About Osteria Mattone

Osteria Mattone is a neighborhood restaurant serving regional Italian cuisine with a heavy focus on Roman fare, combining the casual spirit of an Osteria with the more formal dining of a Trattoria.

We open for dinner at 5pm Tuesday-Sunday, and lunch at 11:30am. Although, we're happy to offer reservations, we do also keep some tables available on a "first come-first served" basis for walk-in guests.

We look forward to serving you!

1095 Canton Street
Roswell, GA 30075
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tue-Sun: 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Tue-Thu: 5:00-9:30pm, Fri-Sat: 5:00-10:30pm, Sun: 5:00-9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 878-3378

Website:
http://www.osteriamattone.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking is available, with additional parking options including valet and street-parking available nearby.

Executive Chef:
Ted Lahey

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 11:45AM 5:00PM - 5:15PM

Tue - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 2:00PM - 2:15PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 5:00PM - 5:15PM

Sat 11:00AM - 11:45AM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Osteria Mattone Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (60)
Creative Cuisine (53)
Good for a Date (52)
See All
Special Occasion (50)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Authentic (37)
Romantic (35)
Worth the Drive (34)
Cozy (33)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Notable Wine List (27)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Groups (18)
Business Meals (17)
Great for Lunch (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Casual (15)
Fun (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Outstanding Value (10)
Healthy (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Seasonal (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Historic (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fireplace (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Scenic View (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
People Watching (4)
Family Style (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Organic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (2)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
911 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A great time. Service wonderful, food ou ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

A great time. Service wonderful, food outstanding

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sat outside. Had olive oil on table for ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Sat outside. Had olive oil on table for 50m before bread arrived. Misses on everything. Asked for Parmesan and got grated instead of traditional aged Parmesan with Balsamico. Each ask took 10m because server had to walk inside and then back out. Server introduced himself after 2 hours. This was my first time here and I truly wanted it to be a return to Roma and traditional meals there. Total for 3 of us $320.00. I will try other spots before considering a return here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Enjoyed very much, once again! Intimate ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed very much, once again! Intimate bar setting, attentive but not hovering service, comprehensive menu but not pages long plus choices in all areas of the menu are unique and delicious, lovely outdoor area with heaters and a fire pit, great for lunch and dinner. Go - you'll not regret it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Meal and service was top notch. Would d ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Meal and service was top notch. Would definitely come back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I had our first visit h ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

My boyfriend and I had our first visit here this past Valentine's Day. Needless to say our server Ryan received a 25% gratuity from us because of his impeccable service and attention to detail. He was extremely thorough when explaining the menu items, answered all of our questions and gave great recommendations on food items and wines to pair. One time we noticed that he had plates of food in his hand to take to another table but while walking the food over to other guests he motioned to the server assistant to refill our glasses with water. Like I said he was great!

The food was AH-mazing! We shared an arugula salad, an octopus dish for our antipasti, cheese plate, and last but not least our entrees. Steve had the capellini di mare and the angel hair was made from mushrooms. I had the braised short rib ravioli. We were so full but finished off our plates because it was so damn delicious! We finished the night off with the bread pudding dessert and a port wine recommended by Ryan.

We will be back to this restaurant for sure! Next time we'll bring friends and family :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to lunch for Valentine's Day with m ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Went to lunch for Valentine's Day with my wife. Our server was delightful. She noted the special occasion and encouraged us to relax and enjoy ourselves. The short rib pasta was fantastic, as was the wine our server suggested. Overall, it was a wonderful experience, and we will return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had never been here before as Roswell ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

I had never been here before as Roswell is not close but definetly worth the drive. The grilled artichokes were great as was the Bolognese. I would go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our server was knowledgeable,friendly, a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Our server was knowledgeable,friendly, attentive and pleasant.

Tags: Spicy, , Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great location for a special meal. The s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Great location for a special meal. The staff and food were exceptional

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sure was good. This was my second visit ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Sure was good.

This was my second visit to Osteria Mattone. Everything was excellent. Here was what I mean. Valet parking was ready, the table was ready, the hostess was friendly, and the server was enthusiastic. On top of that the food is real good.

One of our party commented that it was the first or second best pizza he ever had. Others in the party was also very favorable in their comments.

So in the end, was it super? No. Two things – first, like Foundation Social and many others, the restaurant is all hard surfaces. Not, to me anyway, a very comfortable place. Second, why have a menu in Italian? No one in North Fulton speaks or reads Italian. Seems to me to be pretentious. Make no mistake, the food and service were excellent.

Plus the cocktails are well conceived and executed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

They do have valet, which when you have ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

They do have valet, which when you have no cash, can be iffy. Our server was able to help - though with a $5 only. Wish I knew to bring cash.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The mussels were very tender and the bro ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The mussels were very tender and the broth was devine. We also had the charcuterie, short rib ravioli and the angel hair pasta with seafood. Everything was delicious including dessert. Emily provided excellent service. We can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ox tail ravioli is the best thing in ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The ox tail ravioli is the best thing in the menu. We loved the fried mozzarella with prosciutto and the grilled artichoke hearts. Wine was excellent. Martini was ok. Our server did a great job. We ended the meal with the cheese cake which was dense and full of flavor with poached cinnamon pears to compliment . Another great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All six of our entrées were not hot. Se ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

All six of our entrées were not hot. Second time in a row this is happened. We frequent this restaurant often. The food is really awesome. They need to pay a bit more attention to detail. The service is top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

When Osteria opened a number of years ag ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 10, 2017

When Osteria opened a number of years ago it was a favorite spot. However, after several mediocre meals including one recently we choose to go elsewhere. There are a few really good items like the braised short rib pasta that are consistent. Failure seems to happen with their fish entrees. We have experienced on 2 occasions that the Branzino and salmon dishes were overcooked and dry. The Romano salad was very average; hearts of romaine (appears like the bagged salad kind); very light on dressing with a few croutons. The Capellini de Mare is a mushroom pasta which was good but not much seafood so you end up with a lot of pasta on the plate. The chocolate dessert was delicious. The espresso and cappuccino were served lukewarm. Our bill was almost $160 that included a bottle of $56 wine and a couple of cocktails. It is disappointing to spend that much money for an average meal. Osteria needs to up the game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Met 2 friends for lunch and we were all ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Met 2 friends for lunch and we were all pleased with our service as well as our food selections!

We will return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We went there for my wife's birthday. T ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We went there for my wife's birthday. The initial atmosphere was quiet and very nice. The wai staff was quick, attentive, and personable. The food was very good and the evening's special was excellent. In general a good experience.

The only unfortunate circumstance is the seating in the dining room is quite close and about a third of the way through our meal, two businessmen were seated next to us and their conversation was bothersom, to say the least. They interrupted an otherwise excellent dining experience.

I will return but carefully ask for seating in another area of the dining room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very loud and the food tasted like it wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Very loud and the food tasted like it was all microwaved. The chicken was so tough that it cannot be cut.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Have been to this restaurant several tim ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Have been to this restaurant several times - and the food and service have always been outstanding.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and outstanding product qu ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great service and outstanding product quality in a lovely environment

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location with indoor and outdoor s ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great location with indoor and outdoor seating. Good food and pleasant staff. You are not being rushed and I had a great first time experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We heard so much about Osteria Mattone t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We heard so much about Osteria Mattone that we couldn't wait to try it. Unfortunately, it did not live up to the hype. Don't get me wrong, the food is good, but not great as we had heard. The atmosphere and staff were very good. But what should have been the star of the night was the let-down. First, we order the Polpo (Octopus) for an appetizer. It is one of my favorites and our server raved about how tender and flavorful it is. The first piece I ate was as tough as shoe leather. Not sure what happened there because the other pieces were fairly tender. But overall, the Polpo was disappointing. For a main course we tried several of the pasta dishes; Agnolotti Di Oxo, Risotto al Funghi, and the special - Chicken Bolognese. The special was solid. Very good homemade al dente pasta made the dish. I could have done without the fried chicken skin on top - it changed the flavor profile too much. Of the three, the Risotto was by far and away the best of the three. I would definitely order it again. But the BIG disappointment was the signature dish - Agnolotti Di Oxo. Our server went on and on about the process to make it (even pointing out the pictures on the wall of the process). In the end, it was dry and flavorless. This is essentially a large ravioli filled with braised short rib. But it was under-sauced making it dry to start and the short rib was dry and flavorless. Not exactly a signature dish in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great meal and you can hear your friends ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great meal and you can hear your friends talk! Highly recommend this place !

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I took advantage of the Ro ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My friend and I took advantage of the Roswell Restaurant Week special prices to go there - a restaurant we had wanted to go to for quite some time. Oh my! Everything was fabulous - a great selection with each course expertly prepared with a beautiful presentation. We both plan on going back again!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A perfect evening out! OM did not disapp ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

A perfect evening out! OM did not disappoint- delicious food, elegant atmosphere and attentive service.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been there several times and eve ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We have been there several times and every time we have found it delicious and the staff professional and friendly. Add valet parking and you have a great place to enjoy wonderful food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Osterio never fails. I love everything o ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Osterio never fails. I love everything on the menu. I love the staff, the ambience, Laura, everything! We had a girls group and were greeted with warmth and enthusiasm. Menu was incredible and enough to take home. this is my go to place always.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, , Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, People Watching, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Historic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A nice place to catch up with friends or ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

A nice place to catch up with friends or colleagues

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried Osteria Mattone during restaura ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We tried Osteria Mattone during restaurant week and had a fantastic experience. The food, wine service, atmosphere, etc was all superb. We will definitely return!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was really wonderful, and we es ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Our food was really wonderful, and we especially enjoyed our server. She recommended some great selections. We had an outstanding evening. Thank you

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was exceptional and knowledgea ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The staff was exceptional and knowledgeable. Celebrated my dads bday and they made it very special. Thank you!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic! We celebrated a birthday, it ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Fantastic! We celebrated a birthday, it was awesome - great service, wonderful food, everyone enjoyed themselves.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Seasonal, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, , Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!!! That's all I can say!!! We ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Fantastic!!! That's all I can say!!! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My third visit, and the food/service has ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 25, 2017

My third visit, and the food/service has been outstanding every time! The pasta is extremely fresh -- my spaghetti carbonara was phenomenal! Highly recommend a visit!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything that we ate was incredibly de ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Everything that we ate was incredibly delicious. We left uncomfortably full, but that was due to the fact that we could not leave a bite on the table. The staff was warm and welcoming, and our waitress paid special attention to our table since we were celebrating a birthday. Great food and great wine! I will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to visit Osteria Mattone. Had ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

First time to visit Osteria Mattone. Had heard from friends that it was definitely worth a try...and it was! Food was delicious, and everything our group ordered was prepared to perfections. It was a great local for celebrating the hub's birthday. Mark, our waiter, was especially attentive and knowledgeable. His recommendations for food and wine were spot on.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food and the atmosphere were fantast ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our food and the atmosphere were fantastic. Service was very attentive without being obtrusive . Dan Pernice the owner paired a fantastic wine with our meal. A great evening. Thanks Dan and team.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. Roman Italian style It wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food was good.

Roman Italian style

It was a bit too much salt in the food, for my taste.

Great service

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Beautiful cottage in the middle of histo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Beautiful cottage in the middle of historic Roswell on canton st . Romantic quit, everyone was very welcoming and made us feel comfortable. Food was amazing, I had the rack of lamb a fairly large dish very delicious and cooked to perfection. My husband try the duck and pasta which was very good. Will be back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After receiving a recommendation from a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 20, 2017

After receiving a recommendation from a co-worker and catching a glimpse of the tempting menu selection online, I decided to give Osteria Mattone a try. The ambiance was cozy and quaint and the bar had a nice offering of wines by the glass.

Once seated, our server, Chris, who was both informative and humorous, stayed very attentive (in a non-overbearing way) throughout the course of our visit. After hearing several suggestions, my mother and I agreed on a few dishes we could share family-style.

Starting with the light and tasty Rucola Salad, we then proceeded to the Polpo (charred octopus) which was tender and cooked to perfection. The Cozze (steamed mussels) were also delicious, but we probably should have ordered them after or before everything else so we could enjoy them while hot. The Agnolotti Di Oxo (braised short rib ravioli) was all that, and more. Very meaty, filling, and oh so delicious. At that point, we were too full to try any of the other dishes, but left just enough room for dessert. We went for the Budino Caramellato (Salted caramel bread pudding). Not your typical bread pudding, but very tasty, nonetheless. I would definitely recommend Osteria Mattone and will certainly visit again to try other dishes on the menu!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.