About Piatto Ristorante (Galleria)

4925 West Alabama
Houston, TX 77056
View Larger Map

Piatto Ristorante is owned and operated by John Marion Carrabba of the famed Carrabba family, who created the menu from recipes passed down through four generations. The home-style Italian food found at Piatto Ristorante pleases the palate, as well as touches the heart. John personally oversees all details, making sure that his guests have a fantastic culinary experience. Piatto Ristorante offers full-service catering, private banquet rooms, box lunches and delivery at both locations, Piatto Galleria and Piatto Royal Oaks.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:30pm
Friday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm –8:30pm

Cross Street:
Post Oak Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 871-9722

Website:
http://www.piattoristorante.com/

Catering:
We are a full-service caterer that not only provides food, but anything else you may need – from bartenders and servers to valet and decor.

Parking Details:
You are welcome to use our complimentary valet or use the parking garage located behind the restaurant!

Executive Chef:
John M. Carrabba

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining space can seat up to 32 and is perfect for corporate events, wine tastings, birthday parties, bridal showers or any other special occasion. Please contact us if your event calls for a buyout and we'll be glad to discuss details.

Private Party Contact:
John: (713) 871-9722

Additional:
Bar Dining, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Piatto Ristorante (Galleria) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (15)
Casual (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
See All
Business Meals (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Private Room (8)
Cozy (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Romantic (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Fun (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
394 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Randomly selected this place off the Int ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Randomly selected this place off the Internet based on positive, previous reviews. This place for sure didn't let us down. Great atmosphere, simple menu and great wine list. Never felt rushed anytime during our visit. Our waiter, Ernesto, was awesome. Gave us some quick hitting resturant factories and backed away for us to make our selection. We went with some of his selections and they were great. Can't I would have asked for anything different during our visit. We would definitely return and definitely as for Ernesto to provide us service again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, , Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The grilled Red Fish and asparagus were ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

The grilled Red Fish and asparagus were great. It was a little crowded so pretty noisey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Helen and I went for Valentine's Day din ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Helen and I went for Valentine's Day dinner. Service and food were outstanding but oh my was it noisy and the tables were so close together.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

As usual, Piatto's food is exceptional. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

As usual, Piatto's food is exceptional. The wine list is good and the service is terrific. A must try place.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My last visit was my second time to eat ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My last visit was my second time to eat at Piatto. Both visits were 4-5 stars. My first visit I was not blown away by the food, but had a good meal for a great value. The atmosphere is cozy with an open style kitchen and nice decor. There are family pictures around the restaurant I'm assuming are the owners, that is a nice touch in my eyes. My second visit I was blown away at the flavor of my dish (tenderloin medallions-server recommendation) and the portion was very generous. But for $22 my meal was a great value period(especially for the galleria area). My wife had fettuccine w/mussels and it looked simple but very good. Both my parents got ckn piatto and they said it was thumbs up. The service was on point and attentive. I would go back for a number of occasions, my parents love this place and I now see why.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Private Room, Cozy, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, , Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service and food !!

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Awesome service and food !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love this place. Never a bad ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Absolutely love this place. Never a bad meal with great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The foods variety was great, perfectly l ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The foods variety was great, perfectly located near the Galleria, great service and great atmosphere.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Casual, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a bad meal or service.

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Never a bad meal or service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Piatto's is a great place to go with bus ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Piatto's is a great place to go with business associates. The wait staff are very attentive, and there are many choices on the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, , Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered two appetizers and they forgot t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Ordered two appetizers and they forgot to bring one out.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food at Piatto is always delicious. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food at Piatto is always delicious. This time the dinner celebrated my daughter-in-law's birthday. Our waiter was attentive, but not intrusive. The veal piccata was delicious, generous, and reasonably priced. We shared tiramisu (with a candle on top) for dessert. I highly recommend it! We will be back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was rightfully busy as it ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The restaurant was rightfully busy as it was New Year's Eve, but it seemed like all the staff was very rushed through the whole service. Not sure if they were understaffed for the night? There were several large parties there that night (20+ people) so that might account for it too. We've eaten at Carrabba's restaurants before and were excited to try the "original" but I wasn't that impressed. I thought the pasta with my dish was a little undercooked because it wasn't quite al dente, but the chicken romano was tasty. I thought my fiance's meal was yummy too but he spent the rest of the evening and next day with an upset stomach.

The ambience was very nice although very, very loud. Also the music seemed a little "off" for the kind of restaurant, if that makes sense. It was loud 90s alternative rock in a white table clothed Italian restaurant. Between the large parties and the music, it was unbearably loud for most of our dining experience. I could see on a quieter night that this place might be cute for a date night and we hate to judge based on one busy night so we'll probably try it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

New Year's Eve 2016 Restaurant was full ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve 2016

Restaurant was full but clicking along nicely. Just a touch slow to get our order, but they made up for it at the end with complimentary Cappuchinos!

And the food was awesome! I had the stuffed shrimp and my wife had Pollo Trivoli, I think. The pasta on her plate was outstanding!!

Owner John was there and actively engaged. Five stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been clients for a long time and ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have been clients for a long time and enjoy dining there. We make it a point to do it on special occasions also!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excelent ambiance and food; service is g ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excelent ambiance and food; service is great... always a great option to dine out

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice restaurant tucked in the Galle ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Very nice restaurant tucked in the Galleria area. Food and service were excellent. A casual atmosphere very nice for conversation. Decent wine list had a very nice Primitivo for $35. Part of the Carraba family lineage.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good on average, no complaints. ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food was good on average, no complaints. However, the service was extremely poor. Waiter was extremely cold and disinterested. Had nothing to offer when asked what he recommended. Then was slow to take our order and slow to bring food to the table whilst many other tables seemed to getting served at a steady pace. Would not come back as there are plenty of other Italian options with equal to or better food, location and consistency in service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Food is always better than good. Uses pa ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food is always better than good. Uses pastis in mussels and I think better than Pernod. I was a bit ticked that there is a three dollar spilt fee for entrees that was applied when my wife and I split a Caesar salad. Entree split charge yes. Sharing a salad charge no. This is true when I had a party of 10 with before and after drinks and 3 bottles of wine with half of the appitizers list being purchased. Any way. Aside from that the asparagus with crab is always a win and my children swear the calamari is best I town as it is cooked with porcenio (butchered spelling) peppers that add a nice kick.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

John Marion Carabba has a winner with th ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

John Marion Carabba has a winner with this place. He and his mother are there keeping an eye on the place more often than not. Their friendly welcomes to everyone helps make the place what it is. The food is hard to beat too. Lots of good family recipes on the menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, , Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Authentic, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistently good food and service. Nice ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Consistently good food and service. Nice to know you can always count on this place. Best fried asparagus appetizer in town!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Private Room, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A great experience - perfect with a good ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

A great experience - perfect with a good choice of food- well prepared and presented

Thoroughly enjoyable

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was steady and attentive eve ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The service was steady and attentive even though it was very busy. They made extra effort to accommodate several special requests from our table of six. The pasta Carbanarra (off menu)was very well prepared and the veal dishes were outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Wonderful evening! We travel through t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Wonderful evening! We travel through the area staying near the Galleria 6-8 times a year. This was our first visit to Piatto, however, and we were very pleased. Service was personal and attentive. The owner, Johnnie, stopped by to chat with us - always nice to know your patronage is appreciated. Food was delicious and best of all the price for this experience was so reasonable! We will definitely make it a regular stop on our trips through Houston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is always a favorite. The owner is ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This is always a favorite. The owner is so welcoming and the food and service are terrific. We've been coming for years and highly recommend for business lunches, special occasions or just a wonderful all around evening out. Post to never disappoints. Great food, value and hospitality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I ordered the risotto with grilled shrim ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I ordered the risotto with grilled shrimp. The waiter said the vegetables that came with were mixed so I ordered spinach instead. I had no idea the spinach would be mixed in with the risotto.

Oh well.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I have lunch here quite often as it is a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 29, 2016

I have lunch here quite often as it is across the street from my office. Many times it's with a group of 10+ people and they have a side room that you can reserve. We always start with the calamari and the fried asparagus - they are great! People have ordered a variety of dishes there and I've never heard one person have anything but good about their food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Private Room, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have eaten here a number of times, and ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I have eaten here a number of times, and was excellent as usual; my two friends had never been to piatto's but also thoroughly enjoyed the food and the ambience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff and management were very accom ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The staff and management were very accommodating to our party of 15.

The food was great and every got served around the same time so we could all eat together.

I will definitely be back.

Tags: Tapas, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Walked in to faint smell of fish market. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Walked in to faint smell of fish market. Food is no better than Olive Garden but twice the price.

Correction. Olive Garden is better at half the price. Please skip. Not in the class of Galleria/Post Oak area restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Wonderful restuarant! Hadn't eaten here ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wonderful restuarant! Hadn't eaten here in couple years and had forgotten how nice it is. Service was great - ambience quiet and romantic! Delicious food - great salad and Lasagna!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pasta was much better than I had antici ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Pasta was much better than I had anticipated . Salad was average but the desert was very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent, attentive service. Excellent ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent, attentive service. Excellent food. The crab asparagus appetizer is a must!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistent menu, service and value. We ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Consistent menu, service and value. We enjoy coming here and appreciate the friendly staff. The ability to hear ourselves have a conversation is a welcome bonus!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and restaurant staff were fabul ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food and restaurant staff were fabulous, however the valet service is rude and disrespectful. We have been to eat four times in the past few months but I am not sure we will go back again because of the valet. Three out of the four times we have been there, there had been a car without handicap tags that the valet parks in the handicap spot. When I asked him about it he said that he couldn't do anything about it if people park there, but I saw him park cars there himself several times. He was smirking and laughing at me when I told him that wasn't appropriate. We told management and they were apologetic but when they went to talk to the valet I could see him laughing. He could care less and seems to park cars there as he chooses. While we are sad not to go back, the experience tainted our evening and I'd rather go somewhere at which the entire experience from parking to dining is pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love love the chicken Marsala!! Our wait ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Love love the chicken Marsala!! Our waiter Enrique is the best!!

Never a bad meal Always good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place! The food was exquisite an ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Amazing place! The food was exquisite and the staff was very attentive and friendly. Will definitely visit again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very nice, service was good ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The food was very nice, service was good. I would definitely recommend this place and I will definitely be back

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Piatto's always does a good job. Intere ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Piatto's always does a good job. Interesting enough menu. Great service.

You've got to get the lemon butter asparagus w/ crab meat appie.

Surprisingly sparse crowd for a Friday noon business lunch.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Should have been busier on a Saturday ni ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Should have been busier on a Saturday night. Everything was super from the person who met us (I actually used OpenTable correctly) to the wait staff. Food was good especially for price. Won't call the place romantic but eating with my son and grandson that wasn't a requirement. Waiter wasn't a wine expert and should have known Italian wines a little better. He was very On the whole very worthwhile.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.