About Palace Café

For over two decades Palace Cafe has been serving award-winning, contemporary Creole cuisine in the historic Werlein Music building. Located downtown, at the entrance to the French Quarter, this Dickie Brennan restaurant is popular with visitors & locals alike.

605 Canal Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Seafood, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday - Friday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am

Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner
Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - til

Saturday & Sunday Jazz Brunch
10:30am - 2:30pm

Bar Service (continuous)
Limited menu from 2:30 - 5:30

Cross Street:
Chartres Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 523-1661

Website:
http://www.palacecafe.com/

Entertainment:
Join the Rum Runners Duo during Happy Hour in the Black Duck Bar on Palace Café's second Floor. Happy Hour is Monday - Friday from 4pm-6pm.
Place Café also offers a live jazz brunch every Saturday and Sunday from 10:30am-2:30pm featuring the Joe Simon Trio.

Parking Details:
For parking we offer discounted parking at the Marriott next door, based on availability. If this lot if full, we recommend the following garages, but are unable to offer discounted rates: The Sheraton Hotel on Canal Street, the Wyndham Hotel on Royal Street, and Premium Parking Garage on Iberville Street.

Public Transit:
Easily accessible by the Saint Charles Streetcar & the Canal Street car.

Executive Chef:
Dustin Brien

Private Party Facilities:
Palace Cafe boasts three private dining rooms accommodating parties from 10 to 80. For events up to 200 the Second Floor is available. Please contact the restaurant directly for private dining space.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee-Tilloy: (877) 625-9155

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All Private Dining Reservations must be made through our Group Sales Department. Please contact Sales at 504-521-8310 for information.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Palace Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (54)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Authentic (43)
See All
Special Occasion (40)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Local Ingredients (38)
Historic (34)
People Watching (34)
Good for Groups (34)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Great for Lunch (27)
Romantic (25)
Business Meals (24)
Great for Brunch (23)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Scenic View (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Fun (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Outstanding Value (17)
Casual (17)
Hot Spot (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Live Music (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Seasonal (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Spicy (5)
Family Style (4)
Cozy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great Beer (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Healthy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Sports (1)
Waterfront (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2135 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We've eaten at The Palace Cafe several t ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

We've eaten at The Palace Cafe several times and every time the food and service has been outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the place but all the entrees were ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Love the place but all the entrees were cold to luke warm

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

This place was awesome.. We were in NOLA ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

This place was awesome.. We were in NOLA for one night and had dinner. From the service to the food, and atmosphere, it was AWESOME!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very dissatisfied with the food. Tourist ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Very dissatisfied with the food. Tourist trap!! I'm a 4 day week restaurant eat out customer. This was the worst!! Will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Everything about the Palace Cafe feels s ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Everything about the Palace Cafe feels special -- from the moment you enter and are wowed by the sweeping spiral staircase to the second floor (don't worry; there's an elevator too) with its view of lively ever-changing Canal St. We asked for a tale where we could "hear the music" and that's what we got; it was clearly audible but not intrusive. Servers were helpful; the menu varied and original. Crabmeat cheesecake appetizer rich and flavourful; shrimp remoulade lighter with deliciously spicy dressing; turtle soup perfectly seasoned. Grilled fish was simple and perfectly cooked; brined pork chop juicy and flavourful with carefully chosen sides of braised winter greens and pureed sweet potato, perfect accompaniments. Shrimp tchefuncte smothered in rich tasty Creole sauce with fragrant rice was also a winner, but don't order it AND the crab cheesecake app, as the sauce is the same. For dessert we shared a strawberry and Chantilly cream pie, which was surprisingly light, and not over-sweet -- perfect. Cocktails are superb, and wine list varied and suited to all price points. Can't say enough good things about this place!

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Fun, Live Music, Authentic, Spicy,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had to flag down waiter for water, b ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

We had to flag down waiter for water, bread, refills and bill. Not attentive at all. When we did ask for things it took a while. It was not busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Linda and Dave made the experience great ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Linda and Dave made the experience great. Terri service and good recommendations.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was great! The wine steward, ho ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was great! The wine steward, however, was remarkably inattentive. I had to pour the second round of champagne as he was nowhere to be found. Otherwise a fine dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great jazz brunch atmosphere. You could ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great jazz brunch atmosphere. You could tell our waitress was a veteran.. knowledgeable, friendly, and attentive. Crawfish cheesecake was rich and delightful. We were seated on the second floor with a nice view of Canal Street. Lovely experience; will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Brunch and Mimosa/Bloody Mary bar. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great Brunch and Mimosa/Bloody Mary bar. Delicious dark rich seafood gumbo. Shrimp Tchefunte was delicious. Crawfish tails add-on to the Gulf Fish dish were over priced at $16 while crawfish are in season. Our server David was friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

They were able to accommodate our large ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

They were able to accommodate our large party on a Saturday night with smiles! The food was fabulous, the service spectacular!

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With any Brennan's and New Orleans resta ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

With any Brennan's and New Orleans restaurant I expected good food. At the beginning of our meal, my husband and I were commenting how "white table cloth" doesn't necessarily mean there is great service as patrons begin to dress down. The hostess changed the color of my napkin because I was wearing a dark dress and the wait staff waited to bring our food out until I returned from the restroom. The wait staff that night paid a lot of attention to their service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent brunch!

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated promptly. Supposedly they ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were seated promptly. Supposedly they had just changed their menu so the waiter taking drink order didn't really know what all was offered. Wine was ordered and was brought out promptly but one of our guests ordered a bourbon and it was forgotten about for 15 minutes. Otherwise, service was good and the food was delicious. Forgetting the drink was an understandable mistake for a busy Friday evening and won't stop us from returning or recommending this restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Coming in from Baton Rouge , Friday afte ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Coming in from Baton Rouge , Friday afternoon, we got caught in I-10 traffic. Reservations at 5:30 and we were only at Power Blvd at that time. Called front desk and they held our spot. Arrived just before 6:00, thinking we would be put next to restrooms. Our 2nd floor window table overlooked Canal Street - best table in the house. Casey and Linda were outstanding with just the right edge of service and humor. Those guys really tee-ed us up for a phenomenal Billy Joel concert. Maitre 'd, Jim, made us feel like we were one of the family. We cannot wait to come back!! N. / K. Bacon

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, , Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Not up to Brennan standard! Service was ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Not up to Brennan standard! Service was lousy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Good was great! Service was great! All i ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Good was great! Service was great! All in all everything was good with the exception of a wait staff dropping a full bottle of wine and three other waitstaff members dropping dishes

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good atmosphere and great location. Serv ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Good atmosphere and great location. Service was excellent, but the food was sub par. Very disappointed as I knew this was a Dickie Brennan restaurant and expected a much better meal. Took customers the night before to Drago's in Metairie, and they all said they thought the food quality there was superior. Sorry but this rates a thumbs down for locals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

I've never had anything other than the p ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I've never had anything other than the pecan crusted catfish! It's awesome!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nigel was very nice but needs to find a ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Nigel was very nice but needs to find a new career- brought out half my breakfast forgot the other half and forgot my knife yet brought my fork and brought the silverware 10 minutes after my breakfast came out...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

Brunch on Sunday morning -- the best dis ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Brunch on Sunday morning -- the best dish is the crabmeat cheesecake by FAR. It sounds unappetizing, but trust me - it will be one of the best things you eat in New Orleans. We had the andouille crusted fish on Friday night and it too was unbelievable good- but alas it was not on the Brunch menu - we tried the grilled fish - it was ok - nothing special- the bloody mary bar was good too - fun to make your own. Atmosphere is 5 stars, wait staff is 5 stars. The bread and butter they serve is very average - I was expecting something fancier , but no one goes for the bread.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was really good but the service was ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was really good but the service was a bit below what we would expect for a restaurant of that caliber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Crayfish cheesecake is the best thing yo ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Crayfish cheesecake is the best thing you will put in your mouth. My wife and I shared one. Wish I had one all myself. Andoille crusted fish will knock your socks off. Grilled fish is just average. Don't ask for bananas foster. The waiters will talk u into anther dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Both the food and service were excellent ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Both the food and service were excellent I would highly recommend this place and it's not dressy and don't forget the Bannanas Foster yumm

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The food, the service, the atmosphere wa ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The food, the service, the atmosphere was fabulous! But what else do you expect from Dickie Brennan? No less than wonderful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, , Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Romantic, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We wanted to eat outside so we waited fo ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We wanted to eat outside so we waited for staff to set up area again after cleaning sidewalk. He seemed very irritated and surly as we waited for menus .... we watched others inside order get coffee while we just waited. Finally realizing we probably would not get waited on we went inside. Cracked coffee cup ridiculously small croissants we had "crab cheesecake" it was good but is crab quiche very small portion. Oatmeal not that impressive either. Waste of money could have gone and enjoyed a breakfast somewhere much nicer for same amount of money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Jazz Brunch

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Jazz Brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was great as always. There was a ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Dinner was great as always. There was a big automobile convention going on in which the restaurant was very busy. I thought I was gonna have to wait a long time for my food but they were equipped for the crowd and got my food in a timely manner. What can I say, The food is excellent and everything about this restaurant. Everyone is friendly and has a great atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Being a local, this restaurant has been ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Being a local, this restaurant has been on our bucket list for some time and we were looking forward to the dining experience. The beverage girl was pretty attentive, unfortunately the waiter, Tim, was not. it took much longer than it should've for him to approach our table after being seated. The food came out timely, but wasn't what I've come to expect from a Brennan's restaurant. The oysters were fabulous, the salad was good, but the crab cheesecake had a burnt taste and the crust was super hard. We left half of it on the plate. The gumbo wasn't good either. It also had a burnt taste and couldn't be finished. Although we planned to, we decided to not do dessert. When done, we waited for the bill while Tim disappeared to arrive later to take orders from two other tables to only disappear again for several minutes. We had to leave our table to track him down to get him to ring up the bill. The beverage girl had to take the bill from the table and when he finally came for it, he seemed annoyed that she did. At any rate, we won't be back. We left disappointed. We really wanted to love the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Extremely creative and delicious menu! A ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Extremely creative and delicious menu! Ambience was awesome! Drinks were awesome and the staff could not have been friendlier!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the weekday breakfast buffet. It ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We had the weekday breakfast buffet. It was fine, nothing outstanding. We've eaten here before. Always good but weekday breakfast is nothing special. Would still recommend for weekend brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The steak requested to be medium to medi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The steak requested to be medium to medium rare was thoroughly undercooked. The gumbo as usual was better than most New Orleans Options. I heard from companion that the turtle soup was also good. The service was good, but the undercooking was a turn-off. I almost never send a steak back, but might have done so if it were not for an exhausting day which would have dragged the dinner out too long. On the bright side, the vanilla bean cream brule was outstanding.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We were not disappointed in our lunch - ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We were not disappointed in our lunch - recommendations by the waiter were excellent. A great place for a business lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Had a wonderful dinner. The staff were ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner. The staff were all very friendly and very attentive. Had went there specifically for the bananas foster and it did not disappoint. Made right at the table and was delicious. Next time we are in New Orleans will be visiting The Palace again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and delicious meals. It wa ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great service and delicious meals. It was a great experience!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant with Old NOLA vibe. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wonderful restaurant with Old NOLA vibe. Great food, great decor, great service. Crabmeat cheesecake was a treat for the senses, creative and tasty. Root beer brined pork chop was the best I have ever had - presentation was impeccable. Palace Cafe is one of NOLA's memorable fine restaurants and left no doubt in my mind I will return.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our favorite places in New Orlean ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 20, 2017

One of our favorite places in New Orleans

Food is always very good

Efficient and nice staff

Always a great experience

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

great food before theater and service is ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 19, 2017

great food before theater and service is quick and friendly

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent food Excellent Service. Wonde ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Excellent food Excellent Service. Wonderful atmosphere. Taste buds were jumping with joy. I cannot put into words how good the food taste.

Tags: , Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about the Palace was great. M ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Everything about the Palace was great. My only complaint: our server, who was very affable, did not warn us that adding crawfish to our main course would add another $16 to a $23 entree. Since the crawfish was an additional 70% of the entree's original cost, I would have liked to have known that BEFORE I ordered, not when presented with the check.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.