About Pizzeria Mozza

641 N. Highland Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90036
View Larger Map

Pizzeria Mozza is a bustling, urban burst of flavor and color. Open noon to midnight, seven days a week, Pizzeria Mozza is the perfect atmosphere - whether it be a business lunch or late night snack. The wine bar provides a vibrant venue for sampling wines from a list with a selection of Italian wines, but don't forget about the ample offering of antipasti, salumi and pizza.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily from Noon to Midnight

Cross Street:
Melrose Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 297-0100

Website:
http://www.mozza-la.com/

Parking Details:
$12 Valet. Accepts credit cards.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Pizzeria Mozza's Jack Warner Room is a rustic Italian wine cellar featuring an extensive family-style menu designed by Nancy Silverton & Mario Batali for lunch and dinner events.

Pizzeria Mozza Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (73)
Casual (54)
Wood Oven (50)
See All
Good for a Date (47)
Hot Spot (46)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Great for Lunch (43)
Fun (41)
Authentic (38)
Worth the Drive (35)
Open Kitchen (34)
Comfort Food (33)
Special Occasion (32)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Bar Seating (31)
Notable Wine List (29)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Local Ingredients (21)
Cozy (20)
Family Style (20)
Good Vegetarian Options (20)
Good for Groups (19)
People Watching (19)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Romantic (16)
Late-night Find (15)
Business Meals (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Private Room (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Seasonal (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Organic (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Great Beer (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Healthy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tapas (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
3726 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Pizzas are always great. Garlic bread is ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Pizzas are always great. Garlic bread is one of the best! While it's one of the few nice places still open post-theater, you do run the risk of some popular items running out. Always has been a great experience for us.

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Late-night Find, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great experience but rushed service. Lou ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Great experience but rushed service. Loud environment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

its so so Not WOW but OKAY ... don't exp ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

its so so Not WOW but OKAY ... don't expect to see any pastas on their menu, there isn't. Only pizzas and salads also no tiramisus!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

As always, each dish is spot on perfect, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

As always, each dish is spot on perfect, from the simplest grilled bread with garlic, to the perfectly dressed crisp salad, to the variety of pizzas. Our favorite is the white pizza with freshly made sausage and sage. And save room for the butterscotch budino 👍🏻

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Haven't had pizza like this since I was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Haven't had pizza like this since I was in Italy! Amazing flavors - they really know how to keep it simple and highlight the ingredients' natural flavor.

Service was great - both attentive and efficient, without being overbearing. It's a smaller, cozy place so it can get a little bit loud. I've only ever come here with 1 other person so shouting across wasn't necessary like it might be in a larger group with a bigger table.

Also, THE BUDINO. I see why this is on so many "Must Eat" lists in LA. Amazing!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is arguably one of the best pizza p ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

This is arguably one of the best pizza places in the country. Inventive. Consistently great. Wood burning oven made pizzas = heaven.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great as always!

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the room in the cellar. Great for s ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Love the room in the cellar. Great for special occasions or meeting with friends who are foodies. Has a lot of exotic options. Service was exceptional. The pizzas, appetizers, dessert are so delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the food here. Grew up in New Yo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I love the food here. Grew up in New York and this is the first L.A. pizza I can rate outstanding -- in fact, stupendous. At lunch, the restaurant fills up rapidly and is quite noisy, but I am willing to shout at my table mates if that's the price for light crunchy crusted pizza with innovative and uniformly delicious toppings and those magnificent squash blossoms with ricotta. This is hands down my favorite neighborhood restaurant. I do business lunches here and also just lunch or dinner with a pizza aficionado friend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

One of our favorite restaurants. We love ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants. We love the food and ambiance.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious . Love the Bianca pizza with s ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Delicious . Love the Bianca pizza with sausage added, chopped salad, cauliflower fritti, meatballs and the butterscotch budino!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Casual, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed everything, We had roasted squas ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Enjoyed everything, We had roasted squash,salads,pizza and dessert...Tasty!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One again another great meal at Mozza. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One again another great meal at Mozza. The only downside is how busy it is and it's really loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was outstanding! It was loud ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our server was outstanding! It was loud and a bit chaotic. Pizza was great but overpriced. Salad was ordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

First time there. I had a Margherita Pi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

First time there. I had a Margherita Pizza and salad. Pizza was hot and delicious. Salad was okay, the cucumbers were the best part.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I made this our first dinner ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My wife and I made this our first dinner in Los Angeles after a long flight. The waitress recommended an outstanding wine and we each had a Margaurita pizza. We agree that it was the best we had ever had, even with years of eating them in connection without our 25 years in New York City and years in Chicago and Cincinnati.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic.....a little better ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Absolutely fantastic.....a little better than Singapore Mozza

Tags: Creative Cuisine, , Healthy, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Family Style, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came to this restaurant 6 years ago an ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 6, 2017

I came to this restaurant 6 years ago and had one of the best pizzas in my life. On a return visit to LA, I brought a group of friends for the same meal and was very disappointed. The quality of ingredients and food taste has declined over the past years. Sadly, I won't be remembering this as a great restaurant anymore, and will not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Always a treat. Loved the meatballs, th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always a treat. Loved the meatballs, the squash, BREAD!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious as always - but t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was delicious as always - but the experience was lack luster because of the lack of service. After we were seated we never had the same server throughout the evening and had to ask for wine refills from our bottle and for water refills. We were often left waiting. I spoke with the manager casually and said it was disappointing and he sent glasses of wine over to cushion the situation. It was a Saturday night and was busy - for future, I'll probably only visit during the week. This visit didn't live up to how highly I spoke of it in the past.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Food is great we always like going. But ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food is great we always like going. But it's so noisy you can't carry on a conversation. But to go late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Awesome experience from the host to the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Awesome experience from the host to the waiter to the food

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pizzeria Mozza was one of my fav restaur ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Pizzeria Mozza was one of my fav restaurants in LA. But I may consider to take it out of my must-go list for now. Returning to Mozza after about four months on a recent Friday night to find the food missing that spark/magic. Pizza was surprisingly soggy, meatball dry. They were decent relatively speaking but not the Mozza that I remembered. Was it because there are no more chef in the kitchen?

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing as always

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Amazing as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for dinner before show at Pantages. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Went for dinner before show at Pantages. Was sure would not live up to the hype, but pizzas and salads were all amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ordered the meatballs, octopus salad, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We ordered the meatballs, octopus salad, the meat lovers pizza, butterscotch budino & wine. Although the price was pretty steep ($180 for 2 people) the food was delicious!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Authentic, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this place. My kids love this plac ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Love this place. My kids love this place. Food is great. It's always busy and the wait can be long without a reservation, but the food is consistent and the service is great. One of my favorite casual restaurants for a quick date night or family dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

If you're there on a weekend ask for the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

If you're there on a weekend ask for the lasagna! If you don't see it on the menu don't hesitate to ask - we lucked out on a Saturday when it wasn't mentioned on the menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Lovely food! Nice service. Friendly atmo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Lovely food! Nice service. Friendly atmosphere 🌟Great vegetable options, fantastic tricolor salad and the pizza is sooooo good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply the best place for pIzza in LA

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Simply the best place for pIzza in LA

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I'm a big fan. Always love it!! Yes, pi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I'm a big fan. Always love it!! Yes, pizzas are to die for--but really love antipasti. So many delicious veggies, bruschetta, salads -- and hearty nightly special. Creative, casual dining. Reasonable wine list. Small wine room somewhat quieter than loud main room.

Tags: Casual, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great pizza, great warm olives, great se ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great pizza, great warm olives, great service

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always great but the wine gl ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food is always great but the wine glasses are pretty awful for a good restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was my 2nd time here. The food was ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This was my 2nd time here. The food was great, our server accommodating despite the long wait, even with a reservation. She even gave us a couple complimentary items since our wait was long. All in all, our out of town guests enjoyed it and we were all happy.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place! I took my mom and she enjo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Great place! I took my mom and she enjoyed all of the dishes! We ordered the grilled carrots, mussels and the roasted squash as appetizers than the margarita pizza. Also, the affogato was amazing as well. Will come back for sure!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, People Watching, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have never been so insulted in a resta ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I have never been so insulted in a restaurant in my life.

My wife and I went here hoping to enjoy a quality Sunday lunch. We drove especially to try this place out. When we go there, we ordered an item on the menu and another meal on the DineLA promotion. We were tersely informed that we were not allowed to share the DineLA menu.

I'll told our waitress that that will be fine and I will order the DineLA meal myself and my wife will order an appetizer on the regular menu. If they don't want us sharing, we not share. Even if I think their rules are ridiculous, I will honor the rules of their establishment.

Not 5 minutes later, a manager comes over and tells me that I can't order the DineLA meal under the promotion because they don't allow sharing and that I would need to order both items the regular menu (at non-promotional price) or a second DineLA meal for my wife. I already gave my word that I will eat my own meal all by myself and now some guy comes up to my table and questions me over a pizza? Am I supposed to sit at a separate table now just to prove my integrity? Does my wife have to order food she doesn't even want just to satisfy the house rules?

By this point, we lost our appetite and the situation had become unsalvageable. No pizza is worth some draconian hovering over me, questioning me on how I'm supposed eat it like some kind of pizza inquisition. Thanks for ruining our Sunday lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very good pizza but not excellent enough ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very good pizza but not excellent enough to be ranked so high on the Zagat Top 50 in LA.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Went here to try their DineLA lunch menu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Went here to try their DineLA lunch menu (they didn't offer a dinner version).

Pizzas were thin, crispy, and the ingredients were fresh. Probably some of the best pizza we've had in awhile. We adored their desserts - the butterscotch budino and the affogato.

Service was attentive and friendly. We arrived early for our 4pm reservation (so easy to do on Open Table), and they sat us in an intimate side room which was definitely less noisy than the main room.

Definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Comfort Food, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Erica is always lovely. Alphonso too. Ni ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Erica is always lovely. Alphonso too. Nick was great. Best waitstaff in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

DineLA was misleading. When viewing opti ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 20, 2017

DineLA was misleading. When viewing options I selected this place because it read they were participating. Apparently not for dinner. The table next to us apparently thought the same thing and asked what the DineLA menus was. Not okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.