Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

About Ouisie's Table

Known by generations for her hospitality, proprietress Elouise Adams Jones, a.k.a. Ouisie, serves an eclectic collection of Southern foods with an excellent wine list to match. High ceilings and fans in the main dining room it evoke the ambiance of a Texas manor house. The adjacent dining porch overlooking the patio and garden, as well as Cooper’s Wine Bin, provide additional dining and entertaining areas. The daily fare encompasses traditional offerings like her well-loved pimento cheese, the shrimp and grits, and the popular Gulf Coast oysters to the favorite Tuesday special Ouisie’s award winning chicken fried steak with corn pudding. A fine plate of grilled Prime beef tenderloin or a brace of quail stuffed with super lump crab meat with Cognac glaze are good examples of the daily specials one might find on the blackboard.
Lunch and dinner daily, brunch on weekends.

3939 San Felipe Road
Houston, TX 77027
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10am - 3:00pm
'Little Bites': Daily: 2:30pm - 5:30pm.

Cross Street:
Drexel and Willowick

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 528-2264

Website:
http://www.ouisiestable.com/

Entertainment:
Piano: Thursday starting at 6:30pm
Sunday Brunch starting at 11:30am.

Catering:
Customized to fit each guests needs. Please contact our Event Coordinator for more details:(713) 528-2264

Parking Details:
Self parking available as well.

Public Transit:
Very close to Westheimer metro bus lines.

Executive Chef:
Elouise Jones / Martin Bolanos

Private Party Facilities:
Customized to fit each events needs. Ouisie's Table offers different size private rooms available for parties. Entire restaurant may be booked. 350 total indoor seating, 180 total outdoor seating. Main Dining Room,135 seated; Lucy's Porch,90 seated; Bears’ Garden, 150 seated; Alsey's Nest, 50 seated

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: (713) 528-2264

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ouisie's Table offers different size private rooms available for special occasions. See Private Parties Facilities for room seating.

Open Christmas Eve. Closed Christmas Day and New Year's Day.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Ouisie's Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (64)
Comfort Food (53)
Good for a Date (51)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Great for Brunch (45)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Great for Lunch (44)
Good for Groups (39)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Business Meals (38)
Romantic (35)
Cozy (32)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Sunday Lunch (30)
Authentic (28)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Casual (19)
Fun (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Private Room (15)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Historic (12)
Healthy (11)
Seasonal (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Family Style (9)
People Watching (8)
Fireplace (8)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Live Music (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
2286 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 21 hours ago

Excellent place for business lunch. The ambience is very upscale and nice. Great for conversations.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

Not sure what was going on Saturday night, but there were several large (10+ ppl) tables around us...which may have impacted both the service and the food (usually of great quality). We had three different waiters who asked redundant questions and necessitated a thorough review of the check when it came. Food arrived cold. Drinks were requested numerous times. Not the usual MO at this fine restaurant...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

I had heard and read about this restaurant for years and was looking forward to lunch. the restaurant was extremely loud. I could not carry on a conversation with the person across the table. The food was passable but unremarkable. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. The only saving grace was that the service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Had not been to Ouisie's Table for awhile. The food was good. I got the Pork Osso Bucco which was good; the portion size was enough for two people. My friend had the steak; was very tender and good.
Our waiter was very knowledgeable and gave excellent service. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Nice evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Anniversary of restaurant resulted in very attractive menu pricing. Wine was reasonably priced also. Service was perfect mix of attentive but not helicoptering.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Close to the office, nice atmosphere and outdoor dining is great when the weather is nice. Waitstaff very polite and helpful. Food was excellent.

I would highly recommend this place for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Chicken tortilla soup, Meatloaf, and Crusted rainbow trout

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Good and friendly service

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

understanding the day that it was (Mothers Day) I didn't expect too much and this was my first time being there, I being the friend accompaning with wisam. I was shocked when our waiter picked up a lemon that fell on the floor and then placed it back on our table. the steak was good the mashed yams was ok , so so is the overall rating

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food as usual and impeccable service. My 12-yo son also enjoyed the food. Had crabcake and seafood salad as appetizers, the lamb chop and osso bucco was also tasty. End with Tirramisu for dessert.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Private Room, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Beautiful restaurant! On the pricey side, friendly service. Would take my wife there for a nice date night.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day had a special menu. I personally did not like the selections and was not at all crazy about the taste of the food ( I tried all 3 of the meals ordered at our table). I went for the enchiladas...wasn't happy about the Mother's Day menu. The enchiladas are normally good. My daughter's corn meal pancakes were good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had Mother's Day lunch there and I've met girlfriends there for lunch before too. The decor is lovely, the service staff is very professional and the food is very good. I always feel treated when we dine at Ouisie's.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was mother's day so a bit crowded but the service was very lacking at times as if we were almost forgotten when waiting to order, or waiting to get the check. Our food was not good and came out room temperature. Waiter was very kind and brought out two new plates that were warmer but still not great. Flavor was lacking on my dish. This used to be a highly respected place in Houston but I doubt I will go back. It disappointed on many levels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother's Day brunch. It was perfect for my mother-in-law who is in her 80's. The decor is lovely and traditional. We enjoyed the food, although on a super busy day it is a bit mass produced. Still I have been there on many other occasions and always enjoy it. I think it is a lovely place for a lunch or dinner with girl friends or mother/daughter.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I cant submit a rating of the restaurant without writing a 50 character review. Here is 91.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I'm assuming because it was so many different things/events going on they could not remember all of the orders. I was very disappointed when they did not have my daughters College Graduation Cake that I ordered prior to the event. Previously I asked if I could I bring in my own Cake that I ordered for her graduation and they told me for a party of 20 they would charge me $60 to serve it but if I ordered a Cake from them it would be $75-$80 for a party of 20 so of course I ordered the cake with them but unfortunately they did not have my cake that I ordered for our celebration brunch. I also was told one thing when confirming my reservation but once I arrived at the restaurant I was told something totally different and then I asked one of the servers the same things he replied something totally different than the manager and the person who confirmed my reservation. They seem to be making up things as they see fit. I was very disappointed in what was supposed to be a Grand Celebration for my Daughter's College Graduation. I must say the food was great but the experience was very disappointing!!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Pretty disappointed. Did not live up to the reviews. Food was good, not great and certainly not to the price points.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Absurd noise level. Almost impossible to converse. Request for change of table denied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 10, 2017

As always, Ouisie's goes the extra mile to make the evening a spectacular event.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great food - unique menu. Neat historical restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 10, 2017

One of our favorite dinner spots in the River Oaks area! The service there is especially friendly, and also very attentive in non-intrusive ways! A gem for me and my wife!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 8, 2017

It was delicious and everything was fresh!! Never felt rushed or pushed and it's definitely a neighborhood treasure!!

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Had an early dinner on Sunday to celebrate birthday. Service and food were very good. Would definitely go there again. Our server was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My wife and I had Sunday brunch and we were both disappointed in our dishes. She had the brunch special which was lump crab meat over two poached eggs over asparagus. There was a small amount of lump crab and her dish was tasteless. I ordered the chicken fried steak and it was dry and tough. The mashed potatoes were luke warm at best and my meal was tasteless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The restaurant was fairly noisey due to a wedding and large crowd. The seafood crepes were more "burrito" in nature rather than the thinness of a crepe. My scallops were slightly undercooked. The wait staff was polite but the kitchen was running behind. I will try it again but was a little disappointed.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Loved Ouisies table and will be back! The food was delicious, the wait staff was attentive and the ambience was relaxing! We went in a group (8 of us) and all loved our food. I had forgotten it was prom season so when we went (Friday at 7:30pm), we were seated we were next to a giant table of prom-goers. Needless to say, they were loud and rambunctious. While we were happy they were having a great time, we had to yell to talk to the person next to us. The wait staff handled this wonderfully without us having to say a word. They apologized and quickly got us seated at a table outside where we could chat easily without having to yell!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Excellent overall experience. Gave it 4 versus 5 stars since I get irritated when the only parking option appeared to be valet, which I find generally annoying, especially when there is ample space.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The food was delicious!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

My salmon dish was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Originally made a birthday brunch reservation and had to call the venue to change it a few times and they were very accommodating. Once there our waiter was great and made sure our glasses were full and food was as ordered since we had a large party. As it was my birthday they were kind to offer me a complimentary tres leches cake. Amazing!! This venue exceeded my expectations and will I definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Loved the atmosphere, the food and service were A+, nice brunch menu, the Eggs Benedict was awesome, as was my sisters Seafood Crepes, the unlimited Mimosas is the way to go. Service was superb, this place deserves more than 5 stars, will absolutely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always enjoy. Our place to take friends that enjoy good fresh, organic food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Another wonderful evening at Ousie's. We've been fans for 30 years. Still, the relaxed atmosphere, artfully prepared food and attentive service never get old. My husband had the buffalo and I had the lamb chops. Both were outstanding and followed very lovely starters (stilton salad for me and butternut squash soup for my husband). We also tried a new a really nice wine. From starters to desert, we were quite pleased with the quality for price as well. We try new places often, but Ousie's continues to be one of our regular favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The service was great, but the food just wasn't good. Had carrot/ginger soup and salad. Soup was bitter, and the salad had so much vingerette dressing, I choked. Others at the table committed that their food was so,so.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

A perfect birthday ;lunch for a friend! We sat on the patio and it was so nice. Service was good & the food was delicious! It was nice to return, for some reason we stopped coming here but will put it back on our top list!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 25, 2017

First time here in several years. It was outstanding and is in my repeat list!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 24, 2017

My mother was in town and we ate lunch there with a friend. We all had different salads and they were all delicious. My mom had the Crabmeat Cobb, our friend had the Crabmeat Caeser, and I had the Shrimp and Avocado. Both Crabmeat salads were LOADED with Crabmeat... they didn't skimp. Mine was delicious but I have to say I was jealous of the amount of Crabmeat they had. They served 3 different muffins prior to the meal. All were delicious and a nice touch. This was my time to eat at Quissie's and I would definitely recommend It. I will definitely return with friends... and although I enjoyed my shrimp and avocado salad, I can't wait to get one with Crabmeat!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

While the food and service were great; I was disappointed that they didn't do anything even though the reservation said it was for a birthday. We had to ask to see dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Ouisies will always be on our list of options. Great all around! Daryl Sugar Land

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Casual, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.