About Pizzaiolo Primo

8 Market Square
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Welcome to Pizzaiolo Primo, home of truly authentic Neapolitan Cuisine. Pizzaiolo Primo roots trace back to Pittsburgh circa 1996, with an original credo: create Neapolitan pizza using old-world techniques and using the highest-quality ingredients available. Today, we hand-make nearly everything on the menu - from sweet fennel sausage, meatballs and pasta, to mozzarella and antipasto vegetables. If we don't hand-make it, it's imported from the best artisans, cheese makers and salumeria in the world. Our Mozzarella di bufala comes direct from Naples and we cook only the best dried pasta in the world, always to order, always al dente. We bake our pizzas at 1000 degrees in a handcrafted, wood-fired brick oven for less than 90 seconds using perfectly leavened dough, San Marzano tomatoes, and extra virgin olive oil. The result is an authentic Neapolitan culinary experience with integrity. Buon Appetito!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm-9:00pm


Cross Street:
Market Square and Forbes Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 575-5858

Website:
http://www.pizzaioloprimo.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered at Kiosk in Market Square

Public Transit:
Gateway LTR

Executive Chef:
Richard Sphatt

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Pizzaiolo Primo
  • Pizzaiolo Primo
  • Pizzaiolo Primo
Pizzaiolo Primo
Pizzaiolo Primo
Pizzaiolo Primo

Pizzaiolo Primo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Pittsburgh
Italian
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Special Occasion (30)
See All
Great for Lunch (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Hot Spot (17)
Romantic (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Late-night Find (11)
Scenic View (10)
Authentic (7)
Business Meals (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
People Watching (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Fun (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Casual (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Fireplace (1)
Cozy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
Newest
432 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent ingredients make the meal.

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent ingredients make the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing food, fast and friendly service.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Amazing food, fast and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Its a great place but a little annoyed w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Its a great place but a little annoyed with noise level.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Very enjoyable evening, as we were enter ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very enjoyable evening, as we were entertaining out of town guests who got the feel of Pittsburgh and a great meal. Was surprised to find out that they are no longer associated with Il Pizzaiolo but glad that they live up to their reputation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

every time i go, even though it costs mo ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

every time i go, even though it costs more than i'd like to spend, i am happy. there are no bad dishes. if there's better Italian food in Pittsburgh, whether pizza, pasta, or protein, i haven't found it. save up your pennies and spend them here! P.S. when i went with an elderly friend, the restaurant was more than happy to seat us downstairs.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

The food and atmosphere are good but the ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The food and atmosphere are good but the prices are very high. I went there for lunch and thought I was looking at the dinner menu. Most lunches were priced at $20.00 or more. My friend and I split a 4-piece thin crust sausage and mozzarella pizza priced at $18.00. It was good but I have had pizza on the Isle of Capri for less.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Casual, People Watching, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We had a very good meal. The portions a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We had a very good meal. The portions are very generous - we probably could have shared an entrée - but both were very good and we used the leftovers for lunches. We had a wonderful waiter - very friendly. My only 'knock' is that the noise level is high because there is not much in the way of insulating materials. But overall a terrific experience that I would highly recommend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Service was stellar! Menu selections va ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Service was stellar! Menu selections varied and interesting. Food quality very good. Although, I ordered the Salmon salad and the fish was charred on outside but very wet inside. I prefer fish that is not within the shushi-type texture. Otherwise, everything was fresh and delicious.

Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Pizza was great ... Crust chewy and cris ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Pizza was great ... Crust chewy and crisp at the same time Salad always delicious. Best meatball other than my own !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not a bad experience considering it was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Not a bad experience considering it was really loud in there

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was very good in quality and pr ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was very good in quality and preparation, but also very pricey. They were out of several items as well. If I were planning on spending this much money, I might select a different restaurant in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Overall, it was a pleasant experience. M ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Overall, it was a pleasant experience. My wife had Eggplant and said it was excellent. We both had salads, and they too, were very good. Only negative was that the pizza that I ordered was cold. It tasted as though it was "standing" for a bit while waiting for the eggplant to be ready. I would however, recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Disappointing and overpriced. Salads had ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Disappointing and overpriced. Salads had no flavor, salmon was overcooked and then undercooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Always treated extremely well at this re ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Always treated extremely well at this restaurant!!! Food and service is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent pasta and pizza in a beautiful ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Excellent pasta and pizza in a beautiful restaurant located in a vibrant part of downtown. The only issue was the extremely slow service. The food arrived hot so I assume the kitchen is backed up as the cause. Otherwise a great experience!

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We had a great time and really enjoyed t ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We had a great time and really enjoyed the food. For an appetizer we got the caprese salad, my wife had the penne in vodka sauce (no prosciutto), and I had the chicken parm. All were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

If you have a late reservation service i ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

If you have a late reservation service is not as good, food was still amazing. We only saw and spoke to the waiter approximately three times during our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

Came for a business lunch and everything ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Came for a business lunch and everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

European-style pizza is great! May be th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

European-style pizza is great! May be the best in Pittsburgh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I really liked the restaurant but we wer ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I really liked the restaurant but we were upstairs and not only were there a lot of stairs, they were difficult to climb. I didn't feel safe climbing the stairs. I think the individual steps were placed too far apart. The downstairs dining area was extremely small. Although the food was amazing; I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone with mobility issues or elderly unless they are able to get a table downstairs or outside on the patio.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Everything about our experience at Pizza ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everything about our experience at Pizzaiolo Primo was excellent! We shared numerous dishes, including the arancini and polpette appetizers. Both were very good, freshly made, and were generous portions. We also shared a salsiccia pizza - the crust was thin, light, and crispy, and the sauce and ingredients were fresh. We also shared two entrees: the agnolotti and pollo parmigiano. The agnolotti was delicious, with freshly made pasta and stuffed with braised beef (so good)! We also shared cannoli for dessert. The dessert menu was small, and could have had a few more options.

Our meal was delicious and our service was very good. Our waitress spaced our dishes well, and we had plenty of time to eat and enjoy the outdoor terrace area. We travel and dine out often, and this is easily one of the top Italian restaurants we have ever been to. Very authentic, fresh Italian food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Elaina and Harley at the bar were wonder ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Elaina and Harley at the bar were wonderful. Enjoyed their company and the great food and drinks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This restaurant was always one of our fa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This restaurant was always one of our favorites. However, our experience this time was terrible. It was a Tuesday night and not overly crowded. We ordered our meal with a glass of wine each. The table next to us ordered their meals at least 10 minutes after us. However, they got their meals before us and oddly were served the exact same meals and wine that we ordered. We then proceeded to sit for another 20 minutes to wait for our meals. My meal was correct, but my husband's was completely wrong (he ordered pasta with sausage and was served lasagna). Never once did our waiter come over to apologize for the obvious mix up of meals. It took another 15 minutes for my husband's meal to come to only have the sausage be raw. We are hoping that it was just the poor service and not a reflection of the direction that the restaurant is headed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

The food and service was superb. Only n ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food and service was superb. Only negative comment is I felt like we had the best table in the place but there was an air vent blowing ac on us so we did a few rounds of musical chairs.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants in Pittsb ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Pittsburgh. Consistently good food, nice bar, friendly, helpful staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We love Pizzaiolo primo.... it is our go ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We love Pizzaiolo primo.... it is our go to place for dinner, special,romantic and for celebrations. The food is always delicious, the wait staff friendly and attentive. The ambiance just perfect every evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Lunch Spot!! We had a great time a ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great Lunch Spot!! We had a great time and experience for a retirement lunch! Our food was quick, delicious, and perfectly prepared. All our pizzas were delicious with 4 different pizzas! The one salad ordered was fresh and ver well prepared!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pizza was just ok for the price Menu was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Pizza was just ok for the price

Menu was pricey for lunch. Ex $24 for a salad

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious food and great service

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Delicious food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I went to Pizzaiolo with goo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My wife and I went to Pizzaiolo with good friends - we both have anniversaries pretty close to each other so it was a joint celebration. The food, wine, service, and ambiance were excellent. I've been there for lunch but this was our first sit-down dinner and we definitely recommend Pizzaiolo. If you are downtown and feeling like top notch Italian food and wine, go here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meat and cheese plate is very delici ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The meat and cheese plate is very delicious. I like the original one in mt. Lebo a little bit more. The menu was slightly different in market square. Very good brick oven pizzas.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food! Very Authentic! Would highly ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food! Very Authentic! Would highly recommend!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recommended to us when we visited Pittsb ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Recommended to us when we visited Pittsburgh. Located in the Market District which is a very energetic area with many bars and restaurants. This restaurant has very good food but the service was spotty. Our waiter was a young man who seemed somewhat in outer space. Had to ask twice for our wine order, we never received our appetizer even after we mentioned it to him. I think one problem with the service is that we placed the order with one person and a different person delivered the drinks and a third person delivered the meal. Seems like more room for error with this method. The food was good and I would probably return now that I would be prepared for the service lapse.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

the food was delicious as always, and th ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

the food was delicious as always, and the service was great! the pizza is always amazing here, and pizzaiolo is great for vegetarians/vegans as well as meat-lovers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside . It was my friends birth ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We sat outside . It was my friends birthday.The food was delicious...good service too

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Pizza was outstanding this dining experi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Pizza was outstanding this dining experience. Had dinner selections at another visit which did not disappoint the taste buds

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An Italian restaurant that an Italian goes to

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

As a first generation Italian, I am very picky about which Italian restaurants to spend my money at. Pizzaiolo Primo in Market Square is one of them. The food is very good - not cheap but worth it. The pizzas are authentic and their pasta dishes (great sauce) too. We had a Margherita pizza, Rigatoni w/meatballs and Chitarra pasta w/lamb. All was devoured. My son said the meatballs were as good as Nonni's and that is true. If you like burrata ask them for it... it's not on the menu and they run out early. The fact that you can book on Opentable is great. If you haven't been here, take a chance. You will love it.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hostess gave priority to non-Open Table Reserv.

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I have gone to Pizzaiolo Primo for business lunches for several years.

Unfortunately on my most recent visit and on arrival the hostess sat my party in the most crowded, small space and table. When I asked for another table, the hostess told me other tables had reservations. When asked why my OpenTable reservation could not use one of the tables with adequate space the hostess told me the restaurant process for seating would not allow.

When I mentioned that I frequent the restaurant for years for business lunches and had not had this issue in the past, the hostess became argumentative and indifferent.

I strongly recommend Nola or Sienna On The Square which are much more customer service-oriented venues in Market Square.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Great pizza and salad. Tables are too sm ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great pizza and salad. Tables are too small. Table for four (2 adults and 2 kids) left very little room for the salad bowl or pizza. Crowded feel to the table.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Food and Service were awesome!!! We bot ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food and Service were awesome!!! We both enjoyed every minute.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.