About Pack's Tavern

20 South Spruce Street
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of downtown Asheville and housed in the historic Hayes Hopson building, Pack’s Tavern offers outstanding service, the best drinks in town, and a large eclectic menu of over 60 items; everything from signature salads to hand-pattied burgers, from wonderful appetizers to fresh cut steaks and seafood in a friendly, hospitable atmosphere. All to be enjoyed in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Asheville’s newly renovated Pack Square Park.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Pizzeria, Dining Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00 am - until
Friday - Saturday: 11:00 am - until

Cross Street:
Marjorie St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 225-6944

Website:
http://www.packstavern.com/

Entertainment:
We have live music or a DJ every Thursday through Saturday.

Catering:
Please call 828-225-6944 for Catering - large or small!

Parking Details:
Public Parking lot next to building after 5PM and all weekend.

Public Transit:
Bus stop 50 yards from building

Executive Chef:
Edwin French

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our beautiful Century Room is perfect for wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, corporate parties and other private functions with a capacity of 50 - 250! Our South Bar is a casual area for large group lunches or dinners that may or may not need to be totally private (maximum capacity 60).

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Wedding rehearsal dinner or reception, luncheon event, business conference, birthday party, retirement party, fundraiser, class reunion, dance party, or whatever the occasion, you’ll find that our friendly, expert staff can help you create a successful event of the highest quality.

Pack's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (15)
Great for Lunch (10)
Comfort Food (10)
See All
Bar Seating (10)
Fun (9)
Historic (9)
Live Sports (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Great Beer (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Cozy (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Authentic (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
People Watching (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Live Music (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Family Style (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Romantic (2)
Healthy (2)
Dancing (1)
Seasonal (1)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
252 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went with 2 year old daughter and it was ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 2 days ago

Went with 2 year old daughter and it was a great place for a comfortable family meal in downtown Asheville. Staff was friendly and the food was good, high quality bar fare.

Tags: , Historic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was very good. The service was ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The meal was very good. The service was excellent. I've been here a few times recently and the service was particularly good this time. Overall, it's a nice place for casual dining. Great beer selection on tap.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We made reservations not realizing their ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We made reservations not realizing their last seating was 30 min prior to closing. Our server was very nice. My pet peeve in dining out is for food to come out in the wrong order... So I was not pleased when my salad arrived after my entree with no apology or explanation. I also didn't appreciate being told that the kitchen was closing and if we wanted anything else to eat we better get it now. I overheard the only bar customer repeatedly trying to order a beer several times as employees just stood around talking. This might explain the delay in my wine service. That being said, the hot food arrived hot, but I don't know that we will return.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We were inviting the Berlin Philharmonic ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We were inviting the Berlin Philharmonic Wind Quintet (Who performed at DWT) for a post-concert supper. We arrived at 6:45 and the group left at 10:15! The restaurant honored my request for a quit location and one where their instruments would be within view.

It was a wonderful meal and they were most complimentary concerning the food and the service. No one felt at all rushed to leave the restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were there to watch the UNC-Duke bask ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We were there to watch the UNC-Duke basketball game. We were a little early and the game wasn't on near our table but the waitress assured us that the game was going to be on every TV. Once the game started it was not on the TV that was near us and we were told that other people had gotten there first and wanted a different game. They moved us but it was not near a TV so we could barely see a small TV. The manager apologized but did not offer to comp us or anything. There seemed to be horrible communication between the staff. Food was fine, but we will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

This was our first time here, but defini ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This was our first time here, but definitely not the last! The food, atmosphere and service were all outstanding.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pack's never disappoints. The wait can s ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Pack's never disappoints. The wait can sometimes be long but they do accept reservations.

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pack'sTavern was very accommodating when ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Pack'sTavern was very accommodating when we arrived a few minutes later than our reservation time due to heavy traffic. They had our table ready and waiting as soon as we arrived. I loved the decor inside the restaurant and the staff members seemed very efficient. The bathrooms were very clean.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food! Enjoyed a great meal wit ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Wonderful food! Enjoyed a great meal with daughter and grandsons!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Live Sports, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Fun, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Healthy, , Family Style, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Right in the center of downtown Ashevill ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Right in the center of downtown Asheville. Reliable food quality and service; more reasonably priced than many other downtown venues. Large pub atmosphere. Local beer on tap. Our waiter Kelsey was very accommodating.

Tags: Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Very fun place with delicious and unique ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very fun place with delicious and unique food options. Service was good- could have been a little friendlier, but overall great experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Live Sports, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great find on Open Table. Was a snowy da ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great find on Open Table. Was a snowy day and we dropped in for lunch while heading home from Asheville. We loved the pimento cheese dip which was warm and came out with crisp and hot pita chips. The chicken salad was great as well as the homemade chicken noodle soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have been there three times and they ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We have been there three times and they are always friendly and accommodating. Great place to watch football games!

Tags: Quick Bite, Wood Oven, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A very large menu that will satisfy all ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A very large menu that will satisfy all tastes. Food was good, waiter was good but I asked for water refill and never got, in fact our table never had water refilled . Would return and would recommend

Tags: Historic, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Was just passing through for the night a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Was just passing through for the night and met friends for dinner. Absolute recommend all the way. Staff was great and food amazing and well priced. Go here. Do it.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was awesome! Pizza and calz ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our waitress was awesome! Pizza and calzones were pretty good. We arrived 10 mins early and ended up waiting 15 mins after our reservation time. Our table was empty the whole time we waited. Food was good and reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Fantastic! Loved the shepherd pie.

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Fantastic! Loved the shepherd pie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Perhaps we went on a bad night but they ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Perhaps we went on a bad night but they were out of almost every single beer we tried to order. The food was also not very good. The service was satisfactory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

I made a reservation for 6 people a coup ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I made a reservation for 6 people a couple weeks before through Open Table. It was confirmed and I received a reminder the day before. Got there a couple minutes late and had to wait about 5 minutes for them to get our table ready. The place was full of empty tables. When we were shown to our table we found it was two 2-person tables (small) shoved together with six chairs. Not enough room for comfortable seating or leg room for six people. The person seating us had just turned and walked away without asking if the seating arrangements were okay. Of course they weren't. I had to stop the waitress passing by to ask that we be given either a larger table or another two-top table added. She said she'd have to check with the hostess. There were at least 8 other empty two top tables available. There was even a six-person high-top table available off to the side. They tried to add another even smaller wobbly table. We eventually got three two-top tables together to seat us comfortably but not without standing around a short while waiting for them to make the right decision. Customer service is not their strength. Food was okay but nothing to rave about.

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Great Atmosphere. Good Food. Friendly St ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great Atmosphere. Good Food. Friendly Staff. My wife and I were looking for a place to go Christmas Eve for drinks and entertainment while we were in town and this was a good find. After dinner we enjoyed the music of Grand Theft Audio. A great band with a diverse mix of music. They were receptive to requests and we enjoyed dancing to their music. I would recommend Pack's Tavern to any place looking to have good reasonably priced food and entertainment.

Tags: Happy Hour, Dancing, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great place for lunch.

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great place for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Outstanding dining experience...Food was ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Outstanding dining experience...Food was great! I go here for special dates that occur in my life...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about packs tavern was amazin ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Everything about packs tavern was amazing! The bison burger was outstanding and they had a awesome selection of beer. Great American feel me and my wife will be going back very soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Historic, Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Casual, Happy Hour, Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, , Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three of our four meals were very good b ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Three of our four meals were very good but the pecan crusted trout had bones you had to pick out and flavor was covered up by the white sauce--also need something more appealing to go along with seafood then mash potatoes

Tags: Great Beer, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Wood Oven, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great lunch spot.

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great lunch spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We especially enjoyed hearing about the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We especially enjoyed hearing about the history of the establishment as a speakeasy and seeing the tunnel through which moonshine was supplied to the fire department across the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Pax Tavern we go there often for ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We love Pax Tavern we go there often for fun with our family to have drinks and good food and we're all about the music so we do love that they have music there and it's just a nice fun evening for everyone

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Dancing, Authentic, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service, great food and fantasti ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Amazing service, great food and fantastic selection of drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I were celebrating our 29 ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 3, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 29th wedding anniversary and chose to go to Pack's Tavern. The server was friendly and helpful, and tended to our needs quite well. The atmosphere was romantic, casual, and relaxed. We enjoyed the historical aspect of the building and absolutely loved the menu, and were appreciative of the use of organic ingredients. I would recommend Pack's Tavern to anyone, whether it is for a special occasion or any occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Organic, People Watching, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service for our party of eight was excel ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Service for our party of eight was excellent. The food arrived promptly and the quality of every dish was outstanding - the atmosphere is quaint and inviting.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Were out of the beers we ordered. We wil ...

 
·Dined on September 26, 2016

Were out of the beers we ordered. We will go back though.Guac was good.I have had better chips.Great historical building.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat here before going on a tour. We ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We eat here before going on a tour. We were about 45 minutes early (4pm) and asked if we could be seated before our reservation. The host said he didn't know but would check. When hen checked the computer, the host stated it should be fine. As we walked to the table, were only 3-4 tables taken inside in the bar area where we sat. A waitress came up and introduced herself. Then about 5 minutes later a waiter came and stated the waitress had to leave and he would be our server. Once he took our order, he deliver our drinks, someone else delivered our appetizer, then the waiter brought our food. He asked how everything was then we didn't see him until he brought to bill. I didn't like what I ordered but my husband did. The waiter brought the check took my plate where I had only eaten one slice of the pizza and didn't give me a chance to said anything. When he came back after running the check, I stated it was the worst meal in awhile. He asked if I wanted to talk to the manager not he would get the manager. It felt like he thought I was at fault. The mushroom pizza was to after a drizzle of olive oil on the lettuce but there was so much it soaked the bottom to the pizza making the crust very soggy and greasy.

Usually when you go to a restaurant and don't like something they offer to at least exchange it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Enjoyed a delicious dinner there. Great ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Enjoyed a delicious dinner there. Great value and loved that they took reservations.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Historic, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, , Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Live Sports, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are outside and loved it!!

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We are outside and loved it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pack's is a great place if you are looki ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Pack's is a great place if you are looking for a tavern experience. Not good if you want a quiet place with Continental service. Pack's service is good and typical for a tavern. Great beer list.

We enjoyed our meal even though the noise level was somewhat high. If it's Summer and you are inclined to get chilly in a strongly air conditioned place with ceiling fans, take a light jacket. But that is only for a few, of course. Most folks would be happy as it is.

I've already mentioned to others about Pack's and said to go there if you go to Asheville. I'd certainly return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great family spot for lunch and dinner ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great family spot for lunch and dinner . Kids though it was great . Meatloaf was exceptionally good with home made mashed potatoes ....

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at Pack's Tavern while visiting ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We dined at Pack's Tavern while visiting Asheville on vacation. The service was great, as was the local beer selection. I recommend the fish tacos!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyable evening. Nice music by local ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Enjoyable evening. Nice music by local musicians. Meatloaf was not very good and was topped with bar-b-que sauce. Vegetables were great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

The menu has a very nice variety, and th ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 3, 2016

The menu has a very nice variety, and the food was delicious. The servers were very personable and attentive. We were seated at the end of a row of booths, and for some reason the table was high and the booth space on each side was narrow - more so than other booths. We decided to stick it out, but they should do something about that particular booth. The atmosphere was very nice for a bar/restaurant settings, and not too noisy on a weeknight. Overall an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Server was not good. He was forgetful o ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Server was not good. He was forgetful over and over - tables all around us that were seated well after we were got food way before we did and we ordered simple items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.