About Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale

Seasonal & Delicious.

With Paul Martin's American Grill, Brian Bennett and restaurateur Paul Fleming have realized a long-nurtured dream to create the restaurant "we've always wished was in our neighborhood."

At the heart of all great food is fresh, local, peak of the season ingredients. Paul Martin's aims to serve diners the best ingredients with meat raised in a humane and wholesome way, locally sourced produce, the best of both wild and farmed fish, artisan cheeses and cured meats from small local purveyors. The deep California-centric wine list twists and turns, by glass or bottle, through the Golden State's vineyards, with an occasional stop for an Oregon Pinot Gris or a Washington dry Riesling. Behind Paul Martin's elegantly rustic bar is an interesting array of craft beer and spirited cocktails with fresh garnishes. Good times and thoughtful food are a way of life at Paul Martin's American Grill.

6186 North Scottsdale Road
Scottsdale, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Daily Happy Hour: 3:00 - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
E. McDonald Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 991-9342

Website:
http://paulmartinsamericangrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Thursday Nights in the Bar

Parking Details:
Valet is available as well.

Executive Chef:
Chef Ray Valencia

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Paul Martin's American Grill - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (69)
Special Occasion (65)
Casual (61)
See All
Modern Decor (59)
Neighborhood Gem (59)
Good for Birthdays (57)
Bar Seating (47)
Business Meals (46)
Happy Hour (42)
Good for Groups (40)
Local Ingredients (39)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Fun (35)
Notable Wine List (35)
Comfort Food (29)
Romantic (28)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Great for Lunch (26)
Cozy (26)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Healthy (25)
Hot Spot (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Open Kitchen (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Authentic (18)
Organic (18)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
People Watching (15)
Outstanding Value (15)
Seasonal (14)
Private Room (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Disabled Access (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Family Style (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Wood Oven (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Great Beer (4)
Live Music (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Live Sports (3)
Tapas (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

Our server, Stephen, was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Carlie (sp) was absolutely great. Took care of our every need & very helpful on wine selection & appetizer! Food was great! After dinner she was kind enough to take our picture. We loved the entire experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

We were there during AZ restaurant week. It was terrific! The choices, the ambiance, our whole group enjoyed it and we will be going back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was a huge dissapointment. Must have caught them on a really bad night.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Terrific food and service makes Paul Martin's a "must go" place.
Very deep & interesting wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Dinner with friends and family was amazing. Great variety of food choices, really enjoyed the shrimp with pesto aioli, calamari and the artichoke. The short ribs are amazing and I heard rave reviews about the salmon from my sister. Our server was a gem, Remone was well versed in the menu and preparations. He made our first time visit wonderful. I highly recommend Paul Martins to anyone who wants great food and terrific service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We love Paul Martin's and could see ourselves being weekly visitors if only there was a location closer to were we live.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Paul Martin's is one of our favorite restaurants! You can always count on excellent service and excellent food! Highly recommend !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Groups, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The food wasn't worth the price I paid. It was lacking Good service. Not coming back.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good service and great food for Mother's Day. That's two Sundays in a row. We love Paul Martin's.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was excellent as was ambiance - it's a very nice place. Food was only fair and even though we had a reservation, it still took 30 minutes to seat us on Mother's Day. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service, great lunch! Even the Manager was very present and making sure everyone had what they needed.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent service and fun for the Mothers Day Brunch. 4 Adults, three kids. Worked out great.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch good, but not as good as last year. Eggs Benedict were undercooked and had to be sent back -- long wait to get a replacement. Also cold! Shouldn't happen. Great server, however. And excellent ambiance. A disappointment from last year...too bad.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We've enjoyed everything we have tried on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Brick Chicken was excellent. Thr chicken chimichurri was good, but I would do the Brick Chicken next time. The grilled artichoke was a little disappointing. It was hard and we really couldn't eat anything other than the heart. Service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Management has done an outstanding job with their staffing and menu to ensure everyone has an outstanding dining experience. We love sitting in the bar/lounge are or outside in the patio. But, the entire restaurant w/the open kitchen is beautiful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Another fantastic evening at Paul Martin's! Managers Clyde and Jim were on top of everything. Bartenders Stephen and Dustin made excellent cocktails, Waitress Ashley was lovely as usual. Food was awesome - the steak on the Steak Cobb cooked to perfection, the salmon as delectable as ever. The Artichoke... MORE PLEASE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Excellent all around as always. I find consistency always with food, service and ambience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Second time eating here and the food and service were both excellent. I highly recommend having a meal here, as you will enjoy the food. Such great service too!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Organic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our waiter was phenomenal. He catered to my wife's dietary needs and seemed well informed. The food was excellent as well and reasonably priced. We will be coming back here and already recommended to a friend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Cozy, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Nice restaurant; food is well-prepared and the service is very professional. It was blessedly quiet on a very busy Saturday evening. We could actually talk to each other across a large table without having to shout. Good wine list. Reasonable prices for Scottsdale. Would like to see a few more fish dishes on the menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great place for lunch or dinner. Very nice happy hour menu

Tags: Authentic, Organic, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 1, 2017

From the time we arrived the staff was very attentive and helpful. The outdoor patio is very welcoming and comfortable. The food was great fresh and delicious. The wine list was extensive. We'll return.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Always a great choice. Calamari is superb! Never disappoints.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Dinning with mother in law and wife

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Having been to this restaurant many times I must say I have always had good food, good service & made to feel like a valued customer.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food was great, & they accommodated us with a group of 12 including 9 kids. Service was also excellent. Our food order got messed up, & they fixed it immediately & were very apologetic. They were also very polite!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 29, 2017

First time there and will go back next time we are in Scottsdale. It was one of the best meals we have had in a long time. The service was excellent and the atmosphere was great. I can't give them high enough praise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We asked for a slight change to a order and we were told "the chef said he was too busy". Now, with all the fine restaurants in town., would you be inclined to put up with that type of service?

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Great food. Great ambiance. Wish they had one where I live.

Tags: Family Style, Happy Hour, Tapas, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Great experience! Food was perfectly cooked, overall a fantastic place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The service was excellent. The Monday night special is excellent and the food god.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We had to ask our server for EVERYTHING.... Our friend needed a set of power tools to cut his happy hour steak.....

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food,ambiance, and service. The live entertainment is great in theory but the execution wasn't so great; which is my polite way of saying book a different act. NO ONE should offer an acoustic version of Prince's Little Red Corvette.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

everything was so great.. the salt pepper shrimp was a highlight of the meal. I heard it the skirt steak medium rare over your husband ordered a New York strip a belief. My steak came rare and his came very medium to medium-well. To be honest it was so delicious. Reason I gave a 4-star for the food was the desserts, chocolate cake I wish to be quite honest tasted very store-bought or possibly out of a box and that was very disappointing for me. Overall my experience was awesome, the flavors were great. I would highly recommend this restaurant.
Cindy was a waitress and she did an awesome job

Tags: Organic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Excellent service and food. Recommend the prime rib. Server John fantastic service

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 17, 2017

My first time there n
Good food, good service. We had reservations so there was no wait. I had a dirty bread plate given to me by the wait and they sat us at a table with no knives... But again, the food and service were good. Just little mistakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 17, 2017

I thought it was just very ordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I love this place. The only thing that was not perfect was the food runs brought the food to the table and was not sure where it was suppose to go. However, everyone was super friendly and the food was awesome!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.