HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

PLAYA CABANA BARRIO

4.0
142 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mexican
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies (244)
  • Neighborhood Gem (212)
  • Hot Spot (210)

Similar Restaurants

About

For the type of fresh and flavorful Mexican-inspired fare that only few can replicate north of Mexico itself, Toronto’s Barrio Coreano offers a delicious culinary adventure. For starters, enjoy a K-Mex slaw, a Mexican-Korean fusion slaw with queso fresco and ginger-sesame dressing and the chipotle marinated charcoal smoked chicken wings. Barrio Coreano is all about tacos, of either soft shell or crispy corn variety. Popular and innovative choices include the grilled marinated octopus pulpo al carbon with spicy chipotle salsa, the bulgogi shrimp al diablo, and the ancho-guajillo braised beef short rib in mole rojo sauce. For a sweet ending to the meal, enjoy a Mexican-Canadian fusion, the amazing churros poutine.

Barrio Coreano also prides themselves on only serving 100% blue agave tequila and Mezcal from Oaxaca, which perfectly matches its culinary authenticity.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mexican
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(416) 901-5188
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
Cross street: Euclid Ave
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
What 142 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.0
  based on all time ratings
4.1
food
4.1
service
4.0
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Energetic
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Erica211 (Toronto)
4.0
Dined on February 20, 2015

I have come to barrio a few times now and always enjoy my meals and the postiive atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
vipCherr (Toronto)
5.0
Dined on February 20, 2015

Food was unique and so flavourful. Never thought i would ever like chicken wings so much.....the best i have ever tasted! Great fusion of mexican and korean. Incredibly creative :)

Report
Helpful
Redheadinbed (Toronto)
5.0
Dined on February 13, 2015

We have heard great things about barrio correano and finally went to we what it was all about. We were not disappointed. The service was friendly and efficient and our server was more than happy to explain dishes and to recommend how much to order. The smoked wings were delicious! We had 6 tacos between two of us and this was just right to leave feeling satisfied, if slightly full! The Baja fish taco was by far my favourite with crispy fish and the perfect dressing. The beef brisket taco was my boyfriend's pick as the meat was tasty and juicy. Add on a great margarita and this was a perfect meal. It all came in around $70 for the two of us which we felt was well worth it. Definitely would go back.

Report
Helpful
Caterpirrar (Toronto)
5.0
Dined on February 6, 2015

Atmosphere was great, staff was extremely nice without being pushy.

Report
Helpful
Winnipegers (Toronto)
4.0
Dined on January 23, 2015

Super cool atmosphere and decor. Made me feel like I was in Mexcio... having just come back a few days prior. Service was excellent. Only downside was the crammed tables in the back and the heat and humidity coming from the kitchen.

Report
Helpful
Superfantastic (Toronto)
4.0
Dined on January 20, 2015

The food was fantastic but it was freezing cold in the restaurant! We were cold and everyone around us was too! Brrrrr!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
5.0
Dined on January 18, 2015

A bit pricey for the quantity of food provided, but everything was homemade - including the basic bowl of nacho chips. Really good quality Mexican food.

Report
Helpful
donj (Toronto)
1.0
Dined on January 17, 2015

It's like they forgot how tacos are supposed to taste. when i bite into a taco i do not expect a mouthful of flower.

the tacos were lacking in creativity and have brought shame to the concept of korean food mixes.

would not recommend.

fix your stairs.

shame to the ancestors

Report
Helpful
Jeetu (Toronto)
5.0
Dined on January 16, 2015

Wife and I decided to give it a try and we were not disappointed. My wife is a fan of mexican food and we both really enjoyed the food!! Restaurant is tight on space but we felt the food made it up for it. Gluten friendly also!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
4.0
Dined on January 15, 2015

Other taco restaurants we've been to had small portions despite their high price. Playa Cabana Barrio did not have that problem at all! We were extremely satisfied with the portions of food for the price that we paid. We tried three types of tacos between the two of us -- fish, chicken, and pork -- and we would recommend all of them! I'd recommend this place for a casual place to grab lunch or dinner. It is a hidden gem. Decor is a little flashy but otherwise it is a great neighbourhood find :)

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
15

Hours, Transportation, and Details

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mexican
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Euclid Ave
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
Price range
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(416) 901-5188
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.