About Pickwick & Frolic

Opened September 6, 2002, Pickwick & Frolic Restaurant and Club, “Home to Hilarities 4th Street Theatre” is Cleveland’s most unique dining and entertainment venue featuring;

A 185 seat Restaurant offering American rustic cuisine made from scratch; a 125 seat Frolic Cabaret hosting dinner and show packages, and a variety of live performances; Kevin’s Martini Bar and Taproom, an intimate Lounge featuring the latest and most innovative martinis in town, plus an all new Champagne Bar; and the 400 seat Hilarities 4th Street Theatre presenting the best in live, national, stand-up comedy from across the country!As with all aspects of this exciting complex, no expense was spared to ensure the highest level of guest comfort. Everything from its unique décor, custom made seating, and select lighting, to the air circulation, have been developed with guest comfort in mind. Pickwick & Frolic is a unique experience that you will not find anywhere in Cleveland, and perhaps, in the country

2035 E. 4th Street
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: 7 Days, 4:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Between Prospect and Euclid Avenues

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 241-7425

Website:
http://www.pickwickandfrolic.com/

Entertainment:
Pickwick & Frolic is all about fun, and nothing says fun like the assortment of entertainment options offered at Pickwick.

Catering:
Food and drink go hand in hand with good times to build wonderful memories! Think about any special occasion or holiday and there is certain to have been good food involved somehow!

Parking Details:
MVP Valet at E.4th and Prospect $8.00 with proof of purchase from Pickwick & Frolic - pay full price upon arrival, you will be reimbursed when leaving.

Parking Locations http://parking.downtowncleveland.com/



Public Transit:
The Regional Transit Authority Routes and Schedules, http://www.riderta.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Thompson

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Pickwick & Frolic can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Courtney Koslo: (844) 852-6328

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Pickwick & Frolic Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (26)
Fun (23)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Worth the Drive (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Casual (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
People Watching (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Romantic (12)
Wood Oven (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Cozy (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Business Meals (8)
Authentic (7)
Historic (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Great Beer (4)
Scenic View (4)
Family Style (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Live Sports (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fireplace (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
299 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I were celebrating our 10 ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

My husband and I were celebrating our 10 year anniversary and we had reservations at 5:00. We showed up a little early and got seated right away. It was not busy at this time. We had a table top of 4 seated next to us with in minutes of sitting down. It was not an intimate seating. We would have likes to not be so close to the people next to us but over all everything was good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good meals overall, but had to send the ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Good meals overall, but had to send the lobster tail back because it was undercooked! Rookie error!

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I'm legally blind they did great with he ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

I'm legally blind they did great with helping me with table and great service. I thank the staff for being so helpful .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quick seating, great steaks and beer lis ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 6 days ago

Quick seating, great steaks and beer list. Unique atmosphere in an old theatre setting. We had a window seat and enjoyed the 4th street people watching during dinner. The noise level was just right for 4 people to have a business conversation.

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Wonderful atmosphere and decor. Very big ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere and decor. Very big place with 2 floor and comedy club in another room.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Casual, Late-night Find, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, People Watching, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Our food was really good, my girlfriend ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our food was really good, my girlfriend got the surf and turf that was a special that night and I got a filet. We had the Cleveland Sausage Party app, which we really liked as well. I would rate my steak below Cleveland Chop, but better than the chain steakhouse and was below $40.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We arrived 15 minutes early and were sea ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We arrived 15 minutes early and were seated right away. The service was excellent. The food was delicious. It was a little too noisy, hard to hear everyone at the table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was very good, no complaint there. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was very good, no complaint there. We truly enjoyed all 3 courses. But it's a very noisy place with people constantly going by your table to the show. Biggest complaint was that when we received our appetizer, which was very, very quickly....our salads came out practically right on top of that and our dinner was served almost immediately after that before even 1/4 our salad was gone. Server asked if we wanted our dinner to wait in the kitchen where it could stay warm but we chose to keep it....even though that was nice to be asked, I would have liked that it be served right after playing BUT in a much more timely manner. I then became aware that most others were served the same way. This meal was our evening out and we would have liked for our courses to not be served in such a quick manner. I would definitely recommend for the delicious food but it lacked in other places.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Started with a great dinner. Food was re ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Started with a great dinner. Food was really excellent and a good value. All four of us very happy with our meals.

Then went to the Pinch and Squeal Vaudeville show downstairs in the Cabaret. Very fun and entertaining. Thought about heading out for a nightcap, but visited Kevin's Martini bar right there instead. Great choice! Really good cocktails and a cool vibe.

Tags: Great Beer, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food! Great service. We eat he ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Awesome food! Great service. We eat here before we go Hilarities. Love this place.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, People Watching, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Annual get together with co-workers, Cow ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Annual get together with co-workers, Cowboy Steak is a favorite of many! never disappoints. The strip steak salad was good, the salmon, good, the walleye, good. The meatball flat bread pizzas awesome :)

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good food, good atmosphere, good service ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Good food, good atmosphere, good service. I would recommend for a nice special evening out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was fantastic. Love the atmosphere. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was fantastic. Love the atmosphere. But it seemed as soon as I asked a question in regard to my gift card....Which was once I put my order in for our meals. .I saw our server maybe one more time. I had to grab a busboy to get us out check. Was pretty disappointed.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Food and service was excellent. We had a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food and service was excellent. We had a great time

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All employees were friendly and helpful. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

All employees were friendly and helpful... I was surprised to see how much a grill cheese sandwich was... All and all, enjoyed the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner was excellent. We looked at the m ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Dinner was excellent. We looked at the menu at other restaurants in that specific location. Pickwick and Frolic was exactly what we were looking for. Rotisserie prime rib was melt in your mouth. Lobster bisque was wonderful. We also went to the late show at Hilarities afterward. Perfect night out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for Dinner and then a Comedy show ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great for Dinner and then a Comedy show at Hilarities Comedy Club in the same venue. Also has a great bar and live stage shows. Great for winter - everything in one warm cozy fun place. Also great in the summer when the patio is open to all of the fun and action on 4th Street downtown Cleveland. Valet parking too. Delicious Steak salad, the Pick Wick and Frolic house salad is amazing! And their fresh homeade pizzas from the pizza ovens - yum!!!! Can't say enough about this Cleveland gem - and the comedians were hilarious! at Hilarities!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fun, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, People Watching, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wood Fired Rotessiere Prime Rib was out ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wood Fired Rotessiere Prime Rib was out of this world! It was New Year's Eve the service, food and atmosphere were awesome. The owner came around to every table to introduce himself and make sure everthing was to our liking.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I love how the owner walks around greeti ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I love how the owner walks around greeting and saying hello to his customers, very nice man. The bartenders treat you like you're their friend, Paul is our favorite, he's always having conversation with his customers

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Casual, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We attended Pickwick & Frolic while wait ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We attended Pickwick & Frolic while waiting for the Trans Siberian Orchestra Performance. The food was excellent and the service matched. Though a very busy time, New Year's Eve with TSO in town, Jay took our order in a timely manner. While we waited, I had a nice craft beer and my wife a cabernet sauvignon. Though I said, "We waited," our dinner selections arrived surprisingly quickly. The portions were great, at least for me. Carol had a hard time finishing all of her meal. That is what I would say was the only 'down-side' - we did not have room for what I am sure would have been an equally scrumptious dessert!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everyone thought the appetizers and thei ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Everyone thought the appetizers and their dinners were 'excellent'. What was the most impressive was the service. Our server, James, was extremely attentive. Went and picked up our tickets for Hilarities, was personable without being overbearing, ensured we were on time to get our seats for the show and even packed our food and stored in the refrigerator while we were at the show. Can't say enough about the service. We go to Hilarities many times through the year and will not hesitate to have dinner at Pickwicks again.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

EXCELLENT! Quickly becoming one of my "g ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

EXCELLENT! Quickly becoming one of my "go to" places downtown. Service was truly superb. The manager was on the floor helping out and had a delightful personality. Our waitress was wonderful.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Quick Bite, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rick the manager was amazing! So thought ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Rick the manager was amazing! So thoughtful showing us around. He was the reason I brought my dental team to enjoy the evening there.

The food was average. Over cooked bacon wrapped shrimp and some basic waiting mixups but overall good. We certainly enjoyed ourselves. The atmosphere was fun. We ate in the main restaurant.

The comedy show leading up to the main act was below average and lacking. The main act Brian Babylon did a nice job. We frequent comedy clubs in Chicago so perhaps not a fair comparison.

Overall, we enjoyed ourselves. We would not likely eat dinner again but certainly would enjoy the bar and snack during or before a show.

Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Amazing ambiance & delicious food!! Pick ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Amazing ambiance & delicious food!!

Pickwick & Frolic was the perfect place for my very special night.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall very nice evening for business h ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Overall very nice evening for business holiday meal and show. This is our second year and we will definitely do this again.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Business Meals, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Not feeling rushed. We had tickets to t ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Not feeling rushed. We had tickets to the comedy show and our reservation time worked well and the waitress didn't rush us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went to dinner before a show at Hilariti ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Went to dinner before a show at Hilarities. Wasn't aware that we could have just ate at the comedy show (menu looked better, sandwiches and bar food). Our server was slow. Had the worst Bloody Mary of my life. No garnishes, hairspray vodka, bland tomato mix. The food was gross typical downtown pre made assembly line food. So many better places to eat with real chefs and real food. Comedy show was ok. Except for our awesome seats that we were pushed out of by a larger group of people. Asked us to move even though we were there first. Now we know how the Native Americans feel. It's first come first serve jerks. Next comedy show we will eat before or grab something small during the show. And just say NO when people ask us to be kind and accommodate for their late rudeness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Wonderful food and atmosphere. It was ni ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Wonderful food and atmosphere. It was nice to be able to talk to our friends without a lot of background noise.

Tags: Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was IMPECCABLE! Food was ve ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Our service was IMPECCABLE! Food was very good & show was totally Hilarious!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Have eaten at Pickwick & Frolic numerous ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Have eaten at Pickwick & Frolic numerous times in the past and always had a wonderful dining experience. I thought this would be a great place to celebrate my husband's birthday. Not the case this time. Service was poor. Our waitress never even introduced herself to us. My meal was served and I had no utensils. When I waver at her, she told me I'd have to wait and she walked off. It was at least 5 minutes before she returned so I could request utensils.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Our go to before Cavs games; wait staff ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Our go to before Cavs games; wait staff gets us in & out-keeping track of game time. Food is always consistent with respect to taste, etc. Tho we miss our favorite waiter, Johnie.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, , Quick Bite, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Very busy restaurant! Operations moved ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Very busy restaurant! Operations moved smoothly but the noise level was to loud for conversation with one another. Ashley was a attentive server. She recognized that we were hungry and patiently waiting for our entrée. Will be back on a night when it ! might not be so busy

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The restaurant had ambiance and the food ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The restaurant had ambiance and the food was pretty good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We were here for Thanksgiving. The varie ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were here for Thanksgiving. The variety of food was great. It all was delicious. If I had to give a complaint it would be some of the side dishes were not real hot. But I should have spooned from the bottom it was hotter there (I discovered at the end).

I would definitely go there again!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Thanksgiving buffet was wonderful. Good ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving buffet was wonderful. Good time not feel rushed, everyone had a great time.....We will go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for Thanksgiving and loved the e ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving and loved the experience. Our family will do this again next year.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Took my parents for Thanksgiving Buffet. ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Took my parents for Thanksgiving Buffet. Great spread - however a bit pricey for what was offered. I would have expected a bit more higher end options like shrimp cocktail or possibly a fish option at the meat table. Otherwise the food was fresh and hot! Much unlike many buffets in the past which make me tend to rethink the buffet option altogether.

Also, BEST PECAN PIE I've had in my life. Made in house. I must have the recipe!!!

This is the perfect spot if your not cooking for turkey day. Simple and close for those who live downtown!

We'll be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The owner came to each table and greeted ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The owner came to each table and greeted us warmly. That is a nice touch that makes you feel welcome and that after all these years he is still hands on and cares about his business and customers.

Service was slow and lopsided. Seems some tables received more attention than others. I did tell the owner but it would not stop me from going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

We did dinner and the comedy club. Atten ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We did dinner and the comedy club. Attentive service, tasty dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were shocked when we realized we were ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We were shocked when we realized we were the only customers in restaurant the entire night. We ordered Walleye which was supposed to be fresh. It came out under cocked indicative of frozen fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.