About Pago

Pago offers seasonal, new American cuisine, with an ever-changing menu to reflect the best seasonal ingredients we can find from local providers. The high quality food and service comes without the formal or stuffy atmosphere -- no white linens or jackets-required here, just top-notch service from friendly, knowledgeable servers.

878 S. 900 E
Salt Lake City, UT 84102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Farm-to-table

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday, 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Weekend Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 532-0777

Website:
http://www.pagoslc.com/

Catering:
We provide full-service catering for off-site events, from business lunches to weddings. Please contact us for more information.

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We can accommodate private parties on select dates. We also provide full-service catering for off-site events, from business lunches to weddings. Please contact us for more information.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Pago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

84% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Local Ingredients (17)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Cozy (7)
Casual (7)
Romantic (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Authentic (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Seasonal (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (4)
Organic (4)
Fun (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tapas (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1268 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The service was excellent. The food was unique and delicious. Highly recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Pago is a very convenient location for me and a nice small restaurant with a friendly waitstaff. We took another couple there for an evening of food and conversation. It was perfect except two out of four main courses were marginal. Both my steak and my wife’s duck were extremely tough and we would not order them again. Our guests had the pork and chicken and had no complaints. We all had a Caesar salad and found it to be very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Was an interesting locale, and stimulating atmosphere. I enjoyed the intimacy matched by the various social interactions...

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent dinner for entire group of 5, all with different entrees. Should have asked for price of suggested bottle of wine before we got the bill, but otherwise thoroughly enjoyable!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Perfect food! Better than times before!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 30, 2017

The gnocchi was TO DIE FOR. Best pasta dish I think I’ve ever eaten. Unfortunately the green salad’s dressing was not flavorful at all (I’m not even sure it had salt in it), which left the salad tasting very bitter and dull. Will return, just won’t order anything with the green goddess dressing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Outstanding dinner experience. Food was exceptional!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 21, 2017

I had been wanting to try this place for a while so when we got a gift certificate, I immediately booked a reservation. I was worth the excitement. This will be the place I suggest for our next anniversary or when my parents are in town. It's a bit pricey for me to go to regularly but I'd still say the prices are reasonable for the quality of food. Really delicious and interesting flavor combinations. I had duck breast with blackberry jam, and my partner had a peppery steak. Both were incredible and cooked to perfection. The server had great suggestions for cooking temperature as well as things to try on the menu. We had crab cakes for the appetizer-- probably the best I've had in SLC. I rated it only 4 stars though because the service was a bit slow after the beginning of the meal. We would go a long stretch of time without seeing our server, so when I wanted another glass of wine, it took a while to order one. However, the wine menu is amazing, so it almost makes up for the slowness of the service. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2017

as always great food in cozy atmosphere.
our server was great. she was very accommodating and ensured we had a great experience

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Great service, great food, love the open kitchen, server was fantastic and there was not a thing on the menu I wouldn't order

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food. Manager attentive. Good wine selection. There was a large group which detracted out wait person from us. Overall good. Would go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

I LOVE Pago! I live 30 minutes away and regularly make the drive. The service is as exceptional as the food. Every bite is unique & full of flavor. Our server Jessie was knowledgeable about the menus and patient as we were the last table in the restaurant. Even though we were shutting it down he refilled our coffee and let us enjoy our last moments without feeling hurried. THANK YOU JESSIE! That was a really gracious of you. We LOVE Pago!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Nice dinner out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

A nice, low key environment with great food! A little pricey but worth it

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great fresh locally sourced food! Fabulous pasta and veggies!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2017

This was our second experience at Pago. The food was very good with fresh ingredients as advertised,
however we found the ambiance and service was not at the same level as the food. It also seemed as if the staff felt we should be thankful to be in their establishment. Don't think we will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2017

One of the most outstanding meals we ever had! Great service too. Perhaps the best restaurant in town. Farm to table fresh. Great flavors. Beautiful presentation. Must have the chicken, duck, gnocchi and pudding dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Awesome service and the pork chop is a must have !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food was truly unique and outstanding. The preparation was perfect. We had the lamb chop served with a revelatory potato salad/arugula blend and the gnocchi with curry sauce. Genius. We enjoyed a lovely Cab Franc by the glass that we would purchase again. The service was attentive but not obtrusive. It was a bit loud because of a very loud party next to us, but not prohibitive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Food had good flavor but duck breast was way overdone.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We were visiting SLC from out of town. Pago was a great little restaurant in a trendy neighborhood. Our waiter was personable, genuine and made good recommendations for food and wine.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

The food is excellent, next time I'd like to eat outside. We weren't offered this is an option when we arrived. Excellent service, very friendly staff.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Food was delicious and unique, with unusual ingredients. Service was personal and waitress was very very knowledgeable about everything on the menu. Only two items on the dessert menu, both of which were nontraditional and not really appealing. Note that we were at the restaurant on a quiet Monday, so I don't know what the noise level would be when it was full. The restaurant also has outdoor seating on a adjacent patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Celebrated the birthday of a friend. Had the small beet plate to share, and the the short ribs and Mary's Chicken. All well prepared, beautiful presentation, good service (could have been a BIT more friendly); manager/owner came to our table to chat--very nice touch! Overall, a lovely experience which I'll do again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Consistently excellent food, beautifully presented. Our server, Marissa, was attentive without being pushy. We will continue to frequent Pago.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Delightful experience overall. Tons of knowledge packed into this little place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 3, 2017

great food and neat local joint. Highly recommend

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I've been to Pago before and had a good experience.....but this was one of the worst. :(

When my wife and I first arrived we were greeted with a very unpleasant and rude hostess! She said that we should probably hurry because the kitchen closes at 10 pm. We arrived at 9:30 PM. If Pago and their staff are unwilling to serve people later in the night then don't have reservations available for 9:30 AND 9:45 PM.

After we were seated the host again made a point to let us know that the kitchen closes at 10. Unacceptable! My wife and I looked at each other with disbelief, got up and told the server that we don't want to put the restaurant out by serving us and left. We eat at all the best restaurants in the valley and have never been treated this way.

I will never return to Pago. Hopefully the OWNER of Pago gets this review and trains their staff to be pleasant and welcoming no matter what time customers arrive.

P.S. Don't have reservations at 9:30 if you are unwilling to take customers at that time. If it were me I would write up the staff on this particular night for letting a customer leave

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

I was in town for business and had Pago recommended by another colleague. I'm so glad they did! Everyone loved their meals, and the am I enjoyed the friendly service and ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We've had some good meals at Pago before. We were seated promptly and our server was nice.
We hadn't been there for about a year. Their wine list is exorbitant...there are few bottles of red under $40. (in the past we'd brought our own wine and paid for corkage so it didn't matter.) We ordered a Sangiovese and it was awful. Not spoiled, just boring. I imagine it's a $12 red and I've bought much better before. We told our server and he understood and said he'd mention it to management.

They have a small menu and were out of one of the two fish items. The food was generally good. I doubt that we'll be back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Great meal with the family. Recommend. Won't disappoint

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The tiny neighborhood jewel is so yummy and the staff are amazing. If you want a cozy atmosphere this is it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Probably one of the best Pork Chops I have every had. I would go back just for that dish - PC over Grits with Red Eye Gravy!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Bummed the second time around, the entrees were underwhelming. Though, the server was attentive, the too tough prob chop and halibut were anticlimactic for such a cool place and with such little to. Goose from in the farm-to-table world in SLC.

Hope PAGO can stay abreast of nailing their entrees. Would visit again but with definite hesitation.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Fantastic place... there was no bad food on the menu! And we tried a lot of it!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food was phenomenal. The menu is small, but it has some great selection. The pork chop was undercook but it got great pairing with the sides. Caesar salad was light yet still got great flavors, I enjoyed it a lot. The reason for the 3-stars was because of the service.
I asked my pork to cook up a bit more because it's still pretty rare in some part. When it come back to me, I lost half of the sides that it came with originally. We originally reserved for 6 however we ended up with 5 guests and a baby. She's only 18 months old, did not even order an entree or a side, yet they charge us 20% gratuity for large party. On top of that, our server asked if we want our change back when they already charged gratuity. He came back with the change being short saying they don't have changes. I thought it was pretty rude and not professional of their side. We were there to celebrate Father's Day so we did not want to cause a scene.
I won't come back. Great food! Great location! But if the server is greedy and has no principle like that, I rather spend my money somewhere else!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

LOVED the beet soup!
We would come back again and again when ever we are in town!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Overall a great experience at a great restaurant. Felt that the waitress could have been a bit quicker to attend to our orders. The fettucini pasta could have used a little bit more flavor while the pork chop and the burger were outstanding. A first for us and we will be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 12, 2017

I was disappointed. We had been here once before and had an outstanding meal so I picked this place for my birthday dinner. All five of our plates were overcooked. I had a halibut that was dry and almost inedible. It was on a Monday and the restaurant was slow. Not sure if that effected the kitchen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Solid food. I got the short ribs, my wife got the chicken, we split the tartare. All dishes were solidly prepared. Had a bite of the chicken and it was very well seasoned. The short ribs were fall of the bone tender and well balanced in flavor. The tartare was good too, would order again. Will have to return to try the pork chop with red eye gravy. Saw a neighboring table order it and instantly regretted my entree (until I tasted my dish that is).

Drink menu is fairly short, but they have Ayinger Hefe so that kinda makes it ok.

Skipped desert, we were satisfied with dinner.

Will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.