Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Otto Enoteca Pizzeria

Modeled after an Italian train station, Mario Batali and Joe Bastianich's OTTO is located in the historic One Fifth Avenue building. Serving classic Italian pizzas and pastas, a large selection of house-cured meats, Italian and local cheeses, artisanal gelato, and boasting a 750+ bottle all-Italian wine list, OTTO has become a beloved New York classic in the heart of Greenwich Village for locals and visitors alike.

1 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Daily: 11:30am - 12:00am

Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 995-9559

Website:
http://www.ottopizzeria.com/

Catering:
Have Otto cater your next office party or home event! Our selections of marinated vegetables, house-cured meats, imported cheeses, pizza, pasta, and gelati are sure to please a wide range of palates. Please contact us for details.

Parking Details:
A public lot is located directly across the street on 8th Street.

Public Transit:
4, 5, 6, N, R, Q, & W trains to 14th Street/Union Square, and the B, D, F, V, A, C, & E trains to West 4th Street.

Executive Chef:
Mario Batali

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
OTTO hosts wine classes every Saturday and Sunday at 2pm in the enoteca, our standing bar tables in the front of the restaurant. Classes are led by one of our very knowledgeable and enthusiastic wine team members.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

A beloved New York classic in the heart of Greenwich Village, OTTO is the ideal venue for a pizza party lunch, a private wine class, or a family-style dinner awash with Italian wine. OTTO offers group dining packages for parties of 12-65 guests, and can accomodate up to 200 with a restaurant buyout.

Otto Enoteca Pizzeria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (71)
Casual (64)
Good for Groups (63)
See All
Fit for Foodies (50)
Fun (42)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Kid-friendly (39)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Good for a Date (34)
Bar Seating (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Great for Lunch (30)
Comfort Food (29)
Hot Spot (28)
Authentic (27)
Family Style (24)
Good Vegetarian Options (23)
Special Occasion (22)
People Watching (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Cozy (17)
Quick Bite (15)
Wood Oven (14)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Romantic (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Tapas (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Business Meals (8)
Healthy (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great Beer (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
4958 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Always consistently great food. Have eaten here many times and never had a bad meal. This last time was a late dinner on a Saturday night and the noise level was awful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Came with a group of 11 for a birthday party--service was fantastic, as was the food. Very attentive. Great for sharing.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food, great atmosphere, great service and extremely inexpensive for the overall experience. One of the best Italian restaurants I have been too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Disaster! Probably one of the most annoying restaurants I have been to on the city! Food is good, but the rushed service, ambience, music etc makes you want to punch something! It's a fast food place pretending to be a restaurant- Too many good places in the city to be wasting time here

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Otto is a perfect place! The food was amazing, the wine list, encyclopedic, and everyone who works here is at once exceptionally knowledgable, helpful, and kind. We all had a truly wonderful time!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Had a party of 10 and we had no issues

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Very kid friendly and our waitress was kind and accommodating. I would definitely recommend to others.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great staff!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Healthy, People Watching, Fun, Kid-friendly, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was very mediocre! Highly disappointed. I've had Italian food all over the city, Miami, LA, and Italy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Love the place. Best during post-Lunch period when you can actually have a conversation.
Super loud at night on the weekends, unable to have a true discussion with anyone, even makes ordering with the wait-people difficult.
Still, LOVE the place. It feels (overall) legendary and predictable.

I wish for a few things tho'...
-breadsticks and bread without asking (and breadsticks not in paper pouch),
-a little brighter in the evenings (too dark for a restaurant) perhaps to reflect the current Season (Spring!)
-more intimate ambiance (candles?)
-perhaps a tiny tasting of something new that can circulate around the restaurant and allow guests to try...
-

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great staff and really authentic regional Italian cuisine. Amazing wine and house selections are wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Pizza was terrrible, and not at all in line with the Mario Batalli line of restaurants and food.

Service was TERRIBLE. We constantly had to ask for sometime to come take care of us.

Overpriced. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

It was a quiet lunch day in a big restaurant so they were doing some noisy repair work. Other than that the food, approach, location etc all make this a great choice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Otto's never disappoints. The food is delicious and the wine selections are always just what you hoped they'd be.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Excellent food and pleasant (if somewhat slow) service. BUT the room is far, far too noisy, which for a business meal is annoying. I had specifically asked for a quiet table when I reserved and got... the opposite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I've dined at Otto several times, and this time around, it didn't really live up to prior experiences. After waiting 20 minutes for our table which was reserved through Open Table, we opted to sit up front on the high tables because we were hungry. The waiter could care less that we were there. Didn't really add anything to the experience. And the food was good, but also didn't seem to live up to the high quality I've experienced in the past.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a great experience here for lunch. The service was impeccable: the staff were friendly, prompt, professional, and courteous. We had an elementary school aged child with us and the waitress made a point of helping him (and us) navigate the menu for things he might like. The pizzas, as we've come to expect from the Batali-Bastianich empire, were all excellent. Staff tended to the table regularly, cheerfully refilling waters, bread, teas, etc...

It is difficult to find restaurants of this calibre that also remain family friendly. Kudos to the team at Otto for giving families a chance to have an excellent meal in a place where they feel welcomed, not just tolerated.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Bread thrown on the table in packages you could but at the grocery store. Pasta was not fully cooked, sent back, came back cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (London)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was very good. However it was a real shame that the service was poor and marked by extreme condescension. The noise level was high enough that I couldn't hear the person sitting across the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This is one of my New York standbys. Great for special occasions, but the world class food and drink and atmosphere make any trip to Otto a special occasion unto itself.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 3, 2017

It was so loud
It took forever to get our food
Albeit we had kids with us one of which was
Jetlagged
Place cd be so great but kind of a mess

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Everything is amazing with one exception. The desk to check in and get seated is crowded, chaotic and lacking in anything that could be called "hospitality". I love everything else so much, that I endure the process of getting seated. Such a simple thing to remedy - I hope they do, before my patience runs out and I ditch the restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

This is one of Mario Batali's restaurants. It is casual but good. Prices are moderate. Food is prepared very well and there are some innovative dishes. There is a large choice of foods and one can order either a full meal or a light bite. Staff is helpful and friendly without being intrusive.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I take my out of town guests here - it's never a disappointment!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Good food, good service, not a great ambiance (too much red) and music is a little too loud. But still eat there regularly.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

As usual, the food at Otto was delicious , and the wine list is outstanding . I was not thrilled with the dressing on my salad, and the waitress brought me another one with just their excellent olive oil and some lemon slices, perfect! I was especially impressed with the care and attention that the staff gave to some very elderly patrons seated near us, their kindness alone made me want to visit again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

This is my favorite neighborhood restaurant. Anytime I meet a friend for dinner or drinks I try and lure them downtown so I can go here. The food is delicious, fresh and reasonable priced. The wait staff is great. They also do amazing delivery, the food arrives quickly and always hot and fresh. Can't say enough about this place. It is loud though, so I f you're looking for quiet conversation or a very romantic date night, this is probably not the place.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

It was a great place for delicious affordable meal
Very busy and crowded so would not go to for quiet conversation or romantic meal
Perfect for families
Pizza a little disappointing

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Notable Wine List, Family Style, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

very beautiful ambient.
high level raw materials.
good service, excellent wine list.
polpette (meatball) and some pasta (agnolotti) very good, some others pasta (tagliatelle and pasta alla norma) good as souce but pasta was not well coocked (too hard).
pizza disappointig.
by the way, we were 7 people coming from Italy, so maybe our rating should be affordable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

It was a bit crowded. Too many tables in the available space. The serving team was great and experienced and worked very well together. Service was excellent and the food was delicious. We just felt a little cramped for space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Went here with hubby for my birthday. Such a yummy meal, service was great and thoughtful. We had bolognese pasta and pizza of the day both of which were delicious. The chef does an excellent job of mixing terrific flavors. For dessert we had three scoops of gelato (olive oil, creme freche and salty peanut - divine! Olive oil is out of this world) and the banana coppeto which was also delicious and light. A perfect ending to the meal. The restaurant gets noisy although we had a 515 reservation and were seated in the back of the restaurant. Most of the noise comes. from the front bar section which was lively and looked like fun.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Birthday celebration, great time

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Pizza and gelato were outstanding! Felt like I was back in Rome! However the tables in the middle of the dining room are too close together and my husband who is a fire inspector was not happy that they were in the way of exit out of the dining room.
The wait staff were friendly and attentive despite the crowd of a Saturday afternoon.

Thanks to Mr Batali for a great lunch for my Daughter's 19th Birthday!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food. We had the pizza and the gelato - both were excellent. Large restaurant that can accommodate large groups

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food. Small portions and expensive. Loved the food but for the price the salads and other dishes should be bigger. Pizzas were good and a more reasonable value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Terrible service

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

My mom and I went here for dinner before a show and loved it. The pizza was delicious and the server was friendly and helpful. I'd definitely recommend this to friends!

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Healthy, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun, Quick Bite, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The service was really great. We have two small kids and they knew just how to help us out. Everything tasted great and the timing was good for a busy place. We've been several times and plan to head back when we return to town.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Food was OK, not great. However, the service was really bad. We waited an hour to get our pizzas. And there was almost nobody in the restaurant. This is way too long and unacceptable. And i am pretty sure we got our order because i reminded them. It had been completely forgotten. They made no excuse of it. I will definitely never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2017

HORRIBLE! DONT EVER COME HERE

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.