About Pizzaiolo Primo

8 Market Square
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Welcome to Pizzaiolo Primo, home of truly authentic Neapolitan Cuisine. Pizzaiolo Primo roots trace back to Pittsburgh circa 1996, with an original credo: create Neapolitan pizza using old-world techniques and using the highest-quality ingredients available. Today, we hand-make nearly everything on the menu - from sweet fennel sausage, meatballs and pasta, to mozzarella and antipasto vegetables. If we don't hand-make it, it's imported from the best artisans, cheese makers and salumeria in the world. Our Mozzarella di bufala comes direct from Naples and we cook only the best dried pasta in the world, always to order, always al dente. We bake our pizzas at 1000 degrees in a handcrafted, wood-fired brick oven for less than 90 seconds using perfectly leavened dough, San Marzano tomatoes, and extra virgin olive oil. The result is an authentic Neapolitan culinary experience with integrity. Buon Appetito!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm-9:00pm


Cross Street:
Market Square and Forbes Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 575-5858

Website:
http://www.pizzaioloprimo.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered at Kiosk in Market Square

Public Transit:
Gateway LTR

Executive Chef:
Richard Sphatt

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Pizzaiolo Primo, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Pizzaiolo Primo, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Pizzaiolo Primo, Pittsburgh, PA

Report a photo problem

Pizzaiolo Primo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (31)
Authentic (20)
Casual (18)
See All
Great for Lunch (17)
Wood Oven (17)
Romantic (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Fun (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Business Meals (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
People Watching (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Cozy (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Scenic View (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Healthy (5)
Family Style (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Historic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Spicy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
484 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Super yummy. Service was a bit slow for ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Super yummy. Service was a bit slow for a busy Saturday night, but we weren't in a hurry, so it was fine.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very nice place for dinner, good service ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Very nice place for dinner, good service, could use more fish entrees if you want pizza and a salad it's a good place although expensive

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

It was my first time going there, and I ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

It was my first time going there, and I would recommend going there just for the pizza alone! It was very good and had an excellent lite sauce on the Margherita Doc.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Reliably great! Service always top notc ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Reliably great! Service always top notch. Whether it's a night out or a business lunch, it's one of my go-to restaurants.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was an excellent meal - we were a few ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was an excellent meal - we were a few hours ahead of our reservation, but got right in - had two different kinds of pizza, mozzarella and mushroom appetizers - all tasted excellent! I'm defInitely

Coming back Next

Time I am in Pittsburgh!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best Italian food in Pittsburgh! It ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The best Italian food in Pittsburgh! It beats out Alla Famiglia. The atmosphere is amazing! The service is always on point.

Tags: Organic, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pizzaiolo Primo is a hidden gem in Downt ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Pizzaiolo Primo is a hidden gem in Downtown Pittsburgh! Conveniently located in Market Square, step directly off the streets of Pittsburgh into this truly Italian oasis. From the meatballs to the wood-fired pizzas to the fresh pasta dishes, let this restaurant take you into an Italian kitchen for a meal that you won't soon forget! Come for the great food and spirits, but stay and come back again for the exceptional service and great atmosphere! Thank you Pizzaiolo Primo - we can't wait to see you again soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Wood Oven, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time we have been there the hostes ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Every time we have been there the hostess greats us like we are interrupting her. Never a "welcome" always something else. Always multiple people at the door. The host/hostess is the first impression of a restaurant and can set the mood whether positive or negative. While the mgr or owner stopped at the table twice he never told the employees (3-4)gathered right behind our table to move along. While the food and service were good, small things take a restaurant from OK to a good place for repeat dinning.

Good menu selection, good wine and beer selection. Bartender made very good drinks. We will continue to go there occasionally but management needs to address the small issues.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Pizzaiolo family of restaurants neve ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The Pizzaiolo family of restaurants never disappoints. Attentive service and excellent food allows for a pleasant enjoyable experience - business or pleasure dining.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go to place for pre-theatre dining. Goo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Go to place for pre-theatre dining. Good food and drink. Excellent service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional Calamari. Genuinely friendl ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Exceptional Calamari. Genuinely friendly staff. Great evening

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful down to the gre ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything was wonderful down to the great wine and service. No complaints at all!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and service was good. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was excellent and service was good. Restaurant is small and felt very cramped.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Perfect place to catch up with friend! C ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Perfect place to catch up with friend! Coffee was soo good! The fried calamari was perfectly breaded! they give you plenty to share! I also enjoyed the fresh & refreshing caprese salad! I will definitely be back!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love the food. Order lots of appetizer ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I love the food. Order lots of appetizers to share, and order dinner or salads after. Great value

Tags: , Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation for 12:15 and didn' ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We had a reservation for 12:15 and didn't get seated until 12:45. They were also understaffed and things took quite sometime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Always a great meal with welcoming servi ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Always a great meal with welcoming service. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The four of us had a wonderful time. Th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The four of us had a wonderful time. The food was first class. We all can't wait to go back and try something else on the menu. Have been telling everyone I know to go and experience it for yourself. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Historic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the menu and food. Although I most ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Love the menu and food. Although I most often visit for lunch with colleagues, it typically requires a longer lunch, I typically forget this and then I'm frustrated when lunch takes longer than anticipated. Plan accordingly. Service and food delivery are slow; on this trip I was halfway finished with my pizza before the waiter returned and I could ask him for crushed red pepper, which was available but not offered. Starbucks is next door if you aren't offered coffee.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The wedding soup was wonderful and the p ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The wedding soup was wonderful and the pizzas were great. My only complaint is that we were by the window on the first floor and it was Freezing Cold! I'd rather be able to dine without leaving my parka on. Ask to be away from door or upstairs.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If you are looking for authentic Italian ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 6, 2016

If you are looking for authentic Italian food, Pizzaiolo Primo is outstanding. However, the restaurant is very small inside, and even with a reservation, I was stuck at a tiny table right in the middle of the floor, next to the bar. We had people talking over us, and running into us through our entire meal. The food is on the more expensive side, so I expected a more pleasant experience than what I received.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

As always, another delicious meal. Thes ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

As always, another delicious meal. These are the best meatballs in western PA! And the pasta was cooked to perfection. The burata cheese with heirloom tomatoes is another favorite of mine.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been to Pizzaioli about 4 times n ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I have been to Pizzaioli about 4 times now. The Margarita Doc is awesome. Had the meatballs and fried mozzarella which both were to die for.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, , Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Fun, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at Pizzaiolo Primo! ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Another great meal at Pizzaiolo Primo! This has become our "go to" place before going to the theater. The staff are friendly and upbeat, the atmosphere is lively and the food is excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food here is always prepared to perf ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The food here is always prepared to perfection. Fresh imported ingredients prepared knowingly and lovingly for their customers. The staff and servers are extremely knowledgeable about the regions of Italy the food and the wines come from, plus they are incredibly friendly each and every time we visit. Fabulous wine list too! My favorite restaurant by far!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Casual, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were lucky to have used Open Table to ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We were lucky to have used Open Table to make a reservation earlier in the day - it was packed at 230 pm sunday, just days after the local Light Up Night and European Market opened (and the skating rink!). The service was friendly but with such a crowd, it was a bit of a wait and appetizer plates took awhile, couldn't find server for awhile but noticed, I think, manager stepping in to help smooth out things. We sat on the second floor; first is classic bistro looking with several iron table and black and white floor. Upstairs is different, cozier maybe and a bit more elbow room. We enjoyed very much and will go back again.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Family Style, Wood Oven, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing food. Best Italian in Pittsburgh ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Amazing food. Best Italian in Pittsburgh. Wish the seating was more and better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Pizzaiolo Primo is my go-to restaurant f ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Pizzaiolo Primo is my go-to restaurant for special occasions, visiting family, etc. The service is consistently good; the food is always delicious and arrives at the table hot and fresh from the kitchen.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food as usual, although we didn't ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food as usual, although we didn't receive our appetizers until after our entrees were served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great authentic Italian food, keeping on ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great authentic Italian food, keeping on par with the previous sister restaurants...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

A bit pricey but excellent food.

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 4, 2016

A bit pricey but excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I arrived 10 minutes before my 12:30 res ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I arrived 10 minutes before my 12:30 ressrvation and was told my table was being prepared. My friend arrived at 12:30 and we were taken upstairs to our table, only to learn that the previous diners at that table were still there. WHAT? So we were seated temporarily at the bar. ??!! After 5 minutes or so, we were led back downstairs to a table that truly was vacant and ready. How did that mixup happen?

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Historic, Wood Oven, Casual, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Music was contemporary ( not Italian) wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Music was contemporary ( not Italian) way to loud. Noise level very high in the restaurant. Had a reservation for weeks and still ended up with a very small table right in front of the bar.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

We go often but this was by far best mea ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We go often but this was by far best meal we have had here

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just Delicious f Service excellent From ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Just Delicious f

Service excellent

From NY but every time in Pittsburgh We eat there.

Tags: Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. The staff were very fr ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great experience. The staff were very friendly. We had all dressed up in 1920s clothes for our friends bday and the first thing they did was change the music in the restaurant to 1920s style. The food was amazing and the waiter even tried out our 20s slang. For college students the place was a bit expensive but well worth it. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Italian food and appitizers. Servi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Good Italian food and appitizers. Service was good and prompt for the theater.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The pasta was delicious and cooked al de ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The pasta was delicious and cooked al dente. The veal Parmesan was disappointing. It was overcooked and the sauce was slightly burned. I believe that it was made too far in advance and kept warm at too high a heat.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I called ahead to place our order since ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I called ahead to place our order since were pressed for time. The server had our table waiting and our appetizers ready almost immediately after receiving our drinks. The only disappointment was that when I had made the reservation I noted that we were celebrating a birthday and it was never recognized.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very long wait for two salads. The Chic ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Very long wait for two salads. The Chicken Caesar salad was basically a garden salad with chicken on top. Very disappointing. Service was mediocre and server had an attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.