Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Pizzaiolo Primo

Welcome to Pizzaiolo Primo, home of truly authentic Neapolitan Cuisine. Pizzaiolo Primo roots trace back to Pittsburgh circa 1996, with an original credo: create Neapolitan pizza using old-world techniques and using the highest-quality ingredients available. Today, we hand-make nearly everything on the menu - from sweet fennel sausage, meatballs and pasta, to mozzarella and antipasto vegetables. If we don't hand-make it, it's imported from the best artisans, cheese makers and salumeria in the world. Our Mozzarella di bufala comes direct from Naples and we cook only the best dried pasta in the world, always to order, always al dente. We bake our pizzas at 1000 degrees in a handcrafted, wood-fired brick oven for less than 90 seconds using perfectly leavened dough, San Marzano tomatoes, and extra virgin olive oil. The result is an authentic Neapolitan culinary experience with integrity. Buon Appetito!

8 Market Square
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm-9:00pm


Cross Street:
Market Square and Forbes Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 575-5858

Website:
http://www.pizzaioloprimo.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered at Kiosk in Market Square

Public Transit:
Gateway LTR

Executive Chef:
Richard Sphatt

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pizzaiolo Primo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Authentic (27)
Casual (20)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Special Occasion (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
People Watching (15)
Fun (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Business Meals (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Cozy (8)
Romantic (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Scenic View (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Wood Oven (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Great Beer (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
587 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

This was my favorite restaurant but was disappointed this time. Service was a little slow and the prices have gone up. It is a bit on higher end. So although I may still visit, but not as often as I would. Food pretty okay.
The ambiance is great but noise level is high

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

My friends and I came here for a going away dinner and it was perfect! Private with a romantic vibe but enough people coming in and out that you can tell it's a hot little spot downtown. Food (quality and presentation) as well as service was amazing. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 3, 2017

The service was outstanding and food equally as good.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We had a great business lunch at Pizzaiolo Primo in Market Square, Pittsburgh. There was plenty of available seating at 11:30 am and we were permitted to select whichever table we wanted. Each of us ordered a different style brick oven pizza and we all thought our meals were fantastically prepared. There is no doubt I would return for a future meal. Job well-done!

Tags: Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Excellent and authentic Italian food. This is a truly great restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We have eaten at the Mt Lebanon location many times but after moving to Mt Washington, we decided to try the Market Square location. It was a beautiful night and we ate outside, enjoying the sights and sounds of Market Square. We shared a small Caeser salad (big enough for 2), a sausage pizza and the chicken special of the night. The pizza was fabulous, cooked to perfection with housemade fennel sausage that had the right amount of seasonings and not greasy at all. The chicken dish was sauteed chicken over arrancini, a small amount of red sauce and banana peppers, it was amazing. Although we were full, we shared some gelatto for dessert that was also amazing. Last but not least was our waiter Michael. He was extremely pleasant and helpful and went out of his way to make it a truly remarkable dining experience. I also have to say the food and service was definitely a notch above the Mt. Lebanon location.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food was excellent, very pleasant and efficient server. Overall great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Restaurant located in an interesting area of Pittsburgh (Market Square). The food is delicious and there was no hassle in accommodating vegan diets.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great Service. The food options were good a varied with good salads besides the expected pizas. We sat outside enjoying beautiful Market Square. We will return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Had a great date night with my husband. Wine to start off and 2 different pizzas. Both delicious, but a bit underdone in the center.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We shared pasta and pizza. Both were delicious and our service was great. We didn't want for anything. I would have liked a different table from the 2 top in front of bar since I made a reservation in advance. My only negative

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great atmosphere and great food! Went for my husband's birthday while in Pittsburgh! Would definitely suggest it! It's a gen!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Overall the Restaurant is very good, a bit crowded over lunch. I was disappointed that we did not get the table (in the back corner) that we wanted. I booked it the night before.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Always a favorite, the food never disappoints. The difficulty is what to choose. I have favorite dishes: the burrata, the meatballs, the linguine veneziana to name a few. When I can break away from my favorites, I am never disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Excellent food and staff. Antipasto platter was terrific as was the branzino and veal sorremtino. Nice wine list too.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food is always excellent! But for some reason the wait for our appetizers and entrees was exceptionally slow which is an anomaly. Ill chalk it up to someone wasn't there in the kitchen that should have been !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great Neapolitan Pizza, and great pasta selection. Always a good choice for a meal downtown.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Pizzaiolo has great food and service. I usually get the pizza, but the pasta entrees are just as good. The ingredients always seem fresh. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Loved this place in the Market Square. Food was delish, service was spot on. We sat on the patio and there was good people watching.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 25, 2017

After reading the many reviews raving about this place, we decided to try it for dinner on Sunday the 25th of June at 6:30pm. There were a few people sitting outside, but we preferred to eat indoors. We ordered a Caesar Salad to be split & discussed with the waitress that the anchovies be put on the side. We didn't have to worry about that
because the salad never showed up & the waitress was unapologetic about it. Instead, the entrees came (rigatoni & spaghetti each with meatballs) . Both pastas were grossly undercooked. My wife sent hers back to be nuked, but I was so
hungry, I ate my rubberized rigatoni. If this is what the people of Pittsburgh consider a 4.6 restaurant, I'd hate to see what below 4 gives you. We were completely unsatisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Overall the experience was very good, especially the service. At least two of our meals were too salty.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We arrived earlier then anticipated and they were very cordial and accommodating by seating us before our reserved time. Our waiter was personable, informative and simpatico! Food was delicious as usual and my friends who had never been there before, were pleased and impressed! Thanks for another wonderful eating experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We started with the fried zucchini, which was sub-par: It was overcooked and the oil needed changed terribly. We shared both a pasta dish and a pizza, which were both terrific. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The menu was varied and very interesting. They specialize in Italian cuisine. Everyone was quite happy with their choices; the flavors were enjoyable without being over-powering. The waitress was knowledgeable and friendly. It was a great meal and we would gladly return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food and great service. However the atmosphere changed to a loud disco beat alternated with New Age music. This totally ruined an otherwise great dining experience. Very much miss traditional ITALIAN music which you would expect in an ITALIAN restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Wild board ragu is must. Nothing beats fresh made pasta. The Santa Pia wine is excellent and a great value!! The Italian cheese cake, torta, is to die for - not too sweet, light, and airy.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Loved it. I have been 5 or 6 times. Never disappoints.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Hot Spot, Fun, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food and service was good. Quaint restaurant. 4 people, ravioli which was very good, vodka penne which was in my opinion fantastic, and 2 pasta dishes which were also fantastic. We ordered an appetizer of meatballs too that we had come with our meal. Got talked into a $11 beer that was horrid if you just like a regular beer, wanted a yuengling , and a special wine (wanted a chardonnay). Stick with what you know, don't let waiter talk you into it, wine tasted like vinegar. He pushed it too much and I should have known better. Food was great, waiter attentive. $120 plus tip. 2 adults, 2 seventeen yr olds. For a downtown restaurant, very good experience.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Went there with my 12yo. Delicious pizza and gnocchi, nice beer list, wonderful service by Michael, really yummy dessert. Great all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The Gnocchi Bolongese special was delicious. The gnocchi were very light with just the right amount of sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 15, 2017

I enjoyed my Margherita pizza. My husband did not like his sausage one as he said he doesn't like soggy crusts. So, it depends on your tastes whether you like this style pizza or not.
We sat upstairs, and the music was some monotonous and loud tunes that we did not enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Caroline was our server. She was awesome! Made our night! Food was outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Food was average. Ran out of burrata which was disappointing and it was only 6pm. We ordered the calzone pizza and the entire thing seemed to be ricotta. Now I like ricotta but this was a bit much. Food wasn't terrible but not amazing. Recommend trying something else while in Pittsburgh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The food was fabulous...starting with the antipasto appetizer and all the way to the veal and salmon entrees! Our server, Michael, was vibrant, knowledgeable and attentive. I would give restaurant 5 stars but noise level was very high. Another suggestion would be to offer a chianti Classico by the glass. Will definitely go back though.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We happened to pick this restaurant randomly from the Open Table list. We are from out of town and really wish we had Pizzaiolo Primo at home. The food was excellent! Pizzas are super thin with fresh ingredients. The pizza dough is great. We also had the chicken with sausage, peppers and potatoes. So delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 4, 2017

This restaurant has some of the best Italian food in the city in a great location on Market Square

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We eat at Pizzaiolo Primo every time we are in Pittsburgh, and it never disappoints. The food is always fresh, authentic, and delicious. We have never had a dish we did not enjoy, from pizzas and appetizers to entrees. Some personal favorites: arancini, polpette, pollo scarpariello, and pizza (we have tried several, and they have all been good). They also have a nice wine selection, that pairs well with the dishes.

The outdoor seating is great - if indoors it is always really cold. Service is always good here, as well. Definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My boyfriend and I were celebrating his birthday and we had the prosciutto and arugula pizza, as well as tiramisu dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Was not impressed. Had salmon and it was mushy and oily. Did not each much of it.
Had to ask for bread didn't have great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We have been here before, and everything was excellent as usual. The salmon was especially good, and the drinks were excellent. One of our favorite places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.