Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Pack's Tavern

Located in the heart of downtown Asheville and housed in the historic Hayes Hopson building, Pack’s Tavern offers outstanding service, the best drinks in town, and a large eclectic menu of over 60 items; everything from signature salads to hand-pattied burgers, from wonderful appetizers to fresh cut steaks and seafood in a friendly, hospitable atmosphere. All to be enjoyed in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Asheville’s newly renovated Pack Square Park.

20 South Spruce Street
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Pizzeria, Dining Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00 am - until
Friday - Saturday: 11:00 am - until

Cross Street:
Marjorie St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 225-6944

Website:
http://www.packstavern.com/

Entertainment:
We have live music or a DJ every Thursday through Saturday.

Catering:
Please call 828-225-6944 for Catering - large or small!

Parking Details:
Public Parking lot next to building after 5PM and all weekend.

Public Transit:
Bus stop 50 yards from building

Executive Chef:
Edwin French

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our beautiful Century Room is perfect for wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, corporate parties and other private functions with a capacity of 50 - 250! Our South Bar is a casual area for large group lunches or dinners that may or may not need to be totally private (maximum capacity 60).

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Wedding rehearsal dinner or reception, luncheon event, business conference, birthday party, retirement party, fundraiser, class reunion, dance party, or whatever the occasion, you’ll find that our friendly, expert staff can help you create a successful event of the highest quality.

Pack's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (15)
Fun (13)
Casual (13)
See All
Bar Seating (13)
Historic (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Live Sports (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Live Music (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Authentic (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Family Style (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Cozy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Romantic (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
S
272 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

We actually booked our reservations at the restaurant because we had seen Jason Okrend perform at another venue earlier in the week and hoped to catch him again before retiring to Chicago. He's an exceptional vocalist, songwriter and performer and we were delighted to have discovered him during our trip in Asheville. It was really good to see him again, but didn't anticipate the noise level at your restaurant. In any case, it was really great to see him perform again and the food was superb!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Pack's Tavern is conveniently located in downtown Asheville. We had the excellent Fried Green Tomatoes. My husband really enjoyed the Shepherd's Pie, and I could not wrap myself around the Cobb Salad. Some of our party loved the very rick chocolate cake. Sangria was the special of the evening - two of us had it and ordered a couple more! Local beers were featured and I am told they were excellent. Fun place to be with friends and watch sports on multiple screens>

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Fun, Great Beer, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Food took an hour to arrive. Fries were cold. Food wasn't any better than I could get from a low end chain restaurant but twice as $. Very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 21, 2017

A definite neighborhood gem. Tons of beer selections but also solid wine choices. Our server was delightful. Since it was our first time there he reviewed the menu in it's entirety and even made suggestions. I had the fish and chips - the best in town and my husband had the bison meatloaf.
the fact I did not even get a bite says it all. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Live Sports, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

My adult son and I went there for dinner on a Thursday night. Food was fantastic - lots of great food options to choose from. The service was very good and we would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Came here with a party of 12. Nice that they took reservations as a lot of places do not. We were sat promptly upon our arrival and had service immediately. Everyone very friendly, accommodating and it was overall a great experience. The food was amazing and many great items to choose from. Would definitely come back again! Very casual place, but festive. Our business customers enjoyed it tremendously!

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Nice location...A family favorite...extensive menu....I recommend the Shepherd's Pie and Fish and Chips.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Happy Hour, Fun, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Basic food. Meatloaf had sauce that way overpowered the meat. Brussel sprouts we're over cooked. Shepard's pie was tasty, but had a very thin mouth feel. Good beer selection. Friendly and attentive staff. Probably good for a large group gathering as there are a lot of things on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Waitress was slow and disorganized and not distant. Other waitstaff attending other tables much more on top of things

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Nice place in downtown Asheville. Food was good for most. Would recommend a burger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great dinner. Packs was very busy so I was very glad we were able to get a reservation. Wonderful Asheville experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 9, 2017

On the positive side - food was very good. Recommend the Prohibition Pot Roast and the Shepherds Pie. Not so positive - when we were seated (5 of us and the restaurant was not busy) we sat there for at least 5 minutes with numerous staff walking by. After a few more minutes, I finally walked over to a group of staff and asked if we could be attended to. The waiter I asked to help us went to the front and came back and said the person who was supposed to be our server was not in yet (we had made reservations over a week in advance). We finally were served our drinks and our 2 appetizers arrived about 10 minutes later. The waiter came back and took our order. The irritating part of the evening was about to start. All of our meals arrived at different times so we ended up eating separately as each of us wanted to eat while our food was still hot.... very poor coordination. I mentioned our issue to the manager prior to leaving. He was very gracious and thanked us for brining this to our attention and comped the appetizers.

Tags: Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Nachos are outstanding 10/10. Pizza was a 2/10.
Good casual dining.

Tags: Great Beer, Happy Hour, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Good food, though the chicken noodle soup seemed canned. I had the pot roast which was excellent. Very efficient and friendly staff. A nice casual vibe. Good martinis. A bit noisy, but not deafening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Large beer selection, great place to watch a game & good comfort food.

Tags: Vegan, Family Style, Happy Hour, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The service was outstanding. The food was delicious. The atmosphere was fun but not too busy. We got our food quickly. And did I mention the service was OUTSTANDING!? Best we had anywhere in Asheville during our stay. Highly recommend Pack's to any and everyone.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Outstanding Value, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Friendly and welcoming atmosphere, the food was great. I had the pimento cheeseburger and my husband had the hamburger steak. Will most certainly go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always a good meal at Packs! It's a tad noisy but not overwhelming and for the size of the place you can have a private conversation. Try the Carolina Fried Chicken sandwich. .yummy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My family, friends and I ate here on a Sunday before the Southern Conference basketball games. The service was great and the food options were abundant. We loved the broccoli tots and cheesy bread for appetizers. The fried chicken sandwich was really good. We would revisit this place when in town.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Historic, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Great Beer, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great pub atmosphere with a good selection of both pub and basic menu items.

Tags: Great Beer, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We had a wonderful time at Pack's Tavern. The food was great, loved the historic building and the service staff was excellent! We'll be back!

Tags: Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Went with 2 year old daughter and it was a great place for a comfortable family meal in downtown Asheville. Staff was friendly and the food was good, high quality bar fare.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Historic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The meal was very good. The service was excellent. I've been here a few times recently and the service was particularly good this time. Overall, it's a nice place for casual dining. Great beer selection on tap.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We made reservations not realizing their last seating was 30 min prior to closing. Our server was very nice. My pet peeve in dining out is for food to come out in the wrong order... So I was not pleased when my salad arrived after my entree with no apology or explanation. I also didn't appreciate being told that the kitchen was closing and if we wanted anything else to eat we better get it now. I overheard the only bar customer repeatedly trying to order a beer several times as employees just stood around talking. This might explain the delay in my wine service. That being said, the hot food arrived hot, but I don't know that we will return.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We were inviting the Berlin Philharmonic Wind Quintet (Who performed at DWT) for a post-concert supper. We arrived at 6:45 and the group left at 10:15! The restaurant honored my request for a quit location and one where their instruments would be within view.
It was a wonderful meal and they were most complimentary concerning the food and the service. No one felt at all rushed to leave the restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We were there to watch the UNC-Duke basketball game. We were a little early and the game wasn't on near our table but the waitress assured us that the game was going to be on every TV. Once the game started it was not on the TV that was near us and we were told that other people had gotten there first and wanted a different game. They moved us but it was not near a TV so we could barely see a small TV. The manager apologized but did not offer to comp us or anything. There seemed to be horrible communication between the staff. Food was fine, but we will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This was our first time here, but definitely not the last! The food, atmosphere and service were all outstanding.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Pack's never disappoints. The wait can sometimes be long but they do accept reservations.

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Pack'sTavern was very accommodating when we arrived a few minutes later than our reservation time due to heavy traffic. They had our table ready and waiting as soon as we arrived. I loved the decor inside the restaurant and the staff members seemed very efficient. The bathrooms were very clean.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Wonderful food! Enjoyed a great meal with daughter and grandsons!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Live Sports, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Fun, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Right in the center of downtown Asheville. Reliable food quality and service; more reasonably priced than many other downtown venues. Large pub atmosphere. Local beer on tap. Our waiter Kelsey was very accommodating.

Tags: Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very fun place with delicious and unique food options. Service was good- could have been a little friendlier, but overall great experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Live Sports, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great find on Open Table. Was a snowy day and we dropped in for lunch while heading home from Asheville. We loved the pimento cheese dip which was warm and came out with crisp and hot pita chips. The chicken salad was great as well as the homemade chicken noodle soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We have been there three times and they are always friendly and accommodating. Great place to watch football games!

Tags: Quick Bite, Wood Oven, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A very large menu that will satisfy all tastes. Food was good, waiter was good but I asked for water refill and never got, in fact our table never had water refilled . Would return and would recommend

Tags: Historic, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Was just passing through for the night and met friends for dinner. Absolute recommend all the way. Staff was great and food amazing and well priced. Go here. Do it.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our waitress was awesome! Pizza and calzones were pretty good. We arrived 10 mins early and ended up waiting 15 mins after our reservation time. Our table was empty the whole time we waited. Food was good and reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Fantastic! Loved the shepherd pie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Perhaps we went on a bad night but they were out of almost every single beer we tried to order. The food was also not very good. The service was satisfactory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I made a reservation for 6 people a couple weeks before through Open Table. It was confirmed and I received a reminder the day before. Got there a couple minutes late and had to wait about 5 minutes for them to get our table ready. The place was full of empty tables. When we were shown to our table we found it was two 2-person tables (small) shoved together with six chairs. Not enough room for comfortable seating or leg room for six people. The person seating us had just turned and walked away without asking if the seating arrangements were okay. Of course they weren't. I had to stop the waitress passing by to ask that we be given either a larger table or another two-top table added. She said she'd have to check with the hostess. There were at least 8 other empty two top tables available. There was even a six-person high-top table available off to the side. They tried to add another even smaller wobbly table. We eventually got three two-top tables together to seat us comfortably but not without standing around a short while waiting for them to make the right decision. Customer service is not their strength. Food was okay but nothing to rave about.

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.