Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Pizzaiolo Primo

Welcome to Pizzaiolo Primo, home of truly authentic Neapolitan Cuisine. Pizzaiolo Primo roots trace back to Pittsburgh circa 1996, with an original credo: create Neapolitan pizza using old-world techniques and using the highest-quality ingredients available. Today, we hand-make nearly everything on the menu - from sweet fennel sausage, meatballs and pasta, to mozzarella and antipasto vegetables. If we don't hand-make it, it's imported from the best artisans, cheese makers and salumeria in the world. Our Mozzarella di bufala comes direct from Naples and we cook only the best dried pasta in the world, always to order, always al dente. We bake our pizzas at 1000 degrees in a handcrafted, wood-fired brick oven for less than 90 seconds using perfectly leavened dough, San Marzano tomatoes, and extra virgin olive oil. The result is an authentic Neapolitan culinary experience with integrity. Buon Appetito!

8 Market Square
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm-9:00pm


Cross Street:
Market Square and Forbes Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 575-5858

Website:
http://www.pizzaioloprimo.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered at Kiosk in Market Square

Public Transit:
Gateway LTR

Executive Chef:
Richard Sphatt

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pizzaiolo Primo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (26)
Special Occasion (21)
People Watching (18)
See All
Casual (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Authentic (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Fun (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Romantic (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Cozy (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Scenic View (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Business Meals (6)
Bar Seating (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
610 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

Absolutely love the red sauce. The best in Pittsburgh. Service was very attentive. Food was delicious. Everyone was happy. Our first choice for Italian food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything is consistently good, been here a few times. Last time for lunch, service was a bit sleepy, low energy, going through the motions ( we had to ask if there were any specials , some drink rounds were a bit delayed. Not bad service, just not what we're used to, and not a positive reflection on what is otherwise a nice place to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Pizzaiolo is great for a date night. Better than average Italian food and better than average service in Market Square. The atmosphere is intimate and our server knew his stuff. That being that, the prices are a little steep and the food doesn't "wow."

We tried the rice ball appetizer first, which was pretty good. Very filling. I had the gnocchi, which was incredibly fresh but not very flavorful. My husband had the wild boar ragu which was actually delicious. We might come back again for the pizza, but nothing has me dying for a second visit to Pizzaiolo Primo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 2, 2017

The food and the service were good. It was a business lunch and we were able to have professional conversations. Only thing that would have made it better would have been if it was a dinner and I could have had one of those cold Peroni beers. Thanks.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

By far, the best Italian restaurant in Pittsburgh. This is what all other Italian restaurant aspire to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

The service was pleasant and very timely! Four of us selected four different pizzas and they were all fantastic! Deserts were great and the pricing isn't too expensive, especially for the specialty pizzas. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Food was AWESOME. Pasta with mushrooms to die for and husband who usually only orders seafood tried it and said he would order next time. Chicken Parm outstanding. Fresh mozzarella in caprese so smooth and great. Pasta bolognese outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 19, 2017

This is one of my favorite downtown spots. I eat out for lunch or dinner 5-6 times a week and this place has never disappointed. The Bolognese is my favorite dish and this place kills it! My client followed my lead and ordered one to go for he and his wife.

Fantastic service and cool patio seating in Market Square. You can't go wrong with this spot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Excellent food and service from our server Michael. Cocktails were excellent as well. Got to sit outside and enjoy the warm weather.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I was very surprised with such a great meal. The food and service was outstanding!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Had a great meal. The burrata is the best in town. Pasta tasted super fresh and drinks were delicious. Michael, our waiter, was great with providing suggestions and provided great service. All in all, a great meal!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Food very delicious with nice portions. Service nice and informative. Desserts very nice and reasonable. Outside location great for people watching too.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Always fresh, authentic Italian! Our favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh - we have to eat here every time we are in town!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great Italian food! Good place for a date night or friend date night. Awesome service, good cocktails & wine too!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food was fabulous as always and the service was fine. Our table for 5 was never ready, so after assembling in the bar (where the service was great), we eventually sat in an awkward configuration at two adjoining tables. That would have been OK, really, except that the large party also seated upstairs in the bar was very noisy, at times disruptively so. We still like the place, though, and hope to be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Every single thing was soooo goood! My mussels were superb; fresh and perfectly cooked. My branzino entree was incredibly lovely and tasty. My gelato was super yummy. All of the staff was friendly and helpful. Loved it! Would recommend over and over again.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 28, 2017

It was a beautiful day and we sat outside. The service was slower than usual. The food was delicious. I do feel that the prices are high for an average Lunch.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great food & service. My only comment would be the bathroom. On the 1st floor there is only a single person bathroom across from the kitchen with a toilet and urinal, it was pitch dark to where I couldn't even see in the mirror. The button that I thought must be the light button was the fan button and then I realized there was no actual light fixture.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Food was delicious. Excellent Caesar salad and the pizza was the best I've had. Also enjoyed the pasta with vodka sauce!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2017

We really enjoyed a family dinner here. We had the rice ball and meatball appetizers and they were delicious. I had the parpadelle with sausage. The waiter very kindly warned me that it was very spicy. He had them tone down the peppers and I have to say it was just the right amount of spice. Everyone else loved their meals as well. Highly recommend lunch or dinner here!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food was very good. Wine (red)on the other hand was a problem. 1st bottle was not drinkable but to their credit they agreed and took it back. The second bottle different from the first and recommended by the server was not much better but we kept it although it to should have been sent back. Both wines were very old...2007 and 2008. Perhaps too old and past their prime. We still enjoy the restaurant and will return but will be more careful with the wine selection and look for something younger.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Another great meal and evening with special friends! Thanks to the staff for good food, service
and authentic ambiance! We will be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This was my favorite restaurant but was disappointed this time. Service was a little slow and the prices have gone up. It is a bit on higher end. So although I may still visit, but not as often as I would. Food pretty okay.
The ambiance is great but noise level is high

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Always a great time with good food, however on this particular evening they were 'out' of many items both on the menu AND the wine list.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

My friends and I came here for a going away dinner and it was perfect! Private with a romantic vibe but enough people coming in and out that you can tell it's a hot little spot downtown. Food (quality and presentation) as well as service was amazing. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 3, 2017

The service was outstanding and food equally as good.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We had a great business lunch at Pizzaiolo Primo in Market Square, Pittsburgh. There was plenty of available seating at 11:30 am and we were permitted to select whichever table we wanted. Each of us ordered a different style brick oven pizza and we all thought our meals were fantastically prepared. There is no doubt I would return for a future meal. Job well-done!

Tags: Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Excellent and authentic Italian food. This is a truly great restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We have eaten at the Mt Lebanon location many times but after moving to Mt Washington, we decided to try the Market Square location. It was a beautiful night and we ate outside, enjoying the sights and sounds of Market Square. We shared a small Caeser salad (big enough for 2), a sausage pizza and the chicken special of the night. The pizza was fabulous, cooked to perfection with housemade fennel sausage that had the right amount of seasonings and not greasy at all. The chicken dish was sauteed chicken over arrancini, a small amount of red sauce and banana peppers, it was amazing. Although we were full, we shared some gelatto for dessert that was also amazing. Last but not least was our waiter Michael. He was extremely pleasant and helpful and went out of his way to make it a truly remarkable dining experience. I also have to say the food and service was definitely a notch above the Mt. Lebanon location.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food was excellent, very pleasant and efficient server. Overall great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Restaurant located in an interesting area of Pittsburgh (Market Square). The food is delicious and there was no hassle in accommodating vegan diets.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great Service. The food options were good a varied with good salads besides the expected pizas. We sat outside enjoying beautiful Market Square. We will return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Had a great date night with my husband. Wine to start off and 2 different pizzas. Both delicious, but a bit underdone in the center.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We shared pasta and pizza. Both were delicious and our service was great. We didn't want for anything. I would have liked a different table from the 2 top in front of bar since I made a reservation in advance. My only negative

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great atmosphere and great food! Went for my husband's birthday while in Pittsburgh! Would definitely suggest it! It's a gen!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Overall the Restaurant is very good, a bit crowded over lunch. I was disappointed that we did not get the table (in the back corner) that we wanted. I booked it the night before.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Always a favorite, the food never disappoints. The difficulty is what to choose. I have favorite dishes: the burrata, the meatballs, the linguine veneziana to name a few. When I can break away from my favorites, I am never disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Excellent food and staff. Antipasto platter was terrific as was the branzino and veal sorremtino. Nice wine list too.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food is always excellent! But for some reason the wait for our appetizers and entrees was exceptionally slow which is an anomaly. Ill chalk it up to someone wasn't there in the kitchen that should have been !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great Neapolitan Pizza, and great pasta selection. Always a good choice for a meal downtown.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.