Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 24 times today

Pizzaiolo Primo

4.7
694 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Authentic
  • Casual
Welcome to Pizzaiolo Primo, home of truly authentic Neapolitan Cuisine. Pizzaiolo Primo roots trace back to Pittsburgh circa 1996, with an original credo: create Neapolitan pizza using old-world techniques and using the highest-quality ingredients available. Today, we hand-make nearly everything on the menu - from sweet fennel sausage, meatballs and pasta, to mozzarella and antipasto vegetables. If we don't hand-make it, it's imported from the best artisans, cheese makers and salumeria in the world. Our Mozzarella di bufala comes direct from Naples and we cook only the best dried pasta in the world, always to order, always al dente. We bake our pizzas at 1000 degrees in a handcrafted, wood-fired brick oven for less than 90 seconds using perfectly leavened dough, San Marzano tomatoes, and extra virgin olive oil. The result is an authentic Neapolitan culinary experience with integrity. Buon Appetito!
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm-9:00pm


icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(412) 575-5858
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Richard Sphatt
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Market Square and Forbes Ave.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet is offered at Kiosk in Market Square
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Gateway LTR
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 694 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
98% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined 4 days ago

We were pretty letdown with our experience.

When making our reservation, I made a note that it was my wife’s birthday. It was not acknowledged when we arrived or at any point. Our hostess seemed brusque, and our meal, which was Ok, came almost immediately after our first course arrived, while the wine I ordered did not come until well after the entree. Even then, plates were just left on the table until our bill was dropped. I do not believe dessert was mentioned, so we just paid and left.

I do not think we will be going back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service, but expensive for pasta and pizza.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Great food. Excellent service. Meals fresh and delivered promptly. As delicious as described.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Absolutely enjoyed the meal. Service was excellent and timely. Very friendly atmosphere and not overbearing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

The service was wonderful! It was a nice spring evening so the doors were open and it was great indoor/outdoor dining. The food was amazing! Every recommendation the waitress made was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Veal Sorrento was excellent. The pizza was also GREAT! A very enjoyable evening. We will be back!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great Food, excellent service, easy to make reservations, which I highly recommend. Pasta dishes are excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Love the food, service and selection. The bar is amazing and the food is homemade

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We typically go to Il Pizzaiolo in Mt. Lebanon (since that is closer to where my family lives), but we were staying downtown this time. We decided to give Pizzaiolo Primo a shot, and it did not disappoint. We had a nice table outside. My husband and I both had wonderful Italian wine. The burrata was delicious. We both got pizzas and my husband kept saying that it was the best pizza crust he had ever had. I had to agree with him there. We will definitely be back when we visit Pittsburgh again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

If you enjoy authentic Italian food and wine, you won't be disappointed. Excellent and friendly service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Wonderful place for our daughter's graduation celebration. Authentic Italian dishes. Menu was similar to our restaurants in Tuscany. Staff is outstanding, as are the deserts. I know some people said it was noisy. We did not find that to be the case.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Excellent Italian food. Calamari appetizer, arrabiata style, with rings of spicy peppers was excellent (dipping sauce wasn't arrabiata sauce - it was marinara with pepper flakes, but it was tasty). Linguine pescatore was the star of the meal - abundant mixed shellfish that was cooked perfectly, as was the pasta. Vitello Valdostana was excellent as well - cooked well, wonderful sauce and plentiful mix of wild mushrooms.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

A taste of Italy you will not want to miss. I would definitely return to this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Nice Italian style bistro with brick oven pizza. Good spot for lunch and for conversation. Its lively enough to meet for a business meal of for a first date, but intimate enough for quiet conversation. Pizza is just ok for me, but seafood salad is a winner. Lunch is a little pricey, but good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Very friendly staff , food was good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Always consistently perfect!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Excellent food and dining experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Food was exceptional. Service was spot on. Good wine list. Highly recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 4, 2018

The service was good, and the food was great. Love the pasta bolognese.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

I have been going to this restaurant for years with my mother. I decided to take my boyfriend, of one year, here for our anniversary. It was so romantic and the food was super good. I forget our servers name, but he was so friendly and polite. It was such a special day and I enjoyed every moment of the meal and service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We really enjoyed our dinner. The food and wine were exceptionally good. It took a little longer than usual to get our dinner. Our waiter brought us complimentary meatballs while we waited. We will definitely eat here again soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Amazing meal! Sarah was a wonderful waitress! We really enjoyed our night.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

It was my husbands birthday. We wanted to go to a New restaurant! Matt our server was great & gave us excellent suggestions. We shared a Margherita DOC pizza which was delicious. I had the the papperdelle funghi and my husband had a special. It was lasagna bolognese. We had intentions of taking leftovers home with us but the lasagna was so light and delicious that it was devoured that night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Great food and service. I always have a good meal and time when I go.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Really good food. Ambiance was great. We had an appetizer and two entrees. Would go back again...Just not in st Patrick's day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

We are always happy when we dine here. Food and service are excellent. We love to sit outdoors in warmer weather or get cozy indoors. Good selection of wines.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

This was my first visit but my daughter had been there once before. We loved it! We stopped for dinner before going to the theater. The waitress was very nice and helpful in making our selections. She was attentive without hovering The food was excellent and the portion was just right. It didn't take very long at all for the food to be served after ordering. All in all, the entire meal was just what we were looking for. We will definitely be going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

Went to Pizzaiolo Primo before the hockey game for a Family outing. Great meal had by all, waiter was on top of it. Have been here before also and have never had a bad meal or bad experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Spent a weekend in Pittsburgh to see shows and celebrate a birthday. Had a Saturday lunch of salad, pizza, wine and it was delicious! Love their pizza and salads very fresh. Decided to return on Sunday evening for actual birthday meal. Restaurant full and looked to be a favorite of locals. We had a reservation (which I would recommend) and were seated within about 10 minutes, and again, food great and service top notch. Management seems to be doing a great job; Michael stopped by our table several times, as he made the rounds of other tables, making sure everyone was pleased. All servers were happy and smiling, and our server was knowledgeable about the food prep (we are vegetarian) and the wines, including those not on the menu. We will definitely be back when we return to Pittsburgh. Would highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Food and service was excellent. Great first experience dining here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Service at upstairs bar - Excellent!

Service at table downstairs - Outstanding! Waitress was extremely responsive, knowledgeable and fun. Waiters and waitresses should try to imitate service delivered at this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Seldom is a salad at an Italian restaurant as good as the fresh pasta and other entrees; however, here the salad is excellent, well-balanced, and served with superb cheese or anchovies (depending on the salad selected). The fresh pasta is outstanding. Anyone who prefers a softer rigatoni might want to specify a preference for cooking beyond al dente. The pappardelle with mushrooms is spectacular. Wine--and the selection of them, particularly strong in Italian offerings--are outstanding. It is rare to have such excellent white Italian offerings.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Great spot inside and out. A convenient location right on Market Square is good start but the cozy bar interior and authentic Italian menu with good wine selection make this a perfect stop
either before or after a show, or as a destination dinner or date. Our meals were all great -- and the portions are "Pittsburgh" large.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Our waiter was fantastic. Knew the menu well and very attentive. The Caesar salad was good but way too big, we also had the mussels in the white wine sauce. They were just okay. We ordered 2 pastas and a pizza to share. The pizza was amazing, very delicious. We had the penne vodka - it was just okay. We didn’t like that there was no pancetta in the dish, there was just a pile of prosciutto on top and it didn’t really go with the dish. The noodles were also meant to be al dente but they were quite underdone. We also had the mushroom pasta expecting more of a cream sauce, also just okay and again, the noodles were underdone. Overall the experience was good because of the service, good wine, and pizza. I’d go back for pizza, not pasta.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The food is always good. Mark our server was outstanding! attentive but not pushy. The steak pizzaola was the special unfortunately it was Ash Wednesday. So I made reservations for Saturday to have it then!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Our waiter was great! Made some good recommendations, particularly from the wine list. The meal was even more filling than I expected, and we ended up leaving with leftovers. This is one of the most authentic Italian restaurants in Pittsburgh.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Had a very nice time. Staff was super friendly. Food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Yummy and delicious as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 6, 2018

Best vodka sauce ever! Such great food, definitely worth the money.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 6, 2018

Great Italian food. Great service at lunchtime. Ambience needs to be a bit softer.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
18

Tweets by Pizzaiolo Primo