Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Oyamel

Oyamel Cocina Mexicana combines Mexico’s rich regional culinary traditions with modern urban fare. Guests experience an array of antijitos—traditional Mexican snack or small plates—along with authentic tacos, ceviches and an impressive selection of cocktails and tequilas. This is like no Mexican food you have ever experienced. Under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés, Head Chef Omar Rodriguez takes traditional ingredients and techniques and elevates them to deliver dishes and drinks with exceptional creativity and refinement.

401 7th Street N.W.
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Thursday – Saturday: 11 AM – 2 AM
Sunday – Wednesday: 11 AM – midnight
Lunch menu available Mon. – Fri. from 11 AM – 3 PM
Brunch Sat. & Sun. 11 AM – 3 PM
Hora Feliz Mon. – Fri., 4 PM – 6 PM
Late Night Menu:
Thursday – Saturday, 11 PM – 2 AM
Sunday – Wednesday, 10 PM – midnight

Cross Street:
D Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 628-1005

Website:
http://www.oyamel.com/

Catering:
Catering on a whole new level; José Andrés Catering elevates catering and event planning to new heights in the Washington, DC area and beyond. Now you can experience the inspired creations of celebrated chef José Andrés at your own party or venue. Visit us for more information at www.joseandrescatering.com, or call us at (202) 628-1005.

Parking Details:
There are ample public lots in the Gallery Place/Chinatown/Penn Quarter area. Metered street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Archives/Navy Memorial/Penn Quarter on the yellow and green lines; Gallery Place/Chinatown on the red, yellow and green lines.

Executive Chef:
Jose Andres; Head Chef, Omar Rodriguez

Private Party Facilities:
Oyamel is the ideal venue for your next event. Our Butterfly Bar can accommodate groups of up to 70 guests. Oyamel also features a lovely private dining room that accommodates 50 guests. For large parties, full or partial buyouts of the restaurant (accommodating 250 guests) can be arranged.

Private Party Contact:
Jocelynne Tan: (202) 810-8284

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Oyamel is the ideal venue for your next event. Our Butterfly Bar can accommodate groups of up to 70 guests. Oyamel also features a lovely private dining room that accommodates 50 guests. For large parties, full or partial buyouts of the restaurant (accommodating 250 guests) can be arranged.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Oyamel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (169)
Creative Cuisine (159)
Fit for Foodies (152)
See All
Fun (136)
Authentic (123)
Good for a Date (110)
Casual (98)
Handcrafted Cocktails (93)
Special Occasion (82)
Good for Groups (80)
Modern Decor (78)
Vibrant Bar Scene (78)
Great for Lunch (73)
Spicy (72)
Good Vegetarian Options (71)
Hot Spot (71)
Good for Birthdays (64)
Neighborhood Gem (63)
Happy Hour (61)
Pre/post Theatre (54)
Bar Seating (50)
Tasting Menu (50)
Sunday Lunch (40)
Worth the Drive (39)
People Watching (37)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Business Meals (30)
Great for Brunch (29)
Family Style (27)
Healthy (27)
Quick Bite (26)
Comfort Food (25)
Late-night Find (24)
Kid-friendly (20)
Cozy (19)
Gluten Free Options (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Romantic (16)
Molecular Gastronomy (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Vegan (12)
Organic (9)
Seasonal (9)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Great Beer (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Private Room (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Scenic View (2)
Live Sports (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
6109 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Chicken tacos were great. Scallop ceviche was tasteless but the margarita was excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

It was for GW graduation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

All the usual Mexican specialties, just made better than anywhere else. Who ever thought a Taco could be so good?

Tags: Authentic, Spicy, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Drove all the way from NY for the awesome, allergy friendly, tacos! Did not disappoint. Great Guac and margaritas (without foam please!). But seriously, those soft shell tacos - omg! Loved them so much and so sad I can't find anything nearly as good (or allergy safe) in the way of Mexican back in NY, we visited again the next day for tacos to go!

Service was ok overall, but a few drink mix-ups and errors. With that said, all errors were fixed immediately and comped, so certainly a well managed restaurant.

I CANNOT wait to visit DCagain. Obsessed.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

The highlights were the guacamole prepared tableside and the shrimp with black garlic. I also liked the horchata. The chicken taco was fine, but not great, and I didn't care for the fruit salad which would have been improved by having mango and papaya and a better sauce. Overall it was a great experience and I will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Authentic, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Oyamel is one of my favorite restaurants in DC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

We ate twice at Oyamel on a recent trip to D.C...once for brunch and then another time for dinner. Both were great, but dinner time was very busy and quite noisy. Liked the brunch vibe best.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Fun place, great drinks, creative enjoyable food and a lively atmosphere.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

I've been here for drinks, but never lunch. It was amazing, and truly a unique experience. Staff were amenable with great direction for our gluten-free diner. Will definitely come again!

Tags: Casual, Tapas, Business Meals, Spicy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Our food came late, the guacomole only came after we asked twice. The queso was cold and watery. It was supposed to have chorizo in it and after we asked, she brought out a plate of chorizo. It was so bad we sent it back. Then the server spilled ice cold water all over me. My skirt was drenched and so was my plate. Literally, the manager was right there and said and did nothing until after it was all done and cleaned up. He actually barely acknowledged the water spilling. It was odd (I've worked in a restaurant and usually they at least act like they care. I was still soaked. We got the quezo chorizo taken off the price of the meal. The entire experience was an exercise in frustration and no fun at all. I just remember having to ask for everything and for everything to be fixed and then being soaked. It also took so long I was late back to the office.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 17, 2017

It was my roommate's birthday and they gave us a dessert on the house! Very cool place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Our server was wonderful in listening to what we liked and recommending options from each category that would be "safe" and ones that would challenge our tastebuds. We tried something from each category and especially loved the ceviche and salted-foam margaritas It was a fantastic meal - we will definitely return if we are back in DC!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

everything was delicious. the service was good too. One thing only, at the end I waited for a taco for about 15 minutes.

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Small bites, lots of flavors! We especially loved the Huevos Rancheros and the Papas Taco, the Agua Fresca was refreshing and the Jericalla de Chocolate was the perfect dessert to top it all off. We are vegetarians and there was more than enough to choose from and more to go back for!

Tags: Spicy, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The table side guacamole was great as was all of the food we had. Serving size is small so you could do appetizer or salad before your meal. Drinks were amazing.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Authentic, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I went to Oyamel with my family to celebrate graduating from The Catholic University of America. Everyone enjoyed their drinks and their food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 12, 2017

AWESOME from beginning to end!!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Tapas, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Margaritas were great. Dishes were excellent. Oyamel is one of our favorites.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Although we were stuck in traffic and the restaurant was busy, they held our reservation for 15 minutes. We got a cozy and relatively quiet and private table on a Friday night. The food was fantastic, and satisfied both the vegetarians and omnivores. Very attentive service. We had several courses and got out in time for the theatre. Loved it, and will be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great waiter, yummy food!

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 11, 2017

the quality of the food and service make this place one of my favorites in DC!!

Tags: Tapas, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food was overall very good, although the shrimp had a bit too much oil. Very good guacamole.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Went on a whim for lunch. Turned out to be a solid choice. Smaller plates so think tapas sized dishes. We opted for 4 plates for two people which was just right. Good flavors in all dishes. Service was attentive without smothering. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We celebrated a family birthday here. Hostess was rude. The waiter spilled salsa on my daughter's white sweater. (A birthday gift) His only response was "clumsy me" and he brought her soda water to clean sweater. Food was good but not special enough to overlook the poor service. It was extremely loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very good food and drink..... Little noise... But nice atmosphere!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This was probably our 4th or 5th visit to Oyamel...we have never been disappointed...excellent food and really good service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This was a much better visit than our last. The waiter was accommodating to my request for a mild flavor and as a result I could enjoy my meal and it was so delicious! The chips and guacamole are dangerously good - filling you up before your food comes because you can't stop eating. The cocktails were delicious as well. Great location near the Verizon center.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I'm getting tired of managing small plates. I wish they would offer some regular entrees as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food and cocktails are great, but overall, meh. The service was terrible. They try so hard to turn the tables that our food arrived 20 minutes earlier than our drinks did, without explanation or apology.

Ambience: It's very noisy, and the looped video of the butterfly, or whatever it is, is creepy. It killed my appetite.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I love Oyamel, but the last few times we've gone the service hasn't been all that great. This time we went for lunch at 1pm on Saturday. The restaurant was about 1/2 full and not super busy, but we had to ask our waitress to refill our water glasses and even then it took more than 15min. I also ordered another drink at the same time which still hadn't arrived by the end of our meal. I know this is a popular restaurant, but it seems as if this is becoming the norm.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Service left much to be desired, with items forgotten and coming extremely late in the meal. Papas con mole were soggy fries with the tiniest bit of sauce. Tacos (hongos) were not tasty. Quesadilla huitlacoche, frijoles, and Rees leches cake were very good, as were the margaritas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food, service and experience! Went here for both my mother and my husband's birthday celebrations ... it was pretty close to perfect!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Told the waitress about our peanut allergy when ordering the "experience" option (I.e. The chief picks the dishes). She wrote it down on the order pad, but (admitted to) not properly entering it into the computer. First dish they brought out had peanuts in it. Luckily my girlfriend noticed before she swallowed the first bite. Manager and waitress apologized profusely, but other than giving us a replacement dish, zero service recovery. Worst of all, the manager even attempted to say it was a "tree nut". But waitress admitted that both her and the chief agreed it was a peanut. Regardless, they still stuck us with the full bill, at least they could have comped a round a drinks, after nearly sending my girlfriend to the hospital. Ive been to this restaurant before, and liked my previous experiences. But after this big of a screw up, and after making zero effort to make it right, we're never coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Ate at Oyamel for cinco de mayo, something we have been doing every year for several years. Unfortunately, I think this is a tradition that may have to die. Being that it was cinco de mayo, we of course wanted some margaritas and decided to order the pitcher. While the restaurant was very busy (understandably), we waited an excessive amount of time before the margaritas came. The waitress was apologetic, but still. It is a busy day, they should have had the bar staff on hand to keep things running smoothly. When the margaritas did come, they were excessively strong. I am sure that is a good thing to some people and I like a still drink, but not so much when it comes to margaritas. If I was looking to get bombed it would have been one thing, but that was not the case. Anyway, aside from that the food was good. Not great, but solid. It is always a good place to bring people from out of town as it is somewhat "adventurous" but not overwhelmingly so.

Tags: Tapas, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Server was great and made all be difference for our experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The restaurant accommodated our request to sit away from the window-that was great! Thank you!
The food was fair, I had the mole, it had a bitter taste and the chicken was charred a bit too much for my taste. My husband had the Caldo Tlalapeno soup, which he expected to be great but it turned out to only be ok. Our guest said he enjoyed his enchilada. What saved the dinner were the desserts; 3-leches cake and cafe de olla - they were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Our food was fresh, flavorful. One vegetarian snd one not, we shared most dishes happily.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Vegan, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 5, 2017

A must stop in DC! Best Mexican food I've ever had. Servers are very knowledgeable about the menu and made great suggestions. I make it a point to go here whenever in DC.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Service was indifferent, at best. Dishes were good, but not memorably so. It had the ambience of a racetrack. I used to like this place, very much, but I don't think I'll be going back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great vegan and easily adapted vegan options. Great server knowledge. Thank you!

Tags: Casual, Vegan, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.