Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

About Ouisie's Table

Known by generations for her hospitality, proprietress Elouise Adams Jones, a.k.a. Ouisie, serves an eclectic collection of Southern foods with an excellent wine list to match. High ceilings and fans in the main dining room it evoke the ambiance of a Texas manor house. The adjacent dining porch overlooking the patio and garden, as well as Cooper’s Wine Bin, provide additional dining and entertaining areas. The daily fare encompasses traditional offerings like her well-loved pimento cheese, the shrimp and grits, and the popular Gulf Coast oysters to the favorite Tuesday special Ouisie’s award winning chicken fried steak with corn pudding. A fine plate of grilled Prime beef tenderloin or a brace of quail stuffed with super lump crab meat with Cognac glaze are good examples of the daily specials one might find on the blackboard.
Lunch and dinner daily, brunch on weekends.

3939 San Felipe Road
Houston, TX 77027
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10am - 3:00pm
'Little Bites': Daily: 2:30pm - 5:30pm.

Cross Street:
Drexel and Willowick

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 528-2264

Website:
http://www.ouisiestable.com/

Entertainment:
Piano: Thursday starting at 6:30pm
Sunday Brunch starting at 11:30am.

Catering:
Customized to fit each guests needs. Please contact our Event Coordinator for more details:(713) 528-2264

Parking Details:
Self parking available as well.

Public Transit:
Very close to Westheimer metro bus lines.

Executive Chef:
Elouise Jones / Martin Bolanos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ouisie's Table offers different size private rooms available for special occasions. See Private Parties Facilities for room seating.

Open Christmas Eve. Closed Christmas Day and New Year's Day.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Ouisie's Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (50)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Great for Lunch (45)
See All
Good for a Date (45)
Business Meals (42)
Comfort Food (38)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Romantic (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Great for Brunch (27)
Good for Groups (26)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Cozy (24)
Authentic (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Casual (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Fun (15)
People Watching (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Seasonal (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Live Music (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Spicy (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
2406 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Simply a nice comfortable, reasonably quiet place with good food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Pleasant atmosphere, we could talk, took car e of us even tho late for reservation
Interesting food as usual

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Service was very slow and 2 out of the 4 entrees was wrong... very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Ouisand it was quite pleasant.ie's offers plain, fresh food with minimal preparation or condiments. If you like bland dishes, this is the place for you. Service was eager and attentive. The atmosphere is lovely. There was a piano player during brunch,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great restaurant overall can be a little loud but the atmosphere is beautiful

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 15, 2017

A favorite lunch spot for meeting friends. Noise level allows for conversation, which is welcome in these days of noisy hectic restaurants. Varied and interesting menu choices and daily specials.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 14, 2017

I took my sister here for her Birthday. We had a wonderful lunch. Everything was delicious!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 14, 2017

I really am always happy with Ouisie's. From the front of the house to the waitstaff to the food and cocktails!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 8, 2017

I always have a nice time at Ouisie's. From the front of the house to the waitstaff, along with goof food and cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great brunch, could have a conversation, piano music was nice

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We are grateful to Ouisie's for always participating in Houston Restaurant Weeks, especially after Harvey, as the Food Bank will need every penny now. Ouisie's is always good, special & fun.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Ousie's delivers consistently good food and service. It is a lovely restaurant located in River Oaks.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 31, 2017

My husband and I visited Ouisie's Table for our anniversary a few days ago. This was just shy of a week after Harvey hit.
I love the ambience and the fact that you can hold a conversation without shouting or straining to hear. Although Restaurant Weeks were still in effect, we ordered from the regular menu.
We tend not to order appetizers because usually an entree is plenty for us; if we're still hungry, we'd rather have dessert than an appetizer, anyway!
I like that you can order wine flights at Ouisie's. We each got a white wine flight and liked the wines served: a sauvignon blanc, a chablis, and a blend.
I got the sea bass, which came with risotto and broccolini. It was delicious, with the fish being cooked just right.
My husband got the sesame crusted scallops, and it was delicious (he let me taste) but not a lot of food for a man. The scallops came with mashed butternut squash and asparagus.
When I made the reservation, I let them know it was our anniversary, and when the desserts came out, they had "happy anniversary" written on the plates in chocolate. My husband ordered the chocolate creme brulee and I got warm peach cobbler with ice cream.
It was lovely. The food and ambience were both excellent and the prices are reasonable. We had dined at Ouisie's before, when we lived closer. We moved farther away, and Ouisie's kind of fell off our radar. It was nice to get reacquainted and we'll be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Have to say my noise rating was based on the fact that it was immediately after Harvey hit and was for a late lunch. Very few brave souls out.

Tags: Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great food and attentive/cheerful service, but prosecco is supposed to have some bubbles. Somehow their new bottle had none. They replaced it with champagne.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 30, 2017

A great menu and outstanding service. The room is warm and welcoming. A true River Oaks gem!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Restaurant was loud and had many large parties, so our little table of four got what must have been the most junior of waiters, who still needs a lot of guidance to pull off his job. He asked for our dinner orders before he even took drink orders. The food was delivered to the table by someone else, and the waiter never bothered to ask if all was okay. The kitchen had done a lovely job. The food was absolutely delicious! My husband was seated against the wall to my left. Waiter reached across me from my right side to refill his drink as I reached for my martini glass. Almost ended up wearing the martini home. Disappointed with the service. Did not anticipate the high noise volume that came with all of the large parties laughing and talking with one another. Made it difficult for us to hear, and since my husband's hearing aids had problems filtering the noise, he was unable to participate in conversation. Ouisie's is one of our favorite places, and we believe this is not at all normal. Maybe it was a younger restaurant week crowd, or maybe the waiter just needs more practice,

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 23, 2017

This restaurant is a GEM. It's ambiance is great, the food is delicious and the staff are extremely delightful. This was my second time dining here, with more to come...

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

My dining experience on Tuesday, at Ouisie's Table, was exceptional! We were celebrating the birthday of a high school classmate.
(Class of 1958)
Our lunch selections were varied, and each member of our 7-member party, was extremely pleased with their choice from the menu. Our server was "T". I will definitely request to be seated at in his section, when I dine there in the future. Jesse was a great server server last Saturday, when I had lunch there.
It was overall, a wonderful dining experience. I will return soon. Thank you very much for your high quality of service and food.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Had a great time and the food was fantastic as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Went for restaurant weeks...hadn't been in years...food was horrible...brought out my main course before I had my salad ...took the main course back and (probably put under a heat lamp)..salad was ok...small amount limp spinach , not enough dressing...but the worst is when then they serve my peppercorn steak was soooo well done ( I ordered med rare)...finally after I found my server...I had to get up from my table to find him!! he offered to replace my steak as I has ordered it....horrible, soooo tuff and I don't know how to describe it...
will never go back
I told it was my friends BD....never acknowledged it !!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This place has really fallen in quality of service in recent years. I remember the heydays when it was the place to go for a great meal with great service. Today's brunch was a new low for my dining experience at Ousie's Table. I had reservations for 12:15pm and then was simply ignored and made to wait while guests with reservations at 12:30pm were served. I place the blame squarely on restaurant manager, Edoardo Amali, who seemed as rude as he was incompetent. I will unfortunately not be eating here again. There are simply too many well run dining options in Houston these days to give this place another chance to ruin an occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food here is always excellent and the service can't be beat.
It's an all around great experience, especially if you are looking for brunch or lunch with someone and would like it to be special.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Ousie's has a magical atmosphere that begins with a warm welcome from staff upon entry. The main dining room is open plan with a casual elegance. It feels grand, yet personal---like you've just entered a special friend's home. Service by experienced staff is excellent, menu choices diverse, & quality of food exceptional! We thoroughly enjoyed our special evening!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We go to Ousie's often. We wanted to eat there during Houston's Restaurant Week. They have a good selection of items on that menu, and generous portions. We like they are proud of their participation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2017

A wonderful experience for many many years. Will always come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Food, service, and ambience was great. However, AC on the porch was much too cold - one patron at the next table asked to be reseated, stating the air flow felt like a hair dryer except it was cold!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Excellent lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 16, 2017

An old restaurant friend for many years..It just keeps getting better and better. The cheese biscuits are a Houston classic...Had a great lunch with 92 year old friend for her birthday!
It is her favorite place..

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food as always good - but getting seated 45mins late for a 7.30 reservation disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I chose the short run and it was absolutely incredible. The evening was terrific. Everything I ate there was delicious. My husband got the Buffalo which was different. He enjoyed the choice of getting something new. Desserts were great as well the chocolate cage was rich and moist a d the tres letches was wonderful. Everything was Devine and the atmosphere was beautiful and laid back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We've been dining here for over a decade but it's been a few years since the last time we had dinner here. We were surprised at how the food quality has declined. There's too much high quality competition in Houston to offer mediocre food. We hope they turn things around because we love everything else about the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food is decent but prepare yourself for the worst service ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The "Damn Eggplant" may be one of the best things that I have eaten. It's so delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The restaurant was noisy during my visit.....probably bc it was Houston Restaurant Weeks

Food and service great as always

Will be back at a quieter time

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 9, 2017

My fiancé and I came during Restaurant week and the food was awesome although I have one complaint. I ordered the prime rib which was very delicious although it came out a little lukewarm and not hot. Other than that the crab cakes were delicious and the desserts were amazing. The manager even sent over a complimentary glass of champagne to us for celebrating our anniversary which was very good! Would definitely come back and would recommend to others!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Really enjoyed the meal. Service was excellent . Would definitely return for dinner or lunch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 8, 2017

My steak was overcooked, but the rest of the meal was excellent. I was having lunch with a friend and was pleased that we could converse easily. Our waiter was excellent .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 7, 2017

We were not aware of the Restaurant Week menu and our waiter did not mention it.
I ordered the shrimp curry and was served a hodgepodge plate that did not have much to do with curry.
Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Generally a stable choice for good food and service but I think the staff was overwhelmed by a physician meeting that took over the main dining room. Waiter disappeared. Also, food was over salted for all 3 diners in my party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.