About Penn Commons

700 6th St NW
Washington, DC 20001
View Larger Map

Amidst the emerging culinary epicenter of diverse restaurants in the historic Penn Quarter neighborhood of Washington, DC, Penn Commons is a rough-hewn yet chic American tavern on 6th & H Streets.

To craft its menu of food and drinks united by one common philosophy - American sensibility joined with American seasonality - Chef Jeff Tunks drew on his first name partnerships with the best local farmers and artisanal purveyors...or he just makes it himself.

Burnished copper lighting, leather sling chairs and salvaged woods provide a warm footing for this showcase of American tavern food at its best.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm



Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 11am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
H Street, NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 905-2999

Website:
http://www.penncommonsdc.com/

Catering:
Please call our sales department for options for catering and the available menus.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in the large private lot located to the north of our entrance.

Public Transit:
METRO: Gallery Place

Executive Chef:
Alfredo Solis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Penn Commons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Happy Hour (16)
Casual (13)
Live Sports (11)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Fun (7)
Great Beer (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Family Style (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Spicy (1)
Cozy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Romantic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Healthy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
222 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

I don't think I'd go back here for dinner - it was very loud and the food was so-so - but would consider it for drinks/happy hour. Think that's its strong suit.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Very noisy but not if you're 30 or under. I understand the bar scene is large every night of the week and especially on Sunday when happy hour is all day. HAPPY HOUR WINE SELECTION IS LIMITED TO A PROSECCO AND A PINOT GRIGIO

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was great. Waitress forgot our app order and when we reminded her it wound up arriving with our food. Wife said the ladies room was filthy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is our go to place for sporting events. The restaurant puts on a buffet & has a special drinks offerings. Usually a fun way to spend hours watching a game unfold on the many TVs off the ceiling.

This year the food could have been better supervised. The chicken was over cooked, the tacos had too many jalapenos.

The

Tags: People Watching, Live Sports, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

It was nice.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Got calamari as an appetizer, probably the best calamari I have ever tasted, a few of them weren't well breaded though. The shrimp and grits were AMAZING, definitely would recommend, the 12 buck LOTP (I think that's what it was) was lackluster, Red Robin had way better burgers, size was decent, requested it to be well done, had a little pink in it anyway. Weren't many fries, the sides were a little pricey, I wasn't offered free refills, nor were the drinks on the menu, I ended up paying 3 dollars for what was less than a pint of lemonade. Overall, food was hot, most of it was delicious, would return for shrimp and grits, service was fast & great, got out in 30 minutes, the burger left more to be desired, considering the pricey menu, I'd appreciate cheaper options, the appetizers seemed like they could be entrees. Restaurant gets a 4/5 from me. Also really clean bathroom, smelled nice too. Sidenote: water was free :D

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Excellent service and food. We were served on time and food selection was great

Thanks for having us

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We were there with the Women's March; didn't rush us. The restaurant let us settle in and take our time. Food was good, service was great. It was such a crush of a day that we appreciated being able to sit, order a cider, lunch and enjoy the casual atmosphere. Gluten free options were a plus. Definitely will go back for the next Women's March!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I have always enjoyed Jeff Tunks other restaurants, but both the food and especially the service were simply terrible at Penn Commons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The server seemed distracted and would dissapear for extended periods of time. Otherwise the food was very good.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Decent place, but very slow service!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Waited at the table for 15 minutes without service and we left. Very disappointed

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Went here after a Wizards game Saturday and the bar area was lively. I had a reservation so my date and I had a seat at a table. The dining area was not busy but 15 minutes later with no water and no waitress.. sure felt like it was. At this point, I usually would have left but the waitress finally arrived and she took her time waiting on us all night. Will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My friends and I went for Saturday brunch. The dishes were super unique and SO yummy (definitely Instagram worthy). We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Service was dreadful. There was almost no relationship between what we ordered and what came to the table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Good time, decent happy hour. Wish there was a food selection for happy hour and more wines to choose from.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I'm not quite sure how I've missed this place but I love it! We came for an early lunch and were seated in a booth right away. Water was on the table within minutes although the waiter took a few more to come with menus. (only noted because we were the only patrons in the restaurant at the time). However our waiter was personable and knowledgeable and I loved his recommendation (the beef short ribs). The price was definitely right and the meal was FANTASTIC. The rib fell apart it was so tender and had some peppers on top which gave it a little kick. The pappardelle pasta was perfect and had spinach, mushrooms, onions, and tomatoes. The only other little ding on service was my lunch companion didn't get his ice tea and had to ask for refills. Other than that it was a great dining experience. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Amazing burgers, beer selection and craft cocktails. Somehow they got us in and out on time for a Fords Theater start despite a pre-hockey game mob.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great food, great service! Got us in and out in plenty of time for event at Verizon- 1 hour!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We had tickets at the Verizon Center and misjudged the traffic so were 30 minutes late. I called to let the restaurant know expecting to be told we would lose our reservation. The Hostess was friendly and understanding and told us our table would be there. When we arrived we waited less than 5 minutes and were seated. The service was excellent especially so with the rush for the event at the Center. The food selection was good and we both enjoyed our meal and the happy hour selection for drinks was better than at most bars. Our food came quickly and we were able to eat (including dessert) and make it to our show with plenty of time. All in all we would choose to eat at Penn Commons again when attending an event at the Verizon Center.

Tags: Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Casual, Happy Hour, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Comfort Food, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 12, 2016

I have been to Penn Commons before and loved it. I recommended having dinner and drinks here based on my prior experience. This past visit was one of the worst dining experiences I have ever had. They appeared to be severely understaffed. We placed our order with our waiter and he promptly brought out our cocktails. Our dinner was dropped off by a runner and that ended ANY attention we received from any staff. Luckily our dinner was perfect and delicious.....not that anyone on staff knew or cared. I stopped a manager walking by and asked for another round of cocktails since our glasses had been empty for quite a while. He said he would put the order in. Over an HOUR later I approached the same manager and told him we needed our check and if the second round of cocktails were included they needed to be removed. He dropped off the check with no apologies. We then had to approach the manager again with our payment. I have never had to work so hard to try to spend my money or have my money taken. I will definitely not recommend we meet up there the next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Penn Common is very convenient if you are attending an event at Verizon Center or Harmon Center for the Arts. Do not plan on quiet conversation as the open space is quite noisy. The wait staff is very knowledgeable and can steer people away from things with allergens. The food was spicier than expected. Portions were generous except for the pumpkin ravioli. Fortunately, my bar-b-que chicken was quite generous so I was able to share with my husband. We would give it another try but maybe on a Saturday when the bar was hopping.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The atmosphere was great. It's so hard to find nice brunch places with good food and bottomless mimosas!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Happy Hour, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Food was excellent and well-priced. Good selection of entrees. Terrific salads. Wait staff was friendly and efficient. An excellent choice for a pre-game or pre-theater. Convenient to Metro.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Sports, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This place is great! The service could be better, took awhile to see our server but once we did she was on top of things. Food was delicious and they have the best Bloody Mary's I have had in DC. Great place to brunch and catch the game!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Live Sports, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Pleasant unfrantic place for business lunch witn low noise level and large, eclectic, inventive menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Meals were great. The 6 of us all cleaned our plates!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Good was fresh although it's a fairly limited menu. We got a veggie burger, the meat loaf and the chicken fried steak. Favorite was the meatloaf. They have an all day happy hour on Saturday with decent drink specials. Would recommend

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Fantastic dishes. Friendly staff. Great happy hour prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

If you are not a caps fan

Do not dine there before a game

Otherwise

An excellent experience

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Live vibrant crowd late night drink specials

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Insanely loud! There is not one iota of drapery or carpet to deaden the noise. We were a party of 4 in the dining room and had to shout to each other in order to be heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We enjoyed our first visit to Penn Commons. The menu leans toward comfort food ,and Southern, and has some interesting choices. We started with pimento cheese was a credible rendition of this old Southern favorite; chicken-fried steak was just right, too.

Compliments to the staff - hostess and our server - for being pleasant, cheerful, and accommodating on a very busy Saturday night 30 minutes before the Caps game began.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

great food, great selection, TVs a plus, great service! definitely going back!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This restaurant has a fun, feel good vibe. Great for both date night or getting together with friends. The servers were awesome and super friendly, especially Alberto. The food was very light and healthy. Don't expect a weighed down plate of carbs. The drinks were simple, but they have a long happy hour. I would go again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 19, 2016

It was just so loud! I'll go back bc of food, drink specials and location. But the noise level was out of control.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The food is always solid. My biggest complaint about this restaurant is the NOISE. There is nothing in the place to absorb any of the noise and all conversations bounce off the concrete floors. It is very difficult to have a conversation. Mid-day crowds are small and it is a much more pleasurable experience.

Tags: Live Sports, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 10, 2016

The front desk staff were wonderful. The food was very good and well priced. Loved the generous pour happy hour drinks. The waiter was very nice, but I would've liked him to pop by and see if we needed anything without having to be flagged down. I ended up eating half my meal with no drink.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Food and wine was great, as was the service. However, it was so loud that we couldn't have a conversation without screaming at each other. It was overwhelming and headache inducing. I will not be going back to Penn Commons.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 18, 2016

If I could give less than 1 star, I would. I guess I'll say that the 1 star was for the food taste and quality because the food was good. What was not good was the service. We had a 12pm brunch reservation and arrived on time. We left at 3. Our server came to our table zero times without having to be flagged down or hunted down. And it took forever for our food to come out. And I mean FOREVER! We all took advantage of the brunch special, which is an appetizer, an entree and dessert and unlimited mimosas for $32. Sounds like a great deal right?? Except we only were served two drinks because that's how terrible the service was. One of the wait staff apologized and stated that they just had a lot of reservations and so the kitchen was backed up. Ummm ok but it seems to me that reservations are put in place to plan for staffing levels in order to adequately meet customer needs. Also, out food came out piecemeal and 3 people would get their food and then 30 minutes later 3 more of us got our food. It was a terrible experience. I'll never go back.

Unless you just want to sit at the bar and have some drinks and watch the game, I would suggest you find another place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2016

While I have enjoyed many positive experiences at Penn Commons, this visit left a lot to be desired. It was very clear that the restaurant was short staffed for a busy Sunday brunch in downtown DC. Our waiter could not keep up with drink orders. The food didn't all come out at the same time. Food orders came out incorrect. Mimosa and coffee refill requests went ignored. I hosted friends and family visiting from out of town for what I thought would be a quality DC brunch experience. I'm embarrassed! Do better, Penn Commons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2016

I ordered an Old Fashioned and the goat cheese spread, and my wife ordered the wings. For diner, we both got the skirt steak. Portion sizes were generous, and the food was all very good, though perhaps slightly under-seasoned for my taste. (That said, I do tend to like stronger and more robust flavors, so this could just be me.)

The service was prompt and polite. The only real downside was the noise level, as the Happy Hour crowd made it difficult for me to hear my wife across the table, even though we were seated well away from the bar area.

Overall, I would recommend and will visit again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The noise level when we got there at7:30 was so loud we had to shout to the hostess and still had trouble hearing. The bar was very crowded but tables were not filled. The cesear salad was wilted and you could not taste or see the dressing. The Salmon was good but I did not care for the Teriyaki glaze. Desert was soso. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Went for restaurant week so I tried more than normally would have. Apps were good. The ravioli a particularly choice. Drink specials were extensive ($5 Cosmo was delicious). Little bit noisy but lots of fun.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food and service were great, but the noise level is nearly unbearable at times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Will not go back. The loudest restaurant I have ever been in!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The loudest restaurant I have been to in my life! Very poor waiter service, however, the managers try to make it right. Food is excellent especially the eggplant dip and trout. I'd skip it and find another place, unless you are alone and don't need to talk to anyone. Too bad.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The noise level was so high it completely ruined our dining experience. I don't recall ever eating at a restaurant where it was so noisy.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2016

It was very noisy, they need to incorporate sound deadening materials. Other then that it was very good and convenient to Verizon Center.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Decent food, good service, far too loud to have a conversation with people at your table without having to shout.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.