Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Palace Café

For over two decades Palace Cafe has been serving award-winning, contemporary Creole cuisine in the historic Werlein Music building. Located downtown, at the entrance to the French Quarter, this Dickie Brennan restaurant is popular with visitors & locals alike.

605 Canal Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Seafood, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday - Friday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am

Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner
Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - til

Saturday & Sunday Jazz Brunch
10:30am - 2:30pm

Café Menu
Limited menu from 2:30pm - 5:30pm

Cross Street:
Chartres Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 523-1661

Website:
http://www.palacecafe.com/

Entertainment:
Join the Rum Runners Duo during Happy Hour in the Black Duck Bar on Palace Café's second Floor. Happy Hour is Monday - Friday from 4pm-6pm.
Place Café also offers a live jazz brunch every Saturday and Sunday from 10:30am-2:30pm featuring the Joe Simon Trio.

Catering:
To learn more about Dickie Brennan & Co.'s catering options, please contact our Sales Department at 504-274-1816.

Parking Details:
For parking we offer discounted parking at the Marriott next door, based on availability. If this lot if full, we recommend the following garages, but are unable to offer discounted rates: The Sheraton Hotel on Canal Street, the Wyndham Hotel on Royal Street, and Premium Parking Garage on Iberville Street.

Public Transit:
Easily accessible by the Saint Charles Streetcar & the Canal Street car.

Private Party Facilities:
Palace Cafe boasts three private dining rooms accommodating parties from 10 to 80. For events up to 200 the Second Floor is available. Please contact the restaurant directly for private dining space.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee-Tilloy: (877) 625-9155

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All Private Dining Reservations must be made through our Group Sales Department. Please contact Sales at 504-521-8310 for information.

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Let us do the cooking!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Palace Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (51)
Special Occasion (49)
Local Ingredients (40)
See All
Authentic (38)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Good for Groups (35)
Great for Brunch (34)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Great for Lunch (32)
Business Meals (30)
Sunday Lunch (29)
Romantic (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
People Watching (25)
Casual (24)
Fun (23)
Comfort Food (20)
Live Music (20)
Hot Spot (18)
Scenic View (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Kid-friendly (8)
Cozy (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Notable Wine List (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Healthy (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Seasonal (4)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2467 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

If you're going for breakfast, skip the buffet. Just go for the crab cheesecake and you won't be sorry. It's crabby, it's cheesy, it's savory and fluffy and amazing. All you'd ever need in life!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

We had several service issues the evening we went to Palace Café starting with the waiter knew absolutely nothing about wine so he was no help at all in selection. From there it got worse, when our food showed up it sat on the tray next to our table a good 10 minutes before anyone noticed it. Finally what appeared to be a supervisor saw it and went to the front to get the appropriate person to come serve it (not sure why he did not just step in and make an effort to put it on the table). After the salads the waiter took the plates along with the used silverware but never bothered to bring new silverware. I had to borrow from another person at the table to eat my food. The crab add on that I ordered for my salad was left off and I had to ask for that separately......on and on. Not a great experience unfortunately. I had high hopes based on other's reviews. Bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

We were late yet the staff accommodated us graciously. We were so appreciative of that because we had concert reservations to keep later the same evening. All went smoothly. The Gulf Fish course was divine! Our only regret is that we did not have time for their famous Bananas Foster (prepared table side).

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything absolutely amazing! Service was phenomenal (i believe we had Jess and Derrick who were awesome), we went early so there wasn't an over abundance of noise, and of course the food was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We loved the old time ambience of this restaurant. Our servers Linda and David went out of their way to make the evening special and more fun. The food was delicious and fairly priced. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food! Great service! Must have the bananas foster!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Meal and service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

I absolutely loved this place. We came for brunch on a Saturday. We were serenaded by an incredible jazz trio. They even walked around the restaurant to provide one-on-one performances and accept song requests! It was a great experience.

I had the french toast with praline topping - they were incredible, and the serving size was large!

I highly recommend Palace Cafe!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Live Music, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 5 days ago

Havent been here in a few years. Food has taken a hit since last visit. Won't be back for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

From Houston, Texas and reserved a table for a friends birthday and the service was absolutely awesome! Food was great! Will be back when I visit the city again!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food. Exceptionally good service. I highly recommend the Andouille Crusted fish and for appetizer the crab "cheesecake". This is a "must-see" when you are in New Orleans!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was delicious and the building is very pretty. A little noisy, but not so bad.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Good food at a reasonable price right on Canal Street.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

It was more crowded than ever which is great for them. However, we were expecting to have a dinner conversation. It was difficult to do. Perhaps there was a large convention in town that had booked a lot of tables at the particular time we dined. Having said that, the food is wonderful. I've heard they have a new French Chef. Dessert was comped due to a minor mistake with our appetizer. We had bananas foster (a house specialty done table side). Always delicious! Will return again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Always great service and food. Authentic and consistent.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 6, 2017

High quality NOLA fixture! Loved it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Such an amazing experience we had! Jada and Jesika did a great job taking care of us! Really enjoyed the menu, preparation and most definitely the beautiful restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Food was fabulous! Always one of our favorites when we are in New Orleans! Our server, Nigel, was awesome!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Nice old-fashioned dining my room that is atmospheric with good service and area cuisine. A bit noisy for business discussions due to the high ceiling. Friendly service. Portions are not that big - both good and bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Dinner was so good we went back for lunch the next day. Our lunch server Rory, knew we were in a hurry, so he was very attentive to us and got us out in plenty of time. He recommended the pot pie, but I went with something else. After I saw a neighboring table get a pot pie, I wish I would have.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Fantastic meal and great service. Loved the gumbo. Highly recommend.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Good food! Get the breas pudding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Crabmeat cheesecake awesome.And we sat at the bar, both employees super great.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great service. Great Food. Great Attitude toward customers. A must Go!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 24, 2017

I had to pic shell out of my crabcake.....Nigel and Burch were awesome. And the ginger lemonade was amazing. Food was eh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The crab cheesecake is a must! Service was excellent and the bloody Mary bar was fun.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The service and food was excellent!!! This is one of my favorite restaurants the fish is alway fresh and cook too prefection.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 23, 2017

My husband and I took our sixteen year old daughters to eat. The menu had items that they were very happy with. The gumbo was delicious. The food was very good, the service was great, and we were seated at the time of our reservation. The drink from the bar as well as the desserts were definitely worth ordering. The place is loud so if you are looking for a quiet romantic place this may not be it. The noise did not bother us because it's New Orleans and it's meant for fun!

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We had a lovely brunch experience at Palace cafe. Service was top notch, both of our servers were welcoming, informative, and attentive. The food was excellent. It was a lovely start to our day in New Orleans.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The Palace Cafe was a nice surprise. I thought based on its Canal Street location that it might be overrated, but it was not. The service from Deseree and Hillary was top notch. They answered every question we asked about the menu with a huge smile. The food was as good or better than Galatoire's (where we ate the night before). Don't miss the Crab Cheesecake (quiche would be a better description). Made with a pecan crust and served with meunière sauce on top. One of the best things I've ever had!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Just a very enjoyable business lunch. The cheesecake appetizer was amazing.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Great dinner, wonderful staff, excellent food. Interesting local beers that were just changed out but different than listed on the menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Food was very good, original and tasty, Ambiance was very good, Service quite good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

It was as expected. and great fun to be seated at the front window. Lots of active, happy people around.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great service very attentive to special dietary. Our meals were esquisite. I loved the fish with pesto We did not get dessert but may return for coffee and dessert later. We had Juan and Patrick and were quite pleased 😃😍

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We go to NOLA 8 times during Saints season home games. We have always wanted to eat at the Palace Cafe, but could never work it in to our usual travel schedule. Finally, we were able to do a late Saturday brunch....absolutley fantastic, the food, the atmosphere, everything. Loved our waiter too.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was definitely good and worth the visit. We are not disappointed that we chose this restaurant. At times the service was a little slow but they were very busy as well. On our next visit to New Orleans we would not go back but only because there are so many other restaurants to go to.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I always enjoy Palace Cafe but this time I was quite disappointed in the service.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was exceptionally weak. Had to send the fried oysters back because they were cold. All entrees were cold. Staff seemed really ready to get off work. I told them they shouldn't accept reservations for 9:30 if they couldn't maintain their quality. Would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.