About Park Tavern

1652 Stockton Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94133
View Larger Map

With an exciting mix of vintage fixtures, comfortable furnishings, and handsome textures, Park Tavern is an elegant spin on a North Beach neighborhood classic. Owner Anna Weinberg and designer Kendra Nicholas of Park Interiors collaborated to divide the room into unique, dedicated spaces -- the handsome marble bar, the terra cotta floored cafe with windows that open onto the patio facing Washington Park, the comfortable dining room with tufted leather banquettes, and an open kitchen with a chef’s counter.

Park Tavern will showcase Chef Partner Jennifer Puccio's talents with delicious American bistro classics and emphasize seafood from a wood burning oven. From raw to fried, expect boldly flavored dishes that you'll want to eat several times a week.

Serving up classic cocktails with the candor and character of an old friend, you won't find any overly fancy mixology here. But when it comes to wines, you find something for everyone!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
DINNER:
Sunday- Thursday : 5:30PM to 10:00PM
Friday & Saturday: 5:30PM to 10:00 PM

LUNCH:
Friday: 11:30 to 2:30PM

BRUNCH:
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00AM to 2:30PM

BAR:
Tuesday - Friday: 5:00PM to 12:00AM
Saturday & Sunday: 11:00AM to 12:30AM

Cross Street:
Between Filbert St & Union St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 989-7300

Website:
http://www.parktavernsf.com/

Executive Chef:
Jennifer Puccio

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our Eden Room is the ideal setting for private gatherings of up to 50 seated guests or 80 for a stand-up reception. The space is perfect for small wedding celebrations, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, anniversary celebrations, as well as business luncheons and dinners.

Park Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (40)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Great for Brunch (31)
See All
Fun (30)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Special Occasion (29)
Good for Groups (25)
Bar Seating (24)
Open Kitchen (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Casual (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Business Meals (22)
Hot Spot (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Romantic (20)
Modern Decor (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Cozy (18)
People Watching (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Authentic (10)
Seasonal (7)
Historic (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Healthy (5)
Scenic View (3)
Private Room (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Organic (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1771 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

We loved our meals...from the deviled eggs, through the salads, to the restaurant specialty chicken! Our wine was wonderful too! Highly recommend Park Tavern for a solid meal!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Great place! We will return: a bit noisy here and there, but we were treated wonderfully!

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 7 days ago

The Cod was the best I've ever had. Service was great. Very noisy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

How can anyone enjoy a relaxing meal here? Food was OK, and servers are great, but tables are too close together and noise level is too high. Hard to enjoy a meal in such a loud, frenetic environment. BTW, the Poulet Rouge is a whole chicken, way too much for one person. They should warn diners that it's a huge amount of food and should be shared by two. This is a restaurant where you breathe a sigh of relief when you finally leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Went here for brunch with friends from out of town. Great food and cocktails! Can't wait to come back and try it for dinner!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

What an amazing restaurant. We were seated immediately, the waitstaff was very attentive, the food was SO DELICIOUS! I had the cod with sides for the table and it was amazing. The wine was very good and the atmosphere was vibrant but not crazy loud. I will definitely come here again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The best part of the meal was the brussels spout chips. Otherwise, we had burned chicken (with undercooked sweet potatoes), small pork portion, no options for kids. Dessert was good. Service was very uneven--we were juggled between several servers and couldn't find anyone when we needed help. They really need to get back in the game....this was our fourth time there, and it seems to have declined significantly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Really enjoyed everything about the Park Tavern. Try the roast chicken!

Tags: Casual, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was okay, but the restaurant was so loud we weren't able to carry on any conversations across the table. I was only able to talk to the people I sat next to and even then, had to practically yell.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Park Tavern is a quinessential gem in the heart of North Beach. This was first time dining here, but certainly NOT my last. This is a great spot for dates, friends, families, and overall good dining in semi-formal semi-not. The service is not bad although I had to ask for coffee 3 times (Could have been a fluke). Nevertheless, it is worth checking out!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal, People Watching, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had the grapefruit brûlée, avocado toast, and deviled eggs for appetizers, and then had the chorizo scramble and the braised short ribs with truffle shavings and topped with egg. The meal was wonderful and the staff members were attentive. The birthday cake dessert capped my birthday brunch. A wonderful meal, very good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Excellent dinner and great service! I'll be going there again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The brunch menu is good but rather brief, not to many choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Like the restaurant for for the food,and service. A bit noisy in some areas but that adds to the energy.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food, great service but it was too loud to carry on a conversation. Might eat there alone in the future but not with friends looking for a visit.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was amaze as always. The table next to us was super loud and drunk but we were there at 10pm. So it happens! But once the left, perfect ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Park Tavern is pitch perfect - the food, the service, the environment - absolutely nothing was wrong and everything was spectacular. We were a table of 6 for a casual birthday and I could not have been happier with our choice. I will definitely recommend Park Tavern and come back over and over and over again. We had the chicken, the tuna, the shrimp, the brussels sprouts, the green goddess salad, the deviled eggs, red velvet cake, cheesecake, and bread pudding. There were no leftovers and we all shared everything and almost fought over that chicken. The wine list was good, if a touch pricey, but not crazy. We had cocktails, wine, and port - a bit lushy, but hey! It was my birthday!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Delicious, good service, lively atmosphere, classy decor, and fabulous cocktail barman Tim.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We were treating family in North Beach to dinner out and none of us had been to Park Tavern. Our table was ready on time. Nice decor, crowded so a bit noisy. The service was not overly attentive, but efficient enough. We ordered the Brussels sprouts starter to share and they were GREAT. My husband and I shared the beet salad, and shrimp appetizer. Both very good, and just the right portion. I had the fish on a sizable bed of mushrooms and veggies. The fish portion was too small, but it was otherwise a good dish. My husband had the octopus on couscous which turned out to be a stupid choice for him since he can't eat gluten. The octopus was good, generally tender, the couscous was okay. Our guests ordered the vegetarian dish and were very happy with it. We each ordered wine by the glass, and were pleased with our different selections. We would all go back; it was a good time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

A very nice atmosphere, nice host staff and the food was delicious. Our waiter couldn't be more accommodating and helpful, he made suggestions about the menu and he was right. Overall we would go back on our next visit to SF.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Very good choice, great location in an attractive venue. A bit noisy for our business dinner but we had a great meal and lots of laughs over a delicious octopus entre. Not something you find every day! Great stuff. I will certainly return on my next visit to San Francisco.

Tags: Hot Spot, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We had a terrific anniversary meal, with good service from start to finish. The complimentary glasses of sparkling wine for our special occasion was a nice little extra.

The only tiny flaw in the experience was the decaf espresso I ordered at the end: it tasted as if it had been made with 2 teaspoons of instant coffee...truly terrible, and it had a piece of plastic floating in it as well. Not sure what happened there, and our server had gone off duty by the time it came, so I couldn't ask him about it. Oh well, a small thing...I'd still go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Nice meal but not a good value. Seating gave nice view. Not many choices on menu. Small portions for price.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

They sat us slightly late but made up with complimentary appetizers that were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Nice place overall - had reservation but waited 45 minutes which was a bummer .

Service was spotty and a bit disorganized . Food was interesting and tasty !

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had a wonderful time here last Saturday. My boyfriend and I were a few minutes late, but the rest of our party had arrived and was at the bar enjoying a cocktail. The hostess was very accommodating and gave them time to finish their drinks before she sat us at our table. Our waiter was super friendly and accommodating as well when we asked to order in courses. Just as important, the food was absolutely delicious! We will definitely be coming back, but this time we won't wait for a special occasion.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Everything was great. Felt the food was a little underwhelming. It was so loud I couldn't hear my friend across the table..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Although the noise level is high, the restaurant is still a winner with wonderful food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Good food a good service, nice ambiance, highly recommend

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

If you're gluten & dairy free - I recommend avoiding for Sunday brunch. They don't really accommodate these allergies

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was the last of several meals out last weekend. Here for brunch on Sunday. Had the spiced deviled eggs and avocado toast which turned out to be enough for me ( and a Bellini). Delicious! Our waiter was great. Will return.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food, service, and vibe is consistently exceptional!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Their signature chicken dish was divine. It is roasted on a cast iron mini skillet with a protruding center spike that the chicken is set on sitting up. There is a moat at the foot of the base that is filled with sweet potatoes and leeks and squash and slowly roasted in the drippings. We will go back for that dish alone. The service was friendly but I gave one star off because towards the end of our evening we no longer saw our server. The atmosphere gets loud as the night progresses making it hard to hear across the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very crowded North Beach Restaurant / Bar, great service personnel, food was good but not great, Saturday lunch was just a brunch menu. Great wine list, fantastic cocktails, great beer selection.

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Park Tavern is an upscale eatery right next to Washington Park in North Beach. My wife and I stopped by on a Saturday morning for brunch and had an enjoyable meal.

The meal was fine and the avocado toast was delicious.

I found the oatmeal raisin pancakes to be mediocre at best. My wife had the blueberry French toast and it was good not great.

We ordered the devil eggs but they were never brought and we weren't charged for them. Service was slow but friendly, we were not in a rush.

Overall, a hefty price for a breakfast that was decent but nothing special. There are better places to drop a hundy on breakfast for two.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I had not been to Park Tavern before and it more than met my expectations. The food was truly excellent and the fun drinks gave us a chance to try new things. The service was super including making recommendations and checking up on us despite it being quite busy. Would definitely come back, very nice neighborhood restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Amazing Brunch Menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Love the other Marlowe group destinations. But Park Tavern is completely overrated. Condescending service,, overcrowded, lackluster food. Won't be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great brunch spot, their salmon Benedict was delicious and the server was very polite while also being very attentive of when drinks were low, she would always come and ask nicely if we would like them refilled

Tags: Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

great location - staff was friendly. however our time between ordering and receiving our courses was slow. food was tasty - but nothing extraordinary. the noise was outrageous. I felt like i was eating dinner in the middle of a bar - not a restaurant. they need to do something about the noise - my ears were ringing and my voice was strained when i left the restaurant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Outstanding experience as usual. Table of 6 all very happy with their food and wine. Service very good without being intrusive. Park Tavern is a winner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Found myself down by the wharf and thankfully opted to stroll up the hill to park tavern. Food was delicious and innovative without sacrificing the comfort qualities you want in a tavern. Service was stellar. You should probably go there.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Honestly, this is our 4th or 5th time and I can say probably our last. The food is over priced, the staff is never smiling or happy, the portions are ok, and the one upside is great coffee. We've tried to give it a shot numerous times.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Brunch never disappoints at Parktavern ! Good looking space , excellent location. Good mixture of locals and tourists. I've been going to this space since it was Mouses years ago. Park tavern has done and still does it justice. Great food , great experience !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We went there for a brunch date, and LOVED the food.

We ordered Avocado toast— a must order!

Then we ate the Polenta Cakes and Oatmeal Walnut Raisin Pancakes— the food is simply amazing. Kudos to the chef!

Boozy Smoothie is a must try too.

Would gladly go back there :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Recommended by patrons of the Fog City Dinner - and glad we took they recommendation. Fun place; good energy. Excellent bar atmosphere. They make an excellent Manhattan! Great beet salad! Excellent 'Marlowe Burger'! We thought the menu was a bit limited - in anticipation of our return visits.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Always a very solid option and never dissapoints. Outstanding cocktails.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The ambiance and service at Park Tavern were fantastic. The food was a little disappointing, we expected the prix fixe menu for NYE to be much better than it was, especially for $100+ a person (without wine pairing). We were all first timers at Park Tavern and were disappointed with the food but I would like to go again when we can choose our own entrees, etc.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is my 2nd time here. The first time was for dinner and we had a great experience with the food and service.

I came for brunch this time with 2 other friends. For a restaurant that requires your credit card to hold your reservation I expect excellent service. There was a huge gap between our starters and the entrees and we couldn't even find our server to let her know. They weren't even that busy. It was already close to 1:30 . The peak dining time had also passed. The shrimp and grits were so salty we couldn't eat it. My Marlowe burger was also very salty. They forgot to re-fill our coffee.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

One of our favorite neighborhood spots. The brunch is great, and the burger is one of the best in SF.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.