Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Piatto Ristorante (Galleria)

Piatto Ristorante is owned and operated by John Marion Carrabba of the famed Carrabba family, who created the menu from recipes passed down through four generations. The home-style Italian food found at Piatto Ristorante pleases the palate, as well as touches the heart. John personally oversees all details, making sure that his guests have a fantastic culinary experience. Piatto Ristorante offers full-service catering, private banquet rooms, box lunches and delivery at both locations, Piatto Galleria and Piatto Royal Oaks.

4925 West Alabama
Houston, TX 77056
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm
Friday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm –8:30pm
*Open Thanksgiving Day from 11am-3pm
*Open Christmas Eve from 12pm-9pm
*Open New Year's Eve at 4pm

Cross Street:
Post Oak Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 871-9722

Website:
http://www.piattoristorante.com/

Catering:
We are a full-service caterer that not only provides food, but anything else you may need – from bartenders and servers to valet and decor.

Parking Details:
You are welcome to use our complimentary valet or use the parking garage located behind the restaurant!

Executive Chef:
John M. Carrabba

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining space can seat up to 32 and is perfect for corporate events, wine tastings, birthday parties, bridal showers or any other special occasion. Please contact us if your event calls for a buyout and we'll be glad to discuss details.

Private Party Contact:
John: (713) 871-9722

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Open Thanksgiving Day from 11am-3pm serving a special Thanksgiving menu as well as our regular menu.
Open Christmas Eve from 12pm-9pm
Open New Year's Eve at 4pm

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Have your family join our family for Thanksgiving Day! We are open from 11am-3pm and will be serving a special Thanksgiving menu as well as our regular menu.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Piatto Ristorante (Galleria) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Business Meals (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Casual (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Cozy (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fun (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Romantic (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Music (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
460 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

The service was great - quick; the food was delicious. It lived up to its reputation and our expectation. It's also a fun atmosphere with quick service which is very ideal for lunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Quiet place! Exceptional service. Great tasting food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Love this place, the food quality is great as is their service. Great place for lunch or dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The service (Vasquez) was just attentive enough without being intrusive. The asparagus appetizer is outstanding and is something not found elsewhere. As usual, Johnny Carrabba was a gracious host and greeted us personally.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

The was my first time trying this place out and I have to say the food was DELICIOUS!!!....The service was wonderful our waiter answered all the questions we had about the menu and also recommended a great bottle of wine!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 1, 2017

So many things wrong I don't know where to start! HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE starting with the hostess. Opentable had a website error and sent me an email showing my points redeemed, but did not confirm my time. I called to confirm as I had company joining us from out of town (4 hour drive). I left a vm with no returned call. I also specifically stayed away from 'kid friendly' friendly, as this was an adult evening and none of us have kids. I contacted the restaurant a second time when we got lost and a very rude hostess told me 'show up whenever!' (and still didn't tell us how to get there, just that we were not in the right spot, as we had clearly figured out) I want y'all to know the place is very small, and I did not want to wait AND I had people who drove quite a bit to join me. I walked in and the snarky hostess told me I could sit where I wanted rather than sitting us as there were only a select two tables that were open. I also felt like I was in a zoo, from infants screaming to preteens wandering in between tables that were crammed together ... it is not ideal. I would have left except my points had already been allocated to this restaurant. I was then served a meal that was cold on top and warmish on the bottom. There is nothing authentic about this Italian food and I can see why there were so many kids there. Reminded me of college day TV dinners. Lack of seasoning and poor delivery. My husband had a stuffed shrimp that was decent, however it was served with a rice pilaf of sorts, that if I could have spit out I would have. Save yourself and go Tango and Malbec one block up. BETTER staff and much better food. Do yourself a huge favor and retrain or fire that hostess. I could have overlooked the food, and tried again as our waiter was excellent and thought you may have had an off night - but I will never go back because of that girl up front.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 30, 2017

This place is awesome. I’ve been a loyal customer for over 10 years. ALWAYS delish food and service. Our waiter Enrique is the best!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The food was excellent and got our group in and out timely... menu provided gluten free pasta options for my celiac son... recommend to anyone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food excellent -- Service Friendly - Enjoyable evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Piatto is a family favorite and always reliable, good food!! Thanks for a nice evening!!

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Always good food. Owner Johnny adds a warm touch conversing with guests.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

The food is perfect like always. I enjoy Coming to Piattos on a special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We hadn't been in a few years, and it's still as good as ever! Went during HRW and the selection was awesome.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great Italian food and awesome service . It is well priced !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent service & food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Food and service was great as well as band. Cannot wait until next month when band returns

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Wonderful service. The food was great and the menu had lots of choices!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Poor quality ingredients, bland food, awkward service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We went for Houston Restaurant Weeks menu. First time. Everything was delicious. My husband had calamari, wedge salad, and Johnny's mixed grill. His was a very generous meal and a huge bang for the buck. He thought the lamb was outstanding. I had the signature asparagus special (delicious with beautiful jumbo lump crab), the chopped salad, and chicken milanese. The chicken was so crispy and well seasoned with a perfect caper lemon sauce. We enjoyed eating there very much. It is clearly a locals favorite as it appeared everyone knew everyone else. Very friendly comfortable place with delightfully easy parking across the street in the Dillard's garage. The restaurant was quiet which we find as a huge plus. This was like going to someone's house for dinner. Delicious, homey, comfortable, easy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had great service from a very friendly staff. Both Johnny and his mother stopped by our table just to chat. The food was outstanding as usual. Piatto's has long been my favorite restaurant, and this visit confirmed that.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Always a very friendly place. Accommodating if you need to change pasta that comes with into a vegetable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great food, service & experience! Love that the owner/manager came by the table to see if they could make something special for the toddler in our group, and gave some great suggestions.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Consistently have an excellent meal and the service is always great! Am never disappointed!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 11, 2017

My daughter and I shopped 'till we dropped...into Piatto for dinner. We were warmly welcomed and felt very relaxed. The food was so delicious and the service impeccable. I always forget about this little gem of a restaurant but think we must back soon. I recommend it for good food, casual atmosphere and value.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We have eaten at Piatto's many times but hadn't been in a while. The food is consistent and always good.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My wife and I go to Piatto every couple of months. The service is always friendly and the food is consistently good. I had the Pappardelle with Sausage ala Vodka. It was very good with nice pieces of sausage. My wife requested Veal Parmigiana which is not on the menu, but they were happy to make it special for her. My wife's mother ordered the Crab Cakes appetizer . Two of them showed up on her plate and served as a meal for her.

All in all, we had a good experience. The food is consistently good and the service is friendly and professional and prices are reasonable.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Please put votives on the tables in the evenings! It's too dark & boring! Good food & service, but you need to jazz the place up a bit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2017

A hidden gem with delicious fresh food, a varied menu, friendly service. One of our favorites!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Starting with Mr. Carraba and all the staff, we had an excellent evening. Food and service were 5 star. My wife was very pleased with her birthday dinner experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food is always consistently good and the atmosphere is pleasant and you can have a conversation without having to yell or struggle to hear.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Always top notch food and service! Have been going there since it opened, and never disappointed.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Outstanding food in a quaint atmosphere. The staff was very attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Romantic, Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The house Johnny salad is the best. Always enjoy a double order or single with a chicken or fish. Excellent service and food!!! Perfect for a business lunch in the galleria area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We really enjoyed the food and lemon drops, and our waiter was excellent

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food and the service is always excellent at Piatto's.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We had not been hear for a while. The food was (as usual) good, but the service was not. This was unusual, as the service normally is very good. The server would disappear for long periods of time, and was not overly attentive to our needs. I don't think he had a bad attitude, but he fell far short of what I've come to expect from Piatto. We'll probably go back at some point since the food is good and this poor service was an aberration, but I'll definitely consider other Italian restaurants first.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Excellent Italian food, but don't miss out on their excellent seafood selections! On this visit, I enjoyed an excellent sea bass, in a light lemon butter sauce, topped with lump crab meat and grilled vegetables. It was so delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food is great and the service is fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We took our parents for Mother's Day and the food and service was great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Really enjoyed the delightful restaurant and the food was exquisite. I enjoyed the attention to different unique flavors for each type of dish. It was a busy Mother's Day and everything was still very good. Even the required valet parking was not a big deal. I'll definitely be doing that again, hopefully soon!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.