Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Otto Enoteca Pizzeria

Modeled after an Italian train station, Mario Batali and Joe Bastianich's OTTO is located in the historic One Fifth Avenue building. Serving classic Italian pizzas and pastas, a large selection of house-cured meats, Italian and local cheeses, artisanal gelato, and boasting a 750+ bottle all-Italian wine list, OTTO has become a beloved New York classic in the heart of Greenwich Village for locals and visitors alike.

1 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Daily: 11:30am - 12:00am

Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 995-9559

Website:
http://www.ottopizzeria.com/

Catering:
Have Otto cater your next office party or home event! Our selections of marinated vegetables, house-cured meats, imported cheeses, pizza, pasta, and gelati are sure to please a wide range of palates. Please contact us for details.

Parking Details:
A public lot is located directly across the street on 8th Street.

Public Transit:
4, 5, 6, N, R, Q, & W trains to 14th Street/Union Square, and the B, D, F, V, A, C, & E trains to West 4th Street.

Executive Chef:
Mario Batali

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
OTTO hosts wine classes every Saturday and Sunday at 2pm in the enoteca, our standing bar tables in the front of the restaurant. Classes are led by one of our very knowledgeable and enthusiastic wine team members.

Private Dining

A beloved New York classic in the heart of Greenwich Village, OTTO is the ideal venue for a pizza party lunch, a private wine class, or a family-style dinner awash with Italian wine. OTTO offers group dining packages for parties of 12-65 guests, and can accomodate up to 200 with a restaurant buyout.

Otto Enoteca Pizzeria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (66)
Notable Wine List (58)
Good for Groups (52)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Good for a Date (48)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Fun (40)
Comfort Food (39)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Authentic (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Great for Lunch (26)
Bar Seating (26)
Hot Spot (25)
Special Occasion (25)
Good Vegetarian Options (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Business Meals (16)
Late-night Find (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Quick Bite (14)
Romantic (14)
Cozy (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
People Watching (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Seasonal (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Tapas (6)
Disabled Access (4)
Organic (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
5154 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Weekend in NY with my 15y old son.

A foody from Montreal Canada that is very disappointed coming from a restaurant owned by 2 renowed chef... I could have selected any of the other 9000+ restaurants in Manhatan and I would have probably been happier

The only possitive note was the service

I would reccomend that Joe and Mario revist their restaurant a few time a year and i’m sure they would realize that the food is not up to the level it should be. Or maybe they are catching so much tourist and making so much $$ that they do not care about the quality of food...

More review like this one will maybe make them rethink the menu and quality

PS: In the same trip I visited Momosan Ramen & Sake from Chef Morimoto and it was fantastic for a bout the same price range..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Very hot very noisy food ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

This is the 3rd time that I have eaten here when the air conditioning did not work.
The food was adaquate, the service, very good, but because it was so warm we did not enjoy.
We will not be returning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Very busy restaurant. We felt neglected by our server, but the area captain/manager was on point, seeming always present, and very helpful. Food was excellent, and came out quickly. Great wine list, and helpful somm. Overall a very good and high quality experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2017

It had been a while since my last visit; I was pleased to see that the food and service are as great as ever. That olive oil gelato is amazing!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great place. Great way to try a lot of delicious things in one sitting! Don't skip over the amazing vegetables and prosciutto!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The pastas with tomatoes sauce are terrible ! They taste like tomato can sauce ! It is not italian at all they are sweet
Tooo noisy !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food and wine list were good for a casual afternoon spot. Its a bit to kid friendly for me. Kids crawling around on the floor and walking around with their pizza and of course the crying.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Otto never fails to hit the spot. For thin crust pizza, daily special of eggplant parmesan. And to watch my friend taste the olive oil caponatta for the first time - and the festival of tastes on our palettes!! Amazing - always.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Family friendly, rather noisy and boisterous. Food was very good, tasty with lots of good tasting options. Service was very attentive.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Considering there's such a big focus on pizza on the menu it was very average and disappointing. The crust was dry and burnt.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Clam pizza major disappointment. Flavorless.
Will go back to try something else.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 4, 2017

one of my all time favorite restaurants; never disappoints!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 4, 2017

I am used to NY bad service but this was exceptionally bad. We were pretty ignored. The place wasn't that busy so no real excuse except not enough servers or just bad servers. The food was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Excellent food, from pizza to pasta and lasagna. I wouldn't typically order lasagna, but the waiter recommended it and I am glad he did. Nice selection of Italian wines and a sommelier to assist in making your selection. All in all a solid family restaurant in a pretty cool location.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We had a great time at Otto saturday evening. The food is authentic and unfussy and a friendly sommelier helped me find the wine I wanted. We have dined at several 'Mario' restaurants and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fun, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I haven't been down to the village in awhile and decided to try this place. The service was incredible. Very attentive staff. The food was also very good. If you like homemade thin crust pizza this is the place for you. The desserts were out of this world. I can't wait to go back again and try more things off the menu.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Restaurant was cold and noisy. Food was okay for the price but better places in NY for Italian. Come for the wine & cheese plate (truffle honey...enough said)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 29, 2017

This was a huge disappointment to me. Especially as this place was recommended as a must go for Italian. Went and was, well, disappointed, food was just OK, nothing to write home about, pizza was not good, any NY pizza would have been better. Pasta was simple and not worthy of its price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Went for lunch on a weekday. Great food, drinks, and ambience at a reasonable price. I ate fresh pasta with goat cheese and fennel pollen, house olives, and had cocktail (Bitter wifey). Music was pleasant but not intrusive and tables felt private. Good place to enjoy a meal and conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Absolutely delicious! Authentic and fresh with phenomenal seasonal specialties. Reminded me of the actual meals I ate in Italy; not just American Italian, but actual authentic Italian. Would definitely go back. A little pricey for alcohol but worth the money for food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Bad choice for food only, although very good wine list... service was excellent, just disappointed about overall food...

Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

The whole staff was amazing! And food was incredible----Burratta especially!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Noisy! Not energetic, just plain noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

The food was very good as was the service. But very loud and that's the only downfall

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Delicious food from appetizers to desserts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 23, 2017

It's REALLY loud, but it's good - and the prices are reasonable for NYC. Our waitress was outstanding. She made some great food and wine recommendations, and all 6 of us enjoyed our meals immensely. We'll be back for sure!

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We were excited to find a Mario Bitaly restaurant near our show. The ambiance was great and the service attentive, but the food was bland. We tried both the pizza and pasta and neither were great. While we still enjoyed our evening, we expected better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Some of the best pizza in New York City! Highly recommend!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Service was impeccable -- food was outstanding. Overall it was a great experience and I will definitely be returning. The staff is "above" top-notch!!!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I went with a friend from Rome and we found both the food and the service exceptional. He also found an excellent wine. We had a wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

The loudest restaurant we've been to in years. We tried yelling to one another and then just ate quickly and left. Very very unbearable noise level

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We were unable to complete our meal at Otto on Saturday night due to the overwhelming noise factor in the back room where we were seated. The room has a serious noise challenge and should not be used until the problem can be fixed. Apparently, the restaurant recently tried to install a partition wall with doors to help control the noise, but it seems as if it has had the opposite effect and has made the room unbearable. I could not talk to my wife who was sitting next to me without shouting, and it was entirely impossible to speak to other members of our party across the table. The restaurant was full and unable to move our table, so we ended up having to vacate before ordering in order to try to salvage a night out together, which was extremely disruptive and disappointing. I had made this reservation nearly a month ago for a special evening with family in from out of town. Everyone was excited to be going to a Mario Batali restaurant. What a disappointment. In addition, the rest of the room was taken up by a large party (25+) and they had arranged the tables for this party generously across the entire room, leaving our table of 9 crammed in the corner. In addition to not being able to talk or hear anyone, 1/2 of our party had their chair directly up against a wall and were unable to move around at all, very uncomfortable. When I tried to discuss the problems with the host, she was non-committal, noting that the noise factor was a known problem with the restaurant, but that there was nothing that she could do to help the situation. It came off as more than a little bit rude for a customer that was clearly struggling with the arrangements that the establishment had provided. The manager could only offer to seat us an hour later after the large party had finished their dinner and vacated, this was not possible for us either. What a disappointing experience, I can't recommend this restaurant to anyone under the current situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Otto has been one of my favorites for years. This past time the only issue was the rude host... A problem so many nyc restaurants have

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2017

This was an excellent experience until a huge group awaiting their table was permitted to enter the bar completely drowning out any possibility for casual conversation for those of us in the immediate vicinity. The manager should never have permitted such a large, loud, exuberant number of people to to overtake this relatively small space. It was an unacceptable and thoughtless decision and definitely affected our experience at Otto Enoteca.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Outstanding Tapas menu. Great wine list. Service was rather unenthusiastic but polite. Great value, would certainly return.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Was disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Our server Morgan was helpful and had a great sense of humor.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Slow, inattentive service. Our server must have been very busy because it took forever to get a food order and a dessert order. Server came back quite late in the meal to check on us. He only asked about another round after we had been out of drinks for at least 10 minutes and then he forgot to bring one of my friend's beers so it literally took like 20 minutes before he got his second beer. No apology or manager table touch.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Quality seems to have gone down hill. Cancelled next reservation, will try alternates. I wonder if Mario had popped in for a taste recently?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.