Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Ostra

A Contemporary Mediterranean Restaurant featuring both innovative & classic preparations of the finest seafood available globally. The dining room at Ostra evokes a sense of style and sophistication in a comfortable and inviting setting. Ostra also offers a fine bar and lounge area featuring live piano entertainment. Ostra's private dining room accommodates up to 42 seated and 70 for a cocktail reception.

1 Charles St. South
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:30pm -10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm-9:30pm
Bar/Lounge: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-11:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
Stuart Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 421-1200

Website:
http://ostraboston.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano music seven nights a week.

Parking Details:
We offer Valet Parking beginning at 5:00pm for $21.00 per car. Valet is located at the front entrance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mitchell Randall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our private dining room at Ostra comfortably seats up to 42 guests and 75 for a reception. We also offer private buyouts of the restaurant for up to 150 guests.

Ostra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (77)
Good for a Date (75)
Fit for Foodies (66)
See All
Creative Cuisine (62)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Modern Decor (49)
Business Meals (45)
Romantic (44)
Pre/post Theatre (38)
Local Ingredients (36)
Notable Wine List (36)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Worth the Drive (29)
Hot Spot (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Open Kitchen (24)
Healthy (20)
Authentic (19)
People Watching (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fun (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Cozy (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Seasonal (5)
Live Music (4)
Casual (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Private Room (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (3)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fireplace (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Practically perfect in every way, except a little noisy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food . Service was perfect and attentive. Prices were on the high side. Valet
parking was a big plus.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service, quiet ambiance for easy conversation, and great seating arrangement for a party of 6. I brought my family here for a special occasion. We had lots of different preferences and everyone found things that they liked on the menu! Each dish was prepared to perfection!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Our second visit was not at all disappointing!
Amazing and fresh seafood. Great choices

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful food and service at this restaurant. It was a wonderful experience while visiting Boston on business.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Excellent seafood restaurant in downtown Boston. High ceilings add to ambiance. The salt baked bronzino was delicious. Outstanding meal with excellent service

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Son graduation from Suffolk University

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The bartenders make a wicked Manhattan! The Oyster's were so delicious and fresh and I love the ecoutrements they serve them with. I had the best Branzino that I have ever had. I thought the service was very good and not overwhelming. The restaurant is beautifully designed and it was truly one of the best meals that I have ever experienced.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Fantastic service and the food was exemplary. Expensive but worth it if you are looking for a special meal in a special section of Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great seafood restaurant, amazing food but very pricey wine list

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Delicious food. Very attentive service. Worth the high price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Perfect Restaurantl Bit to much Noise, difficult communication Including THW waiter at THW table.

Tags: Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Exceptional restaurant. The best seafood I've eaten in the USA. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 16, 2017

upscale, good food, good wine selection,good for special occasions. Pricy

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

It should be considered among the best restaurants in Boston. Everything was so original and delicious.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great place to eat everyone should go there. One the best meals that i have enjoyed.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Every course was outstanding. Soft crab appetizer, skate wing entree, wonderful "popcorn" ice cream desert. Inventive and delicious food. Bravo to the chef and the team. Waitress was super nice and knowledgeable and seemed genuinely interested in the cuisine. We went for Mother's Day and will most definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I got the steak. I think that was a mistake at a fish restaurant. I've had better steak for less money at other restaurants. The staff were wonderful and couldn't have been more accommodating. I'd go back for a special occasion. Next time I'll get the fish.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The best meal ever!! The fish melted in your mouth the favor amazing!! Not a romantic dinner as it is very loud but incredible food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Bristol)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everything good except grumpy front desk

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Went for a honeymoon celebration which was not acknowledged. Service was great and food was very nice but definitely not cheap!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Ostra is spacious and elegant, and at the same time friendly and warm. The food is spectacular, beautiful to taste as well as to see. Ideal location for pre-theater, and definitely a special occasion choice.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Simply excellent!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food is very good, but the service was terrible! Our waitress was totally overwhelmed and essentially ignored us and we had to keep asking for her. For this caliber of restaurant, they need to do better!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Paella was fantastic and so was the halibut. The dining area is a very open concept which allows for a bit of nois

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

One word...The entire evening, food, service, atmosphere...Awesome!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

By far one of the best restaurants in Boston. Highly recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We went here on a last minute whim as we had just won tickets to see Lea Michelle at the Shubert. I had looked at the menu on line and thought it was very eclectic and appealing. The décor is modern and lovely, the staff is exceptionally well versed, friendly and not over bearing. Wonderful suggestions were made. We opted for several small plates to try many flavors. Wow! The bread is homemade focaccia with potato and onion, served with olive oil with an orb of butter and sea salt, awesome! The petite Duxbury oysters were wonderful as was the presentation with the homemade cocktail sauce and mignonette. The tuna Carpaccio was excellent as was the Alaskan king crab. We also had the beets with a whipped olive oil and goat cheese base, so good. We had a pea pod salad that was fresh and crisp. finished with the Spanish ham with figs. The ham was not salty and melted like butter. Presentation was ridiculously beautiful. Excellent meal start to finish!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Very pleasing without the sense of crowding in other upscale Boston restaurants.
The fish was fresh and the dishes were well prepared. I had the Tuna Tartare, which was excellent (with NZ Sauvignon Blanc), followed by Paella which had a truly remarkable quantity and variety of shell fish — lobster, clams, mussels — as well as chicken; it went very well with the Rioja.
The waiter was knowledgeable about both the food and the wines available by the glass. Moreover, he was happy to offer me a taste of the Albarino as well as the Sauvignon Blanc, so that I could decide for myself which would go better with the Tuna Tartare.
I had a trio of sorbets for dessert. Also excellent and a perfect end to an excellent meal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Phantastic Food, exceptional service!
A little loud.
One of Boston's best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food and the service were wonderful. I had the paella, which was fantastic! My husband had a whole fish wrapped in leaves. It was completely boned. We went for an anniversary and it was wonderful for that type of celebration.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Portions were way too big. Meal was too expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Unnecessarily expensive. $14-16 for 1/3 glass of wine in just a few dollars beyond the usual overpriced restaurant wine. It is a perfectly nice place, decent food etc but simply pretentiously expensive. I would not return nor recommend it simply due to the price. Perhaps others feel good about themselves when they have dined at a high priced place. I just don't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I was in Boston for few days with my wife. She wanted seafood so we search for the best seafood in town and Ostra was recommended by lots of people! Didn't disappoint at all... we went there early at 530pm and didn't leave till 930pm. Great wine and cocktail selection and delicious seafood dishes! The "petites oysters" were our favorite, champagne vinaigrette outta this world!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Couldn't have been happier with our experience at Ostra! A group of four of us went to celebrate several birthdays and an anniversary, and everything we ordered--appetizers, entrees, desserts, drinks, salads--was superb. The prices are appropriate for an upscale restaurant and the atmosphere was classy while still being comfortable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had dinner at Ostra on Saturday; everything from service to food was outstanding. Our server had superb menu suggestions - we will definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great ambience. Server was great, asked if we had theater plans to get us out in time. Recommended the Grilled Spanish Octopus or starter; which was amazing. Also I commented that it was my girlfriends Birthday in the OpenTable reservation. She wished her a Happy Birthday once we were seated. We each had the specials for entrees. They were perfect. Wanted to do the Salt Crusted Branzino, but would have been rushed as it takes 40 minutes. Next Time for sure. Highly Recommend

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Appetizers were fantastic. I had the risotto and my fate had the mixed vegetable salad. Main courses were good but not spectacular like the last time I went. She had the halibut and I had the blackened bass special. Halibut was flavorful but a bit dry. Bass was perfectly cooked but a bit too much smoky flavor. Service was very attentive and the bread was awesome as always.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Absolutely amazing food and service. Server knowledgeable and professional

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with good food and ambiance. We were a. It disappointed with the service. It took a while for someone to take our drink order by the launch area. The waiter although nice was not as polished as one would expect from a restaurant of this caliper. Hopefully the staff can get a bit more training and then it will be a five star, in my opinion .

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.