About Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale

6186 North Scottsdale Road
Scottsdale, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Seasonal & Delicious.

With Paul Martin's American Grill, Brian Bennett and restaurateur Paul Fleming have realized a long-nurtured dream to create the restaurant "we've always wished was in our neighborhood."

At the heart of all great food is fresh, local, peak of the season ingredients. Paul Martin's aims to serve diners the best ingredients with meat raised in a humane and wholesome way, locally sourced produce, the best of both wild and farmed fish, artisan cheeses and cured meats from small local purveyors. The deep California-centric wine list twists and turns, by glass or bottle, through the Golden State's vineyards, with an occasional stop for an Oregon Pinot Gris or a Washington dry Riesling. Behind Paul Martin's elegantly rustic bar is an interesting array of craft beer and spirited cocktails with fresh garnishes. Good times and thoughtful food are a way of life at Paul Martin's American Grill.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Daily Happy Hour: 3:00 - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
E. McDonald Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 991-9342

Website:
http://paulmartinsamericangrill.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available as well.

Executive Chef:
Chef Carlos Garcia

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (71)
Modern Decor (49)
Special Occasion (48)
See All
Casual (46)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Business Meals (44)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Bar Seating (39)
Happy Hour (36)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Cozy (31)
Notable Wine List (30)
Good for Groups (28)
Fun (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Romantic (25)
Worth the Drive (25)
Local Ingredients (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Outstanding Value (23)
Healthy (22)
Great for Lunch (22)
Authentic (18)
Seasonal (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Comfort Food (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Hot Spot (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Open Kitchen (10)
Organic (10)
Great Beer (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Private Room (9)
People Watching (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Family Style (3)
Live Music (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1002 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Hanna/Amy were great! Clyde was okay too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

Food is all made in house including the ice cream. The short ribs were melt in your mouth. The steaks were cooked to perfection. I liked that the ingredients in the meal salads were cut into bite sized pieces.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Our business meeting party of four lingered several hours over lunch. Service was spot-on; attentive without hovering. Food was good with the exception of the rather low-end bun served with hamburgers ordered.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Visiting Phoenix/Scottsdale so relied on OpenTable reviews. Did not disappoint, they have some tasty treats here. Great steaks and house smoked salmon.

Parking was weird though. Shared parking lot and a complementary valet we never found. Eventually a spot opened up but not before some colorful language escaped my lips.

Enjoy!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

Since we ate on Monday, a day with a dinner and wine special, they were packed and it was loud. Our server, Remone, was excellent, anticipating our requests. Great service! Food was good, as always.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

Love the Brick Chicken...outta this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

This is simply a consistently good restaurant. There is nothing particularly exciting or innovative but the food is good, plentiful and fresh. The wait staff is outstanding; we have never had a bad meal here.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food was good. Service was mediocre. Server took 40 minutes to take order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Just a great and fun experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (London)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Really enjoyed the food but some of it was served up cold and had to be returned.

This is really poor attention to detail. But we enjoyed the meal and thought it was a great venue

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This place is the best. Their happy hour is fantastic and their salmon dish with quinoa and lemon vinaigrette is one of my favorite meals around.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 19, 2017

At check-in 7pm. we were advised that their would be a short wait due to a party of 5 not vacating the table in reasonable time their reservation 5pm. Places a restaurant in an awkward position especially when it's season and a Saturday night. However, they provided us with drinks while waiting and a big surprise - desserts for all! Overall wait, 20 minutes. Food top block and wait staff very attentive. Kudos to the team at the desk for doing all they could and they did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 19, 2017

For a large and open space the restaurant was not cramped full of tables and the acoustics enabled us to have a conversation where we did not have to shout to be heard or hear each other.

The staff was very polite the restaurant was clean and well appointed and the service was good. The food was good but there was nothing outstanding or different from my steak.

A very pleasant evening and I would go back again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Really great menu with many healthy options. Great decor and for once a restaurant that's not too loud! Service was a bit slow but worth the wait. The server didn't check the table much...kind of disappeared for awhile. I'd still recommend the restaurant because the food preparation was so good. We were celebrating a birthday and they did bring a special treat to the table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Casual, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The Food and Service just gets better and better. Always loved the atmosphere (both inside and out) but was typically our fall back if we couldn't get in to Houston's. No longer the case. Great consistent food, great wine list, great service (attentive and friendly).

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great experience from beginning to end. I was in town for business and my wife was with me so we went here for a nice "date" the one night I had free. We had not been to, or even heard of Paul Martin's, but choose it based on Open Table reviews. Complimentary valet was convenient, atmosphere was very nice and service was friendly and attentive from the hostess to the bussers, and our waiter, Steve, was attentive and made wonderful recommendations. Every item we had from salad to desert was fresh and perfectly prepared. We will certainly return to Paul Martins whenever we are in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

First time here. Service great. Food very good. Will go back

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fabulous- dinner was exceptionally good. We really enjoyed it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wanted a special place for our first Valentines together. Great from start to finish. Service, food and decor loved it all! We will be back for sure:)

Tags: Romantic, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

came here for a dinner date. they sat us outside with the table so close to the front hostess area it was uncomfortable having so much traffic walking past us. plus it was loud that we had to yell at each other to hear. also the heater was right above the table, didn't know we were going to be the ones being cooked for dinner. food was ok. salt and pepper shrimp the best. serving size was pathetic for my lobster and her crab cakes and filet. left hungry. place is way overpriced for the portion size and overrated for the atmosphere. should have a big laminated sign outside that said quest beware.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First visit was Valentines day. We had things off their special menu. The shellfish appetizer was excellent and then we had the surf and turf filet and crab cake. Overall, very good, very good service and a place we would recommend and will be back to.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We've been coming here since they opened in Scottsdale. Great food Great service. Used their private dining room at their California location. Wonderful service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food, great server, Hanna was terrific. Valentine Dinner seafood platter was a taste and visual delight.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was our first time there! It was delicious! We will definitely return. Great service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Contrary to our prior Paul Martin's experiences, our 2/14 dinner was mediocre and very disappointing. To be sure, we know it was Valentine's Day and that the restaurant was packed. Still, the reservation for a booth was made a month in advance and we were placed at a table. The dinner was cold and below Paul Martin's usual standards. Our server, Joe, was pleasant and tried but was overwhelmed with customers. And basics such as serving the entree with knives and forks were entirely lacking. We well may return in the future, but not for a long-long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great service, and great food!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Prices are comparable to Ruth's Chris or Prestons, but food is not as good, nor is menu selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day Dinner was great. Service was wonderful and food was great as well. WE go there often and every time we go we are reminded why.

Tags: Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is a wonderful place for neighborhood dining -- lunch, happy hour, and dinner. We love it! I only give 5 stars to exceptional, fine dining and this is good as it gets for the type of dining we enjoy the most!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2017

great service, great food, nice ambiance.... just right for a special night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We have eaten at Paul Martin's many times, and they are always consistent in quality and service. This time was no exception. The seasonal Wild Mushroom Soup is above all others I have tasted. The Grilled Salmon was cooked perfectly. Fresh ingredients without heavily seasoned flavors allow the true taste come through each dish.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our server is a jewel. Had her before and we LOVE her...

Tags: Fun, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2017

They have an excellent Monday special where you get 2 salads, 2 entrees, and a bottle of wine for $60. They have a couple dozen wines that are allowed. We actually chose a bottle that is normally $61 itself! So excellent deal and excellent food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Visiting my 96 year old father from out of state for Valentines Day! We had a wonderful meal with great wine. Best part of all though was the immaculate service from our waiter, Cortney! He was friendly, prompt and made us feel like we were his top priority. My father said he was the best service he ever had! Thanks Cortney- we hope to visit again soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 13, 2017

From start to the end everything was just perfect.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I am from a restaurant family, and owned my own French restaurant in Carlsbad, CA. I say

this only to speak from a place of knowledge.

First, the service was impeccable. The gentleman who waited on us was attentive, inconspicuous, and polite. It was refreshing to have such a well-trained server.

Our salads were presented beautifully and were delicious. The ambiance of the

restaurant was lovely as well. In all, it was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Loved our booth and the meal, but I asked that my cocktail contain "no ice," as I'm not a fast drinker and I don't like drinks once they're diluted by melted ice. The waiter shrugged and offered "easy ice," as without any ice he said the drink would only be half full. (No smaller glasses?!) I wasn't trying to get more liquor, not that much of a drinker and just don't want ice melting in my cocktail. So I took the "easy ice," and it was full to the brim, but tasted like it was absent of ANY liquor at all . . . it was lousy. Don't think "no ice" should be a big deal; I seem to be accommodated at every other place we go . . .

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food and service outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had a great Valentine's Day dinner. We both had wine, got the grilled artichokes for an app. We got the surf and turf and lobster mac and cheese and just split everything. We got the banana cream pie for dessert. Everything was great and our server was extremely nice and helpful. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Have had lunch here before but decides to do dinner here for a night out. We had our seat request honored and a delightful waiter named Trent. We had a glass of Veuve Cliquet and a margarita! Outstanding cocktails! The Veuve was a special price of $18.00 per glass, which I didn't realize until I paid the bartender, a delightful bonus. Back to dinner - I had the warm quinoa bowl with salmon and my guest had the lobster mac and cheese. Both were outstanding. The mac and cheese came in at $42.00 but was worth every penny. Creamy, delicate flavors, generous amounts of lobster and a crispy topping. The warm quinoa bowl was a healthy and terribly tasty blend of all the perfect foods! We enjoyed that with a delicious rose wine. Our starters were the mushroom soup, delicious and mildly earthy as mushrooms are, yet creamy and smooth. My kale salad was perfection as only those who adore sinking their teeth in to the magnificent bite of delicate kale can appreciate. Portion size made this experience a tremendous value while fine dining! We will be back and often!

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

In town visiting for a few days, passed by and decided to try it. Food was good, served quickly and wait staff attentive. Overall, seemed like they were trying for a farm to table concept, but not sure it's ready for prime time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Paul Martin consistently has great food and service!

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Delicious! Delicious! Delicious! Really enjoyed the chilled, assorted seafood collection that is a Valentine's Day Special. The Cedar Plank Salmon was to die for. Please save room for the Chocolate Cake if you can. It is amazing! Thank you Kathie for your great service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My husband's Ribs were amazing! Such a large portion he brought some home. He said they were the Best he's had! Fall off the bone tender!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Lunch on patio was wonderful..quiet. Delicious! Very inexpensive. Nice ambiance. Lunch better than dinner I think. Will definitely come here again with people I like and want to have delicious..special...food and quiet but spirited conversation..great waiter, too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Very comfortable restaurant to be in, the staff were super friendly, prices are reasonable, and best of all the food is FANTASTIC!!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My brother and I were in town for the Phoenix Open and reservations are really late during that time. Paul Martin's worked us in at 815 and the food was sensational. The wine was excellent and the value was just right when compared to the local steakhouses and other choices.

I would recommend this place with confidence.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This Scottsdale steakhouse came highly recommended by friends, and it did not disappoint. I ordered the salad, and the short ribs with mashed potatoes; and my wife had the rosemary (brick) chicken. The food was excellent and the service was prompt and friendly. We both liked the beer choices. Pre-dinner cocktails were a generous pour. All in all we had an enjoyable, relaxing meal. The only draw-back is the parking. The number of parking spots is limited and valet parking may be your only option.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great organic based food. Service was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was good. The service was good but actually things came out a little to quickly. Seems like an odd complaint but we were on vacation and we look for to dining and not just eating. Maybe it is a great place for locals. The food was good and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.