Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Ostra

A Contemporary Mediterranean Restaurant featuring both innovative & classic preparations of the finest seafood available globally. The dining room at Ostra evokes a sense of style and sophistication in a comfortable and inviting setting. Ostra also offers a fine bar and lounge area featuring live piano entertainment. Ostra's private dining room accommodates up to 42 seated and 70 for a cocktail reception.

1 Charles St. South
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:30pm -10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm-9:30pm
Bar/Lounge: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-11:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
Stuart Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 421-1200

Website:
http://ostraboston.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano music seven nights a week.

Parking Details:
We offer Valet Parking beginning at 5:00pm for $21.00 per car. Valet is located at the front entrance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mitchell Randall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our private dining room at Ostra comfortably seats up to 42 guests and 75 for a reception. We also offer private buyouts of the restaurant for up to 150 guests.

Ostra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (81)
Good for a Date (75)
Fit for Foodies (71)
See All
Creative Cuisine (65)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Notable Wine List (47)
Romantic (47)
Business Meals (43)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Local Ingredients (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Healthy (25)
Bar Seating (25)
Hot Spot (23)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Authentic (21)
Good for Groups (18)
Fun (12)
Cozy (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
People Watching (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Seasonal (4)
Casual (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Live Music (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1362 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Ostra is Boston's most refined restaurant, with unmatched preparations, thoughtful service, a deep wine list and elegant sensibilities. Lucky are we who dine there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful experience! Delicious food and exceptional service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

We were visiting Boston and it was across from our hotel. We had a great experience! We tend to like vegetarian and we'll splurge a little on fish but their pasta with mushrooms was delectable along with the yellowfin carpaccio and the wine was fabulous and wrap it all in the great service Margaret provided, you can't beat it! Marvelous night out.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Just excellent! From service to food to atmosphere!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Superb food, it was fresh and not overly fancy. I don't like when the chef tries too hard and things don't quite come together. This chef seemed to keep it simple and yet ever so tasty!
We were there during the week so maybe that is why it was primarily business people. Not an intimate setting but pretty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The food was absolutely incredible, and the service was above and beyond. It is definitely a place I would recommend to anybody and everybody visiting the area. While it is definitely pricey, it is obvious from the get-go that it is an expensive restaurant, so people should know going in. And if I ever return to the Boston area, I will definitely be sure to return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The restaurant pitches itself very high end but the atmosphere is more casual. We arrived on time but waited 20 minutes to be seated at a table directly in the path of servers going in and out of the kitchen area. We asked to be moved and were accommodated.

The food does live up though. The server was very nice, informative and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2017

This is clearly fine dining in Boston with a convenient location to the theatre district. Would recommend.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Fantastic meal options for veg and non - egg dessert was phenomenal! Ambiance and service were excellent. Chef was awesome about adapting the food to what people needed! Great experience in Boston!

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Amazing food, drinks, and service. A great place for a special occasion or theater district dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Ostra is fantastic fine dining one of the very few in Boston! Best all around.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Loved everything about this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Great for seafood at exceptional tast and quilty, very high stander food

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Excellent seafood selection whether raw appetizers like Hamachi crudo or Smoked Salmon Tartar to Brazino salt crusted the fish is fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Outstanding food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 2, 2017

We ordered crudo, shrimp cocktail, pasta with clams, grilled octopus and a halibut entree. We planned to share everything and the kitchen split and plated everything for us without our even requesting it. The waitstaff was right there when needed, but unobtrusive. The room is vibrant and modern - a fresh take on a seafood restaurant. We particularly enjoyed all the starters and middle courses and would likely make a full meal of them on another visit. Wines were lovely. Food plus 2 cocktails and 3 glasses of wine came to about $250, so pricey, but great for a special occasion.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Traveling through Boston overnight, we looked for a good restaurant for dinner, the reviews for Ostra were very good. We were not disappointed! Excellent presentation, creative flavor combinations and outstanding service. Go!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We travelled from Providence to have dinner with two high school friends. The ambience was very conducive to reliving old times...i.e., not a lot of noise! The staff was extremely accommodating as we chatted instead of getting right down to the business of ordering. Wine list was great though a bit pricey. The appetizers (salads, grilled octopus) were extraordinarily good. I had the seafood paella which was great...plenty of shellfish and not overly ricey! Other fish dishes were also great. We did nt have room for dessert so I cannot comment on those. A great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2017

as usually the food was very delicious. it was a birthday dinner

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Simply amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Food was great and enjoyed by all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Great selection and variety. Exceptional service. Tasty and presented well. I would like to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Some of the best fish around, well prepared, great choice. Very friendly and professional service, Great ambience

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! Decor, food, service. So happy with our yelp choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 26, 2017

There were a few of us getting together for a special occasion. The ambience is contemporary and the noise level is sufficiently low for conversation. The service was very good with an attentive wait staff. The menu is expensive, but the food was prepared well and delivered hot and with class.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We both very much enjoyed our appetizer/salad and entrees. Our server was very attentive, as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Nice tasty food & well served. Likely to repeat.
tks

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Excellent service, attentive to detail, unhurried despite it being a very busy evening. Excellent food. Acoustics not so brilliant, place could do with some soft furnishing on the wall to absorb sound. The white walls tend to dazzle a bit too much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Five Star experience! From service to the last bite of our food. Incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We had travelled to MA from the UK and booked Ostra for our Friday nught dinner. It turned out to be the highlight of our trip nd will be the stand-out memory in the years to come. We will be recommending Ostra to anybody that we know is travelling to Boston. We shared the salt-baked Branzino and we were in agreement that it was the best fish we have ever eaten (and, trust me, we have eaten plenty of fish all over the world).

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 20, 2017

I really love Ostra. Everything is top notch, food, service, atmosphere, etc... I always try something different on the menu and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2017

From the moment my fiancé and I walked in through the front door, we realised that this place was special. Terrific ambience, very friendly and attentive staff; excellent table service with menu recommendations (only when asked). If you really enjoy sea food then you cannot go wrong here - the food was spectacular. Lovely bottle of Sancerre, Chatham Oysters and Tuna Caprice + Tartar to start, followed by Sea Bream. I enjoyed the meal so much that I wouldn't leave until I had spoken to the Chef and told him what an amazing job he & his team had performed that night. Price is reflective of the high quality of service and standard that you receive, and in my view, worth every cent. Cannot recommend it highly enough - will make a point of going back next time I am in Boston.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Great appetizers and meals. Exceptional preparation and flavor.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food was very, very good - I had Tuna tartar and Halibut main. Service was excellent as well - just the right amount of attentiveness, and the staff know what they're doing. The problem is the prices, which end up being exorbitant. 40 bucks for a glass of wine and vodka martini is steep enough, but $4 for a club soda and then get charged for a refill...well, you get the idea. Its a cool space, very good staff, and excellent food, but getting nickeled and dimed on stuff like the sode water just seems tasteless, and wouldn't go back just for that reason.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Fabulous food and service. It is noisy though. Everything item ordered was wonderful and given that we all had different items that says a lot about this restaurant. The restaurant also has a bar with piano music for pre or post dinner enjoyment and quiet conversation. Definitely worth returning to again and highly recommended.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Awesome experience, superior service and exceptional cuisine at Ostra! We celebrated our anniversary in Boston and Ostra did not disappoint!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Just flawless perfection, in every way!
The Alaskan king Crab Tortellini is one of the most delectable things I've ever put in my mouth!! Every dish was sublime. I raved to a local sitting next to me on my flight home! She said she'd heard about it and I insisted she go right away when she got back home!! It was a highlight of many amazing things we did on our first trip to Boston!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The tables are very close together, and along with the noise level it's impossible to have a private conversation. Our salads were very good, but my husband and I each had the special which was a red snapper dish , it was quite tasty and the vegetables were good, but the fish was overdone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great seafood. Excellent service. Very nice atmosphere. Nice place to celebrate an anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Service wasn't great. We were seated for 10 minutes before seeing a server. Time in between courses was 20-30 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.