About Penn Commons

Amidst the emerging culinary epicenter of diverse restaurants in the historic Penn Quarter neighborhood of Washington, DC, Penn Commons is a rough-hewn yet chic American tavern on 6th & H Streets.

To craft its menu of food and drinks united by one common philosophy - American sensibility joined with American seasonality - Chef Jeff Tunks drew on his first name partnerships with the best local farmers and artisanal purveyors...or he just makes it himself.

Burnished copper lighting, leather sling chairs and salvaged woods provide a warm footing for this showcase of American tavern food at its best.

700 6th St NW
Washington, DC 20001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm



Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 11am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
H Street, NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 905-2999

Website:
http://www.penncommonsdc.com/

Catering:
Please call our sales department for options for catering and the available menus.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in the large private lot located to the north of our entrance.

Public Transit:
METRO: Gallery Place

Executive Chef:
Alfredo Solis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Penn Commons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Happy Hour (10)
See All
Great Beer (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Business Meals (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Fun (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Had the brunch special. Bloodys and food were average . Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Nothing special and very sub par for brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The food was great! Our only disappointment was that although we had made the lunch reservation through the DC Restaurant Week site, but were told upon arrival that Penn Commons was only participating in restaurant week for dinner. When I made the reservation I looked through the menu and it was definitely for lunch. I'm not sure if this was changed later or a miscommunication with DC Restaurant Week organizers. Either way we were slightly disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We came to Penn Commons for a Sunday Brunch and had a fantastic time! We all opted for the bottomless mimosas deal, which is absolutely a great bang for your buck. The mimosas were strong enough but tasted great- came in adorable stemless wine glasses and the waiter was extremely attentive in ensuring we never found the bottom of our bottomless deal. The food was also delicious, it was plated beautifully. I had the chicken and cakes which is a fun spin on chicken and waffles, instead with pancakes- delicious and both sweet and savory! The atmosphere was trendy but not in an annoying try hard way. I would recommend this to groups looking for a hip, laid back place to hang out and enjoy a fun setting together.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

AMAZING!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Penn Commons is awesome. Our server was subpar. She overcharged us on multiple items and would not change the bill even after we pointed out the discrepancy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Way too loud!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The acoustics in this restaurant are horrible. We were sitting at a table (not at the bar) and it was so loud you could barely hear the people across from you. I felt like I was at a club or concert. We went on a Friday evening at 5:30-7:30pm so I cannot say if this noise level is the norm. The food was excellent and beer selection was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Seated promptly. Very good service from our server Edwin.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Great service by all! Our service Mike was very attentive, friendly, and made sure what we ordered was to our satisfaction.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

We were seated at our reservation time which was good. We got a bottle of wine and a few drinks, that went fine. Our server was very nice but would come to our table 10 times in 5 minutes and then disappeared for 20 minutes. Another server came by and the 1st server reappeared ANGRY. VERY uncomfortable for us. We ordered a cheeseburger, wings, onion rings and meat pies. IT TOOK 35 MINUTES to get our food. The cheese on the cheeseburger wasn't melted, it felt cold like out of the fridge cold, dropped on top of the burger just before a cold burger and cold fries were delivered. HOW does that go unnoticed??? If the food had been even warm it would have tasted fine.
It is SO LOUD in there you realize when you leave that you have been screaming for an hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 24, 2017

I thought the restaurant was contemporary and had a lot of flair. The menu items were confusing. Not sure if they were going for an American, Spanish or Asian fusion style food. I like the BBQ chicken Spring Rolls. The wings had a nice flavor on the outside but it tasted cold, dry and old on the inside. The Cesar salad was ok but the seared shrimp made the salad better. The waiter was not hovering but I kind of wish he did since we barely got refills on our water.

There is parking nearby but the parking garages are PRICEY! All in all my group and I enjoyed ourselves! I gave this place a 3 out of 5 stars because the food wasn't WOW but edible. Also, you can't sub out the sides for the items for free. They charge $5. Good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Met some clients for a business meeting/happy hour. Probably a bad idea if you want to have a conversation with someone, but the bar fills up quick and the food is decent, and they have a good drink selection. Not bad overall, but i would just come back for happy hour at the bar, no clients.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Love brunch at Penn Commons! Our server, Joy, was wonderful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Grabbed lunch here with a few friends and it was good. We wanted a quiet spot between our offices and found that here. Our order came up quick and was tasty as usual.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Good restaurant in an area where a lot of options are generic.

Tags: Business Meals, Great Beer, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Very slow service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 25, 2017

It took more than 20 minutes after being seated for someone to come over and ask if we had been helped. It appeared to be a manager who then took our drink orders and disappeared for another 15-20 minutes before we were able to place our food order. The food was good when it arrived, however we will not be returning due to the fact it took about 45 minutes to place a drink & food order after being seated in the restaurant that was more than half empty on a Sunday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I went for brunch with my best girlfriends and we were running late because of traffic and they were gracious and kind enough to push our reservation back 30 mins for us. The brunch deal is unbeatable and the food is amazinggg! However, our waiter didn't check on us enough and we sat for almost 45 mins with one mimosa when we ordered bottomless. I will certainly return and recommend it to anyone but I would make sure to be more vocal about wanting my bottomless mimosas on time lol.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 19, 2017

This restaurant is terrible. There were bugs on ALL of our plates when we sat down. Moved to another table and there were bugs in our glasses. Server was not attentive, could barely answer questions or bring requested items. No one seemed to be particularly apologetic for all the bugs. We should have left without dining there. We just prayed really hard over our food because we'd already lost so much time moving around and trying to wait for clean dishes. Definitely will not be back and don't recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The lunch today was fantastic and the atmosphere was great! We thoroughly enjoy our lunch and will return again.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

There was an inattentive hostess who spoke to us with her head down & stated the more decisions we make the less she had to. I thought this was quite odd just because we stated that it did not matter if we sat at a booth or table. I asked my server who was awesome about the hostess who she stated only had been there for a week. Maybe customer focused training would be a good fit for Catherine the new hire. Other than that the best part was the ambiance and Happy Hour.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great stop on our DC vacation

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food was good, but service was a little rough. Our waiter was missing for all but the bill and a manager stepped in to fill the position though things took a little longer than expected. Place was very busy so sure that was the issue. Fun energetic place and a crowded bar area.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great happy hour spot before an event at Verizon Center!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Good happy hour prices on drinks. Food was meh. Our server was busy with a private party so we barely saw him and had very long waits between his visits. Once we ordered food came quickly, but having water glasses refilled was difficult.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great location if going to a Wizard's game or event at the Verizon Center. Very accommodating and friendly staff. Food was good and it was quick. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Good food with good options for all. The lunch menu was a good deal. $10.99 for a not-to-large lunch steak salad was perfect.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Can't go here without getting the pretzel it's the perfect appetizer. For the entree I had the key west fish sandwich. Great alternative to fried fish and perfectly seasoned and cooked.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Felt like the food could've been a bit higher quality. Had the blackened fish. Not much taste.

Pretzel was good. Fries weren't properly cooked through...

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Had a wonderful brunch with a friend - Joy was our server and she was wonderful. Love the Eggs Benedict here especially.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Threat service! The food was good. Two people in my party were not thrilled with their entree but mine was good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My husband and I had reservations for brunch on Sunday and we showed up a few minutes early were seated pretty much right away but we had to continuously flag down a server. We waited 10 minutes to be greeted, another 15 to get our drinks and place our order and once the food came we didn't see our server again until I had to ask for our check from the hostess. The food was good but be careful about the menu. The food descriptions aren't complete so if you have allergies or are a picky eater ask what is included or how the food is cooked. Wasn't terrible but I wouldn't go out of my way to go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was just OK. The place was so loud you could barely hear yourself speak! Happy Hour everyday from 4pm to closing so go before that if you want it quieter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great food--poor service. Waited a solid 15-20 minutes for our server to bring us water and waited 30-45 minutes after the meal for server to bring the check.
Great, filling food for the price though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great Restaurant for business lunch, quick bite to eat, and friendly gathering. The sweet potato fries are awesome!!! Joy is a great server and very attentive to the customer needs!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My fiancée and I went for an Easter brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food was very good and the waitress had excellent recommendations. The noise level made it hard for our family to hear each other. We sat in the dining area not the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great place to hit before a caps game!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Did not have to wait for our table. Food selection was good. Good brunch promo. Calamari was way over cooked/fried it tasted old. French toast bites were great. Ordered bottomless mimosas and it took awhile to get our first glass. Steak and eggs were good, chicken burger was very tasty and well seasoned. Liked that they were kid friendly.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.