About Ouisie's Table

3939 San Felipe Road
Houston, TX 77027
View Larger Map

Known by generations for her hospitality, proprietress Elouise Adams Jones, a.k.a. Ouisie, serves an eclectic collection of Southern foods with an excellent wine list to match. High ceilings and fans in the main dining room it evoke the ambiance of a Texas manor house. The adjacent dining porch overlooking the patio and garden, as well as Cooper’s Wine Bin, provide additional dining and entertaining areas. The daily fare encompasses traditional offerings like her well-loved pimento cheese, the shrimp and grits, and the popular Gulf Coast oysters to the favorite Tuesday special Ouisie’s award winning chicken fried steak with corn pudding. A fine plate of grilled Prime beef tenderloin or a brace of quail stuffed with super lump crab meat with Cognac glaze are good examples of the daily specials one might find on the blackboard.
Lunch and dinner daily, brunch on weekends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10am - 3:00pm
'Little Bites': Daily: 2:30pm - 5:30pm.

Cross Street:
Drexel and Willowick

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 528-2264

Website:
http://www.ouisiestable.com/

Entertainment:
Piano: Thursday starting at 6:30pm
Sunday Brunch starting at 11:30am.

Catering:
Customized to fit each guests needs. Please contact our Event Coordinator for more details:(713) 528-2264

Parking Details:
Self parking available as well.

Public Transit:
Very close to Westheimer metro bus lines.

Executive Chef:
Elouise Jones / Martin Bolanos

Private Party Facilities:
Customized to fit each events needs. Ouisie's Table offers different size private rooms available for parties. Entire restaurant may be booked. 350 total indoor seating, 180 total outdoor seating. Main Dining Room,135 seated; Lucy's Porch,90 seated; Bears’ Garden, 150 seated; Alsey's Nest, 50 seated

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: (713) 528-2264

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ouisie's Table offers different size private rooms available for special occasions. See Private Parties Facilities for room seating.

Open Christmas Eve. Closed Christmas Day and New Year's Day.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Ouisie's Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Comfort Food (41)
See All
Good for a Date (40)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Great for Lunch (32)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Great for Brunch (30)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Good for Groups (27)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Cozy (25)
Romantic (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Business Meals (22)
Authentic (19)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Casual (14)
Fun (13)
Private Room (12)
Fireplace (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Historic (11)
Seasonal (9)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
People Watching (5)
Live Music (5)
Healthy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Family Style (3)
Spicy (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2198 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

We have visited twice and both times had a great experience. Phenomenal service, fun atmosphere, great food with generous servings.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Great6 experience with outstanding service. Food was very good traditional Southern cooking. Presentation was exceptional.

Tags: Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

I had not been in a few years and was not impressed with the food or service. Still a beautiful restaurant and great location but unfortunately that is all we enjoyed during our dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Sad to say unlike prior times, the food (seafood crepes) were below par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 20, 2017

This place is a hidden gem. The food, service and ambiance is spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very good dining experience, staff was attentive and professional, was not over priced, food was good, not quite my style, but well done. Quaint setting, which I enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good place for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We sat outside

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great as usual. Telling me how many characers to write IS NOT great

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We ended up getting the worst waiter in the world. He kept asking every 45 minutes if we liked a refill on our iced tea instead of simply filling it up, if you see the glass is empty it means you ought to fill it regardless of whether I drink it or not, it was not a glass of fine wine that I was drinking in which you were charging me by the glass.

It seemed as if he went on a vacation to Mexico after taking our order because we didn't see him till about an hour later and we had to ask other waiters to help us. Our food took over an hour to prepare, and when we asked what was going on the host informed us that our food order had been given to another table and he would give us a complimentary desert. We didn't argue but at most high-end restaurants after debacle such as that they would Comp someone's whole meal, but we weren't looking for a free meal so we didn't ask. Also the steak was suppose to be medium well and half of it was medium well and the other half medium-rare. But the waiter never knew because after dropping off our food it seemed like he had gone off to another vacation, probably to Italy this time around. And at the end it took him even 15 minutes to get our card charged so we could leave.

Overall terrible experience and will definitely not be returning. Next time we will be going to other fine dining establishments such as Steak 48 where we have had an amazing experience every time we went no matter how busy they were. This place used to be great, but after this experience we will rarely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This restaurant is extremely consistent in the quality of the food and service. I have been here many times and have always enjoyed it. I appreciate the fact that we were seated immediately (on Valentines Day) and with different dining rooms, you can find a relatively quiet corner for a romantic date or you can be in a more lively setting with music. One of my favorite places in town and would recommend it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Seating in "garden room" best for quite conversation and nice view of the outdoor area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place for a Valentine dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The management and wait staff were amazing and took excellent care of us. You have people waiting on you hand and foot. The food was worth every dollar. The prices are very reasonable and for the experience and service the prices should have been more.

I will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We visited for Valentine's Day and were very impressed with the comfortable elegance, excellent food, and reasonable price given the experience. I would describe the place as having a traditional southern ambiance and style of service and food preparation. Having visited once before for a business dinner, I've noticed that the clientele is well-dressed (business casual and up) and well-behaved, interested more in conversation than partying. It's a great place to take a date or loved one for a relaxed conversation, great food, and attentive service. It's on our list to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants for special occasions. The chef does a great job of preparing unique gourmet dishes. The food is fresh and the presentation is elegant. We always have great service. They have a nice wine list. They quite often have specials that you can find out about by adding your name to their email list.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Elegant dining, attentive service and excellent food add to a business meeting in ways that are appreciated by all who attend.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great Sunday Brunch. The ease of reservations is a plus. Exceptional customer service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a great dinner at Ouisie's. The food was fantastic. Highlights: short rib and the bacon-wrapped filet. Our waiter didn't rush us at all and we enjoyed the leisurely pace of the meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Possibly the best 4 course meal I've had in a long time. Red pepper soup was just spicy enough, had great texture and perfect temperature. My small house salad was fresh and satisfied my desire for vegetables. Dover sole was delicate over a bed of potato and a sprinkling of grilled vegetables. Chocolate cake was at the maximum. When you experience that in a most beautiful setting and add service that was efficient but not all encompassing, the night was one that will be remembered for a long time. Note: Earlier in the day I had a good session weight lifting which makes me think that the body was more than ready for this experience. "I know that there is nothing better for men than to be happy and do good while they live. That every man may eat and drink, and find satisfaction in all his toil-this is the gift of God." Ecclesiastes 3:12, 13. NIV

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We've been to the restaurant several times and have been very pleased. The service on this visit was excellent. I had some problems with the food, something that really surprised me. I had a vegetable paella that was so peppered I couldn't finish it; a shame because the tastes otherwise seemed very good.

Perhaps better next time

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Although the waiter was very attentive in telling us we would have our meal soon. We waited 40 min for our food and we had not ordered a first course. I wish we had been told there was a rehearsal dinner. You should warn people. And tables of 20 or more young women take the noise level high , they should have their own room. Your reviews on yelp are terrible, almost didn't come but have loved your restaurant. The food was wonderful as always!

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were seated between two large, noisy parties in a tiny table for 2 that rocked. We were

bumped by waiters trying to get by. Awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My girlfriend and I came here for a middle of the week date after hearing some positive experiences from family. While the food and drinks were outstanding, the service was subpar. I know I don't fit the mold for Ouisie's usual clientele, but our waiter certainly made it a point to emphasize it; or at least it felt like it. While the gentleman was very attentive and cordial with our neighboring table, his interactions with us were few and his greetings sounded forced and disingenuous. We will not be returning here as Houston offers too many options in fine dining where good service and food are delivered on a consistent basis.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Terribly slow service. My order was incomplete.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Service was great. Limited interruption from the wait staff. Good atmosphere to have discussions

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Ordered ahi tuna salad

Tuna was very fishy. Could not eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food and service, affordable with great and flavored food. Will definitely visit again

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We love Ouisie's Table! We had the Sunday Brunch and it is a 10 in overall value, ambiance, taste, and service. Although the restaurant was filled on the Super Bowl weekend with Falcon and Patriot fans, it was not noisy. The food was unique, tasty, and well presented. The wait staff were very good. I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Live Music, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had the Crab and tomato appetizer - excellent! As always the Crab Eggs Benedict is my favorite! Great place to eat just before going to the Super Bowl!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My wife and I came to the restaurant with friends while in town for the Super Bowl. We truly enjoyed the service, cocktails, food and atmosphere. I will tell all of my colleagues at Birmingham-Southern College to visit the restaurant whenever they are in the Houston area.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing food. High class. Perfect service. A tad pricy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The bread is unique and scrumptious. The Chilean sea bass was butter. Absolutely delicious as was the risotto

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We've been going to Ouisie's since the days of Sunset Blvd. It has always been excellent. Never disappointed. But this evening was spectacular. Everything.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Service was southern best. Caring, pleasant waiter who paid attention to details.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Southern Hospitality at its finest. This is a go-to spot for me for an important business meeting. Good location between the Galleria and downtown.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Excellent service with good food. Tables are well placed to allow private discussion.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Habe loved Ouisie's for years! It's a go-to place for fabulous food and terrific, personal

service. The salads and spud are staples.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Always fabulous! Always lovely! Absolutely love Ouisie's! One of the best spots for brunch or lunch in Houston!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food is excellent and reasonably priced. We love the small, boutique feel of the restaurant. Not a chain!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Waiter was great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I LOVE OUISIE'S! However, the day we went....I was looking for a quiet "catch-up" lunch with an old friend whom I had not seen for many years. I particularly was looking for the quiet ambiance I usually experience at Ouisie's. Unfortunately, I chose to change our seating to the 'ROOM OVERLOOKING THE PATIO". My mistake! A large lunch group (part y) was happening and we had to move to just hear each other!! I had specifically chosen Ouisie's because its noise level has been quieter than most Galleria-Uptown area places. EVERYTHING else was fabulous....food, service, ambiance, etc. I learned not to make changes to the hostess's choice!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Waitstaff and managers were all very friendly. I had ordered flowers for my wife's birthday and they had them waiting at the table. Good menu variety. My wife loved her cocktail (strawberry basil martini) and dessert (tres leches). Great place to have a conversation when dining. The beer menu is lacking. We'll be back to try the brunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Good food, liked the crusted yellow fin as well as the snapper. Good apps but beer list was limited . Unique vibe but moving the statue of the dog to different tables was kind of weird.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Food and ambience was very nice. Server was not very pleasant, even argued about a mistake she made with our coffee's.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Always a favorite for me for any meal when in Houston.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I've been to Ouisies many times. We went after church this past Sunday. Seemed short staffed. Party on the patio. After seating, took 10 minutes to get water. Waiter finally showed up a couple minutes later. He seemed rushed. Food was good but what I ordered, The seafood crepes were pretty bland. Wont order again. Overall a good place, just seemed rushed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very nice dinner at the Ouisie's bar as the restaurant was busy and we had arrived about 30 minutes ahead of our reservation. Fine food and capable, friendly service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Usually very good This time was an exception because our waiter frequently disappeared. Others had to hailed to go find him.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We had not been to Ouisies for awhile and this visit reminded us why that was so. Every time we have been there the waiter pulls a bait and switch on the wine. I don't know if this is baked into their training or just a series of coincidences but nevertheless it will keep us from going there again. On this particular evening we were offered a "specially priced" bottole of wine for $30 which we went again and ordered. After the bottle had been opened we noticed that the same wine on the menu was $77. When we asked to confirm the "special" price with the waiter he then said that no, it was in fact a $77 bottle. We complained to the manager and asked for another waiter as he had lost our trust at that point. The manager ended up giving us the bottle for $30 but it left a very sour taste in our mouths. In our experience Ouisies has a history of this practice but they won't pull it again on us. By the way, the dining room was half empty on a Thursday night. Maybe others are catching on to this as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.