Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse

Osaka specializes in both traditional and creative Japanese and Asian fusion cuisines & drinks. Besides, Osaka is the only place that offers entertaining Hibachi/Teppanyaki grill and show in Brookline/Boston. The two-level restaurant has Hibachi dining areas, common dining areas, private function rooms, and a sushi bar. There is also a full liquor lounge bar with music, and TVs downstairs. Come to the lounge bar to enjoy music, karaoke, or dancing for free!

Join us for Dinner or let us help you celebrate a holiday or special occasion. Award Winner of "New Business of the Year 2012", "OpenTable Diners' Choice" and "Wicked Local Readers" Choice. "Food is the Real Star of the Show" -writes the Boston Globe.

14 Green Street
Brookline, MA 02446
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 12:15pm - 2:00am, Sunday: 12:15pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Harvard Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 732-0088

Website:
http://www.osakabrookline.com/

Entertainment:
We offer entertaining Hibachi Grill and Show. There are TVs at the sushi bar. In addition, there is a full liquor lounge bar with music, TVs, and karaoke downstairs.

Parking Details:
Nearby metered public parking lots are available behind the Coolidge Corner Theatre (on Centre Street one block from Harvard Street), and on Babcock Street. Metered street parking is also available along Beacon Street, Green Street and other streets nearby. Meters are free after 8:00pm and on Sundays and holidays.

Public Transit:
By Train: Green Line to Coolidge Corner Station
By Bus: Take Bus #66 to Coolidge Corner Stop
All buses and trolleys stop at the Harvard Street/ Beacon Street intersection.

Private Party Facilities:
Osaka, OpenTable Award Winner, is the ideal venue for your private dining. Osaka offers many private and semi-private dining options: Quiet Sushi Rooms, Entertaining Hibachi Rooms, and a Chic Lounge Bar. We are able to accommodate any corporate or personal events.

Private Party Contact:
Mark Chen: (617) 732-0088

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We can help you plan your private/semi-private special event or holiday celebration. Customized prix-fixe menus are available.
We listen to all your ideas regarding menus and logistical planning and are always flexible and accommodating. Please call 617-732-0088 for more info.

Specials

A Free Entree for Birthday Party

Special valid Feb 9, 2017 - Jun 9, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Kids Eat Free

Fridays - Sundays from 3:00 PM - 5:30 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

A Free Entree for Birthday Party

Special valid Feb 9, 2017 - Jun 9, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

A Free Entree for Birthday Party. For Parties of 4 or More. Cannot combine with any other offer. Excludes Tax and Tip. Must redeem within a week of birthday. Special valid Feb 9, 2017 - Jun 9, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Kids Eat Free

Fridays - Sundays from 3:00 PM - 5:30 PM

Details

Kids Eat Free. For kids 12 and under. Mention this offer prior to ordering. Cannot combine with any other offer. Excludes Tax and Tip. Limit one child per one adult customer. Special valid Feb 9, 2017 - Jun 9, 2017 on Fridays - Sundays from 3:00 PM - 5:30 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Fun (17)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Casual (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Family Style (10)
Open Kitchen (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
People Watching (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Romantic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Authentic (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Private Room (2)
Cozy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dancing (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
461 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was good and had a fun time. From start to finish the entire meal lasted under an hour which felt rushed. Would have liked more time to enjoy a drink and salad before the meal started

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Chicken was undercooked. Chef was too fast. The service and ambience was great, but we were disappointed with the hibachi food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Had my birthday dinner here, and it was delicious and so much fun! Thanks, Osaka!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The sushi was top notch. I'm also really glad that I made a reservation because the place was packed. The service was a little slow but that is entirely understandable; the wait staff was definitely working hard trying to attend everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great place for large dinner parties. The food good was okay (rice was uncooked) but the chefs for habachi were fun & entertaining. The staff doesn't have the best communication skills. I had a dinner party of 15 and I had to wait all the way downstairs until everyone arrived. I had to ask the waiter to take appetizer orders when he should've asked us instead of standing around looking stupid.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The place was alright. Rice was on salty side apps were good, the drink was good. Overall it was a good experience.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Nice restaurant. We had the fusion sushi and was really nice. Don't know about the rest.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Sushi was good. But salad had wilted greens and that's it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The hibachi is the best. The chefs are really fun and entertaining. The food is delicious. Great place for groups or birthdays. They have karaoke on the weekends as well down at their hidden O Bar.

Tags: Fun, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Dancing, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Every year I come to this restaurant for my birthday.. this year my habachi chef purposely sprayed water and saki all over my face and hair. Not fun!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I was really excited to find a hibachi restaurant near Boston. Hibachi places are obviously more for the "show" and experience but I wasn't impressed. The food was very mediocre - the salad was just lettuce and dressing and the steak was overcooked (ordered medium rare and got medium well/well). The hibachi experience clearly depended on the chef. We saw other chefs throwing zucchini into everyone's mouth (at our table, only the men were offered) and squriting sake into people's mouth (this was never offered at our table). Overall, not worth the $$.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My fiancé and I had a great time here! Lots of people which makes for a louder experience. It's definitely a place you go with in a group. We did the Hibachi by the grill and it was so much fun as well as entertaining ! I had good and other things tossed at me which was entertaining and truly made the experience a one of a kind experience. I will definitely
Come back with my groomsmen!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was over cooked. Chef was not great with portions. People go to hibachi for the scene and the chef, neither were great. Not happy with the reviews saying it was good!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My husband and I had a great time. Our cook was entertaining and made us feel welcome. We will definitely be back. Great date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Casual, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Second time there, first time was better. Food was pretty good. Service was horrendous. Took forever to come over to take our order, luckily we ordered drinks and food at the same time. Scorpion Bowl was the worst I've ever had and it's my favorite drink. Hibachi chef was decent but nothing special. After our meal the server forgot about our table entirely. Restaurant was almost fully cleared out, we were sitting waiting for the check for at least 40 minutes until we had to go up to the front to request for the check ourselves. With so many options in the Boston area I will not go back.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We went for Boston Restaurant Week and the menu was great. The food is so good and it's always fun to watch the chefs cook at the hibachi table!

Tags: Family Style, Afternoon Tea, People Watching, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Bar didn't have Jack Daniels in stock.. Ask for virgin.. They can't do virgin...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Service was excellent. Sat at Hibachi table. Chef cooked everything perfectly, but didn't care for the overall taste of the lobster. Next time would get the scallops and shrimp with steak (which was very good). Nice wine list by the glass.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We had Hibachi. The show was fantastic! The chef we had was very friendly to our son. Food was very delicious!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a great time here! I didn't know this was a hibachi steakhouse experience so it was my first time. We went for Dine-Out Boston and for $28 we got a 3-course meal. Their filet mignon was so juicy and perfectly cooked and seasoned. Their fried rice was buttery and so delicious. I also highly recommend the Summer in Osaka cocktail if you like fruity and sweet drinks. I had a blast watching the chef cook and his antics. We'll definitely be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our overall experience was good! The guy who cooked and put on our little show was awesome but the front staff the first person who greets guest is horrible! Worst attitude

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Excellent value for restaurant week. Terrific sashimi. Very good main course. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Went to Osaka for Boston Dine Out Restaurant week. The menu was an excellent value and the sushi was superb. The second course was hibachi style, I chose the filet and lobster and my dining partner chose the filet and scallops. While they made the filet to the temperature we asked for my lobster was severely overcooked and rubbery. My dining partner expressed the same distaste for his scallops. The hibachi was luke warm at best when we received it as we sat at a regular table and they brought it to us from the kitchen. The sushi however was fantastic. The appetizer of sashimi and tuna stuffed with crab and topped with tobiko was superb.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We stopped by after going to the Coolidge Theater. We ate off of the Dine Out Boston Menu. I had the shrimp appetizer and lobster/filet entre which was excellent. My partner had the tuna dumpling appetizer and the sushi/sashimi entre and he was very pleased. The portions were large and we left very satisfied.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Came here for my birthday and had a blast. My only complaint is that they seated us about 15 minutes after the reservation.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vegan, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was good, as always, but we felt as if the wait staff was rushing us out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We weren't blown away, but the hibachi was fun, and the food was good. Wouldn't necessarily go out of my way to go again, but it's a unique alternative to your average everyday dinner for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was great. Service was great. Definitely a place I would recommend to others.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was insane to see how unorganized this place was on Valentine's Day. People were leaving left and right and were visibly upset. The restaurant had one person checking in everybody. People with reservations were waiting over an hour past their time to be seated. Valentine's Day is one of the busiest restaurant days of the year, to see such i organization was disgusting.

The food was incredible though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Reception area was a mess... Waited 40 mins after reservation for a table that I had to grab by myself. Many guests left frustrated. Food was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was my second time to Osaka, both times for a valentine's day date. She enjoyed both trips a lot and the only negative I have is that our wait time was over 30 min the second time, even though we had a reservation. The food is good and the people are nice enough. The chef we had was great the first time and slightly less energetic the second time, but still very skilled. It also depends a lot on the energy of your table though.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Overall a fun Hibachi experience. We were seated in a private room with 2 Hibachi tables and had a table to ourselves. The atmosphere was cozy and we were able to talk and have a good time. The chef prepared the food with lightening speed. He did a few of the usual tricks but the presentation seemed short. We had fun catching the zuchini in our mouths and the kids got water sprayed into their mouths from a water bottle.

The food good. My filet and scallops were great. The scallops especially were big, fresh, nicely seared, and tasty. Other enjoyed their food but weren't blown away.

Overall I would recommend.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Private Room, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I've been here many times but this time there was only one overworked wait staff for a large section. We had to wait a long time for water, order taking, the bill, etc. we do love their sushi though. The TOMO roll is killer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service and food not quite on point. Been here many times, everyone had bad days. I'll be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fun place. We ate on the hibachi side of the restaurant. The servings were large. The food was fine. The chef puts on a fun show.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My wife loves this restaurant. We come all of the time. Unfortunately the food this time was poor.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Went for Birthday with 6 14-15 year olds. Fun, entertaining. Food good. Sushi better. Entree free for birthday boy. They made an appropriate amount of fuss: birthday balloon hat, candle on dessert.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The bathrooms were really dirty and there were coat hangers in there on the counter and floor. Other than that it was a good experience. We were seated right away. The chef was fun and the food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The hibachi chef was entertaining and fun, and the food was delicious. The portions are huge! The service lost a star only because the server who we would order drinks from, refill waters, etc. (not the hibachi chef) didn't really come around at all to offer water or take a new drink order. This is a fun place for a date or groups.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, People Watching, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great service. Very Friendly staff. We had a great time celebrating my mother's birthday.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.