About Osteria Marco

1453 Larimer Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Osteria Marco is a very social, artisan-style pizzeria in the heart of Larimer Square. The exposed brick dining room is lined with bottles from our exclusively Italian wine list, which features nearly one hundred labels priced under fifty dollars per bottle. We roast the lamb, pork and beef for our panini right in the dining room and craft the cheeses and charcuterie from or salumi bar in house. Osteria Marco has all the amenities of a fine-dining establishment--excellent service, beautiful food, fabulous surroundings--but priced for the more casual, social diner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Monday - Thursday 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday 11:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
15th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 534-5855

Website:
http://www.osteriamarco.com/

Catering:
Why yes, we do cater. Please contact emily@mizunadenver.com

Executive Chef:
Frank Bonanno & Jean-Philippe Failyau

Private Party Facilities:
We offer private and semi-private dining for parties up to 35 guests for seated events and up to 40 for standing receptions. Full restaurant buyouts are available for parties up to 150 seated and 200 guests for standing receptions.

Please contact liza@mizunadenver.com

Private Party Contact:
Liza Zimmerman: (720) 737-4277

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact liza@mizunadenver.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Osteria Marco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (64)
Casual (56)
Special Occasion (47)
See All
Fit for Foodies (46)
Notable Wine List (44)
Pre/post Theatre (37)
Business Meals (36)
Fun (36)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Good for Groups (29)
Authentic (28)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Cozy (27)
Bar Seating (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Hot Spot (23)
Comfort Food (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Romantic (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Worth the Drive (19)
Happy Hour (18)
Wood Oven (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Outstanding Value (15)
People Watching (13)
Tapas (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Late-night Find (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Historic (9)
Healthy (9)
Family Style (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Seasonal (7)
Open Kitchen (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Organic (4)
Great Beer (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Live Sports (3)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3784 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 13 hours ago

Boring food

overly greasy calamari

Italian restaurant with no pasta. What?

Scallops were pretty good. Felt like a diner in a basement.

Highlight of evening was the entrance at street level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

I thought the food was tasty, but the portions were very small for the price. The scallop dish came with 4 very small scallops and a very tiny portion of spaghetti squash. I understand that scallops need to be sourced from the coast, which lead them to be a bit pricey, but there is no excuse for the pathetic serving size of the accompaniments.

The service was a bit lacking and drinks needed filling quite often.

Although the meal wasn't perfect, I enjoyed my time here, and the ambiance is very nice. I'd be willing to give this place another shot, if I'm ever in the area.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent we loved the meatball sliders.

We have a 5 year old who was starving and they were Ave to get us in 49 minutes earlier than our reservation. Great staff and service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Österreich)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food! Great staff!!! Thank you! We will defenitely come back for more! The athmosphere and the quality of food is really extraordinary

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely wonderful!!!! Food was amazing, service was 100%. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant was simply awful. First its in a basement... which was very hot. We were roasting the second we got to our table. The menu is terrible for anyone with a gluten allergy and not recommended. I had a small beet salad that was not very good, probably one of the worst I've ever had and I eat them all the time. My wine was a sauvignon blanc and it tasted like it was old, I took two sips and that was it. The pizza looked very oily that my friend was eating and the Proscuttio didn't look appetizing at all. My daughter ordered a bowl of tomato soup, like a bisque, and it was very bitter, she couldn't eat it so the waitress took it off the bill. Speaking of the waitress, she was rude and very unhelpful. Almost as if we were bothering her by dining there. Not recommended at all... we should have checked out a different restaurant that night because this place was a horrible dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place for a date night or a casual meal. Located right in Larimer Square it's the perfect mix of fancy and casual. The food wan't overpriced at all and the sizes were big enough to share. I definitely recommend this place to anyone who eats food - so everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Family Style, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Good gluten-free options. KNowledgable waitress. Generous-sized pizza.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

The housemade burrata is worth the trip alone! We also shared the beef tenderloin with risotto and it was superbly prepared.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Delicious food, attentive yet unobtrusive waitstaff, fairly priced ... and again, delicious food. Most Italian restaurants in Denver serve limp pasta with unseasoned tomato sauce; yuck. Osteria Marco certainly, and happily, doesn't fit that mode!

The divider between booths was piled high with flat ware and linens in which it would be wrapped. That detracted from the view, particularly as one of the staff was assembling the packages. It shouldn't be done within view of customers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great place to take a date such as my wife for 30 years. It was her first time at this restaurant and we both enjoyed the wine, the fresh cheese, amazing meatballs and the salads. Highly recommended!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Have been there several times and always enjoy Osterio Marco!!!

Tags: Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day! We didn't order anything from the special v-day menu. We come here for birthdays and special dates because we love the burrata mainly but menu in general too. Good drinks too. Good spot downtown and fun for a date night

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My husband and I had our first date that 5 years ago. We always go back for Valentine's Day and our anniversary. The food is always amazing, the staff are helpful and pleasant. If you want amazing Italian, this is the place to go.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

As always, Osteria Marco was great. We got there on a Sunday and enjoyed the Suckling Pig special. It was awesome, as was the Burrata and Prosciutto. Still haven't had anything that I wouldn't have again. Great date place, but make reservations.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Osteria Marco is a wonderful restaurant. The older Larimer Square building provides an interesting atmosphere. The food is outstanding and the wait staff is always great. I would recommend Osteria to everyone.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Mushroom pizza and barrata was amazing and on a very cute street.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Wood Oven, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I usually love coming here but this night was not as great. We got seated in a tiny corner next to two really loud tables. My date and I could not even speak because we couldn't hear each other. We tried to get out quickly.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I make an attempt to eat at Osteria Marco at least once every six months or so. Always a great atmosphere with great food. The best idea is to share meals to enjoy and taste the many dishes. Always great food and great value!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Would not return to this restaurant. Made reservations for 2 people, as it was a date night & birthday. We live in Denver, have a one year old son & do not get out a lot so we were excited to try this place. The initial greeting from the host set the tone as he rudely greeted us with, "What can I do for you" as if this was an exclusive spot we were asking to enter. We were then shown to a huge 6 person booth which took away from our intimate dinner setting for 2 but, we went with it. As we looked around it was very loud & see big screen TV's with basketball on, while we're supposed review a wine list which has bottles that are $50, $80, $200 each. As we peruse the menu we see salads, panini & pizza which seems to contradict the "fine dining" of ordering an $80 bottle of wine. They offer a few high priced main dishes, but the choices go from a cubano sandwich to a $30 plate. Since it was our night out we ordered a $60 bottle but our server insisted this $80 bottle was twice as good. We trusted his opinion but were not impressed with the wine. While this happens, he didn't ask us what we thought & did not return to pour the wine for us. Felt like a bait and switch. We ordered two salads & asked for no anchovy but he forgot. Not to mention literally one minute after we ordered our salads they were delivered. Like they were sitting on the line & not tossed fresh to order. We then ordered a pizza to share & the bottom tasted burnt as if cigarette ashes were in our mouth. Once our pizza arrived we did not see our server for over 20 minutes. He did not stop by to check-in or offer us more to drink. He returned & we had to ask about dessert, but upon thinking about staying longer we felt that an after dinner drink at home would be much more enjoyable than this locale.

This place seems to be a "turn & burn" environment like a Chili's. For an Italian restaurant w/higher priced wines we were disappointed with the service, ambiance & menu choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I had a wonderful experience here!!! Service was fantastic, food was delicious, and wine was A+! I was just in town to visit, but if I return to Denver, I would return to this restaurant!

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The place was very nice, although my table was not ready when I did arrived not a problem and normal for a Friday, just sat at the bar and had a glass of wine while waiting. The service was outstanding and we felt welcomed and well attended, the food was excellent and the price was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

2nd time in a week. The first I had the bistro sirloin; excellent. The second; The Chop salad - really good. A great new find.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I think this place is a little overrated. It is okay, just not exciting. They used to have a really good tuna dalad, and I was disappointed that it is no longer on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great. Never disappoints we were visiting and always make it to this restaurant when in town

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great Atmosphere and Delicious Food and Great Wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Very good, but too expensive! Everything as overpriced!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Consistently good to great service, good food, and pleasant environment. We often eat there before going somewhere else and the staff makes sure we have the check in plenty of time to meet our time frame.

Tags: Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We were blown away with our meals and a true delight.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Always enjoy! We meet for a business dinner. The service was great. I love the mussels and pizza.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Historic, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

very nice experience. Super cute neighborhood. Good service, food and wine. Would not hesitate to go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The pizza was undercooked and the food was mediocre at best. We told the server that the pizza was undercooked and he literally stated that sometimes they undercook it and sometime they over cook it. It's basically a crap shoot. I told him that I was not happy with it and he did nothing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The creative menu of fresh ingredient is alway well prepared! I have been here several times and alway had great food. Pizza, charcuterie, salads, entrees have all been stellar!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Both of our dishes, Short Rib and Bistro Steak, were melt in your mouth DELICIOUS. Great place, wonderful service, and delectable food. We surpassed dessert, but our waiter brought over a free one for us to try, just because. It was the Butterscotch bread pudding, and it was to DIE for! Yummm, will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Excellent location for business lunch. Quiet enough and private enough to have a good conversation. Food is always well-prepared. Service is appropriately attentive.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

My favorite pizza ever! Quality ingredients, could eat the marghretti pizza everyday!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Vegan, People Watching, Healthy, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great place for lunch near the Auraria campus. Met some friends from UCD and Metro and we had a lovely meal. Service was both friendly and professional. Food was very good.

Tags: Wood Oven, Authentic, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The food here is great. My date and I enjoyed the grilled artichoke appetizer and the rabbit and chicken entrees, all of which were flawless.

Unfortunately, the service was lacking in a big way. Our server spoke very quickly and was unintelligible at times. He smiled very little and did not seem very knowledgeable. I asked if the scallops were dry packed. He said no and remarked that they were canned. Needless to say, this damaged our opinion on the quality of seafood here.

When placing new silverware on the table it was set haphazardly and without care making the experience uncomfortable. For a restaurant with such a great reputation I'm very surprised at the quality of service here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Osteria Marco is always one of my favorite restaurants in Denver. The food is delicious and reasonable. The atmosphere is welcoming. Our server was friendly and attentive. This was a special birthday dinner with my family. We all had a wonderful evening. I look forward to returning!

Tags: Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Outstanding cheese and cured meats to start followed by killer short rib plate. Terrific wine list. All around great experience. Well done!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I think we have been spoiled as we've eaten a number of times at Panzano, Venice, Odyssey, etc. We had heard this is on par with those but it clearly isn't. Osteria Marco is good but if you're a foodie like my wife and I are, it's not the place to go. We shared both of their "signature dishes" which are the rabbit and the lamb meatballs. The rabbit was very good but literally had 4 gnocchi in the bottom of the bowl. The meatballs were loaded with red pepper flakes and so spicy that we couldn't really enjoy it. We asked the waitress about that and she just acknowledged that some days the meatballs are more spicy than others based on who did the seasoning in the kitchen. We didn't recognize any of the Super Tuscan wines on their menu and so we asked the waitress for a recommendation. The one she recommended wasn't good at all if you like SuperTuscans. There's too many other great Italian restaurants downtown so we won't be back to Osteria Marco.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

5 of us dined on apps, salads, paninis, and pizzas which we all shared and thoroughly enjoyed. No complaints on any of the food items. They offer a house wine for only $7 a glass which is a great price for a restaurant in the downtown area. The server was excellent. The only complaint is the noise from all the other diners, we were there on a Saturday night. Unfortunately this is a problem in many of the restaurants in the old buildings of Denver. We will return and recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

"they" have gotten a bit lazy..... pork tenderloin specials overcooked, and not careful with spacing between courses. Too many wines no longer available. Still good but.... please, once again, pay attention

Tags: People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The overall experience was very good. In Denver for the weekend and was exactly what we were looking for on a Friday evening. The cheese and meat board was terrific as well as the pizza and the rest of our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This lively restaurant is a favorite with our Brooklyn daughter and her friends when they visit. Sample several delicious pizzas and share a kale salad- tasty and fun!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Today wasn't the best experience, but was okay. Service seemed a bit off and I was mad about the extra charge for a little more bread for our appetizer. Really, and extra charge on a $20 appetizer. Come on!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Food was fabulous as was the price. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The Burrata and prosciutto/arugula pizza were divine! The egg plant Parmesan, however, was so cheesy that it was hard to swallow. That is my only critique of this exceptional casual Italian gem!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Good spot for casual dining. Food was good, one dish was not up to expectations but passed for an enjoyable meal.

Menu and surrounding for sure fits a happy hour and small dish restaurant.

Table was longer than usual and contributes to the loud conversations and made it difficult at times to have a conversation. Not recommended for a intimate spot for a date but great for a place with friends and family for a loud dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.