty and fresh tasting. This is my number one choice for Wrightsville Beach if you want the best quality food and dining experience. Its pricey but worth it in my opinion.

Tags: Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Very good restaurant. Freshly baked bread was great. Tuna tartare was outstanding but could have been a touch spicier. Split it as an appetizer because portions are large here. I had the hangar steak. Great quality meat. Brussels sprouts with it were excellent. My spouse had the salad with fried oysters. Great dish. Great wines by the glass, overwhelming American. Good value.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The staff was excellent and the food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 11, 2017

With a party of 9 people it is often difficult to receive both excellent service and delicious food. As usual the staff at Port Land made it all seem effortless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 5, 2017

It was so terrible. We used to love to come here . Food was bad, waiter was really bad and confused everything from drinks to entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Celebrated our 12 year anniversary as we do every anniversary with Port Land Grille. It did not disappoint!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Always excellent . Never disappointed with the menu or service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great server Bob!! Corner table with pretty view made for a wonderful anniversary. Food and wine superb!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This was our second visit to Portland since the chef left due to illness. We used to go all the time. However the last two times have been disappointing; the food poorly prepared. We love the Grille but the food is not what it used to be. 🙁

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 23, 2017

They have the best veggie plate in town. Yes I know seems weird to go to a place that serves awesome steaks to eat veggies but if you are a vegetarian it is heaven.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We throughly enjoyed Port Land Grill. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was one of "dining", which is what we were looking for, as it was a birthday celebration. The server was good but not exceptional (though another server helped us out and he was excellent). Would we go back? The answer is yes, as the value was good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This is a very nice high end restaurant experience with a big menu and several excellent wine choices. You can share small plates or get a variety of generous portions with the entrée choices. My oysters were fresh and our fish dishes were very tasty. Nice fine dining choice in Wilmington. Location is sort of hidden but plenty of parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We love this restaurant. Calamari was awesome. Salad too. We got the cowboy ribeye. While it was good and the presentation good, cut into pieces, it wasn't very hot. Should have sent it back. Service was great..had to ask for bread

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Things I liked about Port Land Grille----white tablecloths, friendly staff, great fried oysters salad, great steak, nice ambiance, comfortable chairs, delicious bread with special butter, and an attentive staff. There were no negatives. Just go and enjoy a lovely meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The service is outstanding. The food was poor quality and without taste. This was unfortunate and I will not return, nor will I recommend it to anyone.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Loved this place in all areas! I do feel that it is too costly for us to make it a weekly dine- absoutly a 5 star restaurant !!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 10, 2017

From the pimento cheese butter on the multigrain bread to the coconut cake it was an amazing meal. The local caught tile fish was fresh and perfectly cooked. We weren't rushed and it was a quiet atmosphere to have a conversation. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We've been going to Port Land for 15 years and it has always, always had good ambiance, great service, good wine selection, innovative menu, and good value. It is the best restaurant in Wilmington and measures up to big city foodie havens. Great seafood and meat selections never disappoint. Try it, you'll love it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was our first visit. Overall experience was great. The server was knowledgeable about the menu and offerings. The ambiance was nice and cozy although tables are a little close so we could hear the guests right next to us. The food was delicious and portions were more than expected. We ordered a charcuterie plate and our cheese portion had rind as a piece of the cheese so we couldn't eat the last piece. So it left us a little disappointed. The entrees were delicious. I ordered the salmon prepared with quinoa and my husband ordered the special which was tile fish with risotto. I had a glass of Sauvignon blanc, he had a Highland Oatmeal porter. For dessert I had coffee, he had a cowboy coffee and we shared a creme brûlée. We like to pay for quality over quantity and felt the price was fair for the experience. We will be back again to visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent food and bar service; lovely atmosphere
Our waitress may have been new but she was not as attentive as we would have expected from this fine dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Service was great
as well as the waiter's recommendations. The meals were great and the dessert was wonderful. We were accustomed to fried calamari. None of the three liked the appetizer prepared like it was..that was our only disappointment of the evening. The description should be clearer on the menu.

Tags: Organic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

A great dining experience - great staff very knowledgeable with their suggestions - wine and food overall fantastic!!!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 19, 2017

With 2 kids it's thought to get out and do much just the 2 of us so this was a special night! E made our reservation and showed up and immediately seated. It was quiet in the dining room and very relaxing. Our server "Rocky"I think was his name was on point in every way! A+! Great experience all around! Food was absolutely delicious! Thanks again for the wonderful dining experience.
Alex Alexander

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Many times we have visited Port Land Grille and we have never been disappointed. Valentines Day this visit and all we had to eat was wonderful once again. This is not the cheapest place to eat but it is one of the best in Wilmington, North Carolina for sure. Drinks were perfect and the meals were excellent. Looking forward to returning soon.

Tags: Disabled Access, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day get-together with old friends. Delightful, attentive service. Salads large enough to share, and appetizers large enough for a main course. Plus a chocolate dessert with four forks. A delicious experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband and I both ordered the tuna. The menu stated it is served rare and our waiter didn't ask us, so we thought rare tuna would be coming. Both of ours were medium at best. I had the blue crab preparation but could not see or taste any crab at all. Although the food was very good, it was not what we expected from such a highly recommended restaurant. The atmosphere was very nice and our waiter was very attentive. We skipped dessert since the dinner did not meet expectations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

50 th birthday (which wasn't acknowledged)

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Overrated. In no hurry to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great meal for a family celebration. Excellent service and big portions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This restaurant is a bit over-rated. The service was slow, the meal was ok, we took dessert home upon the recommendation of the server. It was a very over-priced piece of cake that we threw away. It did not seem fresh at all. We were very disappointed in the whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.