About Poogan's Porch Restaurant

72 Queen St
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Tucked away on a charming downtown street, Poogan's Porch is one of Charleston’s oldest & most reputable culinary establishments, serving upscale Lowcountry cuisine daily. Since opening in 1976, Poogan’s has been a favorite of well-known celebrities, politicians, tourists & locals alike who rave about this Southern institution. Recognized by Martha Stewart Living, Wine Spectator & the Travel Channel, this beautifully restored Victorian house is the perfect southern locale for lunch, dinner or weekend brunch. Whether it’s a warm homemade buttermilk biscuit & sausage gravy for brunch, a bowl of she-crab soup for lunch, or our signature buttermilk fried chicken for dinner, your meal at Poogan’s will be unforgettable. Open year-round, Poogan’s Porch serves dinner seven days a week, & brunch on Saturday and Sunday. Both indoor & outdoor seating is offered, & a variety of rooms are available for special events throughout the year. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30-2:30 Dinner: Monday-Sunday 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Meeting & King

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-2337

Website:
http://www.poogansporch.com/

Catering:
Please call or email with any questions. Poogan's would be honored to cater your next special event. Call 843-577-2337 or email events@pooganswporch.com

Executive Chef:
Daniel Doyle

Private Party Facilities:
Poogan's Porch offers several private dining rooms newly renovated to suit your distinct style. From wedding rehearsal dinners to farewell brunches, to holiday parties and business meetings, we are able to accommodate groups of 10-110. Personal time with our party planner and you will be set for your next event in no time. We would be honored to host you next special event. Hope to hear from you soon with any of your questions or concerns.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Walton: (843) 577-2337

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Poogan's Porch Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (159)
Good for a Date (142)
Comfort Food (133)
See All
Special Occasion (125)
Good for Anniversaries (106)
Neighborhood Gem (106)
Local Ingredients (101)
Cozy (100)
Authentic (99)
Fit for Foodies (92)
Romantic (85)
Great for Brunch (84)
Great for Lunch (73)
Quiet Conversation (70)
Creative Cuisine (67)
Fireplace (65)
Good for Birthdays (63)
Casual (63)
Sunday Lunch (62)
Worth the Drive (55)
Great for Outdoor Dining (43)
Pre/post Theatre (37)
Fun (34)
Business Meals (29)
Hot Spot (28)
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for Groups (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Seasonal (20)
Family Style (18)
Outstanding Value (16)
People Watching (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Scenic View (11)
Private Room (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Healthy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great Beer (5)
Organic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Spicy (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
4983 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful food and service!

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 11 hours ago

Wonderful food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had flowers sent to the restaurant for o ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

Had flowers sent to the restaurant for our two year anniversary. Not only were the flowers waiting on the table when we got there but also two glasses of champaign that I didn't even request. They not only met my request, they went above and beyond to make our special day even more special. Would and will recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time and very impressed, most cert ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

First time and very impressed, most certainly will not be the last. Relaxed atmosphere but professional staff. Recommendations did not disapoint. Pimento cheese fritters were fantastic and the scallops were some of the best ever. Evening special, rack of lamb, was fabulous.

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome time! Great food! We took our fr ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome time! Great food! We took our friends whom just purchased a second home on the beach to Poogan's for the first time and they loved it! Wonderful experience for all!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful except the lamb ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was wonderful except the lamb. It was good but extremely tough and hard to eat.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a favorite. The biscuits are STIL ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a favorite. The biscuits are STILL great! My tea infused salmon was delicious. Service always great!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was another perfect meal at poogans p ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

It was another perfect meal at poogans porch

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fireplace, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We spent our first date in April 1995 at ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

We spent our first date in April 1995 at Poogans and return, al least , every Valentines Day evening

Love your restaurant and the excellent food you prepare

Everything was spot on from front to back

Highly recommend Poogans

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I ordered the ROASTED DUCK PIRLOO $27-- ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

I ordered the ROASTED DUCK PIRLOO $27--

Seared Duck Breast, Andouille Sausage, Wild Mushrooms, Anson Mills Middlins Rice, Merlot Gastrique.

Date ordered the FRIED PORK CHOP $23--

Mashed Potatoes, Collard Greens, Country Ham Gravy

Both dishes overpriced but reasonably good, really nothing to get excited about. Dessert was their "Red Velvet Lava Cake" which was nothing more than an way overdone Red Velvet Cake cooked in a muffin tin with a squirt of cream cheese in the center. Supposed to be Lava Cake, ie somewhat undercooked and gooey in center. This thing was cooked through and dry. Service was good, atmosphere somewhat noisy. Seems like downtown Charleston restaurants have lost their ability to care, ie tourist trade has to eat somewhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

We just had bad service, but loved the a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

We just had bad service, but loved the atmosphere and we will try again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

Menu, quality of food, service, portion ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Menu, quality of food, service, portion size, value, everything about Poogan's Porch put it among the best restaurants we've been to anywhere. We will definitely go back if we find ourselves in Charleston again

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Awesome and unique restaurant. The food ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome and unique restaurant. The food was terrific. The service was the best.

Our server Christiana was amazing and made everything even more special with her warm and engaging personality.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Traditional Southern food with modern b ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Traditional Southern food with modern but meaningful enhancement.

Good service that can explain the menu and provide personalized suggestions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were in Charleston for the day, and I ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

We were in Charleston for the day, and I looked online to choose a place to have lunch. My friends kept suggesting the better known tourist places to go, but I insisted on Poogan's Porch. They were thanking me and commending me for my choice the rest of the day! Everything was outstanding; my Husband ordered the shrimp and grits, and said it was probably the best he has ever had!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect as always! She crab soup is some ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Perfect as always! She crab soup is some of the best I've had anywhere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Multiple tables that were sat after us g ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Multiple tables that were sat after us got their food within 15-20 minutes after being there. We waited over 45 minutes for shrimp and grits and french toast. Atmosphere and food was amazing, we just expected more from the service. We could tell it was the server not the restaurant itself. We weren't in a hurry so we didn't bother to complain.

Tags: Cozy, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

My boyfriend and I went for dinner to ce ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My boyfriend and I went for dinner to celebrate Valentine's Day. The service was excellent and all of the food was delicious. We had the Short Rib Ragout and the Duck. They have an excellent wine and beer list as well. The only reason I didn't give a perfect score is because it wasn't as private or romantic as I would've liked. The tables are very close to each other and there isn't really anywhere else to look other than directly at the table in front of you. I heard every word said at the table next to me. Also, it was very bright. Maybe dim the lights a bit upstairs for dinner. For a night out with the girls or a family dinner, it would have been fine, it just was not the perfect setting for V-Day date night. Obviously, this is just a personal preference and overall it was still a great night; we will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

pimento cheese fritters were good as app ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

pimento cheese fritters were good as app. Salmon must have been undercooked because I had to use the restroom every few hours the next morning through the day. Rice served with the salmon was not my favorite. I ordered the Oaxacan harvest cocktail and it was not very good. The waitress brought me something else luckily. I thought the menu was a bit overpriced. Fried pork chop my date ordered was overpriced and dry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Had a great time.. food and service was ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had a great time.. food and service was good as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It was our 30th Anniversary and our chil ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was our 30th Anniversary and our children had gotten us a gift card since we had never been to Poogan's Porch. All I can say is that it was awesome. He had the duck and said it was amazing and I had the shrimp n grits and I think I found my new favorite dish! My husband and I will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was bland and over priced. The only ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was bland and over priced. The only bright spot was our table server. He was always attentive to our needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Poogan's was very busy. Had to get an ea ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Poogan's was very busy. Had to get an early Saturday night reservation. We ate in the main first floor dining room. We had ribs and pickles, fried chicken and red snapper. Followed up by Pecan Pie. All were really great!

The biscuit, were the best in Charleston!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place! Went here for my annivers ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing place! Went here for my anniversary and it was great. Service was great. Atmosphere was very Charleston. Food was amazing. Highly reccommend the fried chicken. Will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very overpriced for mediocre food. Aka $ ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very overpriced for mediocre food. Aka $30 fried chicken. Really? I cant underatand all the favorable reviews unless the menu recently changed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

We were disappointed. The room we were ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were disappointed. The room we were seated in was unappealing - horrible brown walls and overhead lights on ceiling fans, no charm at all. A dark room with overhead lighting is depressing. We were on the second floor looking longingly through the windows at Husk next door wishing we were there. Perhaps other rooms are better, but this one needs an overhaul.

Other than that I thought the food was bland and overrated - she crab soup tasted like a generic seafood bisque, even my beef fillet and my husband's fish were ordinary, just acceptable. Our server would disappear at times and her manner while friendly was overly brisk for the type of restaurant this aims to be-more like she was in an IHOP.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The fried chicken was excellent. Even t ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The fried chicken was excellent. Even the breast was moist. The snapper wa as the waiter advertised, delicious. Went there for our birthday. Well worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food. Some of the best I've ha ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Excellent food. Some of the best I've had in Charleston

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My boyfriend and I come here every year ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My boyfriend and I come here every year for his birthday. Last year, our service was not impressionable, and we were unsure about coming back this year. However, we were beyond impressed this time. Our server, Matthew, went through every measure to help us enjoy our experience at Poogan's. He recommended several food items, and none of them disappointed. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Started with the fried green tomatoes an ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Started with the fried green tomatoes and the mac and cheese with "ham dust". Hey, don't knock it 'til you've tried it! Both were worth every calorie! The shrimp and grits were also great -- very flavorful with the addition of sausage, peppers and onions. Topped the night off with coffee and a slice of pecan pie. We just loved the whole experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious food , wonderful service and c ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Delicious food , wonderful service and consistently good. Fabulous Moscow Mules too! Always a special place to dine when in Charleston.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Grown up Birthday Dinner! We enjoyed the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Grown up Birthday Dinner! We enjoyed the evening with our adult children and their husbands for my birthday. The Gouda Mac and cheese appetizer was amazing and a large portion. The She Crab soup was good, but had a weird green swirl in it? I think it was pesto? Would ask them NOT to put that on top next time. Wedge salad was typical, nothing special. Warm biscuits at the table were a nice touch. I loved the hanger steak with blue cheese potatoe dumplings! A little slow on refilling our drinks-water and tea. Overall a good experience, will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I was super excited to try Poogan's as I ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I was super excited to try Poogan's as I had heard great things about it. We had been to Husk two nights prior, and let me tell you...no contest, Poogan's was way better than Husk.

We were given a table upstairs and were promptly greeted with their warm biscuits with whipped honey butter. The biscuits were fantastic!

I had a cup of the She Crab Soup to start and the server had recommended the Pimento Cheese Fritters so my husband ordered those. The soup was great, but the cheese fritters stole the show! There were 4 large fritters served with a green tomato jam...I'd recommend sharing this appetizer amongst the table if you do order, because 4 fritters is more than enough for the average person.

For entrées, I had ordered the shrimp & grits and my husband ordered the pork chop (served with mashed potatoes, gravy and collard greens -- the pork chop is fried, similar to "fried chicken"). The portion sizes were huge...lots of food! The grits were fantastic, creamy and delicious. I tasted the pork chop as well and it was perfect.

For dessert we split a piece of pecan pie (served with bourbon ice cream). The pie was good, nothing special, but the rest of the meal made up for it!

The only cons I can note were (1) the bus boy had his phone in his pocket which rang multiple times during our dinner. I felt it was improper that staff would be carrying their phones around...particularly with the ring on. I felt this dampened the atmosphere of the restaurant; and (2) we had arrived 10 minutes earlier than our reservation, we were told that we had been checked in, but would have no wait for a table (no problem)...what bothered me was that the restaurant was nearly empty! Could they not have given us a table?

Regardless, Poogan's Porch was definitely our favourite restaurant in the Charleston (and we had tried quite a few!) and it would be my top recommendation for anyone travelling to the area.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Outstanding service! Food was superior; ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Outstanding service! Food was superior; best pork chop I've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great date night wit the Hubby her ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Had a great date night wit the Hubby here. We were seated quickly and the waitress(Tyler) was just wonderful.

Thanks !

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

A wonderful birthday dinner!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

A wonderful birthday dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poogan's Porch is my favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Poogan's Porch is my favorite restaurant in Charleston. No place makes better tasting biscuits. This week was great because Poogan's offered 40% off everything on the menu {except alcohol] to celebrate their 40th anniversary. That was such a great deal, we couldn't pass it up. Three of us ate the she crab soup, which is always excellent, shrimp & grits with brown gravy [always yummy], catfish that came with a side of black eyed peas with a few other ingredients that was excellent, and the steak, which the steak eater in the group said was excellent.

The sole reason ambiance and overall weren't rated excellent is the bar space is cramped with a few tables, and more an overflow waiting area.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

They'll cheerfully give you the recipe f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

They'll cheerfully give you the recipe for the to-die for biscuits, but why try to make them at home when you can embarrass yourself by how many of these light-as-air biscuits you eat? The rest of the food was super, but it is awfully tempting to just stop at the biscuits!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We love Rosa! She always makes us feel w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We love Rosa! She always makes us feel welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I took advantage of the 4 ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

My husband and I took advantage of the 40% off special, and we both enjoyed our appetizers, main course and desserts!! Julie was an excellent server!! Loved it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Amazing staff! Corwin is t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Amazing food! Amazing staff! Corwin is the sweetest server!

Tags: Historic, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.