About Oyamel

401 7th Street N.W.
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Oyamel Cocina Mexicana combines Mexico’s rich regional culinary traditions with modern urban fare. Guests experience an array of antijitos—traditional Mexican snack or small plates—along with authentic tacos, ceviches and an impressive selection of cocktails and tequilas. This is like no Mexican food you have ever experienced. Under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés, Head Chef Omar Rodriguez takes traditional ingredients and techniques and elevates them to deliver dishes and drinks with exceptional creativity and refinement.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Thursday – Saturday: 11 AM – 2 AM
Sunday – Wednesday: 11 AM – midnight
Lunch menu available Mon. – Fri. from 11 AM – 3 PM
Brunch Sat. & Sun. 11 AM – 3 PM
Hora Feliz Mon. – Fri., 4 PM – 6 PM
Late Night Menu:
Thursday – Saturday, 11 PM – 2 AM
Sunday – Wednesday, 10 PM – midnight

Cross Street:
D Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 628-1005

Website:
http://www.oyamel.com/

Catering:
Catering on a whole new level; José Andrés Catering elevates catering and event planning to new heights in the Washington, DC area and beyond. Now you can experience the inspired creations of celebrated chef José Andrés at your own party or venue. Visit us for more information at www.joseandrescatering.com, or call us at (202) 628-1005.

Parking Details:
There are ample public lots in the Gallery Place/Chinatown/Penn Quarter area. Metered street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Archives/Navy Memorial/Penn Quarter on the yellow and green lines; Gallery Place/Chinatown on the red, yellow and green lines.

Executive Chef:
Jose Andres; Head Chef, Omar Rodriguez

Private Party Facilities:
Oyamel is the ideal venue for your next event. Our Butterfly Bar can accommodate groups of up to 70 guests. Oyamel also features a lovely private dining room that accommodates 50 guests. For large parties, full or partial buyouts of the restaurant (accommodating 250 guests) can be arranged.

Private Party Contact:
Jocelynne Tan: (202) 810-8284

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Oyamel is the ideal venue for your next event. Our Butterfly Bar can accommodate groups of up to 70 guests. Oyamel also features a lovely private dining room that accommodates 50 guests. For large parties, full or partial buyouts of the restaurant (accommodating 250 guests) can be arranged.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Oyamel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (136)
Fit for Foodies (119)
Creative Cuisine (119)
See All
Fun (89)
Good for a Date (84)
Modern Decor (81)
Special Occasion (77)
Authentic (76)
Casual (73)
Hot Spot (64)
Good for Groups (64)
Good for Birthdays (64)
Handcrafted Cocktails (63)
Spicy (58)
Great for Lunch (53)
Good Vegetarian Options (52)
Pre/post Theatre (52)
Happy Hour (48)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Bar Seating (46)
Vibrant Bar Scene (45)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Tasting Menu (32)
Great for Brunch (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
People Watching (27)
Healthy (22)
Business Meals (22)
Quick Bite (21)
Comfort Food (21)
Family Style (20)
Late-night Find (19)
Outstanding Value (18)
Local Ingredients (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Romantic (15)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Cozy (13)
Molecular Gastronomy (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Seasonal (9)
Vegan (8)
Private Room (6)
Organic (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Live Sports (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Scenic View (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
6223 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Service could be a lot better. One taco had wrong ingreditents

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

I went to Oyamel hoping for a delicious dinner. Sadly, the meal was the opposite. First, the noise level in the restaurant made for an atmosphere in which I felt as though I had to yell at my family to talk with them. Secondly, the service was inconsistent and unpleasant. Luckily, the manager was very nice and helpful when we complained because our drinks took 30 minutes to arrive. The food was average at best. Nothing we ate was anything noteworthy. There are many other better places in the District to try. My advice? Stick to the Washingtonian 100 Best List.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

Excellent food- recommend the tacos, and the Oyamel Margarita. Server was extremely knowledgeable and service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

This was my second trip to this place with a friend. The food was excellent again. I had some of my favorites from the last visit and tried some new dishes as well. Nice place!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We decided on this restaurant based on Alton Btowns suggestion. It was a nice early dinner for our day trip in DC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The restaurant was festive and very welcoming. We had a great family experience during our vacation. Everything was delicious and the service was very attentive.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Spicy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Friendly service and delicious food. This is a great place. I don't understand, though, why tapas restusrants, whose food is meant to be shared, don't serve their plates with serving spoons.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food and drinks were a bit pricey for the portions we received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Horrible service. Waited 40 minutes for a margarita. Waiter was unapologetic and rude. Had to ask 4 times for a fork after everyone ignored us. Bathroom was worse than a gas station. Manager came over and apologized but at that point the service had ruined the meal. Food was good but not worth the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

This time around the service and food weren't as good as previous times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

A touristy and unauthentic mexican-style restaurant. However, if you are touring the Smithsonian and surrounds it may be OK for appetizers. Very noisy. The food is the low point: over-priced, bland mexican style food made with top-shelf ingredients. The flavor profile is not in-sync with mexican street food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had a great dinner! We had a great selection of tapas items - with ahi tuna ceviche, a delicious hearts of palm salad, plantain fritters and a great selection of tacos - we had more than enough food. There was a very comprehensive allergic menu that really made eating at Oyamel a pleasure for my daughter who has some serious food restrictions. Don't forget to offer a margarita - I recommended he Oyamel - delicious!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good (not great) food, slow service and average drinks.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Loved the experience. I definitely recommend the tasting menu $55 to try an array of menu items including dessert. All dishes are so well thought out and flavorful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Fun, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Countless times been here. Will keep coming back as to any Jose Andres restaurant.

Tags: Spicy, Casual, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We often go to Oyamel before the theatre. It is always very crowded, and we usually end-up having to eat at the bar. There are two nice bars. This time, we made a reservation in advance, and sat in the dining room. The server wasn't good. He was rude (would not provide 2 salsas for the table) and very unaccommodating, and didn't listen to the requests (no ice in drink) and they don't have many vegetarian options. That being said, most of the bartenders have always been accommodating in the past when we sit at the bar. It's always very crowded pre-theatre, but I like the restaurant overall.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tapas, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was our first time dining at this restaurant. The food was outstanding and our server was fantastic! He gave great recommendations and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The chips were the best we've ever tasted!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Fun, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

server was inattentive and slow. For all of the hype this place gets, the food was basic and fairly unimpressive. Drinks were expensive and barely had a shots worth of alcohol. I would not recommend the food to anyone, particularly because of the price. I expected so much more flavor but was sadly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

For perspective, we live I DC and took guests from Dallas for a late lunch. The following day, our guests returned for another visit! We had a delightful time as did our guests.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Food is delicious but often too salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

If you like tapas or just want a happy hour with good food, this is a great place. However, if you really want a full plate meal, then it is not for you as the portions tend to be small. Our server combined 2 people's orders that were similar without telling us, and I thought we were missing an order. We figured this out too late. It's also very loud.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was delicious and creative! Service by waitress was a bit brusk, but the sous crew were pleasant.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Bad food. Not worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Love this place! The food and ambiance...

Outstanding!!!! I'm from out of town and go there as much as I can when I'm in DC!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Casual, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, People Watching, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Amazing Valentine's day menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

First impressions of a restaurant are important to me, and Oyamel definitely gets an A+.

Even though the restaurant was packed, the hostess greeted me warmly, and then another hostess, seeing that I was on crutches, immediately took a bag that I was carrying and guided me through the restaurant ensuring that I made it safely to the table.

Our waitress Charnish could not have been more welcoming and attentive--she was well-versed with each menu item, and served us promptly even though there was a party of twelve right next to us.

All five of us raved about the chips and homemade guacamole, and our individual dishes were so unique and flavorful. I greatly appreciated the vegetarian options, especially the cactus paddles which I had never tasted before.

It was my son's birthday and they served him an incredible dessert with a candle-he said it was his best birthday ever, and he is now 28.

It was quite a special night and I hope to return to Oyamel very soon.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great variety of food on the menu. Some of the food was interesting and tasty like the cactus paddle and pork belly taco. Loved the chips. Great service and nice decor.

Tags: Tapas, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Oyamel has small plates based on Mexican cuisine. The ingredients are authentic and beautifully prepared. Their Caesar Salad is the best I have found in the US, and the chicken soup is absolutely delicious. Our server was helpful and friendly, and the timing for food delivery to the table was excellent. Ambience is lively, but it's possible to talk at the table without shouting.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I always love Oyamel, though I wish it didn't take 20 minutes to get a cocktail every single time. And sometimes it feels quite cramped, like the tables are too close together. The food is wonderful and it's a place I like to bring friends from out of town. It is absolutely possible to get a truly wonderful meal for not a lot of money, too!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Delicious and great care for our celiac. Love these guys!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I have to say that we were disappointed with our selections. My husband described the sauce for the chicken taco as being akin to plain spaghetti sauce, and my braised beef taco was tougher than I expected. Also, the guacamole wasn't worth the price.

That said, we LOVED the complimentary chips and salsa, as well as the camerones dish -- enough that we'd go back for those. And the service was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

enjoyed the meals i had.....will go back,.........only fault i found was that i had the guava juice with no ice but i should have easily ordered water.

the guava juice was extremely watered down.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food as expected but a bit too noisy making it hard to enjoy normal conversation or hear the wait staff. Tables are a bit too close. Perhaps they're trying to pack in too many people.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Dinner at Oyamel is always a treat--from the delicious margaritas to the scrumptious quacomole to the queso fundido along with numerous fish and meat options. Service for us could have been better as some of the entrees were lagging behind for our group of 5 and one of our members was still waiting for the second of her two entrees after the rest of us were finished.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Tapas, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife and I loved Oyamel's food. The small place approach allowed us to try several difference dishes and we enjoyed them all. Our favorite was the ceviche citricos (I may be misspelling that). While expensive, it's not stupid-expensive, and I'm glad we went. We will absolutely be returning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Spicy, Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food and drink were extremely delicious and the wait staff was very attentive without being over bearing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great service with interesting food.

Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Loved my early dinner at Oyamel! Took my parents out and we were surprised to find it was still restaurant week. The tasting menu was excellent and unique and the margarita of the day had smoked honey which was amazing! Will certainly come back to try the regular menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This was me and my husbands first time at this restaurant which we visited for his birthday. The food, which was tapas style, was pretty delicious! I'm not a tapas fan but these plates were absolutely amazing! The flavor for each were phenomenal to say the least. We will definitely be visiting again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun, Casual, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food, service, and ambience. I recommend the beef brisket tacos, camarones (spicy shrimp), and flan with ice cream -- oh so good!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Very fun evening! Great food...we even sampled the grasshopper tacos.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

My friend I I went to Oyamel and enjoyed their Restaurant week menu. The food was very good. The service only average as we frequently had to tack down our waitress. We wanted the margarita on the tasting menu but they were all out. Not sure how that happens. The classic margarita was great so I guess nothing to complain about. Just an observation. Another great Jose Andres small plate restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Everything was excellent. Juan did a great job. On of our four folks was there for the first time and got to try the grasshopper taco--not sure he'd do so again, but he did enjoy it. RW menu offered lots of great choices, inexpensive but very filling. Chips and table side prepared guacamole could easily be among the best things in life.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Fantastic guacamole and margaritas, really enjoyed the ceviche too.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Always a great dining experience at Oyamel! Never disappoints...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We had a six-course Restaurant Week menu. Everything we picked was wonderful. The waiter likened the dishes to tapas but each one seemed almost twice the size of tapas (e.g., at Jose Andres' other restaurant, Jaleo, just up the block). Result: we were happily (but very) stuffed by the end of the meal.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great table side guacamole - simple and spicy. Tuna ceviche was a little rich but chicken tamal made up for it. Fun menu and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The staff made our group feel right at home and the food was served with flair and great flavor!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The attentive service makes this restaurant stand out from the many other DC places offering great food. The atmosphere is colorful, provocative, enchanting. Everyone eating there was happy.

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I was organizing a business lunch, and I wanted to make sure that we go someplace that will impress our visitor as being both unusual and high-quality. As always, Oyamel, one of my favorite restaurants, did not disappoint. It's really one-of-a-kind, at least around this area, and I don't think there was a single item any of us ordered that we did not like. The decor is great, and the service was nice too. I will be sure to return again and again, as long as I can find convenient excuses to eat there!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Tapas, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.