Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant

Hemingway, bullfighting, and flamenco married with superior Spanish wines and luscious small bites fashion a sophisticated culinary oasis in Downtown Lafayette. By marrying chic urban elegance with rustic Spanish simplicity, Pamplona transports flavors from traditional Spain fused with international tastes, such as those from France, Italy, and North Africa.

631 Jefferson Street
Lafayette, LA 70501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am to 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday:2:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 232-0070

Website:
http://pamplonatapas.com/

Catering:
We offer the full menu, as well as special accommodations for your specific catering needs. Specialties include traditional Spanish fare like suckling pig, House-cured charcuterie and cheeses, and our Award Winning Paella Valenciana.

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot caddy corner from us marked with a Pamplona Parking Only Sign.

Public Transit:
We are a short walk from the Rosa Parks Transportation Center in downtown Lafayette, which has both Rail and Bus services available.

Executive Chef:
David Harrower

Private Party Facilities:
The Oyster Bar section of our restaurant is the perfect place for your private function. It seats up to 40 people comfortably and offers a window into our All-star kitchen.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Payne: (337) 298-2516

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Pamplona Tapas Bar and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (21)
Special Occasion (16)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Fit for Foodies (14)
Romantic (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Authentic (11)
Fun (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Cozy (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Casual (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Business Meals (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Historic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Spicy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
219 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

What a GREAT experience! We loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Best old fashioned I've ever had... food was delicious and didn't take long to come out... our waiter was very knowledgeable about every dish and drink we had questions about... definitely going back.

Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Always a great time, my fave place to eat and enjoy a night out in Lafayette!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 22, 2017

What a find. In a city known for it's Cajun food, to find such a gem was a welcome surprise. The albondigas were great, the scallops were great, and the duck fat fries were ordered multiple times. Really a fantastic experience.

Tags: Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 20, 2017

So friendly and great food! Nice timing for arrival at downtown events when needed. Very accommodating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We were rushed for time before headed to a black tie event. Popped into Pamplona for a quick appetizer and cocktail. Such a consistent restaurant!! Always a wonderful menu and fantastic cocktail list!

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is a great tapas bar. I highly recommend if you are going with a group of friends. The seafood paella is great but it can take an hour to come out so be sure to order it right when you get in

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

As always, was a great night out and a great meal! Excellent food, done consistently well.
The server was exceptional. Is our "go-to" place for an energetic night out. The seared octopus was a new dish, and we would definitely get it again. Every dish we've ever had at Pamplona has been very good to excellent. A suggestion: get the bacon wrapped dates for dessert!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Tapas, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Always a great time with great food at Pamplona! The mussels were delicious and were the chargrilled oysters.

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Fun, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 23, 2017

One of our favorites! The food is awesome and service is always great!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Excellent tapas and service. Nice ambiance. Chef is both inventive and very good sense of flavors. Will definitely return when back in town.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great jewel in the heart of downtown Lafayette, great place for foodies. Love the romantic atmosphere and the great bar. Bring your significant other and enjoy. You will LOVE it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This restaurant is amazing all around. It is great spot to grab a bite with friends or have a romantic date. The food is tapas, so small plates work well for family style events as well. If you're ever in the downtown Lafayette area definitely stop by and try this amazing gem.

Tags: Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Crab croquettes were delicious. Shrimp ceviche was more of a shrimp cocktail. Marinated olives were addictive. Flank steak "special" was a bit chewy. Tuna special was wonderful.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service was great. My steak ordered med well was nearly bleeding. Waiter sent it back to cook further. Came back well done. My wife said her meal was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food, service and ambience were great, but the manager was very rude when we asked to speak with him. Our reservation was for 4 people and we wanted it increase to 6 and were told no. During the 1 1/2 hour we dined there were numerous empty tables all around us. When we pointed this out to the manager, he was extremely rude and disrespectful.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very good service and food. Xxxx ccffg jjkk jjjh hjhjhj

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent wines and Tapas with great selections. Creative local foods (oysters) and fish dishes as well. Great friendly and knowledgeable wait staff

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Good food but a bit pricey compared to other restaurants in Lafayette. Poor choice of wines - bottles way too expense.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I was raised in Madrid and know very well Spanish kitchen. If you're expecting to have tapas as if you were in Spain this isn't the place, however it resembles the style with its own accent and delivers a very good food and fair service. We have been at this place several times and have always enjoyed our visit. This is a very nice place that will keep you coming back.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Outstanding server. She was so knowledgeable about the menu, the wines. And able to make great recommendations. The dishes were exceptionally good in concept and execution.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Always loved this place! Just can't get there very often because I live in the country. Delicious food and wonderful service. The old-world atmosphere is authentic and cozy. Great place to gather for special downtown events.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellant food. Server was very polite, honest and well informed of the menu items. Though the restaurant was full, it was not noisy - very pleasant! I would deffinately return!

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I never imagined I'd be fired up about Pamplona as I was about Chris's, the building's former incarnation, a favorite of mine. The po boys were great but even better were the bands for dancing on Friday nights after DTA. We did that for many years and were very sad to see that slice of life come to an end. However, over time the Pamplona experience has become a different thrill and we feel lucky to have it as an option. Pamplona is definitely a favorite!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We went to Pamplona with a group of 4; and wow, what a night it was. Each course was perfectly prepared, and the wine paired to the T. We started the meal with wonderfully executed craft cocktails which set the tone for what was to come. I recommend sharing every course family style in true tapas fashion. The Rib eye and Duck Breast finished off the meal perfectly. Our server paired this with the Mauro 2012 from Castilla y Leon, and it was an incredible ending to a perfect meal experience. Thank You to the whole Pamplona team for providing such an unforgettable evening.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Casual, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Pamplona is the perfect spot for a date night or girls night. It has intimate seating and a unique menu that you simply can't get anywhere else.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful way to ring in the New Year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My favorite hot place to eat in town! Not only is the food amazing, but also the ambiance. Great service, great company, even better food! My happy place!

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Love this place! So fun to have such a great variety of foods to sample and share! Service was well timed and the Filet was excellent. They were so kind to cut it for sharing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Casual, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the tapas and small plates selection. The turtle soup was excellent. My wife and I enjoyed the quiet atmosphere for this New Year's Eve night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Delicious food and unique as well. The descriptions were slightly different than what was prepared. Otherwise, great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent food, ambiance and drinks! Very quaint.....good for a date night or evening with friends.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great food, small portions so you can try many things. Always impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Good food and drinks but was expensive. Expect to spend around 60$ not including tip.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The management is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 1, 2016

It's always been a fun & pleasing dining experience when we visit Pamplona Tapas Bar & Restaurant. We especially love bringing friends & family that haven't been there before.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great place will be back again the food was amazing and the service outstanding!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Great Beer, Tapas, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food, drinks, and service. The type of place for a variety of different events or occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food, wonderful flavors, great drinks too. Nice ambiance.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was good, but it is a very cramped and loud atmosphere. The tables are so closely placed that we were nearly brushing elbows with the couple next to us. This is a "guys" or "Girls-nite-out" type of place. Not recommended for a date or what one would hope to be a quiet dinner.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.