Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Park Tavern

With an exciting mix of vintage fixtures, comfortable furnishings, and handsome textures, Park Tavern is an elegant spin on a North Beach neighborhood classic. Owner Anna Weinberg and designer Kendra Nicholas of Park Interiors collaborated to divide the room into unique, dedicated spaces -- the handsome marble bar, the terra cotta floored cafe with windows that open onto the patio facing Washington Park, the comfortable dining room with tufted leather banquettes, and an open kitchen with a chef’s counter.

Park Tavern will showcase Chef Partner Jennifer Puccio's talents with delicious American bistro classics and emphasize seafood from a wood burning oven. From raw to fried, expect boldly flavored dishes that you'll want to eat several times a week.

Serving up classic cocktails with the candor and character of an old friend, you won't find any overly fancy mixology here. But when it comes to wines, you find something for everyone!

1652 Stockton Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94133
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
DINNER:
Sunday- Thursday : 5:30PM to 10:00PM
Friday & Saturday: 5:30PM to 10:00 PM

LUNCH:
Friday: 11:30 to 2:30PM

BRUNCH:
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00AM to 2:30PM

BAR:
Tuesday - Friday: 5:00PM to 12:00AM
Saturday & Sunday: 11:00AM to 12:30AM

Cross Street:
Between Filbert St & Union St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 989-7300

Website:
http://www.parktavernsf.com/

Executive Chef:
Jennifer Puccio

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our Eden Room is the ideal setting for private gatherings of up to 50 seated guests or 80 for a stand-up reception. The space is perfect for small wedding celebrations, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, anniversary celebrations, as well as business luncheons and dinners.

Park Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (50)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Special Occasion (46)
See All
Fit for Foodies (46)
Great for Brunch (43)
Good for Groups (40)
Fun (37)
Hot Spot (36)
Bar Seating (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Sunday Lunch (30)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Romantic (25)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Modern Decor (25)
Great for Lunch (24)
People Watching (23)
Comfort Food (23)
Open Kitchen (23)
Casual (22)
Business Meals (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Notable Wine List (18)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Cozy (14)
Scenic View (11)
Healthy (11)
Authentic (10)
Seasonal (10)
Historic (9)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Private Room (5)
Organic (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Family Style (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Spicy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1862 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

Love the place
But it was THE WORST STAKE IN MY LIFE! A McDonald's Level meal

Disgusting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Hands down my one of my favorite brunch places in SF.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

This is our second time at this restaurant and we were disappointed with the service and food on both occasions. We had high expectations because we enjoy Marlowe's and frequent it quite often. Thought we would give Park Tavern another try, but sadly it was the same. We waited 45 minutes for our main course to arrive after they forgot to bring one of our appetizers all together. The steak ordered med/rare was served med/well, the veggie dish was a plate of beans, and the pork chop had an identity crisis going on. If you have to go, stick to the brussel sprout chips and the Marlowe burger...or just go to Marlowe's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Burger is one of the best in the city, and if you ask, instead of fries they'll give you a delicious side salad of sweet, peppery baby arugula tossed in a light, but flavor-packed shallot dressing. YUM!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The food tasting amazing good. The homemade chorizo and baked eggs were extraordinary. We thought it was one of the best brunches in the city until I started to get a stomache followed by a fever within an hour of eating there. Cross this off the list. Disappointing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

ambiance is fun. food is mediocre (entrees we had was steak, lamb and pork chops)...not a good value as there are m. if I went back it would be more for beers, appetizers and at the most a burger.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Loved the spot. Pretty and the food was delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Off to a bad start when waiter took offense because one of the diners mentioned that they not like (in general) one of the items on the menu.

Then, when ordering, waiter was unable to describe one of the entrees. So, inadequate training of this individual. If a diner wants to know something about a $30+ entree, he/she should get a satisfactory answer.

Quite noisy, so necessary sit as far from the bar as possible if you want to talk.

Drinks and food were delicious. Portions very appropriate.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

went for mother's day. we had only 4 people and each of us had to change what we ordered because they ran out of items on the pre-fixed menu. Would have expected a better food management inventory before opening up on Mothers day . we had a 1:15 reservation so nothing late to warrant running out of basic items. In cases like this if i was the manager I would have asked if we would like another item on the regular menu. We had to change our appetizers ,main meal and deserts. Not what you want when out with moms.Would love to come again and hope to be able to get what we ordered.


nice place but poor planning or purposely planned ? to save cost ?

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was delicious and service was just perfect. No hovering over our table to rush us, which was nice. I have been to Park Tavern for dinner but this was a first for brunch. Such a perfect spot.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had a late reservation as we went there after a show. It's my old neighborhood and we practically ate at that spot from the time it was Moose's to when Ed sold the restaurant and it's now Park Tavern. Our waiter was beyond unprofessional. We had already drank at the show so no one wanted to drink alcohol and that didn't please him and a late night dinner is typically light. He barely paid attention to us and we asked for something he was annoyed. I still gave him a 20% tip but someone should really counsel the guy. Maybe try a different profession?!?!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was my second time here for dinner. We ordered the deviled eggs, brussels sprout chips, beet salad, demons on horseback, the chicken, the sea bass, the tuna, and the pork belly. Our faves were the deviled eggs, the brussel sprout chips, the tuna, and the pork belly. Fave overall was the pork belly.

For dessert, we had the cheesecake and bread pudding. Both were awesome. You won't go wrong with either.

The service was also impeccable. You can always rely on Park Tavern for that.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Such a gem! I had such a great time from the moment I walked in to the moment I left. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Food was delicious! Can't wait to come back :)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great place to bring a vendor and show a taste of sf. Awesome waiter who gave us some complementary apps as a gesture.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Unassumingly sophisticated and warrants a try from any walk of life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Food was great! Defiantly be back! The menu has a great variety...I didn't get a chance to try the black cod...I hope it returns too the menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Modern Decor, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Felt a little too rushed and our server was slow getting some items to us. Overall we were in and out in 45 minutes and for the cost, I don't know if I would go back for brunch again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My husband's birthday

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

good ambiance, service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a fabulous brunch at Park Tavern this past Saturday. The service was excellent, the food was delicious and well-executed, and the ambiance was casual and updated. Star dishes were definitely the Huckleberry fritters (OMG), and the shrimp and grits. Great cocktails as well. My only complaint was that the menu doesn't provide a list of drinks other than cocktails, so we were constantly asking what other beverages they provided - i.e. cappuccinos, etc. Overall, really great experience!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had dinner here about a month ago and loved it! The food the service everything was amazing. The brunch menu looked good so we came back and weren't disappointed, while I prefer our dinner the brunch was enjoyable as well. Much quieter during brunch

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Park Tavern is one of my very favorite restaurants in SF. Food and service are always excellent. My go to place to take friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food is great and the service very good as well. They also have a great cocktail menu and the "Evil Twin" is a fave. The younger hostess should not be in a service role. We asked for a different table and she was so incredibly rude we nearly walked out. Surprising for a place where everything else is so good that they would tolerate someone like that in a public-facing role.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Just had dessert and an appetizer, our time was meaningful and quiet.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

My boyfriends birthday, just the two of us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Food was exceptionally good. Bravo! I hadn't been in awhile and forgot how good it was!

Tags: Disabled Access, Seasonal, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Birthday celebrations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

This one out of a thousand restaurants that offers food, literarily every dish, that was so salty we had to leave without finishing the appetizers. I just don't understand how this eatery could survive the sophisticated palates of San Francisco. However, it was packed and clients seemed fine with what they were having. It really gets me that they seem not to have a problem with it but me and my mom had to eat at another restaurant after that and find something really light to cleansing our salty palate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Service was high quality but food was soso. We had the lemon chips, garlic soup and pork chop. The serving size was big enough to share. The overall taste was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Super salty Bloody Mary - way too salty! Service ok. Food good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Outstanding food and top notch service. We went for brunch and sat outside. Everything was fabulous.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great food and ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Service was fantastic and the food and cocktails were perfect. Wonderful night!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I really like this place. It is cozy, has a good vibe, good and unique foods, my favorite champagne (Caneros), and I enjoy its proximity to the park and lively North Beach area. The only thing that bothered me, and this bothers me at a lot of places, is the judgement of the hostess/greeter. If I am there first thing in the morning and while I don't have a reservation, there is TONS of space, please spare me a recitation of my rights as a non-reservee. Just say, "You won't have a problem this early in the morning", or, if it is just killing you to not make me feel bad in some small way for not having a reservation for "Breakfast", then just say "Normally, without a reservation you would not have a chance at a private table, but I really don't think that will be an issue this morning". As it was, we were told they are not sure what they can do and to just wait and see. I made a reservation on Open Table for 15 minutes later, walked the park and was proptly seated at one of a couple dozen empty tables. Really? Why? Otherwise, great place!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We loved the restaurant but it is the noisiest restaurant in the city. Impossible to talk if a big group (we were 6) but we raised our voices as much as possible to be heard. Great food, great service, great ambiance. I would take a big group where involving everyone in conversation was not necessary. Better for 4 people.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great spot in the heart of Washington Square. Pricey, but good. Excellent cocktails. Would return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great burgers! And don't miss the twice baked potatoes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Server did not introduce herself. Steaks were nothing but chewy. Sorry guys, I Hope you could actually do better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Service was extremely slow. It took over 45 minutes for our food to come and when it did it was bland. The table next to us ordered 20 minutes after us and got food before we did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Good dining experience for brunch. Good food, great service, good value for money.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.