About Otto Enoteca Pizzeria

Modeled after an Italian train station, Mario Batali and Joe Bastianich's OTTO is located on 8th Street, in the historic One Fifth Avenue building. Serving classic Italian pizzas and pastas, a large selection of house-cured meats, Italian and local cheeses, Artisanal Gelato, and boasting a 750+ all-Italian wine list, OTTO has become a destination for New York diners as well as a neighborhood hot spot.

1 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Daily: 11:30am - 12:00am

Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 995-9559

Website:
http://www.ottopizzeria.com/

Catering:
Have Otto cater your next office party or home event! Our selections of marinated vegetables, house-cured meats, imported cheeses, pizza, pasta, and gelati are sure to please a wide range of palates. Please contact us for details.

Parking Details:
A public lot is located directly across the street on 8th Street.

Public Transit:
4, 5, 6, N, R, Q, & W trains to 14th Street/Union Square, and the B, D, F, V, A, C, & E trains to West 4th Street.

Executive Chef:
Mario Batali

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
OTTO hosts wine classes every Saturday and Sunday at 2pm in the enoteca, our standing bar tables in the front of the restaurant. Classes are led by one of our very knowledgeable and enthusiastic wine team members.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

A beloved New York classic in the heart of Greenwich Village, OTTO is the ideal venue for a pizza party lunch, a private wine class, or a family-style dinner awash with Italian wine. OTTO offers group dining packages for parties of 12-65 guests, and can accomodate up to 200 with a restaurant buyout.

Otto Enoteca Pizzeria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (57)
Notable Wine List (56)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
See All
Good for Groups (45)
Good for a Date (42)
Fun (39)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Kid-friendly (33)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Comfort Food (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Authentic (30)
Bar Seating (28)
Great for Lunch (28)
Hot Spot (27)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Special Occasion (24)
Family Style (22)
Outstanding Value (22)
Cozy (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Business Meals (15)
People Watching (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Wood Oven (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Romantic (10)
Quick Bite (9)
Tapas (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Seasonal (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
4840 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food is consistently good. Kids were ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

The food is consistently good. Kids were happy with the choices. The gelato was fabulous

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great weekend lunch, with creative and d ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Great weekend lunch, with creative and delicious options (including some great vegetarian choices). Service was excellent. Otto was crowded with many families for weekend lunch, so a bit noisy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our original visit was many years ago, b ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Our original visit was many years ago, but we remembered a cozy evening with great food. Saturday night's visit was jam packed and LOUD. The music was too chub-like for my taste. Lots of families around, but the atmosphere was not relaxing or enjoyable. Service was leisurely and portions were small. The $25 Meatballs were the special of the day. Not so special. The Gelato is always spectacular! Glad to see the restaurant is successful but it has lost its charm for us.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Always wonderful.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Always wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was fine

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

It was fine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Otto offers fantastic food for a very re ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Otto offers fantastic food for a very reasonable price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Table was crammed in with others in a na ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Table was crammed in with others in a narrow space that felt like a corridor on the way to the main restaurant. Not a good position. And place was exceedingly noisy due to excitability of guests around us - guess that's a peril of going on a Saturday night. Food was excellent as always though.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was excellent. All the details ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was excellent. All the details were perfect both as far as food and drinks were concerned. The ambiance could be improved, it's s not as friendly and warm as a real enoteca should be

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Otto is our favorite restaurant to visit ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Otto is our favorite restaurant to visit in NYC. Food is always delicious and so reasonable. This visit didn't dissapoint. We were seated right on time and service was great as usual.

Tags: , Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Repeat customer, but the service was so ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Repeat customer, but the service was so poor that we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

My high expectations for a Mario Batali ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My high expectations for a Mario Batali restaurant that fell completely flat. Menu was very confusing and hard to understand. Lasagna was not an option on the Saturday menu. Bread for table tasted okay but was a horrible presentation. It was only one piece that was pre-cut into 2 slices (for a table of 4 people) and was wrapped in a piece of paper! No butter, no olive oil, nothing!!! We had to ask them to bring that. Wine menu was way too long and needs to be cut back to top 50 best sellers. Beer menu sucked and was very limited, like 4-5 options, none of which I was familiar with. That being said, the Nursia brand was decent but expensive ($25 a both that served 2). Lastly, pizza was mediocre at best. This place is horrible and over-priced! I would never go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Everything was so delicious and it was e ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was so delicious and it was even more special as we met Mario Batali himself at the bar!!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a party of 5 with one child - ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great for a party of 5 with one child - most tables on a Saturday at noon had children, which was great. Food was, as always, delicious.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Super delicious. Not too large of plates ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Super delicious. Not too large of plates so didn't feel too stuffed. We had the spaghetti carbonara and it was so incredibly creamy and tasty. The kale and sausage pizza was small and thin crust. Def recommend the desserts!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very good food, but mediocre at best se ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Very good food, but mediocre at best service, from the hostess who couldn't be bothered to smile or greet our party, to the waiter, whose primary goal from the outset seemed to be to get us out as quickly as possible. So many excellent Italian dining options in NYC--I'd skip this one.

Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Service was good, the space is great, an ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Service was good, the space is great, and the amount of wines on the list is truly impressive (and overwhelming). But the pasta tasted like it was off the shelf and the sauce lacked taste.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Otto's is an enduring favorite because t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Otto's is an enduring favorite because the food is consistently excellent and priced affordably (not cheaply). The major complaint is noise. Better to sit in the ante-room than in the main room where it is really loud.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Yum. It was just as good as ever. We h ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Yum. It was just as good as ever. We had fun and can't wait to go back soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Always reliably delicious I frequent Ott ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always reliably delicious I frequent Otto as much as my schedule permits.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Family Style, People Watching, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The vegetable offerings are uniformly ex ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The vegetable offerings are uniformly excellent---big flavors, nice portions, great choices. The mushroom/taleggio pizza was absolutely delicious. Great thin crust, perfectly seasoned mushrooms and rich taleggio cheese. The pasta special with black truffles was perfect.

By the glass wines were well chosen and presented.

Noisy, yes, but festive.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hay ghgghhvbvfgu fyhb ghvft fyhvg huffy ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Hay ghgghhvbvfgu fyhb ghvft fyhvg huffy and the other two are the

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

It was the first time for our niece and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was the first time for our niece and husband...they loved Otto...as we always do...relaxing, good food, and a new Nebbiolo...perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Been to Otto countless times and have ne ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Been to Otto countless times and have never had a bad experience until this last time. Our main course took an hour to arrive and waiters on 3 occasions brought us another table's food, convincing us they just forgot to put in our order. When the pizzas did arrive they were undercooked and dripping in sauce. The pasta dish we ordered for our 4 year old came still another 20 minutes later and tasted like the eggplant was "off" and couldn't be eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Very cramped - and I'm not sure why it w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Very cramped - and I'm not sure why it was so busy. The food was average and it wasn't amazing value. The wine list was impressive though. Olives were not particularly nice. The staff were nice - it just took a while to get served because they would have to do a lap to ensure that they got to all their covers fairly.

The pepperoni on the pizza was overcooked and dough wasn't great.

Pasta dishes were tiny. Of the three "fresh" pasta options, the goats cheese was eaten up in 60 seconds. More importantly if this was one of three pasta options that were fresh - that means the others weren't??? I could do this at home.

Don't think I would go again - but maybe I missed something.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Service was not wonderful. Asked for mor ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Service was not wonderful. Asked for more bread they only brought bread sticks. Asked for a soda and it took two times to ask. Asked for decaf coffee service person brought regular and then waited around with the sugar in his hand for the waiter to ask him what was ordered. And it was a very quiet evening at the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Perfect place to bring out of town guest ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Perfect place to bring out of town guests. Great value and vibrant atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

The place was absolutely packed for a Sa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The place was absolutely packed for a Saturday night, but it made the atmosphere fun. The waitress was very attentive for it being so busy and the place being so big. She was knowledgeable of the menu and very personable. Food was above average-didn't blow me away, but for the price it was a great value. I would definitely go back and recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Our waiter was very nice; the wine was g ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our waiter was very nice; the wine was good; aside from the scratched-up tables that cheapened the vibe, the decor was cosy and attractive. Unfortunately the food fell short. Pasta was intermittently uncooked, pizza was lukewarm, sauce lacked punch, base was brittle. Also very small portions for pasta in particular; you'd really want two courses here to feel satisfied. It wasn't "bad" food but for the foodie image it projects, and in a city saturated with excellent pizza and pasta at various price points, it's not somewhere I'll be disposed to return to. I'd recommend it if you're in the neighbourhood and want somewhere cosy to sit down, and you're more interested in a good glass of wine than the food that comes with it. If you're in it for the pizza, probably don't bother.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Appetizers were absolutely delicious. Ma ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Appetizers were absolutely delicious. Main meal pasta was good but nothing out of the ordinary. Expected a bit more. Desert (tiramisu) was very disappointing with soggy bread and topped with a weird orange fruit that did not blend well. Service was excellent. Very loud and chilly where our table was. Bar area seemed very nice and trendy. Overall happy to have tried it. Prices were very reasonable.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

The food at Otto is amazing and an incre ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food at Otto is amazing and an incredible value. This was the first visit where the server was not as attentive/helpful as past visits. He was disinterested in our table and seemed annoyed at two questions we had.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

I thought that the food was reasonably p ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I thought that the food was reasonably priced for what we got and I really liked the verdure that we ordered but I found the pasta a bit uninteresting and very rich. I would go back again but it will not be part of my regular restaurant rotation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Very lively, attractive setting. Extensi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Very lively, attractive setting. Extensive wine list (with very good attention from the sommelier). Many vegetarian options. We made a shared meal of appetizers and pizzas. The appetizers (roasted cauliflower and roasted Brussels sprouts) were tasty (though surprisingly, and somewhat disappointingly, served cold). The pizzas were the big disappointment: more like flat bread "pizza," not resembling any kind of Italian pizza crust with toppings not that weren't well-crafted. If I have the occasion to go again (and I'm not saying I wouldn't; it's a convenient and reasonably priced place to meet friends) I'll try the pasta. They get points for the extensive wine list, vegetarian options, attractive setting, and attentive sommelier.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We love Patricio!! And his oil combinat ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We love Patricio!! And his oil combination :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious fresh pasta and pizza plus ama ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Delicious fresh pasta and pizza plus amazing seasonal daily specials. The changing list of bruscetta is unbeatable! While all the pizzas are top notch check out their daily special or ask the server for their favorite and go with something you might not necessarily try because Otto will do it right!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Otto, but we had to wait a very l ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I love Otto, but we had to wait a very long time for our reservation - close to an hour. However, the staff was really kind and gave us free appetizers. Still, a bit of a downer given we were there to celebrate.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Always a great time. Fun Italian wine li ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Always a great time. Fun Italian wine list. Great pizza and delicious pastas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, location, atmosphere, and ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great service, location, atmosphere, and food! A must visit when in the city!

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband had a black truffle pizza for ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2017

My husband had a black truffle pizza for $40 that came with totally rancid pancetta. He did not want say anything since it was a business dinner initiated by him but after tasting it, I had to tell the waiter. Result: nothing! No apology, no make-good, and we had to pay the full price. Incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Dining experience got couple 3 star good ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Dining experience got couple 3 star good reviews only because the bottom of my glass of water literally broke apart and spilled water all over me when i picked it up for a sip. wished they would have proactively offered a discount or complimentary something for the incident just out of courtesy. i did not make a scene of it or anything but sometimes its just the gesture that goes a long way. Outside of that little mishap, food was simple, well cooked, and very tasty so no complaints there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great food. Amazing service

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great food. Amazing service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.