About Piquant

1633 W Snow Ave
Tampa, FL 33606
View Larger Map

Chef crafted, chef driven, chef inspired. Authentic epicurean cuisine. Every item. Every dish. Every day. The right way! Individually prepared with passion, care, culinary expertise and refinement for your dining pleasure. It’s the Experience Worth Tasting.

Piquant is included in Open Table's Top 100 Best Brunch Restaurants in America

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Dessert, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Wednesday 8am-8pm
Thursday-Saturday 8am-9pm




Cross Street:
Rome

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 251-1777 ext. 3

Website:
http://www.piquanthydepark.com/

Catering:
Full scale catering, rentals, staffing, and beverage service available both on and off-site. Let us help you negotiate a venue rental, or execute the event of your dreams. We are a one stop shop to put you in touch with the right vendors, at the right price and make planning your special event as stress-less and delicious as possible.

Parking Details:
Hyde Park Village provides two multi level and complimentary parking garages. The one closest to Piquant is on Rome Ave.

Executive Chef:
Rosana Rivera/Ricardo Castro

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Piquant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
See All
Great for Brunch (11)
Afternoon Coffee (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Casual (10)
People Watching (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Authentic (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Romantic (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Fun (4)
Cozy (4)
Organic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Healthy (4)
Business Meals (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Scenic View (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Tapas (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
287 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome server! Great food and ambiance ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome server! Great food and ambiance :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good but overpriced

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 6 days ago

Good but overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

I enjoy eating brunch especially but thi ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

I enjoy eating brunch especially but this time tried dinner on Valentines Day. We tried the Filet and it was delicious served with fried green tomatoes. Our server was nice but slow at times and never asked us if we wanted dessert! - On Valentines Day!!! We wanted dessert but then it took him so long to check back with us (10 minutes) that we changed our minds and decided to leave. Miss on his part. I like Piquant's food but never have had the best experiences with servers there.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We have dined at Piquant before for brun ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

We have dined at Piquant before for brunch and one other time for dinner. This time, Valentine's Day, the food was good but not great. My husband and I got the Rib Eye and it was extra fatty in my opinion. The potato description said 'sliced potatoes with a cheese gratin" so we were thinking like a potato augratin. What we received is sliced steak over French fries with cheese on them. I mean it is a French restaurant so it should have at least said steak frites! Then we would have known what we were getting. The dessert of banana cake with salted caramel gelato was very good. Overall ok - but should have gone some place else for Valentine's Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Piquant is usually awesome, but this tim ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Piquant is usually awesome, but this time was just ok. When we arrived for Sunday brunch, there was a major backup at the front desk. It took nearly 15 minutes to get to the desk to let them know we had a reservation through OpenTable. We were seated immediately. Our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable. They ran out of spoons (?) so she brought us an extra fork to stir our coffee. The food was good ... not amazing but still tasty. I probably would not go back for brunch but I would for a different meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

This was the first time in a couple of y ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was the first time in a couple of years we came for dinner and not much has changed. Good drinks and dessert but everything in between was bland. Service took way too long especially because the place was empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Food was outstanding. Easily and happily ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was outstanding. Easily and happily made accommodations to food intolerances. Great, kind professional service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Historic, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great breakfast with wonderful service! ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great breakfast with wonderful service! Love the cronut!

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I were meeting for a 10:30 ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My friend and I were meeting for a 10:30 reservation. We were not seated until 10:50....what is the point of taking a reservation if you're not seating people at their desired time. We then sat at the table for a good 15 minutes while many people walked past us without acknowledging us even to say get us water. I had to stop someone and ask for our sever. We ordered our coffees and food at the same time, waited another 20 for those and then the food came another 20 minutes later. Was served the coffee without a spoon to stir my cream and sugar. Asked for an omelette that arrived without any cheese (server did request it, kitchen messed it up) they ended up just melting cheese on top once brought to their attention. Weird omelet. There seemed to be a lot of people working by no real efficient management on top of the chaos. Many young people without any true device or hospitality skills. It was a horrible experience and I likely will not recommend this place or come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Where do I begin... I have eaten here pr ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Where do I begin... I have eaten here previously a year ago a couple times. During those times, the service was poor and slow. So I stopped coming to this restaurant. I decided to give this place another try this past Saturday. I made a reservation at 8:00 p.m. and arrived on the dot. My second half was running late but I was ready to be seated as we were on a time clock and I was going to place our food order since I knew what we both wanted. I got sat promptly. I sat at the table waiting for someone to acknowledge me for over 20 minutes. I watched several servers walk by and attend to other tables and glance at me but didn't come up to me to offer a water or anything. My other half arrived at 8:30. So I had been sitting there for 30 minutes without any service. Once she got here, I asked for the manager. The manager came out a short blonde hair lady. I explained to her the situation of how I had been sitting there for half an hour with no water or service. She did state she was sorry and offered to get us waters. I was not impressed with the manager. She could have offered more than just waters. At that point, we lost our appetites to eat there and left to go to another place with better service. Lets just say I will NOT be dining at this place ever again. Especially the fact that I too have worked in hospitality and the least if the place is busy someone could acknowledge you and say they will be right with you. However, not the case here. And the restaurant was not even that busy. Very Unprofessional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Horrible service; as usual. Had reserv ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Horrible service; as usual.

Had reservations. Very slow food delivery. But, the food is always very good.

Sad they can't pull it together after years in business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value1

Lovely location and a very interesting m ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Lovely location and a very interesting menu. We sat outside - very pleasant.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I really want to rank this restaurant in ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I really want to rank this restaurant in my top 5. The food is good and I love the bakery. They take the time with presentation of little details, like the hand made garnishes in their bloody mary. The problem I am finding is the service is just so terrible. We made a reservation and the hostess asked us three times how many we were and if we had a reservation. She acted lost. Then come to find out she was also our server. We waited for refills on drinks, the water glasses were dirty and she wasn't able to check on us until most of our meal was done. Hopefully service can be improved.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

I got horrible food poisoning from this ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I got horrible food poisoning from this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Good food, great atmosphere. Pastry sele ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good food, great atmosphere. Pastry selection is outstanding - must stop by and pick up a few treats before leaving

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed the Ambiance of Sunday Brunch in ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Enjoyed the Ambiance of Sunday Brunch in Hyde Park. Checked in with the Friendly Hostess and our party of 4 was seated immediately. The Restaurant is divided into different areas, of which we were in the main area within site of the Delectable Bake Goods!! Mostly tables inside and on the outside seating area. Our Server, Skye, greeted us as soon as we were settled. We were in somewhat of a hurry as 2 of us were catching the Train, and our server picked up on that and took our selections while ordering our drinks. Our Food was brought in a timely manner. The Quiche was good but came with no sides. Another had the Salmon Benedict which she requested with Gluten Free Bread and enjoyed immensely. There were 2 separate Eggs and plenty to eat. The Chorizo Omelet rated tasty from someone who lives in California. The Ham and Cheese Croissant was good as well. It was a busy Sunday but we never felt rushed. We enjoyed our time at this Family Friendly establishment and Skye was exceptional. Very efficient, professional and pleasant! She took great care of us and we look forward to our next meal there.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We love piquant and go all the time!! Ev ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We love piquant and go all the time!! Everything I've tried is great!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic meal! The smoked salmon Benedi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Fantastic meal! The smoked salmon Benedict is something I highly recommend. The cinnamon sugar croissant donut is superb as well. Amazing coffee, great location, very friendly environment!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Fun, Organic, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had such high hopes for Piquant but wa ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I had such high hopes for Piquant but was extremely disappointed with our experience here. We made a reservation on Open Table for 9:30am on Sunday morning. When we arrived, there was one couple ahead of us at the hostess stand. We both stood there for 7 or 8 minutes without a single person coming to greet us.

Finally, someone from behind the bakery counter told us to just take a seat anywhere so we headed out to the patio. It took another 10 minutes for a server to come over as they obviously have no seating system whatsoever. We had no menus, no water, we were just sitting there twiddling our thumbs.

Before we looked at the menu, the server told us they were out of "a few" items. They had no strawberries, no ham, no eggs, and no sausage. How in the world does a restaurant not have these items for breakfast?! We were more than irritated at this point but decided to go ahead and order anyway.

I had a cappuccino and a vanilla croissant donut. The cappuccino was average and the pastry was awful. It had no defining flavor and was ice cold after being taken out of the refrigerated pastry case. This made me think it was not baked fresh and it felt like they had slapped something on a plate like a cheap diner. Needless to say, we will not be returning to this over-priced, over-hyped establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Our meal was average. Service was a lit ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our meal was average. Service was a little slow, the food was alright but nothing fantastic (adult grilled cheese & bacon/egg baguette). The best part of the meal was the French 75.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Piquant is always one of my favorites. T ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Piquant is always one of my favorites. The croque was not a traditional French and slightly disappointing but the croissant makes up for it and the chocolate chip cookies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food is always excellent although a bit ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food is always excellent although a bit on the pricey side for breakfast fare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Five people ordered hot coffee all diffe ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Five people ordered hot coffee all different types all of them were cold. My mother-in-law's hot tea was even served lukewarm. There was no cheese on her breakfast sandwich. Kitchen service was slow. Food was visible in the kitchen on hold for at least 5 minutes before it was brought out. The crepes were undercooked. We have been here numerous times and this was unlike any other experience. Very disappointing outing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Great as usual!

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great as usual!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was wondeful, you must try the ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our food was wondeful, you must try the truffle frittes. I have not have food like this since I was in Belgium. Our waiter had real input when we asked for recommendations and even had complimenting wine choice for the food we ordered. The only thing I marked this place down for is the awful plastic chairs. I am not a big person but they were intimidating like you would break them. Wonderful food in a casual atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I cannot review this restaurant because ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I cannot review this restaurant because after waiting 15 minutes from the time we were seated on a quiet Thursday evening with no service, we left.

Perhaps a glass of water would have been nice.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We enjoyed our " date night". We especia ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We enjoyed our " date night". We especially appreciate the dog friendly patio. Hyde Park is a vibrant pet owner locale and Piquant is it's jewel!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Really enjoyed my trip yesterday and pla ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Really enjoyed my trip yesterday and plan to come back.

Chicken salad sandwich was yummy

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing as always!!!!

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Amazing as always!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first visit to Piquant. It i ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was my first visit to Piquant. It is a very nice and pleasant place to go. Very nice ambiance with warm, friendly efficient service. My wife and friends enjoyed their meal however I ordered the ribeye and it was not very good. It came pre cut with six or seven slices of steak of which two were inedible, all fat. I will go back and try again and try something different.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We enjoyed the restaurant very much. Ser ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We enjoyed the restaurant very much. Service was excellent and food was delicious. Desert a necessity. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wide variety of food on the menu, from s ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Wide variety of food on the menu, from sandwiches to French dinner entrees. Waiter selected a moderately priced red wine that was excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The atmosphere at this restaurant remind ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The atmosphere at this restaurant reminds me so much of Europe. I got a warm welcome at the hostess stand as well as when I got to the bar. The bar keeper took good care of me to the point I felt I was the only one in the restaurant. The food is delicious and the service is wonderful. The holiday atmosphere added to an already great experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Came here for an early Sunday breakfast ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Came here for an early Sunday breakfast with a party of five. Both the food and service were great. Order the Mademoiselle. It is the dish that got us to return to the restaurant since we live in Orlando and cannot visit regularly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved the specialty cocktails, "flatbrea ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Loved the specialty cocktails, "flatbread" had another name, fries and burger. In addition took great pastries home for dessert!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a fantastic meal this evening! O ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We had a fantastic meal this evening! Our server Sara was so gracious and lovely! The Brussel sprouts were done to perfection and went so well with the organic chicken - I will be ordering an extra side next time we visit!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food consistently good. Service on a slo ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Food consistently good. Service on a slow night not up to expectations, glasses not kept full and request for well down burger not delivered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Mediocre food but the biggest two factor ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Mediocre food but the biggest two factors of my fair to average rating is the service was slow, very slow; they weren't that busy and one of my dishes came out unclean from a wash cycle. Just gross. Won't return ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

An overall good experience. The server w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

An overall good experience. The server was not present and seemed to be very distracted. Food was delicious and management was prompt to fix any issues.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Tapas, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Residing just a few blocks away, Piquant ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Residing just a few blocks away, Piquant is always a favorite spot to walk to for a cup of coffee, brunch, or a delicious pastry! I consider the restaurant a neighborhood gem, with a lovely outside dining patio that makes it attractive to dog-owners and families with small children, who prefer a less formal environment than the inside space. While I am generally pleased with the service at Piquant, my most recent dining experience proved to be much different, due to the poor customer service that my family and I received. After taking our drink orders and returning with our beverages, I requested a bowl of water for our dog. Not realizing that I had already done so, my partner also asked for a dog bowl and milk for his coffee. The server responded with an inpatient, "I heard her!", and he proceeded to roll his eyes and mumble under his breath. My partner politely replied that he did not realize I had requested the dog bowl, but the server had already walked away. This exchange was not only off-putting, but also unprofessional. From a custom service perspective, raising one's voice to patrons or responding in ways that indicate irritation are highly inappropriate and make all parties uncomfortable! Though we enjoyed our meal, it is unfortunate that the aforementioned exchange adversely impacted our experience at Piquant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.