Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Pizzaiolo Primo

Welcome to Pizzaiolo Primo, home of truly authentic Neapolitan Cuisine. Pizzaiolo Primo roots trace back to Pittsburgh circa 1996, with an original credo: create Neapolitan pizza using old-world techniques and using the highest-quality ingredients available. Today, we hand-make nearly everything on the menu - from sweet fennel sausage, meatballs and pasta, to mozzarella and antipasto vegetables. If we don't hand-make it, it's imported from the best artisans, cheese makers and salumeria in the world. Our Mozzarella di bufala comes direct from Naples and we cook only the best dried pasta in the world, always to order, always al dente. We bake our pizzas at 1000 degrees in a handcrafted, wood-fired brick oven for less than 90 seconds using perfectly leavened dough, San Marzano tomatoes, and extra virgin olive oil. The result is an authentic Neapolitan culinary experience with integrity. Buon Appetito!

8 Market Square
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm-9:00pm


Cross Street:
Market Square and Forbes Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 575-5858

Website:
http://www.pizzaioloprimo.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered at Kiosk in Market Square

Public Transit:
Gateway LTR

Executive Chef:
Richard Sphatt

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pizzaiolo Primo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (27)
Good for a Date (25)
Wood Oven (21)
See All
Casual (20)
Romantic (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Cozy (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Business Meals (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
People Watching (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Scenic View (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Historic (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (2)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
529 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was good but wine list lacking service was good

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

We always have a great time at the restaurant. The fresh pasta and arancini are awesome.

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was very good but the noise level, even as moderate, was loud. Best to eat upstairs to minimize the noise. The salad was nothing special but the rigatoni was outstanding. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I love the food here and the service is attentive without being stuffy. I just hate sitting in the downstairs of the restaurant. Upstairs is nice, outside is nice, inside lower floor is OK for lunch but for dinner feels worse than the kids table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Best food in Pittsburgh

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Our server, Gina, was extremely friendly and informative with the menu, daily specials, wine and beer selection. Our meal started with a deliciously fresh caprese salad that we shared. For our entrees we ordered the gnocchi and a pizza with arugula and prosciutto, both were fantastic. We enjoyed a great meal with a fun and friendly staff, highly recommended.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Made reservations by mistake and has a wonderful surprise. We enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Overall a nice restaurant in a touristy area.
Food was very good.
Service was very slow to start (took awhile to get initial drink order) but everyone was very friendly once service did get started.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The host staff were very friendly upon arrival for our reservation and my wife and I were seated right away. Overall, we enjoyed the rustic appearance and atmosphere of the restaurant.

The good:
Arancini - the fried risotto balls were very well prepared. The crust locked in heat and the rice and cheese were gooey. The marinara that accompanied was nice.
Cocktails - my wife and I had no complaints on their cocktail and wine offerings.
Cannoli - the cream had a hint of orange zest with pistachios on one end and chocolate chips on the other. Not the best we've ever had but definitely not the worst. We enjoyed sharing it after dinner.

The not so good:
Prosciutto arugula pizza - this was priced at $21 but we would value it at half that. We picked off most of the arugula as it did not mesh well with the prosciutto which lacked in substance and flavor.
Service - service was slow and lacked attention. Drinks took quite a while to come from the bar. We could've gotten up and walked over five feet to get them on our own much quicker. The waiter did not realize that our Arancini appetizer had not shown up in a timely manner, as well, and just seemed to shrug it off without a care.

I think we would give this place another shot and that we would try one of the pasta dishes instead to get a more broad food sampling and hope for more "caring" service. If it ends up being like our previous visit then we would likely not return. It was not a poor experience, but the value and service just wouldn't make it worthwhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

First time - the food was excellent and for a reasonable price

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The food was the best part of our dining experience, especially the homemade wedding soup, best I've had in Pittsburgh, the "Ground Zero" of wedding soup. Friends also enjoyed the fresh pasta and the pizza with rapini, though I thought it was short of both rapini and sausage. However, the waiter was both nonchalant and inexperienced. He tried to serve a bottle of Nero D'Avola right out of the refrigerated wine cooler. We rejected it and the manager thankfully found another bottle. We will go back but I prefer the daytime atmosphere over nighttime dining when the television is too present in the main area.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Wood Oven, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Excellent service, not rushed environment, knowledgeable waiter. Food was very good. Had great salads as appetizer and mussels. Special pasta of shrimp fra diablo was excellent and well proportioned and not all pasta. Chicken scarpariello was very good even though it was not chicken on the bone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This is the second time I have bee to this restaurant. This is nice restaurant located in Market Square and is adjacent to the Cultural District, The atmosphere is casual and comfortable. The service was very good and accommodating. And the food and wines were wonderful.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I had the lemon chicken. It wasn't tender but the sauce was excellent. The pizza and rigatoni were delicious!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

ravioli and mixed salad were excellent----would get again for sure

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We have seen this place many times and decided to give it a try. We were disappointed.
The salads were okay, but brown edged lettuce was not what we wanted. Drinks were okay, but on the pricey side. The real bummer was the Margherita Pizza. A soggy crust and lack of basil made it less than mediocre. Service was good, but not outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 16, 2017

First time diner. We had a great experience. Our server Jeremy was very helpful with the wine selection and was a great waiter. We had salads and pizza. They have a great selection of pizzas and it was hard to decide! The pizza arrived steaming hot and it was yummy!!! Would highly recommend this dining spot.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food was very good, but personally paying over 20 for a pizza and or pasts is a bit pricey for many mainly for a lunch menu.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Food and service done well. Background music was too loud and borderline distracting when you're trying to have a conversation.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Went to Pizzaiolo Primo for a work lunch. The food was very good (we both had the cavatelli) and so was the service. I would recommend for lunch and I am looking forward to going back for dinner (the wine list looked very nice).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Nice Sunday evening dinner with Friends who wanted to venture into the city for a change. All in all a good meal had by all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Pizza is good. I got mussels and they were not good. Ambient and service are aligned with what you can expect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

In town for the A-10 basketball team. Lunch was everything you could ask for and more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Better than the one in Mt Lebo!! The Pasta was cooked just right, and they linguine with clam's came with a dozen of clams on top the link linguine. Absolutely fabulous

Tags: Great for Lunch, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It was my boyfriends birthdday dinner and valentines day dinner! It was DELICIOUS, we both had a wonderful time. However they were out of bread that was a little dissapointing but the food being so amazing made up for it! This is our fave dinner spot I highly reccomend!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great atmosphere. Chic little spot for authentic pizza, wine and pasta. It's location on the square makes it feel like Europe. Pizzas five star. Salads and antipasto terrific!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Authentic, Romantic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

best Italian food in the city limits.
worth every penny, every time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a Caesar salad, then pasta with seafood and a pizza. All were delicious.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I've enjoyed the main Mount Lebanon location many times, so I was happy to try their relatively new downtown location in Market Square. They both have the same menu, and the food was pretty consistent with the very good quality of the original, although perhaps just a shade less attention given to the marinara which lacked the just-right hint of sweetness of the original. The space is also very nice with a big room with very high ceiling opening onto the square on the ground level, and another large slightly quieter dining room on the second floor (both were very lively), similar to the main room in Mount Lebanon, but nothing as cozy as the wine bar or rear patio of the original.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I've had both excellent and mediocre experiences here. The upstairs ambiance is much better than downstairs where tables are crowded into small space and under terrible fluorescent lighting. The upstairs is more romantic for a date and great for a large get together like a birthday dinner or other celebration. Service has been great at times and other times just average.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Pizzaiolo Primo is excellent! We went for dinner on Valentine's Day. As soon as you walk in, you are greeted and the greeter is very energetic and happy. The waiter, Mark, was amazing! Very nice and knew about everything on the menu. The food was outstanding. They give you huge portions and everything is fresh. Pizzaiolo Primo is amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing dinner! The Penne Vodka is to die for! I was there on Friday and had to go back on Sunday for more Penne Vodka! Rice balls appetizer was delicious as was the Caesar salad. Wonderful meal!

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I was not impressed. For spending $107 + tip on an appetizer, pizza, pasta dish, and two drinks I was expecting better service. All places I've been to where pizza is a highlight provide plates for you and guest to share. Not this one. Well at least not for us. The table to our left was given plates. When asked for one (and the forgotten sauce) the server gave us the smallest one he could find which clearly didn't fit a slice of pizza on it. The bill was quickly placed on the table, retrieved, and placed back for signature without any words of gratitude. The acts felt like, "Hey thanks for you money. See ya." Not my bang. The food was good. I will add that.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Pleasantly surprised. Would return when in town for an occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I have business lunches here regularly and just started booking through open table. It's a perfect break from the typical steak house white tablecloth over priced fried chicken salad lunch atmosphere. The food is creative and the menu is diverse. The atmosphere is lighter and more conversational. A true gem. Everyone I've dined with has loved it.

Also, one of the best happy hours in the Square. The glass pours of their best wines up-stairs is great for an after work unwind as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wonderful food and service. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We always love Pizzaiolo Primo! Yummy food, great service, unique environment, & fun to eat outside in the Summer!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food was amazing, service was great as well. We were greeted and continually checked on my the manager Douglas, he was extremely pleasant. I recommend asking for him when visiting Pizzaiolo Primo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I took my boyfriend to Pizzaiolo for his birthday and we both loved it! They have an awesome menu with a ton of different choices. Great atmosphere! Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Felt a little rushed. Everything came out so quickly. Food was great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.