About Port Land Grille

Port Land Grille has progressive American regional cuisine masterfully executed by chef owner Shawn Wellersdick in a casually elegant coastal setting since November 2000.

1908 Eastwood Road
Suite 111
Wilmington, NC 28403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm (or until)

Cross Street:
Military Cutoff Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 256-6056

Website:
http://www.portlandgrille.com/

Executive Chef:
Shawn Wellersdick

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Port Land Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Romantic (21)
See All
Creative Cuisine (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Business Meals (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Casual (8)
Cozy (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Scenic View (6)
Seasonal (6)
Fun (5)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Authentic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Waterfront (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
901 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Celebrated two birthdays (mine and a friends). Service was above expectations, food was great and the coconut cake was/is just amazing. Love the restaurant-look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great dining experience. Birthday celebration. Food was great and service was spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

This was our first experience at this lovely restaurant. Everything about our evening was perfect from start to finish. The food, the waiter, the ambiance, the wine list.... We were greeted warmly and the evening only got better from there. The food was creative and the combination of flavors were incredible and creative. The wine was surprisingly reasonably priced and paired perfectly with our meal. Our waiter was knowledgeable and made suggestions which turned out to be right on target with what I was wanting. If I lived anywhere near Wilmington, I would make this a regular dining spot. Thanks for such a wonderful evening!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was wonderful and the service was excellent !

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food, service, and ambiance is fantastic. Experience was well worth the price. I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in Wilmington, great food, ambiance and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

My wife and I have been dining at Port Land Grille for 11.5 years now and we have NEVER been disappointed. Food and service is tremendous....always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Birthday and fist time dinner here. Great menu with lots of great, and different choices. I like being able to order a main course and have alternatives for sides. Great service with a knowledgeable server - a real plus. Top notch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 12, 2017

From the moment we walked in we loved this restaurant. The owner warmly greeted us and seated us, but the star of the show was our server Jodi who attentively and effortlessly conducted our meal experience, which was phenomenal. She refilled my drink twice the moment it was empty. Made excellent recommendations, wine included. The smoked salmon tartare, apple/fig/kale salad and all of the entrees were perfect. It was declared amoung the group as one of our Top 10 dining experiences. Thanks Port Land!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Port Land is an established, well-run, beautiful restaurant in a great location across from Landfall. Perfect for special occasions.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We have been here many times, this is first time service was slow. But we always go with reservations, and I can't remember ever being seated on time based on reservations. Food is always top notch however.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Our favorite place for special occasions ! The service is always wonderful and the food is amazing. We always go outside for dessert and coffee...the perfect setting to relax and finish off our evening.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We love dining outside at Port Land Grille. The food and service are always excellent. The owner, Ann is lovely and always so welcoming. Always a very relaxing meal.

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 25, 2017

My all time favorite restaurant in Wilmington. Service is top notch, food is always amazing and we feel special and catered to each and every visit!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 24, 2017

The best restaurant in Wrightsville Beach! Never disappointed in the quality, quantity, or service, whether it's beef, lamb, or seafood! Vegetables are delicious as well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 23, 2017

My first visit in a number of years. The enthusiasm of the wait staff added to the delicious meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 22, 2017

I had the trigger fish and it was awesome. Great cocktails, great everything. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 22, 2017

It is our favorite dining spot near Figure Eight, where we vacation every year, and we love our annual visit to see Anne and to experience the always-great cuisine at Port Land Grille.
Norm Rubenstein and his merry gang from DC

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Love it! The food excel, wine list superb and excellent attention!! Will come back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great experience, food was amazing. Will be back later this week. Must try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Port Land Grill offers a fine dining experience in Wilmington NC with a variety of generous portions. You can have main courses or share small plates and salads. The All American wine list (except for Champagne ) is broad enough to match with the tasty food. Our server Brooke was delightful and the food paced right for a great dinner. Not cheap but top quality rarely is. Go and taste for yourself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Had not been back to Port Land Grille in a couple of years and sorry I missed this excellent restaurant over the past years.
Well prepared lamb and trigger fish were our entries. Great flavors, and plated with tasty and creative accompaniments.
Unique to Port Land is that many dished can be ordered with the diners' choices of accompanyments. Wonderful choices and assistance from our server helped our meal.
Excellent service and a very nice environment rounded out our excellent dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The meals were very good. For our family and what we can afford to spend for a special evening, I felt it to be approximately 20% over-priced. I am guessing it was seasonal pricing. It is what I find in many beach town places. They are priced at a premium based on proximity to the water and hotels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We had a great server (Rocky) and all the staff were so nice and attentive. Food was terrific and Rocky had great knowledge and recommendations for both food & wine. Coconut Cake was amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary here this year. It was a great summers evening so we dined outside under the porch cover. The overhead fans helped keep us very comfortable. It was quiet out there with a very nice view. Everyone who helped us was awesome. Our server was friendly and helpful. The food was well prepared and very beautifully presented. Some of the menu changes from week to week, but on this evening we had a new Crab Dip appetizer, Grouper entree, and Beef Tenderloin entree, and the Blueberry Bread Pudding dessert. The Crap Dip was particularly delicious. Portland Grill is a favorite with us and highly recommended!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Wonderful as usual! The menus are yummy and I love that the menus are interchangeable

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Portland Grill never disappoints! Always delicious and on the top of our list when visiting Wilmington!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

My wife and I went to the Port Land Grille for dinner on her birthday. We had heard it was a really good restaurant, but we found out that it is fantastic! We have dined in some fine restaurants in this country, Canada, and Mexico. Our dinner at the Port Land Grille was on a par with any we had at those restaurants. The service was outstanding. We both had scallops but with different preparations. The scallops were cooked perfectly. The ambience was nice. The wine selection was perfect. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Normally we go to Port Land Grille for special occasions but this time it was spontaneous decision on my part. I wanted a good meal on a a Saturday evening and I chose at time and place and this was it. We go here two to three times a year but this was special, spur of the moment decision and turned out to b well worth it. Our food and drinks were perfect as they always are and we will return again and again.Portland Grill is a true Gem.

Tags: People Watching, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Fantastic food, drinks, atmosphere and I could go on and on. Truly our favorite place to celebrate everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 29, 2017

good food, good service, good ambience. A good white table cloth destination!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Wonderful dinner celebrating a birthday!!! Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 21, 2017

It would have been perfect, but it was too hot where we were seated!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

One persons steak was tough and grisly, one persons fish was okay but not outstanding. Took over two hours from time we got there until food was on table! Had to ask for bread and then later asked another waiter to check on our food since we hadn't seen hide nor hair of our waitress since we ordered.

Tags: People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Staff were very attentive and helpful....quality of food is always there.....noise level is low which is great for me as I have hearing issues. Always a treat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We enjoy dining there for special occasions. Definitely 5 * w/ comparable pricing to other 5 * restaurants. Food quality is EXCELLENT.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We stumbled across this restaurant on Open Table after exhausting all local options for dinner around the July 4th holiday. We were blown away! After a 45 minute drive, we arrived to gorgeous outdoor seating with decorative lighting, a pond with fountains and more. Every dish sounded amazing, but my husband and I each opted for the veggie platter and Dad the salmon. We vowed to visit this place again after we were beyond impressed with the flavors of each course! Highly recommend!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Port Land Grille always serves up great food.. Especially steaks.. as long as you are on a expense account or don't mind NYC prices in Wilmington, NC. We were celebrating a 49th Anniversary.. Noted on the Open Table reservation but never acknowledged! Have had similar experiences on other visits thus my last visit to this restaurant was over 3 years ago. Wilmington has many very good restaurants today.. Nuff said!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We had a reservation for 8:00 and were seated at 8:45. Hostess was not friendly or polite and she forgot about us. Bartender was snobby and poured very small martini's compared to the local next to me who had a full martini glass. Once we were seated our server was delightful. We've been here several times but will not go back as it seems our business was not appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.