Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Palace Café

For over two decades Palace Cafe has been serving award-winning, contemporary Creole cuisine in the historic Werlein Music building. Located downtown, at the entrance to the French Quarter, this Dickie Brennan restaurant is popular with visitors & locals alike.

605 Canal Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Seafood, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday - Friday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am

Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner
Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - til

Saturday & Sunday Jazz Brunch
10:30am - 2:30pm

Café Menu
Limited menu from 2:30pm - 5:30pm

Cross Street:
Chartres Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 523-1661

Website:
http://www.palacecafe.com/

Entertainment:
Join the Rum Runners Duo during Happy Hour in the Black Duck Bar on Palace Café's second Floor. Happy Hour is Monday - Friday from 4pm-6pm.
Place Café also offers a live jazz brunch every Saturday and Sunday from 10:30am-2:30pm featuring the Joe Simon Trio.

Catering:
To learn more about Dickie Brennan & Co.'s catering options, please contact our Sales Department at 504-274-1816.

Parking Details:
For parking we offer discounted parking at the Marriott next door, based on availability. If this lot if full, we recommend the following garages, but are unable to offer discounted rates: The Sheraton Hotel on Canal Street, the Wyndham Hotel on Royal Street, and Premium Parking Garage on Iberville Street.

Public Transit:
Easily accessible by the Saint Charles Streetcar & the Canal Street car.

Private Party Facilities:
Palace Cafe boasts three private dining rooms accommodating parties from 10 to 80. For events up to 200 the Second Floor is available. Please contact the restaurant directly for private dining space.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee-Tilloy: (877) 625-9155

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All Private Dining Reservations must be made through our Group Sales Department. Please contact Sales at 504-521-8310 for information.

Specials

Happy Hour at Black Duck Bar!

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Build Your Own Mimosa

Saturdays and Sundays from 10:30 AM - 2:30 PM

Build Your Own Bloody Mary

Saturdays and Sundays from 10:30 AM - 2:30 PM

Specials

Happy Hour at Black Duck Bar!

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Enjoy 1/2 priced draft beer, wine on tap, and small plates Monday - Friday at Palace Cafe's Black Duck Bar!. Live Music 5PM - 7PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Join us on the second for of Palace Cafe for great cocktails and live music!. Special valid May 2, 2017 - Sep 2, 2017 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Build Your Own Mimosa

Saturdays and Sundays from 10:30 AM - 2:30 PM

Details

Build-your-Own Mimosa with sparkling wine and a choice of orange, grapefruit, cranberry, pineapple, or pomegranate juice. Excludes Tax and Tip. Palace Café also features a live Jazz Band on the weekends. Special valid May 2, 2017 - Sep 2, 2017 on Saturdays and Sundays from 10:30 AM - 2:30 PM.

Build Your Own Bloody Mary

Saturdays and Sundays from 10:30 AM - 2:30 PM

Details

Build your own Bloody Mary with house-infused vodkas & a buffet of garnishes. Excludes Tax and Tip. Palace Café features a live Jazz Band on the weekends. Special valid May 2, 2017 - Sep 2, 2017 on Saturdays and Sundays from 10:30 AM - 2:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Palace Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (68)
Authentic (58)
Special Occasion (54)
See All
Local Ingredients (51)
Great for Brunch (48)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Historic (42)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Fun (42)
People Watching (39)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Sunday Lunch (38)
Casual (37)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Business Meals (36)
Good for Groups (36)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Great for Lunch (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Romantic (30)
Scenic View (30)
Worth the Drive (26)
Comfort Food (24)
Live Music (23)
Hot Spot (23)
Bar Seating (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Cozy (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Family Style (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Spicy (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Seasonal (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (3)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
2288 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 16 hours ago

Lousy service, mediocre food, undrinkable draft beers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Food arrived room temperature...waiter argumentative .

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was a bit salty. Service us just average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Andouille crusted fish was awesome! Also thoroughly enjoyed pecan catfish and crab claw appetizer. Setting and service was great.
Loved having view of Canal Street while enjoying delicious lunch. Reasonably priced for great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Great venue for business group meal. Had 12 people and dinner went well. Great service and great food!!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Great Food. Wait staff made great recommendations.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

Great Food!! Wonderful place! Great Waiter! So delicious and different!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food was excellent as always and the service is impeccable! Love the Palace Cafe

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Our meals were not prepared as specified. My entree came with the wrong side and my friend's entree was covered in sauce that we had asked to be omitted. Also, we had to flag the waiter down twice. I believe in a restaurant where you have two waiters, having to flag one down should never happen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

This restaurant has been in New Orleans for years and I have been going there for years. It is just a wonderful place to go to for the food and ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 15, 2017

First time here and I was a bit disappointed. Ate breakfast and had the banana fosters waffles, they were just okay. It seems as though the breakfast buffet is the main attraction there, but my cousin who ordered was not impressed. Our server didn't have too many tables, but the attentiveness was lacking. There are many other places in New Orleans I would recommend for breakfast before I would ever suggest Palace Cafe again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Celebrating our birthdays and Mother's Day, Dria and our drink server were wonderful as we're all of the staff. The food was fantastic and while we did wait for a little after our reservation, the experience more than made up for it and we had a lovely table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Best server at any restaurant in a long time. Deshon If my memory serves correctly.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 14, 2017

We again visited during a trip to NOLA. Again, we were pleases. Will go again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was awesome, we did sit for about 15 minutes and I had to ask for a server. The B waiter was awesome but the head waiter left a bit to be desired. For the quality of the restaurant I expect A plus service, i actually had better service the next morning at a Waffle House!

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Palace Cafe is one of our family's favorite dinner spots in New Orleans. The crabmeat cheesecake appetizer is out of this world and so rich, it is perfect to split. The andouille sausage crusted fish and pecan crusted fish dishes are both excellent. And ending with a table side bananas foster makes for a memorable meal. We always ask for a window table upstairs.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have eaten at the Palace before and the return continued the excellent experience we have had there. service is top notch and the meal superb.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My guest and I ate here for lunch before going to see a play in New Orleans. Our servers Jeremy and Dria were very attentive, but not to the point to where they were always on top of you. I had the crawfish cake Sardou and my guest had the shrimp tchefuncte. Both dishes were very good. We were in and out pretty quickly. We will definitely be returning to dine there again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We ate here on a Saturday at noon. Be sure to make reservations because the place gets busy. It is really loud inside plus they have live jazz musicians strolling through the restaurant. They have a build your own mimosa and bloody mary station. The biggest complaint I had was the food was just lukewarm. I got the feeling that it had been made earlier and was just sitting under a warmer. I had the spinach salad and crabmeat cheesecake and my husband had an egg skillet. Overall, there are a lot of great choices of food in this city so I'm not sure that I would return but I did like the fact that it was so close to our hotel.

Tags: Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

11 of us had dinner here during my friend's bachelorette weekend. The food, drinks, and service was wonderful, however it was definitely a bit overpriced. I had two drinks, an appetizer, and an entree and spent $77 with tip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 11, 2017

OF THE BRENNAN GROUP - THIS PLACE HAS THE MOST AMBIANCE. FOOD'S EXCELLENT - GREAT VIEW OF CANAL STREET FROM THE WINDOWS AND A FULL COCKTAIL BAR WITH LIVE MUSIC UPSTAIRS. LOVED OUR WAITSTAFF!

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fun, Business Meals, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great food, good service . A great venue for any occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 8, 2017

From the moment we walked in, it was obvious that things were off. The hostess was not
welcoming. Even though we were on time for our reservation, she simply told us to stand to the
side (after making us wait to even speak to her). We waited several minutes to be seated, even though the restaurant was not close to
being full. The girl who poured water and took the wine order was horrendous. She spilled the water every time she poured it. It took her forever to return with the bottle of wine. At the
table, she took an amazingly long time to open the bottle. My impression is that she hates her job. After the above rude behavior by her and the hostess, I would not go back.
I would like to point out that when the waiter was on the scene, he was excellent. Also, the
food was very good. It's a shame that a couple bad employees can ruin what should be a good experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Shrimp roumalade, salad, and roasted chicken breast were all very good. Herb jus on chicken was so flavorable, I'm glad there was bread to sop it up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The service was impeccable. Love the separate waiters for drinks and food. When the starters were cleared from the table , the entrees were being served!! First class service and the crab claw appetizer was amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had brunch here the first day in NO. It was OK but honestly not a relaxing enjoyable brunch. Our courses arrived so quickly we were in and out in an hour from seating to exit. When you offer music there should be time to enjoy it. The breakfast was fine, nothing memorable. It felt like a tourist trap honestly. Wouldnt do it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Always a treat to eat at The Palace. Great for Brunch and love the roving musicians!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Scenic View, Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Classcnolafood

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We were able to get a last minute reservation thanks to OpenTable. We had an interesting rum cocktail and my drum entrée was quite good. However my wife's fish option was not very good. The service was pretty good considering it was a busy Friday night. It was quite a loud restaurant with lots of waiters going past our table constantly through the meal.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Overall it hit me a good-very good.
Overpriced, but good food.
To me you can get better in a city that is filled with top of the line eateries.

Tags: People Watching, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Loved the grilled swordfish! It was fresh and cooked to perfection. The staff were extremely warm and friendly! Highly recommend!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 1, 2017

We got a reservation at the Palace Cafe because a friend recommenced it. We ordered from the brunch menu, but a few more menu items would have been nice. What made our visit most enjoyable was our server, Nikki, who was extremely helpful and most pleasant. It was obvious that she loved her job by the way she engaged with us, as well as her professionalism doing her job. We would recommend the Palace Cafe to friends. And, we also look forward to dining during the lunch and dinner times.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We came here for dinner the two nights we were in NOLA. Love the food.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

It was a very fine brunch on the second floor by the windows (as requested). The food was excellent. The waiters were skilled. The flambé Bananas Foster was deftly prepared. The musicians were engaging. We hope to continue to visit when we are fortunate to be in NOLA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Wonderful ambience, service and food. The crabmeat cheesecake is heavenly. Our waitress, Pamela, was the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 30, 2017

You can never go wrong at Palace Cafe! We make a pilgrimage there every time we are in NOLA. The meal HAS to include the savory Crab Cheesecake! This was our first visit for brunch and it did not disappoint. I love the strolling musicians (they came over and sang happy birthday to my husband), the room, the creativity of the menu and the consistent execution. Palace Cafe is and will always be a favorite!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food and service. Try the Crab Cheesecake appetizer and Bananas Foster dessert which is prepared tableside. Yumm!

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I've been several times, and this time just didn't have that Oomph factor. I Will go back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Fun place to people-watch through the windows. The pecan catfish was amazing, and excellent service.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The staff is very attentive. The food is delicious. The restaurant has 2 floors, so the noise level is very high. We were there on a Friday night and it was really noisy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.