Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Oyamel

Oyamel Cocina Mexicana combines Mexico’s rich regional culinary traditions with modern urban fare. Guests experience an array of antijitos—traditional Mexican snack or small plates—along with authentic tacos, ceviches and an impressive selection of cocktails and tequilas. This is like no Mexican food you have ever experienced. Under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés, Head Chef Omar Rodriguez takes traditional ingredients and techniques and elevates them to deliver dishes and drinks with exceptional creativity and refinement.

401 7th Street N.W.
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Thursday – Saturday: 11 AM – 2 AM
Sunday – Wednesday: 11 AM – midnight
Lunch menu available Mon. – Fri. from 11 AM – 3 PM
Brunch Sat. & Sun. 11 AM – 3 PM
Hora Feliz Mon. – Fri., 4 PM – 6 PM
Late Night Menu:
Thursday – Saturday, 11 PM – 2 AM
Sunday – Wednesday, 10 PM – midnight

Cross Street:
D Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 628-1005

Website:
http://www.oyamel.com/

Catering:
Catering on a whole new level; José Andrés Catering elevates catering and event planning to new heights in the Washington, DC area and beyond. Now you can experience the inspired creations of celebrated chef José Andrés at your own party or venue. Visit us for more information at www.joseandrescatering.com, or call us at (202) 628-1005.

Parking Details:
There are ample public lots in the Gallery Place/Chinatown/Penn Quarter area. Metered street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Archives/Navy Memorial/Penn Quarter on the yellow and green lines; Gallery Place/Chinatown on the red, yellow and green lines.

Executive Chef:
Jose Andres; Head Chef, Omar Rodriguez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Oyamel is the ideal venue for your next event. Our Butterfly Bar can accommodate groups of up to 70 guests. Oyamel also features a lovely private dining room that accommodates 50 guests. For large parties, full or partial buyouts of the restaurant (accommodating 250 guests) can be arranged.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Oyamel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (119)
Tapas (119)
Fun (108)
See All
Fit for Foodies (103)
Good for a Date (87)
Authentic (85)
Casual (77)
Handcrafted Cocktails (73)
Good for Groups (70)
Vibrant Bar Scene (70)
Hot Spot (67)
Great for Lunch (62)
Happy Hour (62)
Special Occasion (51)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Spicy (49)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Good Vegetarian Options (46)
Pre/post Theatre (37)
Bar Seating (36)
Tasting Menu (33)
Worth the Drive (33)
People Watching (31)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Business Meals (25)
Local Ingredients (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Late-night Find (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Romantic (16)
Quick Bite (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Seasonal (9)
Vegan (9)
Cozy (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Great Beer (6)
Organic (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
6727 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined a day ago

Great food, but unfriendly service. Our waiter acted like he was bored and couldn't be bothered. Other waiters we saw seemed to have the same attitude. The place was dead for dinner, really low energy. Could've been ok if the waiter either had decent personality or knew how to smile. He was 0 for 2. Also somehow the place reported me as no show to Open Table after they seated us to eat dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

While the food was okay, not great, the noise level was just impossible. We were a table of four and we could not hear each other talk. I know that the food comes out as it's ready, but one of us sat there with nothing to eat while the others finished their meals. I don't think we would go back again at least for a Saturday night dinner. I should say that the waiter was friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Put your party into the server's hands and you will not be disappointed. Delicious, inventive variations of classic dishes.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Always excellent Mexican dishes, guacamole is a real treat, a joy to visit.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food, service, ambiance. Food is awesome.

Tags: Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was good, not great. Service was very good. Conversation was very difficult because of high noise level. Not nearly the value of Jaleo.

Tags: Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Staff at front desk make each guest feel welcome. Best in the city. Fish tacos and guacamole excellent. Special tea a disappointment because flavorless. Brussels sprouts had an off day but usually outstanding. The decor never gets old.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant decor is amazing, beautifully designed, but it is incredibly overpriced. The food quality and cuisine creativity are mediocre. There are far better Mexican cuisine places in D.C. that are half the price of this place. The service was atrocious, waiters messed up our order and tried to overcharge us for the extra dish they brought to our table. The guacamole was around $15, with maybe one avocado and nothing else added to it, and it wasn't made in front of us, as it says it would be on the menu. We received no apology, or discount for the terrible experience we had...I would not recommend it to anyone!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

A great restaurant by Jose Andres, one of my heroes for his principled stance on immigrants. The food is fabulous. I took a work colleague from Zimbabwe and she loved it, she had never eaten Mexican food before. I had the rum cocktail, delicious, as were the shrimp and guacamole. Sitting outside on a warm day, what could be better?

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

When it appeared like my friend and I weren't high-rollers, the waiter stopped spending any time checking on us. He also upsold us on the guacamole, which was ridiculously overpriced since it was a tiny portion and he messed up the spiciness. I'm not a high-maintenance diner, but this was an incredibly frustrating experience and I probably won't be back despite its good reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

We attended Oyamel's to celebrate my fiancé' birthday. I specified in the reservation notes that it was his birthday and also expressed this to the hostess. The hostess very rudely informed me that it wasn't in the notes. I reiterate that it was his birthday and I would like to be seated in a nice location. We were seated at small table in the middle of the hustle and bustle. There was no acknowledgement of his birthday( no happy birthday dessert/song and to make matters worse the waitress spilled tequila on my dress. She was very apologetic. I was very disappointed in this visit as this is one my fiancé' s favorite restaurants in DC. We will not be back again.

Tags: Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Superb food!!! Outstanding service from Thomas our server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I am not sure what the rage is over this restaurant. It was fine, but nothing special. It is small plates so you'll order 2 pp typically. Food was fine, but nothing special. Service was fair at best. Place is busy and loud , so you don't want to do a business dinner there. We informed staff that our dinner was a birthday and they did nothing to recognize this. Busy , factory type atmosphere.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

As a Mexican it is nice to know there is an authentic Mexican restaurant in DC.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The Ceviche was amazingly tasty but very small portions for the price. It was so loud we could barely hear the person right beside us much less across from us. The server seemed annoyed, not sure why-we ordered a pitcher of margaritas, quacamole, and 6 dishes. She rarely appeared to check on us. Maybe I would recommend going here on a week night?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 16, 2017

What a lively and cheerful setting. Outstanding margaritas and guacamole and lots of choices on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food was excellent as always. New items on the menu. Service was not as excellent as it usually has been in the best, but it was still better than most restaurants in DC.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Authentic, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Love this place. Food is so inventive and delicious. Such care. Never disappointing. The best mezcal and tequila list I've ever seen. Don't miss one of the mezcal flights.

Servers are knowledgeable and personable - lots of fun, but very busy - which can be a problem. Despite that, Oyamel is an awesome experience. Go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Gave me aTitos nongluten drink and then found out they don't have Titos after I drank it. Not good for my belly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We come here often and always love it. This time it was just not as outstanding. The menu offered fewer kinds of margaritas, fewer specials, and the desserts were just ordinary, the variety and particularly the presentation just not up to standard they themselves have set.
It was still good, but not as good as it usually was. Hope it was a fluke.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Good service and good but they sat us at an awkward wal outside the service area and there were plenty of open two tips elsewhere in the restaurant.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Felt as if we were seated in the midst of a hyper, erratic, manic, baddream. The wait staff often breaking away to direct a misdirected staff as they bring chips ( tiny amount) with salsa..at one another as they were carting the random food endlessly our server was equally snippy - kinda short with us - he was equally snippy to the customers at the table next to us (we become friendly with them as we were practically touching. Oh and dont order a margarita, three sips and your done- this over priced cocktail is served in a 1950's style champagne glass- overpriced joke! We ordered beer (not very cold)never was asked if we would like another as our waiter was sprinting back and forth with food and wouldn't even stop long enough when he added dishes, darting away to snap at another staff delivering marginal tapa style single serving dish to another table.
We couldn't even hear our conversations because the ambience is mall like, cold, multi level and unimaginative. I've never seen it where everyone is forced to use their "out door voices", the clanking dishes and having to yell for a hour ...it was frankly exhausting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Delicious food. I am veg. and the options seemed a bit limited, but I ate many delicious things! The brussel sprouts were amazing. The chilaquiles were also very good (heavy, cheesey, filling). I didn't love the nopalitos salad--not that flavorful. But I'm not a huge nopales fan in general. The restaurant is towards the louder end so maybe not a great spot for that quiet, romantic evening...

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Delicious. A total bargain for lunch. I'd go back again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had enjoyed a lovely outdoor lunch at Oyamel back in 2014, so when we found ourselves in Washington DC again this fall, we decided to try dinner. The best way to experience Oyamel's food, we think, is to order several sharing plates. The ceviche was wonderful--sparkling and citrusy and very refreshing; the potatoes with mole sauce were actually just French fries with a cream and mole drizzle--not bad, but they were lukewarm and a bit on the greasy side. Hand crafted Margaritas are lovely; the mojito was overly acidic and made with a mint "foam" as opposed to fresh mint--would not recommend that. The chocolate rose dessert was absolutely amazing. All in all, a nice evening, but the noise level and crowdedness of Oyamel would probably turn off anyone wanting to have a conversation or romantic experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food is great. Service isn't good at all: slow and servers not at all in their best mood. It's the second time I have the same kind of experience. We'll refrain from returning too soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Delicious food in a fast, loud, beautiful restaurant. Get the salt air margarita...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Service was unfortunately slow and waiter was hard to find and flag down. Had to ask several times for an extra drink menu, hot sauce. Street corn was great so was Guacamole. Mushroom tacos and fish taco were subpar and lacked flavor. Tuna ceviche was good but nothing special. Good classic Marg. a generally pleasant experience was tainted by bad service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had a wonderful meal and our kids loved it. The desert was also delicious.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Haven't been here in about 7 years. Great food, great drinks. It is kind of loud, the tables are small and close together, the waiter could have been a little more helpful as far as menu recommendations and attentiveness, but it was pretty busy on a saturday evening.

Otherwise enjoyed my experience.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We have been fans of Oyamel since it opened some years ago in Arlington. Unfortunately this time around neither the food nor the service nor the ambiance were up to the standard we were used to. Extremely loud and slow and my favorite special for the month of September, chiles en nogada, were not available, bummer 😞.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

I always enjoy Oyamel - the food is delicious and not something I would make at home. The ceviche is outstanding. It is loud but you can ask for a quieter table in the back room if you want to be able to hear the people you came to be with.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

The food is delicious, but the restaurant itself is so noisy that people at a small table for four could not hear each other. It was impossible to have a meaningful conversation while dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 7, 2017

The food was excellent and our server maid some great recommendations. It was a bit loud.

Tags: Hot Spot, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Best. Margaritas. Ever. The salt air special margarita was off the hook! Great service also!! Great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 7, 2017

This is our go to anytime we have a reason to be near the Capital One Arena. Amazing food and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 5, 2017

My food arrived but nothing for my dinner date. The waiter explained that things get made when the chefs decide so there is no contolling it. Other than that and the unbearable level of noise, the food was tasty, when you got some.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Fantastic meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The food was absolutely phenomenal. Drinks too! The salsa they serve with the chips was the perfect blend of spice, not too runny or chunky. We had the tuna ceviche with the pecans which may have been the best I've ever had. Non-traditional, but it was the perfect amount of lime juice with a good crunch. We had several tacos including the chapulines, slow roasted beef, carnitas, goat and baja fish. Again, all our choices were phenomenal! We tried several micheladas and margaritas from the brunch menu. My favorite was the oyamel margarita with "salt air" and the michelada oscura made with negra modelo. We will definitely return!

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

From the spicy cocktail I ordered while I waited for my friend to arrive to the Tres Leches with pineapple for dessert, this brunch was a marvel of flavors and textures. My companion ordered the grasshopper and beef tongue tacos and loved them. We shared an order of potatoes and one of fresh fruit, which had a nice little bite of spice. My ceviche was perfect, and I'd order it again in a heartbeat. I'd like to see some more vegetarian options, but overall this was a fantastic meal.

Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic, Seasonal, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.