About Panorama

Executive Chef Matthew Gentile has revamped the Italian menu and interpreted Panorama’s stable of recipes, many of which had been in the Sena family for generations, and edited them with modern techniques, lighter ingredients and clean presentations. Chef Gentile adds a large selection of homemade pastas, large plates for sharing, and many lighter options that can be combined for a meal.Panorama was recognized with a Guinness World Record as the World’s Largest Wine Bar via an award bestowed on its custom-designed winekeeper/cruvinet, which offers 120 wines on tap..
The restaurant is hyper-focused on wine, with up to 150 wines by the glass available at any time. Try one of our signature Panoramic Flights — a personal wine tasting offering a sampling of five different wines within a select group - from a selection of over 2 dozen fun and provocative themes.

14 North Front Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Mon -Thurs: 12pm - 10pm, Fri: 12pm- 11pm; Sat: 2pm - 11pm, Sun: 5pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 922-7800

Website:
http://www.panoramaristorante.com/

Entertainment:
No

Catering:
Allow our onsite planners to assist you with organizing your event, reserving blocks of rooms for wedding guests, or establishing catering menus. Our staff members can guide you through every step of the planning process, whether you are organizing a business meeting, formal dinner or reception.

Parking Details:
There is a public, non-affiliated lot adjacent to the building with entrances on Market Street & on Front Street.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop - Market & Front Street
Rail - 2nd & Market Street

Executive Chef:
Chef Matt Gentile

Private Party Facilities:
Our Philadelphia private dining areas include the elegant Stagione Room and our romantic Wine Cellar. The spaces are versatile enough to accommodate intimate sit-down dinners, banquets and everything in between.

Private Party Contact:
Erika Bertoi: (215) 922-7800

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Wednesday Every Week a featured Red and White Wine
Featured Wine of the Month
Happy Hour in the Wine Bar Sun -Fri 5-7 pm

Specials

Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Every Week for "Wine Wednesday" will be a featured Red and White Wine. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 4, 2017 - May 3, 2017 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Panorama Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (73)
Good for a Date (57)
Special Occasion (56)
See All
Romantic (50)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Bar Seating (41)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Authentic (35)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Modern Decor (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Cozy (21)
Business Meals (20)
Historic (19)
Happy Hour (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Fun (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Casual (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Private Room (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Healthy (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Waterfront (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Seasonal (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Family Style (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fireplace (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1341 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went to Panorama after seeing a great ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

We went to Panorama after seeing a great movie at The Ritz. Last reservation of the evening. We had drinks, including some awesome wine, and just appetizers, no Main Courses. But we ordered 5 apps and made it a meal. The wine was excellent and our waiter asked what I liked and made some excellent recommendations for both food and wine! Really enjoyed it, my wife and I had eaten at Panorama a few times many years back and the place honestly has been top flight since the very beginning. They have it together and the food is unparalleled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Only complaint is Web waited 25 minutes ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Only complaint is Web waited 25 minutes to get seated for our 6:30pm reservation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Our dinner at Panorama was not as expect ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

Our dinner at Panorama was not as expected. We had a reservation at 6:00pm and planned for a special night and showed up on time. The hostesses said they didn't have any tables available whatsoever, even though we had a reservation, so they finally sat us at a cocktail table at 6:30pm and told us they would move us to a table when one became available. The service at the cocktail table was slow, no one came to talk to us until about 6:50pm. We saw 2 other parties seated at tables while we still waited for one and by 7:15pm we still had not been seated at a table. We talked to the manager about how unsatisfactory the service was and what a disappointment the night had been. He offered us prosecco but nothing further. We were accommodating and told the hostess we didn't need a regular table anymore, as we could see they were very busy.

Overall, it seems like a very nice restaurant when they aren't extremely busy. The food was wonderful and full of flavor, but the poor service and fact that they didn't have a table for us, despite the fact that we had a reservation, caused me to have a very negative view of the restaurant. Therefore, I would not return here.

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Always great food and service. Wine figh ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Always great food and service. Wine fight was fantastic!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I would definitely recommend this restau ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

I would definitely recommend this restaurant. The food was amazing!! The environment was quaint and perfect for our date night out. The service was superb, always making sure our glasses were full and checking on us to make sure we were doing ok.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really wanted to like this place, but ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

I really wanted to like this place, but at this price point, you really cannnot have any bad dishes to get a decent review. First, the revamp of the space was nice, but in a strangle generic way. But that is just an observation, the real issue was the food and beverages. First, when your big draw is your by-the-glass wine list, missing several wine choices that we made was very frustrating. I doubt that we just were unlucky to pick the few wines they were out of. Then, when we asked for wine recommendations for a course, the server could only point to a large category of wine. No specific recommendations. As to food, a very mixed experience at best. The beet salad was unremarkable and muddled in flavor and concept. The tuna carpaccio was pristine tuna, but strangly under-seasoned. At the very least it needed salt. The bread it was served with was dense and not a good pairing. I am not sure where the chief learned to make fettuccine carbonara, but it was a colossal failure. It's not that it did not have pancetta (it is designed as a vegetarian dish) but rather the basic nature of the dish was nothing like carbonara. Not a silky luscious coating the pasta. Maybe the best way I can describe it as a almost dry pasta with some grated cheese and a thin watery liquid at the bottom of the plate. In all my experience living in Italy and eating this dish, it was absolutely the worst example of this dish I have ever eaten. I will say that the Braciola was just terrific. It was as good as the carbonara was bad. Finally, for desert, we had the Bomboloni. There is no excuse for a raw doughy interior, which we told the server about but was not removed from our bill. Maybe we just ordered the wrong items, or maybe it was an off night, but at these prices, both are inexcusable. My recommendation is that since there are many Italian restaurants in Philadelphia that are far better, this is one you can miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We used to be regulars and then a few ye ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

We used to be regulars and then a few years ago, there was a major disaster with poor service and incorrect dishes. When we read Craig LeBain's review, we wanted to try it again. The atmosphere is much nicer with the bar being to the right of the dining room separated by a glass wall. The menu is somewhat limited, but there could be something for everyone. The table setting is spartan without a tablecloth or salt and pepper. The sole bread, being a small square, was served as an appetizer. The food was okay but not worth recalling, and the portions are 10 - 15% below a standard size. The waiter was really clueless, asking us to order before taking the cocktail requests and then a long wait before the food; in general, he was not very professional.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Some of the food (i.e. ingredients) is m ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Some of the food (i.e. ingredients) is made on site. That gives the dish uniqueness and an extra sense of freshness

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a delicious dinner, and service was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Had a delicious dinner, and service was extremely attentive. Looking forward to going back. Bar attendant was very knowledgeable of all the different wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were in town for the weekend to see a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We were in town for the weekend to see a hockey game and catch a few restaurants. We'd had lunch at Lacroix and, when asked for evening dining options with good wine selections, the sommelier gave a very strong recommendation for Panorama. Was not disappointed. While we were still mostly sated from brunch, we opted to have some snacks. Got the tuna carpaccio. Decent - but better with their pesto. And to say they have a great selection of wines would be an understatement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good but was ruined by the terr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food was good but was ruined by the terrible service our editor gave us. Had been looking forward to my birthday weekend in Philadelphia (we live in New York) and after doing lots of research I decided this is where I wanted to do my birthday dinner. After waiting about 20 mins at the bar we were seated for our reservation, waited about another 25 for waiter to come over. Couldn't tell you his name because he never told us. Never mentioned much tried asked him questions about the menu and he was completely useless. If I am ever in Philadelphia again I don't know if this is a place I would go the experience has been ruined, which is very sad because I looked forward to this for months.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Food is attractively presented. I enjoye ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food is attractively presented. I enjoyed my choices which included signature dishes such as the lobster crespelle and tira misu/ budino.

Perhaps next time I'll find a fine spaatlese or auslese reisling among the many wine selections.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Panorama's is in the Guinness Book of Wo ...

vip
·Dined on February 11, 2017

Panorama's is in the Guinness Book of World Records - for Wine! To me, that's the biggest draw: the 170+ wines by the glass that they offer. And the flights of wine for wine tasting are the next best thing to being in Napa Valley. Out with friends for Valentine's Day, we had a phenomenal evening. Food is great - especially the pasta - always fresh, homemade. Desserts are 5-star. The service team is 5-star and just personable as well as the ultimate in professional. It's worth a drive from the suburbs, and I envy the lucky people who live within walking distance because if I did I'd be there a few nights a week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not great. Service poor. Took way too lo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Not great. Service poor. Took way too long for food. And it was not amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

50 miles from home and 3rd time there in ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

50 miles from home and 3rd time there in two months.

Wonderful food from a family that is known for just that.

With 120 wines available BY THE GLASS, the bartenders really know what to recommend.

We will be back. Hopefully soon.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was an amazing experience, the food w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was an amazing experience, the food was outstanding and the ambiance was perfect! I will refer others to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wines choices were great ! Food was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The wines choices were great ! Food was exceptional !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very limited menu and they were out of t ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Very limited menu and they were out of the couple selections I wanted. Waiter was very attentive but did not know the menu and needed to go ask the chef. Noisy with few people. Bad music too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was excellent. The service sta ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The food was excellent. The service staff, while friendly and well meaning was not well informed on the menu. That detracted from what was otherwise an excellent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Was expecting more based on noted critic ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Was expecting more based on noted critic's review. It was fine.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We had a great dinner on Saturday night. ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a great dinner on Saturday night. I loved the pasta filled with burratta cheese. Everyone enjoyed their meal. Great wine selection.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are always treated like royalty at Pa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We are always treated like royalty at Panorama, no matter the occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our entire dining experience was outstan ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our entire dining experience was outstanding, from start to finish. The food, the wine, and the service were all impeccable. Every staff member is incredibly knowledgeable about the menu and the extensive wine list.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent Italian food! Only the Spaghet ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent Italian food! Only the Spaghetti Carbonara was something different that we were used to eat in Italy. But tasty though. We will come back.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for restuarant week. Amazing cuisin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went for restuarant week. Amazing cuisine and service. Loved the wine flight- great price to try five different wines.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very disappointed with the dinne ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We were very disappointed with the dinner. We made reservations for three of us during Restaurant Week. The food portions were extremely small and disappointing. Our dinners were rather mediocre. We wondered if this was the case because it was Restaurant Week at a fixed price of $35.00.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We had a great time. Food was amazing. P ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had a great time. Food was amazing. Presentation was awesome. We weren't rushed and had great service. Excellent and fun place. Perfect for wine lovers!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, , Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was great, wine flights were ve ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our meal was great, wine flights were very good and the service was excellent. Would recommend for anyone wanting a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Restaurant Week lunch. The s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We went for Restaurant Week lunch. The selection was fabulous. We shared a flight of red wines. It was fun and the good was terrific. My love had the Wagu beef meatball, veal special and chocolate dessert. I had the mushroom appetizer, duck breast and caramel/espresso tiramisu. All were delicious!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fun, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I visited for lunch on restaurant week. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I visited for lunch on restaurant week. It was an interesting menu with small portions. I might say tapas sized. Nice flavor and cooked well.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Fantastic meal! Way beyond expectations. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Fantastic meal! Way beyond expectations. We went for restaurant week. I loved the wine flight.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress was fabulous, food was excellen ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Waitress was fabulous, food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Love the new renovation, crisp fresh sle ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Love the new renovation, crisp fresh sleek but still warm feel. The Wild Boar Bolognese Pappadelle and the Braciola were exceptional. The service was attentive and friendly especially Karen. She made the whole dining experience even more special. We will be back. Overall wonderful food and excellent evening.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really, really rxcellent. I had btaciol ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Really, really rxcellent. I had btaciola and my wife had pasta with clams and lump crab meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I went for lunch during restaurant week. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I went for lunch during restaurant week. I was very pleased with this choice. The food was good. My wine was great. My date got a flight of wine geared toward beer lovers. He didn't like one of the wines included and was given a glass of beer. I thought that was so nice of them

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Read Craig LeBan's review in the Sunday ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Read Craig LeBan's review in the Sunday paper. Hadn't been to Panorama in a few years. Decided to take advantage of restaurant week and went there with friends for lunch. The 3 courses were amazing. The minestrone soup was the best I ever tasted. So flavorful. We dined on steak, spaghetti with clams and crab, and braciole made with veal. Each dish was beautifully served. For dessert can't go wrong with ice cream and sorbet from Franklin Fountain. The wine choices unbelievable. Will definitely be going back, if we can get in, after the excellent review.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service and love the w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great food, great service and love the wine. We have been coming here for years and always loved it, especially the wine bar and the variety which can be sampled through the many different flights. The new chef has only made it better. The food is fantastic. Also at a convenient location in Old City.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The updated decor is very euro-chic. We ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The updated decor is very euro-chic.

We missed some of our favorites (and the

wine biscuits) but

the food was still excellent especially

the pasta and the flourless

chocolate cake is to die for.

great wine list at any price point

A very place for an evening out

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I went to Panorama with my daughter and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I went to Panorama with my daughter and baby granddaughter for Phila Restaurant Week. This was our second visit and I have recommended this restaurant to many others. My only complaint is that we asked for a high chair for the baby and we did not receive one.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Romantic, Modern Decor, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been a regular for many years for ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 31, 2017

I had been a regular for many years for both the food and the wine. Incredible wine selection; flights always a very big hit with clients and friends. Was worried about the change in chefs and menu, but delightfully surprised - still excellent.

I always prefer seating in the bar to the restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.