About Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort

1077 Ashford Avenue
La Concha - A Renaissance Resort
San Juan, PR 00907
View Larger Map

PERLA is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious professional hospitality located in the dramatic shell surrounded by a reflecting pool and beautiful ocean views.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 977-3285

Website:
http://perlarestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Tickets are stamped and guests get a discount.

Executive Chef:
Lindell Smith

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Priscila at the restaurant or via email, priscila@perlarestaurant.com, for more information

Private Party Contact:
Priscila Rivera: (787) 977-3285

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Priscila at the restaurant or via email, priscilatrivera@gmail.com, for more information

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (32)
Scenic View (29)
Special Occasion (27)
See All
Quiet Conversation (26)
Good for a Date (25)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Waterfront (24)
Modern Decor (18)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Cozy (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Historic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Authentic (3)
Private Room (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Casual (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
735 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 8 hours ago

Amazing food staff and view!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Perla it's a wonderful place to dine with great ambiance, excellent service, exquisite food and masterful and timeless architecture of Mario Salvadori who designed this unique building back in the 1960's. The food selection was wonderful. I had diver scallops that were divine. My partner and I had amazing seats with great view of the indoors as well as the ocean. I suggest to get there while there is still a daylight so you get to experience the beauty of this place in both settings.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Seafood ceviche, sea bass and scallops were all amazing. Staff was friendly and courteous. The ambiance and view cannot be beat.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant is beautiful. It's in the shape of a huge clam right on the beach, inside a very nice hotel. The food was good, but not the best seafood I've had. I got the sea bass and it was the smallest piece of fish I've ever had at a restaurant. It was supposed to come with lobster risotto...I definitely did not find any lobster in my risotto. I just wish the fish was more fresh and the portions weren't so small for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Wow! Perla is perhaps the most unique dining experience I've had. The food was incredible, especially the pumpkin agnolotti and the filet mignon. Our waitress was attentive and helpful, and the setting itself is unreal.

I specifically picked a time that would allow my boyfriend and I to be there while the sun set, and it was well worth it. The restaurant slowly filled up but was quiet, romantic, and calm throughout, with a surprise proposal at a nearby table.

Highly recommend Perla with its unbeatable setting and top-notch chef!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This is a beautiful place on the ocean. The views of the beach enhance a fine-dining experience. The room is gorgeous; the service is very warm and professional. Everthing that came out of the kitchen was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very romantic. Jaw dropping view during sunset. Service is very professional.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food and service was excellent! Outdoor seating was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

A BEAUTIFUL PLACE, EXCELLENT FOOD AND SERVICE AND OUR SERVER WAS VERY ATTENTIVE AND HELPFUL.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We dine out a lot as well as try to cook new dishes at home and experiment

The Perla experience was amazing from the restaurant building, interior, decor to the food was well thought off, balanced, innovative we had the bacailitos and arugula salad as starters followed by the scallops and sea bass with mashed garlic potatoes instead of the risotto with vegetables on the side everything had great flavor and the Rose Miraval complimented every single dish. Very accommodating. Thank you for the surprise basil champagne cocktails bar tender two thumbs up

The chef came out personally as well thank you again for a great experience

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had the best meal and enjoyable evening with amazing view for my husbands birthday. Don't miss this gem.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Staff was very professional and polite. The restaurant is very high-end and intimate.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Perla gets better and better. We have been there three times and are looking forward to going back. The service is great without being intrusive. Great place!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We decided to try Perla because we had heard great things and were staying at La Concha for the duration of our stay in San Juan. Where to begin?

First, we had high hopes because the server was very friendly and came over to take our drink order right away. The positives stop there. Our drinks took about 15 minutes to arrive. Our first round was OK, but midway into the meal, we ordered another round. 3 of us ordered a lemon drop martini, one ordered the Kiss-A-Berry off of the cocktail menu. About 5-6 minutes after that, around the time the drinks should have been arriving, the server comes back, confirms that we all 4 ordered lemon drops, which of course was not only incorrect, but also confirmed he hadn't even rang the drinks in yet. We correct him, the drinks come about 10 minutes after that, and the lemon drops were so sour and bitter that not a one of us came close to even finishing 1/4 of them.

The food: I had the driest piece of chicken I have ever had. I had to choke it down with water. My friend got a filet that was chewy and poorly seasoned and after took 2 bites, he could not stomach finishing the rest. The sea bass was okay, fairly bland, but not bad.

Aside from the food and drinks, our server was MIA and we could not find him to let him know about the poor quality of the food and drinks. We eventually found him and just requested the check. He cleared the table right away and acted oblivious to the fact that none of us had touched our food or drinks. The meal was over $300, and a huge waste of money.

Finally, one of the servers was stomping throughout the circular dining room like a Clydesdale, shaking the floor as she walked and really messing with the ambiance.

If you're going to spend $300+ on a meal, I recommend one of the other fine-dining establishments in San Juan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great view that´s the only thing great, the service poor not only for the waiter also for the hostess, the food good but not good enough .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Unique restaurant in a giant clam shell. The Murano glass lights were shaped like artichokes! Just a beautiful location on the ocean. The seafood was delicious. Servers were attentive and pleasant. For history buffs....President Kennedy ate here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The entrees were very good. We had snapper and sea bass. Appetizer of grilled shrimp was a bit small for the price. The dessert of apple tart with ice cream just so so. Service was fantastic and atmosphere is unique and dreamy.

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Have to say the service was perfect. Our waiter, Kenny, is a wonderful, experienced professional who knows how to take care of his diners! Thanks, Kenny!

We dined here two nights in a row on a recent getaway weekend Obviously we really liked it.

The swordfish, scallops and snapper were very good.

We also enjoyed the soups and salads.

If you order desert, I recommend the creme brûlée. The ice creams are good but somewhat ordinary.

Perla is a uniquely beautiful restaurant. The spectacular structure makes for a grand dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The fish was fried..be sure to ask preparation because it is not listed on the menu. The person we were with got sick from the tuna. The service​ was fair. They did take my meal off the bill which I appreciated. Wouldn't recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Every time our family is in San Juan for vacation we always make this a must on our list. The food is phenomenal, service is superb and the interior is one of a kind!

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our waiter, Kenny, was fabulous. The food was good but not great. Of course, the ambience is great as well.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Lovely room and fine service but the portions are very very small and very expensive for such a small portion. My husband left hungry. And the food was only lukewarm. He had to send the veggies back to be reheated.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Excellent scene and architecture. The food is OK, but the whole ambiance and views of the ocean makes the restaurant worth it.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Beautiful place. Delicious food, service ok, bring a shall or sweater gets cold.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I enjoyed my visit. Although I was late to my reservation the staff still took my party and I.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Very nice setting and ambiance. Food was ok but was not blown away. Small plate portions considering the price. But again, very nice atmosphere and definitely was not a bad experience at all.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Amazing views. Totally recommend coming right before sunset to appreciate the views. Came here for my birthday dinner, everything was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food is tasty at great prices with excellent service

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Ambiance is 100% beautiful place very romantic the food was ok for the price point I have had better the service was ok but the restaurant was not busy maybe 3 tables with us and the waiter seemed to always be running past our table always had to flag him down for another drink would not go back but would recommend for someone looking for the romantic wow factor not so much great food

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Expensive. Portions in smaller size. Enjoyed our meal. Probably wouldn't go back but nice to go once

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We went here for dessert and cocktails and really enjoyed the Boca cake in particular, SO rich and delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Dinner at Perla was excellent. The interior decor is very pretty and unique as you are sitting inside a massive oyster shell. The food was wonderful. Very tasty with excellent presentation. We will definitely visit again when back in San Juan.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Beautiful restaurant.. delicious food. Service was exceptional. Highly recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Family time. Beautiful setting. Excellent service and wonderful food. Thanks God the hotel and restaurant was saved from demolition. A must visit place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I think they were probably short staffed New Years Eve which is when we dined there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went there for the NYE. They had a set menu for the evening, which is normal for such a night. Overall the value for money (110 $ / person ex. drinks) was very disappointing.

The atmosphere and the scenery was welcoming.

The service was also good, but some of the dishes were poor.

Tags: Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

A truly beautiful restaurant. Elegant setting. Top notch wait staff. Delicious, beautifully prepared food - smaller portions. Very flexible and accommodating for children. Want to warn you - prices are not for the weak hearted - it is expensive but we had a memorable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, but the food was desapointing quite blend in the flavours. Not worth the price at all. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I had the opportunity to take my family to dinner on my Christmas visit to PR, I live in Florida since 1999. I chose this restaurant because I have been there before. I like the ambiance, the beautiful view and actually the staff was really agreeable, however, I would not go back or recommend the restaurant because of the slow service. It seemed like 20 minutes between our appetizer and drink order until we were served. Then we ordered our main and 20 more minutes to be served...when we ordered dessert, my nephew ordered an Irish coffee that was brought to the table 20 minutes after everyone else had finished their desserts...Do not recall any "I am sorry" from the staff, an apology would have been enough...I would say that there is a lot of training to be done here....There were a lot of English speaking tourists that night at the restaurant, I would hate to think that we were treated differently because we were locals....and speaking Spanish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The restaurant is really beautiful and unique, from the lighting to the views. The food was generally good, although my dorade was a bit overcooked. Service was very good, although the pace was a bit slow.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

It was a beautiful restaurant and the service was great, unfortunately the food was lackluster. The snapper looked very nice, but was over cooked and under-seasoned, served over very bland wet rice. The sea bass with risotto suffered the same, overcooked fish on wetter rice.

It did have a very impressive wine list but many of the bottles looked like they were in a flood with water logged labels and capsules. I was also surprised by the lack of white burgundies given the wine list and the many seafood options.

Overall, very pretty and romantic but the food could handle some salt and pepper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Wonderful food, drinks and atmosphere.

Good service but had to wait for the main course, probably because it was busy.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Lovely setting, delicious food, well presented

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

My fiancé and I were staying in Puerto Rico for Christmas and we decided to have dinner at this place. The hotel where is located it's really pretty. The hostess were super nice to accommodate us in a window seating for a romantic Christmas Eve. The service was amazing and our waiter suggested amazing dishes. Dessert was impressive and the price was normal for a place like this. If you are in PR and looking for a special occasion dinner this is a great place to check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We went for an early dinner and had a wonderful view of the ocean as the sun was setting. The restaurant has a unique interior with a relaxed ambiance. Our server was attentive, helpful and knowledgeable but the food was really the highlight. The bacalaitos appetizer was absolutely delicious as was the seafood soup. The fish entrees were also wonderful and cooked as requested. We enjoyed the meal so much we ate there twice during our trip.

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Overall food was good. I would stick with the seafood as the filet mignon wasn't very flavorful. All seafood dishes were excellent. Service was very good. As for ambiance, I would appreciated softer music. Even holiday music on Christmas Eve would've been nice. The setting is so beautiful and romantic, yet they were playing pop music. It just didn't fit the beautiful view and interior of the restaurant

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My husband and I absolutely love this restaurant. We had our wedding reception here, and we've returned every opportunity we visit Puerto Rico. Not only does it have a special meaning for us, but the food is exquisite and the service is impeccable. It is also one of the most beautiful spots we've seen between the view and the architecture. The drinks are fantastic also. We both had one called Tropical Sunset, and it was refreshing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Historic, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great ambiance, food, service, etc. Top of the line I recommend to all!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 12, 2016

sea bass was outstanding. did not try desserts they didnt sound good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I've heard so many good things about la perla, unfortunately I did not have a great experience. Our food took 45 min to come out. My husband waited 25 min for another glass of scotch. The restaurant was not filled with people. Everyone around us were attended good and I saw others get their food before us who say after us. Maybe there was a screw up at the bar or kitchen. Maybe my next experience will be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.