Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Panorama

Executive Chef Matthew Gentile has revamped the Italian menu and interpreted Panorama’s stable of recipes, many of which had been in the Sena family for generations, and edited them with modern techniques, lighter ingredients and clean presentations. Chef Gentile adds a large selection of homemade pastas, large plates for sharing, and many lighter options that can be combined for a meal.Panorama was recognized with a Guinness World Record as the World’s Largest Wine Bar via an award bestowed on its custom-designed winekeeper/cruvinet, which offers 120 wines on tap..
The restaurant is hyper-focused on wine, with up to 150 wines by the glass available at any time. Try one of our signature Panoramic Flights — a personal wine tasting offering a sampling of five different wines within a select group - from a selection of over 2 dozen fun and provocative themes.

14 North Front Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Mon -Thurs: 12pm - 10pm, Fri: 12pm- 11pm; Sat: 2pm - 11pm, Sun: 5pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 922-7800

Website:
http://www.panoramawinebar.com/

Entertainment:
No

Catering:
Allow our onsite planners to assist you with organizing your event, reserving blocks of rooms for wedding guests, or establishing catering menus. Our staff members can guide you through every step of the planning process, whether you are organizing a business meeting, formal dinner or reception.

Parking Details:
There is a public, non-affiliated lot adjacent to the building with entrances on Market Street & on Front Street.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop - Market & Front Street
Rail - 2nd & Market Street

Executive Chef:
Chef Matt Gentile

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Wednesday Every Week a featured Red and White Wine
Featured Wine of the Month
Happy Hour in the Wine Bar Sun -Fri 5-7 pm

Specials

Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 12:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Open for Lunch

Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM

Specials

Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 12:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Every Week for "Wine Wednesday" will be a featured Red and White Wine. Excludes Tax and Tip. Pay As You Go. Special valid Jun 28, 2017 - Oct 25, 2017 on Wednesdays from 12:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Open for Lunch

Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM

Details

Monday - Friday 12-2 pm. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 29, 2017 - Oct 27, 2017 on Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Panorama Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (64)
Good for a Date (52)
Special Occasion (47)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Romantic (31)
Bar Seating (28)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Authentic (21)
Business Meals (19)
Worth the Drive (16)
Cozy (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Casual (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Fun (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Waterfront (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1513 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious food with creative and tasty wine flights

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

The service and food are always fabulous. The short rib ravioli is one of my favorites. The spinach was divine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely wonderful from the perfect martini to the fabulous dessert and everything in between!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Great dinner and great service by Orlando.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

We were extremely disappointed in our evening at Panorama. We love going there. We were celebrating a 60th birthday. We were seated in the bar area, which was fine. Our waitress, Amy, was miserable. Maybe she was having a really bad night? In any event, we asked for a flight of wine and we ordered salads and she slammed the food down and walked off. she never came to ask us if we wanted anything else. We then finally got her attention and asked for angel hair pasta, she brought out what looked like whole wheat pasta with some kind of red sauce. no explanation of what happened to the angel hair, nothing. she just waked away. The food was good. We decided not to stay for dessert and go elsewhere. Very saddened, but we won't be making the long drive from Wayne, PA to Panorama again. it's not worth the drive, sorry to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

I thought the service and food and ambience was wonderful. Would wholeheartedly recommend this restaurant to everyone as a special dinner destination.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (München)·Dined 6 days ago

Wine tastings are the big draw here, as there are roughly 20 different thematically structured sampling flights of 5 wines each, very suitable and entertaining instead of an aperitif. The menu is smallish, but competent. We found the atmosphere a little lacking, however, as other than the bar this is a fairly ordinary space. The addition of tablecloths would be a simple expedient, and overall would significantly elevate the tone of the dining area. I know there's a cost issue here, but I at least would prefer to have a few dollars tacked onto my evening's tab to pay for whatever wine spills I and my fellow diners might have.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Casual, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 12, 2017

We had a wonderful meal at Panorama last week. The wine cruvinet is crazy - 120 bottles available by the glass, all preserved in a tap system that keeps them fresh. Great choices and well selected flights. The food was wonderful. Presentation was beautiful. Panorama was recently remodeled and got rave reviews in the Philadelphia Inquirer. I was not as impressed. The space was very, very nice to be sure. But all tables were 3 x 3 squares and if the party was larger, they were grouped together. No variation. That and the absence of tablecloths gave the otherwise elegant space the feel of a hotel breakfast spot. If they could add tablecloths and maybe a vase with a flower to the tables, it would dress it up so much more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We hold a very special place in our hearts for this hotel, restaurant, and staff. My husband and I have been going to the Penn's View Inn and Ristorante Panorama for 7 years. We usually plan a weekend getaway at the hotel, visit museums, and dinner at Panorama. It's one of my favorite place in Philly to have dinner with friends and celebrate special occassions. A few years ago, we had our rehearsal dinner in the private wine cellar and it was perfection! All staff members are personable, above and beyond helpful and committed to a memorable experience. With amazing cuisine and the largest wine list in the city...you just can't go wrong. So many different flights of wine to choose from...a Vino Lover's Dream! Buon Cibo Buon Vino, Buoni Amici!
Make a reservation...you won't regret it!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Food and service good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 2, 2017

This has always been one of the best Italian 'style' dining options in Center City Philly with a small but creative menu, a super wine selection and reliable, quality service. The new decore and design has given the place an exciting boost to an already wonderful dining space. The star of the remodel however has to be the menu and its focus on local, sustainable, and creative use of ingredients. I began with the wild mushroom saute which was amazing as was the wild boar bologenese for my pasta course. My husband had the lobster crepe and a small salad which were excellent. For mains I had the duck which was perfectly prepared and presented, however the polenta base was rather bland, but still good. My husband chose the Veal Picatta which was beautifully presented but also a bit under seasoned for our tastes though still better than many other fine dining options in the city. One word about the deserts...WOW...save room they are awesome...not heavy, a fine compliment to a great meal. The Senna's (brother Gesseppi has La Famiglia down the street and it's awesome) know how to satisfy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 2, 2017

I adore this restaurant. My sister was visiting from Denver and insisted we eat here. Food is outstanding, the wine selection is amazing and the service is excellent. Highly recommended. It is on the pricey side but it is definitely worth the splurge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Excellent food choices and everything was very good. Love the wine list options including the flights and wines by the glass. Service and ambiance are exceptional - will definitely return for more!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Dinner was excellent, from the cheese board to dessert! The wine list was impressive, service was quick, and I would definitley go back again

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Visited Panorama for weekday lunch. The meal was outstanding. I highly recommend the braciole - out of this world. Amazing wine selection with some fantastic options for wine flights. Our waiter, Chris, was informative and engaging - making the experience that much better.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2017

The food was spectacular. Walking into the restaurant, I didn't realize it was a hotel restaurant and despite the name Panorama and being on the waterfront, there's no real view of the water. This said, the food way exceeded my expectations. Delectable, interesting Italian fare. Started with home baked focaccia topped with pesto, then a grilled shrimp appetizer and perfectly cooked salmon atop wax beans and a parsley broth. Healthy, delicious, and awesome service too! Plus the wine list is so extensive it's in the Guinness Book of World Records. Will definitely return for family meals in the future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Overall ambience was beautiful. Our Table was too close to the entrance/exit thus there was alot of movement and carefully watching my chair. The food was pretty bland. The service was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Food was good and restaurant redone and lovely. Downside: Our table was so close to the one behind i couldnt get in and out of my seat without disturbing someone. Bathroom had one stall which i thought was odd for a restaurant of that size. My drink was $14 and not good.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 18, 2017

We were late due to traffic | The lovely young woman held our table.
It was restaurant week | We ordered additional delicious items.
Always great service at Panorama | Our server Chris was AMAZINGLY knowledgeable about the food/wine & totally charming!
USA Grüner Veltliner was not to my liking | The wine steward found the perfect Austrian replacement.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food was outstanding and unique. Definitely a great place to try for restaurant week.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Server was great. The wine selection was excellent. Love going to eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 15, 2017

I like the restaurant itself and the wine selection was amazing however my dining experience was less then pleasant. I ordered the salmon and it came out raw. The waiter apologized and took it back. However, when I got my meal back I was taken back that it was the same piece of fish. I know this because I cut the fish with my fork and the fish I got back was the same piece simply pushed back together. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Food was great! LService was superb. Love the wine flights! Lunch portion was very generous.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Panorama really knows how to do restaurant week right. For lunch, Instead of putting a burger, pasta, and salad on the menu as many restaurants do, just to be included in the promotion but not wanting to really give you much for $20, Panorama's menu is filled with their most luxurious dishes and presented in a spectacular way. It was one of the best Restaurant Week meals I have ever had including dinners. Started with the mushrooms which were the kind you would never spend the money to buy and cook for yourself--delicious. Then went to the strip steak with just enough creamy mashed potatoes. Finished with outstanding ice cream from the shop at Front and Market. My partner StARTED WITH CESAR SALAD WHICH IS ONE OF THE BEST YOU WILL HAVE IN THE CITY AND THEN PERFECTLY COOKED SALMON. FINISHED WITH A DELECTABLE CHOCOLATE DESSERT. Both ice cream and coffee came with homemade biscotti--one chocolate and one vanilla. There were so many other choices on the menu that sounded delectable as well. Atmosphere was beautiful and service impeccable. I can't wait to return for a regular meal and I know I will not miss it again next Restaurant Week. Thanks for treating us so well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Wonderful dinner. The service was amazing. The wine list is incredibly impressive. Food was phenomenal.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We dined here during Restaurant week in Philadelphia because we were staying at the hotel. We were visiting from Colorado. Out of six different items, we would only say one was delicious (the shrimp-first course). The veal scallopine, octopus ink linguini, Caesar salad, and tiramisu were only fair at best. The tiramisu was a little scoop of coffee ice cream in between two patties of over whipped cream. There may have been a small lady finger crumb in there. It was very unsatifying. The only reason I gave a 3 star rating for value is because we paid fixed price due to restaurant week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2017

This is one of the cities eat restaurants. Amazing and extensive wine list! Don't miss this spot

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Lovely! Panorama never fails to impress. Their food menu and extensive wine list offer something for everyone. Service is top-notch and I always enjoy the experience. A definite tried & true standby for great food & wine!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2017

I came here 2 days in a row. I had the same wonderful waiter on both days. The 1st day was so good I brought a friend who was retiring on day 2. The veal was very disappointing on day 2. The sauce was dried out on top of it. My friend's food was fine so I think there was a timing issue in the kitchen. The various courses seemed to come out awfully slow for everyone on the 2nd day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Great food, wine list was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 12, 2017

My food was delicious and both of our servers were very good. Can't wait to go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 12, 2017

This was one of the best restaurant week menus we have experienced. Almost 10 appetizers to choose from, plus close to 10 main courses and 6 desserts. This is what restaurant week should be like at all restaurants!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

The food was good and the waiter was gun and helpful. Food came out quickly and was very tasty. Enjoyed our time at Panorama and lived how nice people were.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We went for Restaurant Week Lunch ($20.00 for three courses). At that price this was a great value. Normal prices much higher. Did not drink but amazing wine list. A good place for conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Met some friends for Restaurant week at Panorama. We didn't know anything about the restaurant and we were very pleasantly surprised. Service and food were outstanding. My appetizer of meatball on a polenta/ricotta pie was delicious. The meatball was light and airy and the polenta/ricotta was fabulous. The delicious tomato sauce pulled the whole dish together. I could have ordered this as my main and been happy. We were all happy and satisfied with our selections - veal, shrimp and braciole. The pear al vino for dessert was a perfect way to end my meal. My companions had the local ice cream and thought it outstanding. I would definitely return to this restaurant to try other items on the menu.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with amazing food! The tiramisu proved to be the perfect ending ...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

We loved the food and atmosphere! Will definitely return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Our experience at Panorama with our server Orlando was great! He was very attentive, and very knowledgeable about the menu. It was I and the wifes anniversary, and the manager gave us a complimentary glass of champagne. Awesome staff! Made sure we were good throughout our whole meal. The wine flights were great! So much wine, you have to go back so many more times to enjoy it all! My 3 meals plus dessert, "The hen of the woods Mushroom" "Pappardelle Chinghiale" and "Veal Scallopini" were all tasty! The desert "Rhum Baba" was also excellent, with coffee of course! My wife had the "Eggplant", "Crespelle", and for dessert the "Tiramisu Affogato". Probably some of the best Tiramisu I've ever tasted! The plates that I listed are highly recommended. Overall this is a hidden gem down on ye Olde city. Highly recommended, go if you have a chance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

What a wonderful experience!!! We celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary and they said "thank you" along with complimentary sparkling wine for choosing their restaurant to celebrate it.

The food was phenomenal and the wine flights were a very unique feature.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The new look has given the restaurant a very modern and sophisticated look. The food was excellent and their extensive "wines by the glass" give you the chance to experience wines that you may never had tried before. A great place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.