Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Pizzaiolo Primo

Welcome to Pizzaiolo Primo, home of truly authentic Neapolitan Cuisine. Pizzaiolo Primo roots trace back to Pittsburgh circa 1996, with an original credo: create Neapolitan pizza using old-world techniques and using the highest-quality ingredients available. Today, we hand-make nearly everything on the menu - from sweet fennel sausage, meatballs and pasta, to mozzarella and antipasto vegetables. If we don't hand-make it, it's imported from the best artisans, cheese makers and salumeria in the world. Our Mozzarella di bufala comes direct from Naples and we cook only the best dried pasta in the world, always to order, always al dente. We bake our pizzas at 1000 degrees in a handcrafted, wood-fired brick oven for less than 90 seconds using perfectly leavened dough, San Marzano tomatoes, and extra virgin olive oil. The result is an authentic Neapolitan culinary experience with integrity. Buon Appetito!

8 Market Square
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm-9:00pm


Cross Street:
Market Square and Forbes Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 575-5858

Website:
http://www.pizzaioloprimo.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered at Kiosk in Market Square

Public Transit:
Gateway LTR

Executive Chef:
Richard Sphatt

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pizzaiolo Primo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (25)
GoodForDates (23)
Casual (18)
See All
OutdoorDining (12)
NeighborhoodGem (12)
WoodOven (12)
Foodies (11)
Fun (11)
Lunch (11)
ComfortFood (11)
BusinessMeals (10)
Cozy (10)
PrePostTheatre (8)
SpecialOccasions (8)
Anniversaries (7)
Romance (7)
QuietConversation (7)
Birthdays (6)
BarSeating (6)
HotSpot (6)
VegetarianOptions (5)
WorthTheDrive (5)
PeopleWatching (5)
HappyHour (5)
TastingMenu (4)
NotableWineList (4)
CreativeCuisine (4)
ScenicView (4)
Groups (4)
GreatBeer (3)
LocalIngredients (3)
QuickBite (3)
Seasonal (3)
OpenKitchen (2)
Healthy (2)
HandcraftedCocktails (2)
VibrantBarScene (2)
FamilyStyle (1)
OutstandingValue (1)
ModernDecor (1)
AfternoonCoffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Brunch (1)
LateNightFind (1)
Historic (1)
PrivateRoom (1)
SundayLunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
563 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined a day ago

We arrived earlier then anticipated and they were very cordial and accommodating by seating us before our reserved time. Our waiter was personable, informative and simpatico! Food was delicious as usual and my friends who had never been there before, were pleased and impressed! Thanks for another wonderful eating experience!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

We started with the fried zucchini, which was sub-par: It was overcooked and the oil needed changed terribly. We shared both a pasta dish and a pizza, which were both terrific. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

The menu was varied and very interesting. They specialize in Italian cuisine. Everyone was quite happy with their choices; the flavors were enjoyable without being over-powering. The waitress was knowledgeable and friendly. It was a great meal and we would gladly return.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food and great service. However the atmosphere changed to a loud disco beat alternated with New Age music. This totally ruined an otherwise great dining experience. Very much miss traditional ITALIAN music which you would expect in an ITALIAN restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Wild board ragu is must. Nothing beats fresh made pasta. The Santa Pia wine is excellent and a great value!! The Italian cheese cake, torta, is to die for - not too sweet, light, and airy.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Loved it. I have been 5 or 6 times. Never disappoints.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, People Watching, Hot Spot, Fun, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Went there with my 12yo. Delicious pizza and gnocchi, nice beer list, wonderful service by Michael, really yummy dessert. Great all around!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food and service was good. Quaint restaurant. 4 people, ravioli which was very good, vodka penne which was in my opinion fantastic, and 2 pasta dishes which were also fantastic. We ordered an appetizer of meatballs too that we had come with our meal. Got talked into a $11 beer that was horrid if you just like a regular beer, wanted a yuengling , and a special wine (wanted a chardonnay). Stick with what you know, don't let waiter talk you into it, wine tasted like vinegar. He pushed it too much and I should have known better. Food was great, waiter attentive. $120 plus tip. 2 adults, 2 seventeen yr olds. For a downtown restaurant, very good experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The Gnocchi Bolongese special was delicious. The gnocchi were very light with just the right amount of sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 15, 2017

I enjoyed my Margherita pizza. My husband did not like his sausage one as he said he doesn't like soggy crusts. So, it depends on your tastes whether you like this style pizza or not.
We sat upstairs, and the music was some monotonous and loud tunes that we did not enjoy.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Caroline was our server. She was awesome! Made our night! Food was outstanding!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Food was average. Ran out of burrata which was disappointing and it was only 6pm. We ordered the calzone pizza and the entire thing seemed to be ricotta. Now I like ricotta but this was a bit much. Food wasn't terrible but not amazing. Recommend trying something else while in Pittsburgh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The food was fabulous...starting with the antipasto appetizer and all the way to the veal and salmon entrees! Our server, Michael, was vibrant, knowledgeable and attentive. I would give restaurant 5 stars but noise level was very high. Another suggestion would be to offer a chianti Classico by the glass. Will definitely go back though.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We happened to pick this restaurant randomly from the Open Table list. We are from out of town and really wish we had Pizzaiolo Primo at home. The food was excellent! Pizzas are super thin with fresh ingredients. The pizza dough is great. We also had the chicken with sausage, peppers and potatoes. So delicious!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We eat at Pizzaiolo Primo every time we are in Pittsburgh, and it never disappoints. The food is always fresh, authentic, and delicious. We have never had a dish we did not enjoy, from pizzas and appetizers to entrees. Some personal favorites: arancini, polpette, pollo scarpariello, and pizza (we have tried several, and they have all been good). They also have a nice wine selection, that pairs well with the dishes.

The outdoor seating is great - if indoors it is always really cold. Service is always good here, as well. Definitely recommend!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My boyfriend and I were celebrating his birthday and we had the prosciutto and arugula pizza, as well as tiramisu dessert.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We have been here before, and everything was excellent as usual. The salmon was especially good, and the drinks were excellent. One of our favorite places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I have dined at this restaurant many times, and I must say each time exceeds my expectations! I love how authentic and fresh the food is, and how accomodating and friendly the staff, bartenders and waitstaff. This is my favorite Pittsburgh restaurant and one that I always reccommend to friends.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fun, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We were visiting the Burg from out of state and made the reservation a month in advance requesting upstairs. We were not disappointed, as we were seated by the window overlooking the square. Very nice! The mussels in white wine and garlic appetizer was outstanding! But, although they did me a favor preparing a chicken piccata instead of veal for my entree, it was very disappointing...little to no butter lemon sauce with one or two capers, just pan fried chicken breast. My husband's linguine and clams dish was good. All in all we had a lovely time, great bottle of wine with okay food, a bit overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 23, 2017

This is our "go to" restaurant in Pittsburgh, especially for meeting friends or entertaining out-of-Townes.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

One of our favorite spots in Market Square , food is good although a bit pricey. Outdoor seating was nice. Service was good, very friendly!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I had some family visiting from New Jersey and this restaurant was recommended as one of our better - if not best - Italian restaurants here in Pittsburgh. That recommendation was justified. Everything was delicious and our server was friendly and knowledgeable. Overall, we had a great experience. I plan to return, and to recommend Pizzaiolo Primo to others.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Food was very good and portion sizes were large. Even the half size Caesar was plenty. Cocktails were very well prepared and reasonable.
Would recommend downstairs dining unless you are having a business meal. Upstairs is dark and less lively.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Wood Oven, Casual, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great Italian food, something for whole family! Very attentive service & knowledgeable staff.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Wait staff made you feel very welcome and that you belong there. Our waiter had good knowledge of the beer and food that was offered

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I had the pizza with sausage and broccoli I and it was very good. I would recommend it. A few friends had the soup another had the Caesar salad. The complimentary bread with olive oil was good but we had to keep asking our waitress for black pepper. Really, black pepper. She only said there were only theee containers in the entire restaurant so we were continually waiting to eat the bread, for the pepper, waiting to eat the pizza, for the pepper.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We were a bit disappointed. Our meatball appetizer came out cold. We sent it back and they heated it. Then our entrees came out lukewarm and the penne in the one dish was all sticking together. We usually have a good food there so we were disappointed. Not sure if things have changed since the name changed. The waitress was very nice and service was good

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Nice atmosphere and good food nice size portions good lovation

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I have been here many times and the food quality and service are always great. I would suggest maybe having half portions for lunch as the portions are quite big in a lunch setting.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great food. Awesome service.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 1, 2017

My waiter got my order wrong but I didn't say anything since it was a business lunch. I specifically asked for the mistacanza salad and just to add shrimp. The salad came out as the shrimp salad that's on the menu with a totally different dressing.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Went out to eat during a weekend trip to Pittsburgh, and had a fantastic experience. They were able to seat us before our reservation time, service was prompt, and Jeremy, our server, was incredibly helpful about giving opinions about menu options. Will absolutely be dining here again!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Very good food. Excellent wine choice by the sommelier. Exactly the wine we wanted with our food. Very good service from wait person. Will eat there again when in Pittsburgh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was good but wine list lacking service was good

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Visiting from out of town. Pretty good

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We always have a great time at the restaurant. The fresh pasta and arancini are awesome.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The service was very good but the noise level, even as moderate, was loud. Best to eat upstairs to minimize the noise. The salad was nothing special but the rigatoni was outstanding. We would definitely go back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I love the food here and the service is attentive without being stuffy. I just hate sitting in the downstairs of the restaurant. Upstairs is nice, outside is nice, inside lower floor is OK for lunch but for dinner feels worse than the kids table.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Best food in Pittsburgh

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Our server, Gina, was extremely friendly and informative with the menu, daily specials, wine and beer selection. Our meal started with a deliciously fresh caprese salad that we shared. For our entrees we ordered the gnocchi and a pizza with arugula and prosciutto, both were fantastic. We enjoyed a great meal with a fun and friendly staff, highly recommended.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.