Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse

Osaka specializes in both traditional and creative Japanese and Asian fusion cuisines & drinks. Besides, Osaka is the only place that offers entertaining Hibachi/Teppanyaki grill and show in Brookline/Boston. The two-level restaurant has Hibachi dining areas, common dining areas, private function rooms, and a sushi bar. There is also a full liquor lounge bar with music, and TVs downstairs. Come to the lounge bar to enjoy music, karaoke, or dancing for free!

Join us for Dinner or let us help you celebrate a holiday or special occasion. Award Winner of "New Business of the Year 2012", "OpenTable Diners' Choice" and "Wicked Local Readers" Choice. "Food is the Real Star of the Show" -writes the Boston Globe.

14 Green Street
Brookline, MA 02446
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 12:15pm - 2:00am, Sunday: 12:15pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Harvard Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 732-0088

Website:
http://www.osakabrookline.com/

Entertainment:
We offer entertaining Hibachi Grill and Show. There are TVs at the sushi bar. In addition, there is a full liquor lounge bar with music, TVs, and karaoke downstairs.

Parking Details:
Nearby metered public parking lots are available behind the Coolidge Corner Theatre (on Centre Street one block from Harvard Street), and on Babcock Street. Metered street parking is also available along Beacon Street, Green Street and other streets nearby. Meters are free after 8:00pm and on Sundays and holidays.

Public Transit:
By Train: Green Line to Coolidge Corner Station
By Bus: Take Bus #66 to Coolidge Corner Stop
All buses and trolleys stop at the Harvard Street/ Beacon Street intersection.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We can help you plan your private/semi-private special event or holiday celebration. Customized prix-fixe menus are available.
We listen to all your ideas regarding menus and logistical planning and are always flexible and accommodating. Please call 617-732-0088 for more info.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (13)
Casual (10)
Fun (7)
See All
Good for Birthdays (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for a Date (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Authentic (3)
Cozy (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Live Sports (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Romantic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
484 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Always fun, interactive hibachi meal. Chicken, steak, and seafood teriyaki pretty good. Fun for kids and families.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Fast, sloppy, C+ version of Benihana if you can believe that

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our chef was AWESOME! The waitress was not. We've been here before so I know they could do better. We have a great time here and always a good laugh. Food is very tasty as well.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Team outing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Good food, but customer service was very poor. Waitresses and hostess very unfriendly. We showed up right on time for our reservation and were told to wait "just a few minutes" downstairs at the bar area. There was nobody else there. The hostess came down about 10 minutes later and said they were setting up a table for us. Another 10 minutes later we went upstairs and there was no table. We finally sat down 30 minutes later than our reservation time! There was nobody else waiting, they didn't seem too busy, so none of the 6 of us could understand why we had to wait that long. Their responses to our complains were pretty rude as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Excellent sushi with delicate flavors and seasonings. Perfectly done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Restaurant Week menu and lower priced drinks are a terrific value, and the food is very good. The booth seats are ripped and patched, and the overall decor could use some freshening up. Service was also a little confusing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Delicious Japanese food!!
And the performance is also exciting and fun😄
We are all satisfied!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Great Sushi, perfect taste and fresh fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 24, 2017

It was my son's birthday. They prepared a small mochi ice cream birthday cake for him. He enjoyed the show and food. Love here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

My wife and I went out here and loved it. We love us some hibachi, and as frequent movers we start looking immediately. This is our favorite place we've ever been, and we just moved back from Seattle. Great sauce, good dressing, rice and noodles on point. Meat is the same pretty much everywhere. Good prices for this type of place. Waiter was not very attentive, but cook was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Birthday dinner and we were in the back room. Everything is always spot on here. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Went for a friend's birthday and they went above and beyond!! The hibachi was AMAZING and the chefs were so entertaining and lively. The communal tables made it so you could interact with others, but also be within your own group. Would absolutely recommend going again--best hibachi in Boston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

the kids really enjoyed the hibachi dinner, the food was good, service pretty fast, and special attention to kids.

Tags: Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We only ordered off of the sushi menu and so I can't comment on the hibachi grill. The sushi was tasty, fresh, and moderately priced.

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Delicious Sushi, but rushed service! Great Drinks, Great Food, and always an opening!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Love Osaka! Always fun, always delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We came here at 7pm on a Friday night, specifically for the hibachi, as my niece was visiting from out of town and loves hibachi. The food was mediocre, and everything tasted of the garlic butter they use. It overwhelmed all other flavors.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Honestly was not that great. I told the chef and the server I was allergic to eggs, as their fried rice has eggs in it, the chef replied to me saying too bad and the server, told the kitchen chef to make me fried rice without eggs but the chef messed up TWICE and had me wait for 45 MINUTES for food. I received no discount for my meal or no apologies whatsoever. The chef made the food with no vibrance, the chefs around him were much better and much more exciting.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Disappointing service and food has declined over the years

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I had a really wonderful time here the food is good the guys on the grill or entertaining and the drinks are delicious !

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We brought my boyfriend's family here for hibachi dinner and it was an alright experience. We remembered the filet mignon and the scallops tasting better (needed more sear and seasoning) and this time there were a lot more families with children so the noise level was a lot louder than we experienced last time. The fried rice cooked with butter was still amazing and the hibachi fire tricks are always fun to see. We didn't get asked if we wanted to see the dessert menu (not sure if they have one because we got dessert with the restaurant week special) so we sadly skipped on that and just paid the bill. We did come in earlier than expected and they seated us anyway, which was super great of them. Overall, it was an okay experience this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food was good and had a fun time. From start to finish the entire meal lasted under an hour which felt rushed. Would have liked more time to enjoy a drink and salad before the meal started

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Chicken was undercooked. Chef was too fast. The service and ambience was great, but we were disappointed with the hibachi food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Had my birthday dinner here, and it was delicious and so much fun! Thanks, Osaka!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The sushi was top notch. I'm also really glad that I made a reservation because the place was packed. The service was a little slow but that is entirely understandable; the wait staff was definitely working hard trying to attend everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great place for large dinner parties. The food good was okay (rice was uncooked) but the chefs for habachi were fun & entertaining. The staff doesn't have the best communication skills. I had a dinner party of 15 and I had to wait all the way downstairs until everyone arrived. I had to ask the waiter to take appetizer orders when he should've asked us instead of standing around looking stupid.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The place was alright. Rice was on salty side apps were good, the drink was good. Overall it was a good experience.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Nice restaurant. We had the fusion sushi and was really nice. Don't know about the rest.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Sushi was good. But salad had wilted greens and that's it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The hibachi is the best. The chefs are really fun and entertaining. The food is delicious. Great place for groups or birthdays. They have karaoke on the weekends as well down at their hidden O Bar.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Every year I come to this restaurant for my birthday.. this year my habachi chef purposely sprayed water and saki all over my face and hair. Not fun!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I was really excited to find a hibachi restaurant near Boston. Hibachi places are obviously more for the "show" and experience but I wasn't impressed. The food was very mediocre - the salad was just lettuce and dressing and the steak was overcooked (ordered medium rare and got medium well/well). The hibachi experience clearly depended on the chef. We saw other chefs throwing zucchini into everyone's mouth (at our table, only the men were offered) and squriting sake into people's mouth (this was never offered at our table). Overall, not worth the $$.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My fiancé and I had a great time here! Lots of people which makes for a louder experience. It's definitely a place you go with in a group. We did the Hibachi by the grill and it was so much fun as well as entertaining ! I had good and other things tossed at me which was entertaining and truly made the experience a one of a kind experience. I will definitely
Come back with my groomsmen!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was over cooked. Chef was not great with portions. People go to hibachi for the scene and the chef, neither were great. Not happy with the reviews saying it was good!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My husband and I had a great time. Our cook was entertaining and made us feel welcome. We will definitely be back. Great date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Casual, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Second time there, first time was better. Food was pretty good. Service was horrendous. Took forever to come over to take our order, luckily we ordered drinks and food at the same time. Scorpion Bowl was the worst I've ever had and it's my favorite drink. Hibachi chef was decent but nothing special. After our meal the server forgot about our table entirely. Restaurant was almost fully cleared out, we were sitting waiting for the check for at least 40 minutes until we had to go up to the front to request for the check ourselves. With so many options in the Boston area I will not go back.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We went for Boston Restaurant Week and the menu was great. The food is so good and it's always fun to watch the chefs cook at the hibachi table!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Bar didn't have Jack Daniels in stock.. Ask for virgin.. They can't do virgin...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Service was excellent. Sat at Hibachi table. Chef cooked everything perfectly, but didn't care for the overall taste of the lobster. Next time would get the scallops and shrimp with steak (which was very good). Nice wine list by the glass.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.