HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 15 times today

Ox Bar de Tapas

4.6
1582 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Spanish
Top Tags:
  • Tapas (6)
  • Fit for Foodies (5)
  • Good for a Date (5)
At Ox Bar de Tapas we take our food seriously. Focused on tapas made to share we find our inspiration from the waters of San Sebastian to the bustling streets of Madrid. Experience what Ox has to offer and find yourself a little bit of Spain in Calgary. ​We take pride in using the best local ingredients, simply prepared to be enjoyed with good friends and conversations. At Ox bar de Tapas we are dedicated to the food and dining habits of Spain. We are influenced by the flavours and traditional dishes of the many regions in Spain. What we most enjoy about this culturally diverse country is the WAY they eat, focused on community, friendship and taking the time for each other at the table. Ox Bar de Tapas puts the experience of dinning as its priority through quality of service and product.
**Please note that the high top and counter tables are communal**
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(403) 457-1432
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
Cross street: Between 4th Street & 5th Street SW
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
What 1582 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6
  based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.8
service
4.5
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
kristamergs 
5.0
Dined 4 days ago

The service was excellent! The food was delicious. The drinks were top notch. We stayed for hours and had a super romantic date! Can’t wait to go back. Worth the drive outta suburbia!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Calgary)
5.0
Dined 5 days ago

Had a great dinner with my Friend. The waitress was one of the best waitresses I’ve had. Down to earth, attentive and genuinely nice. Food was also great. This is a unique place to get tapas.

Report
Helpful
Genevieve 
5.0
Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious and the service was prompt and friendly. :)

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner 
5.0
Dined on January 1, 2018

Love this place! The food is so good and the service feels like you are in a high class restaurant. I found the restaurant to be extremely cold.

Report
Helpful
DDS686 (Edmonton)
5.0
Dined on December 28, 2017

Great tapas, good portion sizes and 50% off bottles of wine on wed!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Calgary)
5.0
Dined on March 11, 2017

We came to celebrate my partners birthday and to enjoy The Big Taste and Ox,as always did not dissapoint! Food was great,so was the service and even though it was a very cold evening it was well worth it.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Calgary)
3.0
Dined on March 10, 2017

Great service, but not great food. We had the big taste menu at $35. Lots of food, but it's easy to fill up patrons with pan con tomate (bread w. tomatoes), patatas bravas (potatoes), and croquettes. The flank steak and slices of serrano ham made up a very small portion relative to the carbs. Yes it's big taste, but it would have been a better dining experience if there was a more prominent main dish.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Calgary)
5.0
Dined on March 10, 2017

Staff were great and friendly. Love coming here great place for meeting friends.

Report
Helpful
jjanchan (Montreal)
4.0
Dined on March 9, 2017

The food and service here were excellent. It being a tapas restaurant, I found that you ended up spending a lot to feel content.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Calgary)
4.0
Dined on March 8, 2017

We went to Ox and Angela during the Big Taste festival and their family-style dinner menu was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
159

Hours, Transportation, and Details

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Between 4th Street & 5th Street SW
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
Price range
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(403) 457-1432
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Andrew Moore
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
WE LOVE A GOOD FIESTA! An extraordinary event—large or small, decadent or relaxed—can be custom-crafted and tailored to suit you and your guests needs.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Maia@oxandangela.com: (855) 984-8996