About Pizzaiolo Primo

8 Market Square
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Welcome to Pizzaiolo Primo, home of truly authentic Neapolitan Cuisine. Pizzaiolo Primo roots trace back to Pittsburgh circa 1996, with an original credo: create Neapolitan pizza using old-world techniques and using the highest-quality ingredients available. Today, we hand-make nearly everything on the menu - from sweet fennel sausage, meatballs and pasta, to mozzarella and antipasto vegetables. If we don't hand-make it, it's imported from the best artisans, cheese makers and salumeria in the world. Our Mozzarella di bufala comes direct from Naples and we cook only the best dried pasta in the world, always to order, always al dente. We bake our pizzas at 1000 degrees in a handcrafted, wood-fired brick oven for less than 90 seconds using perfectly leavened dough, San Marzano tomatoes, and extra virgin olive oil. The result is an authentic Neapolitan culinary experience with integrity. Buon Appetito!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Brunch: Sunday-11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday- 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
Market Square and Forbes Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 575-5858

Website:
http://www.pizzaioloprimo.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered at Kiosk in Market Square

Public Transit:
Gateway LTR

Executive Chef:
Richard Sphatt

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Pizzaiolo Primo
  • Pizzaiolo Primo
  • Pizzaiolo Primo
Pizzaiolo Primo
Pizzaiolo Primo
Pizzaiolo Primo

Pizzaiolo Primo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Pittsburgh
Italian
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

great for outdoor dining (37)
special occasion (30)
fit for foodies (28)
See All
neighborhood gem (23)
great for lunch (18)
good for groups (14)
hot spot (14)
romantic (12)
scenic view (11)
notable wine list (10)
kid-friendly (7)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
Sort By:
Newest
415 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

If you have a late reservation service i ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 15 hours ago

If you have a late reservation service is not as good, food was still amazing. We only saw and spoke to the waiter approximately three times during our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

European-style pizza is great! May be th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

European-style pizza is great! May be the best in Pittsburgh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I really liked the restaurant but we wer ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 7 days ago

I really liked the restaurant but we were upstairs and not only were there a lot of stairs, they were difficult to climb. I didn't feel safe climbing the stairs. I think the individual steps were placed too far apart. The downstairs dining area was extremely small. Although the food was amazing; I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone with mobility issues or elderly unless they are able to get a table downstairs or outside on the patio.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Everything about our experience at Pizza ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everything about our experience at Pizzaiolo Primo was excellent! We shared numerous dishes, including the arancini and polpette appetizers. Both were very good, freshly made, and were generous portions. We also shared a salsiccia pizza - the crust was thin, light, and crispy, and the sauce and ingredients were fresh. We also shared two entrees: the agnolotti and pollo parmigiano. The agnolotti was delicious, with freshly made pasta and stuffed with braised beef (so good)! We also shared cannoli for dessert. The dessert menu was small, and could have had a few more options.

Our meal was delicious and our service was very good. Our waitress spaced our dishes well, and we had plenty of time to eat and enjoy the outdoor terrace area. We travel and dine out often, and this is easily one of the top Italian restaurants we have ever been to. Very authentic, fresh Italian food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Elaina and Harley at the bar were wonder ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Elaina and Harley at the bar were wonderful. Enjoyed their company and the great food and drinks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This restaurant was always one of our fa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This restaurant was always one of our favorites. However, our experience this time was terrible. It was a Tuesday night and not overly crowded. We ordered our meal with a glass of wine each. The table next to us ordered their meals at least 10 minutes after us. However, they got their meals before us and oddly were served the exact same meals and wine that we ordered. We then proceeded to sit for another 20 minutes to wait for our meals. My meal was correct, but my husband's was completely wrong (he ordered pasta with sausage and was served lasagna). Never once did our waiter come over to apologize for the obvious mix up of meals. It took another 15 minutes for my husband's meal to come to only have the sausage be raw. We are hoping that it was just the poor service and not a reflection of the direction that the restaurant is headed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

The food and service was superb. Only n ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food and service was superb. Only negative comment is I felt like we had the best table in the place but there was an air vent blowing ac on us so we did a few rounds of musical chairs.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants in Pittsb ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Pittsburgh. Consistently good food, nice bar, friendly, helpful staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We love Pizzaiolo primo.... it is our go ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We love Pizzaiolo primo.... it is our go to place for dinner, special,romantic and for celebrations. The food is always delicious, the wait staff friendly and attentive. The ambiance just perfect every evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Lunch Spot!! We had a great time a ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great Lunch Spot!! We had a great time and experience for a retirement lunch! Our food was quick, delicious, and perfectly prepared. All our pizzas were delicious with 4 different pizzas! The one salad ordered was fresh and ver well prepared!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pizza was just ok for the price Menu was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Pizza was just ok for the price

Menu was pricey for lunch. Ex $24 for a salad

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious food and great service

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Delicious food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I went to Pizzaiolo with goo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My wife and I went to Pizzaiolo with good friends - we both have anniversaries pretty close to each other so it was a joint celebration. The food, wine, service, and ambiance were excellent. I've been there for lunch but this was our first sit-down dinner and we definitely recommend Pizzaiolo. If you are downtown and feeling like top notch Italian food and wine, go here!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meat and cheese plate is very delici ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The meat and cheese plate is very delicious. I like the original one in mt. Lebo a little bit more. The menu was slightly different in market square. Very good brick oven pizzas.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food! Very Authentic! Would highly ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food! Very Authentic! Would highly recommend!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recommended to us when we visited Pittsb ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Recommended to us when we visited Pittsburgh. Located in the Market District which is a very energetic area with many bars and restaurants. This restaurant has very good food but the service was spotty. Our waiter was a young man who seemed somewhat in outer space. Had to ask twice for our wine order, we never received our appetizer even after we mentioned it to him. I think one problem with the service is that we placed the order with one person and a different person delivered the drinks and a third person delivered the meal. Seems like more room for error with this method. The food was good and I would probably return now that I would be prepared for the service lapse.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

the food was delicious as always, and th ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

the food was delicious as always, and the service was great! the pizza is always amazing here, and pizzaiolo is great for vegetarians/vegans as well as meat-lovers.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside . It was my friends birth ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We sat outside . It was my friends birthday.The food was delicious...good service too

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Pizza was outstanding this dining experi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Pizza was outstanding this dining experience. Had dinner selections at another visit which did not disappoint the taste buds

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An Italian restaurant that an Italian goes to

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

As a first generation Italian, I am very picky about which Italian restaurants to spend my money at. Pizzaiolo Primo in Market Square is one of them. The food is very good - not cheap but worth it. The pizzas are authentic and their pasta dishes (great sauce) too. We had a Margherita pizza, Rigatoni w/meatballs and Chitarra pasta w/lamb. All was devoured. My son said the meatballs were as good as Nonni's and that is true. If you like burrata ask them for it... it's not on the menu and they run out early. The fact that you can book on Opentable is great. If you haven't been here, take a chance. You will love it.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hostess gave priority to non-Open Table Reserv.

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I have gone to Pizzaiolo Primo for business lunches for several years.

Unfortunately on my most recent visit and on arrival the hostess sat my party in the most crowded, small space and table. When I asked for another table, the hostess told me other tables had reservations. When asked why my OpenTable reservation could not use one of the tables with adequate space the hostess told me the restaurant process for seating would not allow.

When I mentioned that I frequent the restaurant for years for business lunches and had not had this issue in the past, the hostess became argumentative and indifferent.

I strongly recommend Nola or Sienna On The Square which are much more customer service-oriented venues in Market Square.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Great pizza and salad. Tables are too sm ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great pizza and salad. Tables are too small. Table for four (2 adults and 2 kids) left very little room for the salad bowl or pizza. Crowded feel to the table.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Food and Service were awesome!!! We bot ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food and Service were awesome!!! We both enjoyed every minute.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A genuinely fun place with outstanding f ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

A genuinely fun place with outstanding food. One of our favorites. Great service, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant....loved the crab cakes ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great restaurant....loved the crab cakes and fried rice cakes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fall from grace

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Not sure what's going on but nothing hit quite as good as it has in the past. Despite the fact that I had a reservation, hostess wouldn't give me a good table because the good tables were all "reserved." Meanwhile, the one we asked for sat empty the entire time we were there. Asked for the caesar salad lightly dressed and it came out drenched. Got the gnocchi and it was good but nothing special. But really, the worst offense was the hostess treating us second-rate. Part of me wondered if it was because it was two women dining together. Usually I'm there with my husband. Wonder if I would've got better service if I was with a man instead of being plunked down at the least desirable table int he middle of there restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I had the Vitello Valdostana and would s ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I had the Vitello Valdostana and would strongly recommend trying the dish. Our server was very courteous, helpful, and attentive. Overall experience rated 5/5. I will be visiting again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The pasta was fantastic (I had the mushr ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The pasta was fantastic (I had the mushroom pasta). My husband loved his pizza.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I went here for my anniversary and this ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

I went here for my anniversary and this was my second time coming here. The food the first time was phenomenal, my girlfriend had the chicken parm and it was very good, I had the pizza which was very good. The second time though it seems like it was completely different place. The food was bland. We got an order of calamari and it wasn't fried long enough and the calamari was still very chewy. We both got the chicken parm and it tasted like it was microwaved chicken. It was horrendous. For the price of the place I would rather it not be a Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde type restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

Il Pizzaiolo

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

As always a wonderful meal. The chicken parm was very good. I had the chitarra with lamb. Great dish. I've had it twice in 3 weeks. The service as always was terrific.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a birthday lunch

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

The food was spectacular. All three entrees arrived perfectly!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is our go to place... Fo ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

This restaurant is our go to place... Food is always delicious and wonderful... The servers are knowledgeable and very nice and the wine list and is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Some of the best Italian food I've ever ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Some of the best Italian food I've ever had, and that's coming from a NJ/NYC native!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A restaurant an Italian would come to

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

This is a restaurant that never disappoints, Italian food you would want your Italian mother to cook. Wedding soup always five star and main menu consistently delicious from pizza's to main meals. Food never oversalted. Interesting toppings available on the pizza"s and plentiful...pasta's from a-z including some very good red/pink sauces. Definitely not a canned version of Italian sauce. Menu a main stay with just a couple of specials for the day. Gelato's the desert to polish off the meal with a quick cup of cap. For the gelato nut lover, the pistachio was loaded with chopped nuts

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

PERFECT FOOD AND SERVICE EVERYTIME

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We dine here at least once a month and we are never disappointed. Great specials and service. Just wish they would always serve the pizza puffy bread its delicious!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Il Pizzaiolo on a week night ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

We went to Il Pizzaiolo on a week night for a business dinner. The food was good, but the bottle of wine we had ordered was not served until most of us were nearly done with our meals. Not very good timing. Some of us ordered hot tea with dessert and were told they did not have any hot water. Really???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

The food is amazing!! My husband and I a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

The food is amazing!! My husband and I are never disappointed in the quality of the food or the professionalism of the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food but pricy

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Great food but pricy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and service

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We are always very happy and satisfied with our dining experience. We will definitely keep going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.