About Pizzaiolo Primo

8 Market Square
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Welcome to Pizzaiolo Primo, home of truly authentic Neapolitan Cuisine. Pizzaiolo Primo roots trace back to Pittsburgh circa 1996, with an original credo: create Neapolitan pizza using old-world techniques and using the highest-quality ingredients available. Today, we hand-make nearly everything on the menu - from sweet fennel sausage, meatballs and pasta, to mozzarella and antipasto vegetables. If we don't hand-make it, it's imported from the best artisans, cheese makers and salumeria in the world. Our Mozzarella di bufala comes direct from Naples and we cook only the best dried pasta in the world, always to order, always al dente. We bake our pizzas at 1000 degrees in a handcrafted, wood-fired brick oven for less than 90 seconds using perfectly leavened dough, San Marzano tomatoes, and extra virgin olive oil. The result is an authentic Neapolitan culinary experience with integrity. Buon Appetito!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm-9:00pm


Cross Street:
Market Square and Forbes Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 575-5858

Website:
http://www.pizzaioloprimo.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered at Kiosk in Market Square

Public Transit:
Gateway LTR

Executive Chef:
Richard Sphatt

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pizzaiolo Primo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (25)
Authentic (24)
Romantic (18)
See All
Wood Oven (18)
Casual (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Business Meals (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Fun (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Cozy (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
People Watching (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Family Style (5)
Historic (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Healthy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Scenic View (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
504 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

It was my boyfriends birthdday dinner and valentines day dinner! It was DELICIOUS, we both had a wonderful time. However they were out of bread that was a little dissapointing but the food being so amazing made up for it! This is our fave dinner spot I highly reccomend!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great atmosphere. Chic little spot for authentic pizza, wine and pasta. It's location on the square makes it feel like Europe. Pizzas five star. Salads and antipasto terrific!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Authentic, Romantic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

best Italian food in the city limits.

worth every penny, every time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a Caesar salad, then pasta with seafood and a pizza. All were delicious.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I've enjoyed the main Mount Lebanon location many times, so I was happy to try their relatively new downtown location in Market Square. They both have the same menu, and the food was pretty consistent with the very good quality of the original, although perhaps just a shade less attention given to the marinara which lacked the just-right hint of sweetness of the original. The space is also very nice with a big room with very high ceiling opening onto the square on the ground level, and another large slightly quieter dining room on the second floor (both were very lively), similar to the main room in Mount Lebanon, but nothing as cozy as the wine bar or rear patio of the original.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I've had both excellent and mediocre experiences here. The upstairs ambiance is much better than downstairs where tables are crowded into small space and under terrible fluorescent lighting. The upstairs is more romantic for a date and great for a large get together like a birthday dinner or other celebration. Service has been great at times and other times just average.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Pizzaiolo Primo is excellent! We went for dinner on Valentine's Day. As soon as you walk in, you are greeted and the greeter is very energetic and happy. The waiter, Mark, was amazing! Very nice and knew about everything on the menu. The food was outstanding. They give you huge portions and everything is fresh. Pizzaiolo Primo is amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing dinner! The Penne Vodka is to die for! I was there on Friday and had to go back on Sunday for more Penne Vodka! Rice balls appetizer was delicious as was the Caesar salad. Wonderful meal!

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I was not impressed. For spending $107 + tip on an appetizer, pizza, pasta dish, and two drinks I was expecting better service. All places I've been to where pizza is a highlight provide plates for you and guest to share. Not this one. Well at least not for us. The table to our left was given plates. When asked for one (and the forgotten sauce) the server gave us the smallest one he could find which clearly didn't fit a slice of pizza on it. The bill was quickly placed on the table, retrieved, and placed back for signature without any words of gratitude. The acts felt like, "Hey thanks for you money. See ya." Not my bang. The food was good. I will add that.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Pleasantly surprised. Would return when in town for an occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I have business lunches here regularly and just started booking through open table. It's a perfect break from the typical steak house white tablecloth over priced fried chicken salad lunch atmosphere. The food is creative and the menu is diverse. The atmosphere is lighter and more conversational. A true gem. Everyone I've dined with has loved it.

Also, one of the best happy hours in the Square. The glass pours of their best wines up-stairs is great for an after work unwind as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wonderful food and service. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We always love Pizzaiolo Primo! Yummy food, great service, unique environment, & fun to eat outside in the Summer!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food was amazing, service was great as well. We were greeted and continually checked on my the manager Douglas, he was extremely pleasant. I recommend asking for him when visiting Pizzaiolo Primo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I took my boyfriend to Pizzaiolo for his birthday and we both loved it! They have an awesome menu with a ton of different choices. Great atmosphere! Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Felt a little rushed. Everything came out so quickly. Food was great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We picked this restaurant as it was in Market Square and walking distance from our downtown hotel (William Penn) and safe to get to at night. Other reviews indicated that it was very noisy, which it was, but it was a lot of fun and we enjoyed it. We were seated in the upstairs dining room. Our server, Jeremy, was prompt, courteous and knowledgeable. He gave us good advice on the various menu selections. He came back several times during our meal to check on us and always with a smile on his face; making us feel very welcome. The special for the evening was a lasagna dish and my husband said it was the best lasagna he'd eaten in a long time. The homemade noodles were delicious. I had the Pappardelle Funghi with Wild Mushrooms, Pancetta, Cream, Parmigiano, and White Wine. We shared a tiramsu for dessert that was very good. (not outstanding, but still very satisfying). We would try it again sometime and would recommend.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Would like to see a return of bottled water to the menu

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Super yummy. Service was a bit slow for a busy Saturday night, but we weren't in a hurry, so it was fine.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very nice place for dinner, good service, could use more fish entrees if you want pizza and a salad it's a good place although expensive

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was my first time going there, and I would recommend going there just for the pizza alone! It was very good and had an excellent lite sauce on the Margherita Doc.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Reliably great! Service always top notch. Whether it's a night out or a business lunch, it's one of my go-to restaurants.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was an excellent meal - we were a few hours ahead of our reservation, but got right in - had two different kinds of pizza, mozzarella and mushroom appetizers - all tasted excellent! I'm defInitely

Coming back Next

Time I am in Pittsburgh!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The best Italian food in Pittsburgh! It beats out Alla Famiglia. The atmosphere is amazing! The service is always on point.

Tags: Organic, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Pizzaiolo Primo is a hidden gem in Downtown Pittsburgh! Conveniently located in Market Square, step directly off the streets of Pittsburgh into this truly Italian oasis. From the meatballs to the wood-fired pizzas to the fresh pasta dishes, let this restaurant take you into an Italian kitchen for a meal that you won't soon forget! Come for the great food and spirits, but stay and come back again for the exceptional service and great atmosphere! Thank you Pizzaiolo Primo - we can't wait to see you again soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Wood Oven, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Every time we have been there the hostess greats us like we are interrupting her. Never a "welcome" always something else. Always multiple people at the door. The host/hostess is the first impression of a restaurant and can set the mood whether positive or negative. While the mgr or owner stopped at the table twice he never told the employees (3-4)gathered right behind our table to move along. While the food and service were good, small things take a restaurant from OK to a good place for repeat dinning.

Good menu selection, good wine and beer selection. Bartender made very good drinks. We will continue to go there occasionally but management needs to address the small issues.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The Pizzaiolo family of restaurants never disappoints. Attentive service and excellent food allows for a pleasant enjoyable experience - business or pleasure dining.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Go to place for pre-theatre dining. Good food and drink. Excellent service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Exceptional Calamari. Genuinely friendly staff. Great evening

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything was wonderful down to the great wine and service. No complaints at all!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was excellent and service was good. Restaurant is small and felt very cramped.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Perfect place to catch up with friend! Coffee was soo good! The fried calamari was perfectly breaded! they give you plenty to share! I also enjoyed the fresh & refreshing caprese salad! I will definitely be back!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I love the food. Order lots of appetizers to share, and order dinner or salads after. Great value

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We had a reservation for 12:15 and didn't get seated until 12:45. They were also understaffed and things took quite sometime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Always a great meal with welcoming service. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The four of us had a wonderful time. The food was first class. We all can't wait to go back and try something else on the menu. Have been telling everyone I know to go and experience it for yourself. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Historic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Love the menu and food. Although I most often visit for lunch with colleagues, it typically requires a longer lunch, I typically forget this and then I'm frustrated when lunch takes longer than anticipated. Plan accordingly. Service and food delivery are slow; on this trip I was halfway finished with my pizza before the waiter returned and I could ask him for crushed red pepper, which was available but not offered. Starbucks is next door if you aren't offered coffee.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The wedding soup was wonderful and the pizzas were great. My only complaint is that we were by the window on the first floor and it was Freezing Cold! I'd rather be able to dine without leaving my parka on. Ask to be away from door or upstairs.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 6, 2016

If you are looking for authentic Italian food, Pizzaiolo Primo is outstanding. However, the restaurant is very small inside, and even with a reservation, I was stuck at a tiny table right in the middle of the floor, next to the bar. We had people talking over us, and running into us through our entire meal. The food is on the more expensive side, so I expected a more pleasant experience than what I received.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

As always, another delicious meal. These are the best meatballs in western PA! And the pasta was cooked to perfection. The burata cheese with heirloom tomatoes is another favorite of mine.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I have been to Pizzaioli about 4 times now. The Margarita Doc is awesome. Had the meatballs and fried mozzarella which both were to die for.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Fun, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Another great meal at Pizzaiolo Primo! This has become our "go to" place before going to the theater. The staff are friendly and upbeat, the atmosphere is lively and the food is excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The food here is always prepared to perfection. Fresh imported ingredients prepared knowingly and lovingly for their customers. The staff and servers are extremely knowledgeable about the regions of Italy the food and the wines come from, plus they are incredibly friendly each and every time we visit. Fabulous wine list too! My favorite restaurant by far!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Casual, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We were lucky to have used Open Table to make a reservation earlier in the day - it was packed at 230 pm sunday, just days after the local Light Up Night and European Market opened (and the skating rink!). The service was friendly but with such a crowd, it was a bit of a wait and appetizer plates took awhile, couldn't find server for awhile but noticed, I think, manager stepping in to help smooth out things. We sat on the second floor; first is classic bistro looking with several iron table and black and white floor. Upstairs is different, cozier maybe and a bit more elbow room. We enjoyed very much and will go back again.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Family Style, Wood Oven, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Amazing food. Best Italian in Pittsburgh. Wish the seating was more and better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Pizzaiolo Primo is my go-to restaurant for special occasions, visiting family, etc. The service is consistently good; the food is always delicious and arrives at the table hot and fresh from the kitchen.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food as usual, although we didn't receive our appetizers until after our entrees were served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great authentic Italian food, keeping on par with the previous sister restaurants...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 4, 2016

A bit pricey but excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I arrived 10 minutes before my 12:30 ressrvation and was told my table was being prepared. My friend arrived at 12:30 and we were taken upstairs to our table, only to learn that the previous diners at that table were still there. WHAT? So we were seated temporarily at the bar. ??!! After 5 minutes or so, we were led back downstairs to a table that truly was vacant and ready. How did that mixup happen?

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Historic, Wood Oven, Casual, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.