About Pikayo

999 Ashford Avenue
San Juan, PR 00907
View Larger Map

Going strong since 1990, serving primarily locals our version of many classics from around the world with the inclusion of local favorites as well as contemporary fusion dishes. This is Chef Wilo Benet's flagship restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Puerto Rican, International

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 721-6194

Website:
http://wilobenet.com/restaurants/pikayo.htm

Catering:
Upscale off premise catering. Will travel abroad. Experienced in high volume.

Executive Chef:
Alex Rivera

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Pikayo is located in the Ocean Wing of the Conrad Condado Plaza, overlooking the pristine Caribbean crystal clear blue waters with it"s tropical sunset. Perfect for memorable private events.

Pikayo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Romantic (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
See All
Creative Cuisine (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Business Meals (15)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Modern Decor (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Cozy (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Private Room (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Scenic View (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Waterfront (4)
Tapas (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Authentic (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
647 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined a day ago

Such an amazing restaurant. The food was amazing. Reputation well deserved

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Pikayo is a great dining experience from the minute you walk in to the minute you leave. The food, service and ambiance are all world class. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

This was recommended by several people and we had high hopes. It was awful. Service was slow and we had to request things 2 and 3 times. Each course was worse than the prior. After dining at 1919 and Marmalade the prior two nights, this was truly disappointing. Do not waste your time or money....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined 7 days ago

Prefect meal. Lobster special was impeccable. Beef tenderloin was excellent. We had great pumpkin ravioli and scallops as appetizer. Don't miss apple cobbler for dessert.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The Staff was outstanding! It was the best meal my husband and I had on the Island.

We visit Puerto Rico yearly and save the Pikayo for our most special dinning experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Atmosphere fantastic. Staff hovers a bit too much and didn't get a couple of details of the order correct. Would have preferred they write it down vs. trying to impress with their fantastic memory: my husband asked for the sauce on the side....it was not, but ok and we did not say anything. When ordering the soufflé for desert, we had difficulty deciding between the two options, and were told we could have a sampler of both, which we said yes to. We received the regular sized chocolate only. It was delicious, so we let that go as well. A couple of minor slips for this caliber of restaurant! Food is very creative and delicious although pricey! Bar overpriced and not generous in size compared to other nice restaurants in the area for the same drink. The Grey Goose martini was $17 compared to $10-12 everywhere else. This is not a signature cocktail.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This restaurant is highly overrated . . . the food is mediocre and very expensive . . . we would not recommend nor would we return on our next visit to San Juan

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excelente!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The only positive part of our dining experience was the chocolate soufflé, which was delicious with vanilla bean cream. The lamb was overpriced and overrated at $54, salmon was over cooked and truffle cheese appetizer was only subpar. We selected this restaurant for Valentine's based on the dessert selection with the cheese & chocolate soufflé duo, but after the terrible service upon arrival, overpriced cuisine for what is served and poorly prepared meals, we will not be returning and do not recommend others to waste their money at this mediocre establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 13, 2017

For the price, the service you would expect was not the one we received. There are better restaurants in the area.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 12, 2017

While the food was expertly prepared, it wasn't worth the prices. I had swordfish that was simple but delicious and a salad of pickled beets and goat cheese. While it was good it didn't warrant the prices, no wow factor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing service. Staff explained plates very well. Nice ambiance, extraordinary food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I was excited to dine here as my friend recommended this place.

Sadly, our experience was below sub par.

My main entree was the sirloin steak. I requested for medium rare and it came out that way. However, I could not enjoy the steak because the seasoning and mushrooms were overly salty. It seemed as if the mushrooms and glaze were sitting in a bath of salt!

When I informed our waiter (note this is about 20 min after our meals came) he said sorry and a manager (I believe) came by to apologize.

We ordered sparkling water and we had to request for water to be refilled about 4 times that night. What kind of service is this?

When we received the bill, I had expected the dessert we had ordered or the water or something would have been deducted from our bill to equalize the overly salty NY steak entree.

I would have at least thought this would have left us feeling not so bitter leaving this restaurant. Pikayo was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The service was outstanding, and our wine was very good. Our salad was also very good, especially the dressing. My wife loved her risotto, but my fish was not outstanding. We would go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Best restaurant in San Juan,the Octopus appetizer was excellent & the Swordfish was moist & cooked to perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 5, 2017

One of the best restaurant on San Juan. The food was amazing.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Beyond incredible! Service was impeccable and the food was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Best restaurant in Puerto Rico. Venisson Washington our of this world

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fabulous service decor and food was delicious. Highly recommend

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Oh, the swordfish was delicious. Pikayo is one of the best, if not the best, restaurant in Puerto Rico. The food is always excellent, the service is impeccable and the ambiance is refined and at the same time casual and welcoming.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We consider Pikayo to be the best restaurant in Puerto Rico. The amuse bouche of gazpacho was delicious. We had a seafood tasting menu. Every course was full of flavor and prepared perfectly. The sea bass carpaccio light and flavored with mint and watermelon fantastic. The fried japanese squid with tarter sauce sans egg a tasty dish. The octopus juicy and succulent. The jumbo prawn over mashed root vegetable one of our favorites. The tuna tartare with wasabi fish eggs a prized dish. The butter for the warm bread has honey and sesame seeds delicious. Save room for the chocolate souffle. Decadent. Cannot wait to return. Chef Benet is a genius in the kitchen. The wait staff friendly, professional and on point. Thank you for another memorable meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Service impeccable, menu review and review of chef's special was superb , set up our dinner selection. Worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Everything was spectacular. From the service to the food it was unbeatable. One of the best dining experiences I've had. We had the tuna pegao, the truffle cheese empanadas, the mushroom risotto and the halibut special of the day!

Was all amazing!! Would go back anytime. Congrats to the chef!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I made a reservation for 6:00 p.m. The restaurant even called me two days prior to my reservation date to confirm. When we got to the restaurant that evening @ 6:00, it was not open yet. It was finally open @ 6:30, and we got a table, but it almost messed up the schedule for the night to celebrate my birthday. We will never go back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Wonderful food, great service, great wine list and very good value for money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

It's my favorite restaurant in Puerto Rico. Will Benet, the Chef & his staff are outstanding.

I have recommended it a lot & everyone that goes loves it.

Looking forward for my next trip to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Pikayo has amazing food by a very talented chef, Save space for the chocolate soufflé.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great evening with very special food. We particularly liked the blend of Puerto Rican natural dishes with fusion from other geographies. We also had great service and the timing of wines and dishes was on cue. Fantastic dining.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Unbelievable, a must place to visit when in Puerto Rico🇵🇷

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Pleasant ambiance and tasty food. Appetizers and small plates are excellent. Main course dishes are good but more on the standard side of things. Extensive and varied wine list. Large restaurant yet service is prompt.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Perfect as usual. Each year we travel to PR and Pikayo is top of the list for a must do. Always impressive: quality, service, food, wine.... can't ask for anything else

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Outstanding food and service. A total unique experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We went to celebrate our 35th anniversary. The front of the house was very accommodating an gave us one of the best tables. We had an excellent meal with very polite and professional attention by everyone. Overall the food was very delicious. I had the seared Foie Gras and I can honestly say that it was the best Foie Gras I ever had. My wife had a little bit of difficulty selecting an appetizer since there are limited dairy-free choices. After a little bit of back and forth the GM stopped by and was very accommodating in modifying a pasta plate for my wife. For entree we had the duck breast and the sea bass. Both were delicious. We enjoyed a very good meal an a pleasant environment. Prices are on the high side more in the range on Michelin Star restaurants.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I have been to Pikayo many times in the past. This time around, the service was truly horrible, there were no ingredients for the house drinks and my partner and I felt that we had just dined at a Chili's restaurant thanks to our server. Don't get me wrong, the food is great- but they're treating what was once a great establishment like a regular hotel restaurant. Don't get your hopes up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Best service I ever had in Puerto Rico.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent food, service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Food was very tasty, but salty. Service was absolutely the best you could imagine. Atmosphere was first class.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Unbelievable - every time I'm in Puerto Rico this is a must visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 15, 2016

restaurant cancelled our dinner due to power outage. we were sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Place was close. Nobody to talk and get information Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Food, service and decor 10/10. Friendly, on point service Water glasses always filled. Decor is so beautiful. The food is delicious. . Great wine list. Tuna tartar , octopus apps our favorites. Really great. All fish entrees cooked and flavored perfectly. Get a souffle to end this wonderful meal. Perfection. We would highly recommend to friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 12, 2016

ridiculous food and service. Yummy !!! A+++++ would highly recommend

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent latin fare with a gourmet twist! Year after year they maintain excellence! Don't miss this San Juan Gem! You must try the Guandules Rissoto with Chicharon and the Filete Encebollado!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 8, 2016

One of the best food flavors we have experienced lately. From the richness of the mushroom soup, to the savory slice used in the turnovers, the soft sauce used in the lobster salad and ending with the excellent cooked risotto, the progression of flavors was an unexpected culinary experience.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Tienen algunos platos muy bienos y muchos otros mediocres o regulares. Esto último no debe suceder en un restaurante en el que los platos principales cuestan un promedio de $50.00. Las salsas de los dos pescados que ordenamos no estaban bien balanceadas; las del pez espada y la lubina no favorecían a los pescados. Incluso, la de la lubina era una sala de tomate rostizado, cuyo sabor se asemejaba a una burda salsa a la BBQ. En los aperitivos, la ensalada de remolacha con queso de cabra y las bolitas de queso estaban muy ricas. También, el soufflé de chocolate y flan de queso.

El servicio estaba bien, pero nada excelente, como en otros restaurantes de esta categoría.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We picked this restaurant because it was near to our hotel and it had good reviews. Food was excellent (lentils, beets, shrimp and tuna) and service great. Dessert- a brownie was one of the best I've ever had! I would recommend to everyone looking for a nicer restaurant in the Condado area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our meal was exceptional! The service was top notch and all of the staff was very knowledgeable and attentive. The food was absolutely delicious and we won't soon forget our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Best restaurant in Puerto Rico. Highly predictable great service and experience. Very consistent experience in flavors, quality, attention, details and enthusiasm in making you a happy customer.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Excellent food, great ambiance and impeccable service. This is an anniversary dinner we will always remember. Even though dishes are a bit expensive, they are totally worth it! The potato soup with truffles is to die for!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had to wait 30 mins for our drinks- for the first round and the second round. The service was sub par. Had to ask twice for drinks. The gouda cheese parissene was fried and wasnt that great. The concierge desk lady was rude as well when we asked for a taxi. Too pricey for sub par food and service wouldn't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.