About Parizade

2200 W. Main Street
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

Parizade is Mediterranean inspired culinary creations. A vast open kitchen spans the length of the restaurant. Surreal art by Henryk Fantazos adorns the walls and ceiling. Parizade is truly the crowning jewel of Giorgios Hospitality Group. *Large parties, please call the restaurant at 919-286-9712*

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 286-9712

Website:
http://parizadedurham.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music every Thursday night!

Catering:
They offer small and large catering options, from deliveries to full off-site catering services.

Parking Details:
Parking garage also around the corner!

Executive Chef:
Robert Adams

Private Party Facilities:
Parizade has one of the most elegant event spaces in the Triangle, where we serve only the most exquisite food and drink. We have the facilities, staff and experience to pull off every kind of private event, from corporate dinner parties to refined wedding receptions.

Private Party Contact:
Joshua Weaver: (919) 286-9712

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Parizade Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (62)
Good for a Date (54)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
See All
Creative Cuisine (41)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Business Meals (39)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Romantic (31)
Good for Groups (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
Worth the Drive (28)
Open Kitchen (28)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Modern Decor (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Authentic (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Fun (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Private Room (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
People Watching (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Cozy (11)
Seasonal (10)
Casual (10)
Healthy (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Live Music (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1680 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was my second time dining at Pariza ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

This was my second time dining at Parizade. The first time was during Triangle Restaurant Week in January, and I was pretty impressed. Sufficiently so, in fact, that when I saw they were promoting Valentine's Day I went ahead and booked a reservation.

Boy, was that a mistake.

Had an 8p reservation, but we weren't seated until close to 8:30. There were a queue of other couples with us who also had reservations that were being satisfied late.

The service experience was quite poor, especially in comparison to our previous experience dining with a larger group. Our waitress was slow to satisfy any request, and in only some cases could that be attributed to problems elsewhere. For example, bar problems causing drinks to come slowly wouldn't have been her fault (but is still a poor service experience). Some other items, like requests for olive oil (generally on the table for the complimentary bread) and a steak knife (for the steak entree) seem controllable. Although, in fairness to her again, it may not have been her fault that such requests were necessary in the first place.

I was less impressed with the food than our first experience, but it could have been a function of decidedly unadventurous ordering; my wife felt her entree was still quite good and mine was basically just steak and potatoes.

Pricing sucked by comparison, but I think that's the usual Valentine's Day effect of every decent restaurant jacking up prices because they can. The Triangle Restaurant week pricing was MUCH better; the value during that visit was part of my motivation for booking on Valentine's Day in the first place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

We went to Parizade for Valentine's Day ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 5 days ago

We went to Parizade for Valentine's Day and they had a pretty wide menu variety for the occasion, including vegetarian options. My husband and I shared a salad and a dessert and each had our own entree and the portion size was perfect. The food was absolutely delicious! I also had a cucumber basil martini and it was also delicious and fairly priced. We will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Joe was a wonderful waiter. He dealt wi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Joe was a wonderful waiter. He dealt with various dietary needs very well and treated us superbly

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Since coming to Durham in 1993, this is ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Since coming to Durham in 1993, this is he BEST dining experience in the area. The food, setting, service are exceptional. We always have a special sense when we dine here.

Superlatives all round.

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food. On the pricey side, but ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic food. On the pricey side, but portions are relatively large, so it ends up being worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was slow and bar was overwhelmed ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was slow and bar was overwhelmed so wine took forever and dinner got cold when it got there. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

Kinda pricey - not big portions. waiter ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Kinda pricey - not big portions. waiter should not be waiter - no intro just mumbles. seriously should not be waiter. Interesting food. If $ not an issue you will like this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Parisade never lets us down. Always a wo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Parisade never lets us down. Always a wonderful dining experience. Elegant, but not stuffy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there with my Partner for Valentine ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Went there with my Partner for Valentine's Day. The server acknowledged her other tables by saying, "Welcome to Parazide, Happy Valentine's Day". When she got to our table she said, "Are you gentlemen here for dinner"? What happened to her telling us Happy Valentine's Day? Was very awkward for us at that point and set the tone for a less than enjoyable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Food and service was excellent. It was ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and service was excellent. It was a Valentines lunch with friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Horrible experience. The service was atr ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Horrible experience. The service was atrocious. And then they ran my card for $150 more than my bill was worth. I have called several times and finally was able to track down a manager, who said he would call me right back, which he did not. No excuses would be applicable in this situation. It was handled quite terribly, and unfortunately, the food was lovely, but the service in management and all the errors we haven't heard will ensure that we never ever return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

We had a slow eater (SALAD) at our table ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a slow eater (SALAD) at our table which put service behind and made three of the four entrees at our table tepid. Not the server or the restaurant's fault. I must say that even tepid, my meal was extremely tasty. Wine choices and mixed drinks were superb. Service was exceptional considering the adaptations that were ultimately required.

Tags: Fireplace, Casual, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Historic, Healthy, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Entree's were extremely salty. Not as g ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Entree's were extremely salty. Not as good as it was several years ago.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Always excellent! We love it there. Grea ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Always excellent! We love it there. Great wine list and cocktails. Wonderful food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite Durham restaurant. The food ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 7, 2017

My favorite Durham restaurant. The food is consistently good, great atmosphere, good pricing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, , Modern Decor, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the second time I've been here, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 6, 2017

This was the second time I've been here, and I really like it. You can carry on a conversation, there is a nice menu selection, and the food is really good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You need to have Mediterranean food as a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

You need to have Mediterranean food as a choice. My wife and I were having a 60th anniversary year dinner at Parizade. We were not disappointed: the hostess was lovely, our waiter (Algie Walker) was excellent, and the seafood food was good. Because of a price for each item, I passed on a Med. salad which I normally would get at a similar restaurant in Chapel Hill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Took my wife and her two children for he ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Took my wife and her two children for her birthday. Good meal good atmosphere

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a table for two. Our waiter did ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were a table for two. Our waiter did the bare minimum to serve us, had to ask for oil for the bread , and I got the wrong entrée but he ran from us so quickly before I noticed it and having waited an hour for our dinner I just ate it.

I asked for a quiet table due to my husband's hearing loss, we were seated in the middle of the restaurant near the kitchen window.

What I had was good and they did take it off the bill.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this restaurant. Alway ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this restaurant. Always celebrate my birthday there.

And always brings new friends to the restaurant. REALLY GOOD FOOD

and excellent value. And the atmosphere is fantastic.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, , Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, lovely ambiance, very fr ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent food, lovely ambiance, very friendly and helpful service!!

Tags: Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waiter, Ivan helped make our dining ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our waiter, Ivan helped make our dining experience special. He was extremely professional and knowledgeable, yet made the evening fun. The food was exceptional and the evening was a huge success.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Parizade is such a festive place! The de ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Parizade is such a festive place! The decor is really fun and vibrant. We had very good food, very good service and i look forward to going back soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We were there for two birthdays. Outsta ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We were there for two birthdays. Outstanding service and food. Asked about Sunday pre DPAC THEATHER dinner, We have a group of 10 couples and manager offered to open 1/2 hour early to ensure we made the show in time. A great evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent. Had good wine select ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food was excellent. Had good wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We recently went to Parizade for the fir ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We recently went to Parizade for the first time during restaurant week. Our meal was fantastic and so was our server! Filets were cooked to perfection and fried Brussels sprouts were great as well. Highly recommend this place for a nice dinner out and when you're looking for anything different from the usual.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat to have dinner at Parizad ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always a treat to have dinner at Parizade. We had a particularly friendly and helpful female waitstaff looking after us on this occasion. The Birthday desserts were wonderful as were the Martinis.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to Parizade many times sinc ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We have been to Parizade many times since it opened and Saturday night our waiter was awful--never smiled --acted like he did not want to be there

everyone at the table of 8 wanted to know why he was working there!

Our food was fabulous but between the waiter and the noise level--not as good

as we had hoped--we had one couple who had never been to Parizade!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

Incredible meal during Restaurant Week. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Incredible meal during Restaurant Week. Sea bass was phenomenal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to dinner during Triangle Restau ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We went to dinner during Triangle Restaurant Week. There were a large number of options to choose from for appetizer, entree and dessert. The pear, walnut and blue cheese salad I had was an appropriately small size with unique tastes; it was easy to get all the flavors in each bite. I had the salmon for dinner; a large portion, perfectly cooked. With the entree, the fennel side was quite good although I didn't care for the eggplant side, it had a sweet and sour taste that was unexpected. I had an orange torte for dessert that was a nice finish to the meal.

There was some confusion over which server had our table, after we sat for over 10 minutes without being approached and had to flag someone to tell us who our server was; I also had to remind the server to bring my wine after the appetizer had arrived some time before. However, the high quality of the meal compensated for the serving missteps.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Alexander was the most incredible server ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Alexander was the most incredible server. He was exceptionally knowledgeable about every part of our meal and made stellar recommendations for each of us. He tended to us so we'll and anticipated our every need naturally. We were so blown away by his friendly, humorous, and charismatic personality that we each shook his hand after our meal was over. What an outstanding asset to your restaurant. I've already told several friends about our experience. Truly a pleasure to dine and wine with you this evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nothing like going to a restaurant that ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Nothing like going to a restaurant that crowds the tables in so close you can't move, then doesn't have the staff to work them. We were a table of six and went to take advantage of restaurant week. It's was our first time there. Food was good, service was horrible. I went through my entire meal with nothing to drink and couldn't get our waiters attention for anything. Finally went to bar and got it myself. Won't be going back. Too many others to try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

I've always enjoyed the food and especia ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I've always enjoyed the food and especially the ambience. However it was very busy and noisey this time.

But the food surpassed my expectations! I had the salmon and it was probably the 1st or 2nd best I've ever had. I've eaten all over the country, lived in Monterey California where the salmon was subprime and loved the way this one was prepared!

I will certainly be returning more frequently!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Our server and the bartender saw too it ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Our server and the bartender saw too it that one of our party got an old time cocktail, a perfect Rob Roy, done exactly right. Was fine with our sharing appetizers and dessert. Loved it!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I dined here on Friday night during Tria ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I dined here on Friday night during Triangle Restaurant Week. I was surprised by the number of choices given for a $30 three-course menu. One could choose from five or more appetizers, about eight to ten entrees and three desserts--some restaurants give only three choices in each category. I went with the server's recommendation of the soup du jour, shrimp bisque, for my appetizer and it was okay but not outstanding. I was more pleased with the entrée, braised lamb shank with lemon orzo and roasted vegetables (a few pieces of potato, carrot and celery.) It was flavorful and very tender. Although the portion seemed large when they brought it out, I nearly cleaned the plate. I had also considered ordering the sea bass, or bucatini Bolognese. For dessert I had the mango sorbet with fresh fruit which included pineapple, red grapes, and cantaloupe--very good. The server was friendly and helpful but scurrying around to tend to several tables so it was difficult to solicit information. Perhaps when Restaurant Week is over things will be a bit more settled. I had a cocktail and a glass of Syrah. The wine list is fairly broad and I liked the choices. Some interesting cocktails are available also. This was my first time at Parizade and it is now in my top three Durham restaurants along with Nana's and Vin Rouge. Vin Rouge is under the same ownership group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

My family and I went for my wife's birth ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

My family and I went for my wife's birthday. Everyone of us satisfied with the quality of food and service. It is a wonderful place for special occasions and group dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Durham has so many good restaurants that ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Durham has so many good restaurants that I feel myself tugged to try other places, but when I do I find myself comparing them to Parizade and ultimately coming back to Parizade as an all time top favorite. Absolutely delicious dishes that allow the ingredients to shine forth. Love it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious smart interesting attentive an ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Delicious smart interesting attentive and overall a refreshing escape from the mundane.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food excellent - service not.

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Food excellent - service not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

We went for the restaurant week special ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We went for the restaurant week special dinner. Both of our appetizers and entrees were wonderful; the desserts were too, but we were a bit full by the time it was dessert time.

Parizade has kept the quality up for decades!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.