Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.88mi
  1. Distance: 2.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.88mi
  1. Distance: 2.88mi

About Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort

PERLA is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious professional hospitality located in the dramatic shell surrounded by a reflecting pool and beautiful ocean views.

1077 Ashford Avenue
La Concha - A Renaissance Resort
San Juan, PR 00907
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 977-3285

Website:
http://perlarestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Tickets are stamped and guests get a discount.

Executive Chef:
Lindell Smith

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Priscila at the restaurant or via email, priscila@perlarestaurant.com, for more information

Private Party Contact:
Priscila Rivera: (787) 977-3285

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Priscila at the restaurant or via email, priscilatrivera@gmail.com, for more information

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (39)
Special Occasion (31)
Scenic View (30)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Waterfront (28)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Good for a Date (24)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Modern Decor (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Cozy (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Notable Wine List (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Authentic (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Business Meals (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Historic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
People Watching (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Fun (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vegan (2)
Casual (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
794 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

The food portions were SUPER small for what they charged, but it was good. I got the lobster chowder, the black tea pork loin, and the carrot cake with strawberry and vanilla ice cream. Everything was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Food, service and ambiance was great. My only con was the uncomfortable chairs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Surprisingly pedestrian food. Server was managing too many tables, so not very attentive. Only positive for this restaurant is the view.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

When in less than a few miles you find lobster, conch, and local cuisine with way much better flavor, decent portions, and cheaper price, it is hard to say I would come back. I understand the concept very well and the view /ambiance is outstanding, but regardless of how much you pay for a plate, flavor and textures are very important and the lack of flavor and passion in the craft was well noted. Raw plantain and small (er) portions than used to in fine dining restaurants, was a big turn off for us. Service: outstanding.
When I come to this type of restaurant I am expecting to leave the restaurant with one flavor that will leave wanting more, unfortunately this was not the case this time.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Place might look better from the outside. Service was good until we had to get up and pour the rest of our bottle. Also was my date's birthday, and while we had requested a candle on the dessert it was never done. Not the end of the world, but a place like this should take note of guests requests via open table. Fish was delicious, but probably won't come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Very cool view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Tried this restaurant by chance because Budtai had closed. Nice location, atmosphere, and food. Service was strained as there was not enough wait staff for the number of customers. The food was very good. Overall a good restaurant but not up to the prices being charged because of some very simple things.
First, get some real silverware. What they use is about the same as you find at IHOP. Not a slam on IHOP just expect better when the out the door price for dinner is over $200. Second, get the proper silverware for the food being served. I had a lobster and trying to crack a leg or claw with a fork isn't practical, neither is digging shrimp or lobster out of a shell with a full size fork.
Third, train your wait staff on how to serve and remove plates. Never knew which way the service was coming from. Not a big deal but again makes things awkward.

Great food and I recommend it for the food and the fabulous atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The food was amazingly delicious and the service was awesome! I would definitely go back and recommend this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Been here previously, 3 or 4 times. This time around, the service was fine but the food has definitely taken a dive. For starters, we ordered a grilled shrimp appetizer... usually comes with three jumbo shrimp. This time it came with 3 shrimp, in shell. After releasing the shrimp, we were only able to release a tiny morsel of meat. It was laughable. We were in shock at how bad it was. When we complained, she just said "oh yes the menu has changed and now we are using river shrimp." Ok, but the menu description hasn't changed, the price hasn't changed, but they decided to use a much, much smaller and less tasty shrimp. The seafood ceviche also used to be a large portion served in a bowl with lots of plantain chips... this time it was served in a large rectangular plate with maybe 1/4 cup of seafood and maybe 5 chips... also same price and description unchanged. The trend continued on with our entrees. I ordered the sea bass which Ive ordered every time I dine there. Again, the size of the sea bass was about 1/3 the size of the previous amount, maybe less. So basically, they haven't changed the menu. It's just the ingredients that have changed to give you a decrease in quality and quantity. I have no issue with portions being small... totally understandable with 5 start restaurants. But when you do that, you should make sure your food tastes excellent. Unfortunately, the food here is average at best. Cutting corners, tepid service... I don't see why anyone would dine at la perla again when there are so many better options in San Juan. Looks like they don't care about providing a wonderful dining experience... they target their hotel guests and know they'll dine there once and never come back. I even told them it was my mothers birthday that nice and to please put a candle on the dessert. We ordered the desssrt and nothing. Couldn't even do that right. I know I'll never be coming here again. Horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a party of 9 and they did a wonderful job, a little expensive but we all knew that going in. I recommend the sea bass with the lobster risotto.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was amazing and the employees were very sweet :) When I visit again, I will definitely go there again!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Good service and food

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Dining in an oyster shell lit from within by artichoke lights, surrounded by a lagoon of water in front of the ocean is breath-taking. With superb service & cuisine to match the setting, we loved it!! We'll definitely be back on our next trip to Puerto Rico!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Perla used to be one of favorite in PR. I feel like food quality was ok, service was good beside they over charged me for bottle of wine. They charged me 84$ instead of 54$. If I didn't realize it I was gonna pay for it. I am not sure I am gonna go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Food was delicious. Service was quick. Beautiful atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This is a very beautifully decorated restaurant. The ambience is sexy and romantic. The food was delicious. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone who intends on traveling to San Juan Peurto RICO. I live in Pennsylvania and I wish we had this restaurant there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The restaurant was excellent. The hostess, the servers and the food were all outstanding.
The perfect place for that special meal.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Exceptional service and food and drinks served in a friendly and timely manner. The restaurant is beautiful inside and out. Highly recommend it for any occassion. Don't miss this restaurant if you are visiting San Juan!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 24, 2017

I'm no food critic, but I have been to restaurants all over the world and this place was over all one of the best restaurants I've ever been to. I'll start with the service, the staff was highly professional and treated my wife and I like we were truly special. The environment was just amazing... I should note that I don't use that adjective lightly. From the soft ambient music playing to the ocean view, I've never been so engaged in a dining environment. The food... Wow. I got the spicy tuna, my wife went with sea bass. The texture, taste, and presentation of our entrees were out standing on every facet. Each bite was just an overload of taste and the entire meal was very filling. This isn't just a restaurant, The Perla is an experience, and one that must be had if you visit Puerto Rico.

Tags: Vegan, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Cozy, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Very disappointing. Server was inattentive and unpleasant. Seabass with lobster risotto very 'pungent' and seemingly on the edge of being bad. Had been to La Perla a few years back and enjoyed my meal. A lot has changed for the worse. Almost empty diningroom suggests the word has gotten around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The service at Perla is extraordinary. We had a wonderful anniversary and a fantastic meal. Looking forward to returning to Puerto Rico and when we do we will be visiting Perla during our next stay. Thank you for the best meal I have ever had!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

It's de best on condado...... we will finish our vacations with them....!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The only place that comes remotely close to this place is Gordon Ramsey Steak in Las Vegas. Perfect service and amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Beautiful gem right in front of the beach! I made the mistake of reserving at night so we couldn't really see the beach, although the lighting inside the restaurant made for a great romantic dinner. Will definitely recommended. Food was great, drinks even better! Our waiter was very professional. Overall great experience. 👍

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great food, service and ambiance as usual. Recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 16, 2017

La Perla is just stunningly beautiful! The food and wine were superb. We are in Condado beach for a few nights and I am tempted to go again. I had the scallops and it was just divine. We will go back.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Reservations were required even though the restaurant was fairly empty. The service was good. I had the baked lobster and it was average. I had to wrestle it out of the shell and it lacked seasoning or butter. A bit tough as well. I expected better based on reviews and prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

While the food was fantastic, prepare to wait. They lost our ticket resulting in no food arriving until the waiter realized how long we'd been waiting. In the end they credited the deserts to accommodate. An excellent restaurant with a great setting. But, if the food is delayed speak up.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great dinner. Loved the food and restaurant

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food is pretty good but portions are very tiny for the price your charged. Wine selection is good

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Traveling with my girlfriend and two teenage girls and a friend of one of the girls. Chose Perla for our "special" night out to celebrate our last night on the Island. It was also a 16th birthday celebration. Food was very good. Four of us ordered the filet mignon prepared with bacon jam. Desserts were yummy too. Wine list was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We had a fabulous dinner! This place is so nice!!! Delicious food excellent service beautiful atmosphere!!

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Doesnt cater well to children, kids menu was fried food only.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The decor was beautiful and the service was impeccable. It's definitely a place you want to experience once in your life. However with the high prices, it may not be a place you want visit regularly. The food is good but the portions are small. So if you're a big eater, you may want to plan post meal stop at Church's chicken :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great experience overall!
Food delicious with nicely varied menu including vegan options. However, I personally did not love the dessert menu. (Of course I was quite full by that time due to the generous portions)
Wait staff was attentive. The wait for food was not prolonged. If it had been, it would have been ok as the setting was comfortable and the noise level low.
It is pricey but worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

For $38, the sea bass was literally seven bites. I have never had a smaller portion at a restaurant for that price. Outrageous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Fantastic setting and a fantastic dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I've been coming to La Perla for special occasions and every time I'm in the area. This place never disappoints, amazing food ans service. If you get an early reservation, the view of the ocean is amazing. The place itself is beautifully decorated and food is always delish.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Historic, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Went to Perla to celebrate our first night in San Juan and my husband's birthday. The building and interior are beautiful and service perfect! Dinner was excellent - steak cooked perfectly and all food tasty. It is a pricy option however - an 11$ dessert gave us about 3 bites. Just be prepared with your wallet.

Tags: Modern Decor, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Could not produce a well done steak after two tries. Waitress should have waited on the second​ steak for us to cut into it, just dropped it and left. Skip the ceasar salad, dressing is bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.