Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.54mi
  1. Distance: 3.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.54mi
  1. Distance: 3.54mi

About Pikayo

Going strong since 1990, serving primarily locals our version of many classics from around the world with the inclusion of local favorites as well as contemporary fusion dishes. This is Chef Wilo Benet's flagship restaurant.

999 Ashford Avenue
San Juan, PR 00907
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Puerto Rican, International

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 721-6194

Website:
http://wilobenet.com/restaurants/pikayo.htm

Catering:
Upscale off premise catering. Will travel abroad. Experienced in high volume.

Executive Chef:
Alex Rivera

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Pikayo is located in the Ocean Wing of the Conrad Condado Plaza, overlooking the pristine Caribbean crystal clear blue waters with it"s tropical sunset. Perfect for memorable private events.

Pikayo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (38)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Good for a Date (34)
See All
Romantic (32)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Modern Decor (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Waterfront (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Business Meals (12)
Scenic View (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Cozy (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Authentic (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Private Room (5)
Tapas (5)
People Watching (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Late-night Find (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Casual (1)
Fun (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
697 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Top notch food and overall great dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

I live in NYC. I have travelled around the world and been to some of the finest restaurants. I rank Pikayo in my top 10 worldwide. Dont miss out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Excellent! Amazing food. Wilo Benet is a phenomenal host and chef!

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 10, 2017

2nd visit in 3 weeks for business meals. The food is outstanding! Wilo Benet even visited the table!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Food was fantastic. Great ambiance. Service was first class. We truly enjoyed it. Pricey so not an everyday place but perfect for a special occasion or daye night.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Not quite disappointing, but an overall underwhelming experience for the price. Food was good, but nothing memorable. Service had some glitches. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Consistently great food and service, in an elattempt gang environment

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

One of the best restaurants we've experienced in years!! Service was outstanding, food was incredible! A great spot in Puerto Rico if you are looking for something very special! Try the escargot--it's amazing! We can't say enough about this amazing place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Overall good dining experience. Pricey, but did have good service. Portions are small and are served quickly. The chocolate soufflé was amazing! Best ever...

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 17, 2017

From the moment we arrived at the establishment we received impeccable service and attention. The food was great and cooked to perfection. This was one of the classiest restaurants I've been to and I would return again.

Tags: Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was beyond amazing. The best mushroom risotto we have ever eaten. The steak was perfectly cooked and the shrimp were gigantic.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Delicious dinner...portions were larger than expected. We could've have split an entree as we could not finish our individual meals. Otherwise, perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

service and ambience were great.Food was 7 out of 10 and certainly not worth $350 for 4

Tags: , ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Food was very fresh and service extremely good. I recommend the seafood and tapas highly. Everything we ordered was wonderful.

Tags: Tapas, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Jason is amazing
Food is incredible

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We loved dinner at Pikayo! Jose had great advice and a great sense of humor! We loved the spicy crab bucatini, the swordfish and the duck!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Excellent! The mushroom risotto, foie gras, escargot, and tuna tartare were exceptional! Our favorite spot in San Juan.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Service was good, guys were great! The food was not fantastic. With a nice place, I expected better. Fish over cooked, steak cutlet for child was too well done.
Wine was good!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 7, 2017

It was our first anniversary so we decided to splurge. Pikayo was a great choice! The service was great, kind of slow but I think that was part of the style for you to sit and savor. The swordfish was amazing, the boar dumplings were pretty unique (loved the tamarind sauce). my steak was delicious as well. nice view of the ocean, interesting menu. don't expect to get out quickly or under $250 for two, but it's worth it if you have the time or if you want something special!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 5, 2017

José and all the staff members who served us tonight were attentive, knowledgeable of the menu, pleasant and just absolutely amazing. Will definitely dine at Pikayo again. It's also the perfect restaurant for a romantic dinner or to celebrate a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Awesome as always! Love Pikayo. A must everytime we visit Puerto Rico

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The food was creative and delicious! We began with the octopus & fois gras as our appetizer, followed by the sword fish and the shrimp for dinner, our dessert chocolate soufflé!!! The service was friendly & attentive. Good selection of wines.
.
Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Food was ok. A bit overpriced. The risotto with gandules and burrata were perfect. The scallops were too salty and mushroom risotto was avg. Good cocktails

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Just for starters, the staff is tremendous. Friendly, courteous and professional, and very knowledgeable about all items on the menu and at the bar. My Wife and I were on our honeymoon, not trying to spend a ton of money as we are about to move out of the country, but we decided we needed a fancy night out. We love eating local cuisine wherever we go, and Pikayo fit that to a 'T'. Sure you can and will find places in the San Juan area for cheaper, but the quality and the ambiance at Pikayo was well beyond worth it. I feel terrible for not recalling our waiter's name (we were there end of March), but he had a great sense of humor, very responsive, extremely friendly, and made sure we were taken care of the entire night.

And the bourbon old-fashioned.... Well, I wish we had a thumbs emoji in the review box. I would post about 12 of them. So I'll just say Phenomenal. The Swordfish was undoubtedly the best I have ever had. Cooked to perfection.

Highly recommended.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Romantic, Cozy, Healthy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Food was outstanding with portions larger than expected. Bar area was very noisy due to a large party.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 29, 2017

I went with family to celebrate my 50th birthday. They give us a table by the window with a gorgeous view of the ocean. Everything was fantastic. It's a beautifully crafted menu, and the flavors and presentations were creative and contemporary. One daughter had the traditional steak and onions with shoestring fries, and it was prepared perfectly. Three of us had different fish entrees, and they were all fantastic. I had three hors d'oeuvre, including and mushroom risotto that was absolutely to die for. The only thing I didn't love was the empanadillos, mostly because the truffle tomato sauce was very sweet. We had both types of soufflé for dessert (chocolate and cheese/guava), and they were amazing. Highly recommend!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Best restaurant in Puerto Rico. Dinner was superb my guest were very impressed and delighted.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner, exceptional service and beautiful view. We each had a salad and a small plate which was perfect for dinner with the opportunity to try several dishes.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Despite the beautiful dining room and the top notch wait staff, we were disappointed in Pikayo. Most of the dishes we ordered were disappointing. However, the overall experience would cause me to recommend this restaurant to someone visiting Puerto Rica.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great staff! Service was good, wine good and overall experience was pretty good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Our 2nd time back in a week. A+ all the way around !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The food was AMAZING!! Everything was so well seasoned. We loved every bite of every dish!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The pan seared foie gras was the super nova of a star studded gastronomic feast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

What an amazing meal we had. My daughter and I were on vacation together and had a fabulous meal. Our table was ready right away, the waiters were attentive without being over-bearing and helped us navigate the menu perfectly. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The service was outstanding and more than offset the mediocre meal and unusual clientele. Hard to know whether this was the best in San Juan.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Amazing experience!!! Wilo Benet, Pikayo's chef and the author of a great cookbook came out to greet me and gave me a signed new copy of his cookbook because I told him that mine was in tatters from all the use. The food was delicious- especially the South American Sea Bass.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

A phenomenal experience in every respect, so much so, we are returning to eat a few days later

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Nice setting. Good food with local selections from PR dishes too served nicely. Good wine selection and desserts. Beautiful restaurant and bar area

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Excellent experience and wonderful food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.