Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Park Tavern

With an exciting mix of vintage fixtures, comfortable furnishings, and handsome textures, Park Tavern is an elegant spin on a North Beach neighborhood classic. Owner Anna Weinberg and designer Kendra Nicholas of Park Interiors collaborated to divide the room into unique, dedicated spaces -- the handsome marble bar, the terra cotta floored cafe with windows that open onto the patio facing Washington Park, the comfortable dining room with tufted leather banquettes, and an open kitchen with a chef’s counter.

Park Tavern will showcase Chef Partner Jennifer Puccio's talents with delicious American bistro classics and emphasize seafood from a wood burning oven. Expect boldly flavored dishes that you'll want to eat several times a week.

Serving up classic cocktails with the candor and character of an old friend, you won't find any overly fancy mixology here. But when it comes to wines, you find something for everyone!

1652 Stockton Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94133
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
DINNER kitchen hours :
Sunday & Monday : 5:30 PM to 9:00 PM
Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday : 5:30 PM to 10:00 PM
Friday & Saturday : 5:30-11 pm

BRUNCH kitchen hours :
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00AM to 2:30PM

BAR HOURS:
Friday: 4 pm
Saturday-Thursday: 5 pm

Cross Street:
Between Filbert St & Union St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 989-7300

Website:
http://www.parktavernsf.com/

Executive Chef:
Jennifer Puccio

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our Eden Room is the ideal setting for private gatherings of up to 50 seated guests or 80 for a stand-up reception. The space is perfect for small wedding celebrations, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, anniversary celebrations, as well as business luncheons and dinners.

Park Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
See All
Good for a Date (37)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Great for Brunch (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
People Watching (27)
Bar Seating (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Casual (25)
Hot Spot (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Comfort Food (22)
Business Meals (21)
Fun (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Romantic (15)
Great for Lunch (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Cozy (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Authentic (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Scenic View (6)
Seasonal (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1958 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2017

was an off night. the waiter was disorganized, didn't share the specials. the burger came out cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Birthday brunch was scandalous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Really enjoyed our brunch here. Buttermilk pancakes, baked eggs, and Marlowe burger were all delicious. But what really made it stand out was the service. Everyone we encountered - valet, hostess, waiters - was super friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food is very good at dinner; service is excellent. Drinks OK

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Really amazing brunch. Classic SF/North Beach spot.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Both my guest and I are in the biz. He's a chef and I work in the front of house as a manager and private events coordinator. We did not think we should mention it--that is, until my date was drilling our fabulous server! Our server (his name escapes me) was funny, attentive, and quite knowledgeable about the menu. He definitely held his own while being put to the test by my date! And the complimentary carrot cake (known as the birthday cake dessert) was a nice way to end our meal.

I would never have tried the bone marrow had I gone by myself or with someone else. But I am so glad I did because it was probably the best part of the meal. Flavorful and delicious. My steak, unfortunately, was over cooked (I asked for med-rare on the rare side and it was more medium. Next time I'll probably ask for it rare.). His pork chop, however, was perfect. Very generous portions for dinner.

I would have enjoyed dining in the dining room as opposed to the corner of the "bar" area just off the host stand--but it was still busy at 9:00 pm. The tables were not table clothed and were, in fact, pretty slippery. Our plates kept sliding around. Other than that, everything was wonderful.

Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

First time at this restaurant. Major disappointment!! Walked in at 10:00a on Sunday with a reservation and staff was still getting organized. Hostess said they will be seating in 4 mins. Stood outside. Came back in after 4 mins with 2 other people standing by the hostesses podium, but no one greeted us for a long time with wait staff walking back and forth. Brought in a birthday cake as a surprise for one of my guests. Our meal was good, not exceptional. Service was slow. After eating our meal, the waiter handed us the dessert menu. I indiscreetly told him that we have a cake, but I guess no one told him. One guest ordered the ice cream sandwich so the waiter came back after a long time and brought the ice cream sandwich and a slice of their house cake with a candle in it. At that point I had to get out of my chair and to the hostesses and asked them what happened to the cake??!! Well, one of the hostesses never told the waiter. The whole surprise was ruined. They did finally bring out the cake after 10 mins. WTH??!! I was observing and saw that the waiters were just talking amongst themselves without a care in the world. It just seemed like they were so disorganized. Coffee was never refilled during our entire time at breakfast until I asked for a cup of coffee at the end. Unfortunately, this was not a good experience although I've heard good things about this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We requested a nice table for a special date and were seated in the area that feels like a patio. I asked the server if we could move -- he was so kind and found us the perfect table. Things went uphill from there -- we ordered the brussel sprouts and then deviled eggs which are a staple followed by the bone marrow (was not a fan) and then bar steak which was delicious, but wish it came with a veggie or greens too. Overall, good experience and we love park tavern!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2017

It's a delightful accomplishment when you can count on a restaurant to be delicious, the staff to know their profession well and the cocktails to shine. Up to date American comfort food is always a winner. We always order the huckleberry begniet. Deviled eggs are great too.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Outstanding food and hospitable staff! Clean location with attentive service. A bit difficult to read menus at our table due to low ambient light but other tables appeared to be spotlighted. Noise level was high which made it hard to have a private conversation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

It was a busy Sunday and we had a reservation for 1:15pm. We had to wait about 30 mins for our table to be ready; but we were ok with that. Unfortunately by the time we were seated they were sold out of a lot of menu items like the Trout Benedict, and the Baked Eggs (both of which we wanted to order), and sold out of all the pastries. If you're heading to Park Tavern on a Sunday, probably best to go early as they seems to run out of their menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We brought our children visiting from NYC to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Our crew is very accustomed to a boozy brunch and was all compliments on the drinks, avocado toast, deviled eggs and entrees. I selected this restaurant for its proximity to Beach Blanket Babylon not realizing there was valet parking for a flat rate. We ended our brunch with a dessert compliments of the restaurant with a lighted candle. This visit honestly couldn't have been more perfect. Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Was a little disappointed in the roasted chicken which was too dry, also had the pork tenderloin, again too dry. Wagyu beef was probably the best entree we had there, but not very memorable or amazing either

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Our waiter provided great service, was fun and just gave us a great night. Thanks!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

My second time here - I LOVE IT. Only complaint is that it is loud and can be hard to have conversation

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Another great meal at Park Tavern!
Our third visit, and the second time for brunch. There are always a lot of great things to choose from. We had the shrimp and grits and eggs and chorizo on our last visit. This time my wife had the Marlowe Burger and fries -- perfect as ever and I had the Crispy Polenta Cakes with Poached Eggs, Mushrooms and Arugula -- awesome. The polenta cakes were ethereal -- light as if they were made of cake flour. The mushrooms are sautéed and come topped with the arugula, which you toss to make a lovely salad. The cakes are topped with perfectly poached eggs, oozing of goodness. The service is always attentive but never hovering. Top it off with a perfect Bellini or one of Park Tavern's Bloody Mary's.

Oh, and we had to try the Huckleberry Fritters! We did not have room to eat them all; order of five along with huckleberry compote and crème anglaise. So we took them home and had them for breakfast this morning. I split them in half and toasted them in our Breville toaster oven. They came out just as crispy as in the restaurant. Just take them out of the fridge for a half hour or so to take the chill off and toast them for three or four minutes to heat them through and crisp them up.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 26, 2017

As a Celiac disease person, I am so excited to find a restaurant that is well versed about Celiac. The staff was kind, compassionate and knowledgeable about the steps of having to eat Gluten Free. Thank you! I will return many times! The joys of eating out have been restored at Park Tavern!!

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The food was good but the service was extremely slow and inattentive. The small plates/apps took forever as did our glasses of wine. Ended up skipping main dishes because it took so long to get the apps we had ordered.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Way to much noise. Felt like you are dining in a bar enviornment. The chef drowns everything in lemon flavor and kills the flavor of the item. Also felt the quantity of food was not a good value for the price.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Thank you Park Tavern fo having choices for Celiac people! I was so thrilled to have many choices and such a helpful waiter! We will be returning often.

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Park Tavern is consistently excellent, with imaginative combinations, many featuring bacon and poached egg. Friendly service. Did not try cocktails. Shrimp and grits and smoked trout were great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Outstanding menu and service! Highly recommended - this is one of my favorite places in the ciyty

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

I was very disappointed in tonight's experience. We sat 35+ minutes after our reservation time. This is easily the 20+ time I've dined here, most of which should be documented in my OpenTable and the fact that they barely addressed the delay in seating us was unacceptable. They should have bought us a round of drinks. Annoying... we are all regulars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food was poor, we waited far too long for our food, and the cocktail order got screwed up. It was an important night and I was embarrassed to have brought my guest there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The best Steak Tartare I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 17, 2017

I frequently go to Park Tavern. It is my go to neighborhood restaurant. I especially love the Brussel sprout chips. I was a bit surprised that the service last Wednesday was not per the usual standard. Service was very slow and a bit choppy. It was a pretty crowded evening. I will still continue to go to Park Tavern regularly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Food was really good.
Service, not so much...
I might even call the service bad.
Drinks were very slow to arrive with one arriving seconds before dinner. It was a cocktail, not a dinner drink.
The waiter was thrown by simple requests, such as "no rice" and "no whipped cream". Fail on both. And not very pleasant about it, either.
And so loud it was difficult to talk across the table until other diners started to clear out.
But again, the food was good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Park Tavern has been my favorite restaurant for quite some time. The room is beautiful, the food very good and service generally quite attentive. Last night, however, the $35 corkage fee was a bit over the top. Wow.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fun, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We had a delicious brunch at Park Tavern. Our family was visiting from Washington, D.C. and Texas, and we enjoyed visiting over fabulous food!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food was excellent, but the service was outstanding. Our female server went above and beyond....exceeding our expectations! She made our meal even better.

We had the lemon chips (so unique, never had it before but it was so good!), deviled eggs (what they're known for), the steak and fries, octopus (HIGHLY recommend) and the chocolate torte with coffee ice cream. The wine was also excellent, a unique Spanish rose.

I really enjoyed this place. It's a little frenetic, and gets super busy. But as a visitor to SF, I will be back should my plans take me to the bay area again.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Bar Seating, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Our dinner was delicious. The sole and bar steak were very tasty, as were the corn on the cob with pesto & house fav deviled eggs. Only the twice baked potato (a side) felt plain and like it could've used something else. Cocktails we're above average, but hit or miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great service, great food, great vibe - love this spot!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Service was great! We all enjoyed the food. The wine was excellent too!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Loved the atmosphere here great hangout

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

You can never go wrong with this San Francisco classic. The food, service, atmosphere, vibe is always great. I love this restaurant!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Romantic, People Watching, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food was delicious and each entree had it's unique flair. The service was good. We were seated promptly and our food came pretty quickly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Excellent cuisine beautifully presented, great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 24, 2017

excellent food and service especially the surprise birthday treat

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 24, 2017

The food was creative and excellent flavors. Loved the interior tavern atmosphere. Waitress was terrific as all the staff. Nice white table cloth to give it a lot of class. I would absolutely go back again and again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great atmosphere and service! Food was amazing - The Huckleberry Fritters were some of the best things I've ever eaten!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.