Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Arisu Korean & Japanese RestaurantArisu Korean & Japanese Restaurant
(2)
$$$$
Korean | Koreatown, Toronto
630 Maroli Indian Kerala Restaurant630 Maroli Indian Kerala Restaurant
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
Indian | Koreatown, Toronto
RasaRasa
(2)
$$$$
Global, International | Harbord Village, Toronto
Pero Restaurant and LoungePero Restaurant and Lounge
(64)
$$$$
Eritrean | Ossington, Toronto
Piano PianoPiano Piano
(237)
$$$$
Contemporary Italian | The Annex, Toronto
Booked 41 times today
Rickshaw BarRickshaw Bar
(26)
$$$$
Southeast Asian | Queen West, Toronto
Booked 6 times today
El CatrinEl Catrin
(2019)
$$$$
Mexican | Distillery District, Toronto
Booked 95 times today
Los ColibrisLos Colibris
(722)
$$$$
International | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
Booked 37 times today
PatriaPatria
(452)
$$$$
Spanish | King West, Toronto
Booked 43 times today
The Fifth Grill & TerraceThe Fifth Grill & Terrace
(556)
$$$$
French | Downtown / Entertainment District, Toronto
Booked 4 times today
MisturaMistura
(453)
$$$$
Italian | Yorkville, Toronto
Booked 8 times today
Nota BeneNota Bene
(2392)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Queen West, Toronto
Booked 63 times today
El Rincon MexicanoEl Rincon Mexicano
(14)
$$$$
Mexican | St. Clair West, Toronto
Booked 1 time today
El Caballito Tequila BarEl Caballito Tequila Bar
(113)
$$$$
International | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
Booked 12 times today
The Chase Fish & OysterThe Chase Fish & Oyster
(452)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
Booked 51 times today

About PLAYA CABANA BARRIO

642 Bloor St W
Toronto, ON M6G 1K9
View Larger Map

For the type of fresh and flavorful Mexican-inspired fare that only few can replicate north of Mexico itself, Toronto’s Barrio Coreano offers a delicious culinary adventure. For starters, enjoy a K-Mex slaw, a Mexican-Korean fusion slaw with queso fresco and ginger-sesame dressing and the chipotle marinated charcoal smoked chicken wings. Barrio Coreano is all about tacos, of either soft shell or crispy corn variety. Popular and innovative choices include the grilled marinated octopus pulpo al carbon with spicy chipotle salsa, the bulgogi shrimp al diablo, and the ancho-guajillo braised beef short rib in mole rojo sauce. For a sweet ending to the meal, enjoy a Mexican-Canadian fusion, the amazing churros poutine.

Barrio Coreano also prides themselves on only serving 100% blue agave tequila and Mezcal from Oaxaca, which perfectly matches its culinary authenticity.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm.

Cross Street:
Euclid Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 901-5188

Website:
http://www.playacabana.ca/

Restaurant Photos

  • Grilled Calamari - PLAYA CABANA BARRIO, Toronto, ON
  • Barrio Ribs - PLAYA CABANA BARRIO, Toronto, ON
  • Kalbi Beef Taco - PLAYA CABANA BARRIO, Toronto, ON
  • Chips and Guacamole - PLAYA CABANA BARRIO, Toronto, ON
  • Grilled Octopus Taco - PLAYA CABANA BARRIO, Toronto, ON
  • Chipotle Kampungki Chicken Taco - PLAYA CABANA BARRIO, Toronto, ON
  • Yuzu Tuna Taco - PLAYA CABANA BARRIO, Toronto, ON
Grilled Calamari - PLAYA CABANA BARRIO, Toronto, ON
Barrio Ribs - PLAYA CABANA BARRIO, Toronto, ON
Kalbi Beef Taco - PLAYA CABANA BARRIO, Toronto, ON
Chips and Guacamole - PLAYA CABANA BARRIO, Toronto, ON
Grilled Octopus Taco - PLAYA CABANA BARRIO, Toronto, ON
Chipotle Kampungki Chicken Taco - PLAYA CABANA BARRIO, Toronto, ON
Yuzu Tuna Taco - PLAYA CABANA BARRIO, Toronto, ON
Sort By:
S
140 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

always a pleasure coming to Barrio.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 21, 2015

I have come to barrio a few times now and always enjoy my meals and the postiive atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Outstanding!

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 21, 2015

Food was unique and so flavourful. Never thought i would ever like chicken wings so much.....the best i have ever tasted! Great fusion of mexican and korean. Incredibly creative :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and service

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2015

We have heard great things about barrio correano and finally went to we what it was all about. We were not disappointed. The service was friendly and efficient and our server was more than happy to explain dishes and to recommend how much to order. The smoked wings were delicious! We had 6 tacos between two of us and this was just right to leave feeling satisfied, if slightly full! The Baja fish taco was by far my favourite with crispy fish and the perfect dressing. The beef brisket taco was my boyfriend's pick as the meat was tasty and juicy. Add on a great margarita and this was a perfect meal. It all came in around $70 for the two of us which we felt was well worth it. Definitely would go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 6, 2015

Atmosphere was great, staff was extremely nice without being pushy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cool joint with good food and great service

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 24, 2015

Super cool atmosphere and decor. Made me feel like I was in Mexcio... having just come back a few days prior. Service was excellent. Only downside was the crammed tables in the back and the heat and humidity coming from the kitchen.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Deeeelish!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 20, 2015

The food was fantastic but it was freezing cold in the restaurant! We were cold and everyone around us was too! Brrrrr!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Great Homemade Food!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 18, 2015

A bit pricey for the quantity of food provided, but everything was homemade - including the basic bowl of nacho chips. Really good quality Mexican food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

awful taco

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 18, 2015

It's like they forgot how tacos are supposed to taste. when i bite into a taco i do not expect a mouthful of flower.

the tacos were lacking in creativity and have brought shame to the concept of korean food mixes.

would not recommend.

fix your stairs.

shame to the ancestors

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Great casual night out!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 16, 2015

Wife and I decided to give it a try and we were not disappointed. My wife is a fan of mexican food and we both really enjoyed the food!! Restaurant is tight on space but we felt the food made it up for it. Gluten friendly also!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food for good prices!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 15, 2015

Other taco restaurants we've been to had small portions despite their high price. Playa Cabana Barrio did not have that problem at all! We were extremely satisfied with the portions of food for the price that we paid. We tried three types of tacos between the two of us -- fish, chicken, and pork -- and we would recommend all of them! I'd recommend this place for a casual place to grab lunch or dinner. It is a hidden gem. Decor is a little flashy but otherwise it is a great neighbourhood find :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Enthusiastic service

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 11, 2015

Food was v good and service was outstanding, enthusiasm and strong knowledge of menu. Was a bit cold in the back. Found the portions quite generous for tacos. Wine and beer list somewhat limited, specialty drinks were fun.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great place for food and drinks

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 3, 2015

I have been to Playa Cabana Barrio 3 times and like their sister restaurants (Playa Hacienda and Playa Cabana) it never disappoints. The food is great, the atmosphere is fun and the service is always friendly. Last time I was there I had their outstanding guacamole, fresh oysters and 3 different types of tacos. The lobster taco was unbelievable. I highly recommend and if you like mexican food with a bit of fusion you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great way to spend New Year's Eve.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2015

We sat at the bar because we wanted to be social and it couldn't have worked out better. Had interesting conversations with the bartender and manager, and a lovely couple sitting next to us. People watched while we enjoyed some tried and true and some new items off the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good food, but bigger tacos that expected

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2015

Overall - good food & fun atmosphere. I wasn't sure what to think of the Korean/Mexican fusion, but it was actually fairly tasty. Service was friendly, but a bit sporadic, though it was NYE, so the restaurant was a bit nuts.

The main advice I have if you plan to eat tapas style and share, is to order in waves to avoid too much food & cold food. My party of 4 incorrectly assumed the tacos would be similar size to the other Playa restaurants, or other taco joints like Grand Electric and La Carnita, but they were not, they were HUGE. So in our ignorance we ended up ordering way too much. Plus a lot of the tacos were cold by the time we got to them, and tacos are not the greatest when they've been sititng.

Normally we would have ordered our food in waves, but because it was NYE we were told we could only have our table until 9pm so we ordered all our tacos at once, but the waiter assured us they would be brought out tapas style as they were ready. Apparently they were ready all at once, because they all came to the table at the same time. We couldn't even fit all the trays on our table, and tacos are not necessarily the best after they've been sitting for a bit. That said, the flavours were good, and the first two warm tacos were tasty.

Food:

My pals said the braised short rib taco was their favourite. I don't eat beef, so you'll have to take their word for it.

My favourite was the baja fish, which we had fried. This was one of everyone else's favourites as well.

The octopus taco also got good reviews from the table.

The chicken kampunki was like an order of Korean fried chicken on a taco - I thought it was tasty, though not what I expected, and impossible to eat as a taco. My pal did not like it at all because it really wasn't like a taco.

I didn't eat eat, but no one else at the table seemed to be thrilled with the pork belly taco.

I'd go back, but would order more smartly, and I wouldn't go on NYE again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Try the crispy lobster

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 13, 2014

A lively restaurant with a fantastic "hot Mexican garage" vibe, unbelievable food, and friendly service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Recommended

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2014

We had such a great time. Great Service. Food super!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant! So fun!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2014

What a fun restaurant! Amazing energy, cool decor, terrific staff. Everyone was so friendly and smiley. Best service I have had in ages. The food was terrific. We all enjoyed everything we ordered. I will definitely go back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Date Night

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 9, 2014

My hubby and I went here for a date night. The food was delicious and totally reasonable. We ordered way too much, but took the extras to go (note: it didn't travel very well). We had a great time and would definitely go back again, but it wasn't a "romantic dinner", better suited for an energetic group. We still had fun and highly recommend the food. The Torta Coreana was amazing. Baja Tacos - my "spicy" fave.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic dinning experience

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 8, 2014

Great food. Amazing ambiance. Staff were very social and helpful with picking dishes. All the food was fresh and absolutely delicious. The oyster bar was the icing on the cake. Any person can find something on the menu they will crave as soon as they step out of the door. Simply put.... Check this place out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you take a reservation, keep it!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 8, 2014

Every Playa Cabana restaurant in the chain is spectacular in terms of attentive wait staff and quality of food and drink offering. That said, none of the four of them are able to comply with reservations made on Open Table. My average wait time has been about 35 minutes at each location. Other restaurants who offer multiple seatings throughout the night gently but informatively advise their patrons when they sit down that when their 2 hour window is up, they can expect to leave unless otherwise noted. I'm not sure if management at Playa Cabana is complicit in not keeping reservations in order to keep the place buzzing, or whether its just incompetent. Add walk ins, and you are left standing in the foyer packed like a sardine can.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Friendly staff, nice atmosphere, great f ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2014

Friendly staff, nice atmosphere, great food. All around great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fabulous Birthday Dinner

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 2, 2014

Came here to celebrate my birthday with friends many of whom were new to the place. I've been several times before. They renovated the bar/opening area. Larger bar and single style seating now up front which is good if you are flying solo. I love the new drinks and the oyster bar. I will definitely come back for the oysters and the main food. I had the lobster enchilada which I really enjoyed as I expected. But the oysters are making me dream about it again. Will definitely be returning soon! Gracias Playa for helping me enjoy my special day with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always a good meal, family friendly food ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 1, 2014

Always a good meal, family friendly food and staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious Neighbourhood Dive

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 1, 2014

Great concept, and good food. I would recommend this for a fun night out to try something different. It was reasonably priced, and the vibe is divy in a trendy way. If I lived in the neighbourhood, it would definitely be a regular go-to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Avoided by epileptics

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 1, 2014

yummy taquitos. Enthusiastic server. Decor is wild, almost overstimulating. Very trendy spot in my neighbourhood, will return. They make some expensive but interesting drinks too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Mexican

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 25, 2014

Great find after always going to Playa Cabana. This is equal if not better . Easier to get reservations as well. The food is just as good along with some eclectic stuff you don't find in your typical Cdn Mexican restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Mexican food

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 25, 2014

Loved the ambience, the food and the service. Only issue was very small table.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Korean spin in Mexican

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 18, 2014

Great food and service. Recommend the calamari. Got a table in the back right beside the kitchen which wasn't ideal but service and food made up for it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Skip it.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 18, 2014

The food was completely overrated. The most notable disappointment was the grilled calamari-- way too oily with little (if any) acidity. The tables were also positioned too close together, so much so that I was trapped in my seat when the two neighboring tables became occupied. The server was pleasant, which was this place's only saving grace.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

enjoyable food experience

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 17, 2014

I came here with two of my friends and we ordered a lot of food. We had the chicken wings, the ceviches, the guacamoles, oysters, and three different types of tacos: the fish taco, lobster taco, and short rib taco. The food choice is more Mexican than being Korean fusion Mexican. Food taste great, the portions are large. It's interesting to have turnips on tacos. Our waiter was friendly and suggested the food choices for us. Definitely enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

New Space, Great Taste

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 16, 2014

Having been to all of the other Playa Cabana locations I decided to try the new melting pot of Mexican Korean. The Ambience is energetic and draws you in, transporting you from the world outside the small cozy restaurant. Playa could stand to adjust the near seizure inducing flashing lights. They wear on your eyes and psyche after a short period. The food is largely similar to the other locations with a little bit or Asian influence. The Kalbi style ribs were stellar, the tacos were tasty but over stuffed, churros poutine is exactly as satisfying as you would expect

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Awesome food!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 4, 2014

Had the Torta Coreana, Lobster and Short Rib tacos. Finished with the Churros.... all I can say is wow and thank you. I will be returning. The hot sauces were excellent both packing a punch of flavour and fire. Great service, great value for the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Playa Cabana Barrio Coreano

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 2, 2014

Had a post-work girls night celebrating a friends belated birthday. Top notch friendly service. We had drinks, chips with guac and different tacos - always very fun atmosphere and nice casual evening out without breaking the bank.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fun fusion

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 2, 2014

The chefs seem to be having fun although the wait staff seem stressed. I've been only twice now but would call it my favorite spot in Korean business district

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

A trendy place with yummy tacos

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 25, 2014

I went out to Playa Cabana on a Thursday night and from the moment I walked in, I felt like it was actually a Saturday evening. I was spending some time catching up with a few contributors to the blog I manage. The atmosphere was upbeat, cool and very trendy. My table couldn't stop ogling over the decor! Our server was friendly, knew everything about the menu and was easy to talk with. The food did take a little bit long to come and by the time everyone had their tacos, which were delicious, some portions had gotten cool. Regardless, the meals tasted good (we all shared our tacos to get a variety), the wine was delicious, the margaritas were strong and satisfying and I think we'd all definitely go back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Another great addition to Playa C

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 20, 2014

Loved the vibe, service and food - if you're a fan of the other Playa Cabana restaurants in the city, this one will be right up your alley!

Special mention to the decor (which form the outside reminded me of a scene from Blade Runner!).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seated an hour after our reso

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 20, 2014

Our reservation was for 8:30pm on a Friday and we didn't get seated until 9:30pm. The manager gave us a free round of drinks, free guacamole and chips and free desert, which was very nice. However, having to wait an hour past our reservation was extremely off-putting. The food wasn't mind-blowing, so overall I would not recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Always great Mexican

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 19, 2014

This was my fifth time at a Playa Cabana restaurant and my second time to Barrio. I decided to take a friend here for dinner and he really enjoyed it. He is usually picky with his food but he ate all of it. He had the 3 carnitas tacos while I had the fish tacos and the pulpo taco. I've had both before and was satisfied again. I highly recommend the place if you enjoy Mexican flavours done well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Not Impressed.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 18, 2014

Very expensive plates with small portions. The korean inspired dishes were pretty good, but overall none of the food was anything special. I've had better Mexican for far cheaper in Toronto. The drinks were also very expensive and not very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Good food - LONG wait!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 6, 2014

The food here was very good, for the most part. The homemade nacho chips taste just like ones that I had in Mexico when I fell in love with shrimp ceviche! We waited a long time for our food - probably close to an hour to get our mains after we placed the order. Our waiter was good, gave the reason for the delay that the printer in the kitchen hadn't printed out the order....then he said that part of our order would be "out in a few minutes" but that became at least 30 minutes. We had a reservation for 8pm, and were finally eating our mains at 9:30. The saving grace was the food - nachos, guacamole, beef tacos & beef/short rib sandwich - really really good. We'll go to another Playa Cabano next time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.