About Penn Commons

Amidst the emerging culinary epicenter of diverse restaurants in the historic Penn Quarter neighborhood of Washington, DC, Penn Commons is a rough-hewn yet chic American tavern on 6th & H Streets.

To craft its menu of food and drinks united by one common philosophy - American sensibility joined with American seasonality - Chef Jeff Tunks drew on his first name partnerships with the best local farmers and artisanal purveyors...or he just makes it himself.

Burnished copper lighting, leather sling chairs and salvaged woods provide a warm footing for this showcase of American tavern food at its best.

700 6th St NW
Washington, DC 20001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm



Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 11am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
H Street, NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 905-2999

Website:
http://www.penncommonsdc.com/

Catering:
Please call our sales department for options for catering and the available menus.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in the large private lot located to the north of our entrance.

Public Transit:
METRO: Gallery Place

Executive Chef:
Alfredo Solis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Penn Commons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
See All
Great Beer (12)
Fun (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Live Sports (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Business Meals (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
People Watching (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Healthy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Romantic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Authentic (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
255 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was good, but service was a little rough. Our waiter was missing for all but the bill and a manager stepped in to fill the position though things took a little longer than expected. Place was very busy so sure that was the issue. Fun energetic place and a crowded bar area.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Good happy hour prices on drinks. Food was meh. Our server was busy with a private party so we barely saw him and had very long waits between his visits. Once we ordered food came quickly, but having water glasses refilled was difficult.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great location if going to a Wizard's game or event at the Verizon Center. Very accommodating and friendly staff. Food was good and it was quick. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Good food with good options for all. The lunch menu was a good deal. $10.99 for a not-to-large lunch steak salad was perfect.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Can't go here without getting the pretzel it's the perfect appetizer. For the entree I had the key west fish sandwich. Great alternative to fried fish and perfectly seasoned and cooked.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Felt like the food could've been a bit higher quality. Had the blackened fish. Not much taste.

Pretzel was good. Fries weren't properly cooked through...

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Had a wonderful brunch with a friend - Joy was our server and she was wonderful. Love the Eggs Benedict here especially.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Threat service! The food was good. Two people in my party were not thrilled with their entree but mine was good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My husband and I had reservations for brunch on Sunday and we showed up a few minutes early were seated pretty much right away but we had to continuously flag down a server. We waited 10 minutes to be greeted, another 15 to get our drinks and place our order and once the food came we didn't see our server again until I had to ask for our check from the hostess. The food was good but be careful about the menu. The food descriptions aren't complete so if you have allergies or are a picky eater ask what is included or how the food is cooked. Wasn't terrible but I wouldn't go out of my way to go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was just OK. The place was so loud you could barely hear yourself speak! Happy Hour everyday from 4pm to closing so go before that if you want it quieter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great food--poor service. Waited a solid 15-20 minutes for our server to bring us water and waited 30-45 minutes after the meal for server to bring the check.
Great, filling food for the price though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great Restaurant for business lunch, quick bite to eat, and friendly gathering. The sweet potato fries are awesome!!! Joy is a great server and very attentive to the customer needs!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My fiancée and I went for an Easter brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food was very good and the waitress had excellent recommendations. The noise level made it hard for our family to hear each other. We sat in the dining area not the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Did not have to wait for our table. Food selection was good. Good brunch promo. Calamari was way over cooked/fried it tasted old. French toast bites were great. Ordered bottomless mimosas and it took awhile to get our first glass. Steak and eggs were good, chicken burger was very tasty and well seasoned. Liked that they were kid friendly.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Penn Commons is located in or very near the Verizon Center. We went, there was a Wizards game so as a result it was extremely busy. We had made reservations which we were very glad we did. However, when we got there waiting for our reservation the bar area was very crowded. No place to sit or even stand. Rather frustrating. They did seat us in a booth which was nice. To get the wait staff's attention was a little difficult so giving our order for drinks and dinner was slow. You had to be aggressive to get a waiter/waitress to come to your table. The food was good. And the choice of food was good as well. Very loud but sporting events being shown through out the entire restaurant on TV's which was fun to watch.

Tags: Great Beer, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Had a great time and will come again. The food was excellent and our server paid special attention to my food allergies.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Had a really great brunch here! Service was great but the check was a little slow in coming at the end. The brunch deal is great but gluten-free folks beware - the starters are pretty limited. All in all though, everything was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The place was packed for the final 4 game and the service started off slow. The manager came over and apologized (without me having to ask) and comped our apps and first couple drinks.

Would absolutely go back as he made the experience very pleasant and the food itself was very good. Clearly a place that does the little things well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants. Our waitress Sharon I believe was great. It was my God brothers birthday. The chef Shawn is the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Shayna P. was awesome! She gave us excellent food and drink recommendations! She was talkative and friendly. As well as vey attentive. All the food was delicious! And the $5 beers and cocktails are perfect for a Sunday dinner date. Definitely coming back here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great food but WAY TOO LOUD - the music in the bar was extremely loud meaning the customers had to tell to be heard. Ruined an otherwise terrific dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Came for brunch with my girlfriends visiting from our of town and had the best time! Awesome brunch deal and delish food. Loved it!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great food and polite servers. The noise level was a bit high, but overall I would return!

Tags: Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 21, 2017

I had lunch with a client visiting from out of town this week and enjoyed my first visit to Penn Commons. I chose the restaurant because of its convenient location--we had a business meeting nearby. While we took a short tax ride from Capitol Hill, it's also very convenient to the Metro Red Line. Food choices were plentiful. Out 12:30 seating time found the restaurant lightly attended. The bar looked quite well-stocked and their were TVs with sports, etc. on. We say at a booth together with one of my staff colleagues and had a very pleasant, leisurely lunch. The pretzel bread was warm and very tasty. I had shrimp cocktail, which was a large portion of chilled shrimp. My colleague had a vegetarian dish. He and my client thought their dishes and the pretzel bread could have done better with less butter. I definitely will come back and try other dishes for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We hung out for 4 1/2 hours in a super comfy booth. The food was amazing. The price and value for brunch is one of the best in the city. And my mimosa was never less than half full. Great service and food. Definitely do the 3 course brunch option.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Recommend burgers and Cobb salad. The staff is overwhelmed. Slow to deliver refills of drinks. Also, embarrassingly they mixed up orders but later made amends. If it weren't for the latter I wouldn't go back. Really, they need more help or have diners who eat and drink VERY slowly and have no plans to go elsewhere...

Tags: Great Beer, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We went here before a concert at Verizon Center. Place wasn't that packed so we were seated right away. Waiter was nice but took a long time to get our order and at the end our check. The thing that upset us the most here was I had ordered a drink and when I got it the glass was broken along the rim. Almost cut my lip. I was given another drink no questions asked. My boyfriend ordered another drink later and his drink came in the same broken glass my first one came in! Really, the bartender didn't throw out that glass!! Horrible service on the bartenders part. If you go here just beware they don't take care of the place. Go to District Commons instead, way better and more upscale.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Every time I have been to Penn Commons the service has been terribly slow, which is usually made up by their delicious bar bites. Today, however, was exceptionally terrible. My boyfriend and I had brunch reservations at 11:30, ordered the three course prefixed menu with bottomless mimosas. The mimosas were not bottomless as we continuously had to wait to get our glasses filled up not even half way. When the entrees came, my dish was lukewarm. The server didn't even check on us to see how everything was so I didn't have the opportunity to give it back. After waiting another 30 min for a drink and water refill, we had been there for almost a total of 2 hours still without our dessert course. By far the most terrible dining experience I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Very busy at happy hour on a Friday. Need a reservation if you're going to dine before a game. Service is very slow. Very slow. Be ready to order one step ahead, e.g., be prepared in advance to order both food and beverage upon being seated, because you may not see the server for quite a time. If you need to order a second beverage, do so before you finish the first one because the second one will arrive long after. Ask for your check while dining if you need to leave for the game. There's a great selection of beers. Go for the burgers. Great vibe. Good place for young professionals.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Tilapia was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The $19 prixe fixe brunch menu was a major draw where you choose form the starters, entrees and dessert menu. But the servings are less than modest (almost stingy) and none of us were blown away by our meals. The butternut squash ravioli was yummy, but only four pieces - the chicken and waffles were ok (ok?! how do you not make this amazing?) and the huevos rancheros was more beans than huevos. It was a fine meet up place in Chinatown, convenient to the metro for all of us, but we wouldn't go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I don't think I'd go back here for dinner - it was very loud and the food was so-so - but would consider it for drinks/happy hour. Think that's its strong suit.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Very noisy but not if you're 30 or under. I understand the bar scene is large every night of the week and especially on Sunday when happy hour is all day. HAPPY HOUR WINE SELECTION IS LIMITED TO A PROSECCO AND A PINOT GRIGIO

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Creole was awesome!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was great. Waitress forgot our app order and when we reminded her it wound up arriving with our food. Wife said the ladies room was filthy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is our go to place for sporting events. The restaurant puts on a buffet & has a special drinks offerings. Usually a fun way to spend hours watching a game unfold on the many TVs off the ceiling.

This year the food could have been better supervised. The chicken was over cooked, the tacos had too many jalapenos.
The

Tags: People Watching, Live Sports, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

It was nice.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Got calamari as an appetizer, probably the best calamari I have ever tasted, a few of them weren't well breaded though. The shrimp and grits were AMAZING, definitely would recommend, the 12 buck LOTP (I think that's what it was) was lackluster, Red Robin had way better burgers, size was decent, requested it to be well done, had a little pink in it anyway. Weren't many fries, the sides were a little pricey, I wasn't offered free refills, nor were the drinks on the menu, I ended up paying 3 dollars for what was less than a pint of lemonade. Overall, food was hot, most of it was delicious, would return for shrimp and grits, service was fast & great, got out in 30 minutes, the burger left more to be desired, considering the pricey menu, I'd appreciate cheaper options, the appetizers seemed like they could be entrees. Restaurant gets a 4/5 from me. Also really clean bathroom, smelled nice too. Sidenote: water was free :D

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Excellent service and food. We were served on time and food selection was great
Thanks for having us

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.