About Pizzaiolo Primo

8 Market Square
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Welcome to Pizzaiolo Primo, home of truly authentic Neapolitan Cuisine. Pizzaiolo Primo roots trace back to Pittsburgh circa 1996, with an original credo: create Neapolitan pizza using old-world techniques and using the highest-quality ingredients available. Today, we hand-make nearly everything on the menu - from sweet fennel sausage, meatballs and pasta, to mozzarella and antipasto vegetables. If we don't hand-make it, it's imported from the best artisans, cheese makers and salumeria in the world. Our Mozzarella di bufala comes direct from Naples and we cook only the best dried pasta in the world, always to order, always al dente. We bake our pizzas at 1000 degrees in a handcrafted, wood-fired brick oven for less than 90 seconds using perfectly leavened dough, San Marzano tomatoes, and extra virgin olive oil. The result is an authentic Neapolitan culinary experience with integrity. Buon Appetito!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm-9:00pm


Cross Street:
Market Square and Forbes Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 575-5858

Website:
http://www.pizzaioloprimo.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered at Kiosk in Market Square

Public Transit:
Gateway LTR

Executive Chef:
Richard Sphatt

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Pizzaiolo Primo, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Pizzaiolo Primo, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Pizzaiolo Primo, Pittsburgh, PA
Pizzaiolo Primo, Pittsburgh, PA
Pizzaiolo Primo, Pittsburgh, PA
Pizzaiolo Primo, Pittsburgh, PA

Pizzaiolo Primo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Pittsburgh
Italian
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Good for a Date (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Authentic (22)
See All
Great for Lunch (19)
Special Occasion (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Business Meals (16)
Romantic (16)
Wood Oven (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Fun (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Casual (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
People Watching (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Scenic View (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Family Style (4)
Cozy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Private Room (2)
Historic (2)
Fireplace (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
459 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

If you are looking for authentic Italian ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

If you are looking for authentic Italian food, Pizzaiolo Primo is outstanding. However, the restaurant is very small inside, and even with a reservation, I was stuck at a tiny table right in the middle of the floor, next to the bar. We had people talking over us, and running into us through our entire meal. The food is on the more expensive side, so I expected a more pleasant experience than what I received.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

As always, another delicious meal. Thes ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

As always, another delicious meal. These are the best meatballs in western PA! And the pasta was cooked to perfection. The burata cheese with heirloom tomatoes is another favorite of mine.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been to Pizzaioli about 4 times n ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

I have been to Pizzaioli about 4 times now. The Margarita Doc is awesome. Had the meatballs and fried mozzarella which both were to die for.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Fun, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at Pizzaiolo Primo! ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

Another great meal at Pizzaiolo Primo! This has become our "go to" place before going to the theater. The staff are friendly and upbeat, the atmosphere is lively and the food is excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food here is always prepared to perf ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The food here is always prepared to perfection. Fresh imported ingredients prepared knowingly and lovingly for their customers. The staff and servers are extremely knowledgeable about the regions of Italy the food and the wines come from, plus they are incredibly friendly each and every time we visit. Fabulous wine list too! My favorite restaurant by far!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Casual, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were lucky to have used Open Table to ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We were lucky to have used Open Table to make a reservation earlier in the day - it was packed at 230 pm sunday, just days after the local Light Up Night and European Market opened (and the skating rink!). The service was friendly but with such a crowd, it was a bit of a wait and appetizer plates took awhile, couldn't find server for awhile but noticed, I think, manager stepping in to help smooth out things. We sat on the second floor; first is classic bistro looking with several iron table and black and white floor. Upstairs is different, cozier maybe and a bit more elbow room. We enjoyed very much and will go back again.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Family Style, Wood Oven, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing food. Best Italian in Pittsburgh ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Amazing food. Best Italian in Pittsburgh. Wish the seating was more and better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Pizzaiolo Primo is my go-to restaurant f ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Pizzaiolo Primo is my go-to restaurant for special occasions, visiting family, etc. The service is consistently good; the food is always delicious and arrives at the table hot and fresh from the kitchen.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food as usual, although we didn't ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food as usual, although we didn't receive our appetizers until after our entrees were served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great authentic Italian food, keeping on ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great authentic Italian food, keeping on par with the previous sister restaurants...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

A bit pricey but excellent food.

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 4, 2016

A bit pricey but excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I arrived 10 minutes before my 12:30 res ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I arrived 10 minutes before my 12:30 ressrvation and was told my table was being prepared. My friend arrived at 12:30 and we were taken upstairs to our table, only to learn that the previous diners at that table were still there. WHAT? So we were seated temporarily at the bar. ??!! After 5 minutes or so, we were led back downstairs to a table that truly was vacant and ready. How did that mixup happen?

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Historic, Wood Oven, Casual, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Music was contemporary ( not Italian) wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Music was contemporary ( not Italian) way to loud. Noise level very high in the restaurant. Had a reservation for weeks and still ended up with a very small table right in front of the bar.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

We go often but this was by far best mea ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We go often but this was by far best meal we have had here

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just Delicious f Service excellent From ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Just Delicious f

Service excellent

From NY but every time in Pittsburgh We eat there.

Tags: Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. The staff were very fr ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great experience. The staff were very friendly. We had all dressed up in 1920s clothes for our friends bday and the first thing they did was change the music in the restaurant to 1920s style. The food was amazing and the waiter even tried out our 20s slang. For college students the place was a bit expensive but well worth it. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Italian food and appitizers. Servi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Good Italian food and appitizers. Service was good and prompt for the theater.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The pasta was delicious and cooked al de ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The pasta was delicious and cooked al dente. The veal Parmesan was disappointing. It was overcooked and the sauce was slightly burned. I believe that it was made too far in advance and kept warm at too high a heat.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I called ahead to place our order since ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I called ahead to place our order since were pressed for time. The server had our table waiting and our appetizers ready almost immediately after receiving our drinks. The only disappointment was that when I had made the reservation I noted that we were celebrating a birthday and it was never recognized.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very long wait for two salads. The Chic ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Very long wait for two salads. The Chicken Caesar salad was basically a garden salad with chicken on top. Very disappointing. Service was mediocre and server had an attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Nice environment for a business lunch. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Nice environment for a business lunch. We were a later lunch so the conversation was easy to keep to ourselves. Seat positioning would make it more difficult if more people were in the restaurant. I would recommend another place for a private business meal. Otherwise the lunch was very good with excellent service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Quick bite before seeing Il Divo-delicio ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Quick bite before seeing Il Divo-delicious mushroom pappardelle, eggplant parm, & veal. Salad was refreshing. In & out quickly & well satisfied!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent. Our service went ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Service was excellent. Our service went out of his way to take care of my wife's special needs.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent ingredients make the meal.

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Excellent ingredients make the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, great service, great atmosph ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Great food, great service, great atmosphere. One of our favorite places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time at the Market Square restaura ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 19, 2016

First time at the Market Square restaurant. I live in the South Hills and have been going to that location for years. Food was sub-par compared to Original restaurant. Was surprised by the mediocre Mussels that were served.

Liked the location and the atmosphere. Service was generally good but for prices should have been great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing food, fast and friendly service.

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Amazing food, fast and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I was worried when I heard that Il Pizza ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I was worried when I heard that Il Pizzaiolo had changed its name to Pizzaiolo Primo, but my waiter assured me that everything was the same...until I asked about the appetizers and he said that they'd changed the arancini. I asked if they were vegetarian and he answered that they started putting "a little bit of chicken stock in the rice". This was just the type of thing I was worried about. Also, they were out of burrata, so this left vegetarians with few options for appetizers. Overall, this was quite disappointing. The service was a little abrupt as well. I wouldn't recommend a visit on a Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Its a great place but a little annoyed w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Its a great place but a little annoyed with noise level.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Very enjoyable evening, as we were enter ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very enjoyable evening, as we were entertaining out of town guests who got the feel of Pittsburgh and a great meal. Was surprised to find out that they are no longer associated with Il Pizzaiolo but glad that they live up to their reputation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

every time i go, even though it costs mo ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 10, 2016

every time i go, even though it costs more than i'd like to spend, i am happy. there are no bad dishes. if there's better Italian food in Pittsburgh, whether pizza, pasta, or protein, i haven't found it. save up your pennies and spend them here! P.S. when i went with an elderly friend, the restaurant was more than happy to seat us downstairs.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

The food and atmosphere are good but the ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 1, 2016

The food and atmosphere are good but the prices are very high. I went there for lunch and thought I was looking at the dinner menu. Most lunches were priced at $20.00 or more. My friend and I split a 4-piece thin crust sausage and mozzarella pizza priced at $18.00. It was good but I have had pizza on the Isle of Capri for less.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Casual, People Watching, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We had a very good meal. The portions a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We had a very good meal. The portions are very generous - we probably could have shared an entrée - but both were very good and we used the leftovers for lunches. We had a wonderful waiter - very friendly. My only 'knock' is that the noise level is high because there is not much in the way of insulating materials. But overall a terrific experience that I would highly recommend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Service was stellar! Menu selections va ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Service was stellar! Menu selections varied and interesting. Food quality very good. Although, I ordered the Salmon salad and the fish was charred on outside but very wet inside. I prefer fish that is not within the shushi-type texture. Otherwise, everything was fresh and delicious.

Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Pizza was great ... Crust chewy and cris ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Pizza was great ... Crust chewy and crisp at the same time Salad always delicious. Best meatball other than my own !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not a bad experience considering it was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Not a bad experience considering it was really loud in there

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was very good in quality and pr ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was very good in quality and preparation, but also very pricey. They were out of several items as well. If I were planning on spending this much money, I might select a different restaurant in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Overall, it was a pleasant experience. M ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Overall, it was a pleasant experience. My wife had Eggplant and said it was excellent. We both had salads, and they too, were very good. Only negative was that the pizza that I ordered was cold. It tasted as though it was "standing" for a bit while waiting for the eggplant to be ready. I would however, recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Disappointing and overpriced. Salads had ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Disappointing and overpriced. Salads had no flavor, salmon was overcooked and then undercooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Always treated extremely well at this re ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Always treated extremely well at this restaurant!!! Food and service is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.