About Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale

Pair our hand-cut New York strip steak mesquite grilled over a live fire with your favorite cabernet or our cedar plank steelhead with an enticing chardonnay. At Paul Martin’s American Grill in Scottsdale, there are never any wrong choices when you start with the right ingredients. Located in The Borgata, Paul Martin’s is where you’ll find classic American cuisine elevated to a higher standard. Relax in our polished yet welcoming dining room and experience the remarkable hospitality that you deserve.

6186 North Scottsdale Road
Scottsdale, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
MON - THUR: 11 AM - 10 PM
FRI - SAT: 11 AM - 11 PM
SUN: 11 AM - 9 PM

Cross Street:
E. McDonald Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 991-9342

Website:
http://paulmartinsamericangrill.com/

Parking Details:
Valet or free parking lot

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (44)
Good for a Date (43)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
See All
Business Meals (34)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Casual (32)
Happy Hour (32)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Bar Seating (27)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Good for Groups (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Fun (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Romantic (15)
Authentic (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Organic (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Cozy (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Seasonal (6)
Live Music (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1226 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

This was our second visit in a week. We really enjoy the bar for cocktails before being seated in the dining room. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Love the food and drinks . Drinks to pricey . Very small sizes 🙁

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Had a great meal with great friends. Our waiter was fantastic. He was from Texas, as we all are.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Five of us went to Paul Martin's to celebrate a birthday. Food was excellent and the service was so friendly. We have been several times for our monthly lunches and will go again, of course.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

I absolute favorite restaurant in the city. Everyone who works here is outstanding. The manager, Tim is excellent and all of the other managers are great too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We were pleasantly surprised. Thought this was a sports bar casual place with pub food. Instead we found an excellent full bar and excellent food in a very nice dining room. Will certainly return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

We went for our anniversary and everyone was so nice and acknowledged our special day. Food was very good and the Monday night wine dinner was perfect ! So nice to see Eric back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Cool spot, the food was sub par. Was that a filet or a piece of chuck steak?

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

A very nice place to dine great service and wholesome food

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Consistently excellent, everyone who works in this restaurant is extra special. I am a regular

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 16, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Scottsdale. The service is the best every time and the staff is eager to please. We love this restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was good, service a bit slow but was very busy. Overall was very good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

First time ever trying Paul Martin's and will be back! The food was delicious and the host at the front was extraordinarily kind about the birthday we were celebrating. The only issue was the service was a little slow. The waiter was very knowledgeable which was appreciated however, he was also training a new waiter which might have slowed him down. Overall it was a great experience and we will return! Can't wait to try the happy hour, which is only available in the bar!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Have been to Paul Martins many many time. One of our veery favorite dining spots!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Jim, the manager did not charge me for this wonderful lunch out of courtesy because I am a frequent guest. He is awesome, as well as everyone that works at the restaurant. I am going to return as often as I can because it is excellent in every way

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Out for a special night with friends e haven't seen for many months. Everything was perfect. Food and service were excellent. I would return on a heart beat. Lovely space.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Service was great from the moment we walked in. Decor is nice. Food was definitely good but a little pricey for what you are getting. While it's good, it's not up to Mastro's level of perfection yet it's priced pretty close. I'm certain we'll come back for last minute or casual meals but for another $20 a person or special occasions I'll head to Mastro's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our waiter was friendly, but more importantly, efficient. He was great. The place was busy, but not outlandishly loud or crowded. My wife and I split a starter (smoked salmon) and then our entrees were very satisfying. We split a banana cream pie that was delicious. The evening was a success!

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Went on a monday when they have their $60 for a bottle of wine, two salads and two entrees. Very tood selection of wines( my bottle was listed at 68 ) all entrees other than steaks are available. We both had salmon which was very good. Will go again

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Paul Martin's is always consistent and always delicious. I love the fresh first quality ingredients. I had fried chicken which I need eat and it was out of this world delicious. It was perfectly done, piping hot and crispy. The elite corn was the best restaurant corn I have ever had bar none. Couple with great service it was the perfect dinner

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Outstanding experience with great service and flavorful healthy food choices. Loved the organic green salad and cedar plank salmon. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

LOVED the cedar plank salmon! Will definitely return!

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Another excellent experience at Paul Martin's. Wonderful food, superior service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Always excellent, great food, great servers, wonderful managers… My favorite restaurant in Arizona.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Vegan, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Service was fantastic. The best we've had in a long time. He was genuine, curtious and super attentive and happy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The most memorable event of our evening aside from the food was the fabulous wait staff. Your company obviously sees the value and takes the time to train your employees well. Impeccable manners, engaged, well spoken,pleasant personalities, attention to details, knows your menu and can place dinner plates on the table without asking, "what did you order for dinner?" All in all a real treat to be treated well!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great ambience and happy hour.
Service was great!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Had a client dinner here on 8/16/17 and everything went so well. Steven was our waiter and he was fantastic. Food was cooked perfectly and tasted amazing. Will be returning soon

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Really enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. The waiter was exceptional and brought us the happy hour menu which he wasn't supposed to do. I had the steak frites.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Our go to place. Casual but excellent food. Rib eye and braised ribs amazing with a good bottle of wine!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always excellent, I am a regular so I am biased!
The bread is really good, I always order cobb salad without bacon and that is generally very good although it depends on who prepares it. I actually was there today and the person who prepared it made it very small, the one I had yesterday with his abundant and delicious.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 12, 2017

top shelf restaurant and Trent is the best server too. thx.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent Brick Chicken and great wine menu with live music in the background. Great location to get caught up with a good friend and spend time enjoying the evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Four friends met for lunch. Everyone enjoyed their selections. I had the chimichurri chicken. One friend had French dip, another a burger, and one had the grill salad with chicken. We had met there before and decided to return!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great food, great setting, great service. I'll be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 4, 2017

It didn't disappoint!
Enjoyed a early dinner before a concert. Our server Steven was great. He helped us pick a great wine to go with our dinner. He recommended an appetizer of salt and pepper shrimp, we enjoyed a garden salad, and a filet. The food was well prepared and delicious. We enjoyed our leisurely dinner and got out of the restaurant in timely manner.
We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Antone that has not tried Paul Martin's, don't know what they are missing. Great food, greater service and exceptional managers. Try their Happy Hour. It's great. Have never had bad service or a bad meal.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 31, 2017

very nice place the service people were the best I have seen in years VERY helpful and courteous

Tags: Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 29, 2017

My husband and I went for date night! I had th skirt steak which was delicious and thexseeet potatoes with the maple burbon added just the right sweetness. So yummy. Had the campfire Sunday for dessert and the toasted marshmallow was amazing! We also had a fantastic waiter who added to the great experience. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We came for lunch the other day. We haven't been here coming as much as we used too since the menu changed. I was not so thrilled, only fish used is Salmon which I'm not a huge fan of.

I had the Cobb Salad which is fantastic, always has been a favorite of mine. My friend had the Fried Chicken Special, which I thought was very pricey when I saw on the menu, $26 to be honest. I was pleasantly surprised that it was a GREAT deal and was delicious at that. The Chicken deal started with a very large Spring Green Salad, then 1/2 a fried chicken with a whole ear of Mexican Corn and Potato Salad. The dessert that came with it was your flavor choice of a scoop of Ice Cream and 3 perfect Short Bread Cookies.

Service is excellent, atmosphere nice, and the Fried Chicken deal is definitely worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.