Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Pierre Loti Union Square

Named after the turn-of-the-century French novelist, Pierre Loti Union Square offers an extensive menu of European wines. French varietals dominate the offerings, but the selection includes a healthy mix of other regions and grapes (Austria, Italy, and even Turkey make appearances). There are daily pocket-friendly specials, and each pour comes with a little extra in a fancy carafe. The wine-friendly food menu includes an impressive choice of cheeses and small plates ranging from Mediterranean dips, salads and a delectable choice of chocolates for dessert. Vibe-wise, the ultra-dim lighting ensures the place stays rife with snuggly couples as well as groups of friends looking for an enjoyable night out.

53 Irving Place
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Turkish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 4:00PM - 2:00AM

Cross Street:
17th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 777-5684

Website:
http://www.pierrelotiwinebar.com/

Parking Details:
Nearby Subway Stops
4, 5, 6, L, N, Q, R, W at 14th St.-Union Sq

Executive Chef:
Ismheal Topal

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Happy Hour

Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour

Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 3, 2017 - Dec 3, 2017 on Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Pierre Loti Union Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.7

ambience

3.8

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
See All
Cozy (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Tapas (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
87 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 20, 2017

This place didn’t impress me. The pictures they have online of the outdoor area are actually of the adjoining restaurant which seemed much nicer. We went on a weekday around 6 and they were already allegedly out of most of the menu items. The food was unimpressive for the price and the service was just ok. The outdoor area was dirty crowded and very loud. With the plethora of options available around union square I would definitely go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Great for groups but really not ideal for a first date. High energy and fun place but you'll be hard pressed to hear your partner

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Great, but the music could've been lower.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Great wine bar with sharing plates for small groups. We had a friends get-together and shared a bunch of plates and a few bottles of wine. Also very romantic and fun. Would recommend!

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

My husband and I loved it here. The service, ambiance and wine selection were all great! Our server put together an assortment of cheeses and meats and everything was delicious! A great cozy spot and really friendly service. Can't wait to come back again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Is one of my favorite places to have an intimate dinner with good wine in Union Square. :)

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Casual, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Got together with my book club. It was quiet and dark, the food was excellent, the wine was delicious, the service was attentive without being overbearing. A good place for a low-key night out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

When we arrived our table was not ready. They had to put together a table despite having made a reservation. Service was not that good, food was average at best - didn't seem very fresh. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Loved the ambiance (cozy and quiet), wine selection and good service. I came with a group of 6 and we had a great time. Also, a great spot for a date!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Casual, Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 29, 2016

When I chose this restaurant I intended to have dinner with some friends there- however, there isn't really a dinner menu- it's a fun place for a good selection of appetizers, but we ended up going someplace else in the neighborhood for dinner.

Tags: Tapas, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great ambiance and food ! Romantic and chilling dinner! I would recommend this also for price good balance quality/price

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 6, 2016

The service was bizarre at best, but the food was excellent and a good value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2016

Great place to enjoy wine & dinning with friends ... just little crowd between tables if you don't mind

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2016

We had a reservation, and were seated quickly. Very good selection of wines, and tasting plates. HOWEVER, the tiny "chips" served with the fois gras are microscopic; it would be much better with the bread that is used for the Tartines.

This was a Friday night, and the place was vibrant and crowded, but not unruly. We are anxious to try on other weeknights for comparison, as this place hes real potential for a great little cozy wine spot!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Cute little spot! Simple. Classy. Great date spot. I'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Went here only for drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2016

Great wine selection but it was so hot in the restaurant, we had to leave to have food elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2015

I love Malbec and unfortunately they only had one option but it was good. Just went for a bottle of wine as i have a Gluten/Dairy allergy and they really didn't have any options for me to choose from. The Hostess was nice and she did call me ahead of time to tell me of the limited options for GF but i wanted to check the place out anyway and decided to go just for wine.
Its great for a nice conversation, romantic encounter, intimate space and nice lighting. I would suggest perhaps they add mixed nuts/dried fruits as an options for GF guest or crudite/hummus options. Just a thought.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2015

Bad food. Bad waitress. Bad room. Owners seem to be spending time somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2015

I have been to this location as well as the one in Chelsea, many times. It was a Friday night, but I didn't expect club music to be playing so loud in the main dining room. Luckily it was a nice night and we sat outside. We shared some of the small plates and 2 of our items had things missing from them...different than the menu. I was told that the chef had recently changed the menu, but it seemed odd that they would change the menu and only remove something so minor or replace a certain type of cheese with one less desirable. We didn't enjoy our meal at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2015

A nice selection of wine, some are pretty pricey but luckily there is a wide range of prices. For accompaniment, there were good menu options for cheese and charcuterie platters plus some extra snacks. Our server was knowledgeable and able to recommend good choices. Went on a Saturday at 4pm (their opening time) so had a pleasant quiet vibe. Will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 2, 2015

Very nice servers who were helpful. Excellent wine choices. Good options for light meals.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2015

Good food and great ambiance. I've gone for dates and meet ups with friends. The wine list is extensive, the food has been consistently delicious, and the vibe is chill and relaxed.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2015

This was a very nice tapas bar in a beautiful area. We stopped in right when they opened and had the place to ourselves. Good wine selection, great food, attentive service and a very nice atmosphere. It was just what we were looking for.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2015

I made the reservation more than 24 hours in advance and received a confirmation e-mail. I got to the restaurant right at our reservation time with my colleague, and we were expecting clients to join us. Upon our arrival, I indicated my name and for what time and how many people we had the reservation. I was told by a young woman at the door that we were not on the list. I then asked them to check again, and they had the same exact response and said "I don't know what we can do, I'm sorry." I then showed them my confirmation e-mail, and they said there was still nothing they could do but that they would call the manager over. The manager reviewed the e-mail and asked us to wait 2 minutes while he checked as to what he could do. After that two minutes had passed, my colleague and I looked over to see him at the bar pouring drinks; clearly not attempting to rectify the situation. He then looked over and said "give me one more second", so we did. He returned to the bar once again, at which point I approached him and asked if anything was being done/what was going on. He said "well, I'm trying", which again, it was clear that he wasn't. There was no real effort put forward to try to make it right, and all that was done was blame was placed on Open Table because THEY didn't have the reservation in their system. They could have at least said, "I'm very sorry, you're more than welcome to wait a little bit while we wait for a party to leave" or "we can try to give you another reservation time some other time to make up for it" - literally nothing was attempted. We ended up leaving, both by choice and due to the fact that they would not do anything. I will not be back and it's a shameful excuse for service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2015

If you're looking for some wine and cheese - this is it in the Union Square area. Place was hopping at 7PM on a Wednesday, to the point they were running out of menus. Also some menu items and wines...
We had the charcuterie and cheese platters, wine & beer. Wine was at proper temperature (good thing for a wine bar) and most platter items were very good. There isn't a lot of food there, so don't expect to "fill up."

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2015

the food was delicious as was the wine list, but for a thursday night at 730 pm i was not expecting the noise level that restaurant had. you can barely converse with your guests

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2015

I came with friends, but this place is erfect for a date. Quiet, romantic, dim lights.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2014

Had a gift certificate for the restaurant so we went for our anniversary. Charming atmosphere and amazing food. I loved every second of it. We order TONS of food and plenty of wine...and cava....and chocolate!! Everything is great and also extremely reasonably priced. Highly recommended!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2014

My wife and I had our first date here. We came back to celebrate our 2 year anniversary & it was just as beautiful as the first time. The cheese & wine selection are outstanding. Thanks again & we will return soon!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2014

We stopped in after the theater for a drink and a bite. The place was buzzing and it took a while for our waitress to appear. We got our drinks and later our glasses of wine and charcuterie, all of both of which were fine if not intelligibly identified by the waitress. She was constantly chatting away with a table of young men. She had to be reminded by the busboy to bring us our food. She never checked to see if all was ok. And I had to get one of the men she was still talking with to get her to bring us our check. The evening would have been much more satisfactory if the service had been professional.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 27, 2014

Nice little wine bar. Reasonable prices (for New York) and good wine list. Across the street from Casa Mono but a bit quieter and more low-key. We sat outside in their outdoor area, quite nice. We got chorizo and a selection of cheese to go with our Carmenere from Chili. Lovely evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2014

We were looking for a place in that neighborhood for a lite bite before a show. While the food menu is
limited, it is primarily all about the wine, there weren't a lot of choices but we enjoyed what we ate.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2014

Disappointed in the service, the waitress behaved like we were a burden. Small place, was not crowded and we were a table of 5 and we almost had to send up flares to get her attention and then when she got there all FROWNS

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2014

PRO: Looking for a great place to have a glass of wine and a small bite? A place where you can choose between an outdoor sitting with a Paris-style people-watching, and cozy indoor space with huge selection of wine under the ceiling?
Look no further! This wine bar is the place you will keep coming back with your friends, business partners or your loved ones!
Don't forget to order cheese with rose petal jam!
CON: plan on having your espresso elsewhere. Like many other wine bars, this place doesn't serve coffee or tea.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2014

Food was good, service was nice but lacking. They took a while to get our order and when they did they forgot part of it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2014

Been here a bunch of times for dates and such. Very nice atmosphere! Reasonable prices too, more or less.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2014

I met with old friends at Pierre Loti for my 25th birthday and we all had a fantastic time. Great wine list, delicious appetizers, and comfortable seating. Amazing service - the waitstaff was great at providing quality service efficiently, politely, and unobtrusively. I'd highly recommend going to Pierre Loti if you want an elegant night out. We booked the table in advance so we didn't have to worry about waiting around for seating.

My only complaint would be that the lighting was too dim - it was comfortable for socializing, and it was pleasant atmosphere, but even when holding the table candles directly above our menus, it was hard to read anything off the menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2014

This is a wine bar with appetizers and salads, all very good. But don't come here expecting a full dinner. There isn't even any coffee. We three were there early (5:15) and were the only customers, except for a couple sitting outside. When we left at about 6:30 there were still no other customers. How do they stay in business in this Union Square neighborhood, which is crowded with bars and restaurants? But it was fine for our needs on this particular day. (We were going to a concert that started at 7.) We would have been happier if espresso were available--and if they raised the level of the lighting; very dim.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 19, 2014

Decent wine bar good service nice wine. Seating a bit uncomfortable and slightly run down but it's Romantic etc

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.