Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

MateoMateo
(1637)
$$$$
Spanish | Durham, Durham
Booked 33 times today
M SushiM Sushi
(433)
$$$$
Sushi | Durham, Durham
Booked 38 times today
Gonza Tacos y Tequila - DurhamGonza Tacos y Tequila - Durham
(398)
$$$$
Mexican | Durham, Durham
Booked 11 times today
The Pit - DurhamThe Pit - Durham
(569)
$$$$
Barbecue | Durham, Durham
Booked 16 times today
The DurhamThe Durham
(183)
$$$$
American | Durham, Durham
Booked 25 times today
NanaSteakNanaSteak
(569)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Durham, Durham
Booked 27 times today
Viceroy British PubViceroy British Pub
(86)
$$$$
Indian | Durham, Durham
Booked 11 times today
Counting HouseCounting House
(484)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Durham, Durham
Booked 20 times today
Taberna TapasTaberna Tapas
(557)
$$$$
Tapas / Small Plates | Durham, Durham
Booked 18 times today
Dos PerrosDos Perros
(1280)
$$$$
Mexican | Durham, Durham
Booked 13 times today
BasanBasan
(253)
$$$$
Japanese | Durham, Durham
Booked 18 times today
The Little Dipper - DurhamThe Little Dipper - Durham
(586)
$$$$
Fondue | Durham, Durham
Booked 6 times today
Clouds Brewing-DurhamClouds Brewing-Durham
(16)
$$$$
Gastro Pub | Durham, Durham
Booked 2 times today
The PatioThe Patio
(10)
$$$$
Grill | Durham, Durham
Booked 1 time today
Saint James Seafood Restaurant and Raw BarSaint James Seafood Restaurant and Raw Bar
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
Seafood | Durham, Durham

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Piedmont Restaurant


Piedmont in Durham, NC features adventurous and seasonal cooking, inspired by all that the Piedmont region has to offer. Local farm-grown ingredients are intensified using avant-garde methods; classic dishes are reimagined with an inventive spirit. The results are deeply flavorful, comforting, and often ethereal. Piedmont’s craft cocktails, local beers, and versatile wine list complete the modern farm-to-table experience.

401 Foster Street B-2
Durham, NC 27701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Sunday: 10:30AM - 2:00PM

Dinner:
Monday-Saturday: 5:30PM - 10:00PM
Sunday: 5:30PM - 9:00PM

Cross Street:
Seminary Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 683-1213

Website:
http://www.piedmontrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on Foster and Seminary Streets.

Additionally, a free parking lot is available across from the restaurant during dinner hours.

Executive Chef:
John May

Private Party Facilities:
We are happy to help you plan your private party events. Please contact the restaurant to discuss our private party options further.

Currently, our mezzanine level accommodates 40 guests or less. For events with more than 40 guests, a buyout of the entire restaurant is required.

Each private dining event has a custom menu from our Executive Chef. Therefore, pricing varies based off of the menu and selections. Please contact the restaurant to discuss your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Crawford Leavoy: (919) 683-1213

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://piedmontrestaurant.com/events/

Sort By:
S
1136 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Awesome restaurant and a great meal to celebrate a graduation. Wonderful service and a very unique menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Very nice surprise. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The Buffalo Brussel sprouts were the best part of the meal. Oh, and they were consumed before the dreadful seasonal tasting menu "featuring" beats. The chef phoned it in on the second course, which was just a pile of beats on a plate. We partake in many tasting menus, and this one was lack luster in effort and style. The desert course was nearly as bad. The beat cake was dry and the beat cookie crumble had an overly earthy dirt taste. The only way to choke this down was custard and white chocolate on the plate. I can't say if I would go back. There are a lot of options out there. The only plus was the wait staff. They tried to put a brave face against this shameful offering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The restaurant decor is very nice without feeling uppity. Food was creative (like hog head croquettes) and delicious. Even very "basic" foods like the fried catfish was scrumptious. Great variety of tasty cocktails too. I will definitely recommend my friends to go to this place.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 24, 2017

eclectic menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Piedmont had been on our 'do eat at' list since w moved to Durham four years ago. We had tickets for a play at DPAC and wanted to make our evening special. Hubby had chicken (I can't remember the full name) and I had the beef ribs and both meals were beautifully done. The meal was expensive but well worth the it. The waitstaff was knowledgeable and attentive. And dessert small servings but just enough so you didn't leave feeling too stuffed!

Tags: Cozy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 23, 2017

The food was excellent to be sure, but the portions were so small that they bordered on precious. (For example, the appetizer was four paper-thin slices of rockfish that were the size of a quarter with a half dozen micro-cubes of beets.) It's pretty rare that I eat a 4 course meal and still remain hungry. I appreciate the movement away from super-sized portions, but it appears that the pendulum has swung a little too far the opposite direction at Piedmont.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Piedmont has wonderful food. I had the best Brussels sprouts of all time. The waiter was great and visited the table just enough. I love how Piedmont locally sources a lot of the food.
The only thing I would changes is they had a lovely floral arrangement that consisted of several lilies. The flowers had an intense smell and I had a migraine from it that night. I know others who have similar sensitivity to strong sweet smells. They may want to consider using less fragrant flowers.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We have eaten at Piedmont several times. Our group of 8 had somewhat varied experiences this time. 2 people had duck breast. It was extremely spicy, and quite difficult to cut, even with the steak knife that was delivered with it. 1 person ordered the roasted carrot (the vegan entree for the evening.) Was very tasty - but was only 1 carrot - not very filling. It looked lost on the plate. Fortunately, we had ordered several appetizers for the table - all of which were great. The shortribs were reported to be very tasty as well. Desserts were excellent. Wonderful service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Vegan, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Piedmont has been our go-to restaurant in Durham, NC, for quite a while, but this last visit was very disappointing: the menu was curtailed, and the cooking not at all up to scratch. All restaurants can have an "off" evening, but I do hope that this is not part of a trend.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was outstanding. My wife and I prefer the smaller portions and we split the Short Rib and were both very happy. My had the beet appetizer, which she like very much and I have the oyster mushroom appetizer, which was delicious. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service and food exceeded our expectations. Will return in the near future.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First visit. Brought wife and business partners. Service was attentive and not at all stuffy--very personable in fact. Menu changes seasonally and has enough choices to cover carnivores to vegetarians. Wine list is a little overwhelming at about 700 selections, but sommelier provides excellent insights. A mistake was made with our wine selection (an understandable one), and our table of four was comp'd with both desserts and after-dinner drinks. It was more than fair, and there were no tough negotiations involved!

We expect to return whenever we can.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The seasonal prix fixe menu (with wine pairing) is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is our third time at Piedmont and we've loved it everytime. It's our go to for a special occasion and definitely worth the price once in a while. Each time has had a new menu and each time we've really enjoyed the food.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fun, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent food, wonderful service, and great ambiance. The food was really really incredible.

Tags: Organic, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Perfection! Well lit restaurant with high ceilings and beautiful wood tables. I ordered a Bloody Mary, which came with a blue cheese stuffed olive - my favorite! And hard to find. We ordered the apple donuts - SO GOOD - for the table. My friend and I both had the eggs Benedict with asparagus and blue cheese hollandaise. I love that the menu is classic with their own spin. My boyfriend had the eggs breakfast with grits, etc… the eggs were all cooked to perfection. Everything was cooked to perfection. I also liked that the salt was ground sea salt instead of table salt. Our waiter, Ryan, was very nice and accommodating, storing our suitcases for us while we dined (our next stop was the airport). Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Piedmont's dishes never disappoint. They have a wide variety of southern-inspired options. This place is great for brunch as well as dinner, and is very reasonably priced for a sit-down restaurant!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Amazing experience! We did a tasting menu and everything from the service to food to the knowledge of the Crawford (the general Manager) was incredible. We had the luxury of just relaxing and let the chef choose the menu items. Crawford selected wines to go along and gave us a taste of wines we would not have normally chosen and rare ones. Each and every course was delicious. It is a perfect farm to table experience with the stories to go along.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Very disappointing meal. Our dinner took 3 hours, which was far too long. It took well over an hour for the entrees to arrive, and some at the table had not ordered a first course. Those who did have a first course had their empty plates sit for quite some time until the entrees came. Water was refilled, but dirty plates weren't cleared. The food, when it came, was good, but it did not make up for the extremely slow and inattentive service. I won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our group of nurses has dined monthly for years, experiencing all types of restaurants. We liked the ambience and service at Piedmont, above other restaurants. The food got mixed reviews. At $12-15 a glass, the wine should have been either generously poured or of high quality; it was neither. The quail was nicely presented on a bed of greens/beans and the fried trout was crisp and tasty. The lamb with beet ravioli tasted great but was such a small portion, diners were left still hungry. The 3 desserts we shared just didn't make the cut: tres leche was bland, chocolate chip pie was dry and the recommended pot de creme rich, but too flavored with coffee/not enough chocolate.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went there because I had heard this was an excellent restaurant and it didn't disappoint. This is a phenomenal restaurant and I highly recommend it to anyone who is looking to be satisfied with your meal.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Small portion sizes even the beets. For beer month, one would think that beets would be more ample and plentiful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Third visit in the last 6 months. I am afraid quality has gone down each time. I had the scallops. Thought described as blackened, they were actually fried with a not very tasty batter. The scallops were small and not particularly fresh. Not heading back to Piedmont soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 29, 2017

While the food, for the most part, was tasty, there was not enough to satisfy. Several of us ordered off the prix fixe menu. We had 3 small courses which were oddly presented on large plates. One of the dessert choices we ordered was a VERY dry cake. When we told our waiter, he said, "You should have ordered the mousse instead".

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent service, nicely plated and creative food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Wonderful, local food! Customer service was excellent - they were able to make last minute changes to our reservation and were very accommodating even though they were busy. Will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service outshines the food. Food proportions were larger with previous chef.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

One of the best meals we've ever had! Highlights included the use of fresh, local ingredients (which left us full but feeling light/healthy), delicious cocktails, and exceptional service. Will definitely be back for dinner or brunch soon.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

4 of us dined on Friday night. Even though it was quite busy, everything went very smoothly. Piedmont had really built itself on the space, the service, the presentation and wine selection and the food. All of it, a complete dining experience. Last night was impressive on every level. This restaurant is fantastic !!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Went for triangle restaurant week! Great Restuarant food and environment!

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Fun friends night with great wine and cocktails menu! And food was superb!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

It was Triangle Restaurant week so I invited a few friends who have never tried Piedmont. I have consistently received good prompt service and the staff are always so welcoming and friendly. Unfortunately this particular night the kitchen was very backed up and there was an incredible delay in receiving our entrees. Our server Joseph was wonderful and he checked in with us periodically but he had no control over the kitchen. Overall our experience was good and fortunately we had no where else to be after dinner. I would go back again but probably not introduce newbies during Triangle Restaurant Week!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Piedmont continues to be a great option when in Durham. I've been many times with different chefs at the helm. Currently John may is crushing it. I had not been in a while and went for restaurant week, and was absolutely blown away. Piedmont is making it back into my rotation.
Great wine list, but do yourself a favor and talk with Alex the sommelier. Very knowledgeable, very approachable, and will lead you to exactly what you're looking for.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 24, 2017

My wife and I went here for our anniversary and were surprised with complimentary glasses of wine and a good table. I've been here four times and they've had three chef changes and every meal each time has been great and the service always excellent. This is an expensive meal whether you go for restaurant week or not but I have to say this is my favorite restaurant in Durham and better than the other top restaurants you read about. Oh, and the bacon whiskey drink is a must have.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Tonight I picked from the Restaurant Week menu and I enjoyed eating the Brown butter and Apple mousse with pecan streusel and brown sugar for dessert. Probably one of the best desserts I've ever eaten. Everything about the dessert just worked. I highly recommend!

The Speckled Trout w/ Winter vegetables, and smoke carrot jus was also a delight to eat. The decor & ambiance is simple & feels comfortable.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Good was fantastic, great drinks, great service, and great atmosphere. It's our second time here and both were memorable experiences. Must have for foodies. I'm a chef at the umstead hotel and I am beyond happy every time I leave this restaurant. Put it on your must have list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I tried the tasting menu, which at the time featured Squash. I thought the dishes were just ok. I also did their wine pairing. I liked only 1 of the 4 wines. I did not think the pairings were very good. I also thought the size of the wine pours was skimpy, especially the wine for the main course. My wife ordered a specialty drink and the vegetarian entree and had a better experience.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I have been to Piedmont five or six times now, and it never disappoints. This time around, I decided to do the winter prix fixe menu, which was fantastic. Still one of the best restaurants in Durham.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was excellent. I made a reservation and yet even though the restaurant wasn't crowded we were upstairs. I also ask for acup of soup that was on the prefixe menu sndyhe wsitress said it couldn't be served separately. She didnt even go ask. This didn't seem an out of the ordinary request. We did really enjoy our unique dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.