About Ostra

1 Charles St. South
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

A Contemporary Mediterranean Restaurant featuring both innovative & classic preparations of the finest seafood available globally. The dining room at Ostra evokes a sense of style and sophistication in a comfortable and inviting setting. Ostra also offers a fine bar and lounge area featuring live piano entertainment. Ostra's private dining room accommodates up to 42 seated and 70 for a cocktail reception.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:30pm -10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm-9:30pm
Bar/Lounge: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-11:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
Stuart Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 421-1200

Website:
http://ostraboston.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano music seven nights a week.

Parking Details:
We offer Valet Parking beginning at 5:00pm for $21.00 per car. Valet is located at the front entrance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mitchell Randall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our private dining room at Ostra comfortably seats up to 42 guests and 75 for a reception. We also offer private buyouts of the restaurant for up to 150 guests.

Ostra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (69)
Good for a Date (59)
Fit for Foodies (55)
See All
Modern Decor (53)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Business Meals (39)
Romantic (36)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Notable Wine List (33)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Local Ingredients (28)
Bar Seating (25)
Worth the Drive (20)
Open Kitchen (20)
Hot Spot (16)
People Watching (15)
Fun (14)
Healthy (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Authentic (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Seasonal (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Live Music (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Private Room (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Cozy (3)
Casual (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Waterfront (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1054 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Meh. Go if you like to give your money a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Meh. Go if you like to give your money away. Not that special. Pretentious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Unique experience in that the meal cont ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Unique experience in that the meal continued to get better with both us liking our entrees . Nice presentation, ok service. I never like asking for the check but our waitress seemed to get lost at other tables. My researched showed what I thought was a very pricey wine list, so study it before going.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing food. Amongst the best seafood I ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food. Amongst the best seafood I've eaten. Was overtly fast to ask for drinks (we sat down <30s before they asked), but took a long while before the food order was taken. Table clearers were aggressive, twice tried to remove plates before we were done (I had picked up the last slice of bread in anticipation of buttering it; the clearer started clearing the table and took the butter before I got to it and had to ask for it back, and was finishing a side and the asked could they clear it even though there was still food on the plate and I had just put down the fork a second ago).

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

The food was delicious. With interesting ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious. With interesting plates like the tuna carpaccio, would be great for the food runner to explain what all the colorful components on the plate are. Was disappointed by the water service. "Still or sparkling" was offered, and though I ordered sparkling and my companion asked for still, with no clarification from the server as to tap or bottled. No big deal, right? But, the bottled Panna and Pellegrino are not kept near the table, instead they are poured off between tables leaving no concept of how much water is being consumed. I have no idea how this is tracked. Never did they offer a second bottle to either of us, just kept filling our glasses. $36 for 4 bottles of water. The other real bummer of the evening was the presentation of the salt crusted bronzino. It was beautiful when presented to us, then the server declared she was taking it away for surgery, and brought it clear across the dining room to cut it open, out of our view. When an item is to be carved tableside, I want to see it!! Half the fun of ordering such an item. It was delicious, just like the rest of the food, but may as well have been plated in the kitchen.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Valentine's Day

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely love this restaurant- from de ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Absolutely love this restaurant- from decor to food to service it is top notch! The oysters are fantastic, the spaghetti with clams appetizer was delicious and the branzino never disappoints. Tried the lobster this time too and we loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Steven, I believe his name wa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our server Steven, I believe his name was, was outstanding. Present, knowledgeable without being intrusive. Professionalism and pure pleasantries from all serving staff that worked very cohesively together and also including and not limited to server assistants, bartender, host, and manager which all made for an unswervingly pleasant time. Acclaimed wine list did not disappoint. Of course the cuisine was that on par to and merited equal if not higher acolyte status of Deuxave, Mentón and L'Espalier. Having the pleasure of enjoying all of the Columbus Hospitality Group's restaurants Ostra shines through as the hallmark of the Brand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent, but I wish I ask ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was excellent, but I wish I asked for the server that served our table. He was professional, and was very good at his job. He wasn't trying to just tell us to get the priciest thing on the menu but he also helped us choose the right dishes and wine. The paella was excellent but I would highly recommend try the underrated fettuccine with mushroom and truffle sauce. The sauce of course was excellent but the fettuccine was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The dinners were unique, top quality and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The dinners were unique, top quality and excellent. The servers knew their menu inside and out, the bartenders were well versed in the wine list, and all went well. I would recommend for anyone who loves seafood, done in a unique way.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply the best dining experience I have ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Simply the best dining experience I have had in decades. Done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can sum up the food, service and ambie ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I can sum up the food, service and ambience in one word. Fantastic!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came for a celebratory dinner and the ev ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Came for a celebratory dinner and the evening was all of that. Food was stunning - both in preparation as well as in presentation. The dessert, just as top-flight. The service was wonderfully attentive. Altogether lovely.

The only knock against Ostra was the dining space. We were at a table for two. I'm a small person (about 90lb) and I had to slide in sideways to get past the neighbouring table and get to my seat. The table itself was a little cafe-sized table. At a 5-star, up-scale restaurant, one should be able to hope that even a table for two needed be quite as cozy and cramped as the little cafe tables that one seems to see everywhere these days. When you put on your finest togs, you don't want to pretend you're at a bistro. A bit more elbow room wouldn't hurt.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our new favorite restaurant! We came her ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our new favorite restaurant! We came here to celebrate a birthday and had the most wonderful experience from the moment we arrived. We shared the tuna tartare, sea bass tartare, gnocchi with lobster, and salt crusted branzino for two - would order every dish again in a heartbeat! Chocolate torte was the perfect ending to an incredible meal. Would definitely recommend for a special occasion!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salt crusted branzino for 2 is to di ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The salt crusted branzino for 2 is to die for!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

tl;dr go for the raw bar, skip drinks an ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

tl;dr go for the raw bar, skip drinks and other food

Our Ostra experience was all right. The raw bar was great but the hot food was very salty (multiple dishes). The wait was very long and somehow oysters were served mid-meal. Other than that, the waiter was very cheerful and apologetic about the wait and food situation and took a couple things off the bill. I would suggest coming in for the raw bar but nothing more. Raw bar's prices is very reasonable for quality, food was theoretically reasonable priced if it wasn't so mediocre and alcohol was very very expensive (half-bottle of champagne for $75).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We had high expectations for Ostra, base ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had high expectations for Ostra, based on their over-the-top gorgeous website. If you're charging Le Bernardin prices, then your restaurant has to be great, right? Wrong. Boring room, uneven service, and terribly expensive. Actually there seems to be a real chef in the kitchen--some preparations, like my scallop crudo, were outstanding. But then there was my $38 Faroe Island Salmon, so over-cooked that the flesh was a solid, dry brick. (At Le Bernardin this elegant fish would have been in the "lightly touched" menu category.) To their credit, Ostra removed this item from the check without my requesting it. But still....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Just experienced my first meal and it wa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Just experienced my first meal and it was awesome. Liked everything about it.

The food, service and the room were all exceptional. Dined with three friends. All of us are looking forward to returning soon. Dessert was exceptional don't miss it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the best eating experiences I hav ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

One of the best eating experiences I have ever had! The food was stupendous! The service was impeccable and the atmosphere was top-notch, classy. I would recommend Ostra without reservation - EASILY! And I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant doesn't disappoint! The ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This restaurant doesn't disappoint! They have quite possibly the freshest fish in Boston, served to highlight the quality and compliment the natural flavours. The volume can be a bit loud, but I would call it buzzy. The service is as good as the food and a great bar / lounge.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, People Watching, Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really enjoyed this place—wonderful ambi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Really enjoyed this place—wonderful ambiance and the food was excellently prepared. All of the online reviews pointed me to it and it made for a successful meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The paella we ordered rice was burn and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The paella we ordered rice was burn and where is saffron we always have in the paella?

For $48.00 it was way too much.

And the chair we sat is not comfortable at all.

I don't think we are going back at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Visitors to Boston in January (we must b ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Visitors to Boston in January (we must be crazy) but wanted to try a really good fish restaurant. This place was great - wonderful oysters, some delicious raw yellow fin tuna carpaccio and some delicious clams! Extensive wine list but helpful sommelier helped me through it. Highly recommended but not cheap!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our food at Ostra a lot. It' ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We enjoyed our food at Ostra a lot. It's on the expensive side, but very good food. We shared a crispy native oyster appetizer, and a appetizer special of small scallops served in a kumquat (citrus) sauce that were both delicious. Our main courses were a grilled branzino (sea bass) and a roasted monkfish (local) that were both excellent. I would definitely recommend Ostra to seafood lovers looking for a place for a special night out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The place is way too noisy and loud to h ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The place is way too noisy and loud to have a nice conversation while dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

Food was fantastic! Decor nice but very ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was fantastic! Decor nice but very noisy and we had a side table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

We went here to celebrate a birthday; th ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We went here to celebrate a birthday; there were two in our party. Ostra is one of the highest-rated restaurants in Boston so we wanted to try it out. It is in the theater area and easy to find, not far off the Common and easily walkable from a variety of T stops. The decor is beautiful: clean, sleek, modern, yet comfortable. The noise level was moderate - we were easily able to have a conversation. Hostesses greeted and seated us promptly. Our server was Lindsey and she was extremely knowledgeable and was able to make suggestions to accommodate our needs. One of us is vegetarian; while I have frequently made note of this when I make a reservation, this is the first time the server has acknowledged this upon approaching the table and made suggestions. I was SO impressed. The food was beautiful AND delicious. I started with a shaved snow-pea salad, which was fantastic; the dressing was perfect! The fried oysters were had by the Birthday Boy, who said they were fantastic (and there were several of them). (The size of the salad was also quite generous.) For a main course I had the fettuccine dish from the starter menu; it is actually quite large. I had ordered a side dish as I thought the pasta would be a tiny starter; the side dish was not needed. BB had the scallops and loved them. The manager came by our table and was also seen helping bring out food and speaking to many other diners. Overall this was a VERY impressive dining experience! We have already booked a return and are bringing another couple with us!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service at Ostra were very ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The food and service at Ostra were very good. We had expected someplace a bit more romantic as we were celebrating our anniversary. The noise level was very high. I would reccommend Ostra for the food and service but not the atmosphere.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Not special. Food was unremarkable and e ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Not special. Food was unremarkable and expensive. A little pretentious.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I expected Ostra to be good and expensiv ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I expected Ostra to be good and expensive. The food was more inventive than I thought it would be -- which was a big plus. Lots of waitstaff.... puts me off. Spend $ on the really high quality food and creative chefs, not 16 different waitstaff. Someone brought us the wrong appetizer, but since we weren't paying attention, we ate it. The waiter came back, apologized and brought us the starter we had ordered. Nice.

Tags: Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was excellent and service as we ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The food was excellent and service as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you are looking for the freshest seaf ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 15, 2017

If you are looking for the freshest seafood and spectacular service - Ostra is the place for you. We had a wonderful time and hope to head back when we are In the area .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Walking distance from our hotel was our ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Walking distance from our hotel was our primary goal, but when we arrived we were blown away by the amazing atmosphere and delicious food... as well as the friendly and knowledgable bartenders and wait staff. Try the "Bronzino". You won't be sorry!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had momfish with truffles. Had zero tast ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Had momfish with truffles. Had zero taste.

Ordered a glass of wine which was corked (waiter did take it back)

We ordered three courses and the raw and 1st courses all came together. Way too rushed.

Table was too small for 4 people. We knocked over glasses.

Waiter was wonderful though and the rest of the food was good.

Too many kinks for a restaurant this pricey.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was our 5 year we'd anniversary and t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was our 5 year we'd anniversary and this place is wonderful beautiful food was amazing but expect to pay for this grand experience. Our bill for two was over $300! We did order quiet a few dishes, seven between the two of us. It was so so good! Worth every penny for a special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter Chris was awful. But the mana ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our waiter Chris was awful. But the manager came by and did his best to salvage the poor service we received. The food was excellent, some of the best seafood meals we have had in Boston and we eat out often. We had Branzino for two and red snapper (one of the specials).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Christopher provided outstanding service ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Christopher provided outstanding service and was very knowledgeable about food and wine. Foor was exceptional.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, incredible service. We e ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent food, incredible service. We even had a special attention from Alex the General Manager

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The chefs really know how to prepare and ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The chefs really know how to prepare and present seafood; all perfectly cooked. On the down side, wine list is terribly overpriced; entree prices are high for Boston.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Our server, Michael was especially knowl ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Our server, Michael was especially knowledgable, but not overbearing - food was excellent.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love the food at Ostra. Went here on ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I love the food at Ostra. Went here on New Year's Eve. It was lively and fun! Only reason for 4 stars on the food was overcooked salmon! How did that happen at this restaurant?? Fried oysters made up for everything. Great place for several couples or a group. Noisy, but expect that and you'll be fine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Fun
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.